Michelin CrossClimate 2

The Michelin CrossClimate 2 is a Premium Touring All Season tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Michelin CrossClimate Plus.

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 71%
Wear 84%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 83%
Snow Grip 87%
Ice Grip 80%

Tire review data from 91 tire reviews averaging 82% over 730,349 miles driven.

The CrossClimate 2 is ranked 12th of 57 All Season Premium Touring tires.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

The Best All Season Tires for 2024 - 4th of 7 tires

  • Positive - Good grip in the dry, high aquaplaning resistance, best in snow, lowest noise in test, lowest rolling resistance on test.
  • Negative - Long wet braking, high purchase price with average wear means expensive per km.
  • Overall - The Michelin CrossClimate 2, the tire that's won every test I've featured it in, dropped down to fourth behind the new trio of tires. I think the biggest surprise wasn't that it was the best in the snow, I've said this tire is too good in the snow many times, or had the lowest rolling resistance on test, it's always done that well, but the fact it wasn't best in dry braking which is historically the Michelins party piece. I really hope Michelin can bring wet improvements to the next product, even if that means sacrificing a little snow. The CrossClimate 2 is still a great all season tire, but according to this test, it's no longer the greatest.
    .
View Full Test >>

2024 Motorhome Camper Van All Season Tire Test - 2nd of 8 tires

  • Positive - Outstanding traction and best braking performance, along with stable cornering behavior on snow. Exceptional braking performance, sluggish but safe evasive behavior on dry roads.
  • Negative - On snow, relative to traction/braking, somewhat reduced corner grip. Longer braking distances and weak corner grip with slim margins on wet roads. Low inherent damping.
  • Overall - The Michelin, unbeatable in many aspects, only loses in the rain.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test - 1st of 12 tires

  • Positive - Test winner, best in dry braking, very good grip in the dry, very good aquaplaning resistance, best snow braking, best snow traction, fastest snow handling lap, very good levels of comfort, very low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Average wet braking and wet handling.
  • Overall - The Michelin CrossClimate 2 is back at the top, winning the test overall. Once again this tire was best in dry braking, the best in the snow, had good levels of comfort, great aquaplaning resistance, and a very low rolling resistance. Is this the perfect all season tire? Well, once again, not quite. It was 6th in wet braking and 8th in wet handling, which is a common theme of the CrossClimate 2. Michelin, give this all season tire more wet performance for the next iteration, even if it comes at the expense of some of that snow performance, and the segment will have an unrivalled king once again. There's no denying the CrossClimate 2 is the best all season tire money can buy in the dry and snow, but I just think wet should be more important.

View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin CrossClimate 2

Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate 2

2021-10-14 - Does the New CrossClimate 2 have a Run Flat option?

There is currently only one runflat size of the CC2, 225/45 R18. You can see all the sizes available here.


2021-09-20 - How would these do on the track? Would it be possible to have these on year round PLUS use them on the racetrack for some fun driving (not trying to get the best lap times, just driving for fun).

For an all season tire, they would perform well, but like all tires of this category you will notice poor heat resistance and high wear when hot, so I cannot recommend driving any all season tire on track.


2021-09-23 - How does the CrosscClimate 2 compare to a summer tire like Bridgestone Turanza T005 or the Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 when it comes to Rolling resistance ?

Our all season tire test has data covering this.


2022-01-08 - I want to purchase the Michelin CrossClimate 2 in the size 225/45R17 94, which is available with V and Y speed index. Both would suffice for my car as the rated top speed is 235 km/h so what are the pros and cons of V vs Y?

Generally, the lower speed rating should have a very small advantage in comfort, however some tire manufacturers are now making the same tire for multiple speed and load indexes the same, just having a different marking, so in this case I'd buy whatever is more wallet friendly.


2022-03-26 - Would Cross Climate be good (or best choice) as all season tire on a Mercedes A Class (2013 - Amg line, 1.6 156bhp) - Tire size 225/40 R18 92Y? thanks in advance

The Crossclimate 2 is an excellent all season tire, as are the all season tires from Continental and Goodyear. There's lots of test data on the site so show you which tire is best in each area.


2022-11-10 - Just have to say I love your videos so I have a Mk1 audi tt the tires are getting a little worn now so I was thinking about a all season tire as a alternative to a winter tire as I live in England and its not that bad would this make a good alternative to a winter tire in England

The CC2 makes an excellent winter tire for regions that don't see extreme winters like the UK.


2022-12-11 - I drive a front wheel drive car and currently have four summer tires fitted. Can I replace the front two tires with CC2s leaving summer tires on the rear ? Is this legal and ok for insurance purposes. Great site guys !

