Hankook Kinergy 4S2

In order to be equipped for all weathers and temperatures, the new Kinergy 4S² offers specially balanced and constant performance features across all seasons. This is made possible by a directional tread being used for Hankook all-weather tires for the first time, combined with a particularly innovative polymer silica tread mixture.

The Kinergy RS 2 is the 2022 Auto Express all season tire of the year.

Tire review data from 33 tire reviews averaging 75% over 287,512 miles driven, and 24 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 72%
Wear 78%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 75%
Snow Grip 75%
Ice Grip 66%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size14 - 20"
Width135 - 275mm
Profile35 - 80
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)70 - 73
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The Kinergy 4S2 is ranked 29th of 58 All Season Premium Touring tires.

This tire replaced the Hankook Kinergy 4S.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Tests Included

24

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

13th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tire Test Results

2024 ADAC All Season Tire Test
3rd of 16 tires
  • The Hankook Kinergy 4S² tire receives a satisfactory overall safety rating, primarily due to its performance on wet and winter roads. On dry surfaces, it offers good steering feedback, precision, and reserves at the limit, with quick stabilization after evasive maneuvers and good braking performance.

    On wet roads, the tire misses a good rating. While its aquaplaning behavior is good, braking is only satisfactory, and handling is rated as merely adequate. The test vehicle tends to under- or oversteer early, offering little precision and only sufficient safety reserves on the handling course.

    In winter conditions, the Hankook achieves only a satisfactory result. It secures a good rating in braking tests but falls short in traction and handling. The tire lacks precision in steering and has a narrow performance limit, with early tendency to under- or oversteer. Ice braking performance is below average.

    Environmentally, the Korean-made Hankook Kinergy 4S² scores well. It excels in projected mileage and low wear, with good marks for weight and fuel consumption. However, it's criticized for production residues on new tires, which unnecessarily impact the environment during initial use.

    .
View Full Test >>
2023 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test
3rd of 12 tires
  • Best dry handling, short dry braking distance, shortest wet braking distances, very good levels of comfort, low rolling resistance.
  • Poor aquaplaning resistance, average snow performance.
  • The Hankook Kinergy 4S2 was the best in dry handling, the best in wet braking, good around the wet handling lap, good in dry braking, and was comfortable. It did lose out in the snow compared to the best, but as I said at the start of this, I would rather have an all season tire that's good in the dry and the wet than one that excels in snow, that's what a winter tire is for afterall. Once again the Hankook has the balance of an all season I really like.

View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
165/70R14 85 T XLCC71
165/70R14 85 T XLCC71
185/60R14 82 HDB71
175/65R14 82 TCB71
175/65R14 86 H XLCB71
185/60R14 82 HDB71
175/65R14 82 TCB71
185/70R14 88 TCB71
175/65R14 86 H XLCB71
15 inch
195/65R15 95 H XLCB72
195/55R15 85 V XLDB72
185/65R15 88 HCB71
195/65R15 91 HCB72
195/65R15 91 HCB72
195/65R15 91 VCB72
185/65R15 92 T XLCB71
185/65R15 88 HCB71
195/65R15 91 VCB72
195/65R15 95 H XLCB72
185/65R15 92 T XLCB71
195/55R15 85 VDB72
16 inch
215/70R16 100 HCB72
205/55R16 94 V XLCB72
205/60R16 96 V XLCB72
215/60R16 99 V XLCB72
205/55R16 94 V XLCB72
205/55R16 94 H XLCB72
205/60R16 96 H XLCB72
205/55R16 94 H XLCB72
215/60R16 99 V XLCB72
205/60R16 96 H XLCB72
205/60R16 96 V XLCB72
17 inch
205/50R17 93 W XLCB72
215/45R17 91 Y XLCB72
205/50R17 93 W XLCB72
225/50R17 98 W XLCB72
225/45R17 94 W XLCB72
225/50R17 98 V XLCB72
225/50R17 98 W XLCB72
205/50R17 93 W XLCB72
225/50R17 98 V XLCB72
225/45R17 94 W XLCB72
215/45R17 91 Y XLCB72
18 inch
225/40R18 92 Y XLCB72
245/40R18 97 V XLCB72
245/40R18 97 V XLCB72
225/40R18 92 Y XLCB72
245/45R18 100 Y XLCB72
245/45R18 100 Y XLDB72
245/45R18 100 Y XLCB72
245/40R18 97 V XLCB72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 >>

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Kinergy 4S2

2018-12-06 - Hi. Do the 4S2 tires have rim protectors?

Not in the sizes I've seen, but rim protection can vary from size to size so it would be worth contacting Hankook to find out whether the Kinergy 4S2 has rim protection.


2022-09-16 - I’m looking for all weather for my ID.3 the handbook look good but all guides say I need the 4S 2X I take it the difference is in the weight limit but are they the same tire apart from this?

As long as you can get the correct load rating the non X you'll be fine, but yes in theory the 4S2X will be modified towards carrying higher loads.


2022-09-27 - Hi everybody, Hankook 4s2 question. In 225/50 17 does the tire 4s2 come in run flat form?

Yes, it seems there is a HRS (Hankook Runflat System) version of the tire available in 225/50 R17.


2023-03-23 - Would you recommend these tires in size245/40 r18 for a RWD car (around 280bhp)? I compared braking tests with mid summer tire and results are surprisingly even especially when it comes to summertime weather condition results.

I actually have these in my all season test this year on a RWD BMW. Only tested in the snow so far so can't comment for sure but based on last years test they should be great in the dry and wet. Still, a fair bit off a summer tire in the dry.


2023-05-19 - Hi, is this a good allseason tire(18inch) for my Tesla Model 3 rwd+ from 2021. How is the noise and wear?

Hey! If you can find the correct load rating there's no reason it wouldn't be one of the better all season tires, however any all season tire will struggle with the weight and torque of a model 3 so make sure you're aware of the drawbacks.


2023-10-27 - I live in Belgium, so it only snows once or twice a year in winter. But temperatures are almost always around or below 0°C. I have seen both the 2023 winter tire and all-season tire tests and am a bit torn between choosing which tire would suit me best. Since the performance of the Alpin 5 is almost the same or better than the Kinergy 4S2. But as said in the all season test, a all season tire could be a better fit than a winter tire in my region. Is it possible to give advice on which is the best option for me? (I also plan to use summer tires regardless of whether I buy winter or all-season tires). Thanks!

I personally believe that an all season tire as a winter tire is often a better fit than a winter tire for regions that don't see a huge amount of snow and ice, but the performances between the two categories is so close either option will be a good result.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 $110.99 - $110.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 $139.99 - $139.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 $183.99 - $183.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 $228.99 - $228.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 33 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Hankook Kinergy 4S2 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Very good all round tire
Helpful 202 - tire reviewed on August 20, 2020
Given 76% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Very solid tire, value for money is hard to beat at the moment.
Tire performs very well, especially amazingly on wet roads, despite the 255 width there is no slipping, aquaplaning or spinning tires. I switched straight from Fulda Sport summer tires to this model. Comfort and actually driving behavior are better than its predecessor. I couldn't believe it myself.
At first the tires were extremely loud, so I even considered complaining. I like that the tires simply tend to sawtooth.
Luckily the noise disappeared completely after about 2000km.
In winter the tire behaves like an average winter tire. Not special but not bad either.
Helpful 41 - tire reviewed on November 24, 2023
Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,600 average miles
Does not give confidence after 150-170 km / h
Helpful 134 - tire reviewed on December 4, 2020
Have you driven on the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Kinergy 4S2? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Hankook Kinergy 4S2 >

