Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport

The Eagle F1 SuperSport draws on Goodyear's racing experience to provide superior grip and handling. Responsive directional changes are ensured through the stiff tread ribs while a massive closed outside pattern, used on the tire's shoulder, provides control during load transfers in corners. A super-stiff sidewall design further improves handling without unduly compromising ride comfort. Although primarily developed for dry conditions, Goodyear has innovatively addressed wet performance through the deployment of a multi-compound combination that sees dry-optimized outer sections paired with three wet-optimized central segments.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 97%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 95%
Handling 96%
Wear 75%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 91%

Tire review data from 24 tire reviews averaging 89% over 65,552 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 SuperSport is ranked 4th of 63 Summer Max Performance tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Auto Bild UUHP Summer Tire Test - 4th of 9 tires

  • Positive - The F1 SuperSport is a sporty summer tire with a high level of balanced performance in the dry and wet, short dry braking distances, good comfort.
  • Negative - Very expensive.
  • Overall - Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tire Reviews UHP Summer Tire Test - 3rd of 14 tires

  • Positive - Truly a road tire you can use on track, excellent dynamic steering with quick reactions and good feedback, and very good heat resistance for a road tire.
  • Negative - Oversteer wet handling balance, long wet braking distances, high external pass by noise, high rolling resistance.
  • Overall - The Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport was the master of the dry handling lap, offering the best steering response and good feedback. Unfortunately in this 18" size, the F1SS didn't has as much wet performance as tested in other sizes.
View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Bild UHP 19 inch Tire Test - 3rd of 10 tires

  • Positive - Sporty summer tire with best cornering and handling in the wet, good steering precision, short wet and dry braking distances, balanced comfort.
  • Negative - Noise, increased rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Recommended.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 10.10kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL         10.67kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E A 71 8.38kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C B 72 9.43kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.50kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO C A 69 9.79kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 10.14kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 72 10.92kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 73 12.03kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 73 10.85kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 12.00kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 14.05kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 10.27kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.97kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 75 12.00kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 72 9.60kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 72 9.60kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C B 70 10.00kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 72 11.32kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 10.39kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL         11.49kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E A 73 11.35kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 12.12kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 12.12kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 72 11.74kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 11.76kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL   C A 74 12.87kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL   E A 75 13.82kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 72 10.93kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL NA0 E B 73 12.14kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73 11.86kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   E A 72 11.78kgs
285/30 R21 100Y XL   C A 75 12.95kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL NA0 E A 74 15.55kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport

2020-02-06 - Hi are Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport better in dry grip then Michelin Pilot Sport 4 ?

You can see the SuperSport compared to the 4S here. The Asymmetric 5 is more a rival to the PS4.


2019-12-22 - Are these Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Tires better in the wet than MPS4 tires ? I have MPSS tires on my M240I , I was going to swap these for MPS4 tires however the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport tires may be the better choice

They will offer a very similar level of wet grip.


2020-01-05 - Hi, I'm currently looking for a replacement of my Michelin PS4s for the coming Season. The most promising alternative, the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport has a rather shockinly low "wear" rating of 20% (compared to the Michelin PS4s with 84%). How is that number derived? What does it mean in real live, will the PS4s last 4x longer? TIA for the answer, Thomas


2021-03-23 - In my country I only able to find Thailand made F1. is the quality is same as euro made?

Usually eastern tires have a slightly different compound due to the different market requirements, so there's a chance they will be different tires, however if the Thai F1 SuperSports are the same spec as the European ones they should be virtually identical.


2020-12-28 - Goodyear have launched an Audi OE Supersport in 225/40/18 92Y and the noise on this is lower by 3db and fuel economy has improved by going from E to C rated. Which one of these will be a better performing tire? Will the OE version perform as well as the non OE version. The car I am thinking of using them on is a Golf R mk7.5 stage 1 tuned (same MQB chassis as the Audi)

Without testing I'm afraid it is impossible to know. As a guess, it seems like the OE version could have traded some ultimate handling and grip for the improved rolling resistance and lower noise, so if I was choosing a tire for "fun" without testing, I would pick OE. I expect the differences to be relatively minor overall though.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Reviews

Given 92% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
One word: fantastic! Truly a Michelin PS4s competitor!