It is legal, and technically it's the correct way to do it, but keep this in mind - While the car will have a safe understeer balance in snow and perhaps very cold wet weather, in the dry it's likely you'll have more grip at the front so there's potential for oversteer during extreme maneuvers.


2023-01-23 - Initially the Cross Climate 2 seemed to be open to being used with an SUV, prior to an SUV version coming out. Since May 2022 the SUV version has been released. What is the difference between them if both can be used on the SUV? Should we take the CC2 ratings from across your tests and assume they are the same for the SUV version? Thanks - great site!

Yes, the CC2 and CC2 SUV are just naming differences and are available in differing sizes and load ratings. The tire performance should be exactly the same.


2023-01-23 - Michelin did a great test on their launch comparing a worn, 2mm tread, CC2 with their competitors at the same worn tread. While this gave a great indicator of comparative performance it was clear that ALL tires changed hugely in performance at 2mm vs brand new.

Would it be possible to do review some tires across a range of tread depth (i.e. 2mm, 3mm, 4mm, 6mm) to compare performance and see if the decline is linear or exponential (just like you wonderfully did across a range of temperatures)? This would help inform when the best time to replace a tire is to keep a good balance of safety and performance.

This is on the list to do!


2023-10-08 - Would the Tire Review team recommend CC2 for a Jaguar XF S (300ps / 700Nm RWD), 255/35/R20? Living in the east of England, but travel UK wide, concerned by the poor feedback on wet handling. The Goodyear vector 4S seems a better choice but not on sale in the UK. I was thinking of a second set of R19 wheels with winter tires but dont think the cost and storage space can be justified. Keep up the great work Tire Reviews!!

I am surprised if the CC2 is available in that size, it might be an OE fitment for a Land Rover? The CC2 would be a good choice for the vehicle but with that much torque and weight any all season or winter tire will struggle a little!


2023-11-27 - How did the CC2 perform in winter compared to some budget winter tires (around USD150 each)?

There is a video on the Tire Reviews Youtube channel comparing the CC2 to the X-Ice Snow in the dry, wet and snow which should give you the idea in differing performances in the category.


2024-01-20 - I am considering to replace the tires for my Lexus RX450H 2022 with PILOT SPORT 4 SUV or CROSSCLIMATE2. May I have your recommendation between these 2 or any other choice?

The CrossClimate 2 an the PS4SUV are very different products, one is a summer tire and the other is an all season. The choice comes down to how much mobility you want in snow, if you want any the CC2 is the natural choice. It will also be better when it's very cold. At all other times of year the PS4SUV will outperform it. Check out the test data on the site.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 $174.99 - $174.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 $168.99 - $168.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 $209.99 - $218.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 $249.99 - $249.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 $206.64 - $212.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 $216.99 - $268.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 61 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin CrossClimate 2 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Infiniti 2004 G35 (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Car = 2014 Infiniti Q60 AWD (aka G37 Coupe / CV36 Skyline - RWD bias ATTESA AWD) Overall, pleased with the tire as I wanted a comfortable tire with long tread life and a true "All-Season" tire for the winter months as I have not yet purchased a set of dedicated summer wheels/tires yet. Coming from previous Michelin Pilot Sport AS3+ which lasted around 52k of 45k mile rating with sometimes spirited driving, so have no reason to doubt Michelin's tread ware claims, at least on my vehicle. Handling in the dry, the AS3+ was better when taking curves/turns and activated the VDC/TCS less often, handling in the wet appears to be similar. Snow and ice grip, of course, are markedly better on the CrossClimate2 with all aspects of handling/acceleration/braking, whereas the AS3+ would be somewhat haphazard of anything over 1" of snow. While the tire itself is comfortable and not noisy (similar amount of perceivable noise as the AS3+), the thick tread pattern/blocks pick up large stones/pebbles like no other, which may result in annoying clinking until manually inspected and removed.
Helpful 259 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2021
Given 91% while driving a Toyota Yaris Mk4 Hybrid 1.5 (XP210, M15A FXE) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 600 average miles
Tire fitted 3 weeks ago just in time for the recent bout of wet, icy and snowy weather. My first reaction was how noticeably more comfortable they are compared to the summer tires on my Toyota yaris hybrid. In the wet they have significantly more grip particularly when pulling away from a standstill and they were outstanding in the ice and snow.
Helpful 36 - tire reviewed on December 7, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Audi A3 S Line Sportback 2.0 TDI 184 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Recently put a full set of these tires on my A3. They replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport 4's (which lasted for twenty thousand miles/three and a half years).
The Cross Climate 2's are a huge improvement when it comes to comfort and cabin noise. The PS 4's were very crashy on rough roads and they were noisy. The CC's are quieter and so much more forgiving. Time will tell how they perform in the winter months. I would recommend these tires if you would like a more comfortable ride.
Helpful 37 - tire reviewed on November 27, 2023
Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate 2 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin CrossClimate 2? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Michelin CrossClimate 2 >

