Hankook Kinergy 4S2

In order to be equipped for all weathers and temperatures, the new Kinergy 4S² offers specially balanced and constant performance features across all seasons. This is made possible by a directional tread being used for Hankook all-weather tires for the first time, combined with a particularly innovative polymer silica tread mixture.

The Kinergy RS 2 is the 2022 Auto Express all season tire of the year.

This tire replaced the Hankook Kinergy 4S.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 70%
Wear 80%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 70%
Snow Grip 72%
Ice Grip 66%

Tire review data from 12 tire reviews averaging 74% over 55,012 miles driven.

The Kinergy 4S2 is ranked 30th of 44 All Season Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 All Season Tire Market Overview - 4th of 34 tires

View Full Test >>

2021 AZ All Season Tire Test - 5th of 9 tires

  • Overall - Very safe on snow and dry roads, when it's warm, and even when wet and cold.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test - 3rd of 18 tires

  • Positive - Good all season tires with balanced driving characteristics, stable wet and dry handling, short snow and wet braking, good aquaplaning resistance, well priced.
  • Negative - Limited mileage.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Hankook Kinergy 4S2

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Kinergy 4S2

2018-12-06 - Hi. Do the 4S2 tires have rim protectors?

Not in the sizes I've seen, but rim protection can vary from size to size so it would be worth contacting Hankook to find out whether the Kinergy 4S2 has rim protection.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Hankook Kinergy 4S2 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Very good all round tire
Helpful 71 - tire reviewed on August 20, 2020
Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,600 average miles
Does not give confidence after 150-170 km / h
Helpful 53 - tire reviewed on December 4, 2020
Given 67% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Purchased a set of Kinergy 4s2 after watching Jonathan Benson's review, which suggested the Kinergy 4s2 was better than a lot of popular AS tires (e.g. Michelin CrossClimates Plus, Bridgestone WeatherControl, and Continental AllSeasonContact) I have driven on them for around 1000 miles, so here are my initial thoughts about the Kinergy 4s2. I used Michelin CrossClimates Plus on this car before, therefore some comparisons will be discussed in this review. Pros: - Quiet - The sound isolation on my Civic X isn't fantastic, quite a lot of tire noise inside the cabin when driving on motorways. Comparing to Michelin Primacy 4 and Michelin CrossClimates Plus, the Hankook Kinergy 4s2 is significantly quieter. I reduced my stereo volume by two levels after the Kinergy 4s2 fitted. - Comfort ride - I subjectively think the Kinergy 4s2 is comfortable, especially on bumpy roads. - Competitive Price - On the day of my purchase, the Kinergy 4s2 was at least 14% cheaper than Michelin CrossClimates Plus, Bridgestone WeatherControl, and Goodyear 4Seasons Gen 3. -Wet & dry braking -Good wet and dry braking performance. In normal usage, sometimes I forget I have the AS tires on when braking, which is perfect. Cons:- Handling - A bit roly-poly and average feedback in general, which is expected. The most disappointing bit is that the tires tend to understeer easily when you turn a corner a bit aggressive. Personally, I think the handling (especially dry handling) is a bit disappointing compared to Michelin CrossClimates Plus and I now have to drive a lot more gently. --I have not had a chance to drive them in ice/snow conditions, therefore I am not able to review how good they are in winter. Bottom line: Generally it is a good pick for day-to-day driving: comfortable, quiet, fairly priced, and with a reasonable grip. However, if you are more demanding in terms of handling, personally think there are better picks in the market. 
Helpful 47 - tire reviewed on December 1, 2020
Have you driven on the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Kinergy 4S2? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Hankook Kinergy 4S2 >

Latest Hankook Kinergy 4S2 Reviews

Given 83% while driving a MG ZS EV (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Have previously used similar on a MK5 Golf, and was very impressed, so I figured it would be worth a try on my ZS. So far, snow performance hasn't been measured because I just missed it in 2021, and 2022 has been unusually snow free in my part of Scotland. Life has been longer than on my Golf, even with the extra few hundred kg in the ZS. Tread depth is still above 4mm despite now covering around 20k miles, and with 1 tire rotation. For me, 4mm is about as far as I'd want to take them into winter, so they'll likely be replaced by autumn. Overall grip has been good in most situations, but it does start to understeer when pushing on in some sharp corners, especially in the wet. The Golf did the same, and there's enough warning that you can ease off a bit before disaster ensues. For £100 a corner, I'll be sticking with these for quite a while
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on May 14, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Subaru BRZ (/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,212 spirited miles
My first time buying Hankook tires, I used the 4S2 as my winter tires because I cannot tolerate the soft sidewall of studless winter tires. The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 was my summer setup. Overall I am very happy about my 4S2. Dry (9/10): A step down from the PS4 but that is to be expected. Steering response is a little bit slower and ultimate traction is lower, but I am still very satisfied given the type of tire the 4S2 is. Still far better than the Michelin Xice Xi3. Wet (10/10): I live in the PNW and we have lots of rain, these tires have strong hydroplane resistance and strong lateral traction in the wet. Braking is confident, too. Virtually no compromise compared to the Pilot Sport 4. Comfort (9/10): The ride is good, the tire smooths out impacts well, but the noise on the rough surfaces at a high speed is relatively pronounced. Winter (10/10): My BRZ is an RWD coupe, which is supposed to be very weak in the snow. These tires provide more than adequate traction on snow, no problem to get off the line whatsoever in 2-3 inches of snow. Handling is pretty stable and predictable. On the ice, it is noticeably weaker than the Studless Xi3, but that is to be expected. Overall I am very happy with them in the first winter. Jonathan was right, this is a very balanced all-weather tire with no real weaknesses. I will report back if there are any updates.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on April 20, 2022
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Given 60% while driving a BMW 520d (225/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 0 miles
Hi there, I've been driving the tires for 6 thousand kilometers and they are the first all-season tires I've ever driven. All in all, I find this tire to be a great compromise in relation to price and performance/driving characteristics. When it comes to dry and wet grip (even when cornering) I can't find any serious weaknesses. The tires are quiet, but unfortunately, between 120-140 km/h, I hear a slight, minimal howl (can be heard when the radio is switched off). This was not the case with the summer tires (also Hankook). When you're driving faster, i.e. from 170 km/h, there is a bit of a lack of feeling for the road, but you can deal with that. The Hankook behaves safely in the snow, it also depends on the driving style. In my opinion, with a reasonable driving style/speed, there are no major weaknesses. I haven't ridden the tire with aquaplaning & ice yet. All in all, I can recommend the tire.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on February 2, 2022
Given 70% while driving a MG ZS (225/55 R18) on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
Super tire, great adhesion to the road, but too noisy for an EV. The lack of engine noise needs a quiet tire.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on January 18, 2022
Given 73% while driving a BMW 525xi (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Great grip, comfortabele and good price. However, between 130-140 km/h there is a really annoying "whining" noise comming from the tires. Because of this I would not buy again despite the positives.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on January 1, 2022
Given 89% while driving a BMW X5 3.0 diesel (255/50 R19) on mostly town for 3,500 easy going miles
very good tires with a high steering response, a pleasure to drive
Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on October 25, 2021
Given 89% while driving a BMW X5 3.0 diesel (255/50 R19) on mostly town for 3,500 easy going miles
very good tires with a high steering response, a pleasure to drive
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on October 25, 2021
Given 79% while driving a Lancia Ypsilon 0.9 Twinair 85 (195/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 700 easy going miles
Very good tires in all situation for normal driving.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on October 5, 2021
Given 52% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (235/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 13,000 average miles
This is the end-of-life review of my Hankook kinergy 4s2 after driving 13000 miles in the past 9 months. The tires still have 3.5-4mm across all four. In terms of wear, not bad really. Tried it on snow & ice earlier this year on B roads, it is completely adequate. It will bring you home safely. It is also pretty good in the dry, not too soft as some of its rivals when the heatwave hit. All was good when it was new. However, all turn soul since last month the tread is worn down to under 4mm. There is a lack of wet grip, especially if you need a sharp turn on a wet road. The car would understeer. It has happened three times so far: the first two times were on A road, I saved it without a problem. The last time happened last night in a heavy rainstorm, I maneuver on a narrow road to give way at a low speed (~20mph) and my car understeered. My wheel ended up being curbed quite badly. I am devastated & I have decided I will not use them again even still plenty of treads left. Complete false economy & I regretted buying them in the first place.
Helpful 36 - tire reviewed on September 15, 2021