Tires I already drove on my 322hp Megane RS: PS4, PS4s, PS3, Nokian Powerproof and now the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport in 235/40/18.

Dry grip and feedback is great! Full throttle out of the corner is easy (works great with some added negative camber). It gives you so much confidence. The feedback is superb and now I really can push the car to its limits. I think they behave the same as the PS4s but it is difficult to compare because I've changed the suspension this year.

These Goodyears are a bit stiffer than the normal PS4 and Powerproof but I like that. Turn in is very good and it is hard to overdrive them. The ride is stiffer but the response is so much better and more direct.

In terms of noise: I find them quiet. At least, they don't drone at any speed. The Powerproofs do drone at 50kmh.

The looks: they look nice! Nice pattern and I do like the rim protection.

I would buy these tires again! Great value for money! It shows me that Michelin is maybe a bit overpriced..
88 - tire reviewed on April 6, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a Honda FK2 type r (235/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 10,000 miles
What a great tire!!! Price point at time of purchase (March 2019) was less than both Michelin PS4S's and Continental SC6 that the car was running on fitted from factory. I think the most relatable way to describe the Supersport tire on the FK2 put simply, it really complements the chassis, the factory Continental's are very good in dry conditions, there is not any appreciable gain with the Supersport here but in wet conditions the Supersport is far superior, the SC6 gave a vage feeling/sensation of little to no grip at low speed which was strange because the grip was there if you pushed past this and lent on the tire harder but it wasn't reassuring, the Supersport has addressed this with a really good feeling in wet conditions at all speeds and maintained all the dry grip levels and beautiful precision handling that Honda engineers intended at all speeds in the dry at an advantageous price point over brands and with just over 10k miles coved at point of writing this the wear rate is excellent too, I estimate I still have another 5k felt in the front tires (car is factory standard) compared to scraping to the 10k mark with the SC6 after rotating twice. I will definitely buy the Supersport again! Enjoy your drive! Wrighty
28 - tire reviewed on April 26, 2021   
Given 84% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD) (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
My first impressions on this interesting tire, especially for us who choose to run 18” - kudos for GY for providing the 18” market. Also used on a powerful FWD hot hatch in estate form, with various chassis mods, lighter 18” wheels, rear arb, a few bushings and the odd spherical bearings. Compared to previous mounted Michelin Supersports (MPSS) 225/40R18 (235 not available). Before those, this car had two sets of Pilot Sport 4. All tires changed already at approx. 5-4mm left so not comparing completely worn to new.

Off the car impressions of the ‘F1SS’ (’EF1SS’ is bit too much to be short, not to mention the other versions…) in 235/40R18 95Y:
Thread depth new: 7mm. Weight 10,2kg. Sidewall is substantial, with more thickness than I’ve seen before even on trackday tires but without the cord, ‘meaty’ is a good description. Nice protection for the rim. Thread pattern relatively open, both between the large thread blocks on the edges and circumferential channels that are wider than the MPSS, so expecting aquaplaning properties that are not much compromised.

On the car impressions. Tested at 2,3bar cold pressure.
Dry traction very similar. Side dry grip a bit more than the MPSS, with reservation for them being a little wider although that is marginal at best. Wouldn’t want more grip in the dry, really. Tires very happy to be pushed to the limit, feels like they were made for this, feels very progressive and, indeed, ‘meaty’ once they start sliding. Very confidence inspiring. The MPSS are a little lighter (225 MPSS is 1kg less) though and communicate more the surface condition. Definitely sportier than the PS4 that is relatively soft and safe in its limit behaviour. The other side of the coin is that the F1SS are more comfortable than the MPSS, my subjective noise levels are down (we have some really rough roads due to studded tire use) and potholes are not as sharp compared to the MPSS. Subjectively I would say these sit halfway between the MPSS and the PS4 for comfort.

In the wet, the F1SS is on another level than the MPSS, and not far off the PS4. The PS4 is ultimately maybe a bit more tenacious and progressive on the limit in turns in the wet, but I could find surprising grip with the F1SS when the roads weren’t greasy. This is progress in compound for sure. So this tire is much more a PS4S competitor than a Cup2 and for me a clear upgrade on the MPSS in the wet, they broke traction very easily when cold and only a bit greasy.
Not yet driven in downpours so no aquaplaning impressions yet.

Obviously cannot comment on wear yet, can’t see though that the thread suffered anything from a few spirited drives on country roads. Hopefully these aren’t too far off the excellent wear properties of the Asymmetric 5.
Will review these again before I change them, from what I've seen so far a definite recommendation, a very well rounded tire for enjoyable road performance driving. The price was good too. All of course my highly subjective findings, YMMV.
27 - tire reviewed on May 2, 2019   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Reviews

Given 75% while driving a BMW E46 M3 (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
So, I came to these from a PS4, which were hugely impressive. Initially, the goodyear disappointed me in the rain, but I think that speaks more about the PS4 that I came from. Then I tried the F1SS. For the road, it's almost scary how much cornering grip these tires offer in the dry. I've had to recalibrate my cornering speed accordingly. They have held up well on track too. I dropped about 8/10PSI F/R and they stayed together well, but dropped off significantly on a wet track. Overall, I prefer these to the PS4 because the track aspect just nudges it ahead for me. If it was road only, I'd go for a PS4, or a PS4S if I could get it in my size.
0 - tire reviewed on May 11, 2021   
Given 93% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia QF (285/30 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 2 spirited miles
Found the YouTube UHP comparison test with the M2 very helpful and informative. Based on this and Giulia Quadrifoglio owners feedback I went for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Supersports. 245/35/19 fronts and 285/30/19 rears. Running 2.4bar front and 2.2bar rear. My review with this tire is based on the knowledge that I've driven the same B road's for 30 year's with various performance cars and various makes of tires. Initial impressions are very positive. Crabbing is no longer present. Sidewalls do seem stiffer than the Corsas, but not annoyingly so. Steering does initially feel a little heavier but this doesn't effect turn in or handling, personally I quite like the little more weight. Wet weather grip is phenomenal, even in Race and using manual the car feels very predictable. Still to find the limit but with 500+ bhp and public roads I'll leave the hedges for someone else to explore. Latteral twitch from the rears going over drain covers in the wet is also much less severe. Dry weather handling is excellent. Turn in, apex and exit grip you really feel the tire bite. Still get a little slip from the rear 3rd to 4th when on limit in Race, again very predictable. Really impressed with the SS. Car feels much more predictable and has given me much more confidence wet and dry
1 - tire reviewed on March 5, 2021   
Want the best performance tire? Click here!
Given 97% while driving a Mercedes Benz A (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Picked up my new car - A220d - from Mercedes recently. Car came with Continental EcoContact which for the life of me I couldn't figure out why Mercedes would fit crappy Eco tires on a car that churns out 400 NMs of torque from 1.5k rpm..Anyway, that's Mercedes for you. On to the tires now..I basically complained to Mercedes and threatened to hand the car back unless they changed all 4x EcoContact tires on the car. They asked me what tires I would like. I had heard about Eagle F1 Supersports online and watching a couple of Tire Reviews videos on Youtube. I was going to stick to the default choice of Michelin PS4, however since the PS4s don't come in 18's I thought I would give the Supersports a try. I've had PS4 tires on my previous car (GTD 184) and they were great tires, so I was expecting, and hoping, for similar type of performance and grip from the Supersports. I've had the Supersports for about 500 miles now, so they are definitely bedded in. My opinion: It feels like I'm different car now, and whilst this may not seem to hard to believe given the EconContact crap tires my A220d came with, I am also comparing the grip level to my GTD 184 with Michelin PS4 tires on. Wet handling - The wet grip on these tires inspire an unbelievable amount of confidence in the bends. Have went through numerous deep puddles at speed and have not had the car aquaplaning. They make you feel safe regardless of how wet the road is. Dry Grip - These tires almost redefine physics when it comes to dry grip. I have never had a a tire grip more and more the faster I went. These tires don't alive until over 70 mph, and my god do they grip. There were times where I was like "Right, surely they will lose grip, surely they can't grip at this speed anymore"...But no, these tires would not let go. I will go as far as saying that you're likely to rip the tarmac surface of the road first before the Supersports concede and accept defeat. Wear - Unfortunately, since I've only had them on for 500 miles so far, I can't comment yet. But I will come back in the future with a further update. Conclusion - The Eagle F1 Supersports are basically PS4s but for 18's wheels. Furthermore, I would go as far as saying that even if Michelin started to sell PS4s for 18's wheels I would still choose the F1 Supersports of the PS4s. I had a great experience in my Michelin PS4 tires in my GTD 184, however there is a big difference between good grip and unreal grip, and that is what the Eagle F1 Supersport from Goodyear offer. Don't hesitate. If you want outstanding and unbeatable wet and dry grip, the F1 Eagle Supersports are your only choice. There are comparable tires obviously, such as the PS4, SportContact 5, Potenza etc...However, if you want the best without any obvious compromise then choose the F1 Supersports.
