Pirelli P Zero PZ4

The Pirelli P Zero (PZ4) is the latest update to the iconic P Zero sports car tire.

This tire replaced the Pirelli P Zero.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 80%
Wear 64%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 69%

Tire review data from 35 tire reviews averaging 77% over 298,347 miles driven.

The P Zero PZ4 is ranked 33rd of 69 Summer Max Performance tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 Sport Auto UHP, UUHP and Semi Slick Tire Test - 3rd of 10 tires

  • Positive - Despite longer baking distances,s thanks to the good handling, neater cornering and very neutral balance. Sporty, safe, fast.
  • Negative - Longer braking distances in the wet, limited cornering strength.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tire Reviews UHP Summer Tire Test - 4th of 14 tires

  • Positive - Dynamic handling with an excellent performance in the dry and wet, low levels of noise.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning performance.
  • Overall - The Pirelli P Zero PZ4 is a rare tire that seems to blend good grip in the dry and wet, sporty handling, low rolling resistance and good levels of comfort. IF this tire had slightly better aquaplaning resistance it would have been in the top group.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild 19 inch Summer Tire Test - 4th of 15 tires

  • Positive - Convincing handling qualities on wet and dry roads, high grip, precise steering behavior, short dry braking distances.
  • Negative - Higher rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Highly Recommended.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Pirelli P Zero PZ4

Questions and Answers for the Pirelli P Zero PZ4

2019-10-09 - I find there is a lot of information on Continental, Goodyear and Michelin, but not as much on Pirelli. My understanding is that the P Zero PZ4 goes up against the Continental Premium Contact 6, Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 5, and Michelin PS4. Recent tests fare the PZ4 well, although the general opinion on the internet is that Pirellis are to be avoided. However sometimes tests include higher performance variants such as the ExtremeContact, Sport Contact 6, F1 Poleposition or PS4S. At the same time the Premium Contact 6 in smaller sizes goes against Premium Touring tires. I guess I am just confused by the classification. What is Pirelli take on these higher performance tires (PS4S, PSS, Sport Contact 6, ExtremeContact, F1 Poleposition) ? P Zero Corsa? A video inclusive of these tires would be interesting to compare the PZ4. Thanks

The PZ4 is intended to compete with the likes of the PS4S and CSC6. It works very well in OE fitment especially in the larger sizes, but the aftermarket versions were quite soft on the sidewall initially. This might have been updated recently as it's started to test a lot better more recently.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Pirelli P Zero PZ4 Reviews

SEAT (225/40 R18 W) on for 0 miles
Really good !
Replace very very good Yokohama V105 one year old.
To try them out.
First-class comfort (top) + rolling silence
A little above the Yoko on the dry,
In the rain, they are incredible ! Well above all that I have tried :
Dunlop RT, PS3, Yoko V105, Hankook V12 K110.
No idea about wear again ... The +:
- Braking (this is a big highlight)
- Motricity
- Handling
They are equipped with protections of the rims although the option is not specified (in France).
The sides are stiffer than the PS3 for example. The precision is much better.
In short, conquered...
Remains to be seen at mid-wear behavior ... exotic productions are often very disappointing after 40/50% wear ...
Although cheaper than Michelin Super Sport for overall performance not so far away ... Probably in terms of PS4 performance for lower price...
181 - tire reviewed on June 28, 2017   
Given 53% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,427 average miles
Was offered these in comparison to my initial choice of 2nd set of PS4 which these supposedly handles just as well and have lower noise.
1.5yrs with 20k KM (12427.424 miles) milage and they are worn and due for a change.
79 - tire reviewed on October 19, 2018   
Given 63% while driving a Mercedes Benz A35 AMG 4MATIC (235/35 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 1,200 spirited miles
Pros - High level of grip in the dry with direct/precise steering feel. Neutral balance. Impressive braking in dry/wet. Cons - Average aquaplaning resistance, it can bite when travelling at medium speeds even in a straight line by losing straight line controllability. Harsh ride. High wear. Overall - Very good tire especially in the dry. Would like to see the wet aquaplaning resistance improved.
46 - tire reviewed on May 5, 2020   
Have you driven on the Pirelli P Zero PZ4 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli P Zero PZ4? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Pirelli P Zero PZ4 >

Latest Pirelli P Zero PZ4 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Audi A4 Quattro 220 bhp TFSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I have been doing only 1000 km with these tires, before I had Michelin PS4. Comparing with them, they very quite and comfortable, with better steering feeling and handling. They come with PCNS(Pirelli Canceling noise System), they are impressive in terms of acoustic comfort in all roard, really impressive! Never tested in wet, but I will update this review in next KMs. They feel softer then Michelin PS4 and with more grip.
0 - tire reviewed on May 24, 2022   
BMW (225/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
PIRELLI P ZERO PZ4 225/50 R 18 L.S. CA67dB Car: BMW X1 xDrive 20d Dry grip super, much better from Bridgestone Turanza T001 Wet grip - excellent Grip overall unique car keeps on the road as stuck Noise: very quiet - know 67 dB
1 - tire reviewed on May 10, 2022   
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Given 64% while driving a Volkswagen Arteon 2.0 TDI 200hp 4motion (245/35 R20) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Full disclosure: I have a general dislike for Pirelli tires. My experiences from 'way back when' have always been bad to mediocre at best, with decent dry handling, but exceptionally poor wet handling (very inconvenient in wet countries such as the Netherlands). So I tend to stay well clear of Pirellis and recent experiences with the brand are pretty much non-existent. However these came as stock with my Arteon, and are of the official VW variety with 'seal-inside' or however VW brands that. Having recently swapped out my winter tires for the Pirellis I finally got a taste of driving them. My impressions are that they were more noisy and a little less comfortable than I expected/would have liked, but steering and wet performance (what I would have considered their 'nemesis' if you'd have asked me before trying them) were a pleasant surprise. Of the 1500 km with these tires, I'd guestimate that about 50% of those were on the German autobahn, with speeds varying from 80 to 230 km/h. The car feels steady and stable even when the autobahn gets a bit undulating (southern parts of Germany, in very hilly terrain), while driving at high speeds. At those autobahn speeds, it also means that less than perfect surfaces feel like driving along cobblestones, but the tires performed still performed admirably when it came to handling. The big downside was that with these surfaces the tires very clearly started to transmit serious noise into the car though, making it a less than pleasant experience, effectively forcing lower speeds because that's simply tiresome on long distance driving. Most notable reason for me personally to at least not buy this VW specific variant of the tire again was that I managed to get a screw puncturing my virtually brand new tires despite the proclaimed self-sealing abilities of the tire. Yes, I am aware that they only claim a 5mm (yes, just half a cm!) of puncture protection into the tire interior, but my experience has proven (to me at least) that the extra cost of this 'feature' is not worth it since it's apparently easy to punch through. Couple this with my personal dislike (as stated above) it means I would not recommend this tire.
0 - tire reviewed on April 4, 2022   
Given 42% while driving a Tesla Model 3 Performance (235/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
These replaced a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4S with 25k miles heading towards the wear limit. Despite being new, they feel far less secure than the tires they replaced. Understeer at roundabouts, sudden grip loss mid-corner (both ends at the same time, so at least that was balanced). Always feel insecure when it's damp. I'll grant that it's winter and they're a summer tire, but all season tires aren't an option for company car drivers in the UK and it's not that cold. It's the fact that they're so much worse than the Michelins that means I wouldn't consider another set.
5 - tire reviewed on January 9, 2022   
Given 70% while driving a BMW 320i Msport (235/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Great tires. I've used Pzero Nero and Pzero in the past and these PZ4 are better. These gave me confidence to go faster. I had the HN spec tires. I found the sidewalls a bit stiff so they weren't that comfortable but as a result the handling was better. Also the side wall in this HN spec curve in a lot which I didn't like but they still had a rim protector. Overall I enjoyed thrashing my car with these. One downside is they started cracking inbetween the tread when I still had 5mm on them. They had been on my car for 2 years and 10k miles. Upon inspection of the manufacture date, they were just over 4 years old so I wouldn't expect them to crack so soon. I wouldn't buy these again as I never buy the same tire twice, I always like to try something new. But I would recommend these to others if the price is right and the manufacture date is no older than 2 years.
1 - tire reviewed on January 2, 2022   
