Honda Civic Type R Tires

On this page you will find the best real world tire reviews from owners of the Honda Civic Type R.

Do you Drive a Honda Civic Type R? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire! After all, who knows what the best tire for a Civic Type R better than the owners?

Tire Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Blacklion BH66 (2) 95% 80% 85% 85% 85% 85%
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (26) 91% 90% 85% 82% 87% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (155) 94% 87% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (144) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (134) 93% 88% 86% 87% 81% 86%
Continental SportContact 7 (52) 97% 93% 91% 92% 71% 76%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Nokian zLine (83) 91% 90% 89% 87% 76% 85%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 (108) 95% 91% 87% 88% 72% 85%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti R (8) 90% 76% 92% 85% 85% 87%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (51) 95% 82% 91% 92% 67% 74%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (301) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 82%
Falken ZE914 (99) 89% 81% 84% 80% 82% 81%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Yokohama Advan Sport V105 (41) 91% 83% 84% 84% 76% 79%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (89) 93% 88% 90% 92% 64% 74%
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (57) 88% 82% 79% 75% 85% 84%
Kumho V70a (19) 99% 78% 90% 86% 57% 69%
Avon ZZ5 (93) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (312) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Falken Azenis FK510 (144) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS (11) 91% 93% 83% 90% 64% 84%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (108) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77%
Vredestein Quatrac Pro (37) 88% 90% 85% 79% 78% 91%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (89) 91% 78% 83% 87% 71% 74%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (141) 90% 87% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (19) 84% 86% 84% 85% 82% 79%
Kleber Dynaxer UHP (7) 83% 80% 86% 73% 72% 96%
Hankook Ventus S1 Evo Z K129 (3) 90% 83% 90% 80% 60% 77%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (89) 85% 81% 81% 82% 78% 76%
Yokohama BluEarth Es ES32 (45) 83% 78% 80% 81% 74% 86%
Yokohama ADVAN APEX V601 (16) 93% 80% 86% 85% 64% 73%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (50) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (18) 96% 59% 90% 92% 61% 75%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect (9) 93% 70% 85% 88% 60% 76%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (175) 88% 84% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Falken FK451 (10) 79% 77% 73% 71% 81% 79%
Federal 595RSPRO (10) 89% 68% 76% 88% 73% 62%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (89) 84% 78% 78% 78% 75% 80%
Kumho Ecsta XS KU36 (10) 91% 74% 84% 84% 74% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070r (4) 95% 68% 88% 90% 65% 48%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (65) 86% 81% 80% 80% 73% 73%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 (18) 88% 64% 81% 87% 69% 65%
Yokohama Advan Sport V107 (10) 91% 80% 87% 93% 51% 70%
Pirelli P Zero PZ4 (58) 89% 79% 85% 82% 63% 72%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 (9) 87% 76% 82% 82% 65% 63%
Vredestein Ultrac (20) 84% 79% 72% 75% 65% 78%
Dunlop Direzza 03G (12) 94% 65% 89% 89% 47% 61%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (89) 90% 86% 81% 82% 53% 77%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (244) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 (14) 83% 68% 80% 82% 63% 75%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Primewell Sport 910 (23) 83% 76% 76% 76% 74% 73%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Nankang AR 1 (35) 91% 45% 84% 88% 71% 66%
Nankang NS2R (59) 89% 66% 82% 84% 72% 55%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Apollo Aspire XP (7) 79% 77% 74% 76% 73% 71%
Maxxis Victra Sport VS01 (8) 84% 73% 79% 79% 71% 63%
Landsail LS588 UHP (90) 81% 75% 70% 68% 75% 80%
Prestivo PV S1 (10) 79% 72% 74% 79% 75% 71%
Federal 595RSR (51) 86% 66% 76% 80% 72% 57%
Three A P606 (47) 79% 73% 69% 69% 72% 76%
Hankook Kinergy 4S (11) 78% 72% 69% 62% 71% 75%
Triangle Sportex TSH11 (18) 78% 64% 76% 74% 69% 71%
Nexen N8000 (80) 79% 74% 69% 66% 69% 79%
Toyo T1R (288) 83% 69% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (214) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Federal 595RSRR (7) 93% 55% 82% 85% 62% 48%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (108) 85% 78% 77% 75% 55% 73%
Toyo Proxes 4 (45) 80% 63% 72% 66% 77% 74%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (71) 86% 67% 76% 72% 66% 68%
Altenzo Comforter (87) 78% 59% 69% 62% 75% 79%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (159) 83% 69% 74% 74% 67% 61%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (57) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (212) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (30) 73% 64% 73% 72% 79% 68%
Pirelli PZero Nero (140) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Toyo Proxes Sport (20) 75% 65% 71% 67% 69% 72%
Event Potentum (14) 75% 67% 59% 66% 74% 68%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (164) 79% 69% 69% 67% 64% 64%
Pirelli P Zero Nero GT (36) 81% 64% 63% 68% 70% 64%
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (36) 74% 67% 68% 69% 60% 68%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Wanli S1063 (80) 74% 58% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57%
Falken FK453 (30) 77% 70% 63% 60% 60% 69%
Evergreen EU72 (48) 75% 61% 60% 60% 73% 67%
Nankang NS2 (211) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Evergreen Dynacontrol EU728 (5) 68% 58% 65% 58% 87% 68%
Goodride SA37 (24) 74% 67% 64% 63% 57% 63%
Landsail LS388 AS (49) 77% 69% 72% 68% 71% 77%
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67%
Achilles 2233 (20) 77% 47% 63% 64% 71% 65%
Landsail LS988 (37) 76% 52% 59% 54% 72% 66%
GT Radial Champiro UHP1 (15) 74% 68% 61% 64% 48% 62%
Cooper Zeon 2XS (16) 70% 51% 57% 48% 58% 65%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (64) 66% 46% 55% 54% 71% 55%
Wanli S1015 (7) 70% 44% 58% 56% 72% 54%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Accelera PHI (158) 68% 44% 53% 52% 66% 58%
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (68) 69% 39% 56% 52% 68% 62%
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (45) 66% 53% 52% 54% 62% 41%
Achilles ATR Sport (55) 62% 41% 54% 48% 62% 57%
Nankang S600 (11) 60% 39% 47% 47% 65% 39%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Mohawk M112 (28) 59% 34% 44% 40% 53% 46%
BCT S800 (86) 51% 29% 38% 37% 60% 32%
Fullrun HP199 (79) 48% 28% 32% 33% 53% 27%
Rockstone Radial F105 (25) 38% 20% 33% 30% 54% 36%

