Kumho Ecsta PS71

The Kumho Ecsta PS71 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 79%
Wear 74%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 67%

Tire review data from 58 tire reviews averaging 77% over 404,631 miles driven.

The Ecsta PS71 is ranked 58th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2023 AutoBild UHP Summer Tire Test - 5th of 21 tires

  • Positive - Balanced high performance potential, good handling qualities, short wet and dry braking distances, fair price.
  • Negative - Increased driving noise.
View Full Test >>

2023 Summer Tire Market Overview - 12th of 48 tires

View Full Test >>

2022 Tire Reviews UUHP Summer Tire Test - 6th of 10 tires

  • Positive - Highest aquaplaning resistance on test, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Poor grip in the dry and wet.
  • Overall - The Kumho Ecsta PS71 seems to have put all its eggs in the deep water basket, where it excelled, however a tire needs to perform well in more than a single category, and unfortunately the PS71 struggled in the dry and wet, in both braking and handling.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tire Tests

  • 5th: 2023 AutoBild UHP Summer Tire Test (225/45 R18)
  • 12th: 2023 Summer Tire Market Overview (225/45 R18)
  • 2022 Tire Tests

  • 6th: 2022 Tire Reviews UUHP Summer Tire Test (255/35 R19)
  • 2021 Tire Tests

  • 3rd: 2021 ADAC Summer Tire Test - 225/50 R17 (225/50 R17)
  • 2020 Tire Tests

  • 5th: 2020 Tire Market Overview Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 9th: 2020 ADAC 18 Inch Summer Tire Test (225/40 R18)
  • 17th: 2020 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2019 Tire Tests

  • 18th: 2019 Summer 53 Tire Braking Shootout (225/45 R17)
  • 20th: 2019 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tire Tests

  • 2nd: 2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tire Test (235/45 R18)
  • 7th: 2018 Auto Bild 20 inch UHP Tire Test (245/30 R20)
  • 8th: 2018 Test World Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Kumho Ecsta PS71

    Questions and Answers for the Kumho Ecsta PS71

    2019-08-19 - Which pressure do You recommend for track. I use 2.9 kg on road.

    Start with your road pressure and keep adjusting back to it as the tires heat up, then you can balance the car once everything is warm.


    2021-05-14 - Hi! Is PS71 or PS91 better for a use on a Hobby-car only in the summer? The rim is 8x18 and the car is an Alfa Romeo Spider MY2001.

    I would say the PS91 is the more sport focused and newer pattern, however if it's a summer only hobby car you could also consider something like the Cup 2.


    2023-11-16 - Does the Kumho Ecsta PS71 SUV come with rim protection?

    Rim protection varies by size, we don't store data for each side so you would have to contact Kumho with your tire size to find out.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Kumho Ecsta PS71 Reviews

    Given 83% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 500 spirited miles
    same kumho problem... balancing & egg shape. 245/45/18 100Y XL
    I've always used kumho because the price well reflects in proformance if only they didn't need constant rebalencing.
    I've had 4 duff pairs, ku31 x 2 pair, ku 39 x 2 pair that had to come off in the end they were so bad.
    No amount of balencing can sort an egg shape tire.
    These new ps71 are very soft, squishy, feel like running on 20psi with 30g wheel wobble even after twice rebalencing them & 1 of them is egg shape.
    I am worn out with trying to get them right & think after years of kumho on various different cars I'm giving up on them.
    Changing to Dunlop.
    I always feel bad going back to the shop to moan they must think it's me lol but kumho have let themselves down & I will say so.
    PS71 is more expensive, lower spec & lower quality, not for me, I like a tire to be not thought about coz it's getting on with it's job instead of feeling there's a 60mph side wind blowing me around & the steering wheel hammering out of ny hands not to mention the amount spent on rebalencing & hanging around tire shop waiting for my turn.
    Helpful 273 - tire reviewed on March 25, 2017
    Given 90% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    The PS71's are joy in the dry and the wet, warm or cold.
    First let's give a comparison. I bought my MX5 with Dunlop Sport Maxx RT (these only had 3mm of tread so only had them on for about a month) and they were outstanding in the dry, the wet not so good but I put this down to the age of they tires and the fact that they had only 3mm of tread so lets not put down those amazing Dunlops.
    Compared to those, the PS71's have slightly less maximum grip in the high speed stuff and maybe not as fast turn in. Discarding those very subjective points I cannot fault these. In the dry they are outstanding and cannot spin the wheels at all, tight country corners taken fast these are absolutely amazing. medium speed corners id say the Dunlops are better but in High speed the Kuhmo's take over again.
    In the wet the PS71's have so much damn grip it is unbelievable. I have so much confidence in the car and the only way I've lost traction in them is doing a standing wheel spin launch on purpose. Other than that they have never done anything I didn't expect them to and for the price of (£80 fitted each) I bought them for, these tires are such such great value considering all the premium brands start at around 110 per tire and that only goes up from there for some decent UHP tires in this kinda odd 205/45/16 size that my MX5 has.
    Honestly id buy them again and again. Amazing tires that are very very underrated.
    Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on November 22, 2023
    Given 61% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTi Mk5 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 1,000 miles
    These replaced Continental premium tires. Generally they seem pretty good but there are time the car loses grip and bring on the traction control light, in slightly damp conditions it wouldn't with the Continental. That said they are a pretty cheap tire.
    Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on August 7, 2023
    Have you driven on the Kumho Ecsta PS71 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Ecsta PS71? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Kumho Ecsta PS71 >

