Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport

The Eagle F1 SuperSport draws on Goodyear's racing experience to provide superior grip and handling. Responsive directional changes are ensured through the stiff tread ribs while a massive closed outside pattern, used on the tire's shoulder, provides control during load transfers in corners. A super-stiff sidewall design further improves handling without unduly compromising ride comfort. Although primarily developed for dry conditions, Goodyear has innovatively addressed wet performance through the deployment of a multi-compound combination that sees dry-optimized outer sections paired with three wet-optimized central segments.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 97%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 92%
Handling 95%
Wear 68%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 85%

Tire review data from 40 tire reviews averaging 86% over 129,602 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 SuperSport is ranked 14th of 70 Summer Max Performance tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 Tire Reviews UUHP Summer Tire Test - 4th of 10 tires

  • Positive - Excellent in the dry with the best dry handling and short dry braking distances.
  • Negative - Low grip in the wet with long wet braking distances, low aquaplaning resistance, noisiest tire on test, low levels of comfort.
  • Overall - The Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport once again proves itself to be one of the best road bias tires if you're interested in taking your car on track. Unfortunately, that does come at the expense of some road manners, such as wet performance and comfort levels but this is still the tire to pick if you're planning track work.
View Full Test >>

2022 Sport Auto UHP, UUHP and Semi Slick Tire Test - 3rd of 10 tires

  • Positive - With the exception of the longer braking distances and a certain sensitivity to load changes, still balanced performance in the wet. In the dry, the car and tire doesn't work well together.
  • Negative - Weak braking performance in the everyday temperature range, here also stability deficits during quick evasive manoeuvres. Sensitive to load changes in the wet.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tire Reviews UHP Summer Tire Test - 3rd of 14 tires

  • Positive - Truly a road tire you can use on track, excellent dynamic steering with quick reactions and good feedback, and very good heat resistance for a road tire.
  • Negative - Oversteer wet handling balance, long wet braking distances, high external pass by noise, high rolling resistance.
  • Overall - The Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport was the master of the dry handling lap, offering the best steering response and good feedback. Unfortunately in this 18" size, the F1SS didn't has as much wet performance as tested in other sizes.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 10.10kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL         10.67kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E A 71 8.38kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C B 72 9.43kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.50kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO C A 69 9.79kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 10.14kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 72 10.92kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 73 12.03kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 73 10.85kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 12.00kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 14.05kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 10.27kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.97kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 75 12.00kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 72 9.60kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 72 9.60kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C B 70 10.00kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 72 11.32kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 10.39kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL         11.49kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E A 73 11.35kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 12.12kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 12.12kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 72 11.74kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 11.76kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL   C A 74 12.87kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL   E A 75 13.82kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 72 10.93kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL NA0 E B 73 12.14kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73 11.86kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   E A 72 11.78kgs
285/30 R21 100Y XL   C A 75 12.95kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL NA0 E A 74 15.55kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport

2020-02-06 - Hi are Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport better in dry grip then Michelin Pilot Sport 4 ?

You can see the SuperSport compared to the 4S here. The Asymmetric 5 is more a rival to the PS4.


2019-12-22 - Are these Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Tires better in the wet than MPS4 tires ? I have MPSS tires on my M240I , I was going to swap these for MPS4 tires however the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport tires may be the better choice

They will offer a very similar level of wet grip.


2020-01-05 - Hi, I'm currently looking for a replacement of my Michelin PS4s for the coming Season. The most promising alternative, the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport has a rather shockinly low "wear" rating of 20% (compared to the Michelin PS4s with 84%). How is that number derived? What does it mean in real live, will the PS4s last 4x longer? TIA for the answer, Thomas


2021-03-23 - In my country I only able to find Thailand made F1. is the quality is same as euro made?

Usually eastern tires have a slightly different compound due to the different market requirements, so there's a chance they will be different tires, however if the Thai F1 SuperSports are the same spec as the European ones they should be virtually identical.


