Nokian SeasonProof

Replacing the Weatherproof, the new Nokian Seasonproof is designed for drivers who need reliability and first-class safety for snowy and slushy winter days but who also want top-notch performance and effortless driving feel in the summer.

Tire review data from 9 tire reviews averaging 86% over 90,040 miles driven, and 7 tests with an average result of 8th.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 76%
Wear 94%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 87%
Snow Grip 96%
Ice Grip 88%

First On MarketSeptember 2020
Wheel Size14 - 19"
Width165 - 255mm
Profile40 - 70
Rolling ResistanceC - C
Wet GripB - B
Noise (dB)67 - 72
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The SeasonProof is ranked 4th of 57 All Season Premium Touring tires.

This tire replaced the Nokian WeatherProof.

Tests Included

7

Best Result

5th

Worst Result

15th

Average Result

8th

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test
6th of 17 tires
  • Convincing driving characteristics on ice and snow, good aquaplaning qualities, stable dry handling, quiet passing noise.
  • Extended braking distances on wet and dry roads.
  • Good.
View Full Test >>
2021 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test
7th of 11 tires
  • Excellent in the snow, high levels of comfort, reasonable aquaplaning resistance.
  • Long braking distances in the dry and wet.
  • The Nokian Seasonproof was excellent in the snow and had good levels of comfort, but the poor braking performance of the tire in the wet and dry makes it a poor choice for a mild climate.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
175/65R14 86 H XLCB67
165/70R14 81 TCB67
15 inch
195/65R15 95 V XLCB69
195/65R15 91 HCB69
185/65R15 92 T XLCB67
185/65R15 88 HCB67
195/55R15 85 HCB69
16 inch
215/60R16 99 V XLCB69
205/60R16 96 V XLCB69
205/60R16 96 H XLCB69
205/55R16 94 V XLCB69
205/55R16 91 HCB69
17 inch
225/50R17 98 V XLCB69
225/50R17 98 W XLCB69
215/55R17 98 W XLCB69
225/45R17 94 V XLCB69
225/45R17 94 W XLCB69
215/45R17 91 W XLCB69
205/50R17 93 W XLCB69
18 inch
225/40R18 92 Y XLCB69
245/45R18 100 V XLCB71
245/40R18 97 W XLCB71
225/40R18 92 V XLCB69
245/45R18 100 Y XLCB71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Nokian SeasonProof >>

Questions and Answers for the Nokian SeasonProof

2021-08-22 - Having always used Nokian winter tires on my previous car I like the sound of the Nokian SeasonProof for my current car, but not sure if I can swap 225/45 R18 91W for the Nokian 225/45 R18 95V. Currently driving Mercedes A Class 250 AMG Line.

Yes, as the new load rating is higher that is fine to swap.


2021-11-29 - I have a 14 year old Merc E220 soon to be fitted with Nokian SeasonProof 245.40 R18 tires. Please can you help with recommended tire pressures.

Always start with the recommended pressure for the vehicle, then you can adjust slightly if needed based on your preference for comfort or handling changes.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Nokian SeasonProof Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
When it comes to tires I don't mess about. The name on the tires means nothing to me. What is important is how they perform. We run several vehicles and change them every 6 months. The first thing I do is change all of the tires to All Season. I have tried all major brands and several of them are very good. However nothing has ever come close to these new Nokian Seasonproof. We are all enthusiastic drivers so the tires have to be the best. We have now covered around 20000 miles on these tires on different vehicles and in severe conditions throughout Europe. In the snow and ice they have outperformed every previous tire by a large margin.On one occasion in a front wheel drive Skoda driving past All wheel drive vehicles whilst they slipped backwards down an icy hill. In the dry they perform like a premium summer tire. In the rain the grip is superb. They are extremely quiet and comfortable and given the punishment that they get, wear very well. Usually there is a trade off with an All Season tire but not with the Nokian Seasonproof. This is by far the best All season Tire I have ever come across. Dont take my word for it try them for yourselves and you will see what I mean. A tire that outperforms most winter tires and summer tires without the hassle of changing them every year. The icing on the cake is that you are buying the best for well under the price of the underperforming premium tires. Nokian please don't change these tires as they are a winner!
Helpful 160 - tire reviewed on February 9, 2021
Given 96% while driving a Peugeot 4007 (2.2HDi) (235/45 R19) on track for 14,000 average miles
Bought these 12 months ago and will definitely buy again. Have performed well in all aspects of the British climate on a Peugeot 4007 (Mitsubishi Outlander clone). Car feels more stable to drive. Excellent in getting through North Wales snow and ice early 2023. Not showing any signs of wear after a year. Some road noise on the hottest days of summer. Have Nokian weatherproof on our other car, Freelander 2 , and will change these to Seasonproof when needed. Very impressed.
Helpful 43 - tire reviewed on September 22, 2023
Given 68% while driving a Honda 1.8 iVTEC Es (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Comparing those with my previous Nexen cp662, the Nokian has worse dry and handling performance, on snow those are better
Helpful 83 - tire reviewed on June 8, 2022
Have you driven on the Nokian SeasonProof tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian SeasonProof? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Nokian SeasonProof >

