Michelin Pilot Super Sport

The Michelin Pilot Super Sport is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 and this tire has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 87%
Wear 82%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 89%

Tire review data from 132 tire reviews averaging 87% over 1,141,402 miles driven.

The Pilot Super Sport is ranked 7th of 63 Summer Max Performance tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

OE vs Aftermarket - Is the tire your vehicle came with always the best tire? - 2nd of 3 tires

  • Positive - The BMW * marked PSS is a good all round tire which suits the M2 well. Excellent dry grip.
  • Negative - Higher levels of understeer in the dry and wet.
View Full Test >>

2017 Motor Mag UHP Tire Test - 2nd of 9 tires

View Full Test >>

2016 EVO Summer Performance Tire Test - 6th of 9 tires

  • Overall - The Michelin ruled the dry testing, both in outright performance and subjective steering feel, but it struggled in the wet running, one of the slowest on test. Excellent if you prioritise dry running and steering feel.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/45 R17 88Y XL * E A 71 8.91kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   F A 71 9.31kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   E A 71 9.07kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL * E B 71 10.11kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL TPC E B 71 11.07kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL TPC E B 71 12.17kgs
285/35 R18 101Y XL MO1 E A 73 12.75kgs
295/35 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 13.36kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL S1 E A 71 8.02kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   F A 71 8.84kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL   F A 71 9.10kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL * E B 71 9.24kgs
225/40 R18 88Y * E B 71 9.24kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL HN E B 71 9.24kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E C 71 12.59kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71 10.76kgs
245/40 R18 93Y * E A 71 10.85kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO E B 71 10.80kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL * E A 71 11.49kgs
255/40 R18 95Y * E A 71 10.74kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL MO1 E A 71 10.74kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL MO E A 71 12.29kgs
265/40 R18 97Y * E A 71 12.36kgs
275/40 R18 99Y * E B 72 12.09kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL * E A 71 10.10kgs
235/45 R18 94Y   E A 71 10.57kgs
265/45 R18 101Y   E A 71 13.90kgs
235/30 R19 86Y XL   E A 71 9.40kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 71 11.15kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   F A 71 11.20kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 11.27kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL MO1 E B 73 11.92kgs
285/30 R19 94Y   E C 74 13.49kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 12.78kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL TPC E B 73 14.12kgs
345/30 R19 109Y XL   E A 73 15.80kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71 9.50kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 71 10.23kgs
245/35 R19 89Y   F A 71 12.43kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL * E B 71 10.65kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL MO1 E B 71 10.50kgs
255/35 R19 92Y   E A 71 11.08kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71 11.05kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL * E B 72 10.67kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO E B 71 11.12kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL * E B 71 11.87kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL MO E B 71 11.25kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL N0 E A 71 11.33kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL MO1 E B 71 11.90kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL TPC E B 71 12.51kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL * E B 73 11.82kgs
275/35 R19 96Y   E A 72 12.53kgs
285/35 R19 99Y   E C 73 15.18kgs
285/35 R19 103Y XL   E A 73 13.92kgs
295/35 R19 104Y XL MO C B 73 12.94kgs
295/35 R19 100Y   E C 74 13.15kgs
295/35 R19 104Y XL * C B 73 12.77kgs
305/35 R19 102Y   E C 74 13.93kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 9.90kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 71 10.60kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71 11.35kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   F A 71 12.00kgs
265/40 R19 102Y XL * C B 71 11.34kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E A 73 13.30kgs
285/40 R19 103Y N0 C A 73 13.57kgs
255/45 R19 100Y N0 E A 71 12.53kgs
285/25 R20 93Y XL   E A 73 11.56kgs
295/25 R20 95Y XL   E A 73 12.42kgs
305/25 R20 97Y XL   E A 73 12.19kgs
325/25 R20 101Y XL   E A 75 14.11kgs
335/25 R20 99Y   E C 74 15.39kgs
235/30 R20 88Y XL   E A 71 9.70kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 71 11.39kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL * E B 71 10.90kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL * E A 73 12.08kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL MO1 E B 73 12.14kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL * E B 73 12.13kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL K1 E B 73 11.12kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL MO E B 73 13.25kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL * E B 73 13.43kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL K3 E B 73 14.02kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL MO E B 73 14.21kgs
335/30 R20 108Y XL N0 E A 74 15.85kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 9.70kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL K1 F B 71 10.16kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K2 E B 71 10.62kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL * E A 71 10.53kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K3 E B 71 10.62kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL A VOL E A 71 11.00kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 71 10.59kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E A 71 11.59kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL K2 E B 71 11.02kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL * E B 71 11.50kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL * E A 71 12.41kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL K2 E B 73 13.51kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL N0 C A 73 13.74kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL K1 C B 73 14.00kgs
295/35 R20 101Y K1 E B 73 14.00kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL K1 C B 75 15.10kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL K2 E B 75 15.65kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL * E A 71 12.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71 12.40kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL N0 E A 71 12.39kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 13.00kgs
305/25 R21 98Y XL   E A 73 13.02kgs
325/25 R21 102Y XL   E A 75 15.50kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 10.76kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   E A 71 11.36kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL   E A 71 11.35kgs
275/30 R21 98Y XL   E A 71 13.00kgs
285/30 R21 100Y XL   E A 73 12.91kgs
295/30 R21 102Y XL   E A 73 13.62kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL * C B 73 14.95kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL   E A 71 11.34kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL A T0 E A 71 11.40kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL   C A 71 11.00kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL A T0 C A 71 12.20kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL * C B 73 13.42kgs
245/40 R21 96Y   E A 72 13.90kgs
265/30 R22 97Y XL   E A 71 13.42kgs
295/30 R22 103Y XL   C A 75 13.00kgs
305/30 R22 105Y XL   C A 75 15.00kgs
265/35 R22 102Y XL   C A 71 13.40kgs
275/35 R22 104Y XL   C A 71 13.50kgs
305/35 R22 110Y XL   C A 73 13.00kgs
315/25 R23 102Y XL   C A 75 15.48kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Super Sport