2020-12-28 - Goodyear have launched an Audi OE Supersport in 225/40/18 92Y and the noise on this is lower by 3db and fuel economy has improved by going from E to C rated. Which one of these will be a better performing tire? Will the OE version perform as well as the non OE version. The car I am thinking of using them on is a Golf R mk7.5 stage 1 tuned (same MQB chassis as the Audi)

Without testing I'm afraid it is impossible to know. As a guess, it seems like the OE version could have traded some ultimate handling and grip for the improved rolling resistance and lower noise, so if I was choosing a tire for "fun" without testing, I would pick OE. I expect the differences to be relatively minor overall though.


2022-01-28 - I am looking for a tire similar in performance to the TOYO R1R. Unfortunately the sizes that I currently have on my car I have only a few alternatives (no more Pirelli Pzero AR!): Michelin Pilot Sport CUP 2, Goodyear Eagle F1 Supersport and Supersport R. My driving is 5% track and 95% road. Ambient temperatures are in the range 5-35 ° C and the car is an Alfa Romeo 4C: what do you recommend?

The Cup 2 would likely be closest to the R1R, however for that much road driving I'd be inclined to fit the F1 SuperSport.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Reviews

Given 92% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
One word: fantastic! Truly a Michelin PS4s competitor!

Tires I already drove on my 322hp Megane RS: PS4, PS4s, PS3, Nokian Powerproof and now the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport in 235/40/18.

Dry grip and feedback is great! Full throttle out of the corner is easy (works great with some added negative camber). It gives you so much confidence. The feedback is superb and now I really can push the car to its limits. I think they behave the same as the PS4s but it is difficult to compare because I've changed the suspension this year.

These Goodyears are a bit stiffer than the normal PS4 and Powerproof but I like that. Turn in is very good and it is hard to overdrive them. The ride is stiffer but the response is so much better and more direct.

In terms of noise: I find them quiet. At least, they don't drone at any speed. The Powerproofs do drone at 50kmh.

The looks: they look nice! Nice pattern and I do like the rim protection.

I would buy these tires again! Great value for money! It shows me that Michelin is maybe a bit overpriced..
Helpful 104 - tire reviewed on April 6, 2019
Given 80% while driving a Porsche 991 C2S (295/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Just had my first proper blast with the new Goodyear F1 SuperSport tires on my Porsche 991 C2S

Off the line - it’s like being shot out of a cannon......

Grip around high speed bends is ridiculous.... got to push so much harder it still wouldn’t break away, balance of the car is so much more improved.
Helpful 50 - tire reviewed on August 1, 2019
BMW 230i (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
This tire is such a wonderful surprise. There are not much sporty road tires for 18" so before this one i had PS4. It's a good tire but there is nothing sporty about it, the F1 SS is night and day over the PS4 in Dry grip, feedback and handling (No rain yet where I live so can't comment on wet grip, but I live in a hot country so wet is not much issue). If you are on 18" and want a sporty tire for road use? this is the one to chose. It is indeed a fun tire like Jonathan said in his review. Love this tire.
Helpful 44 - tire reviewed on October 31, 2021
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Reviews

Given 91% while driving a BMW 140i xdrive (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Amazing handling qualities with exceptional steering reactions and highly confidence inspiring in dry conditions. Very good dry grip with good wet grip for a UUHP tire. Nevertheless not a wet performance tire as reactions in the wet at the limit can be a little bit demanding for average driving skill (if the electronics are turned off completely). Good wear especially when driven hard and/or frequently at the limit or on the track (about 5000 miles and still look quite new / about 6 mm left with even wear in spite of driving excessively fast curves). Had before the Yokohama AD08R which I loved. Compared with these, grip is on a identical level but Goodyear demands less heat in the tire to result in same grip. Turn in of Goodyear is a little bit faster and more precise and both are a bit "meaty" and side walls are strong. Therefore only average tire pressure (2.4 bar) is required and tire remains reliable also under extreme driving conditions (no imprecise behaviour or reactions of the tire). Comfort is quite good for UUHP (at least as good as original MIchelin PSS tires).
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on October 23, 2022
Given 85% while driving a BMW 420d M Sport X Drive (255/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Bought these for my bmw 420d and can honestly say they are a great improvement over the potenza s001 fittrd before. Much more fun and the grip is insane. Have had michelin ps4 previously and these are much better. Thanks tire reviews for the recomendation
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 20, 2022
All Season VS Winter Tires: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 91% while driving a BMW Z4M Coupe (255/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
225/45/18 and 255/40/18

I bought these in 2020 after seeing the excellent reviews on this site. I have so far covered around 10k with them on everything from rough city streets to autobahns and tracks. They have been superb and offer an almost no compromise performance upgrade over more road oriented tires.

