Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 and this tire has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 5.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 85%
Wear 74%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 79%

Tire review data from 264 tire reviews averaging 83% over 2,577,858 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 4 is ranked 20th of 69 Summer Max Performance tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 Sport Auto UHP, UUHP and Semi Slick Tire Test - 2nd of 10 tires

  • Positive - Very spontaneous, direct, precise and dynamic on dry roads while still being safe in the wet. Fulfills sporting demands.
  • Negative - Limited in the wet, subjectively quite sensitive to puddles, low self damping.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild 19 Inch Summer UHP Tire Test - 4th of 10 tires

  • Positive - Sports tires with balanced performance potential, dynamic dry handling, optimal aquaplaning reserves, precise steering behavior, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - High price.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild Sports Cars UHP Summer Tire Test - 1st of 11 tires

  • Positive - Premium summer tires with the best dynamic driving characteristics in the dry (direct steering with good feedback), safe wet handling, short wet and dry braking, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - High price level.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 70 9.63kgs
205/55 R16 91W   E A 70 9.16kgs
205/55 R16 94Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
205/55 R16 91Y   E A 70 9.13kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 71 8.24kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 71 8.90kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 10.10kgs
255/40 R17 98Y XL   C A 71 10.67kgs
195/45 R17 81W   E A 70 8.09kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL         9.26kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.82kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.70kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL G1 C A 71 8.80kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL DT1 E B 71 8.60kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 71 8.97kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
225/45 R17 91W   E A 70 11.34kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 71 9.51kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 70 9.66kgs
225/45 R17 91V   E A 70 9.44kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 70 11.34kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.99kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71 10.29kgs
255/45 R17 98Y   E A 70 11.07kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 71 9.35kgs
205/50 R17 89W   C A 70 10.98kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 9.69kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 71 9.99kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 71 10.00kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 71 10.72kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 10.21kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 12.33kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 71 12.32kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E B 71 9.12kgs
205/40 R18 86W XL   E A 70 9.20kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL DT1 C A 71 8.90kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL DT1 E A 71 9.35kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL   E A 71 9.27kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 71 9.66kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71 9.78kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL DT1 C A 71 10.20kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 10.31kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL MO1 C A 71 10.05kgs
235/40 R18 91W   E A 70 10.20kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL DT1 E A 71 10.85kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO1 C A 71 10.78kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.73kgs
245/40 R18 93Y AO E A 70 11.25kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 70 10.74kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 71 11.22kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL * B B 71 12.89kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 13.10kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 71 9.26kgs
215/45 R18 89Y   E A 70 9.30kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL * C A 71 10.00kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL * B B 71 11.70kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.77kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL MO C A 71 9.80kgs
225/45 R18 91W   E A 70 9.70kgs
225/45 R18 91W MO C A 70 9.65kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 10.40kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL A T0 B B 71 11.00kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.89kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
275/45 R18 107Y XL   C A 72 13.46kgs
225/50 R18 99Y XL   C A 70 11.22kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 70 11.26kgs
245/50 R18 100Y   C A 70 11.83kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.53kgs
235/35 R19 87Y   E A 70 10.43kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 13.16kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL * B A 72 13.60kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 10.85kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.00kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * A B 72 10.75kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 71 11.32kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * B A 72 12.70kgs
255/40 R19 100W XL VOL C A 71 12.35kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 11.32kgs
255/40 R19 100W XL A VOL C A 71 12.52kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   C A 71 13.86kgs
295/40 R19 108Y XL N0 B B 73 14.28kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL * A B 71 10.20kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B A 71 10.55kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL MO C A 71 11.38kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   B A 71 11.30kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71 11.38kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL A AO B A 71 11.65kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL   C A 71 12.88kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AAOS1 B A 71 12.65kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL A AO C A 71 13.04kgs
265/45 R19 105Y XL N0 C B 71 13.56kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL NF0 B A 71 15.10kgs
225/55 R19 103Y XL NF0 B A 71 13.40kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 72 13.49kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL A N0 C A 73 15.30kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 12.76kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL A AO C A 71 12.80kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 71 13.67kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL A N0 C A 71 14.00kgs
285/40 R20 108Y XL NF0 B B 71 14.96kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL NF0 B A 71 13.34kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL A N0 C B 73 15.50kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL A N0 C B 73 15.50kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL A N0 E B 71 13.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

2016-06-21 - I have a Nissan Leaf (electric). The fuel economy is important to me. How does the fuel economy of the Pilot Sport 4 compare with the original factory fitted Bridgestone Ecopia

The OE Ecopia tire is a dedicated low rolling resistance tire, whereas the Pilot Sport 4 is a sport tire with low rolling resistance. While they've not been tested together, we would expect the Bridgestone to have the slight edge in rolling resistance, but the PS4 to have vastly better wet grip. You can also check the EU rolling resistance label score in your size to give you a better idea.


2016-05-21 - Are the pilot sport ok for a lotus evora 2009 na?

Assuming you can get the correct tire size, there's no reason the Pilot Sport 4 wouldn't be a great tire on a light car like the Evora. If you're coming from a more dry / track focused tire, you might find you lose some steering feel with the Pilot Sport 4, but gain comfort.


2016-08-08 - Which is the country origin of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 , 245/45/17 ?

Here is the response from Michelin:
Pilot Sport 4 is made in Germany, France, Spain and Italy (in that order predominantly) but may be the odd ones from other plants.
We never have a definitive list size by size, because our quality structures are the same country to country, plant to plant and in most cases the compounds and carcass materials come from the same plants and are "assembled".
We know from testing we've done, we don't have the big differences with identical tires made in different plants that some manufacturers have.


2016-10-13 - I am about to change my tires on my merc E220. I have opted for the reviews on the Michelin Pilot sport 4 but cannot find a 225/50/R17 /98W or Y. Is it available and from where?

It doesn't look like a 225/50 R17 Pilot Sport 4 is available yet. More sizes are being produced all the time.


2017-04-05 - I have a mazda mx 5 . Is this tire too good for this car . ? Is it quiet and comfortable ?

Yes, the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is both quiet and comfortable. There are quieter tires on the market however you would lose some sporty feel, which is important on a car like the MX5.


2017-08-17 - I am driving 2013 BMW 330D Xdrive with dimensions 225/45/R18 and I cant decide is it better to purchase Michelin Pilot Sport 4 or Continental Premium Contact 6??? It is very hard to find those two tires in comparison in this dimensions! I am looking only for the best tire!

This test should answer your questions. Pilot Sport 4 in 1st place, Premium Contact 6 in 3rd, using your size.


2017-09-06 - Hi there, I have an e39 M5.. usually use Michelin Super Sports which are priced the same as the PS4.. I have 18" wheels to PS4s isn't available in my size.. Which is a better tire the Super Sport or the standard PS4 (no s)...

In 99% of cases, the newer PS4 is the better tire. The PSS has the edge in dry grip, feedback and track day work, but if you're using the tire on the road you won't be disappointed with the PS4.


2017-11-14 - BMW 318i with Contipremiumcontact 2, im looking to get some new tires didn't mind how these handled although they had slight under steer in wet if pushed im looking at PS4 and the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance only problem is the PS4 dont come in the current size on the car and the Goodyears do. My question is would there be a benefit coming down from 225/50/16 to 205/55/16 so i can fit these tires are they really that much better in the wet/dry/ect... that the loss of with wont matter

Without specific testing it is too difficult to answer properly, however it's worth noting you will have to declare the new tire size as a modification to your insurance company which is reason enough to stay with the OE size.


2018-02-27 - Shouldn't this tire be labeled as "Ultra High Performance" and not "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Sport 3? The Pilot Sport 4 S is the "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Super Sport.

It's an interesting question. The Pilot Sport 4 is the direct replacement of the Pilot Sport 3, but Michelin moved the game on so much with regards to sporty handling and feel of the tire it deserves to be in the higher category.


2018-03-17 - Hi, for a Honda Civic 1.8 petrol 2010 tires 225/40/R18 Y XL would Michelin PS4 or Pirelli PZero PZ4 give best ride comfort? I know Goodyear Asmm. 3 offer good ride but currently I have Potenza S001 at front PS3 rear so concerned about softer sidewall of Goodyears. Many thanks.

I've not tested them back to back so I'm unsure which would be more comfortable, but if I had to guess based on experience I would say the P Zero PZ4 would be slightly more comfortable than the Pilot Sport 4.


2018-05-07 - Hello. My Audi A4 Quattro needs only Front Tires at the moment. I would like to fit Pilot Sport 4. Do you think these will behave ok with the standard fit Hankook Ventus S1evo2 that are on the back? Thanks

Both tires are produced within the allowable size guidelines so technically they should work fine together, however it might be worth checking owners forums to be sure.


