Volkswagen Golf GTI 7.5 Tires

On this page you will find the best real world tire reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf GTI 7.5.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf GTI 7.5? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire! After all, who knows what the best tire for a Golf GTI 7.5 better than the owners?

Tire Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (144) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 (108) 95% 91% 87% 88% 72% 85%
Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin RE004 (17) 88% 79% 86% 88% 76% 76%
Firestone Winterhawk 4 (4) 83% 85% 83% 63% 87% 85%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (312) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Falken Azenis FK510 (144) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (65) 86% 81% 80% 80% 73% 73%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (71) 86% 67% 76% 72% 66% 68%
Davanti Protoura Sport (16) 74% 54% 68% 67% 70% 71%
Continental ControlContact Sport SRS Plus (9) 83% 74% 61% 61% 70% 54%

Volkswagen Golf GTI 7.5 Tire Review Highlights

Writing about the Firestone Winterhawk 4 given 74% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2500 spirited miles
Good quality for mid-range brand, cover winter needs. In general there is no high potential of performance for winter tires independently of brand!
tire reviewed on 2024-05-24 15:18:49
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 87% (225-35-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 200 average miles
Decided to leave a review as this very site helped me with tire choice.
Recently replaced 6 year old P Zeros with PS71’s all round on my Golf GTi 7.5 and what a massive difference. Admittedly the P Zeros were quite old, and starting to crack, but still had minimum 5mm tread.
The ride quality is massively improved. Running exactly the same pressures, the car feels more refined, quieter, and less crashy across road imperfections. Grip levels are improved, especially in the wet, although the P Zeros had clearly gone off.
At £110 fitted per corner for a 225/35/19, I’m very impressed and will certainly buy again if wear rates are good. While I don’t tear about needlessly, I do press on now and then and the PS71’s give me confidence to do so.
tire reviewed on 2024-04-23 14:53:40
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 85% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
This is an initial impressions review of the Sport Maxx GT on my Golf GTI so unable to comment on wear. Will focus mainly on performance and feel during warm weather driving.

Dry grip is very good. No complaints whatsover. Slightly better than the Falken FK510, another popular UHP summer tire. The tires turn well without much understeer and the car darts into corners. Feedback is perhaps not the best but the tires are predictable and placing the car is easy.

Wet grip is very good as well. Drove on these tires through a tropical storm and they felt planted and never hydroplaned even with puddles all over the roads. Of course, this is dependent on driving sensibly. Drive like a hooligan in the rain and you’ll crash regardless of whatever tires you fit.

Comfort and noise level is decent. The tire isn’t harsh over bumps and noise level is acceptable by UHP standards. If this is your priority, get touring tires instead!

Overall, very good first impressions when fitted on a FWD hot hatch. Price wise, it undercuts all the big brands by quite some margin. Does everything reasonably well, at least in warm climates.
tire reviewed on 2023-09-07 08:16:44
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 73% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Just had these fitted on my 300HP tuned MK7.5 Golf GTI. So this review will be initial impressions after a few hundred KM of city and highway driving. I will not be able to comment on the tire wear right now. I will be comparing the FK510 to the Bridgestone RE004 that I was using prior.

Dry grip is good. Very close to the RE004. Definitely more than adequate for daily driving. Even when cornering at speed, the tires grip well and don’t squeal much. Wet grip is slightly better than the RE004. The RE004 felt a bit nervous when driving quickly on wet roads. But on the FK510, there is less aquaplaning and the car feels more planted.

Feel wise, the RE004 is noticeably stiffer than the FK510. As a result, the FK510 just doesn’t feel as sharp or darty through corners. A nice handling tire but just not sharp enough to compete with the best in this mid-range UHP segment. However the FK510 is more comfortable and absorbs bumps better.

Overall, a good UHP tire for daily driving but definitely not the best in the segment in terms of handling. I wouldn’t buy these again as I prioritise driving enjoyment over all else but for someone who wants a jack-of-all-trades tire for their daily driver. The FK510 is a good choice.
tire reviewed on 2023-08-07 22:05:03
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin RE004 given 82% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
My car came with Michelin PS5 but I swapped them out for RE004 after a week as I’ve always felt that Michelin’s PS series of tires were too soft and vague.

Immediately, I noticed a difference in terms of steering feedback and turn-in response. Overall grip is also slightly improved in the dry. In the wet, grip feels similar on a FWD hot hatch. The drawback is that the ride is slightly harsher but comfort is not my priority so that’s an acceptable trade off.

Still too early to comment on wear but I expect the RE004 to wear faster than the PS5 for sure. They are slightly cheaper to replace though. Overall, will recommend this tire to anyone who enjoys driving and will definitely consider buying again.
tire reviewed on 2023-06-24 19:07:12
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 given 10% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Can’t score these on anything other than noise which for a premium tire should not be this bad. Cabin noise is way too loud at anything over 30 mph. These lasted less than 500 miles before needing to swap for something with acceptable noise limit. Don’t be fooled by the “comfort” score on these. They feel as bad/loud as the runflats I had on a Mini Cooper S.
tire reviewed on 2023-03-05 10:43:52
Writing about the Continental ControlContact Sport SRS Plus given 20% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 easy going miles
I had a set of Pirellis Weather Centuriautos on my GTI and 2 developed bubbles and vibration within a couple thousand miles. They were replaced with these CONTROL CONTACT SPORT SRS+. Checked the ratings and they were listed as a quiet, comfortable tire. Horse hockey. There is a constant roar from the back of the car that wasn't there when I had the Pirellis. I don't think I can live with these for 60,000 miles. The Pirellis also had a much more aggressive tread pattern that worked well on the snow we're having this winter. The Continentals will barely make it up the short incline to my house.
tire reviewed on 2023-02-21 09:36:34
Writing about the Davanti Protoura Sport given 24% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Switch up from pilot sport 4s, these tires are even worse than my nankang ns20 for feedback. There's no feel at the steering wheel, back end is sketchy, front end has no feel at all. Softest sidewall tires I've ever driven on, softer than ps4 which is already pretty soft, no confident at all Light up the tires even at slight throttle Worse tires ever, avoid at all costs
tire reviewed on 2022-08-27 03:11:15
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 64% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 average miles
I'm running the same HN-spec 225/40 R18 PSS as the guy who reviewed the PSS on May 24, 2018 on a similar car (MQB platform, but GTI Performance instead of a Cupra ST) and I have to agree with almost everything he said. This HN-spec PSS tailored to the Hyundai i30N seems a bit special in particular when compared to the 205/45 R17 BMW-spec PSS I'm running on my Mini Cooper (which I have zero complaints about). While dry grip and steering feel are good, perhaps very good and even road manners are excellent (albeit a tad stiff) it sadly isn't as good in the rain compared to the BMW-spec (star mark) PSS. Actually it's very poor in the wet in particular when cold. I'm happy I don't need to run it through the winter season, since I have a set of 225/45 R17 CC+ for the colder half of the year. The CC+ is much better in wet/cold conditions as I experience every year just before and after I swap the tires in October/November. Back then I should have gone for one of the BMW-spec PSS 225/40 R18 probably the 92Y (Mini Clubman JCW) or the 88Y (M135/140i). Rim protection is also poor on the HN-spec PSS. This is a very narrow tire looking small even on 7,5Jx18 stock wheels. My Mini Cooper's 205/45 PSS do look wide on stock 7,0Jx17 wheels. Anyhow, meanwhile the PS4S is finally available in Europe in 225/40 R18 and 235/40 R18. Or should I say it's "unavailable"? Sadly it's on backorder, I'm still waiting for 10 weeks now. I very much hope it'll be noticeably better in the wet and as good as the PSS in the dry.
tire reviewed on 2022-05-24 08:23:43
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 53% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
Vague, lifeless steering requiring several bites mid-corner to correct the line. Sensational wet grip, excellent dry grip. Basically, they feel like very grippy mediocre touring tires. Michelin's own Primacy touring tires steer better than these.
tire reviewed on 2022-05-11 00:58:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire