Bridgestone Potenza Sport

The Bridgestone Potenza Sport is the latest ultra high performance summer tire by Bridgestone. It has been developed to offer the best cornering and straight line stability, best dry braking, and outstanding grip in the wet of any Bridgestone UHP tire. The Potenza Sport will be available in 96 sizes from 17" to 22" to cover a wide range of passenger cars and on-road SUVs in the market.

This tire replaced the Bridgestone Potenza S001.

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 92%
Wear 64%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 79%

Tire review data from 88 tire reviews averaging 83% over 419,569 miles driven.

The Potenza Sport is ranked 21st of 75 Summer Max Performance tires.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Latest Tire Test Results

2024 Motorhome Summer Tire Test - 1st of 10 tires

  • Positive - Premium tires with excellent handling qualities on wet surfaces, high grip level in wet and dry conditions, direct steering response, short wet braking distances, very good safety margins in aquaplaning, fuel-saving rolling resistance, and moderate price level.
  • Negative - Slightly increased rolling noise.
View Full Test >>

2024 Summer SUV Tire Test - 3rd of 11 tires

  • Positive - Premium profile with good driving dynamics, convincing off-road characteristics, precise steering behavior, short wet and dry braking distances.
  • Negative - Increased rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2024 Sports Car Tire Test - 4th of 7 tires

  • Positive - Dynamic handling characteristics and impressive grip on wet tracks, short braking distances, direct steering, good balance.
  • Negative - After a few laps on a dry racetrack, there is significant wear and tear (leading to downgrading).
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Bridgestone Potenza Sport

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Potenza Sport

2021-08-26 - Hi, just put the Bridgestone Potenza sport 225/40-18 and 255/35-18 on my Meredes slk 55 amg, 2006. On saturday (28/8-21) i go for a trackday in Sweden and wondering what tire pressure this tire need on track? OEM car recommend is 2,2 and 2,4 bar...

Aim for those pressures when hot, so drop down to 2bar, warm up and then reduce the pressure to match recommendation.


2023-09-05 - Just checked my tire’s because l need to new fronts, on the back l have a Bridgestone sport on one side and a S005 on the other is this a problem?

The industry recommended matching tires across axles, so I do not recommend mixing a potenza sport and s005 on the same axle.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 $203.99 - $207.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 $202.99 - $213.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 $229.99 - $234.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 $219.99 - $219.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 $238.99 - $256.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 $219.99 - $261.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 $280.99 - $299.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 70 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Bridgestone Potenza Sport Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Jaguar XFR (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I have had these on the rear of my XFR for a few months now, it has the optional "R-S" size of 295/30/20. They get a hard life on a heavy >500bhp RWD car with quite relaxed electronics, and these are by far the best tires I have used on the rear of an XFR - various models of which have been my daily driver for 6.5 years now (about 90k miles covered in that time). Traction is superb in wet and dry conditions, and resistance to aquaplaning has been good as well. It is slightly concerning they come with
Helpful 996 - tire reviewed on November 22, 2021
Given 98% while driving a Kia Motors XCEED, 1.4 T GDI, MT, 2020 (235/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
I always had my cars on UUHP tires from Michelin, GY, Conti, and Bridgestone over the past 20+ years. This year I opted for Potenza Sport and I really love them. I can see that I made the right choice - the grip is simply relentless and fantastic feedback from the tires. Aquaplaning is also fantastic, considering how much faster I was able to push the car with confidence on autobahn during the pouring rain. Straight tracking is precise and the car is completely responsive to every input. Overall they feel like PZERO PZ4, but on a higher level in each discipline. Awesome tires and I recommend them 100%
Helpful 141 - tire reviewed on March 19, 2021
Given 59% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI MK7 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Awesome in the dry, loads of grip and good handling, pretty good in the wet too though don't like cold english mornings. DO NOT RUN THEM ON TRACK. They melt. I ruined the right front in about 15 laps. Ergo I won't be buying again. Normally tires last me a few trackdays.
Helpful 125 - tire reviewed on July 15, 2021
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Potenza Sport tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Potenza Sport? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Bridgestone Potenza Sport >

Latest Bridgestone Potenza Sport Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Audi A3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I tried Uhp-Max performance tires from all the premium brands. Michelin's strong point is durability and comfort, Dunlop and Goodyear good balance, Continental's driving on wet surfaces. The strong point of these Bridgestones is certainly the grip, stability and driving precision on dry surfaces. On dry surfaces they instil record-breaking safety. The steering is pleasantly direct and requires no corrections.
When it comes to road holding, they never seem to give up.
Even in the wet they are very good, but let's face it, the wet is a condition where few drivers push hard, and today many silica compounds from many tire brands prove to be amply sufficient for almost everyone.
Obviously if you are looking for comfort, silence and low fuel consumption, you can find them in excellent touring tires from many brands,
but we're talking about performance here, so I have nothing else to add.
Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on February 15, 2024
Tire reviews and ratingsTire Reviews Replies
You seem to know your tires, we would agree that the Potenza Sports strength is dry handling, very few come close to it on the road, but be careful overheating the tire on track as it can cause excessive wear.
Given 69% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
Before the Potenza, I had two set of Dunlop Sport Maxx, RT as OEM tire and then RT2, both great great tires, the perfect blend of sportiness and endurance, with only wet grip as weaker point. I decided yo give a chance to Bridgestone.
I've made already 35k km (22k miles) on them. The tires are quite worn, I think I could put another 5-6 k km before change.
I'll split the review into two main sections, NEW tire and WORN tire because the feedback has changed during quite two years of ownership.

NEW tire. Coming from Dunlop, the first thing I've noticed was a slightly better initial turn-in, not a huge difference however. The feedback at the steering wheel is more or less the same. But with Bridgestone the car feels more nervous; if you push hard on a curvy road you can feel the rear weaving too much. I think that's because the overall balance for the tires is front-oriented. And, for me, this is not confident inspiring.
As for the grip, on summer's hot tarmacs the dry grip was not so good. The tires feels "soapy" and too much sensitive on inflate pressure. At the OEM pressure, the tires offered very poor dry grip; reducing it of 0.2-0.3 bar, the overall feeling improved a little, but with an increase in fuel consumption. Bridgestone doesn't like hot temperatures and they need to work with low pressure. Copy-paste with Battlax S22 OEM tires I found on my bike.

WORN tire. Ageing seems to be great for Bridgestone. But I think that it's not wizardry, but just wear who has improved the tire surface in contact. With quite 40k kms and two years old, now the car is less nervous, it feels more planted. Dry grip is improved and the pressure-sensibility is reduced. Only cabin noise is getting worse, but it's directly related to wear (less rubber = noise increment).

As for wet grip, in this scenario the Potenza are phenomenal. Even now that there're worn, they've loosed nothing about grip, feedback, precision and safety. They are really a wet UHP tire!

Will I buy them again? Balancing dry and wet grip, fuel consumption (increased), road feedback, feeling, and wear the answer is NO. They are good tires, but I think that there's something better on the market. The think I really disliked was the road behaviour on dry surfaces, too nervous from new. For me there’re not a sporty tire; struggling at the wheel could be funny for someone, not for me.
Next tires will be Michelin PS 5
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on February 11, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 77% while driving a MINI Cooper S Works (205/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Bridgestone potenza sport , when I purchased my car mini cooper Jcw it had Michelin ps4 front and rear , was very happy with the way they performed, through the summer , as winter was coming and as the frt tires got go 4mm I found the car was aquaplaning even as 50 mph , time for new front tires , I have never been a Bridgestone fan ; looking at the reviews I thought I give them I try , as the mini is not a big heavy car, was not worried about wear , the differences between the ps4 and Bridgestone on my car is that the Bridgestone are better feedback, less noise, more comfort, less aquaplaning (new tire) great feel on the road, good grip wet and dry
But ! I only have had these tires on in the winter so far , I think from other reviews , I what am finding there temperature sensitive more than most other tires , I can not pull off quickly without spinning the wheels ( expected in the wet ) but in the dry spins up easy from standing compared to the ps4 . “Hope this improves in the summer” , these tires don’t like the cold as other reviews point out ,
You lose confidence in the tire when it’s cold : Would not buy again because they spin up so easy even in the dry , and lose
Confidence in the tires when it’s cold weather , will see what there like in the summer and do a review
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on January 27, 2024
Given 93% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
I used tires for road and occasional track use. The best tire I’ve ever had on the swift sport. I simply love them. Also the rim protection is very good.
Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on January 17, 2024
Given 93% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (255/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
After 2 sets of s001 runflat and s001 normal, I was undecided whether to choose Power Sport, Sport Contact 7 or F1 Super Sport. I wanted to put my trust in Bridgestone again because its tires have never let me down in difficult situations and the hard sidewall has always protected the rims from potholes and impacts. As soon as I mounted the Potenza Sport I tested them very, very much to the limit, almost like on the track. I confirm that they have a tendency to tear and crumble, but only if you overdo it by making them skate on very grainy asphalt. Driving hard, really hard but without skidding, the consumption remains excellent in relation to the performance which compared to the S001 is incredible. The leap forward in grip and steering speed is unbelievable. On dry surfaces they feel like sticky wheels at any speed up to the limit which is progressive. In the wet they are like the previous generation in the dry, unbelievable. Third factor, the steering speed and stability are unrivaled. Riding them made me overcome my curiosity about what the f1ss and sc7 could be like. Having a spirited driving style I love the Bridgestone Potenza Sport, I would never choose the Michelin PS4S, they have softer sidewall's and slower steering, they are made for mass, for the sporty driver but with little steering sensitivity, sensitivity that compensates them with excessive progressiveness in reactions. Power sports, on the other hand, are made for those who drive with maximum sensitivity throughout the body, using minimal steering wheel movements, more direct and precise, giving you fantastic sensations.
Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on October 27, 2023
Given 83% while driving a Fiat Abarth 124 Spider (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Fitted these tires myself, noticed a hard feeling sidewall straight away. While mounting to wheels.

I find there is not a great choice of tire at this size. I love how Potenza Sport has performed. But would love to be able to try Goodyear Eagle F1 SS, Continental EC2 etc but most of these higher performance sizes are either North America exclusive or 18 inch and above.

I’ve had a look around and considered going to a cup 2 type tire but live in Scotland and don’t feel it’s worth the flight maybe gain in performance for the lack of in the rain.

I will likely buy Potenza Sport again as I cannot fault them and they are still the best option for my needs in this size. Superb feel, and unbelievable in the rain. Gives unbelievable confidence in bad conditions and for a tire that handles so well in the dry it’s fantastic.
Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on October 24, 2023
Given 81% while driving a Peugeot 207 GT (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16 spirited miles
Very good dry and excellent wet grip and with very predictable behaviour. tread depth is down to 4.5mm from the initial 6.5mm in 16k miles, so wear is not a issue at least in a lightweight hatchback. Coming from pirelli p zero nerogt and Dunlop sportmax sp, the Bridgestones provide higher grip levels and more comfort in exchange for some steering feel. From my experience i would recommend them.
Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on October 13, 2023
Given 83% while driving a Mazda 3 MPS (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Coming from Michelin PS3 following things really impressed me:

- Steering Feel. It is super direct and feels amazing.
- Wet Grip. It's kinda insane I have to admit I was able to push it during rainstorms.
- 1. and 2. Gear pull no wheelspin with 260hp and 380nm. No matter if dry or wet.
- Tire warms up in 3 min of normal driving

I was able to compare the performance to my friend, who was driving a Ford Focus RS MK2 with Michelin Cup2.
In the dry, cornering speed are the same at the beginning. But as soon, as the Bridgestone get to hot, they loose grip.
In the Rain it goes crazy, without any compromise you can hammer around the corners, as long, as there isn't any deep water.

If you want to use them for track, I recommend it for rainy days. In the dry, it will melt.

On the German Autobahn above 200km/h, I kinda had the feeling the tires loose a lot of precision, because they get to hot, or can't deal with high speeds for more than 5 min.
It felt like driving balloon winter tires.
This only happened on hot summer days (30°C).

Comfort is not it's strength. It feels rather harsh and is a bit noisy.

Now, I am able to test Cup2 against it.
Most difference is temperature tolerance, obviously.
Cup 2 are better above 20°C, need lots of heat to work. If it's under 20°C, it has less grip, in the cold wet it's really low.

They are surprisingly comfortable and quiet compared to the Potenza Sport.

Potenza have better wear on the streets, TW300.
Cup2 better wear on track, TW180.
Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on August 15, 2023
Given 53% while driving a BMW 120d M sport (235/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
The tires have less tread on them than most competitors from new. They felt quite good from new, need some heat into them to perform, and they did perform quite well on track. However, after the first Nurburgring laps the tires looked in terrible shape, especially the fronts (F20 could use more neg. camber on the front). Friends with different but similar class FWD cars, but with Michelin PS4(S) looked much better after the same number of laps.

DOT code 06 22, just over a year later the rear tires are already worn. The fronts look in terrible shape and are close to end of life as well. May 2022, 3 Nurburgring laps, one of which in the wet and the tread looked terrible after 2 laps. Parts of it were melted and chunks had fallen off. Oktober 2022 2 wet Nurburgring laps, April 2023 2 more (wet then dry) Nurburgring laps and 2* 15 minute sessions on Zandvoort in May 2023. Around 32.000km driven in total. The Nurburgring laps were never consequent laps and the tire pressure was lowered to around 2 bar prior to the lap.

Fuel consumption is not great either. I went from 225 -> 235 on the front and 245 -> 255 on the rear. On a 90km run to uni I used to easily get 4-4.5L/100km with Goodyear Eagle F1 asymmetric 2 (runflat), with the Bridgestone it was difficult to get 5L/100km.

Car: 2017 BMW 120D M-sport (lowered)
Front: 235/40R18
Rear: 255/35R18
Use: Economical highway driving. Occasional spirited driving. Total 6 Nordschleife laps and 30 minutes Zandvoort sessions
Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on June 1, 2023
Given 79% while driving a Aston Martin V8 Vantage 4.3 (275/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 13,000 average miles
Very happy with them, 6 months and 13k Km after I put a full set of these (235/40/19 fronts and 275/35/19 rears) on my Aston Martin V8 Vantage (2007), approximately consumed half of their life, most of those kilometers has been done on highways, little in the city, some country and hill roads plus some laps at Nürburgring, I can tell it's an outstanding tire, their performance is near close to semi-slick levels, they works extremely well on dry roads and don't need to be careful about warming them unless you live in a very cold climate, very well on wet roads which is not common for this kind of sport compound, they feels very sporty on every day use, steering feel is gorgeous, as downside it's a soft compound in their segment so expect to not be the best mileager tire and above average noise, I don't recommend them to use on daily "normal" cars, they are not terrible in this job but I think they are better intended for fun/sports cars.
Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on May 31, 2023
Given 72% while driving a Opel Astra J 1.4 turbo (235/50 R18) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
Very good tire. Almost like potenza s001..
Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on May 19, 2023
Given 81% while driving a SEAT Ibiza Cupra 20VT (215/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
This is an end of life review.

The Bridgestone Potenza Sport is an excellent sporty tire. It has good grip in the dry and resists the hot 35C summers here in Greece well. They are neutral at the limit, allowing me to control the rotation of the car with the accelerator if needed. Steering feedback is above average (though my Ibiza with its electrohydraulic rack is not the most communicative platform. Braking distance is excellent both on dry and wet surfaces. Wet grip is decent for the low tread the tires come from the factory, and handling balance there has a tiny hint of oversteer, but its so little that even the ESP doesn't activate.

Comfort and noise take a step back, but I don't really care about such trivial things. Tire life is also shorter compared to the PS4, but the upsides make up for it. Lastly, the price is very reasonable at around 420€/set. I'll fit them again next month when it's time to change tires.
Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on May 2, 2023