Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

The MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S is an ultra-high performance tire which replaces the MICHELIN Pilot Super Sport in the range of outstanding tires from the French manufacturer.

Designed for sports cars and high performance saloons, the MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S offers unparalleled driving pleasure thanks to its exceptional steering precision and directional stability. It provides maximum performance and safety on all surfaces due to its optimised tread footprint which grips the road in all situations, even the most extreme.

This tire replaced the Michelin Pilot Super Sport.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 88%
Wear 83%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 85%

Tire review data from 120 tire reviews averaging 87% over 1,362,285 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 4 S is ranked 7th of 72 Summer Max Performance tires.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 Tire Reviews UUHP Summer Tire Test - 2nd of 10 tires

  • Positive - Excellent grip in the dry and wet, good aquaplaning resistance, low levels of noise, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Lack of steering feel and speed during handling tests.
  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S continues to be a tire that does everything well, excelling in every test and having a range of abilities no tire can rival. The negative of the PS4S is the same as always, it has slightly slower steering and worse feedback than the best on test, but this does bring levels of refinement the sportier tires can't match.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tire Reviews UHP Summer Tire Test - 1st of 14 tires

  • Positive - Extremely rounded UUHP tire with the shortest dry braking distances, excellent aquaplaning resistance, good levels of comfort and lowest rolling resistance of the UUHP tires.
  • Negative - Not as dynamic handling as the other two UUHP tires in this test.
  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is an extremely rounded UUHP tire, offering the most complete blend of qualities. The trade off for all these qualities seems to be in dry handling, where it doesn't feel the most sporty of tires.
View Full Test >>

Should You Fit OE Tires? Michelin Pilot Sport 4S vs 4S * (BMW) - 1st of 2 tires

View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E A 71 8.58kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL DT1 E B 71 9.82kgs
245/30 R19 89Y XL   E A 71 9.59kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 71 11.15kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 11.10kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   E A 71 12.21kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 12.79kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL   C A 73 12.67kgs
325/30 R19 105Y XL   C A 73 14.28kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71 9.50kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL DT1 E A 71 9.87kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.22kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.08kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO1 E A 71 9.92kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL MO1 E A 71 10.54kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 10.40kgs
255/35 R19 92Y   E A 72 10.77kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 10.81kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO1 E B 71 10.93kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL * E B 71 11.36kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.44kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 71 11.51kgs
275/35 R19 96Y   E A 72 11.93kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 12.53kgs
285/35 R19 103Y XL   C A 73 13.83kgs
295/35 R19 104Y XL MO1 E B 73 12.98kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 9.97kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL * E B 71 9.91kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.26kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL NA0 E B 71 10.72kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E B 71 12.97kgs
265/40 R19 102Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.25kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E B 71 14.23kgs
225/45 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.50kgs
285/25 R20 93Y XL   E A 73 11.70kgs
295/25 R20 95Y XL   E A 73 12.98kgs
305/25 R20 97Y XL   E A 73 12.19kgs
325/25 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 13.70kgs
235/30 R20 88Y XL   E A 71 9.70kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL AO E B 71 10.30kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 10.38kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 71 10.52kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 71 11.49kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL A T0 C B 71 12.88kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL MO E A 71 12.09kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL   C A 71 11.76kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73 12.71kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL MO1 E B 73 13.18kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 13.46kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL N0 E B 73 14.12kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL AO E B 73 13.83kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL   C A 73 13.85kgs
345/30 R20 106Y   C A 72 15.44kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 13.00kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 10.90kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL N0 E B 71 10.48kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL   E A 71 10.29kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL A T0 E A 71 11.17kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   C A 71 10.80kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K1 C B 71 10.54kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL MO E B 71 10.85kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K2 C B 71 10.08kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL N0 E B 71 11.04kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E A 71 11.96kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 11.79kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL MO1 E B 71 11.92kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL N0 E B 71 12.41kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL * E B 71 12.20kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   C A 71 13.38kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL K1 E C 71 11.76kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL K2 E B 73 13.08kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL * E B 73 13.21kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL   C A 73 13.77kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL A MO1       13.91kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL K1 C B 73 14.50kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL NA0 E B 73 13.71kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL MO1 E B 73 13.68kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 13.83kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL K1 E C 73 15.00kgs
235/40 R20 96Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 12.77kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL MO1 C B 71 12.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 71 12.80kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.78kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL   C A 71 13.10kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL A MO1       13.45kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 71 14.75kgs
235/45 R20 100Y XL   C A 71 13.42kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL   C A 71 13.51kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 71 14.43kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 12.87kgs
305/25 R21 98Y XL   E A 73 13.02kgs
325/25 R21 102Y XL   C A 73 13.00kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 10.68kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   E A 71 11.31kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL   E A 71 11.35kgs
275/30 R21 98Y XL   C A 71 12.50kgs
295/30 R21 102Y XL   C A 73 13.62kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL MO1 E B 73 14.78kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL A MO1 E B 73 15.33kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL   C A 73 15.40kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL A T0 C A 71 11.41kgs
255/35 R21 98Y XL   C A 71 11.39kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL A T0 E B 71 12.77kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL   C A 71 11.95kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL A MO1 E B 71 12.99kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.60kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL   C A 71 14.42kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL MO1 C B 73 14.30kgs
255/40 R21 102Y XL * E B 71 13.01kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL * E B 71 13.73kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL MO1 C B 71 13.10kgs
295/25 R22 97Y XL   E A 73 13.17kgs
255/30 R22 95Y XL   E A 71 11.66kgs
285/30 R22 101Y XL   C A 73 11.41kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL N0 C B 73 14.96kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 73 16.00kgs
265/35 R22 102Y XL   C A 71 11.95kgs
285/35 R22 106Y XL N0 C B 73 14.30kgs
285/35 R22 106Y XL   C A 73 14.72kgs
265/40 R22 106Y XL   C A 71 15.47kgs
275/40 R22 107Y XL   C A 71 13.75kgs
275/40 R22 108Y XL   C A 71 13.75kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

2016-10-06 - What sizes does it come in?

A full list of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S launch sizes can be found here.


2017-04-23 - Which are the differences between Michelin pilot sport 4 and Michelin pilot sport 4S?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is the larger, more performance orientated version of the Pilot Sport.


2017-10-03 - ust wondering where the directional indicator is on these tires ? All I can really find is the word "outside" which seems to suggest the tires can be run on both Left and Right sides of the vehicle.. Is this correct ? I recently had 4 tires fitted and when I look at the tread pattern from the rear of the vehicle, the outer tread grooves slant up on one side, whilst on the other side they slant downwards.. Just checking to see if this model of Tire is actually Asymmetrical, and when looking at the tire pattern from the rear, they should flow in the same direction ? Overall - do Michelin make these tires in both Left and Right variations ? or only one variation ?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is an asymmetric tire, and are mounted based on outside and inside. There are slight variations of tread directions when looking at left and right side tires mounted, but these have no affect on performance.


2018-02-22 - How have people found the 4 and 4S for driving from cold? I have used Asymmetrics 2s which will need replacing soon and would miss the fact that they seem to have the full complement of grip from the first turn of the wheel ,wet or dry. (Car is a B7 RS4).

The warm up of the 4S is incredibly impressive from cold on my M3. It's mentioned in the latest youtube video here


2018-04-23 - I have a 1-year old AMG C63 which will shortly need new tires all round. After research I would like to fit Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires all round but they don't come in a size for my rears. My fronts are 255/35 ZR19 and the rears are 285/30 ZR19. Do you think it would be okay to fit Pilot Sport 4S tires to the fronts and Pilot Super Sport to the rears? Neither tire comes in both the sizes I need. If it is not a good idea to fit these two types what would you recommend? My car currently has Continental ContiSport Contact 5P all round but these are wearing out so quickly. My annual mileage is about 6 - 7,000 miles of which a number are not done too gently. Thanks for your assistance.

I'd be more inclined to fit the PSS all round (you can get it in your front size) as I find a balanced car key to driving enjoyment. There's sadly no current plans for 285/30 R19 PS4S.


2018-07-22 - what would be the recommended camber angles for Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires 235/45/17 for track day use on a rwd car? I know that exact number depends on car suspension etc, but can you please give me the reference point.

Camber angles are so vehicle and application dependant it's almost impossible to give an accurate starting point. As with any performance tire, using camber and pressures to ensure the tire is heated evenly is key. My starting point would likely be a little more negative camber than the OE settings and go from there.


2018-08-27 - Will the PS4S be available in 18" in the near future? I'd like to substitute the Potenza S001 on my 147 GTA by the PS4S but they aren't available and I don't want to spend the money in some PSS and that in a few months the release them. Thank you very much

There's no official date for 17 or 18 inch versions of the PS4S in Europe, but there are rumours it is coming! I wouldn't rely on seeing it before 2019.


2018-08-31 - I am driving a 2018 Mercedes E63s sedan. It came with Pirelli P zero tires. Even in comfort mode the car is extremely harsh for ride quality. I am looking to replace them with a set of tires that would give me the best ride quality over everything else. Is there a better soft riding tire for this car than the Michelin pilot sport 4s. Thank you.

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is regarding as a very comfortable tire in certain sizes so worth checking out, but the 4S is the best all round tire available at the moment.


2019-05-06 - Will these PS4s be good for BMW 530d GT F07 for daily use, highway, city traffic? (20" size)

The PS4S is a great option for daily use.


2019-07-02 - Any news on if and when the PS4S will be available in 17" or 18"?

There's rumours a few 18" sizes will be available at some point in the future, but don't expect a lot of key sizes as they have in America. Michelin are happy with the PS4 covering this size range.


2019-08-16 - Hello, I have a Mercedes C63 with the 19” wheels, currently on MPSS which are fabulous although could be a little better for traction in the cold and wet. I don’t track the car just want solid road driving and enhanced wet weather grip. Would you recommend MPS4s or the new GoodYear supersports? Loved your recent film which leads me to believe the Goodyear are even better in the wet?

According to our test, the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport should offer a little more wet traction than the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S. More tests will hopefully confirm this next year!


2019-09-27 - Hi Jonathan, first of all thanks for the excellent tire review videos and this great website! First question: how big is the difference between getting a Michelin Pilot Sport 4S with the BMW star indicator in comparison to a Michelin Pilot Sport 4S without any indicator or even a wrong indicator like MO for a BMW? Would be great to see a video on this with a BMW M2!!! Second question: how do you exactly measure stopping distance? When for example in the video it gives the average stopping distance for 100-0kph at which speed did you hit the brakes? At +6kph? And why don’t you measure 100-5kph as the german stopping distance DIN recommends? And how many brakes do you do to get an average? And do you just read the braking distance from the race logic instrumentation or do you use a different calculation like the MFDD (mean fully developed deceleration) to determine stopping distance? And which Instrumentation with how much Hz do you use? Thanks a lot in advance and keep up the fantastic reviews!

That's a lot of questions, so I'll summarise. Email in if you'd like more details.
1) Sometime very little differences between * and AO etc marked tires, sometimes a lot. You'd have to test on a case by case basis. 2) We always start braking at a higher speed, usually +5-8, and usually measure down to ~5kph due to ABS systems effecting the last few km/h. Sometimes we calculate down to zero, sometimes we just show the 100-5 distances. 3) We usually do 5-7 good braking runs to average per set. 4) Instrument depends on test location. Usually it's racelogic.


2019-12-05 - Hi I'm looking to buy Michelin ps4s for my TTRS but I've noticed the EU rating of C and E does this make a big difference to the performance of the tire.

The difference between a C and E grade in wet braking can be very small in the real world (grade D isn't used), but where possible always buy the newest version of the tire.


2021-07-04 - Recently replaced the pretty worn and aging Pilot Sport PS2 N2’s on my Porsche 997 Carrera S with PS4S. Sizes are 235/35/19 and 305/30/19. For whatever reason, the fronts were only available in a ‘DT1’ version. I was hesitant but went ahead with them. Having driven 200 km on them, so far I absolutely hate them. Turn in is so vague and indirect, simply changing lanes in the dry at normal speeds almost felt scary. I can’t find any good info on that DT1 version. These are my first 4S tires. Will things improve with mileage, different pressures, is it the DT1 (only front, rear is non-DT1) or is it just I made a mistake and should get PS2’s again? Thanks for any advice!

This is a common complaint about the PS4S. I'd suggest upping the pressures slightly on the front to try and compensate. The tires will bed in more, however it's unlikely they'll feel like the N specific PS2 sadly.


2021-07-26 - Where can I find the spec when it comes to the Run Flat characteristics of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S?

Sadly I've never seen any runflat tires tested.


2021-11-13 - I’d appreciate some tire advice please. Wanting to change my F82 M4 competition tires from PSS to PS4S, as I have these on my Cayman and they are excellent. Weirdly though, I can only find the 285 30 20 rears in BMW homologation, not the fronts 265 30 20. I’m persuaded by your videos that OEM is better due to the R&D, but combining OEM with non-OEM on a different axle probably defeats the point. Is it better to just put the generic PS4S on both axles or generic front and BMW rear? Thoughts appreciated, thanks.

I'm not sure the F82 ever got the 4S officially, you're finding the rear of the G82. As you've seen in the video, they're quite different tires so I would probably choose to match all four tires with non-oe. Or fit a set of G82 wheels and use the 19" front :)


2022-01-30 - Last week I was pricing out a set of Pilot Sport 4S for my Cayman only to learn that Michelin have just announced the Pilot Sport 5. I can hold off for a month or two and was hoping the team at tire-reviews.com could comment on the new tire. Are you likely to get your hands on the Pilot Sport 5 anytime soon?

The Pilot Sport 5 directly replaces the Pilot Sport 4, not the 4S which is a even-more performance orientated tire. I will hopefully get on the PS5 in March, but I expect for a Cayman the PS4S or one of the direct rivals such as the Sport Contact 7 will be the better option.


2022-08-01 - Is the PS4S in 295/30-18 an N-rated tire?

If there is an N rated version in 295/30R18 the retailer should display that marking.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 $232.99 - $235.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 $303.99 - $329.99 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 $406.99 - $406.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 $310.99 - $367.99 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 111 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW M3 (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Replaced the Pilot Super Sports on my F80 M3 and it's better in every way. The wet grip is insane, it's like you're driving in the dry. Best tire on the market.
Helpful 389 - tire reviewed on March 9, 2017
Given 77% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I have Skoda Octavia vRS 2019.
Before those tires i had the original one ( Pirelli P zero).
Those tires was so much better, the feedback is amazing and the grip is perfect !
But i have to say that after 3 track days and 10K kilometers the tyers are dead !
Helpful 124 - tire reviewed on September 2, 2019
Given 89% while driving a Audi a6 avant 3.0 tdi s line (255/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
These replaced some Goodyear F1 Supersport tires. The Goodyears had amazing grip, great steering response and I got almost 30k miles out of them. The problem with them was the harsh ride, really noticed a difference when I had the PS4 S fitted and it wasn’t a case of old v new, I noticed the harsh ride after the Goodyears replaced some Pirelli’s. The Michelins are so much more comfortable, a little quieter but are still responsive to steering input. If you’re an out and out racer choose the Goodyears, if you want 99% of the Goodyear’s steering response but value comfort choose the Michelins, I will in future!
Helpful 54 - tire reviewed on November 17, 2021
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Given 10% while driving a Toyota 2023 Camry SE AWD (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 2,000 easy going miles
I received a set of 4 Michelin Part no. 89946 245/40ZR18 MIC A/S 4 ZP Pilot Sport Tires in Oct, 2022. They were replacement for another set of defect Pirelli RFT Tires with rough ride problems. After trying to drive them with bad balancing evident, I took them to a second dealer who tried 3 times to balance them, including a forced pressure balancing, and in their report, said to return them to the original dealer which I did. After another forced pressure balancing by the original dealer, they were taken off and a warranty claim initiated with Michelin. Michelin failed in addressing the tires defects and issued no new tires or refund. Both Pirelli and Michelin appear to have quality control issues on tires built during the 2020-22 pandemic. Quality control is not what it used to be. I am contemplating at this point a small claims court action against all involved. I will never buy Michelin again.
Helpful 0 - tire reviewed on January 16, 2023
Given 57% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (235/40 R18) on mostly town for 600,000 easy going miles
Factory set tire comes with my Civic 2020, on 30,000 km tire started to crack. But still manage to use till 60,000 km in very bad condition. Performance is good but can't last long.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on December 1, 2022
All Season VS Winter Tires: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 93% while driving a Audi RS 5 (285/30 R20) on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
The other tires I've had on the car are Pirelli P zeros and Conti DWS. The PS4S works better on the RS5 than the Pirelli or Conti in all conditions I've driven them in. I was surprised by the other reviews talking about the lack of feel because these have given what was generally a fairly numb steering feel its best feel so far.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on November 13, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (235/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
After having these tires on my car for over a year new im totally sold by them. Theyre great and grippy, especially noticable in the rainy/ damp conditions. I've done around 6-8xxx miles in them and the rear tires on my car are basically new, however fronts on the inner edges are approaching the wear markers so will need changing soon, and have melted the slits on the innder egdes together. This however might be something to do with my trip to scotland to do the NC500 which really made the tires stand out giving my tons of confident to throw the car into the corners just knowing they will stick.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on November 9, 2022
Given 52% while driving a Chevrolet Corvette (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I have OEM Michelin Run Flats Sport Cup 4S on my Corvette C8. Regular driving these are fine. They are DANGEROUS for track use though. These tires are UNSAFE and have batch defects in my opinion and people should be informed before someone gets hurt. I followed Chevrolet's track prep guide for the car (that says this tire can be sued on track). I have been on tracks for 15 years and have never had tires delaminate like these and fall apart after 1 session of a track day. I called Michelin and there customer service tech said it wasn't a defect or covered. He pretty much said it was my fault and never even made the time to look at the images I had. Michelin did not stand behind their product. I will NEVER buy a Michelin tire again. Sad.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on October 18, 2022
Given 75% while driving a Nissan 370Z (245/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 27,000 spirited miles
I have these(245-40x19f, 275-35x19 r) on a 370z, which is a 3300lb car. Wet and dry traction along with noise and comfort have been excellent. The handling responsiveness has been a little too vague and the impulse response of the tires seems sluggish, which I attribute to the very flexible sidewalls. The one characteristic I'd like to bring out is the phenomenally low tread wear on the tires. I measured the tread depth and tweaked the inflation pressures at 1k mile intervals. I haven't been able to rotate the tires but the tread wear has been perfectly uniform across the tread on all tires. The tites now have about 37k miles on them now and are averaging slightly under 50% for remaining tread life. The tires started with 9/32” tread depth and the fronts are now at 5/32", with the rears at 4/32".
