Michelin CrossClimate 2

The Michelin CrossClimate 2 is a Premium Touring All Season tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire review data from 103 tire reviews averaging 81% over 1,052,849 miles driven, and 19 tests with an average result of 3rd.

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 72%
Wear 85%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 82%
Snow Grip 86%
Ice Grip 78%

First On MarketJanuary 2020
Wheel Size15 - 21"
Width155 - 285mm
Profile35 - 70
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripB - B
Noise (dB)69 - 73
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The CrossClimate 2 is ranked 14th of 58 All Season Premium Touring tires.

This tire replaced the Michelin CrossClimate Plus.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Tests Included

19

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

10th

Average Result

3rd

Latest Tire Test Results

The Best All Season Tires for 2024
4th of 7 tires
  • Good grip in the dry, high aquaplaning resistance, best in snow, lowest noise in test, lowest rolling resistance on test.
  • Long wet braking, high purchase price with average wear means expensive per km.
  • The Michelin CrossClimate 2, the tire that's won every test I've featured it in, dropped down to fourth behind the new trio of tires. I think the biggest surprise wasn't that it was the best in the snow, I've said this tire is too good in the snow many times, or had the lowest rolling resistance on test, it's always done that well, but the fact it wasn't best in dry braking which is historically the Michelins party piece. I really hope Michelin can bring wet improvements to the next product, even if that means sacrificing a little snow. The CrossClimate 2 is still a great all season tire, but according to this test, it's no longer the greatest.
    .
View Full Test >>
2024 ADAC All Season Tire Test
4th of 16 tires
  • The Michelin CrossClimate 2 tire receives a satisfactory overall safety rating, mainly due to its performance on wet roads. On dry surfaces, it provides good steering feedback, precision, and reserves at the limit, achieving the shortest braking distance in the test.

    On wet roads, the tire's performance drops. While it delivers good results in braking and aquaplaning tests, its handling is rated as merely adequate. The Michelin struggles to combine longitudinal and lateral forces effectively, leading to early under- or oversteer. The performance limit is low, resulting in imprecise steering control.

    In winter conditions, the CrossClimate 2 impresses with good performance. Its braking and traction are rated as good, and it secures the best handling score in the test, allowing precise and safe maneuvering through the course.

    Environmentally, the Italian and Spanish-made Michelin CrossClimate 2 achieves a good result. It offers high projected mileage and the lowest wear in the test. Additionally, it shows above-average performance in fuel consumption and weight.

    .
View Full Test >>
2024 Sports Car All Season Tire Test
2nd of 13 tires
  • Winter expert with exemplary performance on snow and ice, good aquaplaning reserves, stable and secure wet and dry handling, pleasantly quiet rolling comfort, low rolling resistance.
  • None mentioned.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
185/65R15 92 V XLCB69
195/65R15 91 HCB69
195/65R15 95 V XLBB69
185/65R15 88 HCB69
195/55R15 89 V XLBB69
195/55R15 85 VCB69
16 inch
205/55R16 91 VCB69
215/60R16 99 H XLBB71
205/55R16 91 WCB69
205/60R16 96 V XLBB69
215/60R16 95 VCB71
215/60R16 99 V XLBB71
205/60R16 96 H XLBB69
205/55R16 94 V XLBB69
205/60R16 92 HCB69
205/55R16 91 HCB69
17 inch
225/45R17 94 V XLCB71
225/45R17 91 WCB71
205/50R17 89 VCB69
215/55R17 94 VBB71
225/45R17 94 Y XLCB71
205/50R17 89 HCB69
225/50R17 98 Y XLBB71
205/50R17 93 V XLCB69
225/50R17 94 WCB71
215/45R17 91 Y XLCB71
215/55R17 98 W XLBB71
225/45R17 91 YCB71
205/50R17 93 W XLCB69
225/60R17 99 VBB71
225/50R17 98 V XLBB71
18 inch
245/45R18 96 YCB71
245/45R18 100 Y XLBB71
245/40R18 97 Y XLCB71
245/40R18 93 YCB71
225/40R18 92 Y XLCB71
255/35R18 94 Y XLCB71
19 inch
235/35R19 91 Y XLCB71
20 inch
245/35R20 95 Y XLCB71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Michelin CrossClimate 2 >>

Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate 2

2021-10-14 - Does the New CrossClimate 2 have a Run Flat option?

There is currently only one runflat size of the CC2, 225/45 R18. You can see all the sizes available here.


2021-09-19 - How would these do on the track? Would it be possible to have these on year round PLUS use them on the racetrack for some fun driving (not trying to get the best lap times, just driving for fun).

For an all season tire, they would perform well, but like all tires of this category you will notice poor heat resistance and high wear when hot, so I cannot recommend driving any all season tire on track.