Latest Hankook Kinergy 4S2 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Ford Focus MK2 1.6TDCI 2008 2011 (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 24,200 average miles
Fitted tires based off reviews form this site. They exceeded my expectations, so much so I have also fitted them to my partner car also. Excellent ware (39,000km and still 1mm to ware bar), good dependable wet and dry handling, very good in colder temperature, Great in the snow (the little we get in Ireland)
Would recommend to anybody
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on April 19, 2024
Given 75% while driving a BMW 116d M Sport (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,300 average miles
Got these for the winter season as I live in a country with mild winters. I was reluctant to get all seasons initially, but after some woeful experiences with the BMW-homologated Pirelli Snowcontrol 3 that came with the car, I figured it probably can't get any worse anyway.
These tires are some of the most decent, uncompromising I've ever had - they do exactly what you expect them to, regardless of conditions. I've driven them up to 210 km/h on the Autobahn and felt just as safe as with summer tires, drove them in snow and felt like I had more grip than the previous Pirelli winters and their performance in the wet is more than fine. They're a bit soft and squealy on the limit, but that's something to be expected of tires that bridge the gap between winter and summer tires. You can still have fun with them if you want to, but I haven't felt unsafe driving with them at any point.
The only other downside would be a certain humming at around 70-90 km/h, akin to what winter tires would do at around the same speed. They're quieter than winters overall, though. Would most likely buy them again, especially considering how good they are in terms of value for money.
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on March 16, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 87% while driving a Ford Focus 1.5tdci (2016) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
For an idea of the climate they're operating in, I live in Dublin, Ireland so plenty of rain and mild temperatures for most of the year with some low temperatures and snow/ice around January/February.

I previously had 205/55R16 4S2s fitted to a mk2 1.4 Focus, and absolutely loved them in all weathers including ice and snow. When it came time to replace the front tires on my Mk3.5 1.5TDCi Focus, I decided to upsize from the 16s that also came on the car to 17x7J wheels all round, as I didn't like the sidewall flex on the 16s.
I went with 225/45R17s rather than Ford's recommended 215/50R17s, as the 215s were much harder to come by and were more expensive. They have absolutely transformed the car compared to the 16" Davanti DX390s that came with it. Even with the slightly wider than recommended fitment, the turn in is almost instant, with very little hesitation. When they begin to let go they do so gradually, without any judder, and they're exceptionally easy to reel back in, wet or dry. They inspire a lot of confidence that when things go wrong, it won't be catastrophic and will guide you back onto line once a bit of speed has bled off.
Compared to the Davantis they're replacing, road noise is much reduced, and even despite the much smaller sidewall, comfort hasn't been affected too negatively. I've noticed much less road noise at all speeds, and the car settles down much more quickly over bumps. There's certainly more road feel through the seat and wheel, but I wouldn't class it as less comfortable since it doesn't tend to wallow the way it did before.
I've also noticed that, due to the stiffer sidewall, it doesn't scrape the deflectors in front of the front wheels over speed ramps anywhere near as easily as it did previously, but this might be more to do with the size change than the tire change.
If things carry on as they are, I fully intend to keep these tires and based off previous experience, I would recommend them to anyone who wants their run-of-the-mill car to perform well in all weathers!
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on February 5, 2024
Given 66% while driving a Suzuki (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I bought them because I need one set of track tires and one set for normal driving on roads. I didn't want third set of wheels as a winter set of tires.
I am sad. I should buy Bridgestone All Season 6 instead of this tires. I bought it because of the very good price but I am not satisfied with grip in various conditions. Wear is very good. They look like not used. Next time I will definitely go for more premium brands.
Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on January 17, 2024
Given 45% while driving a Tesla (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I do mostly short city trips, and a few longer 30+ km trips a month, with some 300+ km trips a few times a year.

Best: They are decently responsive, and wear seems very good.

They do "sing" a bit at 100+ km/h, but its nothing major.

They are lacking in snow and slush performance, but my only direct here comparrision are dual motors (AWD) with winter tires vs my SR+ (RWD).

Very sharp slip. Then they let go, they go. It always surprises you, and the TC saved me several times. It does not inspire confidence.

Worst of all: I've never had worse tires in regards to balancing. They get flatspots SO easily, even though they are XL (extra load) rated. I've had them balanced 4 times, where they are perfect on the way back from the shop, but the next day, they will be vibrating again.
Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on January 8, 2024
Given 77% while driving a MINI (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Very good tire giving excellent handling on dry roads and confidence on snow.
As new can be a bit noisy on highway speed but this goes after 500km. For the moment vary happy with 4S2.
Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on December 19, 2023
Given 100% while driving a Ford Ecosport (205/60 R16) on for 20,000 miles
The best tires for all conditions.
Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on November 20, 2023
Given 81% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Second review of the tires now into 2 years of ownership.

Just driven back from West Wales during the start of storm Ciaran. Tires are down to 5mm on the fronts and 6mm on the rear. That's on about 18k mileage.

Still inspire so much confidence in these wet UK weather conditions dealing with standing water, spray and the deluge of rain. So much so that I could concentrate on driving, safe in the knowledge of the tires just working.

As JB has said in his first and second review of all season tires they are an ideal pick for the UK autumn winter climate. I never fret coming into autumn and winter with these on my car.

And on top of that great comfort and perform well in dry and summer conditions.

Not driven them in much snow but I'd be happy to drive on them to Scotland or any other European ski resort.

Car is a Seat Leon 1.4 Act so not high performance, but these tires make this a great all rounder for my family.
Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on November 5, 2023
Given 75% while driving a Mazda mazda 3 1.8D (2019) (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 44,000 average miles
It is my first experience with all seasons tires. Hankook Kinergy 4S2 do their job. I never expected high performances but I was so impressed of how good they are on all conditions: dry, wet and snow. Drove on snow (fresh and icy) several days in the last two winters, snow is frequent where I live. Many people say all seasons are bad compared to summer and winter tires, well, my point is they are better than summer tires used in winter and better than winter tires used in summer (we see lots of these cases, right?). After about 44000 miles there are still 1.5mm of tread above winter mark. Hopefully I migh be able to use them for anothre winter too. I will buy them again without any doubt. Well done Hankook!
Helpful 48 - tire reviewed on June 7, 2023
Given 78% while driving a Skoda (235/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 16,000 average miles
Reviewing on the day I've been waiting for. 2-3 inches on snow in the south of the UK, and the country grinds to a halt. Had the tires on the car for a good 18 months and have driven a good 16000 miles on them, so well used. They worked flawlessly in the snow and ice. Standard straight road, windy road and even stop start driving up and down hills, and cannot fault them. A bit of wheel spin when pulling away on an uphill gradient but found the grip and just got on with it, bearing in mind my car is 1.7 tonnes, I felt in control at all times. Obviously wasn't going the speeds Jonathon drives on the snow handling track, but 30 mph on snowy roads is easy, comfortable and felt incredibly safe. Have given scores, but haven't reviewed dry/wet etc as others cover that off, today (08/03/2023) is the reason I bought these tires, to get me home when it snows.
Helpful 51 - tire reviewed on March 8, 2023
Given 45% while driving a Audi S4 (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
They grip fairly well for an All Season tire and they will be fine for mildly spirited driving. They have quite a light feel to them which doesn't instil confidence as it can be difficult to tell if they are actually gripping or if it's the car's electronics kicking in and saving the day. However, when cornering hard you can feel them start to break away and start to loose grip, giving you a change to correct. Also, when coming out of a corner and accelerating hard you can feel them "lift" so to speak. Basically, losing traction. They are also very noisy on the motorway. I've not had a chance to test them in the snow or ice as it's been a mild winter, nor check the wear rate yet. I'll come back in a year and revise the review. Ultimately, I would say if you drive calmly with the odd bit of moderate spirited driving they are fine and hopefully also provide good traction when the weather gets cold and bad. But if you like to push it hard when the weather is above 7°C then stick with a decent set of summer tires.
Helpful 49 - tire reviewed on February 8, 2023
Given 82% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk7 1.6 TDI Bluemotion (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Excellent tire. I am a track day enthusiast but this tire was fitted to my Golf Bluemotion daily hack. I previously had the latest Goodyear Efficient Grips and fitted these going into the cold snap in December 2020. Dry grip is good but compared to the Goodyears previously they do have a slower initial response But this is an all season v a summer tire, so what do you expect. In the wet, it is simply fantastic. Often you hear the cliche that "you can drive your car in the wet like you can in the dry!" - but with this you really can. Incredible confidence in all conditions and have not aquaplained at all. Snow/Ice - obviously not a full winter tire but they're excellent all round. Can certainly keep you moving while other cars are stuck spinning their wheels and give you lots of confidence. Obviously not an enthusiast tire - but they're an excellent tire for all conditions and for people who have to do a lot of driving (my commute is 110 miles a day, 5/6 days a week) and have also fitted them to my Partners car too. Economy wise, i have not noticed any difference in economy between the Goodyears and these Hankook (still over 70mpg) Have done approx 4000 miles and no visible or appreciable wear. I did also have a fresh alignment carried out when fitted. 10/10 would recommend these.
Helpful 47 - tire reviewed on January 15, 2023