Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 is the latest maximum performance summer tire in the famous Asymmetric range. The new Asym 6 builds on the exceptional performance of the Asymmetric 5 by improving the dry performance, wet braking, wet handling, and a new lowers rolling resistance meaning this tire is also EV ready.

Tire review data from 105 tire reviews averaging 86% over 362,213 miles driven, and 12 tests with an average result of 2nd.

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 88%
Wear 72%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 83%

First On MarketOctober 2021
Wheel Size17 - 22"
Width205 - 315mm
Profile30 - 65
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)68 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 is ranked 9th of 75 Summer Max Performance tires.

This tire replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Tests Included

12

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

4th

Average Result

2nd

Latest Tire Test Results

2024 EV Tire Test
4th of 9 tires
  • The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 is a sports tire that offers convincing performance on dry and wet roads. It provides good aquaplaning resistance, short braking distances, and good overall value.
  • The tire has a slightly elevated rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>
2024 Summer SUV Tire Test
1st of 11 tires
  • Overall test winner with excellent driving characteristics on any surface, sporty dynamic handling qualities, precise steering response, short wet and dry braking distances, low rolling resistance.
  • None mentioned.
View Full Test >>
2023 Tire Reviews Performance Tire Test
3rd of 6 tires
  • The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 showcased its versatility by blending the safe understeer balance of the Michelin and Continental with sporty handling. Its predictable and fast performance made it a strong all-round choice, particularly for the Golf GTI. It was also the best tire at worn state during the wet braking test, had great comfort and low wear.
  • The Asymmetric 6 is a hard tire to find a negative about, but on track it doesn't seem to have the heat resistance the Asymmetric 5 had.
  • Another very impressive result for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6, proving to be the most consistent tire across all categories.

View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
17 inch
205/50R17 93 Y XLCA69
215/45R17 91 Y XLCA69
215/45R17 87 YCA69
225/45R17 94 Y XLCA69
225/60R17 99 YCA69
225/45R17 94 W XLAA69
225/45R17 94 W XLAA69
225/50R17 98 Y XLBA70
205/50R17 93 Y XLCA69
215/45R17 87 YCA69
215/45R17 91 Y XLCA69
225/50R17 98 Y XLBA70
225/45R17 91 YCA69
225/45R17 94 Y XLCA69
225/50R17 94 YCA69
18 inch
245/45R18 100 Y XLBA70
255/35R18 94 Y XLCA70
245/40R18 93 YCA70
245/40R18 97 Y XLCA70
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA70
245/40R18 93 YCA70
225/40R18 92 Y XLBA70
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA70
255/35R18 94 Y XLCA70
245/45R18 100 Y XLBA70
245/40R18 97 Y XLCA70
225/40R18 92 Y XLBA70
19 inch
235/35R19 91 Y XLCA69
235/35R19 91 Y XLCA69
20 inch
255/45R20 105 Y XLAA70
255/45R20 105 T XLBA70
255/45R20 105 Y XLBA70
255/45R20 105 T XLBA70
255/45R20 105 Y XLAA70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 >>

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6

2022-08-14 - Has anyone compared these to the supersports? Currently running f1 supersports all round on a vauxhall astra mk5 vxr, 280bhp front wheel drive, tempted to give these a try as the car is only a daily with occasional spirited back road driving, one thing that made me go for the supersports was the firm sidewall as I previously ran rainsport 3s and the handling was terrible due to the soft sidewalls so not wanting to loose the sidewall feeling of the supersports

We've not directly compared the Asym 6 to the F1 SuperSport but he educated guess is that while the asymmetric 6 will feel miles better than the RainSport 3 - a tire notoriously soft on the sidewall, the F1 SuperSport should still have the edge in dry handling. These will be better in the wet, more comfortable etc.


2022-05-30 - Does this tire work on an M135 xdrive (2013) with serial wheels (summer)?

If you can find the size needed then the Asymmetric 6 will be a good match for your M135.


2022-10-31 - Does the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymetric 6 tire have a rim protector?

Rim protection can vary on tire size, but the sizes of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 we've worked with have had a small rim protector.


2023-01-07 - Has anyone else noticed a worsening of fuel economy with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6. I had 4 fitted (Audi Q3) and its coincided with a significant fuel economy reduction (approx. 15%)?

What tire did you replace? A worn tire has around 15% better rolling resistance due to lower tread depth, so if you replaced something similar, that might explain the drop.