2021-09-23 - How does the CrosscClimate 2 compare to a summer tire like Bridgestone Turanza T005 or the Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 when it comes to Rolling resistance ?

Our all season tire test has data covering this.


2022-01-08 - I want to purchase the Michelin CrossClimate 2 in the size 225/45R17 94, which is available with V and Y speed index. Both would suffice for my car as the rated top speed is 235 km/h so what are the pros and cons of V vs Y?

Generally, the lower speed rating should have a very small advantage in comfort, however some tire manufacturers are now making the same tire for multiple speed and load indexes the same, just having a different marking, so in this case I'd buy whatever is more wallet friendly.


2022-03-26 - Would Cross Climate be good (or best choice) as all season tire on a Mercedes A Class (2013 - Amg line, 1.6 156bhp) - Tire size 225/40 R18 92Y? thanks in advance

The Crossclimate 2 is an excellent all season tire, as are the all season tires from Continental and Goodyear. There's lots of test data on the site so show you which tire is best in each area.


2022-11-10 - Just have to say I love your videos so I have a Mk1 audi tt the tires are getting a little worn now so I was thinking about a all season tire as a alternative to a winter tire as I live in England and its not that bad would this make a good alternative to a winter tire in England

The CC2 makes an excellent winter tire for regions that don't see extreme winters like the UK.


2022-12-11 - I drive a front wheel drive car and currently have four summer tires fitted. Can I replace the front two tires with CC2s leaving summer tires on the rear ? Is this legal and ok for insurance purposes. Great site guys !

It is legal, and technically it's the correct way to do it, but keep this in mind - While the car will have a safe understeer balance in snow and perhaps very cold wet weather, in the dry it's likely you'll have more grip at the front so there's potential for oversteer during extreme maneuvers.


2023-01-23 - Initially the Cross Climate 2 seemed to be open to being used with an SUV, prior to an SUV version coming out. Since May 2022 the SUV version has been released. What is the difference between them if both can be used on the SUV? Should we take the CC2 ratings from across your tests and assume they are the same for the SUV version? Thanks - great site!

Yes, the CC2 and CC2 SUV are just naming differences and are available in differing sizes and load ratings. The tire performance should be exactly the same.


2023-01-23 - Michelin did a great test on their launch comparing a worn, 2mm tread, CC2 with their competitors at the same worn tread. While this gave a great indicator of comparative performance it was clear that ALL tires changed hugely in performance at 2mm vs brand new.

Would it be possible to do review some tires across a range of tread depth (i.e. 2mm, 3mm, 4mm, 6mm) to compare performance and see if the decline is linear or exponential (just like you wonderfully did across a range of temperatures)? This would help inform when the best time to replace a tire is to keep a good balance of safety and performance.

This is on the list to do!


2023-10-08 - Would the Tire Review team recommend CC2 for a Jaguar XF S (300ps / 700Nm RWD), 255/35/R20? Living in the east of England, but travel UK wide, concerned by the poor feedback on wet handling. The Goodyear vector 4S seems a better choice but not on sale in the UK. I was thinking of a second set of R19 wheels with winter tires but dont think the cost and storage space can be justified. Keep up the great work Tire Reviews!!

I am surprised if the CC2 is available in that size, it might be an OE fitment for a Land Rover? The CC2 would be a good choice for the vehicle but with that much torque and weight any all season or winter tire will struggle a little!


2023-11-26 - How did the CC2 perform in winter compared to some budget winter tires (around USD150 each)?

There is a video on the Tire Reviews Youtube channel comparing the CC2 to the X-Ice Snow in the dry, wet and snow which should give you the idea in differing performances in the category.


2024-01-20 - I am considering to replace the tires for my Lexus RX450H 2022 with PILOT SPORT 4 SUV or CROSSCLIMATE2. May I have your recommendation between these 2 or any other choice?

The CrossClimate 2 an the PS4SUV are very different products, one is a summer tire and the other is an all season. The choice comes down to how much mobility you want in snow, if you want any the CC2 is the natural choice. It will also be better when it's very cold. At all other times of year the PS4SUV will outperform it. Check out the test data on the site.


2024-05-28 - Thanks for the effort as always! Why is the rolling resistance from the Michelin CC2 lower on this review compared to the review of your video 23/24 (8 months ago)? And in which temperature do you test the tires in dry (braking/handling) as it will impact the performance? Thanks!

I'm not sure what you mean by the rolling resistance on "this review", this page is an index of user experiences and multiple tire tests which often have measured their own rolling resistance data. RR can vary by size.