Latest Nokian SeasonProof Reviews

Given 88% while driving a Mercedes Benz A (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
First time purchasing all-season tires. The choice between the various brands and models was made favoring snow conditions, which is the most difficult situation to manage for any average driver. The choice fell on these Nokian Seasonproof. The handling and safety on dry and wet surfaces is absolutely acceptable. The only condition of caution is that, like all tires, it tends to slip on hairpin bends when the road is greasy. If you moderate the speed there are no problems. If the road is only wet but not greasy, no problem. But the real strengths are driving on snow, absolutely like many winter ones, fantastic rolling without inertia, with abundant fuel savings, and very low wear even in the summer months with more than 30 degrees celsius.
This is the fourth year and at the rear they are still almost like new, at the front where there is traction, they are almost halfway.
I couldn't be more satisfied, truly a tire that doesn't make you regret, but makes you forget about changing tires between summer and winter. Excellent quality at the right price.
Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on January 28, 2024
Given 94% while driving a Vauxhall zafira 1.6 (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Under normal road legal speeds here in rural Ireland, these tires are the best allrounders for dry, wet, muddy, sludgy, and snowy conditions. Fantastic grip on cold roads, dry or wet. Amazingly quiet.
Helpful 52 - tire reviewed on February 4, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 87% while driving a Mercedes Benz G500 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Fitted these tires to a '07 G500 in October 2021 just before the winter season int he size 265/60R18. While we don't particularly get a lot of heavy snow in Eastern Europe, temperatures are often below zero degrees Celsius and therefore, the roads do become quite icy especially in the early hours of the morning. This year in particular we did have one big snow storm and the roads outside cities were mostly covered with snow for the better part of a week. So I got to experience driving on these tires through pretty much all weather conditions and I can say that for the price these tires are amazing. The handle well, are very predictable in corners and mot importantly are surprisingly quiet for a winter tire. In addition to that they do very well in aquaplaning. Our roads here are pretty crappy and their drainage system if such exists is usually clogged causing lots of water to accumulate on the surface. Yet these tires handled all of that without any issue. Going through giant patches of water at speed is no problem at all. The only thing these tires struggle a bit is with breaking on icy roads. Under emergency braking from a higher speed they struggle to find grip in order to stop the vehicle. Then again this might be because the G-Wagon is quite heavy.
Helpful 62 - tire reviewed on May 10, 2022
Given 63% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GT 1.6 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
I was expecting more from this tire but it's really average in the wet, lots of wheelspin
Helpful 83 - tire reviewed on December 23, 2021
Given 93% while driving a Volvo V90 D4 (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 40 average miles
I’ve just purchased new Seasonproof, having done a lot of research in U.K., for my new Volvo V90 estate - this review is really for the waterproof SUV tires I had on a Volvo XC60 FWD. I had these tires on for 3+ years, covered 40-45000 miles around U.K. and Europe. Not an aggressive driver, but still covered A, B and motorways. After 3+ years, I changed them at 4mm depth as they were getting a little noisy. (Choose crossclimate, but then sold car) Nothing bad just my opinion. Main reason for getting these were winter, snow such driving. I live on a hill. NEVER did I get stuck or stalled. Always felt safe in snow, slush, ice, rain and dry. Reviews I read seem to assume, aggressive driving, slamming breaks on, speeding around corners, high speed in snow\ice, far from your average driver I feel. Nokian’s came low down the review list against major makes of tire. For a normal driver any tire would do. For me, I chose Seasonproof on the back of the waterproof SUV tire. Price! Wear! Snow driving! May not need such a tire for an estate car but on that day when it does snow in U.K. I’m covered. Heavy rain is also a time these tires shine. I’ve save £150 against 4 x major brands, that’s a few tanks of fuel. Would and have bought Nokian again. Be safe!
Helpful 96 - tire reviewed on July 17, 2021
Given 96% while driving a Subaru Forester (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Perfect
Helpful 96 - tire reviewed on June 16, 2021