2016-04-25 - I'm looking for a bit of advice on some tires for my Megane RS250. Currently I am running Michelin Pilot Super Sport 225/40 ZR18 92Y XL. The correct size tire for the car is 235. I've managed to find PSS's in 235/40 ZR18 95Y but not XL and have a DOT of 2012. With the 235 being a larger load rating (95Y), will the performance of the tire be the same as that of the 92Y XL? And were the PSS made in 2012 different to those made now?

The performance of the two tires will be very similar, the 235 might be a little stronger on the sidewall, but as it has a little more sidewall it will balance out. There's every chance the PSS will have gone through minor updates since 2012, and has now been discontinued in 235/40 R18. Michelin would recommend you try the Pilot Sport 4 instead.


2018-04-05 - Do you out think there is an appreciable improvement in noise if going from 19" Pirelli P Zero RSC (run-flat) to 18" Pilot Super Sport? (I'd like to consider the 18" PS4 or 19" PS4S, but they are not available in BMW star version. As I run a 1-series xDrive, I am cautious about fitting non-endorsed tires in case of warranty issues with the AWD transfer case / drivetrain.....)

Moving from any runflat tire to non-runflat will give a big improvement in noise and comfort levels. Regarding * marking and warranty, you do not need to worry about this, legally they can't refuse any work based on tires as long as you fit the OE size and load rating.


2018-08-07 - I have an E92 M3 that needs new rears (265/35/19). Does it matter if the tire is not * rated? The prices vary by up to £30 per tire depending on which of the following you get: 98Y, 98Y*, 98Y TPC, 98Y MO1, 98Y N0, 98Y MO.

I believe the * marked Pilot Super Sport was developed for the M2 not the M3, so it's not something I'd be concerned about having. My own E92 M3 tires are not star marked.


2018-08-28 - I have a BMW M135i which is currently fitted with run flats. When I come to change them my two options are the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 or the Michelin Pilot Super Sports. I have read a vast array of information on both and am still no closer to deciding which one. The PSS is the OEM tire for the car so I was inclined to choose those, however I have read multiple reviews saying they are very temperature dependent and not the best in the wet? The PS4 would does not appear not have this problem, however other people have complained that the turn in is quite vague on the PS4 and they feel very soft, something which it certainly isn't at the moment on the run flats. Having said that I believe either will be a major improvement over the run flats. Any advice you can give would be much appreciated.

You have the two tires qualities understood correctly, so the choice needs to be your choice between comfort and wet grip, or sport handling. As you say both tires will be a huge improvement.


2019-03-18 - I had understood that the Michelin pilot super sport was being phased out and replaced by the 4s. However I see that some new car models are being fitted with tbr super sports as standard when they could have chosen other rubber. Please can you advise. I have a C63 on 19” wheels. Love the super sports When they are warm but less keen in the wet.

There are existing OE fitments in place which take years to replace. All new OE fitments will be with the 4S.


2019-06-14 - Our 2008 46k XKR is currently fitted with Dunlop Sport 255/35 R20 on the front and 285/30 ZR20 on the rear. Just back from a 1.5k touring holiday when we found the road noise very intrusive over all road surfaces. Want to replace all four tires with something much quieter. Good fuel economy, and dry and wet grip also essential. Car is not used for track days. What would you suggest, please?

Falken FK510 or Pilot Sport 4S


2020-05-06 - could you please tell me,if the Michelin pilot supersport is a good choice of tire for my Mercedes sl 55amg ,could you advise me on the best tire for my car 285/35 18

The replacement for the SuperSport, the Pilot Sport 4S is the better tire.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Pilot Super Sport Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 $191.18 - $221.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 $242.00 - $242.79 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 $244.03 - $244.03 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 $221.00 - $221.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 33 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Super Sport Reviews

Given 70% while driving a Nissan 370Z (275/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 9,500 spirited miles
Assuming this tire to be the pinnacle for grip, I am disappointed. The dealer placed the 'star rated' (BMW) tires on my 370z &there is little grip when cold and or mildly warm. When only properly hot do I start to get grip but that means a lot of wheel spin &sliding prior. Not ideal in public on the street. No issues normal driving or rain. Recently at CONSTANT throttle on a reasonable curving road the rear stepped out and was saved by the electronics. Unacceptable when I can drive that corner faster in a standard NA Ford Focus with no drama, in any other car either? Seems the Star rated is very different from the standard version, more a track tire &terrible on the street
155 - tire reviewed on September 10, 2016   
Given 60% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Having used these for several months over a warm UK summer and then wet and cold autumn and winter I can honestly say they are really good when warm but when cold and wet tend to run out of grip with not that much warning.

This tire seems to need heat, so it makes me wonder what Pilot Cup 2 need to get them working ok.

Not sure how this tire got 89% in wet conditions, it's a 70% tire in wet, more than 90% in dry for general road spirited driving ( not track work).
19 - tire reviewed on January 2, 2017   
Given 95% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD) (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Initial review of an 'old' tire. Originally discounted the PSS as they don't win any tests anymore.

But with 18" downsized rims, which on the hot hatch MQB format is a great size on real roads, unfortunately there is no PilotSport 4S available. Which could be a reason to stay at 19". But I'm more of a back road handling driving enthusiast, and want the sidewall and the light weight of an 18". Anyhow, in 18" I have been using Pilot Sport 4 tires for two years, and objectively they are the best tires. They justs work in all conditions. But when I set out to make my hot hatch a bit more focused in the handling department, I realised the PS4 don't give that much feedback, and I was left wanting for more. With the TR youtube videos of the PPS vs SC6 and vs PS4, I started to realise I don't need to go all mental with a Cup2 or semi slick on a daily driven car, and that perhaps the PSS could be the solution. It is still delivered on quite a few good hot hatches: the 308 GTI, the new Fiesta ST, Mini JCW and I30N (18") amongst others. I got the HN spec for the latter on my car, and I have not regretted the change. This tire has loads of feedback and is a lot more dynamic in it's behavior than the otherwise excellent PS4. Dynamic in the sense that the whole car is just more eager to change direction. This is with running quite aggressive toe settings and more camber front than rear. Really makes the handling that much more enjoyable and that is the very reason to run this kind of car.

The catch is.. not the comfort, I don't notice a, well, noticeable reduction in road manners which I feared for. I've yet to have some rain, but I'm pretty sure they will be worse than the PS4 which are hard to beat for grip in the rain, they stick as good as the average tire on dry tarmac. Still, I think I'm sticking with the PSS anyhow, I can drive a bit more carefully in the rain, or make hard progress so they heat and grip there too, a bit of a challenge.

So initially, I'm happily surprised by this tire, and it is probably still the go to daily road driving enthusiast tire under 19". I understand now why the above hot hatches still use this 'old' tire...
14 - tire reviewed on May 24, 2018   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Super Sport tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Super Sport? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Super Sport >

Latest Michelin Pilot Super Sport Reviews

Given 84% while driving a BMW M3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
just great.
0 - tire reviewed on January 22, 2021   
Given 87% while driving a Porsche Cayman (265/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
These are the tires thaty were fitted when I have bought my 2009 Cayman, so they were just about half worn. I was very, very surprised by their exceptional handling and grip. Comfort is good, considering the low sidewall and road feedback is very good. The wear seems quite high, expecially considering that the car is quite light (1300kg) and not a lot of power (265hp). Overall, I think these are the best road tires that I ever had, but considering their price, I would not buy them, as there are very similar performing tires for a third less (Hankook S1 evo 2).
1 - tire reviewed on December 11, 2020   
Want the best performance tire? Click here!
Given 93% while driving a MINI R56 Factory John Cooper Works (205/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Overall the best tire I've ever had fitted to a car. Use to have a set of PS4's which are the new version of the PSS but the PSS is far better than at wearing and in wet conditions then the PS4's. Shame that they do not make this tire again as I now only need 2 tires (front) and they will have to be PS4's not PSS
3 - tire reviewed on September 18, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a Opel Astra H OPC (245/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 60,000 spirited miles
Michelin Pilot Super Sport, below 3mm tread depth left My point is to agree with Michelin about no need to rush to change tires with the tread depth of 3mm and less. I have not noticed any dramatic changes in wet grip when caught by a torrential downpour on the highway (repeatedly). Dropping the speed to 80-90 km/hour is always enough, no metter how heavy it rains. As the rain exhausts its energy, I go up to 120-130 km/hour. After the rain stops but the highway is still wet you can go back to your 150 km/h. My wife and me are recreational drivers, sometimes having to cover 600 km a day. Safety is a concern for us. The car is Astra OPC (VXR). Cheers, YK
2 - tire reviewed on August 5, 2020   
Given 66% while driving a BMW M240i (245/35 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 18,000 spirited miles
The tires came factory fitted to my M240i, which I use as a daily driver. The dry grip and dry handling was the best part of the tires, but they needed some temperature to grip properly. Wear wasn't bad considering I often drove spirited on twisty roads. Once you experienced the Michelin PS4 you soon realize the Michelin Pilot Super Sport has very weak wet grip. Aquaplaning was very bad. Comfort wise the tires were quite hard, but not runflat hard. Overall an excellent tire for dry conditions, but weak in dry conditions.
7 - tire reviewed on April 9, 2020   
Given 69% while driving a BMW M140i (245/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
This review has been prompted since putting the PSSs back on the car from running a set of winter tires. Coming back to these after running a set of Continental WinterContact TS 850P (over a mild winter) has clarified my initial impressions. To properly understand the scores I have given the Michelins, I need to give some background to the car they are fitted to and its dynamic traits. The M-lite cars suffer on bumpy, broken UK roads in a similar way to their full M Division bigger brothers. Overly stiff springs, no LSD and 370ft-lbs delivered from 1500rpm taxes rear traction at the very best of times. The suspension is designed for smooth German autobahns when fully loaded. So this car (on standard suspension) is particularly sensitive to the correct tire match and the pressure they are set to. On a warm (15deg+) dry day, these tires are magical. Immense grip, fast steering reactions and great stability. I love them on these days. On 'most' northern UK days i.e. cooler and damp, these tires seem to stiffen up with the net effect of giving traction problems, having noisy tread-block movement on full lock and a fidgety unsettled ride that lowers confidence because I feel the car is skimming the surface of the road. Interestingly with full heavy rain, they seem to find more traction than just damp conditions, so maybe the tread design clears water better than the rubber compound seems to deal with lower temperatures? In contrast, the Conti winter tires lost all the dynamic sporty benefits of the PSS (they are winter tires after all) but replaced them with a far better ride and greater confidence in wet/cold weather. They are winter tires! Back to the Michelins. Set to 34psi all-round and with the temperature hovering around 10degrees, all the negatives have come to the fore again. On the first day of fitting them back on the car, the steering precision, stability and dynamic behaviour where amplified directly after removing the softer Contis. The car felt dynamically amazing.....However since then I have adjusted back to how they behave on a daily basis. My conclusion is this; On the right car in a warmer climate, these are fantastic. If you do track days in warmer climates - amazing. I think they work well in a narrow window provided they suit the dynamics and power delivery of the car. In the UK on an M140i, I find them disappointing on more days than I love them. So the scores I have given them actually reflect the car/tire match and not necessarily the tires on their own. For what I want my car to behave like, I'll probably try a set of Goodyear Asymmetric 5s next. Hopefully these will give most of the plus points of both the Michelins and the Contis combined. I also need to set aside some funds for a suspension upgrade.
1 - tire reviewed on March 22, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a BMW na (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
well
i have had around 4 trackdays including couple of laps on the wet rainy Nurburgring day, it was indeed tricky and almost got me with the wet/standing water oversteering but dry performance is what you would expect: stable and you get what you paid for . probably ps4s / cup 2 would be better for the dry
2 - tire reviewed on February 13, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a BMW M140i (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 13 spirited miles
Excellent in the dry although I could break traction in my 140i took a few cycles on launch control to hook up without spinning the wheels. Brilliant all round tire, I occasionally track my car and it handles surprising well with fantastic tread wear. My car seems to wear the outer edges first but that's due to the standard control arms I've read M4 control arms fix this with more camber. In the wet they are pretty good for a summer tire I always take it steady in wet weather anyway I'd advise anyone to do the same. They are noisy on the motorway. Country roads are the same however the grip is fantastic they really stick to the road and don't skip as you bounce from undulations in the road.
Overall highly recommend.
0 - tire reviewed on January 5, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
they are expensive
0 - tire reviewed on December 12, 2019   
Given 73% while driving a Nissan 370Z (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 11,000 spirited miles
Replace the set of PS2, these tires had more grip in both dry and wet than the PS2 and significantly better than the original RE050A. Quicker turn in and better road feedback, very grippy but it did give me a feel of sudden lost of grip at the limit than the PS2. Good fun on the track. They were also more quiet and less harsh even I had 98 at front and 100 loadings at the back. The PSS triggered the traction control to step in earlier than other sets, I got a habit of turning off the traction control when i started the engine.

My set didn't last very long though, had them for around 18ks before replacing them because cracks appeared on the surface of both rear tires and at similar locations - cracks along the circumference on the inner tread blocks. My mechanics said the tires were delaminating. Tires made in week 13 of 2016, so about 3yrs old and no more.
4 - tire reviewed on October 2, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Ford Focus ST250 (235/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I bought this tire, because I like to drive for weekend on country roads. My focus st now has grip, safety and the stearing is on the next level. Great job Michelin !!
0 - tire reviewed on June 15, 2019   
Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
PSS are great tires which replaced front pair of PS4. PSS's brought huge improvement in all aspect comparing to PS4's. Wear wise PSS's are by far better than PS4's. After 8000 miles tires are still in very good condition. I love PSS's.

Sporty driving is excellent especially having PSS's in front.

Only downside on PSS is that manufacturer doesn't offer size 265/35/18 that I can fit on rear. Therefore PS2 fitted instead.
3 - tire reviewed on May 31, 2019