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on August 25, 2022
Given 77% while driving a Tesla Model S (/30 R20) on mostly motorways for 9,000 spirited miles
Model s p85 (rwd 450hp, 600nm ,2.1 tonne) A night and day difference to the stock 19"245/45 Goodyear rs-a2 all round . Switched to a 20" ps4s staggered 275/35 . Which was the perfect balance between grip, asthetetics , pot hole protection and comfort compared to the 21"s . Slightly less efficient and slightly more noise than stock ,which was to be expected with wider tires . Rears wore faster , have another 1000mi probably , fronts 2-3k more but overall very happy with them .
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on August 24, 2022
Given 94% while driving a Subaru BRZ (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,500 spirited miles
If you want sporty tires for the road that you could take to the track every now and then, these are the tires for you. My 2018 BRZ Limited is a 'slow' car, but it's also one of the most fun, agile, and precise pieces of machinery I've ever had the pleasure of driving, truly a 'poor man's Porsche'. When choosing a replacement set of tires for the drift-tires it came with, I wanted a set of tires that enhanced the characteristics and dynamics of the car. Driving on a Highway with a posted speed limit of 85MPH, I can change lanes in an instant (and I mean an instant) like the path was preordained. Just an impulse-like tug of the wheel left or right and returning to center just as quickly, having completed the maneuver in a fraction of a second, I'm still driving perfectly straight in my new lane with no oversteer understeer or roll/flex. I simply transport myself from one lane to the other. It's truly a magical feeling when your car does exactly what you want, no more...no less... which is made possible by giving it the best foundation to work with. Driving on curvy county roads and being able to completely ignore the 25 or 35MPH advisory signs that recommend a 'safe' speed for tight turns, while maintaining a constant 70MPH is sublime. I couldn't do that with my old car nor it's All-Season tires, I would've flown off the road into the ditch. Purchasing the Pilot Sport 4S tires was the best decision I made next to buying my little Subi. I traded in a more practical daily-driver Ford Fusion Sport to go back to a manual trans that I could enjoy, with a grin stretching ear to ear, ever single day I sit behind the wheel. I understand that the Pilot Sport 5 are out now, but if these are still available when it's time to replace, I will 110% get the 4S again without question. For me and my vehicle, these are perfection and there's no reason to "funk" with perfection. Of course, same tires perform differently depending on the vehicle and conditions, but I think it's safe to say if you won't be disappointed with these amazing tires. The only hard data I can provide is with regards to treadwear. (Measurements done with a digital caliper of .02mm +/- tolerance.) -Length of time Owned: 16 Months -Original Tread Depth: 6.45mm -Miles Driven: 8,500 (Mixed City/Highway/County Road) -Number of Rotations: 1 -Front Current Tread Depth: 4.94 -Rear Current Tread Depth: 5.51 -Driving Style: Spirited (not reckless abandonment and no burnouts, but a few minor drifts on occasion...) Side Note: Do Not Use for Ice/Snow, they are absolutely useless. I figure this should be common knowledge at this point, being a Summer-tire and all, but just-in-case...you never know what kind of rock someone's been forced to live under. Suffice it to say, you'll need a separate set of Winter tires or at least something all-Season, like the Pilot Sport A/S, for Winter conditions. These kinds of tires may as well be slicks drenched in oil when driven on icy roads.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on August 19, 2022
Given 77% while driving a Skoda (235/40 R19) on mostly country roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Skoda Superb 162tsi wagon (2019) - swapped to PS4s for more grip form the stock Pirelli P7. Corning and general back road blasting is so much better. They are mighty on the brakes and plenty of confidence they’ll stick and are predictable when they run out of grip. Sadly my set haven’t lasted long at 26,000km my first pair I had (admittedly on the front to replace two damaged tires) only did 18,000km. Note I drive plenty of course chip country B roads which might not help. I’d love to go for another set but will punt for the PS5 to hopefully get more K’s out of them.
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on May 30, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (255/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 7,000 easy going miles
One of the best tires! I had before pirelli scorpion zero, but they were too harsh. It felt like I had no tires. Michelin 4s are so comfort. You have that feeling that everything is under control. On wet is like on dry, excellent
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on May 22, 2022
Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Really like the PS4S. For backroad spirited driving, they've been absolutely fantastic. I don't find them noisy, and wear on them has been quite reasonable. I used them for a day of open lapping at one point too, and they did really well on track. Last year, I decided to try the Firestone Indy 500 (aka Bridgestone Potenza RE003) because they're significantly cheaper, but they sucked in comparison and I swapped back to PS4S within a couple of weeks.
Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on May 10, 2022
Given 96% while driving a Acura TSX (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
These are great tires, they become noisier as they age.
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on May 10, 2022