Honda Civic Type R Tire Review Highlights

Writing about the Federal 595RSRR given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15 spirited miles
I had the chance to buy wheels with brand new RS-R when i first got the car, and i was really surprise by the grip and wear on both wet and dry condition, and i naturally decided to upgrade to the RS-RR, and i'm really happy with the tire, the wear a bit better, and the grip too, wet was mostly identical, i did a trackday after doing ~5k km, and i managed to still do 10k more km (including ~4k km with very spirited driving for 1k km minimum), and i'm still using them at the time writing this, i think i can manage maybe 1k or 2k more km on them, almost 20k km on a semi slick is really good, the only real bad thing, is the side wall being a bit to soft
If you want to start your track journey, i can only recommand this tire, you will be able to do multiple trackday on it, and still be able to come back home on it
tire reviewed on 2024-06-04 03:01:49
Writing about the Continental SportContact 7 given 76% (245-30-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
SportContact 6 we're pretty shocking for the price, especially with their awful wear, but these 7's are a HUGE upgrade and rightly place them alongside PS4 / 5 and the new Potenza's.

Wet performance is the best I've ever had on ANY car with similar tread width and suspension setup, feels super safe and I'm not ashamed to say they've been above 100 mph in pouring rain (safely) with only the slightest of floaty-ness beginning. They're so planted even in multiple mm of water. Cannot believe how good they are in the wet, I've never experienced this performance before even from RainSports (admittedly at 215, not 245). Cannot rightly put into words how safe these feel in the wet, just for that alone it's tempting to get another set.

In the dry they're up there with the PS4S in my opinion, never tried the PS5 though. Cornering is rigid and tight, doesn't feel squishy at any point with stiff dampers. Very responsive, but they do make my torque steer more pronounced, probably related. The SC6 had wheel spin all the way through 3rd but in the warm these have NONE! That's 320hp to a 245 tire, in cold England, with short gearing and 1.8d camber, extremely impressive from a "street" tire. Launch could be better, the PS4's had better slow cornering I think, not entirely sure what that translates too as these are better for fast cornering?

The only downside to these imo is the wear isn't great, not as terrible as SC6 but they've still lost about 2mm in 3k miles on the front, barely any lost on the back though (FWD gang). I think with rotation these could last 15k miles spirited street, compared to the circa 9k miles I got on the old version.

Cold driving is decent, not the best but it's a summer tire, after 10min of driving they're warmed up enough to be pushed. Friends say the new Potenza's are awful in the cold but I wouldn't say these are noticeably bad. Not the best comparison but the Potenza's are supposed to be the new king of wet, not too sure about that >:)

Overall, best wet tires available imo. And up there with the best UHP tires for dry. Stable, stiff and a good feel. Wear is a bit mehhh.
tire reviewed on 2024-03-05 07:14:58
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 84% (255-35-20-)
Driving on mostly town for 8000 spirited miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2024-02-12 04:11:28
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 87% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
Bought these to replace a set of Dunlop SportMaxx RT and the PS4s were immediately superior in every way. I had them on the FN2 Civic Type R for over 4 years and approx 15,000 miles. They lasted really well IMO and the only reason for change was the PS4s had started cracking due to their age. I’m now on Michelin PS5s for over a year and approx 5k miles and I much prefer the PS4s.
Dry grip was always excellent and was progressive on the limit even during the winter months. Wet grip was also very good and gave me confidence. Noise; I will not say too much as I had the car stripped out for a significant time so my opinion wouldn’t be fair. Road feedback was fine, on the odd occasion I would push it on a corner I could feel how much grip I had and what the tire was doing. I found the longevity brilliant and after trying out the PS5s I would rather swap the claimed longevity of the new model tire for what I consider to be better wet and dry grip in the PS4.
tire reviewed on 2024-01-18 14:06:17
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Sport V107 given 62% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 miles
Once warmed up, very good levels of grip in the dry. On par with the Assymetric 5s I had on before, if not better. Not as good in the wet however, also wear alot quicker than the Goodyears. Wouldn't recommend for a day to day car, but if you've got a weekend car you take out on the occasional country road blast. If not, Goodyears are 99% as good in the dry, but much better in the wet.
tire reviewed on 2023-10-19 12:12:07
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 given 94% (235-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Quite a bit better than the PS4’s I had previously! Great feedback and grip and only done a couple of thousand miles, but very to happy they are the best wearing tires in the Bild test.
tire reviewed on 2023-03-21 12:40:53
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 74% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
On wet road this tire is brilliant. Very good on braking and handling. On the dry condition is very good also but my opinion the previous S001 was far better. The wear is high for potenza series also. I had 20.000 kilometres and the wear is obvious on the outer thead of the tire. I drive most cornering roads and i want to get maximum performance. The tire is comfortable for bridgestone potenza series. Also a compare with old s001 the Race are more comfortable.
If to buy again. hmm, i don't know yet. i need more kilometres but in general i expected something better from new Potenza's
tire reviewed on 2023-03-07 05:57:07
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 Evo Z K129 given 84% (245-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
On my 2017 civic type r these were very good , good handling and felt very fast rolling and quick sporty steering. Perfect sporty tire on warm roads and preferred them to Michelin ps4s , but tread is going down quite quick now after 3 months of driving 5x a week. Want to try new Bridgestone Potenza Sport to compare as similar price but I think these hankooks will be better than them.
tire reviewed on 2022-12-29 09:26:27
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN APEX V601 given 83% (275-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1600 spirited miles
Drive for some 1,600 miles, daily driven and spirit. Very good grip in dry, responsive in hard curves. In wet the performance is precise and some aquaplane but manageable, it's a 275 wide. The sound road is normal for performance tire with this trade ware. Still testing
tire reviewed on 2022-09-16 07:59:03
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 89% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
After Potenza s001 I choosed the newest production of Bridgestone POTENZA SPORT. So, this tire looks very good choice for some one how have high expectations from his car. Very good both for dry and wet conditions, perfect handling to the limits, typical POTENZA'S hard side's with very good rim protection. The bad thing is the wear of this tire. At this point yes POTENZA SPORT doesn't looks so good like the previus s001's and RE050a's. After 12.000 kilometres SPORT'S looks bit tired. General yes, i would buy it again
tire reviewed on 2022-09-13 05:00:43
Writing about the Landsail LS588 UHP given 69% (245-30-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
The shop put around 41psi at the rear, so my first drive can be considered really scary. They felt unstable at the beginning the high psi did triggered the TPMS. Had to stop and deflate them to 33psi. At 300km breaking in, I still don't feel safe when entering corners so I pump another 2psi to give it stiffer feeling for the sidewall. I can now put a bit more throttle at the corners without the scary sliding/unstable feeling. Now at 1000km, a little improvement during cornering, however straight line pull is not stable. The rear is unstable and the car feels like floating at high speed. At 170kmh, you can feel like the tires are too soft and flexing too much even with straight line pull. Still manageable but not really as good as the Conti. I'm not expecting the LS588 to perform like OEM Conti Sport Contact 6, but they are night and day difference. However, at normal driving speed they can be quite comfortable. Low noise. Just that they are not really reliable/safe for spirited driving.
tire reviewed on 2022-06-29 09:32:35
Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS given 74% (245-30-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
This OEM Tire for my '18 Type R has sensational grip and response that take full advantage of the brilliant chassis. That said, they are a nail magnet, easily get out of alignment after a few potholes or bumps in the road, and while less than some alternatives are still dear. The ride and comfort level are quite good for a 30 sidewall, and they have not let me down in the rain. The good news? They are so rewarding to push hard you'll want to buy them again. The bad news? You will get to do that much sooner than you planned.
tire reviewed on 2022-04-29 18:37:19
Drive this car? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire