Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

The MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S is an ultra-high performance tire which replaces the MICHELIN Pilot Super Sport in the range of outstanding tires from the French manufacturer.

Designed for sports cars and high performance saloons, the MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S offers unparalleled driving pleasure thanks to its exceptional steering precision and directional stability. It provides maximum performance and safety on all surfaces due to its optimised tread footprint which grips the road in all situations, even the most extreme.

This tire replaced the Michelin Pilot Super Sport and this tire has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport S 5.

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 87%
Wear 82%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 83%

Tire review data from 128 tire reviews averaging 86% over 1,419,685 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 4 S is ranked 9th of 74 Summer Max Performance tires.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2023 Sport Auto UHP Tire Test - 3rd of 11 tires

  • Positive - Good wet braking, brilliant aquaplaning safety. Strong braking, great precision and very low sensitivity to load changes on a dry track.
  • Negative - Difficult balance in wet handling. Increased values in rolling resistance and tire noise.
  • Overall - Top aquaplaning protection and strong in the dry for the Pilot Sport 4S, but slight deficits when wet.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tire Reviews UUHP Summer Tire Test - 2nd of 10 tires

  • Positive - Excellent grip in the dry and wet, good aquaplaning resistance, low levels of noise, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Lack of steering feel and speed during handling tests.
  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S continues to be a tire that does everything well, excelling in every test and having a range of abilities no tire can rival. The negative of the PS4S is the same as always, it has slightly slower steering and worse feedback than the best on test, but this does bring levels of refinement the sportier tires can't match.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tire Reviews UHP Summer Tire Test - 1st of 14 tires

  • Positive - Extremely rounded UUHP tire with the shortest dry braking distances, excellent aquaplaning resistance, good levels of comfort and lowest rolling resistance of the UUHP tires.
  • Negative - Not as dynamic handling as the other two UUHP tires in this test.
  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is an extremely rounded UUHP tire, offering the most complete blend of qualities. The trade off for all these qualities seems to be in dry handling, where it doesn't feel the most sporty of tires.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E A 71 8.58kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL DT1 E B 71 9.82kgs
245/30 R19 89Y XL   E A 71 9.59kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 71 11.15kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 11.10kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   E A 71 12.21kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 12.79kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL   C A 73 12.67kgs
325/30 R19 105Y XL   C A 73 14.28kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71 9.50kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL DT1 E A 71 9.87kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.22kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.08kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO1 E A 71 9.92kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL MO1 E A 71 10.54kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 10.40kgs
255/35 R19 92Y   E A 72 10.77kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 10.81kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO1 E B 71 10.93kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL * E B 71 11.36kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.44kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 71 11.51kgs
275/35 R19 96Y   E A 72 11.93kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 12.53kgs
285/35 R19 103Y XL   C A 73 13.83kgs
295/35 R19 104Y XL MO1 E B 73 12.98kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 9.97kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL * E B 71 9.91kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.26kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL NA0 E B 71 10.72kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E B 71 12.97kgs
265/40 R19 102Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.25kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E B 71 14.23kgs
225/45 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.50kgs
285/25 R20 93Y XL   E A 73 11.70kgs
295/25 R20 95Y XL   E A 73 12.98kgs
305/25 R20 97Y XL   E A 73 12.19kgs
325/25 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 13.70kgs
235/30 R20 88Y XL   E A 71 9.70kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL AO E B 71 10.30kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 10.38kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 71 10.52kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 71 11.49kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL A T0 C B 71 12.88kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL MO E A 71 12.09kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL   C A 71 11.76kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73 12.71kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL MO1 E B 73 13.18kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 13.46kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL N0 E B 73 14.12kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL AO E B 73 13.83kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL   C A 73 13.85kgs
345/30 R20 106Y   C A 72 15.44kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 13.00kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 10.90kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL N0 E B 71 10.48kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL   E A 71 10.29kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL A T0 E A 71 11.17kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   C A 71 10.80kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K1 C B 71 10.54kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL MO E B 71 10.85kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K2 C B 71 10.08kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL N0 E B 71 11.04kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E A 71 11.96kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 11.79kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL MO1 E B 71 11.92kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL N0 E B 71 12.41kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL * E B 71 12.20kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   C A 71 13.38kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL K1 E C 71 11.76kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL K2 E B 73 13.08kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL * E B 73 13.21kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL   C A 73 13.77kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL A MO1       13.91kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL K1 C B 73 14.50kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL NA0 E B 73 13.71kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL MO1 E B 73 13.68kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 13.83kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL K1 E C 73 15.00kgs
235/40 R20 96Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 12.77kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL MO1 C B 71 12.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 71 12.80kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.78kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL   C A 71 13.10kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL A MO1       13.45kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 71 14.75kgs
235/45 R20 100Y XL   C A 71 13.42kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL   C A 71 13.51kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 71 14.43kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 12.87kgs
305/25 R21 98Y XL   E A 73 13.02kgs
325/25 R21 102Y XL   C A 73 13.00kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 10.68kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   E A 71 11.31kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL   E A 71 11.35kgs
275/30 R21 98Y XL   C A 71 12.50kgs
295/30 R21 102Y XL   C A 73 13.62kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL MO1 E B 73 14.78kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL A MO1 E B 73 15.33kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL   C A 73 15.40kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL A T0 C A 71 11.41kgs
255/35 R21 98Y XL   C A 71 11.39kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL A T0 E B 71 12.77kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL   C A 71 11.95kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL A MO1 E B 71 12.99kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.60kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL   C A 71 14.42kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL MO1 C B 73 14.30kgs
255/40 R21 102Y XL * E B 71 13.01kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL * E B 71 13.73kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL MO1 C B 71 13.10kgs
295/25 R22 97Y XL   E A 73 13.17kgs
255/30 R22 95Y XL   E A 71 11.66kgs
285/30 R22 101Y XL   C A 73 11.41kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL N0 C B 73 14.96kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 73 16.00kgs
265/35 R22 102Y XL   C A 71 11.95kgs
285/35 R22 106Y XL N0 C B 73 14.30kgs
285/35 R22 106Y XL   C A 73 14.72kgs
265/40 R22 106Y XL   C A 71 15.47kgs
275/40 R22 107Y XL   C A 71 13.75kgs
275/40 R22 108Y XL   C A 71 13.75kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

2016-10-06 - What sizes does it come in?

A full list of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S launch sizes can be found here.


2017-04-23 - Which are the differences between Michelin pilot sport 4 and Michelin pilot sport 4S?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is the larger, more performance orientated version of the Pilot Sport.


2017-10-03 - ust wondering where the directional indicator is on these tires ? All I can really find is the word "outside" which seems to suggest the tires can be run on both Left and Right sides of the vehicle.. Is this correct ? I recently had 4 tires fitted and when I look at the tread pattern from the rear of the vehicle, the outer tread grooves slant up on one side, whilst on the other side they slant downwards.. Just checking to see if this model of Tire is actually Asymmetrical, and when looking at the tire pattern from the rear, they should flow in the same direction ? Overall - do Michelin make these tires in both Left and Right variations ? or only one variation ?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is an asymmetric tire, and are mounted based on outside and inside. There are slight variations of tread directions when looking at left and right side tires mounted, but these have no affect on performance.


2018-02-22 - How have people found the 4 and 4S for driving from cold? I have used Asymmetrics 2s which will need replacing soon and would miss the fact that they seem to have the full complement of grip from the first turn of the wheel ,wet or dry. (Car is a B7 RS4).

The warm up of the 4S is incredibly impressive from cold on my M3. It's mentioned in the latest youtube video here


2018-04-23 - I have a 1-year old AMG C63 which will shortly need new tires all round. After research I would like to fit Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires all round but they don't come in a size for my rears. My fronts are 255/35 ZR19 and the rears are 285/30 ZR19. Do you think it would be okay to fit Pilot Sport 4S tires to the fronts and Pilot Super Sport to the rears? Neither tire comes in both the sizes I need. If it is not a good idea to fit these two types what would you recommend? My car currently has Continental ContiSport Contact 5P all round but these are wearing out so quickly. My annual mileage is about 6 - 7,000 miles of which a number are not done too gently. Thanks for your assistance.

I'd be more inclined to fit the PSS all round (you can get it in your front size) as I find a balanced car key to driving enjoyment. There's sadly no current plans for 285/30 R19 PS4S.


2018-07-22 - what would be the recommended camber angles for Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires 235/45/17 for track day use on a rwd car? I know that exact number depends on car suspension etc, but can you please give me the reference point.

Camber angles are so vehicle and application dependant it's almost impossible to give an accurate starting point. As with any performance tire, using camber and pressures to ensure the tire is heated evenly is key. My starting point would likely be a little more negative camber than the OE settings and go from there.


2018-08-27 - Will the PS4S be available in 18" in the near future? I'd like to substitute the Potenza S001 on my 147 GTA by the PS4S but they aren't available and I don't want to spend the money in some PSS and that in a few months the release them. Thank you very much

There's no official date for 17 or 18 inch versions of the PS4S in Europe, but there are rumours it is coming! I wouldn't rely on seeing it before 2019.


2018-08-31 - I am driving a 2018 Mercedes E63s sedan. It came with Pirelli P zero tires. Even in comfort mode the car is extremely harsh for ride quality. I am looking to replace them with a set of tires that would give me the best ride quality over everything else. Is there a better soft riding tire for this car than the Michelin pilot sport 4s. Thank you.

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is regarding as a very comfortable tire in certain sizes so worth checking out, but the 4S is the best all round tire available at the moment.


2019-05-06 - Will these PS4s be good for BMW 530d GT F07 for daily use, highway, city traffic? (20" size)

The PS4S is a great option for daily use.


2019-07-02 - Any news on if and when the PS4S will be available in 17" or 18"?

There's rumours a few 18" sizes will be available at some point in the future, but don't expect a lot of key sizes as they have in America. Michelin are happy with the PS4 covering this size range.


2019-08-16 - Hello, I have a Mercedes C63 with the 19” wheels, currently on MPSS which are fabulous although could be a little better for traction in the cold and wet. I don’t track the car just want solid road driving and enhanced wet weather grip. Would you recommend MPS4s or the new GoodYear supersports? Loved your recent film which leads me to believe the Goodyear are even better in the wet?

According to our test, the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport should offer a little more wet traction than the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S. More tests will hopefully confirm this next year!


2019-09-27 - Hi Jonathan, first of all thanks for the excellent tire review videos and this great website! First question: how big is the difference between getting a Michelin Pilot Sport 4S with the BMW star indicator in comparison to a Michelin Pilot Sport 4S without any indicator or even a wrong indicator like MO for a BMW? Would be great to see a video on this with a BMW M2!!! Second question: how do you exactly measure stopping distance? When for example in the video it gives the average stopping distance for 100-0kph at which speed did you hit the brakes? At +6kph? And why don’t you measure 100-5kph as the german stopping distance DIN recommends? And how many brakes do you do to get an average? And do you just read the braking distance from the race logic instrumentation or do you use a different calculation like the MFDD (mean fully developed deceleration) to determine stopping distance? And which Instrumentation with how much Hz do you use? Thanks a lot in advance and keep up the fantastic reviews!

That's a lot of questions, so I'll summarise. Email in if you'd like more details.
1) Sometime very little differences between * and AO etc marked tires, sometimes a lot. You'd have to test on a case by case basis. 2) We always start braking at a higher speed, usually +5-8, and usually measure down to ~5kph due to ABS systems effecting the last few km/h. Sometimes we calculate down to zero, sometimes we just show the 100-5 distances. 3) We usually do 5-7 good braking runs to average per set. 4) Instrument depends on test location. Usually it's racelogic.


2019-12-05 - Hi I'm looking to buy Michelin ps4s for my TTRS but I've noticed the EU rating of C and E does this make a big difference to the performance of the tire.

The difference between a C and E grade in wet braking can be very small in the real world (grade D isn't used), but where possible always buy the newest version of the tire.