2 - tire reviewed on February 7, 2021   
Given 63% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 4,600 spirited miles
Very nice tire but if on a high torque fed application they wear incredibly fast. Had them on mk7 gtd tuned and I will be going back to PS4 no question vfm is with the Michelin . I would like to try these on a Subaru or an evo for a proper analysis tbc when summer arrives but for the GTD or GTi stick with PS4
1 - tire reviewed on January 31, 2021   
Given 93% while driving a BMW 428i m sport coupe (255/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I choose these tires as a alternative to the more expensive Michelin PS4S which don't even come in my size. The Eagle F1 supersport is better by all means than the Continental SC5* Runflats with which the car came on. Noise is less intrusive than runflats but still loud on some types of pavement, but when driving on highway speeds on a long trip it gets better. you get used to it. Stability in the curves is almost the same as the old ones (because of stiff side walls) but have faster steering and acceleration being little more comfortable than RFT... The tires are couple of Kg lighter than any of runflats which would prove useful on a track for people wanting to maximize tire effectiveness. On colder temperature already under 5 degrees Celsius were the tires somewhat strugling with traction on an near ice cold road, so pay attention not to use these in autumn/winter season. Thread wear is yet to be concluded.
3 - tire reviewed on January 7, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a Audi S3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
In the past 12 years I have had 3 golf gtis one of them totally standard and 1 chipped and the other upgraded in several aspects like suspension brakes chip etc. , my latest car is an audi s3 so my review is about tires used on these fast hatchbacks. I have used in these cars the following tires: conti sport contact 5, yokohama advan k105, good year assymetric, assy 2, assy 3, pirelli pzero and michelin ps2. Said this , a few days ago i had to change the assy 3 so i went to the dealer and looked for replacement, the natural evolution was the assy 5, but once at the dealer i was offered to try the new good year super sport , if i didnt like it i would be able to change them to the assy 5 , no charge. This is how confident the dealer was . Ok down to .. its totally mind bending .. steering response.. k105 breaker.. sticks like the ps2 or even better, .. at the limit is almost fool proof .... wet? still no experience but i can imagine it will be good. So , its always been quite easy to make a performance tire that grips great in the dry but there are two major points that will make a great dry tire that will make it a great tire over all: WET PERFORMANCE AND COMFORT. I am quite picky now about the comfort part and thats why i have been using goodyears assys lately. this tire isnt as comfy as the assy 3 but.. its almost there plus you can really feel the performance difference as soon as u get your hands in the wheel. Damn this is a new era for tires!! grip, comfort, steering response .. confident limit.. this is one of perhaps 3 tires out there that are able to perform in every area like this. Not going back for the assy5 s ... Thank you goodyear dealer!! u made my day!
2 - tire reviewed on November 1, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (245/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Really good match for my car. Decided to remove the stock Pirelli run flats and go for a good premium’normal’ tire. The difference is night and day. Feel. Comfort. Grip (wet and dry) all improved instantly. I have no idea how long these will last. But for every day driving I can’t imagine there are many out there that are better. If you have a car with noisy run flats these are a significant improvement. Almost sure I’ll buy these again. 9/10. Only drawback is they are not cheap. But you get what you pay for.
0 - tire reviewed on August 27, 2020   
Ford Focus RS (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 50 easy going miles
OK just got the new 235/35/19 Goodyear f1 supersport tires for my mk2 focus rs on 11/7/20, 1st impression after 50 kilometers,car felt a lot more planted over the conti contact 3 I have replaced,weather was raining so drove sensible on the way home, definitely a improvement on the way the rs drives now, nice and Sharpe,quite light also along the motorway,tire guys put 42 psi f and 40 psi r, so I have adjusted to 35 & 33 for now and will play with psi, what I have noticed is there more noise on certain types of road but the new smooth roads are pretty quiet,once there scrubbed in I will return a updated review and hopefully I'm loving them,They do look a very nice on the rs rims to by the way, tread isn't that deep either so wear rate will be interesting.purchased based on this review page as I wasn't paying ps4s money per a tire, my choice was this supersport or the falken fk510,cheers from Australia
10 - tire reviewed on July 12, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a BMW 120d M sport (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
This tire has transformed my BMW. The steering feel on my model is sorely lacking, but this tire offers so much feedback that it will not be silenced. The grip in dry and wet are both quite exceptional, but be aware that cold summer mornings (10-15 degrees C) require warming of the tires before all the grip is there. I had the opportunity to try the tire on a dry track, and it stood up well - so for anyone who does only the odd trackday, this tire should be on your list. Did I mention the feedback? It has made my very capable, but always slightly dull BMW a really fun car to drive! Even at perfectly sane and socially acceptable speeds on the road the car is so much more satisfying to drive. It feels more alive and very talkative. Comfort is good, firm but rarely jarring, and it is surprisingly quiet for a performance tire. Jonathan's review pitching this tire against the PS4S is spot on the money.
4 - tire reviewed on July 10, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (245/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
After buying my Audi from new I had the unfortunate realisation that the car was fitted with Hankook tires as standard, something I thought was strange for a performance car, and then I thought Audi must have tested these tires on the tts prior to making them standard. How wrong, to say there was no feel through the steering would be an understatement and there was so much understeer. After fitting the Goodyear eagle f1 super sports to the car within second of driving the difference was unbelievable I could feel the road and the understeer was gone, initially the two fronts were changed and instead of understeer I got oversteer on a tight corner in very wet conditions, when I replaced the rears the cars handling has been epic. My car now feels alive, wet handling dry handling wet and dry braking, no more loss of traction and the esp light doesn’t flicker anymore. Can’t rate these tires high enough and there a lot quieter too. I found tire reviews very helpful when selecting the right tires for my car, the only way to know what tires are really like is to check out peoples experiences with them
2 - tire reviewed on July 6, 2020   
Given 91% while driving a Mazda RX8 (235/40 R18 W) on track for 6,000 spirited miles
My RX8 is used on the road (all year) and track days during the winter months. On the road, the Super Sports are as firm as I would want to go. The dry weather grip is excellent and they perform very well in the wet even on cold days. I suspect the rolling resistance is quite high as the MPG is lower than previous tires. On track, they are mega. The dry grip is pretty darned close to a semi slick; those stiff tire walls I think. The wet weather grip is amazing. Semi slicks do not work on cold, wet tracks but these Super Sports are amazing. On a cold, wet track in the winter, they produce grip from the out lap and I am often among the fastest cars out there. For the track day driver they are a superb tire for wet and dry that work well on the road. Oh, they were relatively cheap too.
1 - tire reviewed on June 18, 2020   
Given 69% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I have these tires fitted to my 2008 Civic Type-R in 225/40R18 92Y and have found them to be a little disappointing if I'm honest. Having come from the AS2 and AS3 I had high hopes, as they were great all-rounders. But these didn't impress long term. Initial impression were good. There was an increase is road noise which was expected, but that came with an increase in feel, especially when pushed. But these tires need to be warm to perform. From cold the dry grip is good, but not great. They're fine at 'nippy' speeds but quickly give up past that until warm, understeering and oversteering before you might expect. But once warm they're a real pleasure, very preditcable and consistant, great turn-in and excellent on the limit. Really confidence inspiring. In the wet they're good, but but no better than the AS3, especially at lower speeds. Over 40-50mph the same predictability comes through, good feel, good turn-in, but they didn't really impress in outright wet grip as the tests suggest. Also they are particularly poor on greasy roads, with far more understeer than the AS3 in the same conditions. They're difinitely a summer tire. But my main issue is the wear rate. I know these are sporty summer tires but my word they're wearing fast. I'll be lucky to get 5k miles including rotating them. They're also getting louder and it's kinda distracting now. Considering the mixed performance, the price and the wear rate, I can't recommend these tires. I wish I'd tried the AS5 or Pilot Sport 4 instead.
6 - tire reviewed on May 26, 2020