Test temperatures are noted on the test charges where available.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 $174.99 - $174.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 $168.99 - $168.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 $249.99 - $249.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 $206.64 - $212.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 $216.99 - $268.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/65 R17 $235.99 - $235.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 61 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin CrossClimate 2 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Infiniti 2004 G35 (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Car = 2014 Infiniti Q60 AWD (aka G37 Coupe / CV36 Skyline - RWD bias ATTESA AWD) Overall, pleased with the tire as I wanted a comfortable tire with long tread life and a true "All-Season" tire for the winter months as I have not yet purchased a set of dedicated summer wheels/tires yet. Coming from previous Michelin Pilot Sport AS3+ which lasted around 52k of 45k mile rating with sometimes spirited driving, so have no reason to doubt Michelin's tread ware claims, at least on my vehicle. Handling in the dry, the AS3+ was better when taking curves/turns and activated the VDC/TCS less often, handling in the wet appears to be similar. Snow and ice grip, of course, are markedly better on the CrossClimate2 with all aspects of handling/acceleration/braking, whereas the AS3+ would be somewhat haphazard of anything over 1" of snow. While the tire itself is comfortable and not noisy (similar amount of perceivable noise as the AS3+), the thick tread pattern/blocks pick up large stones/pebbles like no other, which may result in annoying clinking until manually inspected and removed.
Helpful 287 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2021
Given 84% while driving a Audi A3 S Line Sportback 2.0 TDI 184 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Recently put a full set of these tires on my A3. They replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport 4's (which lasted for twenty thousand miles/three and a half years).
The Cross Climate 2's are a huge improvement when it comes to comfort and cabin noise. The PS 4's were very crashy on rough roads and they were noisy. The CC's are quieter and so much more forgiving. Time will tell how they perform in the winter months. I would recommend these tires if you would like a more comfortable ride.
Helpful 45 - tire reviewed on November 27, 2023
Given 91% while driving a Toyota Yaris Mk4 Hybrid 1.5 (XP210, M15A FXE) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 600 average miles
Tire fitted 3 weeks ago just in time for the recent bout of wet, icy and snowy weather. My first reaction was how noticeably more comfortable they are compared to the summer tires on my Toyota yaris hybrid. In the wet they have significantly more grip particularly when pulling away from a standstill and they were outstanding in the ice and snow.
Helpful 42 - tire reviewed on December 6, 2023
Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate 2 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin CrossClimate 2? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Michelin CrossClimate 2 >

Latest Michelin CrossClimate 2 Reviews

Given 80% while driving a SEAT Skoda Octavia III 1.6 TDI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
After a total usage of 90.000 miles, i had to replace my summer and winter tire sets. As i will likely not keep the car for another 9 years, i opted to buy a good all season tire set to avoid extra cost and hassle to change sets two times a year. Anyways, the finalists were Continental and Michelin. Price was high but i preferred Michelin since it looked considerqably quiet on paper.

My original choice was 94V XL version for durability but had to go for 91W due to stock issues. I am generally happy with the ride comfort. Real smooth ride after factory fit ContiEcoContact 5. Road noise is generally very low, no complaint so far. Dry grip is very good, no abs kick. As it is summer over here, not much experience on wet yet but wet grip seems good. Handling and road feedback is better then my expectataitions.

The only drawback is the fuel consumption. It noticeably increased by 4-5 percent, even after increased pressure. It is worse with recommended pressures. However, ride comfort is still good after applying higher pressure. Compared to ContiEcoContact 5 ( "A" fuel consumption rating), the car is not that agile, feeling like tire is absorbing energy. But this should be normal as grip is much much better than before.

No comments on winter usage yet. We will see winter.