2023-04-05 - Any idea on how thesel hold up with light track work? Heading to the Nurburgring in June and wanted to fit a set of F1 Supersports, however they have been out of stock in 245/35/18 since October, so looking for an alternative for my 2013 M135i

The Asym 6 does not take heat as well as the SuperSport, but it's still reasonable good for its category. If your driving style is VERY aggressive on track they might not be the correct tire for you, however the 'Ring has quite a low grip surface and long straights there's a good chance they'll be ok.


2023-08-08 - What would be best for a Audi a4 225 50 17 for comfort and noise the Asym 6 or the efficientgrip performance 2?

The EfficientGrip Performance 2 is more oriented towards comfort and noise.


2023-09-26 - Im due to change my RFT`s on my 2009 330i M Sport Coupe Auto. Is this a good idea? My choice would be to change to Goodyear Asym 5 or 6. Or PS4s. Which do you consider would suit the car better. Im running on 19" rims with 225/35`s front and 255/30`s rear. I had Asym 5`s on my 330i Ci which were brilliant. Dont do any spirited driving any more. Too old for that now (70). Safety and comfort is more desirable, specially when I have "miss Daisy" with me !!!

The largest percentage of people I see moving away from runflat tires on BMWs move to the Asymmetric range and really enjoy the switch, so it seems this would be a good choice for you!


2024-03-17 - Can’t find manufacturer specifications so I hope you can help. Do 235/45/18 Goodyears fit on a 7 inch rim?

Yes they would fit however they would be slightly pinched as that is outside of specification for that size, a 235/45 R18 should be fitted to a 7.5-9 inch wide wheel with an 8 being the sweet spot.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 Clubsport 40 Edition (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I am a massive Goodyear fan. I had the Assym 3's on a previous car and never looked back.

I have now had the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5's, Goodyear Eagle F1 Supersports, Michelin PS4 and even some Avon's (for a brief period) on my current car - a Golf GTI Clubsport 40.

I mix up my driving a lot - lots of motorway driving but also lots of hard street driving and B road blasts, I find it massively important to have the best tires possible to allow me to push my car as hard as I can in a safe manner.

I was massively impressed with the Asymmetric 5's, the sheer grip and feedback were fantastic, along with being very safe in the wet. When my front tires reached the end of their serviceable life after 11,000 miles, I was more than ready to get the newer Asymmetric 6's fitted on the front of my car.

I'm simply over the moon with them already. Having covered about 1,000 miles on them in very mixed driving conditions, they have blown me away. They offer *everything* I could ever want from a tire. They are extremely grippy in the dry and wet, the feedback is great, the ride is very comfortable and the price is very reasonable for a top tier tire. I drove home in heavy rain last night and I drove the car hard to see how the tires would handle hard driving in the wet and they did not miss a beat. I was amazed how they put the power down on wet roads and the grip offered in corners. It actually felt like I was driving on a dry road. Incredible.

I had the Michelin PS4's a few years ago and I did not like them at all, they were too soft and struggled to keep up with my hard driving. I trialled the Eagle F1 Supersports when they first came out - they sound like the obvious choice for a sports hatchback - I found them excellent when warmed up on dry roads but they were nowhere near as confidence-inspiring in the rain and actually quite scary on wet roads. That's why I got the Assym 5's fitted after them and was very happy with my choice. And now I have the 6's I am even happier. These tires are simply fantastic - stupid amounts of grip. I recommend them to everyone. The UK has such mixed weather that I think these just offer the best all round driving experience. They really, really suit the characteristics of the Mk7 Golf GTI. I got them when on offer - £183 for 2 fitted. An absolute steal. Get these tires, you will not be disappointed. I will certainly be getting them again next time round.
Helpful 679 - tire reviewed on March 30, 2023
Given 57% while driving a Volvo V70 D5 AWD (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
I would NOT recommend the Asymmetric 6 if you're looking for a tire that will last for more than 1 year!

I bought 4 brand new A6 tires early this year replacing my old Michelin Primacy 3. Before buying them, I read up on multiple tests and reviews, and the A6 finished on top in most of them. Sure, the A6 has excellent handling, wet- and dry grip, so nothing to complain about there.
My issue is that the tires have terrible longevity.
I don't know what tread depth the tires have from the factory but I would assume they have at least 6 mm. Now, I drive very gently. No excessive accelerations, no heavy braking and I don't haul any heavy loads. I simply use the car to go to work every day back and forth. So when evaluating the wear after 8 months and about 8000 kilometers, the tread is down to 3 mm. This kind of wear was nothing that I expected from a renowned manufacturer such as Goodyear. Sure, some would argue that the A6 are categorized as sport tires with a softer rubber blend. But they are not pure sport tires. They are marketed as performance tires for premium cars, even compatible with EV's. (If you own a Tesla, you would probably need 4 new sets a year with the A6).

So if you're looking for tires that will last, together with equal or maybe even better performance metrics, then buy something else! I surly will go back to Michelin.
Helpful 77 - tire reviewed on October 31, 2023
Given 95% while driving a BMW 330e (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
Amazing tire, I replaced a Pirelli P7 run flats with these and although it is an unfair to compare them as they are totally different from one another, the difference is night and day. The comfort is now at a different level, the noise levels are significantly lower, the dry and wet grip are amazing too. It was between them and and the Michelin ps5 , but I’ve had the previous model asymmetric 5 and I really liked them, not to mention the price difference. Initial feel is good and I like them a lot , happy with the purchase . More to follow.
Helpful 188 - tire reviewed on February 8, 2022
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 Reviews

Given 82% while driving a SEAT Leon 2.0 Tsi 190 (225/45 R18) on mostly town for 300 average miles
Not a good looking tire, but is very grippy in the dry and good enough in the wet. It is also very quiet and comfortable. It isn't a massive step over the Kuhmo Ecsta PS71's that I had previously, but these are a good tire. Also has some rim protection. But please Goodyear, male a better sidewall!!!
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on May 10, 2024
Given 67% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 1.9 JTD (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,300 spirited miles
Soo, i have the tire for 2000km and so far i am very impresed with grip in wet and dry, before it warms up is bad but after the rubber becomes sticky and unstopable (i always smell burning rubber when i park my car), but the tires have a problem, outer sides are almost gone after 2000km and i eat tham down to the name of the tire, sidewalls are to soft (this are not XL) you can see it on the picture after the first day of use the tire had used marks just above the writing "EAGLE F1" and dont tell me i dont put enaugh pressure in becaus i put more than recomended, and the feedback and dynamic feel compared to Yokohoma Advant Fleva v701 is nonexistant until the tires are pushed well than in that area thay provide good feedback and overall operation, comfort is way better tham Yokohamas, also corner grip is way ahead Of Yokohama tires i used before, one more BIG p
PROBLEM in temperatures between 0-25°c thay work good, but after outside temps reach 30-35°c+ the tire become like a chewing gum and its terible, i enjoy tham alot more on the wet than dry
Helpful 0 - tire reviewed on May 4, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 89% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Mivec (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
Dry and wet grip are excellent. The handling is awesome as well. It’s less comfortable than my earlier set of tires (a set of 16” Yokohama Advan a460’s, which absorbed surface imperfections better), but now I know what sporty tires really feel. It ran about 20k kms going into their third season now. I now wish my car had a few dozen more horsepower. The fuel consumption went down by around 10% despite this is a wider set than the Yokohama’s. I would recommend the Asymmetric 6’s but for stronger/sportier cars mainly to harness their full potential.
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on April 19, 2024
Given 89% while driving a BMW 320D xDrive Gran Turismo (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Very good tire, I'm very pleased with them. Exactly what I expected, very good mix between performance/price/comfort.
Are very quiet, after 80 km/h I hear only some noise from the wind. Road feedback is very good, are very good for 18" wheels, I know very well what's happening with stearing of the car on cornering even at higher speed, good sidewall enforcement as well.
I looked for competition but were much more expensive and didn't have the same properties especially for noise level.
I used tires from competition, premium brands but I came many times back to GoodYear because they have the good mix for me.
Definitely I will buy them again. Very good job Goodyear.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on April 13, 2024
Given 91% while driving a BMW 330D Touring (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,200 spirited miles
Extremely happy with these tires. Fronts are 225/40/18 rears are 255/35/18. 330d xDrive.
I bought and fitted them a bit earlier than I usually do (mid March). As luck had it we had a few rainy and very cold days with damp and almost 0C temperatures in the mornings, when going to work. Whilst they of course required careful driving I was surprised by the amount of grip and confidence I had in those conditions.
Now that temperatures are higher and it's mostly dry I can say I am even more impressed. Grip is outstanding, they are noticeably quieter than my previous tires (Hankook evo 3s) and the ride is quite comfortable. I can't comment on wear as I've done about 1200 miles so far.
Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on April 6, 2024
Given 96% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
I had already owned a first set of tires GY asym6 and I loved them very much, even if they disappointed me just a little bit for their not very lasting life (about 29.000 spirited kms).
However, as I usually like to try something new, when I had to buy a new set of summer tires I've had some hesitations. After some days passed mainly on tire-reviews.com to check all the best alternatives that matched my needs, there were just three options at the end: GY asym6 (again) , Michelin PS5 and Conti SC7.
As far as I could understand from all the reviews, the PS5 can be considered better only for the wear, but at the same time they are the less fun and sporty tires of the group, so it was quite natural for me discard them. Conti SC7 are maybe on the opposite side: they have exceptional handling and road feedback qualities but maybe they are more UUHP tires than UHP tires and that's not what I needed because I imagined that this would mean higher wear than the asym6, that in turn was not unforgettable (P.S. it would be very interesting a tire test made by tirereviews, including the wear test, comparing asym6 - PS5 - SC7 in the 225/40 R18 syze). For all of these reasons, I buyed again the asym6 that seemed to be halfway the PS5 and the SC7. Now, after months passed driving with my winter set, the new set of asym6 has been fitted on my (wonderful) car and it was enough to start pushing again that... I remembered why I loved them so much! The feeling they give when cornering at high speed is simply amazing and they are super fun!
Yes, I've bought them again and I don't regret it!
Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on April 4, 2024
Given 64% while driving a BMW M140i F20 (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
Very good all round performance. They are better in terms of performance than my previous Michelin PS5. However wear rate is poor. They are worn out after only 8000 miles of steady driving on the rear. The fronts are about half worn, so it seems that to make them perform Goodyear have used a very soft compound. I would be happy to sacrifice some ultimate grip for longer life on my next tires.
Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on March 25, 2024
Given 86% while driving a Porsche 996 911 Carrera 2 (265/35 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,500 spirited miles
The tire combo is:
front 225/40 x 18
rear 265/35 x 18
My car is a 996.1 C2 which wears typically 3 sets of rears during one set of fronts. Weight bias is 38/62.