2018-06-15 - Hi guys! I am using this tire (Pilot Sport 4) on a Hyundai Genesis Coupe also equipped with B14 Bilstein coilovers... I have 225/40/19 front and 245/40/19 rear... BUT I still haven’t found a proper pressure tire to set, in order to feel a good feedback and feeling from the car... I feel it not coumicative, and on the fast straight I find a little vagueness in the center if I move left/right of few cm on the steering (with pressure at 2.3 bar) What di you recommend??

Sadly the PS4 is a little vague due to the higher levels of comfort. I can't recommend anything specific, but a small amount of over inflation can help with steering response.


2018-07-31 - I really want PS4"S" for my 18inch E46 M3. BUT they are only 19 inch at the moment right? So given I want decent performance on track, do I go Cup2 or would these non "S" PS4's be ok?

Good news, subscribe to our youtube channel and hit the bell icon as in the next 2 weeks we have a PS4 vs PS4S vs Cup 2 video :)
https://www.youtube.com/user/tirereviews


2018-09-05 - Hey there. I own a '06 Mercedes E550. I just bought a set of lighter 18'' rims and next summer, I want to fit new 245/40 tires. I only drive 4000kms in the summer, rarely spirited, so wear is not a concern. Yet I demand a good steering response and light weight to make for a more nimble feel of the car. I think I wanna go with the PS4, yet I think about the Falken 510 also. In the past, I regretted fitting mid range tires. But due to the low miles, and the good test, I feel like giving the 510s a try. Yet I fear that they will be overwhelmed by the weight of the car and the V8 on the front axle. Would you recommend just going with the PS4 or could the 510s be an option?

I'm not sure either the PS4 or FK510 will be the answer to your question, both have quite soft sidewalls. If steering precision is your drive above all else, something like the Vredestein Vorti R might be a good tire to look into.


2018-10-29 - I going to replace my Jaguer XF3.0 tire, previously I tried Pzero and Pilot Super sport. could you please comment if I change to PS4 (no S), I'm not an aggressive driver, want maintain the sport feeling but a little more comfort and silent...

The PS4 won't feel as sporty as the Pilot Super Sport, but will certainly more comfortable and quieter and it has excellent wet grip, so would be a good choice for your Jag.


2019-03-18 - Hello! I'm about to replace the Michelin Energy tires on my VW Golf5. I'd like to extract more sportiness and feel out of the car while retaining a solid and safe daily driver with nice comfort and low noise. Aiming for the Pilot Sport 4 or the PremiumContact 6. The Golf is not a sports car but since i dont wear tires too fast, the price premium is not that much considering the relative small 205/55 R16 size, so both fits within my budget. Which one would you think suit me (or the car) better? I heard a few complaints about the PS4-s behaving jelly-like when pushed. Im aware that a road tire in this size, no matter the brand, wont give the kind of feedback as a smaller sidewall variant with a bigger wheel would, so that behaviour might still be the same with a PC6-s in the same size. Whats your take on this? Thank you in advance, and keep up the great content!

The differences between the Pilot Sport 4 and PremiumContact 6 are now so small both tires will be an excellent option if available in your size.


2019-05-05 - I am driving 2008 Audi A5 1.8 TFSI 170 FWD and I can't decide whether to go for Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/40 ZR18 (93Y) or Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/40 ZR18 93Y AO. Would there be any differences? May AO tire be "outdated" in 2019? What is your recommendation?

Generally with OE marked tires it's recommended to go with the correct version where possible as this will have been tuned to work with the vehicle suspension etc. The PS4 isn't old enough to worry about the AO version being out of date.


2019-08-19 - There I have a VW Mk5 GTI (FWD) with coilover suspension and the car is modified around 300hp, I mainly drive on the road and would like to do a bit of track during the year (also we have around 185 days of rain in average per year). Do you think that tire would be suitable for that use? (225/40R18 92Y)

We suggest looking at our video comparing all three Michelin Pilot tires here.


2019-08-30 - I have a Volvo V60 with 235/40R18 W95 fitted. As the Ixion alloys seem to have a ridiculously wide edge to the rim, is the rim protector on the Pilot Sport 4 a decent size? Also, would up-sizing to a 245 width increase the size of said rim protection? Are there any other recommendations you can make for the largest rim protection you're aware of?

Rim protection varies by tire size, and wheel width also plays a huge factor so it's impossible to say with any accuracy. Changing tire size is also impossible to recommended due to the many other factors it effects.


2019-10-22 - Hi guys, i'm driving a Ford Fiesta MK8 with this Michelin Pilot Sport 4. I'm in italy and here temperatures never go below 0C, or in any case there is never snow and ice but just rain. I've to buy winter tires, or can I go with this Michelin all of the year? I used them for a winter, and seems they went very cool.

Below around 5c in the wet, a winter tire will offer an advantage, but in the dry, the PS4 will always have the better grip. If you're not seeing snow or ice, there's no issues with running the Pilot Sport 4 all year.


2019-12-02 - I want to replace the standard Bridgestone Potenza's on my MX-5 ND 2.0 with a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 but which exact spec is best? Michelin's website recommends 205/45 ZR17 (88Y) DT1, 205/45 ZR17 88W or 205/45 ZR17 (88Y). However, the dealership also mentioned a choice of 205/45 R17 88V G1. Speed index of V should be sufficient for the car (240km/h rated tire should be fine for the car's 214km/h top speed). But what does G1 mean? The G1 model is has a C fuel efficiency label while the others all have E. Should the G1 behave the same as the Y DT1, Y or W tire?

Interestingly, G1 indicates that the outside diameter or tread width differ from a tire without this marking. We recommend to fit matching G1s on the same axle, or a set of 4 for all wheel drive. In this case, I'd go with a normal, non g1 fitment.


2020-05-30 - Do you think that jelly sensation that a lat o people talk about when the tire are pushed very hard, is it solved by choosing the ZP (run flat) model (that should have the side wall reinforced)?

In theory the runflat version of the tire will not have that steering delay, but there are many negatives associated with runflats that are equally as undesirable.


2020-07-03 - I'm looking to replace all 4 Pilot Super sports on my 2015 M135i. I have the option to go for the PS4 or the PSS. What's the main difference between the two? Will I notice the difference in wet/cold grip in regular daily driving? I'm happy to stick with the PSS but if the difference is minimal then I'll save myself £150 and go for the PS4's.

I would suggest watching this video comparing the PS4S to PSS. The PS4 will be similar to the PS4S, only with a little more comfort.


2020-10-23 - I want my car to have less hydroplane and very good grip in wet. Which one is better between PS4 and PS4S?

In theory, the PS4, but it will be very close. Check out or UHP Summer test which includes aquaplaning.


2020-11-25 - Alfa Mito 135 (215/45/R17) looking to replace my P Zero Neros for some Pilot Sports, I do enjoy some spirited driving now and again hence choosing the Pirellis last time. but for a daily driver, would the Pilot Spots be the better all-rounder over the year? looking to improve on the tire noise and economy whilst maintaining high levels of grip in all-weathers.

Certain people report the Pilot Sport 4 getting a little noisy as it wears so maybe the goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 would be a better option.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Pilot Sport 4 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 $222.00 - $222.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 $218.00 - $218.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 $270.00 - $270.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 39 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
First opinions on new Pilot Sport 4

I have today (11/01/16) received some of the first available Pilot Sport 4's in the UK. They are to replace my worn out Goodyear Eagle ASY 2's on the rear of my GAD Tuned C250 Cdi.

I will review again in a few weeks when I have had chance to thoroughly try the tire out, however my initial observations are as follows:

Aesthetic appeal: They look good and sit well on the rims, a pleasant development over the PS3, both in tread pattern and sidewall appearance, without being 'over the top'.

Cost: For my size I paid £145 per corner delivered from mytires, however tireloader(?) have them currently at £135. As they are new on the market I expected to pay a premium, and I anticipate as they become more established the price will come down in the coming months.

Other: They have a good size/width kerbing protection ring which is welcome, especially as they did not state they had one in the sellers description. A must for expensive alloys!

Potential downsides are that when measured from new I have gotten a reading of 7.2mm tread depth, as opposed to the 8mm once seen from new on sport tires. This seems to be a growing trend as the Hankooks and Bridgestones I have used on my other cars in recent months have also been supplied with 7mm from new as opposed to the 8mm expected.
I have also noticed that the grooves (in my size at least) seem wider than the PS3's I have used in the past. Whereas I am sure that the performance of this tire on our British roads esp. in the wet will excel, I am concerned about the longevity of this tire and its potential wear rate as simply there is less rubber contacting the road. Lets hope the compound will make up for it! I have found on my other cars that these wider grooves and lesser tread depth is causing my tires to need to be changed much more often than their predecessors (under much the same driving conditions and mileages), so despite the marketing bluff about increased longevity, I am sceptical.