Latest Michelin CrossClimate 2 Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Aero 2.8 V6 convertible (235/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Excellent tires, good-ish wet grip, the only problem I experienced with them in the wet, was pulling off at traffic lights, wheel spun a few times, it happen once on a dry day. I feel confident with them on my car, in the rain or ice conditions, definitely not frightened on the motorway in the wet. I'm using them with 20mm spacers, and they do look good. I had them on the front axle of my winter tires, my summer tires are have them on all 4 corners, I haven't really checked the fuel efficiency, I always use E5
They are quiet, no need to turn up my head unit, to block out the noise, even though I do like my music a bit louder than normal (anyway the music blocks out the tinnitus)
They are £145 a corner (that's the cheapest I found them) but they are worth every penny, give them a try
Helpful 0 - tire reviewed on April 9, 2024
Given 95% while driving a BMW 320d GT (225/50 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I read a lot of reviews before changing from the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5. I have always been impressed with the Goodyears; however, residing as I do in the country, historically I have previously changed to full winters late autumn, yet have never done so for this car. This has always left me feeling vulnerable in the case of snow.

So, late 2023, the decision is, a set of winters or try the Cross Climate 2's. With an asymmetric wheel set up, this meant Cross Climate 2's on the front and the CC2 SUV version on the rear. I was assured that they are the same tire, so this was the decision.

I went ahead nervous that an excellently handling and fun to drive car would be compromised by an all season, compromise tire. Driving out of the tire shop, I was worried. With the release agent still not worn off, the previously quite weighty steering was light. Very light. Umm. Not sure. 150 miles in the steering was still much lighter than with the Goodyear Ass. but in a refined, pleasant way. In fact, it was better. It was easier to position the car. So was the noise. The Goodyears are not noisy, but the quietness of the CC2's was noticeable.

The CC2's are also more comfortable, however not through soggy sidewalls that lean and move through corners, just more comfortable.

3 months in and I am thrilled by the choice. Even in the heavy rains of this spring grip has been exemplary. Dry handling and braking are excellent. As someone who was very unsure of moving from a performance summer tire to the all season Cross Climate 2's, so far I would thoroughly recommend the change. I will now wait to see how they perform in really hot weather.
Helpful 0 - tire reviewed on April 4, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 72% while driving a SEAT Ateca Xcellence (215/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 2,200 average miles
Well, I got a BIG (and BAD) surprise from Michelin CC2.
In November 2023 I fitted a new set of them (manufacturing date 07/2022) on my Seat Ateca, and up to a week ago I was really satisfied: excellent behavior on dry, very good on wet, maybe not extremely comfortable but in general very good tires.
Last week I used them in the Alps on snow (both on slush and fresh, non-packed snow) and I was shocked by the low level of grip: LOTS of spinning, LOTS of swerving, in a couple of cases I couldn't even start the car in the desired direction gently uphill (I had to turn the car and go downhill instead...).
And this happened with CC2, which should go as well as mid level winter tires on the snow, according to instrumental tests.
I used to have Vredestein Quatrac Pro on my car, and despite the low score they get on the tests I drove them on packed snow (not happened to drive on slush or non packed snow) as they were on dry!
@JonathanBenson: in your opinion, could this shocking behavior be due to the low mileage I have on the CC2 (3500 km from November)? Do you think they could improve in the future? Otherwise I need to replace them for the winter, or at least buy snow chains...
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on March 11, 2024
Tire reviews and ratingsTire Reviews Replies
That is a surprise, every test I've ever seen the CC2 in shows excellent snow performance, along with my own experiences (I run them on a personal car too.)

So then this leaves two possibilities.
1) Manufacturing defect. Extremely unlikely but you could email Michelin with your DOT codes and ask if they know of anything.
2) Conditions. If there was significant packed snow / ice it might have been slippier than you've previously experienced.

