Continental SportContact 7

The Continental Sport Contact 7 is a UUHP summer tire designed to have optimum grip in the dry and wet. Initially the Sport Contact 7 will be launched in 42 sizes covering 19" to 23", but further sizing in the future will include certain 18" sizes!

This tire replaced the Continental Sport Contact 6.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 98%
Wet Grip 96%
Road Feedback 93%
Handling 95%
Wear 88%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 92%

Tire review data from 18 tire reviews averaging 92% over 35,100 miles driven.

The SportContact 7 is ranked 1st of 70 Summer Max Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 Tire Reviews UUHP Summer Tire Test - 1st of 10 tires

  • Positive - The best in wet braking and handling by a considerable margin, fastest in the dry with shortest dry braking.
  • Negative - Poor aquaplaning resistance, increased rolling resistance.
  • Overall - The just released Continental SportContact 7 sets a new benchmark in the wet, finishing both tests with an impressive gap to the next best tire. Fortunately this steller wet performance doesn't come at the expense of dry performance, as the new SC7 is also the fastest in the dry, with the shortest dry braking. The drawbacks, the tire isn't the strongest in aquaplaning, and is 6% off the best in the rolling resistance test. With such an advantage in the wet the new Continental Sport Contact 7 is a deserving test winner, and with it, a new standard for the UUHP segment.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild 19 Inch Summer UHP Tire Test - 2nd of 10 tires

  • Positive - New sports tires with the best handling properties in the dry, good aquaplaning reserves, short braking distances, safe driving behavior in the wet.
  • Negative - Average ride comfort.
View Full Test >>

2022 Sport Auto UHP, UUHP and Semi Slick Tire Test - 1st of 10 tires

  • Positive - Outstanding braking in wet and dry conditions at everyday road and tire temperatures. Despite small limitations in the sports rating very balanced.
  • Negative - Small deficits in longitudinal aquaplaning and ride comfort.
  • Overall - Outstanding safety reserves in everyday life.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental SportContact 7

Questions and Answers for the Continental SportContact 7

2022-03-21 - Is this tire good for an audi rs3 sedan? if not, which one is? (except the ps4s)

This would be great on an RS3!


2022-03-23 - I am deciding between this and the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport. You praised the latter for having excellent steering response. How would you say it compares to these. For context I have an 2015 m235i RWD I drive on weekends. I like driving sideways from time to time but do not go on track days

They're fairly close, the Continental is the more rounded tire and is certainly better in the wet so if you use the car in the rain I would side with this tire.


2022-03-31 - I need a new set of tires for an R35 GTR running 660bhp. The MPS4S are tried and tested on the GTR but this tire seems to be better on paper. I have three questions: The first is what is the wear like on the SC7? Secondly, do you think the SC7 can handle the power and AWD capabilities of the GTR? Finally, what tire sizes would you recommend? (OEM 255/40/20 front and 285/35/20 rear)

The wear rate of the SC7 is as yet untested, Continental say it should be similar to the PS4S though. The tire will have no issues with the power of the GTR, and for sizes I can only recommend sticking with OE. The tire should have an advantage to the PS4S in the wet.


2022-05-20 - I am looking to upgrade my BMW star rated MPSS* on a 2021 Toyota Z4 M40I G29 (they often lose grip when not warm 100%). Initially I was thinking about the BMW star rated MPS4s* (saw your G80 M3 review), then the Sport Contact 7 came out and I’ve seen only great reviews about them. Which of these two would you recommend for best dry grip/handling with decent levels of noise/comfort? Not worried about wet caracteristics since I don’t push the car hard enough in the wet. 255/35/ZR19 front 275/35/ZR19 rear Thanks

As you won't be able to get the G80 version of the * 4S in your sizes and I've not tested the sizes you can get, the SC7 is a very safe option for excellent performance.


2022-08-08 - Just bought a GLC 43 SUV fitted with ContinenetalSport 235/55 R19 Y radial tubeless tires. It rides a little on the hard side and nationally we are limited to 120 Km/hr. What is the minimum safe tire pressure we can set them at to improve comfort?

Unfortunately we're unable to advise on tire pressures outside of stock as there are too many variations.


2022-09-05 - I’m deciding between the Continental sportcontact 7, the Goodyear eagleF1 supersport and the Pilot sport 4s which is what I currently have but I’ve run out of life in the tire, I drive a 350z 2008 and I do track events doing 3-4 15 minute sessions in a day which is fun but it can rain sometimes so need to handle the wet as well but it’s mainly driving when it’s dry I also drive it on most weekends but very much spirited driving so I need a tire that will last a long time but can handle the track and getting hot as I found on the hot day at JDM Combe on track the pilot sport 4s was getting too hot and the tire was switching off causing me to slide a lot more, what would you recommend?