I will re-review when I have had chance to get some miles done on these tires.
225 - tire reviewed on January 11, 2016   
Given 70% while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 200 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Tried the Pilot Sport 4 back to back with the Michelin Primacy 4, i.e. all tires were brand new and I compared the same car on the same day with both models of tires.

In all respects I'd the Primacy 4 tires are the best tires I've tried so far and much better than the Continenal PremiumContact I had earlier.

The main problem with Pilot Sport 4 are that they feel very hard. The road feedback is good, but it's a hard and unpleasant ride compared to Primacy 4.
82 - tire reviewed on June 27, 2018   
Given 66% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 300 average miles
Had these on my mk5 Golf GTI for a couple of weeks before changing back to Conti Sport Contact 5s.

The PS4s were simply outstanding for steering feel and precision and wet grip. However, I couldn't live with their very sharp ride and intrusive high-pitched whining. The CSC5s are probably at 95+% of the PS4s good attributes(steering, wet grip), but with a more forgiving ride and less noise.
79 - tire reviewed on February 9, 2017   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 4 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (245/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
These have lasted 15,000 miles and were fitted to the front of my BMW 520d M Sport (runflat) and still had 6mm Excellent dry and wet grip Treadwear rating 320 AA I sold my vehicle but I think they would have done at least 50,000 miles
0 - tire reviewed on May 27, 2022   
Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen R32 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Had these fitted on my R32 replacing the poor budget tires previously on it. Impressions were great, suited the car very well. Best wet performance of any tire I've driven, dry performance not as impressive but very good, has a tendency to understeer. Quite noisy but to be expected.
0 - tire reviewed on May 24, 2022   
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 2.0 TDI 140bhp (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
I've gone through two sets of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 over the past few years on a MK6 Golf. I find them comfortable and extremely grippy in both dry and wet conditions, grippy enough that I can feel my suspension be the one giving out in hard cornering before the tires do; you can really throw them into corners much faster than you'd expect and they don't give in. They're quiet and comfortable but they don't give a very accurate feel of the road (at least on the 225/45r17 setup I have). I also found the tread life to be quite short compared to my previous Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetric tires. Even with proper regular rotations and balances, the tread disappeared fairly quickly on a low powered car. I recommend them for a comfort tire that is extremely safe in wet and dry conditions, but I wouldn't recommend them for maximum tread life or sporty driving.
0 - tire reviewed on May 12, 2022   
Given 83% while driving a Volvo C30 D5 (205/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Very happy with the PS4s. Good levels of both grip and comfort, topped off with a quiet ride. They grip surprisingly well, usable even a few degrees (centigrade) under freezing. You'd have to do something very silly to get them to lose traction. I can really feel the difference, both handling and comfort, coming from Goodyear Eff Grip Performance (gen 1). I feel they're the best balance between comfort and sportiness, as while they aren't the most communicative tire, they're not completely numb either. There's plenty of warning before they lose grip. Wear is comparable to the Goodyears, which is to say it's pretty good. After just over 10k miles, they have around 3.5mm left, so should be good for a few more months.
0 - tire reviewed on May 11, 2022   
Given 86% while driving a Opel Vectra C 1.9 cdti 120 hp (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 30,000 spirited miles
Dear, I am very happy with the PS4. I drive my 2007 Opel Vectra C since 2014, I bought it at 165000km and now she is 565000km. I have drove around 400000km with that car and went through wheels sizes from 16, 17 and now 18 inch and of course all types of tires! I started with 16inc and Primacy 3 or 4 (can't remember) and it was regular drives. In 2017 I bought 17inch wheels and better size tires that goes with it, 225/45R17. I fitted Cross Climate and had the longest ride on tires ever, at 80000km of use those tires still had life! Since 2019 the car drives on 18inch and 235/40R18 with PS4. I drive very hard since my car is fully upgraded, the handling is amazing with the LSD and I can take corner so fast! Michelin tires are amazing, very precise and always gripping on the road. Braking is amazing too. I can't complain just enjoying them everyday! Love to feel how warm and soft they get after a good drive :) *Wheels always original Opel Vectra wheels. Car has been seriously updated and tuned to this day. Now run on Bilstein/Eibach, Powerflex, Wavetrak LSD, Short shifter, stage 1, Brembo, Big intercooler... :) I also drive an Audi RS6 Performance, first delivered with Dunlop tires... so bad in the wet... I almost crashed the car twice...! Then I fitted PS4S and the world changed! Now I enjoy extreme fast drive and hard breaking and those tires takes it all! Only on road of course, I haven't took the car to the track yet. But very stable at 300km/h+ on the highway :) Thank you for your tires review! :)
0 - tire reviewed on May 11, 2022   
Given 53% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI 7.5 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Vague, lifeless steering requiring several bites mid-corner to correct the line. Sensational wet grip, excellent dry grip. Basically, they feel like very grippy mediocre touring tires. Michelin's own Primacy touring tires steer better than these.
0 - tire reviewed on May 11, 2022   
Given 41% while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 Golf 1.4 Tsi 150hp ACT (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
It doesn't grip on dusty dry ground, abs when braking, skid on acceleration. If you enter the speed bumps fast, the tire wires break and the balance does not hold. I will not buy again.
0 - tire reviewed on May 10, 2022   
Given 51% while driving a SEAT Leon ST FR 2.0tdi 150 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 14,000 average miles
Had these tire's in 225/45 r17 94 rating on the front of a Leon Tdi FR. Felt compelled to review them as they get replaced and put on the back for the remainder. Highly rated, I have found these tires safe but completely uninspiring and vague in the middle of the wheel. Also with below average wear rate. Grip in the wet is very good, you hardly notice any difference from dry conditions, the braking is good, and extreme grip on a long bend is always assured and feels almost unlimited. However, the tire feels far from sporty or precise. I found the middle of the wheel to be very vague, small adjustments take a lot of movement at the wheel, and I always felt like I was driving up the camber, which must be related to this aspect of the tire working on my car/specific size. They have really made my car feel dull and taken the enjoyment out of driving. They do have that michelin 'feel', very smooth and quiet. The wear rate has been average too. E.g, the Dunlop Sp Sort Maxx that came new on the car, lasted 16k, I'm putting these PS4's on the rear axle as they are near the bar, after only 14k miles. I thought the trade off would be longevity... In this size at least, from my experience, I don't recommend these tire's, there are better options that represent far better value, feel, and longevity for the money. I think they are very safe tires, I will say that. I felt compelled to review as most reviews rave about them. I had a Cooper Zeon XTC set on my old car, same size, that tire was on par with the Michelin in my experience, for example. Looking forward to going back to my old faithful Eagle F1 tomorrow!
0 - tire reviewed on May 4, 2022   
Skoda (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 25,000 easy going miles
Decent tires but not as hard wearing as previous Pirellis. Dry grip fine but a bit loose in the wet
0 - tire reviewed on April 29, 2022   
Given 91% while driving a Lexus IS250SE (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
In my opinion the best performance tire on a passenger car In the dry the handling and performance is outstanding. In the wet it's also really good The only downside is that they wear faster than the average tire. But still an outstanding tire.
0 - tire reviewed on March 31, 2022   
Given 87% while driving a BMW M240i (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
This is the second time I bought this tire. But not for this car. Big fan of this tire. The tires replaced my factory fitted Michelin Pilot Super Sport. I needed a tire for better wet grip, because I daily my car. Huge improvement in wet grip and aquaplaining without really sacrificing dry grip capability. Comfort level is higher. Very good wear considering I often drive sporty. The only downside is the lack of feel what the tires are doing. They also don’t feel sporty, although very capable in every condition. Still don’t regret buying them one bit.
0 - tire reviewed on March 24, 2022   
Given 83% while driving a BMW 320 d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I fitted Michelin’s PS4 to my E90 320d daily about a year ago, and have since covered about 10,000 miles. Both the dry and wet grip are fantastic. I’d say the front end is about 80% as grippy in the wet compared to dry conditions, before easing into progressive understeer. As for wear, after about 10,000 miles the rears were down to 4mm with the fronts remaining strong at 5.5mm. I have since swapped them over and no doubt will get at least another year out of them. All in all, they are fantastic tires for sporty daily driving.
2 - tire reviewed on March 17, 2022