I am wondering the tread life of "W" speed rating. I hope it will not erode it that soon.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on July 11, 2024
Given 89% while driving a Kia Motors kadenza 3.0 (215/55 R17) on for 0 miles
I think tire testing should only be done with tires that have consumed more than 80 percent.
The new product can be used even in heavy rain that cannot be solved with a wiper
It can handle speeds of over 200km
Even though the time for replacement has passed, I am still considering it because it has more functionality than regular tires.
Mileage equivalent to taxi tires is also practical.
These tires are priced for your safety, not for high performance.
However, the performance is not bad.
A partner on the way to work in all situations.
If you gain confidence in a strong longitudinal grip, you can become even faster.
Safe tires that always protect you.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on June 26, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Acura 3.2 TL (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Not a review. The Michelin CrossClimate 2 has a tread depth of 6,7mm from new. Measured in the size 225/45R17 94Y XL
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on June 2, 2024
Given 87% while driving a Toyota Corolla (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 27,000 average miles
Taxi Driver; review after covering 27000 miles in 2 years. These are the best tires that I have own. Thrown all sorts of abuse at it; from treacherous potholes, broken manholes, nails (one is still stuck in there - see image), hitting kerbs, snow, ice, hot summer motorways with temperature above 30 degrees, heavy downpours. All I say is that it did and handled it's job very well. If I hadn't had wheel alignment issue (inner side of the tires have reached the 1.6mm legal limit) and corrected it earlier I could still get out another 5000 miles from it as the middle tread of the tire have not reached the 1.6mm mark. Off to try the new Continental all season 2 whether it can beat these or not.
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on May 29, 2024
Given 71% while driving a Honda CRV (235/60 R18) on mostly motorways for 80,000 average miles
Here is a Good Review - This is a "Directional" tire. Rotation is front to back/back to front. If your car has 4 wheel alignment then this is a great tire. Sipeing on this tire is incredible (we hit a Rain trench at night (4 or more inches deep) and the tracking stayed straight even though there was no road surface contact). My car is a 2020 Honda CRV AWD (this is the third CRV AWD I've owned). This is the first time I've used a directional tire. I'm a moderate push driver - nothing at crazy level but maybe a drift on a wet surface or coasting down off the Blue Ridge to the town below (Oh Yeh). the car has 135k and 8mm rear / 6mm front pads left (Honda Service just measured). The tires replaced OEM's at around 45-50k so ..... 80k and 3/32nds today. Even now the Michelin Grip along with Sidewall give is acceptable (I wouldn't trust a defensive road evasion above 45 or 50). Now the bad - this tire tracks "Straight" to the exclusion of the steering. This means that your car may think it's going straight but the tires will make it go straight and I believe that with the newer AWD vehicles this is a detriment to alignment. I've had 3 Alignments for these tires. I've never had more than two even on my Restomod F150. I attribute this to the AWD and Honda LKA. The Older AWD Trucks with Lockouts had tire wear problems due to the Inside/Outside Turn ratios. And lastly this tire is a "Howler". On real asphalt roads its quiet but on the newer composite roadways it's 5-10db above road noise in the car and gets louder once you reach the "tattletales" on the tire. So Safety and Long life are the trade-offs to some road noise. I suspect the noise and alignment issues would diminish with a 2WD car. And if Vehicle is over 5 - 6 years old I might reconsider - think suspension bushings and bearings. Thank you by Steven J Third Grade
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on May 27, 2024
Given 56% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
When they are new, they are excellent, but after two years and a half and >40k km (profile had ~4mm), the grip on wet roads (only wet) decreased very much. The last road on the wet road was a few days ago when outside was 14-15c.
Before this model, I had the Michelin CrossClimate (XL) and CrossClimate Plus tires on the same car. The Michelin CrossClimate 2 decreased considerably on wet surfaces (2 other people observed this issue with the wet grip).
Previous models were much better on wet grip after 2-3 years.
This week I changed them with Pirreli SF3 XL, but I want to see them after ~2 years and >30k km
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on May 25, 2024
Given 80% while driving a Volkswagen Passat estate 2.0 TDI 110 kW (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
Cross climate 2 are great tires, I’ve been really happy with the performance of them. They give great grip in wet & dry conditions & are excellent in snow & ice with zero slippage. They feel really safe while driving, but not particularly fun to drive if you’re looking for that. They are quite & comfortable the perfect all rounder.
Mine lasted 25000 miles on the front axle (front wheel drive car) but the rears have plenty of life left so will probably last 50000 miles on the rear axel. Their performance has be rock solid until around 1mm above the wear line markers when the performance in cornering especially has really suffered just something to be aware of but not unexpected.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on May 14, 2024
Given 96% while driving a Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Excellent tires in wet and dry very comfortable and quiet will definitely be buying again
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on May 12, 2024
Given 88% while driving a Kia Motors sorento (235/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 40,000 average miles
The best compromise for the Utah area in the winter
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on May 10, 2024
Given 88% while driving a Kia Motors sorento (235/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 40,000 average miles
The best compromise for the Utah area in the winter
Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on May 9, 2024
Given 66% while driving a Tesla Model 3 standard plus (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 53,000 spirited miles
I switched to the Crossclimate 2 from the OEM Primacy and while they aren’t as grippy (as expected) they do way better in the wet and I can drive spirited no matter the conditions with confidence. The efficiency hit wasn’t too bad and so far they’re finally starting to wear so I’m overall happy with it.

Make sure you rotate your tires
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on May 3, 2024
Given 94% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Aero 2.8 V6 convertible (235/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Excellent tires, good-ish wet grip, the only problem I experienced with them in the wet, was pulling off at traffic lights, wheel spun a few times, it happen once on a dry day. I feel confident with them on my car, in the rain or ice conditions, definitely not frightened on the motorway in the wet. I'm using them with 20mm spacers, and they do look good. I had them on the front axle of my winter tires, my summer tires are have them on all 4 corners, I haven't really checked the fuel efficiency, I always use E5
They are quiet, no need to turn up my head unit, to block out the noise, even though I do like my music a bit louder than normal (anyway the music blocks out the tinnitus)
They are £145 a corner (that's the cheapest I found them) but they are worth every penny, give them a try
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on April 9, 2024