Michelin CrossClimate 2

The Michelin CrossClimate 2 is a Premium Touring All Season tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Michelin CrossClimate Plus.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 66%
Wear 87%
Comfort 90%
Buy again 91%
Snow Grip 93%
Ice Grip 83%

Tire review data from 23 tire reviews averaging 85% over 101,800 miles driven.

The CrossClimate 2 is ranked 9th of 43 All Season Premium Touring tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 All Season Tire Market Overview - 1st of 34 tires

View Full Test >>

2021 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test - 1st of 11 tires

  • Positive - Clear leader in the dry, good wet handling, shortest wet braking at warmer temperatures, best aquaplaning resistance in both tests, one of the best tires overall in the snow, low levels of noise, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Average wet braking at cooler temperatures, expensive.
  • Overall - The new Michelin CrossClimate 2 had a near flawless test, with the only weakness coming in the wet at cooler temperatures where it couldn't quite match the best. It was the most summer-like tire in the dry, led both deep water tests, was one of the best in the snow, and had low noise and low rolling resistance. A really impressive performance from the new tire, and a worthy upgrade to the CrossClimate+.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tire Test - 2nd of 12 tires

  • Positive - The new Michelin CrossClimate 2 is an excellent all round tire with exemplary driving properties on snow and dry roads, short dry braking distances, petro saving rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Average wet handling.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin CrossClimate 2

Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate 2

2021-10-14 - Does the New CrossClimate 2 have a Run Flat option?

There is currently only one runflat size of the CC2, 225/45 R18. You can see all the sizes available here.


2021-09-20 - How would these do on the track? Would it be possible to have these on year round PLUS use them on the racetrack for some fun driving (not trying to get the best lap times, just driving for fun).

For an all season tire, they would perform well, but like all tires of this category you will notice poor heat resistance and high wear when hot, so I cannot recommend driving any all season tire on track.


2021-09-23 - How does the CrosscClimate 2 compare to a summer tire like Bridgestone Turanza T005 or the Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 when it comes to Rolling resistance ?

Our all season tire test has data covering this.


2022-01-08 - I want to purchase the Michelin CrossClimate 2 in the size 225/45R17 94, which is available with V and Y speed index. Both would suffice for my car as the rated top speed is 235 km/h so what are the pros and cons of V vs Y?

Generally, the lower speed rating should have a very small advantage in comfort, however some tire manufacturers are now making the same tire for multiple speed and load indexes the same, just having a different marking, so in this case I'd buy whatever is more wallet friendly.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


CrossClimate 2 Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 6 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin CrossClimate 2 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Infiniti 2004 G35 (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Car = 2014 Infiniti Q60 AWD (aka G37 Coupe / CV36 Skyline - RWD bias ATTESA AWD) Overall, pleased with the tire as I wanted a comfortable tire with long tread life and a true "All-Season" tire for the winter months as I have not yet purchased a set of dedicated summer wheels/tires yet. Coming from previous Michelin Pilot Sport AS3+ which lasted around 52k of 45k mile rating with sometimes spirited driving, so have no reason to doubt Michelin's tread ware claims, at least on my vehicle. Handling in the dry, the AS3+ was better when taking curves/turns and activated the VDC/TCS less often, handling in the wet appears to be similar. Snow and ice grip, of course, are markedly better on the CrossClimate2 with all aspects of handling/acceleration/braking, whereas the AS3+ would be somewhat haphazard of anything over 1" of snow. While the tire itself is comfortable and not noisy (similar amount of perceivable noise as the AS3+), the thick tread pattern/blocks pick up large stones/pebbles like no other, which may result in annoying clinking until manually inspected and removed.
49 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2021   
Given 93% while driving a Kia Motors Sorrento xt 3.5 v6 4x4 (235/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
I've had this on the Kia Sorento for around 6 months, and driven a winter in Salt Lake City which see's a lot of snow. These tires are exceptional, quiet and comfortable in the dry, good grip in the wet, and way way better than any us all season tire. Couldn't get stuck even in deep snow. Highly recommended. Only swapping them off for the summer as I want a set of ATs on for moab driving and don't want to risk a sidewall popping, otherwise I'd keep this on all year.
31 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2021   
Given 98% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Night and Day. Driving on regular all seasons for years, then switching to the CC2’s, I was blown away. FWD car handled slush and snow with ease, especially from starting on tricky hills and positions. Quiet and confident dry road feel, and sharp response for quick maneuvers, while coming in under 150 USD
23 - tire reviewed on September 28, 2021   
Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate 2 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin CrossClimate 2? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Michelin CrossClimate 2 >