2021-07-04 - Recently replaced the pretty worn and aging Pilot Sport PS2 N2’s on my Porsche 997 Carrera S with PS4S. Sizes are 235/35/19 and 305/30/19. For whatever reason, the fronts were only available in a ‘DT1’ version. I was hesitant but went ahead with them. Having driven 200 km on them, so far I absolutely hate them. Turn in is so vague and indirect, simply changing lanes in the dry at normal speeds almost felt scary. I can’t find any good info on that DT1 version. These are my first 4S tires. Will things improve with mileage, different pressures, is it the DT1 (only front, rear is non-DT1) or is it just I made a mistake and should get PS2’s again? Thanks for any advice!

This is a common complaint about the PS4S. I'd suggest upping the pressures slightly on the front to try and compensate. The tires will bed in more, however it's unlikely they'll feel like the N specific PS2 sadly.


2021-07-26 - Where can I find the spec when it comes to the Run Flat characteristics of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S?

Sadly I've never seen any runflat tires tested.


2021-11-13 - I’d appreciate some tire advice please. Wanting to change my F82 M4 competition tires from PSS to PS4S, as I have these on my Cayman and they are excellent. Weirdly though, I can only find the 285 30 20 rears in BMW homologation, not the fronts 265 30 20. I’m persuaded by your videos that OEM is better due to the R&D, but combining OEM with non-OEM on a different axle probably defeats the point. Is it better to just put the generic PS4S on both axles or generic front and BMW rear? Thoughts appreciated, thanks.

I'm not sure the F82 ever got the 4S officially, you're finding the rear of the G82. As you've seen in the video, they're quite different tires so I would probably choose to match all four tires with non-oe. Or fit a set of G82 wheels and use the 19" front :)


2022-01-30 - Last week I was pricing out a set of Pilot Sport 4S for my Cayman only to learn that Michelin have just announced the Pilot Sport 5. I can hold off for a month or two and was hoping the team at tire-reviews.com could comment on the new tire. Are you likely to get your hands on the Pilot Sport 5 anytime soon?

The Pilot Sport 5 directly replaces the Pilot Sport 4, not the 4S which is a even-more performance orientated tire. I will hopefully get on the PS5 in March, but I expect for a Cayman the PS4S or one of the direct rivals such as the Sport Contact 7 will be the better option.


2022-08-01 - Is the PS4S in 295/30-18 an N-rated tire?

If there is an N rated version in 295/30R18 the retailer should display that marking.


2023-07-04 - Dear Jonathan! What would you choose for a heavy RWD sporty grancoupe as a rear tire for long, spirited road travels: -roads are horrible (holes everywhere) -Want to avoid wobbly-sponge rear when cornering PS4 or PS4S? I cannot decide. Noise is the same, and S is much better, but not quite sure if PS4 less rigid sidewall makes it too wobble, and unconfident when cornering hard , or it is manageable, and the win in comfort is big. Or the other way around... So how do they behave? PS4 is just a bit more comfy, and still solid, confident, or the PS4S is not much less comfy, but has a rock solid rear feeling. I would want both... but i have to choose. :D

Personally I would have the PS4S. It's less wobbly than the PS4 but still more comfortable than some of its peers.


2023-07-21 - I have a 2020 BMW 3 series 320d Msport Touring (G21). I currently have 19" run flat tires and looking to replace them with non run flat tires. I am looking into purchasing the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 or 4s. However wanted to ask whether the star (*) rating would bare any significant difference as its not a M Performance car and whether to consider the Michelin Pilot Sport 5? Most of my driving is commuting to and from work on the motorway and inner city driving. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

The non-M versions of the tires are certainly not as tuned as the M versions, however they are still tuned. That said, if you spend a lot of your time commuting you might appreciate the extra comfort, tread life and wet grip of the aftermarket PS5 when compared to the OE fitments.


2023-11-01 - I drive a 2023 BMW 128ti fitted with Bridgestone Potenza S 235/35x19. Car has done 5k miles. I find these tires unbearably noisy with a harsh ride. I’m looking at replacing with either Michelin PS4 (£184) and Continental Sport 7 (£158). Prices from black circles. According to your tests the Continental is the better tire but says the Michelin is quiet. Although the results are very close I can’t see anything which says how quiet the Continental is. Comfort and refinement is a priority but there is also some difference in cost which I am willing to pay if you feel there is a marked difference between the 2 tires. Your comments would be appreciated.

