Continental SportContact 7

The Continental Sport Contact 7 is a UUHP summer tire designed to have optimum grip in the dry and wet. Initially the Sport Contact 7 will be launched in 42 sizes covering 19" to 23", but further sizing in the future will include certain 18" sizes!

This tire replaced the Continental Sport Contact 6.

Dry Grip 97%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 91%
Handling 91%
Wear 71%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 80%

Tire review data from 46 tire reviews averaging 85% over 145,180 miles driven.

The SportContact 7 is ranked 15th of 75 Summer Max Performance tires.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Latest Tire Test Results

2023 Sport Auto UHP Tire Test - 1st of 11 tires

  • Positive - Very balanced handling and short braking distances in the wet. Very high level of grip when braking and cornering in the dry, very stable, fast handling.
  • Negative - Cornering grip in the wet not quite at the top level, increased pass-by noise.
  • Overall - High grip level and best driving safety in wet and dry conditions for the Continental SC7.
View Full Test >>

2023 AZ UHP Summer Tire Test - 1st of 10 tires

  • Overall - The new Continental SportContact 7 wins with balanced properties that very convincingly solve the balancing act between sportiness and efficiency. Safe when wet.
View Full Test >>

2023 AutoBild Sports Car Summer Tire Test - 1st of 13 tires

  • Positive - The new SportContact 7 is completely convincing in its first test: dynamic cornering, stable cornering, precise steering behavior with very good feedback, convincingly safe braking performance on wet and dry slopes.
  • Negative - Moderate safety reserves for curve aquaplaning.
  • Overall - Exemplary.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental SportContact 7

Questions and Answers for the Continental SportContact 7

2022-03-21 - Is this tire good for an audi rs3 sedan? if not, which one is? (except the ps4s)

This would be great on an RS3!


2022-03-23 - I am deciding between this and the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport. You praised the latter for having excellent steering response. How would you say it compares to these. For context I have an 2015 m235i RWD I drive on weekends. I like driving sideways from time to time but do not go on track days

They're fairly close, the Continental is the more rounded tire and is certainly better in the wet so if you use the car in the rain I would side with this tire.


2022-03-31 - I need a new set of tires for an R35 GTR running 660bhp. The MPS4S are tried and tested on the GTR but this tire seems to be better on paper. I have three questions: The first is what is the wear like on the SC7? Secondly, do you think the SC7 can handle the power and AWD capabilities of the GTR? Finally, what tire sizes would you recommend? (OEM 255/40/20 front and 285/35/20 rear)

The wear rate of the SC7 is as yet untested, Continental say it should be similar to the PS4S though. The tire will have no issues with the power of the GTR, and for sizes I can only recommend sticking with OE. The tire should have an advantage to the PS4S in the wet.


2022-05-20 - I am looking to upgrade my BMW star rated MPSS* on a 2021 Toyota Z4 M40I G29 (they often lose grip when not warm 100%). Initially I was thinking about the BMW star rated MPS4s* (saw your G80 M3 review), then the Sport Contact 7 came out and I’ve seen only great reviews about them. Which of these two would you recommend for best dry grip/handling with decent levels of noise/comfort? Not worried about wet caracteristics since I don’t push the car hard enough in the wet. 255/35/ZR19 front 275/35/ZR19 rear Thanks

As you won't be able to get the G80 version of the * 4S in your sizes and I've not tested the sizes you can get, the SC7 is a very safe option for excellent performance.


2022-08-08 - Just bought a GLC 43 SUV fitted with ContinenetalSport 235/55 R19 Y radial tubeless tires. It rides a little on the hard side and nationally we are limited to 120 Km/hr. What is the minimum safe tire pressure we can set them at to improve comfort?

Unfortunately we're unable to advise on tire pressures outside of stock as there are too many variations.


2022-09-05 - I’m deciding between the Continental sportcontact 7, the Goodyear eagleF1 supersport and the Pilot sport 4s which is what I currently have but I’ve run out of life in the tire, I drive a 350z 2008 and I do track events doing 3-4 15 minute sessions in a day which is fun but it can rain sometimes so need to handle the wet as well but it’s mainly driving when it’s dry I also drive it on most weekends but very much spirited driving so I need a tire that will last a long time but can handle the track and getting hot as I found on the hot day at JDM Combe on track the pilot sport 4s was getting too hot and the tire was switching off causing me to slide a lot more, what would you recommend?