Given 92% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 R 300 BHP (235/35 R19) on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
Have had my PZ4's on for 40,000 KM and they are still going strong. I estimate a bit over half way through the tread, so interesting many others seem to rate wear poorly. I find them still very quiet, and grip is very good at half tread. I havent had these tires on the limit at all so cant comment, but as a daily driver, the grip seems fantastic and they are generally very comfortable.
3 - tire reviewed on November 26, 2021   
Given 88% while driving a Renault Grand Scenic (245/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Excellent is the word. I use before Pirelli C7, Goodyear F1A2, Kumho PS91... On my new Renault Grand Scenic came with an odd size 195/55/R20 tires.. not much choices of tires to choose from. Decided to change away the rims to Wedssport SA25R with new PZ4 245/45/R20. P Zero model is well known of providing very good handling and grip. This is right and true about it! Grippy tires! Comfort is there, not so bad for a UHP tires. Durability, unknown yet... Too early to say anything. Dry condition is like the whole car sticks onto the ground. Wet condition, no sweat!
3 - tire reviewed on July 16, 2021   
Given 71% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (245/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 6,300 average miles
Car had 20" 245/35r20 runflats in front and 275/30r20 runflats (all MOE) for RWD w213 came with these factory fitted MOE runflat tires. Replaced these tires and wheels at 10600km. I've driven 8600km of that mileage. The tires wore like rubber bands on the 20" wheels. Steering as a result is very precise in both wet and dry. 245/30s had sound deadening foam and overall tire noise is quiet in the cabin (but just wee bit louder than the 18" PS4 tires I replaced them with). Ride comfort is 8/10 on highways due to air suspension. On chip seal, speed humps, potholed roads ride comfort is 5/10 - very abrupt jarring transmitted to cabin due to tire profile and rims. Wet grip in cold (5'C) and damp country highways was 7/10 at 110km/h speeds - some slip noticeable. Dry grip 8/10 most of the time but with occasional rear traction slips at highway speeds in curves. This combination of tires and rims is quite poor for a luxury sedan and compliant rides.
2 - tire reviewed on June 13, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 3,500 spirited miles
Very sporty tire. Replaced my goodyear asymetric 5 with these. And my car feels more alive on these tires. Suits the car more italian tire on a italian car. Very big rim protection. And Nice looking sidewall.
7 - tire reviewed on May 19, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Skoda (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 8,000 average miles
Scores above can be up or down, it is not that important for normal daily drive as us my car 99%. I quess that for my type of driving almost any tire will do. What is very very very noticeable is road noise variation depending on outside temperature. Between 7-12 degrees C they are very noisy. Between 12-18 degrees they are ok, and above 18 degrees C they are quiet as an owl. Yes it is so on other brands, but it is not noticable that much. So, if you live in Australia best choice for you , but if you are in Norway buy something else. For us mid europeans they are ok for most of the year.
2 - tire reviewed on May 15, 2021   
Given 83% while driving a Volvo V70 R AWD (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
The grip and precision of this tire is excellent in all conditions, dry and wet. The road feedback is very good and makes this tire easy to drive close to the limit on normal roads, providing good information. Around the on-centre the response is tight and precise. The weight of the steering correlates very well with the lateral response and the effort build-up is nice and smooth. I find it very progressive when driving over the limit, which is surprising given the amount of mechanical grip available. Comfort is also suprisingly good, with low impact noise (numb noise) and well controlled wheel shake and vibrations. Wear is the only negative aspect of this tire, as right now with 6000km the fronts are well past mid-life and their performance on straight ahead is much worse, with a larger response deadband and less progressive lateral response generation. Would recommend because of the performance, but idk if I'd buy again knowing they'll probably last 10kkm or so. Maybe wear on a lighter car would be better.
2 - tire reviewed on May 12, 2021   
Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk7 Sportwagen Alltrack 1.8TSI (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
My golf is lowered with kW coilovers and with Pirelli p zero pz4 tires. I had Michelin ps4 s before so i tried the pirellis now and What a diffrence. More grip in dry and a Hugh diffrence in the Wet. Aquaplaning happend to often in higher speeds with the ps4 s. P zero feels more stable in latheral forces to. I highly recomend Pirelli
4 - tire reviewed on May 11, 2021