That is a difficult question! The SportContact 7 is undoubtedly the best of the three in the wet on track and is very good in the dry, but I have a small concern if you're overheating the 4S you might do the same with the Conti. With this in mind I would suggest trying the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport as it has consistently been great in the dry during my testing.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Continental SportContact 7 Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Porsche 997 911 Carrera 4s (305/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
Bought these based on the group test results and was not disappointed. The wet grip is at a new level! I've tracked them several times both in dry and wet and they didn't fail. I was especially impressed with how they held up during the day and the tread that was left afterwards. These tires transformed the driving experience both on the road and track.
Helpful 89 - tire reviewed on August 19, 2022
Given 100% while driving a BMW M4 Competition (285/30 R20) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Not many reviews of these yet, but based on the excellent review from this site, I decided I would give them a try when my Michelin Pilot Super Sports came to the end of useful life. The M4 is a demanding car on it's tires to say the least and I came very close to going with Michelin again. I am SO glad I took a chance and went for it....the Continenal SportContact 7 has been astonishing since the day they were fitted. In every single way these tires are superior to the PSS! Dry grip and traction is exceptional, but what is noticeable is how much more grip they give when cold. The PSS's main issue was always that they needed a bit of heat before you could lean on them. Wet grip is astonishingly improved over the PSS....it literally feels like a different car in the wet. Both these things I expected based on the review, but what I wasn't expecting was a tire that is also significantly quieter, handles perfectly and still manages to exceed the steering feel I had with the PSS. There literally isn't a downside to these tires so far. I've even got a sneaking suspicion that my MPG has gone up also. Oh and finally I managed to get a complete staggered set of 4 of these for £100 less that the PS4S would have been and 100s less that a new set of PSS tires....for the performance you get these are a bargain! The only thing I can't comment on yet is wear....to be fair the PSS was excellent in this area. Will report back once I have run them longer, but so far these tires are quite simply the best road tire out there.
Helpful 54 - tire reviewed on July 28, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (255/40 R19) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
They are the best ! First tire that sends me on wet the same amount of control and safety as in dry conditions, I’ve tried them all, the new Sport Contact 7 exceeds all my expectations. Totally recommend to anyone who wants a solid sport tire. 10/10
Helpful 30 - tire reviewed on April 18, 2022
Have you driven on the Continental SportContact 7 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental SportContact 7? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Continental SportContact 7 >