    Latest Kumho Ecsta PS71 Reviews

    Given 64% while driving a Ford (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
    They are a good affordable tire my main issues with them were they struggled for traction when moving off in the damp/wet and they wore down to the legal limit in less than a year but they gripped very well once up to speed in dry and wet conditions and held the road very well.
    Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on January 3, 2024
    Given 94% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia 2.2 d 150 hp (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 6 spirited miles
    Bought these and fit on Alfa Romeo Goulia 2.2 d rear wheel drive. My car has a 450 Nm of torque on rear axle, and they are surprissingly good, car almost never engages traction control, on all conditions. Dry and wet grip excellent, aswell as handling and road feedback. They feel confidence even at wet conditions and sporty driving. Comfort no problem, but biggest advantage is wear, almost no wear after 10.000 km. Recently have Goodyear AS3, and Continental SC5, which were done after one summer. Excellent tires, and would definitelly recommend and buy again.
    Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on August 8, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 90% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
    Awesome grip from the kumho ps71 i was shocked by the grip in both wet and dry conditions on my S3 8p they give me alot of confidence in all summer UK conditions will definitely be buying again. I have come from ad08r previously on a 400bhp fwd car.
    Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on July 9, 2023
    Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
    Long story short, I am dissapointed of these tires. Bought them because price is really good and after all it is a Korean brand. I am driving a saloon with only 150 bhp and they still can't cope. Start spinning half throttle even on dry road. Wet is even worse. ESP is working really hard to keep you going. Haven't done hard braking fortunately, but I am worried about it given the lack of grip. Aquaplanning resistence is decent, you can drive 100-120 km/h on a wet highway without any issues. I guess the tire compound is too firm because wear is very little. On the positive side, they are very quiet. Comfort is average, but summer tires are much firmer than winter so maybe it is normal.
    Helpful 28 - tire reviewed on June 17, 2023
    Given 64% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLC 300 4MATIC (235/55 R19) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
    Comparing to the OE tires (Pirelli Scorpion Verde runflat), Kumho Ecsta PS71's side wall is notably softer, resulting in less road feedback. Steering is a bit vague around centre, but still precise when more steering is input. Afterall, sportiness is not the priority of this vehicle (2017 Mercedes-Benz GLC300 4MATIC). PS71 is comfortable over bumps, while its noise level is subjectively acceptable. Using them only for front tires for now, I have not driven them to the limit yet. So far no drama, wet or dry. I will keep an eye on them in the coming mileage. Reasonably priced, I am considering to buy another pair to replace the aging OE tires on rear axle.
    Helpful 32 - tire reviewed on March 29, 2023
    Given 72% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (245/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
    They aren't the greatest tires I've ever had on a car - but I have these on my Tucson that is used predominantly for road trips in mixed weather and they handle amazingly well in the rain.. - In scenarios where I am convinced I would aquaplane in my other car - these things cut through the water and keep their grip. Took the car around Europe and around the Scottish coasts and just exuded confidence in extreme rain conditions. Not a snow tire.. - but I carry road chains for Alpine driving in snow and these tires take the chains well.. - So not terribly worried about this. In terms of dry use: Nothing special, but decent for the price.. - Have only done 8000 miles and wear seems OK...
    Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on March 22, 2023
    Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo MiTo (215/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
    Only traveled 200 kilometers so far but at this stage they are a fantastic tire, replace all 4 for Kuhmo ps71, very quite , nice ride definitely improved over worn conti 5 on the front and Bridgestone on the rear, grip is great in the hot weather so far weve had, will update in a few months with some more ks on them
    Helpful 38 - tire reviewed on February 7, 2023
    Given 74% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST180 (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 60,000 spirited miles
    Got the car with kumho tires on it. Done 40k km with them and they were great. Changed them for Goodyear's... In the dry they had almost the same grip as Goodyear but in the wet they are ok for normal driving but not spirited.
    Helpful 42 - tire reviewed on December 7, 2022
    Given 44% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 9,000 easy going miles
    Fitted a full set of 4 Kumho PS71 tires and within 9000 miles the fronts were worn down to the minimum depth marker, the two rears whilst still having legal tread depth created a droning noise similar to that of worn wheel bearings, infact I had the car checked in case it was the rear hub bearings that were creating the noise but advised it was the rear tires....changed the whole set to another brand and the noise stopped. Wouldnt by these Ecsta PS71 ever again, I've run other Kumho tire models mostly without issue but they just didnt get the PS71 right as far as i'm concerned.
    Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on December 2, 2022
    Given 87% while driving a Audi A6 Avant S Line Le Mans Quattro 3.0TDi (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 26,000 spirited miles
    Fantastic levels of grip in both wet and dry conditions. With the A6 3.0 Quattro you really have to be doing something silly to exceed the limits of grip on the road that these tires offer. They've been fitted to the car for 26,000 miles and have just dropped below 2mm tread on the rear tires in the centre. They were not good in the snow as can be expected from a summer tire.
    Helpful 44 - tire reviewed on August 5, 2022
    Given 63% while driving a Volvo S60 Polestar (235/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
    My car is a performance sports car (Volvo S60 Polestar) with hard suspension, monster brakes, and strong power. I love occasionally hitting it or throwing it around a corner. In the dry, the tires are quite good with good turn in, good braking, predictable to a point. At the limit it lets go a little quickly. And it doesn't like rapid direction changes at high speeds. I've lost grip in the wet a few times which is a limiting factor. Overall - good mid range performance. Decent value for money. I won't buy again for my sports car but would consider them for a less sporty car like my Passat CC V6 AWD
    Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on July 13, 2022
    Given 90% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    PS71 for staggered setup on BMW 5 Series on 19” alloys. Just about a 1,000 miles in and were an excellent purchase decision. Good high speed stability within limits, sharp cornering and nice balance between sportiness and motorway ride comfort. Nice sidewall design and looks nice following a detail. No issues in the wet or dry, stops well in both conditions and very happy.
    Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on June 30, 2022