You are asking the question on the Pilot Sport 4 S page but you say PS4, which is the Pilot Sport 4. This will be the most comfortable of the three. Of the PS4S and SC7 it will be very close with the edge probably in favour of the Michelin. If noise and comfort is a priority fitting a touring bias tire like the Primacy 4 will yield better results.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 $232.99 - $235.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 $303.99 - $329.99 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 $406.99 - $406.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 $310.99 - $367.99 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 111 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW M3 (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Replaced the Pilot Super Sports on my F80 M3 and it's better in every way. The wet grip is insane, it's like you're driving in the dry. Best tire on the market.
Helpful 440 - tire reviewed on March 9, 2017
Given 77% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I have Skoda Octavia vRS 2019.
Before those tires i had the original one ( Pirelli P zero).
Those tires was so much better, the feedback is amazing and the grip is perfect !
But i have to say that after 3 track days and 10K kilometers the tyers are dead !
Helpful 153 - tire reviewed on September 2, 2019
Given 89% while driving a Audi a6 avant 3.0 tdi s line (255/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
These replaced some Goodyear F1 Supersport tires. The Goodyears had amazing grip, great steering response and I got almost 30k miles out of them. The problem with them was the harsh ride, really noticed a difference when I had the PS4 S fitted and it wasn’t a case of old v new, I noticed the harsh ride after the Goodyears replaced some Pirelli’s. The Michelins are so much more comfortable, a little quieter but are still responsive to steering input. If you’re an out and out racer choose the Goodyears, if you want 99% of the Goodyear’s steering response but value comfort choose the Michelins, I will in future!
Helpful 77 - tire reviewed on November 17, 2021
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Given 84% while driving a BMW M4 Competition (285/30 R20) on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
My BMW M3 Competition xDrive had Pirelli's from the factory. They were ok... but after having read some reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S * (the M3/M4 version of it), I opted for these ones after 27.000 km (around 17.000 miles) on the Pirelli's.
The Michelin are even better on dry roads, even better than Michelin Supersport (more relaxed as far as temperature is concerned).
In the wet, I would say that I feel the PS 4S* a little bit better than the Pirelli's. Not really for 'surprise' slides, but for basic wet grip. Anyway. With tires like these ones, when your car is feeling 'happy', it means you are driving like a maniac.
I did not notice a difference in road noise and in comfort.
I did notice a difference in control and feedback. It seems like you get more information from the road and the car and, therefore. A better control.
I have not yet tested the Michelin on Spa-Francorchamps or the Nürbürgring, so I cannot comment the trackday part of the joy.
Drive safely ;)
Helpful 0 - tire reviewed on November 10, 2023
Given 79% while driving a Ford Focus ST (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
From a strictly performance based review, tires have been exemplary.
A almost perfect combination of grip in the dry and wet, ride comfort and low noise.
Tire wear has been, OK. Front tires have reached the end of their life however the rears are still on around 5mm tread.
Bigger concern is the visible perishing and cracking around the shoulder of all 4 tires. This is visible on the edge and between the outside tread blocks.
In heavy rain, the tires seemed a little susceptible to straight line aquaplaning. However in 'normal' wet conditions the grip is good and braking confidence inspiring.
Would I buy these again? The perishing / cracking around the outsides has put me off. My wife's car has Michelin Primacy 4 tires and they too have perished quite noticeably.
The PS4S on my car are about to be replaced with Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6's.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on August 24, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2023? Click to find out!
Given 90% while driving a Porsche Boxster 2.5 (235/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Just replaced Pirelli P zeroes, front and rear on Boxster 718 GTS, with Michelin PS4S . What a difference, it has transformed the ride without affecting the handling. Couldn’t be happier !!!
Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on May 12, 2023
Given 66% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
Very good but a big problem... Many good things about the PS4S... but the handling is too smooth.Less precision in the beginning of curve. The tire performing very well in high speed but for 99,% of people we need fun under 120km/h...
Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on April 20, 2023
Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
FINALLY! I just fitted a new set of 225/40 R18 Michelin PS4S to my GTI Performance and I had them on the car for roughly 450 km currently. Remember I placed this order on March 30 in 2022. Yeah, 2022! After some endless wait until October 8th delivered to dealer, and I use to fit winters in October, no summer tires. On a sidenote: DOT 2222, so these American produced tires were made two months after my order . . . . Somewhat facetiously, isn't it?