Dry
In the dry these really hang on. Turn in is direct and the grip is well balanced front to rear. I’ve also found myself able to get on the throttle much sooner and with more confidence than before. Braking is excellent and has only made my brake pads seem even more lacking than ever.

Wet
I was a little concerned that there would be a wet weather trade off with this type of tire, but if there is, I can’t tell. Traction is better than ever and grip is surprisingly good. I don’t use the car much in the wet and don’t tend to push it when I do, but incredibly they appear to perform noticeably better than the old Asymmetric 2s they replaced.

Track
The biggest difference compared to my previous tires is their ability to be pushed for much longer on track without overheating. The F1 SS is a huge step up in this regard and whilst I’m sure a dedicated track tire would be better again, you’d be making other compromises to get that advantage.

Wear, noise and comfort.
I doubt many will care that much if they’re looking at this kind of tire but it’s good to know you won’t need ear plugs, a seat cushion and an overdraft when you’re just driving normally. For wear, it’s possibly too early to tell but there’s huge amounts of tread left and no worn shoulders. I also didn’t notice any increase in noise but as the Z4 is relatively noisy, it’s hard to be sure. In terms of comfort they are a little stiffer and harsher over sharp ridges and potholes but it’s a relatively small difference and a price worth paying if you want that extra connection and directness. An added bonus is that my MPG hasn’t suffered either. I’ve been to Italy and back twice on these and there’s no perceptible difference in economy compared to other times I’ve done the trip.

Summary/TLDR

If you want a high performance road tire with more grip and feedback compared to a UHP summer tire, look no further. The F1SS moves the performance on from the Asymmetric range without giving up any amount of real world usability. It’s ability to handle heat is leagues above a normal summer tire and should satisfy all but the most dedicated of track goers. The only noticeable compromise for me was a slight loss of comfort over harsh bumps but given the nature of the tire and all the other benefits it offers it’s a total non issue.

