Maxxis Victra Sport 5

The Maxxis Victra Sport5 has been tested by TÃœV SÃœD against 245/40R18 97Y variants of the Hankook Ventus S1 EVO2 and Michelin Pilot Sport 4. Based on the report, the Maxxis tire outperformed its rivals in almost all of the tests and matched them in others. Most notably, the Victra Sport 5 cut braking distances in wet and dry conditions by up to 5.5%, improved handling in the wet by 2%, came joint top of the charts in terms of resistance to aquaplaning, and came within a mere 0.2% of the best dry handling results. An interesting result for a low cost tire!

Tire review data from 25 tire reviews averaging 77% over 205,217 miles driven, and 16 tests with an average result of 8th.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 82%
Wear 62%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 74%

The Victra Sport 5 is ranked 55th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tires.

This tire replaced the Maxxis Victra Sport VS01.

Tests Included

16

Best Result

3rd

Worst Result

20th

Average Result

8th

Latest Tire Test Results

2024 Sport Auto Summer Tire Test
4th of 6 tires
  • High lateral support in wet conditions, spontaneous steering response, precise in switchback curves. Dynamic dry handling with high lane change safety.
  • Fairly long braking distances in the wet, somewhat delayed steering response in dry conditions, high rolling resistance.
  • Dynamic handling, but long braking distances in the wet.
View Full Test >>
2023 ACE / Gute Fahrt UHP Summer Tire Test
4th of 7 tires
  • Good dry braking and sport handling, but average rolling resistance and comfort.

    Good.
View Full Test >>
2023 Sport Auto UHP Tire Test
9th of 11 tires
  • Good wet braking, easily controllable, tends to understeer in the wet and dry.
  • Low curve aquaplaning resistance, cornering grip decreases with longer loads.
  • The VS5 has safe braking and good grip level in wet and dry corners.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Maxxis Victra Sport 5

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Maxxis Victra Sport 5. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Maxxis Victra Sport 5 Reviews

Given 53% while driving a Nissan Juke (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 3,000 miles
There were fitted to the front of my juke nismo rs -no confidence in the rain -car just squirmed about like it was aquaplaning all the time. Was that impressed in the dry either!
Helpful 225 - tire reviewed on January 16, 2019
Given 43% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (235/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 7,000 spirited miles
Had those tires just over a year. Did aroud 7k miles(11k km) Recently noticed they are getting worn on the outside edge. Decided to replace them before something happens. Never looked on inside edge until tire garage took the wheels off. I wish I could attach the pictures. Top layer just peeled off on the inside edge and made a 10mm gap, 10mm deep on whole wheel circumference. I've never seen this kind of damage before. Wheel alignment was done a few months before and everything seemed OK, but I asked the garage to do it again and the said everything was spot on and it must by bad batch of tires. It's a miracle that I didn't crash because of those tires. I'll never ever buy them again.
Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on June 5, 2023
Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen Golf R 270 BHP (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Huge improvement over my Bridgestone Potenza RE003's. Comfort and noise is the largest improvement, but nothing has been sacrificed in terms of handling, dry, or wet grip. Very progressive at the edge of traction as well although I really have struggled to push it there with the amount of grip these have along with the 4wd on the Golf R. Can't forget to mention that it really does look great too. Hugely impressed with what Maxxis have done here.
Helpful 78 - tire reviewed on July 4, 2019
Have you driven on the Maxxis Victra Sport 5 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Maxxis Victra Sport 5? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Maxxis Victra Sport 5 >

Latest Maxxis Victra Sport 5 Reviews

Given 84% while driving a BMW m2 (275/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Do not overlook these tires. Normally I would not entertain less than premium brands for a high performance car, but after reading a review in EVO I thought I would give them a try and have used them since. They have tremendous grip wet or dry, easily the equal of Michelin 4S and even the Conti 7. As an ex racer I drive my dedicated sports car very hard when conditions permit so I never expect big miles, it isn't my priority. In my opinion these are miles better than the equivalent Pirelli offerings.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on May 24, 2024
Given 77% while driving a BMW 325 coupe (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,500 spirited miles
Good handling in wet and dry conditions, comfortable as well however not as durable as i expected. Sidewall got punctured after hitting a few potholes.
Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on August 22, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 89% while driving a Subaru forester 2.5xt (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30 spirited miles
Maxxis really blew me away with this tire. Not only did it outgrip my old potenza re003’s which I previously used as a benchmark, it also lasted longer. Only in one or two very rare occasions did I find myself struggling with grip and usually that was due to suspension components at their limit. I felt very comfortable driving with these tires and would definitely buy again
Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on February 27, 2023
Given 69% while driving a Ford Mk5 Mondeo 2.0 (225/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
A well balanced tire that is quiet, comfortable and performs well in dry warm weather. Unfortunately once the temperatures drop so does the driveablity. Grip loss is quite apparent on cold wet roads with these tires. On a Mk5 Mondeo front tire wear is a common issue and the car has no gripes about scrubbing a set of new tires down to the limit blocks in record time. These VS5's however have taken a beating on the outside amd have worn very quickly. The car and geometry has been professionally set up so I am 100% confident that toe and camber are not the cause.
Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on January 24, 2023
Given 40% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (235/60 R18) on mostly motorways for 13,000 average miles
Put the tires on in march this year and they didn’t even last 20,000 kilometres I wouldn’t recommend them in a pink fit the absolute worst tires I have ever had
Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on August 17, 2022
Given 54% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 25,000 easy going miles
Tires had dry tears in the sides after one year already. I tried to reach Maxxis but no response at all.
Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on July 20, 2022
Given 100% while driving a BMW 730d Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 19,000 average miles
i am amazed with performance of MAXXIS it is more responsive and comfortable than yokohama, michelin and continental.
Helpful 28 - tire reviewed on July 8, 2022
Given 81% while driving a Alfa Romeo brera (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 14,000 average miles
Had these for approx 14K miles having done one swap front-rear to ensure balanced wear. I drive usually on motorways and having done a big trip across Europe (from the UK to Greece and back), i really love them. This is the 3rd set of 4 tires since i got the car and the best so far. On dry tarmac they stick like a train and on wet surfaces after having some hard breaking, they perform well and confidently. I have never had any issues regarding my confidence on them. So in summary i would say that: + Dry, wet handling and braking, no problem with aquaplaning. Good treadware (over 300). Their performance is consistent since new. - The steering feel lacks a bit of character, but nothing significant, just my thought. Due to the inner side being worn (i have it lowered by 30mm), hence the camber angle creates a faster wear out on the inner side, i have to replace them. I would certainly buy again, but i am going for All season tires due to my move to Germany in winter.
Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on December 23, 2021
Given 68% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
Just recently turned into a corner little more than normal and the grip was fantastic. They aren't the most quiet tires but I've had them since April 2021 and so far happy with the purchase. Replaced Pirelli Cinturato P7 Tires RFT's that came with the car from factory. They had loads of trend left but were old. Went for these as they were less expensive than Goodyears and Michelin.
Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on November 14, 2021
Given 50% while driving a Audi 2.7T Quatto (255/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Damaged far too easy, and wouldn’t honour warranty. For couple quid more I got michilen
Helpful 34 - tire reviewed on February 11, 2021
Given 88% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 1,500 average miles
Audi s3. These tires were amazing in the rain. Fast corners, progressive break away, excellent braking. Very high confidence in wet conditions. They need to be properly inflated. OEM requires 39 psi front. Dry cornering is also excellent. Surprisingly rides softer/smoother than the Continentals on before. Not as sticky however when launching. In summary, fantastic road/track tire. Not ideal for drag strip use. Will buy again for sure.
Helpful 38 - tire reviewed on December 30, 2020
Given 87% while driving a BMW 335d (225/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I'm very surprised from this tires. I was a little bit skeptical about them, but very impressed. My previous tires were Bridgestone S001 and I can say that Maxxis VS5 are better. For me this tires are upper mid level tires, especially taking into consideration the price.
Helpful 47 - tire reviewed on June 1, 2020