These PS4S replaced my former PSS in HN spec (Hyundai i30N). So, what do they look? Much wider, with a way better rim protection compared to the PSS HN. The sidewalls are almost straight on VW 7.5" wheels. Very pleased to lay my eyes on. My former PSS HN looked like a 205. How do they feel? Stiff. I didn't exactly expect them to be harsher compared to the PSS, but they really are. With ~3.5 mm my former PSS felt more forgiving if not just softer. These PS4S ride like 19" instead of 18" and I didn't expect that. What I much longed for was wet grip. The PSS HN isn't an adept for wet performance. We had some coolish rainy days (slightly below +10°C). In a nutshell, this PS4S delivered! Just what you'd expect from a contemporary 'higher performance' tire.
Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on April 16, 2023
Given 72% while driving a BMW 535d M Sport (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
Bought two of these for the rear wheels of my BMW 535d after previously having Pilot Sport 4. I am regretting this now as I get a lot of wheel spin when pulling away in damp or wet weather, I never had this with the Sport 4. It's too early to say what the wear rate is going to be but because of this constant wheel spinning, I'm not expecting to get that many miles from them. As a comparison, I got 30k from the Sport 4.
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on March 18, 2023
Given 74% while driving a BMW X5 (315/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Too soft for the x5m50d very disappointed with the back tires didn't last 7 months
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on March 3, 2023
Given 10% while driving a Toyota 2023 Camry SE AWD (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 2,000 easy going miles
I received a set of 4 Michelin Part no. 89946 245/40ZR18 MIC A/S 4 ZP Pilot Sport Tires in Oct, 2022. They were replacement for another set of defect Pirelli RFT Tires with rough ride problems. After trying to drive them with bad balancing evident, I took them to a second dealer who tried 3 times to balance them, including a forced pressure balancing, and in their report, said to return them to the original dealer which I did. After another forced pressure balancing by the original dealer, they were taken off and a warranty claim initiated with Michelin. Michelin failed in addressing the tires defects and issued no new tires or refund. Both Pirelli and Michelin appear to have quality control issues on tires built during the 2020-22 pandemic. Quality control is not what it used to be. I am contemplating at this point a small claims court action against all involved. I will never buy Michelin again.
Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on January 16, 2023
Given 57% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (235/40 R18) on mostly town for 600,000 easy going miles
Factory set tire comes with my Civic 2020, on 30,000 km tire started to crack. But still manage to use till 60,000 km in very bad condition. Performance is good but can't last long.
Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on December 1, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Audi RS 5 (285/30 R20) on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
The other tires I've had on the car are Pirelli P zeros and Conti DWS. The PS4S works better on the RS5 than the Pirelli or Conti in all conditions I've driven them in. I was surprised by the other reviews talking about the lack of feel because these have given what was generally a fairly numb steering feel its best feel so far.
Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on November 13, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (235/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
After having these tires on my car for over a year new im totally sold by them. Theyre great and grippy, especially noticable in the rainy/ damp conditions. I've done around 6-8xxx miles in them and the rear tires on my car are basically new, however fronts on the inner edges are approaching the wear markers so will need changing soon, and have melted the slits on the innder egdes together. This however might be something to do with my trip to scotland to do the NC500 which really made the tires stand out giving my tons of confident to throw the car into the corners just knowing they will stick.
Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on November 9, 2022
Given 52% while driving a Chevrolet Corvette (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I have OEM Michelin Run Flats Sport Cup 4S on my Corvette C8. Regular driving these are fine. They are DANGEROUS for track use though. These tires are UNSAFE and have batch defects in my opinion and people should be informed before someone gets hurt. I followed Chevrolet's track prep guide for the car (that says this tire can be sued on track). I have been on tracks for 15 years and have never had tires delaminate like these and fall apart after 1 session of a track day. I called Michelin and there customer service tech said it wasn't a defect or covered. He pretty much said it was my fault and never even made the time to look at the images I had. Michelin did not stand behind their product. I will NEVER buy a Michelin tire again. Sad.
Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on October 18, 2022