That is a difficult question! The SportContact 7 is undoubtedly the best of the three in the wet on track and is very good in the dry, but I have a small concern if you're overheating the 4S you might do the same with the Conti. With this in mind I would suggest trying the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport as it has consistently been great in the dry during my testing.


2022-12-28 - Is the Continental Sport Contact 7 a run flat tire?

Continental call their runflat system SSR, so if there are runflat versions available for sale they will be marked as SportContact 7 SSR.


2023-01-12 - I currently have the Sport Contact 6 RO2 version on my Audi TTS. Are there AO/RO versions available or am I allowed to use of the shelf SC7 tires with the sane 93Y speed rating and size

I don't think Audi / Conti will re-OE for the latest generation. You definitely can use the SportContact 7 on your TTS as long as you match the correct load rating, and I'm sure you'll find it a good upgrade on the OE 6.


2023-04-04 - I currently have Pirelli P Zero on my AMG A35 which were factory fitted at the time of purchase. I have seen that the AMG A45 are now running on Michelin Polit Sport 4 S as factory fitted tires, which probably would have been my go to tire. However from watching a couple of the tests / reviews, I am trying to decide if the Continental SportContact 7 would be a better choice given the steering response and potential better wear level. What would you recommend for a A35.

In current tests the Conti SC7 is proving to be a better tire than the PS4S, however in tests we always test the aftermarket version of the tire, so if there's a MO (Mercedes) OE version of the PS4S that might suit the car better.


2023-04-16 - I currently have a FK8 with stock Sport Contact 6 (SC6) and going to replace 2 first with Sport Contact 7s (SC7) and place them at the back and move the older ones that still have tread to the front and in the next few months repeat the process until they are all SC7s, is that recommended?

Yep, that is the correct way of swapping from the SC6 to SC7 in pairs.


2023-09-12 - Hi, I own a 2022 G80 M3 Comp and am planning to swap out my Cup 2s with Continental Sport Contact 7. As the M3 wheel set up is staggered, are the Sport Contact 7 directional i.e. can I swap left to right and vice versa for the front and rear respectively?

The SC7 is an asymmetric tire so you can mount it either side, meaning you can swap the tires left to right. As you have wider rears, you can't swap them front to back.


2023-09-14 - How do these SC7 stack up for track days? They seem to be #1 on the road, but how they handle heat and a heavy car like a mustang? Compared to say a Yoko AD09 or Nankang CR-S. Would be an interesting comparison review

Not as well, but then no road focused tire does. There's a lot of variables in track endurance, but if you're on a high grip track and you can actually drive, any road bias product will struggle with the extreme heat.


2023-12-30 - I have just put Michelin Pilot Sport 4S on my 2014 RS5 and don’t like the way they have now made the front feel light and floaty. I prefer a more direct feel with the road like it was with the discontinued Bridgestones. Does anyone know how these Continentals feel ?

The SC7 is a little more direct, but the Bridgestone Potenza Sport is probably the best replacement. Just remember that a new tire will feel more floaty than a very worn on due to the much higher tread depth.


2024-02-13 - Looking at getting either these or Potenza Sport for an FK8 Type R. Only fast road and no track work. The Potenza Sport is 1.2kg heavier for my size (245/35/19) so worried that extra unsprung mass in the tire will affect acceleration and just make the car feel heavier even if outright dry pace once up to speed is similar.

I wouldn't worry about 1.2kg, I know there's a lot of discussion on it online but I don't think it has a huge effect. I will be testing this later this year to find out though!