I’m reluctant to give these a 10/10 simply because I’m no tire tester, but I’d say they’re pretty much perfect for anyone wanting more focus and grip without sacrificing the ability to daily drive the car in mixed environments and conditions.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on October 10, 2022
Given 86% while driving a Mitsubishi EVO 8 (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Excellent premium tire for a dry weekend car. Mounted these to a 2004 Mitsubishi Evo 8mr and now this thing is the king of corners. Whatever corner I throw at it, it just grips, no tire squeal, no understeer or oversteer. would recommend to anybody after a dry grip weekend tire. Tire also has decent rim protection if you are after that. Decent looking sidewall. Made in Germany. Don't pay extra for the Michelin PS4S when you can have these for slightly less money.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on September 8, 2022
Given 88% while driving a SEAT Cupra 300 (235/40 R18) on track for 2,500 spirited miles
I drive my car mainly on track, I done 4 trackdays in 4 months/5,000km. By the 4th trackday the tires were too worn take the power of my car and give me confidence into the bends. I done 5 trackdays last year on Michelin PS4s and they were only half worn. I do think the Goodyears are as good as the Michelins but did not last as long. I’m undecided what to buy yet for the next year of trackdays but currently swaying towards the Goodyears again due to price difference.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on September 3, 2022
Given 67% while driving a Mercedes Benz C300 (255/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Changed to these from ps4s the ps4s lasted 2 1/2 to 3 years. Replaced the rears first and 4 months later ordered fronts, when I had them fitted tire shop said you will need to replace the rears soon I said I only just put them on. It's now 12 months on and the rears are shot to bits. Car is only driving as a daily driver. Worst wearing tire ever goodyear should be embarrassed to sell these.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on August 31, 2022
Given 90% while driving a BMW (245/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
I have been trying a number of new tires lately, PS4S, PS5 and F1A6 for having better handling and response for my 540i xdrive but at the same time getting city road comfort for my wife. None gets my satisfaction when doing spirited country road drive. I first hesitated to try F1SS after having read all the reviews on its harsh ride. To me it's more like a last resort. What a surprise to get the feel and response from the tires. It has much more solid feel and stability than PS4S when cornering and adequate ride comfort in the city. The noise is also negligible. However, I am not sure about the wet grip yet.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on August 27, 2022
Given 60% while driving a Toyota Yaris (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,750 miles
Great tire in the dry with good feedback. Good in a lot of wet conditions too, but some wet surfaces cause it to be very sketchy compared to PS4S's which seems to be more consistent on varying wet road surfaces. Wear was really bad. Less than 2000 miles and the fronts were dead compared to 8000 on PS4's on road use.
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on March 14, 2022
Given 90% while driving a BMW E46 M3 (245/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 400 spirited miles
When it came to replacing the tires on my CSL wheels, everyone recommended I change to PS4S (recently bought the car and had some very old, dried out Achilles tires on them). And I was tempted to. But I remember watching one of Jonathan’s videos and remember him saying how good the F1SS was. I tried to watch every video I could find on the F1SS and eventually I ordered a set. These tires have blown my mind. I mainly do weekend runs on mountain passes/touge style roads and the occasional trackday. Because of our hot African climate, I wasn’t too worried about the cold/wet performance as it doesn’t really get below 8’C here in winter, and even then I don’t do much driving in anything but my daily driver. The F1SS are very quick to warm up and when they do, they really stick. Initial turn-in feels great, and steering feedback through corners is amazing. The rears seem to never run out of grip and even after pushing them on a fast, technical mountain pass, they just keep up. Road noise seems fairly non-existent. They have a normal amount of noise on the freeway, but overall I find it a quiet tire. I also don’t find them too stiff, they seem pretty comfortable considering the car is lowered. I have done one session of “spirited” driving in the wet, but didn’t push very hard. I didn’t feel like I was running out of grip at any stage though, I remember being impressed and thinking they shouldn’t feel this good in the wet. So far, very good! I’ve done about 6 or 7 demanding drives since fitting them and really love the way they feel and grip, especially compared to the MPS4S I’ve felt on other cars. If they last well with my driving style, I won’t hesitate to put these on other cars as well. It also makes me very excited for the next generation of these tires.
Helpful 11 - tire reviewed on February 21, 2022
Given 79% while driving a Audi A4 Quattro 220 bhp TFSI (235/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 6,000 spirited miles
Soft sidewalls vs previous pirelli p zero
Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on January 25, 2022
Given 60% while driving a Skoda (225/40 R19) on mostly town for 9,000 spirited miles
The tire was a joy in the dry , up there with PS4 but as the tread reduced damp driving became a real pain. Wet driving was ok and predictable but damp , slight damp roads made this tire spin. It would spin at real low speeds. I would reverse out of my drive and push forward and spin , spin. This problem started at under 4mm and at under 3mm it was so annoying. I changed the fronts today to Hankook Evo 3's due to there 1st placing in a recent test. When new and in the dry a marvelous tire it just didnt like damp much like some of the Potenza's i have owned. So in essence , change this tire at 3mm. One last biggie on this , i was down to 3mm at 9k miles!
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on January 13, 2022
Given 86% while driving a Honda Civic Type R FK2 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Pros: I use them both on roads and trackdays, and they are amazing tires compared to the factory set Continental SC 6's! Great, sharp steering feel, needs a little bit of heat in them before use but not much, cornering speeds are awesome. Cons: lower comfort level, on trackdays they stick very well but easier to overheat and lose grip quicker then the Contis before, I had to play more with tire pressures. I already ordered a set of Supersport R tires for track use only, can't wait to compare them to each other!
Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on January 9, 2022