I do not believe the tire will get better, it should be at peak winter grip at 3500km. I guess a third option would be you have an OE fitment with lower snow performance but I do not know of any of these existing for the CC2.
Given 84% while driving a Volvo 850GLT Estate (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
I have found the tires to be unstable but managable during initial braking, this could be due to the car but i doubt it. Have driven 200 km/h on them no problem.
Snow and ice grip is exellent. No problems going through 15cm snow FWD and high speed snow driving.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on March 4, 2024
Given 68% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST X (205/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,500 spirited miles
Running CC2s as winter tires on my Fiesta ST X and they are absolutely brilliant.
Had 1 drive through some very snowy alpine roads in a snow storm and it went pretty well. The tires do seem to struggle slightly with slush that's been snowed on, but tbf I've never driven a tire that doesn't.
They're fine in the wet, just a little dead in terms of feedback and fairly understeery...
In the dry I was very impressed with how long I could push on backroads before struggling with temperature. Road feedback is pretty good, but that might be from the lighter rims, not just the tires.
Overall I can highly recommend this tire if you don't have to go through heavy snow regularly.
(Don't know about ice, but I'm sure they'd struggle pretty hard)
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on February 27, 2024
Given 59% while driving a Audi A4 Avant B9 (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Ok, I got them with the used car that I bought recently. I was surprised how good they handle dry conditions, I have been driven them for 5000 km so far. The tires I got on the car are from the end of 2022, I think they were driven for like 20-25000 km. Still all of them have 6.5mm tread depth. Finally I thought, no more special winter and summer set. BUT, under the rainy and wet conditions, I noticed dangerous oversteering of rear end of the car. I have to say the tires handle well straight aquaplaning, braking etc, the issue happens when you are taking some curve (eg. You go from a highway to the normal road, taking the long curve) and what I can handle easily at dry conditions, at 50 km/h speed and wet, I would loose rear traction at my rear end. It was really dangerous and unpleasant. Like, I started to doubt my driving skills, then I saw here two similar experiences. Anyway, I would be much more careful under wet conditions and personally, I am going again for separated winter & summer sets. I can't comment for a snow, never driven under these conditions.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on January 9, 2024
Tire reviews and ratingsTire Reviews Replies
As you bought the car with these tires fitted it would be worth checking the condition and DOT code (age) of the tires, and perhaps even rotating the front and rears to see if that changes the balance of the vehicle. The CrossClimate 2 is inherently an understeering tire, and the Audi A4 is an understeering car so it seems like something is amiss with your tires or suspension.
Given 100% while driving a Citroën (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,500 easy going miles
Miracle tire indeed.
No considerable wear (
Helpful 11 - tire reviewed on December 23, 2023
Given 86% while driving a Volvo V70 2.5 (205/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 easy going miles
Travelled many miles on the predecessor version 1 without problems. I believe the version 2 was meant to address wear problems and comes with a deeper tread block. Have not travelled far enough to tell for sure but feels like they will last for ages, however the trade off is a noticeable harsher ride that borders on annoying over uneven surfaces. Still the business on snow and ice though, never puts a foot wrong.
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on December 6, 2023
Given 73% while driving a SEAT Leon ST 1.5 TSI (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 30,000 average miles
Great choince for relaxed and safe motoring. Only issue is the wet performance, braking and handling, but the grip threshold is very well communicated and linear. The aquaplaning is fantastic, too. Only issue with this tire is snow grip in... reverse! In fact there is almost no grip on that direction on snow/ice, which lead to very unpleasent morning one day. Now I need to plan and choose parking spots carefuly, when in winter conditions. No one mentions this and I think winter/all season tires should be related for both directions.
Helpful 35 - tire reviewed on November 23, 2023
Given 38% while driving a Nissan (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8 average miles
These are the NOISEIST tires I have ever owned(over 60 years)!!! Definitely would not buy this tire again. Ride is ok. For the price I paid expected a smoother ride. I hope these tires don't last the 60,000 miles they are warranted for.
Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on November 22, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (225/55 R19) on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
Fitted these tires to my RAV4 Hybrid. They were far superior to any previous tires.
Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on October 28, 2023
Given 78% while driving a Audi A7 3.0TDi Auto (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 32,000 easy going miles
Fitted these 32,000 miles ago based on reviews on this site and others; I haven't been disappointed. I haven't tested handling or wet and dry braking on the limit, but at reasonable speeds, they have always been reassuring and never given cause for worry on ice or snow, They were pretty quiet at first, but as they have worn, they have become a little noisier on some surfaces. However, they are still very quiet on good motorway tarmac. I didn't think they would last for 32,000 miles, but they still have between 3.5 and 4.5mm tread after being rotated once which is impressive. I am selling the car, so no idea how much longer they will last, but until spring wouldn't be unreasonable. A bit more expensive, but worth it in my opinion.
Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on October 25, 2023