Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire review data from 312 tire reviews averaging 82% over 3,390,696 miles driven, and 26 tests with an average result of 2nd.

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 84%
Wear 73%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 78%

First On MarketDecember 2015
Wheel Size16 - 20"
Width195 - 285mm
Profile30 - 55
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)69 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Pilot Sport 4 is ranked 24th of 75 Summer Max Performance tires.

This tire replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 and this tire has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 5.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Tests Included

26

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

7th

Average Result

2nd

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 AutoBild Sports Cars UHP Summer Tire Test
1st of 11 tires
  • Premium summer tires with the best dynamic driving characteristics in the dry (direct steering with good feedback), safe wet handling, short wet and dry braking, low rolling resistance.
  • High price level.
View Full Test >>
2022 AMS Performance Summer Tire Test
7th of 10 tires
  • Dynamic and precise steering in the dry while still being safe in wet braking.
  • Narrow limit of grip in the wet, quiet sensitive to puddles.
  • Impressively precise and direct in the dry, showing its age in the wet.
View Full Test >>
2022 Sport Auto UHP, UUHP and Semi Slick Tire Test
2nd of 10 tires
  • Very spontaneous, direct, precise and dynamic on dry roads while still being safe in the wet. Fulfills sporting demands.
  • Limited in the wet, subjectively quite sensitive to puddles, low self damping.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tire Tests

2021 Tire Tests

2020 Tire Tests

2019 Tire Tests

2018 Tire Tests

2017 Tire Tests

2016 Tire Tests

Reports

  • Michelin Pilot Sport 4 - Press Release
  • Michelin Pilot Sport 4 - First Drive
  • Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

    2016-06-21 - I have a Nissan Leaf (electric). The fuel economy is important to me. How does the fuel economy of the Pilot Sport 4 compare with the original factory fitted Bridgestone Ecopia

    The OE Ecopia tire is a dedicated low rolling resistance tire, whereas the Pilot Sport 4 is a sport tire with low rolling resistance. While they've not been tested together, we would expect the Bridgestone to have the slight edge in rolling resistance, but the PS4 to have vastly better wet grip. You can also check the EU rolling resistance label score in your size to give you a better idea.


    2016-05-21 - Are the pilot sport ok for a lotus evora 2009 na?

    Assuming you can get the correct tire size, there's no reason the Pilot Sport 4 wouldn't be a great tire on a light car like the Evora. If you're coming from a more dry / track focused tire, you might find you lose some steering feel with the Pilot Sport 4, but gain comfort.


    2016-08-08 - Which is the country origin of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 , 245/45/17 ?

    Here is the response from Michelin:
    Pilot Sport 4 is made in Germany, France, Spain and Italy (in that order predominantly) but may be the odd ones from other plants.
    We never have a definitive list size by size, because our quality structures are the same country to country, plant to plant and in most cases the compounds and carcass materials come from the same plants and are "assembled".
    We know from testing we've done, we don't have the big differences with identical tires made in different plants that some manufacturers have.


    2016-10-13 - I am about to change my tires on my merc E220. I have opted for the reviews on the Michelin Pilot sport 4 but cannot find a 225/50/R17 /98W or Y. Is it available and from where?

    It doesn't look like a 225/50 R17 Pilot Sport 4 is available yet. More sizes are being produced all the time.


    2017-04-05 - I have a mazda mx 5 . Is this tire too good for this car . ? Is it quiet and comfortable ?

    Yes, the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is both quiet and comfortable. There are quieter tires on the market however you would lose some sporty feel, which is important on a car like the MX5.


    2017-08-17 - I am driving 2013 BMW 330D Xdrive with dimensions 225/45/R18 and I cant decide is it better to purchase Michelin Pilot Sport 4 or Continental Premium Contact 6??? It is very hard to find those two tires in comparison in this dimensions! I am looking only for the best tire!

    This test should answer your questions. Pilot Sport 4 in 1st place, Premium Contact 6 in 3rd, using your size.


    2017-09-06 - Hi there, I have an e39 M5.. usually use Michelin Super Sports which are priced the same as the PS4.. I have 18" wheels to PS4s isn't available in my size.. Which is a better tire the Super Sport or the standard PS4 (no s)...

    In 99% of cases, the newer PS4 is the better tire. The PSS has the edge in dry grip, feedback and track day work, but if you're using the tire on the road you won't be disappointed with the PS4.


    2017-11-14 - BMW 318i with Contipremiumcontact 2, im looking to get some new tires didn't mind how these handled although they had slight under steer in wet if pushed im looking at PS4 and the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance only problem is the PS4 dont come in the current size on the car and the Goodyears do. My question is would there be a benefit coming down from 225/50/16 to 205/55/16 so i can fit these tires are they really that much better in the wet/dry/ect... that the loss of with wont matter

    Without specific testing it is too difficult to answer properly, however it's worth noting you will have to declare the new tire size as a modification to your insurance company which is reason enough to stay with the OE size.


    2018-02-27 - Shouldn't this tire be labeled as "Ultra High Performance" and not "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Sport 3? The Pilot Sport 4 S is the "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Super Sport.

    It's an interesting question. The Pilot Sport 4 is the direct replacement of the Pilot Sport 3, but Michelin moved the game on so much with regards to sporty handling and feel of the tire it deserves to be in the higher category.


    2018-03-17 - Hi, for a Honda Civic 1.8 petrol 2010 tires 225/40/R18 Y XL would Michelin PS4 or Pirelli PZero PZ4 give best ride comfort? I know Goodyear Asmm. 3 offer good ride but currently I have Potenza S001 at front PS3 rear so concerned about softer sidewall of Goodyears. Many thanks.

    I've not tested them back to back so I'm unsure which would be more comfortable, but if I had to guess based on experience I would say the P Zero PZ4 would be slightly more comfortable than the Pilot Sport 4.


    2018-05-07 - Hello. My Audi A4 Quattro needs only Front Tires at the moment. I would like to fit Pilot Sport 4. Do you think these will behave ok with the standard fit Hankook Ventus S1evo2 that are on the back? Thanks

    Both tires are produced within the allowable size guidelines so technically they should work fine together, however it might be worth checking owners forums to be sure.


    2018-06-15 - Hi guys! I am using this tire (Pilot Sport 4) on a Hyundai Genesis Coupe also equipped with B14 Bilstein coilovers... I have 225/40/19 front and 245/40/19 rear... BUT I still haven’t found a proper pressure tire to set, in order to feel a good feedback and feeling from the car... I feel it not coumicative, and on the fast straight I find a little vagueness in the center if I move left/right of few cm on the steering (with pressure at 2.3 bar) What di you recommend??

    Sadly the PS4 is a little vague due to the higher levels of comfort. I can't recommend anything specific, but a small amount of over inflation can help with steering response.


    2018-07-31 - I really want PS4"S" for my 18inch E46 M3. BUT they are only 19 inch at the moment right? So given I want decent performance on track, do I go Cup2 or would these non "S" PS4's be ok?

    Good news, subscribe to our youtube channel and hit the bell icon as in the next 2 weeks we have a PS4 vs PS4S vs Cup 2 video :)
    https://www.youtube.com/user/tirereviews


    2018-09-05 - Hey there. I own a '06 Mercedes E550. I just bought a set of lighter 18'' rims and next summer, I want to fit new 245/40 tires. I only drive 4000kms in the summer, rarely spirited, so wear is not a concern. Yet I demand a good steering response and light weight to make for a more nimble feel of the car. I think I wanna go with the PS4, yet I think about the Falken 510 also. In the past, I regretted fitting mid range tires. But due to the low miles, and the good test, I feel like giving the 510s a try. Yet I fear that they will be overwhelmed by the weight of the car and the V8 on the front axle. Would you recommend just going with the PS4 or could the 510s be an option?

    I'm not sure either the PS4 or FK510 will be the answer to your question, both have quite soft sidewalls. If steering precision is your drive above all else, something like the Vredestein Vorti R might be a good tire to look into.


    2018-10-28 - I going to replace my Jaguer XF3.0 tire, previously I tried Pzero and Pilot Super sport. could you please comment if I change to PS4 (no S), I'm not an aggressive driver, want maintain the sport feeling but a little more comfort and silent...

    The PS4 won't feel as sporty as the Pilot Super Sport, but will certainly more comfortable and quieter and it has excellent wet grip, so would be a good choice for your Jag.


    2019-03-18 - Hello! I'm about to replace the Michelin Energy tires on my VW Golf5. I'd like to extract more sportiness and feel out of the car while retaining a solid and safe daily driver with nice comfort and low noise. Aiming for the Pilot Sport 4 or the PremiumContact 6. The Golf is not a sports car but since i dont wear tires too fast, the price premium is not that much considering the relative small 205/55 R16 size, so both fits within my budget. Which one would you think suit me (or the car) better? I heard a few complaints about the PS4-s behaving jelly-like when pushed. Im aware that a road tire in this size, no matter the brand, wont give the kind of feedback as a smaller sidewall variant with a bigger wheel would, so that behaviour might still be the same with a PC6-s in the same size. Whats your take on this? Thank you in advance, and keep up the great content!

    The differences between the Pilot Sport 4 and PremiumContact 6 are now so small both tires will be an excellent option if available in your size.


    2019-05-05 - I am driving 2008 Audi A5 1.8 TFSI 170 FWD and I can't decide whether to go for Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/40 ZR18 (93Y) or Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/40 ZR18 93Y AO. Would there be any differences? May AO tire be "outdated" in 2019? What is your recommendation?

    Generally with OE marked tires it's recommended to go with the correct version where possible as this will have been tuned to work with the vehicle suspension etc. The PS4 isn't old enough to worry about the AO version being out of date.


    2019-08-19 - There I have a VW Mk5 GTI (FWD) with coilover suspension and the car is modified around 300hp, I mainly drive on the road and would like to do a bit of track during the year (also we have around 185 days of rain in average per year). Do you think that tire would be suitable for that use? (225/40R18 92Y)

    We suggest looking at our video comparing all three Michelin Pilot tires here.


    2019-08-30 - I have a Volvo V60 with 235/40R18 W95 fitted. As the Ixion alloys seem to have a ridiculously wide edge to the rim, is the rim protector on the Pilot Sport 4 a decent size? Also, would up-sizing to a 245 width increase the size of said rim protection? Are there any other recommendations you can make for the largest rim protection you're aware of?

    Rim protection varies by tire size, and wheel width also plays a huge factor so it's impossible to say with any accuracy. Changing tire size is also impossible to recommended due to the many other factors it effects.


    2019-10-22 - Hi guys, i'm driving a Ford Fiesta MK8 with this Michelin Pilot Sport 4. I'm in italy and here temperatures never go below 0C, or in any case there is never snow and ice but just rain. I've to buy winter tires, or can I go with this Michelin all of the year? I used them for a winter, and seems they went very cool.

    Below around 5c in the wet, a winter tire will offer an advantage, but in the dry, the PS4 will always have the better grip. If you're not seeing snow or ice, there's no issues with running the Pilot Sport 4 all year.


    2019-12-02 - I want to replace the standard Bridgestone Potenza's on my MX-5 ND 2.0 with a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 but which exact spec is best? Michelin's website recommends 205/45 ZR17 (88Y) DT1, 205/45 ZR17 88W or 205/45 ZR17 (88Y). However, the dealership also mentioned a choice of 205/45 R17 88V G1. Speed index of V should be sufficient for the car (240km/h rated tire should be fine for the car's 214km/h top speed). But what does G1 mean? The G1 model is has a C fuel efficiency label while the others all have E. Should the G1 behave the same as the Y DT1, Y or W tire?

    Interestingly, G1 indicates that the outside diameter or tread width differ from a tire without this marking. We recommend to fit matching G1s on the same axle, or a set of 4 for all wheel drive. In this case, I'd go with a normal, non g1 fitment.


    2020-05-30 - Do you think that jelly sensation that a lat o people talk about when the tire are pushed very hard, is it solved by choosing the ZP (run flat) model (that should have the side wall reinforced)?

    In theory the runflat version of the tire will not have that steering delay, but there are many negatives associated with runflats that are equally as undesirable.


    2020-07-03 - I'm looking to replace all 4 Pilot Super sports on my 2015 M135i. I have the option to go for the PS4 or the PSS. What's the main difference between the two? Will I notice the difference in wet/cold grip in regular daily driving? I'm happy to stick with the PSS but if the difference is minimal then I'll save myself £150 and go for the PS4's.

    I would suggest watching this video comparing the PS4S to PSS. The PS4 will be similar to the PS4S, only with a little more comfort.


    2020-10-23 - I want my car to have less hydroplane and very good grip in wet. Which one is better between PS4 and PS4S?

    In theory, the PS4, but it will be very close. Check out or UHP Summer test which includes aquaplaning.


    2020-11-25 - Alfa Mito 135 (215/45/R17) looking to replace my P Zero Neros for some Pilot Sports, I do enjoy some spirited driving now and again hence choosing the Pirellis last time. but for a daily driver, would the Pilot Spots be the better all-rounder over the year? looking to improve on the tire noise and economy whilst maintaining high levels of grip in all-weathers.

    Certain people report the Pilot Sport 4 getting a little noisy as it wears so maybe the goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 would be a better option.


    2022-04-05 - Please advise on best tire for wet track days Currently I use ps cup 2 for dry & PS4 for wet track days but is there a better option?

    The PS4 is a great option, as it the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5!


    2022-11-22 - What is the approximate mileage one can expect to get from a pair of Pilot Sport 4 tires on the front wheels of an Audi A6 Quartro ?

    Driving style can have a huge affect, somewhere between 15 and 25,000 would seem about right though. The PS5 improved wear over the PS4.


    2023-03-22 - Can I mix michelin ps4 with other tires?

    You should always keep the tires the same across the axle. Mixing front and rear is not advised but if you mix them with a tire with similar performance it should be ok until you can match the other axle.


    2023-05-09 - My current Bmw 120 d m sport has 18 inch tires on front and back with load rating 88Y run flat I have seen front replacement tires with same width radius speed rating but the load is 92Y XL run flat The tires are pilot sport 4 225/40/92Y XL run flats my reg LG63XBJ . Also is it ok to run 92Y on front axle and continue with 88Y on rear axle Thankyou

    I would not recommend mixing runflat and non-runflat tires, but running a 92 front would be no issue.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    225/40 R18 $295.99 - $295.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 $234.99 - $254.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R18 $252.99 - $362.99 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 44 tire sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

    Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
    First opinions on new Pilot Sport 4

    I have today (11/01/16) received some of the first available Pilot Sport 4's in the UK. They are to replace my worn out Goodyear Eagle ASY 2's on the rear of my GAD Tuned C250 Cdi.

    I will review again in a few weeks when I have had chance to thoroughly try the tire out, however my initial observations are as follows:

    Aesthetic appeal: They look good and sit well on the rims, a pleasant development over the PS3, both in tread pattern and sidewall appearance, without being 'over the top'.

    Cost: For my size I paid £145 per corner delivered from mytires, however tireloader(?) have them currently at £135. As they are new on the market I expected to pay a premium, and I anticipate as they become more established the price will come down in the coming months.

    Other: They have a good size/width kerbing protection ring which is welcome, especially as they did not state they had one in the sellers description. A must for expensive alloys!

    Potential downsides are that when measured from new I have gotten a reading of 7.2mm tread depth, as opposed to the 8mm once seen from new on sport tires. This seems to be a growing trend as the Hankooks and Bridgestones I have used on my other cars in recent months have also been supplied with 7mm from new as opposed to the 8mm expected.
    I have also noticed that the grooves (in my size at least) seem wider than the PS3's I have used in the past. Whereas I am sure that the performance of this tire on our British roads esp. in the wet will excel, I am concerned about the longevity of this tire and its potential wear rate as simply there is less rubber contacting the road. Lets hope the compound will make up for it! I have found on my other cars that these wider grooves and lesser tread depth is causing my tires to need to be changed much more often than their predecessors (under much the same driving conditions and mileages), so despite the marketing bluff about increased longevity, I am sceptical.

    I will re-review when I have had chance to get some miles done on these tires.
    Helpful 318 - tire reviewed on January 11, 2016
    Given 49% while driving a BMW 1 series (245/35 R18) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    These tire perform very well when they are new and when the weather is above around 10ºC. However on a cold day or when they are worn below around 4mm performance drops off a cliff. If they are worn and it is a cold damp day the car has next to no grip and is a real handful. I have rated the wear as poor as there is only around 3mm of useable tread if you value performance. Noise and comfort are good.
    Helpful 37 - tire reviewed on June 4, 2023
    Given 74% while driving a Kia Motors (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 19,000 average miles
    I purchased in Jan 2020 a replacement primary 4. Pilots sports 4 is expensive now left meat 20 % about 10,000km need to replace. overall I am happy with the performance. the drawback is the wear and tear and short Life spent. I use pilot sports 3 which has longer life spend I used 3 years in pilot sports 3. In another month I going to replace the type I will like to purchase a primary 4 plus which installs in another's car in Elantra overall primary 4 plus is great tires and is quiet, or get pilot sports 5. But after another two weeks, my new board baby came into this world. I will pursue primary 4 plus for my next comfort tires
    Helpful 41 - tire reviewed on February 23, 2023
    Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 4 >

    Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

    Given 66% while driving a Ford fiesta st (205/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    I've gone through 2 sets for ps4's on my mk8.5 fiesta ST so I've got a pretty good idea of how they feel. These are the OE tires that come with the car and are a good middle ground between performance/wear/comfort. The car is very often driven in a way that would land you in jail in most countries and has seen many mountain roads, highway and high speed cornering. If you want a good all round tire the ps4 will not let you down in any way(apart from them getting too hot quickly) but are in no way shape or form a tire that will extract the most out of your car(sport driving wise). If you have a sporty car which you use for cornering(such as mine) or enjoy pushing it in general just look elsewhere. The car is on Goodyear supersports now and is far superior in the sport characteristics but lacks in the wear department as expected. Lastly it is worth mentioning that both ps4 sets were pretty much done after 10k kilometers.
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on April 11, 2024
    Given 77% while driving a BMW M4 Competition (285/30 R20) on mostly country roads for 6 average miles
    Notice very bad wear on the inner rear wheels .posted my concern on Facebook and received many responses.some even posted photos of the exact problem I am having with these tires
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on March 16, 2024
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 84% while driving a Suzuki SX4 Scross 1.4T Boosterjet (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
    Bought the MPS4 to replace the ContiEcoContact that came as OEM, so most the comparison will be done against them, although it's not the same category really... The Michelins will probably wear faster (although I replaced my previous set of tires because of both being used for 40.000 kilometers, and as they started to feel worse in handling - even though they weren't worn out that much), but everything else is much better (aside from stiffness, which seems to be about the same, at least subjectively).

    All in all, the MPS4 are great both on dry and wet, they handle very precisely (especially the corners!), and the braking distances are obviously better that with the Conti's Eco tires - literally, like driving a different car. On the weaker side, when hitting bumps (even the smaller road imperfections), they are a bit hard, both in the feel in the car, and on the ear. Also, not very silent on highways, but it's not a big deal.

    All in all, a very good tire, that I would recommend, even if it does have a few flaws.
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on March 15, 2024
    Given 70% while driving a BMW M135i (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    I've been running these for some time now and the rear tires have finally worn out. For a performance car tire on a rear wheel drive car, I've been really impressed with the wear rate of these tires.

    Grip in the summer was overall pretty good, my only complaint is that I haven't found them particularly progressive, the transition from grip to slide really quite quickly.

    Compared to other tires I've used, I found these to be quite disappointing in the wet in certain situations. Wet braking and resisting aquaplaning was good, but cornering grip in wet weather was extremely snappy, even at low speed and low revs, just pulling out of a greasy junction.

    If you mainly drive in the the summer this is a good tire but I wouldn't recommend for all weather use.
    Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on March 2, 2024
    Given 90% while driving a BMW 330ci (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
    I had these on my car for 6 years before they started cracking to the point of the tires losing air. There was still a lot of tread left, but they had to be replaced for safety reasons. The grip was very good in both wet and dry, and they are surprisingly comfortable for what they are, max performance tires. They're not as grippy as the pilot sport 4s or super sport, which is to be expected, but for strictly street driving, they're hard to fault. I have had various toyo proxes, hankook s1 evo, bridgestone RE040, RE050, goodyear eagle F1, and none of them comes close to the ps4, at least to me. None of them lasted as long, and the michelin ps4 was just better overall.
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on February 15, 2024
    Given 77% while driving a Mazda (215/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    Comparison Points:
    Bridgestone Potenza Sport (OEM)
    Falken Azenis FK510

    The PS4 is a great allrounder. Having the best handling and grip in the wet from all my previous tires, it is a safe choice. The road feedback and dry handling was better on both my previously installed wheel types. The PS4 is comfortable from a damping perspective, but the tire noise is slightly higher than on both my previously used tire models. The PS4 is the best-wearing tire from the bunch - you can easily get two seasons, if not three out of one set. The downsides on the PS4 are most likely because of a slightly softer tire wall than the previously used tires. Although the PS4 is most likely the best allrounder tire, I'd prefer to get more dry road grip and better feedback from my next tires.
    Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on February 9, 2024
    Tire reviews and ratingsTire Reviews Replies
    Naturally the PS4S is the Michelin replacement if you want some more feedback, but there is the Continental PremiumContact 7 if you want to try a slightly more direct tire in the same category.
    Given 87% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
    Bought these to replace a set of Dunlop SportMaxx RT and the PS4s were immediately superior in every way. I had them on the FN2 Civic Type R for over 4 years and approx 15,000 miles. They lasted really well IMO and the only reason for change was the PS4s had started cracking due to their age. I’m now on Michelin PS5s for over a year and approx 5k miles and I much prefer the PS4s.
    Dry grip was always excellent and was progressive on the limit even during the winter months. Wet grip was also very good and gave me confidence. Noise; I will not say too much as I had the car stripped out for a significant time so my opinion wouldn’t be fair. Road feedback was fine, on the odd occasion I would push it on a corner I could feel how much grip I had and what the tire was doing. I found the longevity brilliant and after trying out the PS5s I would rather swap the claimed longevity of the new model tire for what I consider to be better wet and dry grip in the PS4.
    Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on January 18, 2024
    Given 59% while driving a Ford (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
    Very soft sidewalls make it OK for comfort and crashness, but it feels more like a Grand Touring tire as it deforms when you really go for Sporty driving.
    Combined with the relatively stock suspension of my Ford Focus mk4 1.5 ecoboost, the car needs time to settle when cornering, so driving cannot be aggressive on mid speed sharp corners and therefore the tire limit is not easy to approach in normal speeds.
    The compound itself is of good quality, tire is quiet and has good handling once it's warmed up a bit (heating up time is very short)
    Tire longevity is a BIG NO-NO. After 15k km the front tires are half their original tread, even if most km are driven very conservatively.
    I have been a fan of Pilot sports until gen2, but I cannot say this for 3 and 4 (non-S), in my opinion these are now GT tires. Will not buy again.
    Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on January 7, 2024
    Given 67% while driving a BMW X1 2.0 Xdrive (225/45 R19) on mostly town for 100 easy going miles
    Just had my 2nd set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 fitted To my BMW X1 as i was very impressed with outstanding rim protection.
    However my new set has 3mm ( 1/4" ) less
    rim protection which is very visible, I've emailed Michelin and sent photos of both sets of tires and requested an explanation
    however they have replied to say that they won't reply to my email, i shall choose another brand in future.
    Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on September 27, 2023
    Given 89% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 45,000 average miles
    Excellent tires, but quite expensive. Not best comfort on the road, but this is to be expected from sport oriented tires.
    Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on August 30, 2023
    Given 83% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (225/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 37,592 spirited miles
    Installed on a Honda CRV 1.6idtec 160 to compense the confort but little understeering of the vehicle
    Mileage done 60500km with 21000km on the rear.
    Pros> very good dry grip, very good aquaplanning resistance, good braking levels.
    Cons: little bit sleepy on wet curves but very progressive and controllable, a little bit noisy
    Roads of use: 50% Highway, 10% city, 40% mountain and normal roads.

    Last very important point: These tires keep very good capacities till the very legal limit at 1.6mmwhich is not the case for many other brands.
    Mine are at 1.65mm and are still good on wet roads but I change them today.
    Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on August 5, 2023
    Given 83% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 27,650 spirited miles
    From Malaysia here, this is my first time using performance tire on a performance car (Honda Civic FC 1.5 TCP). For dry grip I would say no problem for speeding up to 205km/h. This tire has a Z rating which means can go up to 240km/h safely. For wet grip, I am not brave enough to speed in the rain, the fastest I go in rain is 110-120km/h because I have bad experience or even trauma of Aquaplaning with my old car (Proton Saga 2011 made in Malaysia). Comfort aspect, I would say above average since this is a performance tire, not an Economic or comfort tire. Unfortunately, the downside/ disadvantage or weakness of this tire is that It wears down pretty fast and lasted about 3 years only. Also, this model of tire is relatively expensive in Malaysia (SouthEast Asia)
    Helpful 28 - tire reviewed on July 18, 2023