That said, the Potenza Sport would be a great match if you don't mind a tire that wears a little quicker.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Continental SportContact 7 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro (245/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Bought these tires because of the lack of wet grip and quick wear on my previous GoodYear Eagle F1 SuperSport, to which the new ones were driven straight back-to-back.
First off the bat, the SC7s are way quieter, way more comfortable, the small bumps and imperfections don't make as much noise as they did on the SSs. The steering feel was more direct - the SSs had a slightly longer delay in response to steering wheel inputs compared to the SC7s, the Contis still have a delay, but just a little shorter one. Dry grip was lacking on the SC7s, but that was at first thought to have been just due to the tire being brand new and not being run-in yet. On the wet, I've taken it easy for the first thousand miles to not have an incident on the road.
After about 4000 miles, I can say that the SC7s are a straight dream in the wet. Where the SS would start to understeer on tight corners, the SC7 would show not even a hint of deviation from the wheels' direction. Where on the SSs the car would laterally slide out of the corner on hard acceleration, the SC7s would allow for as much acceleration after the apex as the puny 240HP allow the car to at a slight steering angle. So a complete dream to drive in the wet. Even after the tires were definitely run-in, the SC7s would leave much to be desired in the dry. The dry grip is good, but the SSs edge the SC7s. Where SSs were driven hard with some safety reserve, the SC7s would already lose grip and slide, bringing the comfortable cornering speeds down significantly. Where on quick alternating turns and changes of input the SSs wouldn't even flinch, the SC7s start sliding and shift the car laterally. Pre corner lift from accelerator pedal to braking pedal while already turning in the corner would shift the entire car outwards. Mid corner change from acc to braking because of a bad corner length estimate does the same on the SC7s. The SSs didn't care for abrupt imput and transfers, they would just stick to the asphalt.
The conclusion on the tires is still, that these SC7s are the best tires in the wet so far, but for the improved wet performance, noise and comfort over the SSs, the sacrifice on dry performance was made. That leaves me somewhat disappointed, as the SSs were so bad in the wet they weren't really fun at such low corner forces, but the SC7s shine in that area. So the only current solution is to have a dry set of tires for my car - Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport, and a set of wet tires - Continental SportContact 7.
I really can not comment on the wear, because the both tires are awful in that regard, but that's not a problem, as it's way better to be safe and glued to the asphalt for the 8000 miles I got from a set of 4 SSs with rotations and maybe 9000ish I expect to get from the SC7s, than to have tires perform badly and last for 13000 miles or even more.
Helpful 124 - tire reviewed on June 22, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Porsche 997 911 Carrera 4s (305/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
Bought these based on the group test results and was not disappointed. The wet grip is at a new level! I've tracked them several times both in dry and wet and they didn't fail. I was especially impressed with how they held up during the day and the tread that was left afterwards. These tires transformed the driving experience both on the road and track.
Helpful 199 - tire reviewed on August 19, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Mazda 3 Astina M Hybrid Sedan (235/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 3,728 average miles
This review is coming from Singapore. With either Rainy or Sunny tropical weather ranging from ambient temperature 25-35 degC daily. Summer type tires are sold here mainly.

My ride is a 1.5L NA Mazda 3 sedan comes with stock touring tires Bridgestone Turanza T005A 215/45R18 89W.

I changed out my rims to flow formed Japanese rims along with these Continental SportContact 7 235/40ZR18 95Y tires and here's my observations

Advantages:
- Grip levels greatly improves.
- No more difference in Grip levels between Dry & Wet road conditions.
- Braking distance greatly shorten & becomes easily predictable.
- When cornering, the handling feels planted due to stiff sidewalls. You will feel there is this eagerness of the car to want to 'point-in' and the understeer on my FWD car reduces.
- Subjective comfort "improves". For me, this is an improvement from my previous touring tires due to more road feedback I received through the steering wheel. However, for comfort-biased friends, they might see this as increase in ride harshness. In a way, you will feel that the sidewall is stiff but yet the contact patch is comfortable in a way for most Continental tires.

Disadvantages:
- Going from touring tires to UUHP tires, my FC does decrease by about 0.5 to 1.0 km/L.
- Slightly slower pick up / acceleration but luckily this is assisted by my car's mild hybrid battery system.
- Slight increase in noise levels when cruising on expressways.

Conclusion:
- Most reviews I saw here on TireReview using these Continental SC7 tires are mainly cars with high horsepower or torque. Initially, I have reservations about using these tires on my 1.5L NA car. But I am glad I made the decision to go for it. When driving a bread & butter car for daily commute to work, it is not just about how fast you can drive in busy traffic conditions, but how fast or early you can stop or brake in time to avoid bumping into others. Hence, I recommend buying this tire if you looking also at the safety aspects of daily driving.

Approximate distance travelled as of 23rd May 2023: ~6,000 km.
Original thread depth: Between 7.50 to 7.99 mm.
Current thread depth: Between 7.20 to 7.50 mm.
Helpful 61 - tire reviewed on May 30, 2023
Have you driven on the Continental SportContact 7 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental SportContact 7? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Continental SportContact 7 >

Latest Continental SportContact 7 Reviews

Given 63% while driving a BMW 330e (255/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
After removing Michelin PS4 tires from the rear wheels. I noticed the sidewall was stiffer on the Michelin compared to the continental. And once fitted to the rim. The rim protector was noticeable smaller on the Continental. I felt after the initial 400kms or so that the Conti didn't provide as much grip in the dry as the previous PS4. You could feel the sidewall was that much more forgiving. So I was expecting more initial grip. It didn't, but it was more comfortable. Wet grip was about 85%-90% of that off the PS4. And when the conti broke traction it was less progressive. And it gives little on the way of warning.
After 5,000 miles and with the weather now a fair bit cooler at 8 degrees Celsius. The Conti now breaks traction more suddenly under acceleration, either through a corner or when driving straight. My BMW F30 330e is running a stage 2 tune and it's putting out around 380bhp and 640 lb/ft of torque. Plus the weight of the batteries directly over the rear axle adds another challenge to the tires. So the car can be hard on tires. But the PS4 and previous to that, the Good Year F1 Super Sport coped better and were superior to the Conti Sport Contact in both the wet and dry conditions. Also they both provided better feedback when traction became limited.
Maybe they work better on other cars. But would i recommend them for a BMW 330e. I would give a firm no!
I'll either go to a PS4 / PS5 or Good Year Super Sport for my next tire.
Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on December 4, 2023
Given 96% while driving a Lexus IS250 RWD (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 7,500 spirited miles
A very good tire for a fair price
Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on December 3, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 67% while driving a SEAT Cupra Formentor 2022 (245/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 10,300 average miles
I did 16.600km this year since March 2023 to November 2023. I was extremely disappointed to see that the tires had worn out quite fast, and I only drove the car on asphalt (no track) and occasionally some launch control. I can barely use them next year with 1mm left to the wear indicator, it's risky and I might have to change them again.

Now other than the wear which I find terrible for an expensive and high end road tire, I find the grip very good on both wet and dry surface, HOWEVER this happened only until tires started to worn out then I started loosing grip and very often wheels were spinning when kicked down on throttle...I started blaming the Haldex unit, so I did a Haldex maintenance thinking that rear traction was not working properly, but in fact it was just the tires loosing grip because once they get close to the wear indicator, it's over.

Conclusion very good tires overall for a limited period, up to maximum 15.000km probably 20.000 if you drive in comfort mode all the time, however paying 800euros for such tires, does it really worth it ? Pretty sure there are other brands out there, not as popular as Continental with a lower price but at least the same performance.
Helpful 11 - tire reviewed on November 14, 2023
Given 83% while driving a Ford Focus ST 2.3 Ecoboost Estate (Mk4) (235/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Comparing this tire to Michelin PS4S and Goodyear SuperSport.
CS7 is superior to both in wet grip, which is just phenomenal! Miles better than GY SS and also better than PS4S.
They don't need heat in them to grip, which is also a big advantage. Good dry grip, predictable, good comfort, etc.

I drive very fast and up until a month ago, I thought that this is the best tire you could buy. I still think this is the case for most people, just not for me.

When you drive really fast on the road (and I mean fast in the way that lands you in jail in most countries), they disintegrate. Mine started peeling after 20km of pushing on a closed road.
I then took them to a trackday, put them on the back of the car, because it was raining, and they were great, while it was wet. As soon as it dried out, the outer edge of the tire was gone in one lap, just delaminated. Mind you, this was on the back on a FWD car, I had GY SS on the front and they were as new.