Latest Continental SportContact 7 Reviews

Given 97% while driving a BMW m2 (265/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 50 spirited miles
This is a continuation of a review I did a few months back on these tires, but this time for the rears of my BMW M2. Having found the fronts to be so good compared to the OEM fit Michelin Pilot Super Sports, I knew I would be getting these SportContact 7's for the rears when the time came...and three days ago that time came. I don't need to have had the tires on any longer than that to know the difference in traction off the line and also the grip they have under acceleration. Where the PSS's would be spinning up and I'd be pulling a higher gear or having to lift off, these things just stick incredibly well. It isn't particularly warm and they just have grip from turning the key, they don't need to be warmed up. Their other trick is on a wet road. They grip in the wet like its dry, and again where the PSS would spin I can almost pin the throttle on a wet road and it just sticks. They do of course break away when you are too aggressive under acceleration on a corner as any tire will, but the SC7's grip for longer and are perfectly predictable when the rear does go. Overall the best tire I have ever experienced on a car, and they are a bargain price when comparing them to Michelin's offerings. The confidence they give, and the inherent safety factor in the wet, is something no tire on the market can match at the moment especially when combined with their dry performance too. 11 out of 10. Fantastic!
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on November 28, 2022
Given 77% while driving a Peugeot 308 GTi by P.S. 200Kw (235/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
So far, so good, these have given me a very good 2000 autumn miles (6-15 deg C, some dry, mostly wet). These are very good in both the wet and dry, and from experience they'll grip pretty strong even when the road is cold. Though it feels as though these improve considerably as you get more heat into them. These tires will aquaplane if the appropriate conditions present themselves, especially if you try to push on through a road with even some standing water, though recovery was quick in the times this has happened to me. Probably not a good tire for beginners due to this. These are as noisy and as comfortable as the old CSC 6s on my car were, which is to say they're quite noisy and not that comfortable, but this is fair considering the performance on offer. On the motorway they're not bad, but not great. I've lost about 2-3 MPG compared to the old CSC 6. A small, but measurable difference.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on November 11, 2022
All Season VS Winter Tires: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 67% while driving a Audi S3 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Hello, the tires are superb in wet and dry conditions. They have replaced the previous SC6 which i had. The SC6 had an issue with tire wear but it still last me 2 seasons. Now with SC7 this is improved but they also have very hard sidewall which has ruin the ride comfort. They are so harsh on the motorway that i wouldn't recommend anyone to buy this tire.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on November 1, 2022
Given 90% while driving a BMW 320 (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I’ve switched from Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT Tires to these. It’s a night and day difference. In normal driving the car is A LOT more comfortable and quiet. The steering isn’t prone to “tramlining” anymore. The steering does feel a little bit lighter but the turn in and progressiveness is much better. The car never loses grip anymore and is very predictable, in the wet you may get some understeer on tight turns but this is communicated trough the steering wheel first. Overall I can’t say a lot about the threadwear still, but I don’t think that it will match the bridgestones. Those lasted 90k km and still had thread wear on it.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on September 2, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (225/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I can only compare these to the Pirelli P Zero's that came off of the Golf, but what a world of difference! For the very reasonable price when compared to the long reigning champion of UUHP tires, you just cant go wrong. In the same situations where I had wheel spin and slip with the Pirellis, this tire does not give at all. I'm clearly not pushing it to the limit of its grip but i'm very happy and would recommend to anyone. For info, starting tread is 8mm. I may update this when i have done more miles in all conditions and update the wear rate also. Money cannot buy a better tire at the minute, the reviews are right!
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on August 3, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Audi S8 (265/40 R21) on a combination of roads for 7,500 average miles
Excellent tires both in dry and wet. Tried a good selection of tires over the years and these are the best by far. Only drawback I find is that they wear a bit quick.. I think its got more to do with the 700bhp and 1100Nm of torque they need to tame on my Audi S8 4.0 tfsi. Highly recommended, especially on tuned cars that demand the best grip possible in dry and wet.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on July 29, 2022
Given 98% while driving a BMW 330D Touring (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I had these fitted based of the reviews they received and they weren’t exaggerating, the grip is just endless on them, I can finally make use of the 700nm on the rear end without the traction control light flickering, these things once they have a bit of heat in them are like glue to the road. Give them chance, the initial 200miles were worrying but once they’d scrubbed the shipping layer off they are a different beast. From a price point of view they are a big chunk cheaper than PS4’s and yes they really are better than PS4s as my other car has them. Best value best grip tire out there hands down
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on July 8, 2022
Given 97% while driving a BMW m2 (265/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
Purchased the Sport Contact 7's to replace the ageing Michelin Pilot Super Sports on the front of my M2 and made that decision after watching the tire reviews video showing just how good they are compared to PS4S's and Goodyear Eagle F1 Super Sport's. My rear tires are still ok so will be changing those at a later date, but they will definitely be the Sport Contact 7's when I do. The first impression from the tire was that it feels more comfortable and less noisy than the original PSS tires and after a few days of driving and getting used to the car the difference in feel on the front end is immense. The turn in is immediate and sharp and just feels ultra grippy. Where the PSS used to seem to want to wait to turn after a short delay the SC7's are fast and precise on turn in and just give total confidence mid corner, with what feels like unlimited grip. In the wet they feel just as good and inspire confidence. I will fit the rears after the winter but these tires are far superior and a huge chunk cheaper than the Michelin PSS. The PS4S was not available in M2 sizes at the time but for the money the Conti SC7's are the best value in my eyes. They are a huge chunk cheaper than the PS4S and although the Conti sidewall is not as nice to look at as the the PS4S, I'm happy that the performance is probably the best out there for daily use. Looking forward to fitting the rears so I can see how they perform. I can imagine improvements in traction, especially in the wet. Overall very happy, and i would recommend these tires to anyone with a higher performance vehicle.
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on July 5, 2022
Given 93% while driving a BMW 428i m sport coupe (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Having run Continental SportContact 6's in the past, I was a little pessimistic about some of the claims being made regarding the SportContact 7's. Coming from Michelin PS4S' & Pirelli PZERO PZ4's the benchmark for the SC7's was set high. And boy did they deliver! Turn in & handling feels sharp & precise, something that the PS4S' were lacking. There is virtually no understeer because there is just so much grip! They do ride a little harsher than the Michelin's and Pirelli's but as a performance oriented driver I am not at all bothered by the NVH. As for wear, this was an issue with SC6's so it will be interesting to see how well they hold up after some aggressive mountain driving. At the moment it's to early to say, I will follow up with an end of life review for the SC7's. I would highly recommend the SC7's o anyone considering an UUHP tire. They're prices much cheaper than the PS4S & PZERO equivalents here in AUS. I paid $350 for a 255/35/19 aswell as the 235/35/19 whereas the Michelin's & Pirelli's are usually priced around the ~$400+ mark.
Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on June 3, 2022
Given 95% while driving a Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro (275/30 R20) on mostly motorways for 2,000 easy going miles
Very happy with this tire. They have near enough eliminated the usual understeer from my A5 with a very sharp turn in and a progressive feel as the tires load up through moderately fast corners. I’ve only experienced the wet a couple of times and it again impressed me. It’s too early to say how they will wear but I will review again in the future.
Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on May 14, 2022
Given 79% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
These tires grip amazingly well in both the wet and dry! Feedback is great thanks to the stiff sidewalls but with the stiff sidewalls you do loose comfort.
Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on April 24, 2022