Latest Michelin CrossClimate 2 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Got them fitted right before a 150km long drive thru severe snow storm down from 350m above sea to 1100m. Temperatures ranged from 0°C to -5°C. Dry road to wet road to sludge to snow covered roads. What definitely stands out is snow traction. Very smooth running and extremely quiet in the first 500km. Hope they will stay like that. Only one negative point: Fresh, they only have 7mm thread depth. Not good in countries with a legal requirement of 4mm in winter conditions.
0 - tire reviewed on January 22, 2022   
Given 86% while driving a Honda CRV (235/60 R18) on mostly town for 12,000 average miles
I am not an expert so take my review with the grain of salt. I've been mainly driving Nokian WRG2, WRG3 and WRG4 - I really like Nokian for Canadian conditions. However, I have read many great things about CrossClimate 2 tires and compared to Nokians I can confidently say that the CrossClimate 2 felt better during summer driving. It felt quieter and I felt it had lower rolling resistance than Nokians. I am hoping this will contribute to better thread wear as well. I had a hard time perceiving any significant differenced during winter driving conditions. Both tires were quite good in my opinion.
0 - tire reviewed on January 7, 2022   
Want the best all season tire? Click here!
Given 100% while driving a Mazda (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
I was looking for a good pair of all season tires that would give more security and confidence in UK winter conditions and good traction on cold rainy days. I live in the south of the UK so I do not expect to see that much snow but we do get the ocasional slush on cold mornings and after a few skids on the old Uniroyal rainexpert 3s that were on the car, I've decided to go for the new CC2s based on the user reviews great recent test results. I've had the tires fitted for only a few hundred miles but I am amazed how confortable and silent these are whilst driving on the motorway. Breaking performance is good and the levels of grip in the dry and wet are really impressive when compared to the old rainexpert 3 tires. From a subjective driving standpoint, the only drawback that I could find for the new CC2s is that they were only available as an 205/60R16 96V Xl size versus the 205/60R16 92V that are the manufacturer recommend size for my car and whilst driving in town, I need to be carefull whilst going over speed bumps becasue of the stiffer sidewall. All in all, a great all rounder if you can afford it!
2 - tire reviewed on December 6, 2021   
Given 80% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (225/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
I was looking for 'all weather' tires that would give more security and confidence in UK winter conditions, without sacrificing comfort or noise. Although still early days, I am extremely pleased with how the CrossClimate 2s are performing. I just spent a few days in the Peak District during a time when snow storms had closed a number of roads. My car (FWD only) was able to climb (and descend) some very steep, rutted and icy lanes with barely any wheel slip - it was truly impressive. On dry roads, the driving feel is barely changed from the previous OE tires (ContiPremiumContact 5) - certainly I cannot find any trade-offs in comfort, control or fuel economy. Motorway noise is impressive - the level seems similar to the OE tires but the pitch is lower and less noticeable.
1 - tire reviewed on December 4, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Jeep Renegade longitude4x4 (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Done around 1000 miles now on the CC2s,the ride quality,steering feel and grip have improved noticeably,rough and shoddy UK roads are dealt with easily.Have not driven on them in true winter conditions until recently,l found that the tire (and car l might add) deal with deep snow,slush and ice confidently without any difficulty or drama..a truly superb all year round tire.
0 - tire reviewed on November 27, 2021   
Given 83% while driving a Fiat 500L Living Lounge 1.6 jtdm 105hp (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 100 easy going miles
First impressions: amazing dry braking performance! Comfort is impressive as well, really quiet and deals with the road imperfections quite nicely. Curious to see how it performs in the wet and snow in the colder conditions. If it wears nicely, I'll seriously consider fitting a set on my other car and to have one set of always grippy and comfy tires, with the bonus of having nice looking wheels all the time, not only in the summer :)
0 - tire reviewed on November 22, 2021   
Given 82% while driving a BMW M140i (/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
In terms of driving pleasure, the Bridgestone Weather Control A005s were slightly better, as the balance was much less understeery. However, the Michelin CrossClimate 2 is much more confident on the road. The comfort is very high. The rolling noise is okay. By far the most outstanding features are the traction and the braking distance on dry asphalt. That almost goes in the direction of summer tires. Cornering properties in the wet and dry are comparable to the A005. So typical for a very good winter / all-season tire.
6 - tire reviewed on November 22, 2021   
Given 88% while driving a Toyota GR Yaris (/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
This tire copes with everything I have thrown at it, including deep mud, and wet grass! I live in a rural area, and in the winter the roads get very slippery, the cross climate 2 copes exceptionally well in these conditions. In the dry, they perform very well for a tire in this class. Will definitely buy again.
5 - tire reviewed on November 16, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a Lexus Rx450h (/55 R19) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
I'm not a car expert. Having purchased a 2015 RX450h a year ago after a lifetime of driving underpowered "consumer" vehicles, I've found myself delighted and more interested. My experience is limited yet hope it may be of value here. The car came with two new sets from the prior owner: Nexen NFera RU5 summer tires and Yokohama IceGuard G075, both used at 8000' elevation in the Colorado Rocky Mountains. I live at 5600' where the Great Plains literally meet the Front Range foothills. Our snows are intermittent and almost always melt quickly; in all but the most severe storms the roads are cleared overnight with no glaciation. The CrossClimate2's (hereinafter CC2) came to my attention and as I presume you know are already well documented both technically and experientially in YouTube videos. I privately sold both tire sets and mounted the CC2s in April 2021 during the end of our winter snow season. My prior experiences are driving a '98 Jeep Grand Cherokee, an '08 Honda Civic, and an older Camry and Accord, and drove with both Nexens and Yokos on the RX. I average 7000 miles/year. I don't push things; not a fan of G forces, especially on crowded urban roadways and highways, let along high Rocky Mountain S curves. Here's what I can offer so far: - Comfort/dry: the CC2s ride like ghosts…as if they're not there. Now this is on a Lexus RX that itself rides silently and smoothly. Yet I also feel their enhanced grip compared to the other sets. - Snow/braking: I tested the CC2s in an empty parking lot one night with 4-5" of spring slush. I started at one end and floored it to the middle of the lot in the various drive modes. Zero slippage whatsoever except for 2 merest blips of the traction light. In the middle of the run I braked hard, and as the runs when on, harder. Zero skidding and, assuming that Lexus ABS braking feels and sounds like what I've experienced prior in lesser cars, it never engaged in this testing. I'm completely sold. First, for never having to swap tires, wheels, etc. That's a big time, effort, and money saver. Next, the CC2s with their street-legal snowflake winter designation, stellar personal test performance, and video performance in the Swiss Alps indicates that I ought to expect very secure snow performance even to 8-10" on my 5000 lb SUV.
2 - tire reviewed on November 10, 2021   
Given 61% while driving a Peugeot 206 GTi 137 (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I have been driving on this set of wheels for a while now and would not recommend them. Grip is rather disappointing on dry roads, actually worse than winter on summer... but slightly better on wet roads. I drive a lot on mountain roads and was caught a few times by surprise about how fast you can lose control. Tread wear is unfortunately quite concerning too as I am now halfway though them. Noise is no concern to me but they are definitely not as quiet as advertised. All in all, I think I will stay away from this particular tire and would not recommend either.
14 - tire reviewed on October 25, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (225/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 11,500 average miles
Great touring tire with very predictable handling characteristics in all weather conditions. The quietest tire I've ever had with the exception of a few different cement surfaces.
8 - tire reviewed on October 25, 2021   
Given 95% while driving a Subaru WRX Limited (245/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
Just bought these about 2000 miles ago and put them on my 2020 Subaru WRX. So far I've done a ton of dry driving and some heavy rain driving. In dry conditions this tire is very grippy and handles the corners very well. In wet conditions the tire is very solid. Hydro sliding wasn't a worry at all during heavy rain thanks to the tire's groove pattern. Road noise was very little to none. The engine noise was louder than the tires themselves. So far I'm happy with my purchase although price could be a sticking point for some. We'll see how they fare in the winter months, but so far they've been worth the investment.
6 - tire reviewed on October 18, 2021