So if you drive fast most of the time, buy GY SS. If you need a tire that is phenomenal in wet and dry and you don't push the car to the limits, just get the CS7, it really is that good.
Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on November 10, 2023
Given 99% while driving a BMW 335i (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 1,500 spirited miles
Really good tires . Dry grip is the best I experienced on the road tire. Very progressive when losing grip. The car is very stable on high speed corners. Incredible wet grip. Nice comfort for performance tire. I've been driving them since 2500km. and I'm very happy. 225/40/19 front and 255/35/19 rear.
Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on November 8, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Porsche 987 Boxster S (265/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
Transformed the wet grip on my boxster (235/35R19 Front and 265/35R19), dry grip seems improved as well. The car was previously on Michelins (Sport Cup 2 on the front, Super Sport rears both Porsche N2 rated) which although impressive once warm in the dry where worrying in the wet and could be butt clenchingly terrifying in standing water.
Overall the car seems quieter, more comfortable and better balanced with excellent feedback, I've yet to find the limit of dry or even wet grip on the road and they make the car more enjoyable to drive so I'm using it more.
I'm always wary of standing water in this car due to the relatively wide tire section and light weight but so far they've performed well without the problems of aquaplaning that the tire reviews test would make you worry about, although that is in comparison to the performance / track day option Michelin tires.
Not sure about wear rates, I've yet to notice any significant change in 3000 miles, but the tires were significantly cheaper than other premium brands at the time.
Helpful 35 - tire reviewed on November 3, 2023
Given 96% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia QF (295/25 R20) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Fantastic tires. Always been a Michelin man however as I was on the hunt for something different I might as well try the best. I AM BLOWN AWAY. Exceptional tire with great feedback, I drive very hard both on the road and on the track e.g. Nurburgring and they didn't show signs of overheating even after 5 hot dry laps although when your on the limit they tend to have a slight understeer bias. (side note; they do require some heat in them to be at 100%). Wet grip is very good again both on track and on the road not as good as a Uniroyal rainsport 5 but still brilliant. I had a concern about the amount of tread you get when the tire is new, it looks to be around 5mm which seems silly. However, I'm 7K Miles in and the rears now need replacing (track use included & inner shoulder is worn, centre tire is at 2.8mm) which over all I think that's damn impressive. Comparing directly with the PS4S i'd choose the Conti 7's mainly due to the amazing durability and how versatile it can be not to mention the price saving. I can't really comment on comfort as I run a low profile of '25'. DON'T SLEEP ON THE SPORT CONTACT 7
Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on October 30, 2023
Given 94% while driving a Porsche TAYCAN (305/30 R21) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Replaced the OEM Pirelli PZ4 NF0. I had doubts for the longest of time, since the Taycan is really heavy and the OEM Pirelli is designed for this car with stiffer sidewall to handle this extra weight. Boy was I wrong. The SC7 is really spectacular with better steering feel, better braking, noticably better traction and a bit more progressive. It also understeers less than the Pirelli. The only thing I miss from the Pirelli is that super quick steering response, but the Continental is not that far off. Comfort is also better. Pretty much everything is better except for steering response. Impressive tire.
Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on October 13, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Dry grip just goes on and on never feels like it's going to loose grip and if it starts to lose grip you can tell when it's going to happen.
Wet grip is phenomenal feels exactly the same as in the dry you can actually push on with these tires in the wet with complete confidence.
Wear on 6k miles think I will be lucky if they last to 10k, contis never were the best on wear but I feel like they are very sport focused tire if that's what you are looking for. You can really lean on these tires in the bends.
Helpful 11 - tire reviewed on October 6, 2023
Given 91% while driving a BMW 335d (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Really, really good tires 225/40/19 front and 255/35/19 rear. Dry grip is really good, in high speed turns the cat is very stable. Wet grip is also incredible. The comfort is really nice for such a UUHP tire. I've been driving them since 1500km. and I'm very happy.
Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on August 27, 2023
Given 87% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra (235/40 R18) on track for 2 spirited miles
I’m writing this review coming from Michelin PS4S then onto Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport and now time to try these new Continental Sport Contact 7.

I decided to put these tires on my Cupra Stage 1 track focused car for their price and watching/reading Jonathan’s reviews.

They went on a few days before a trip to the Nurburgring from Ireland. I done a trackday at the ring and then drove home and one trackday in Mondello Ireland, the front tires worn below the wear indicators and that was roughly 3,000km done.

Now onto my thoughts.
I must say they are amazing tire and the grip is phenomenal in the dry or wet. They are definitely a better tire to the Michelin but I do think the Goodyear is equally as good.

The major problem is I only got 3,000km. When I had the Michelin’s I done 5 trackdays on Mondello and they had enough tread left to go onto the wife’s car for a few months. The Goodyear’s done 4 trackdays and I will say on the fourth trackday the Goodyear’s had no grip left even with a bit of tread left.

Going to buy 2 more Conti Sport Contact 7’s but go from 235 to 245 and see how many trackdays they will do.
Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on August 5, 2023
Given 86% while driving a Volvo S90 (255/40 R19) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
If you drive a car of which NVH won’t be much affected by the tires these Contis are are very precise and definitely give a sporty feel. But if you are concearned about NVH then be warned that these tires produce excesssive amounts of noise and are quite harsh rising. Not a tire to buy for comfort. Changed them for Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmteric 6’s and the difference is night and day.
Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on July 30, 2023