Ive have so far 2000 km on them but I have monitored the rear wear and it predicts about 13 000 km compared to my experience:
Michelin PS2 15 000 km
Michelin PSS 15 000 km
Potenza SO2
Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on March 22, 2024
Given 67% while driving a Audi A5 (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
I know how the Asymmetrical 6 is such a favourite and how well reviewed it was. But on the A5 which sits lower, my biggest gripe would be the road feedback. On certain road surfaces, the car glides through while providing some feedback, On rough surfaces, it seems to be highlighting every crevices undulation on the road which makes it very uncomfortable. I do not appreciate after riding an hour in the car and probably due to thin profile of the tires, that road feedback travels into the cabin and makes the car just feel out of place. The tires perform well on handling, on grip, on braking distance, on quietness, it was sublime. The road contact patch they boast of actually backfires in a hot country with terrible roads - Singapore.
Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on March 21, 2024
Given 67% while driving a Tesla Model S (245/45 R19) on mostly country roads for 9,700 easy going miles
I previously had the Goodyear Asymmetric 5 and they lasted 62000km (38500 mi). The Asymmetric 6 lasted less than 16000 km (10000 mi) and in fact they had been done for at least 3000 km since when I was going to rotate the tires when I saw they were completely flat, I was surprised such a short life; the front ones were a little bit better but almost done as well. Maybe it's a quality problem but I took the car to the same shop and had installed the previous version, the Asymmetric 5. I hope they perform equally as the ones I had 3 years before. I drive very very smoothly and gently and my driving style hasn't changed. I wouldn't buy them again and I wouln't recommed them to anybody eventhough the tire is silent and the grip is great.
Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on March 4, 2024
Given 90% while driving a Toyota Corolla (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
Excellent tires with good grip in the wet and dry. Comfort and noise is good. Wear rate on front 1mm per 5000 miles. On rear 1mm per 10000 miles.
Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on January 30, 2024
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia 2.2d 190hp (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 13 spirited miles
Second set of tires in my car. Replaced factory set Good Year A5. Driven for 13.000 miles, mostly in motorways, but also in town and b roads. Better in every way than the old tires, especialy in dry grip and handling. Not sure about wear. A5 lasted for 30.000 miles.
Helpful 41 - tire reviewed on December 8, 2023