Michelin Pilot Sport PS2

The Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport and this tire has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Super Sport.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 87%
Wear 80%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 88%

Tire review data from 151 tire reviews averaging 87% over 2,712,203 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport PS2 is ranked 5th of 63 Summer Max Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2010 Sport Auto Ultra High Performance Tire Test - 5th of 11 tires

View Full Test >>

2010 Auto Bild Ultra High Performance Tire Test - 6th of 6 tires

View Full Test >>

2010 EVO FWD Tire Test - 4th of 9 tires

  • Positive - Giving the fastest time in the dry handling test the Michelin is the sportiest tire of the group. Excellent steering feel makes this a tire for drivers
  • Negative - Slightly weak aquaplaning results and the sporty nature of the tire gives a slightly harsh ride
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
255/40 R17 94Y N3 E A 70 10.75kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL N3 E A 69 10.31kgs
205/50 R17 89Y N3 E A 71 9.53kgs
235/50 R17 96Y N1 E B 70 11.40kgs
205/55 R17 95Y XL N1 E B 69 9.74kgs
285/30 R18 93Y N3 E A 74 11.99kgs
295/30 R18 98Y XL N4 E A 74 12.05kgs
295/30 R18 98Y XL N3 E A 74 12.05kgs
315/30 R18 98Y N4 E A 74 13.33kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL MO E A 70 9.99kgs
255/35 R18 90Y * F B 70 13.12kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL N3 E A 72 11.79kgs
265/35 R18 93Y N3 F A 70 11.54kgs
275/35 R18 95Y   F A 70 13.68kgs
295/35 R18 99Y N4 E A 74 13.00kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL MO E A 70 9.82kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL N3 E A 69 10.32kgs
225/40 R18 88Y * F B 69 10.89kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL N4 E B 69 10.65kgs
245/40 R18 93Y * F B 70 10.75kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 69 12.20kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL N4 E A 70 11.98kgs
265/40 R18 97Y * E B 70 11.59kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL N2 E B 74 12.57kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL N2 E B 74 13.17kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL N2 E B 70 10.22kgs
235/35 R19 87Y N2 F B 70 9.88kgs
265/35 R19 94Y N2 E A 70 11.56kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL * E A 72 12.26kgs
285/35 R19 99Y * E A 74 13.30kgs
245/40 R19 94Y K2 F B 70 11.28kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL DT1 E B 70 11.40kgs
255/40 R19 96Y * E B 70 12.50kgs
285/40 R19 103Y K2 E B 74 13.27kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL RO1 E B 70 11.62kgs
305/35 R20 104Y K1 C B 74 13.73kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL MO E A 72 13.74kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL   C A 70 11.54kgs
275/25 R22 93Y XL   E A 73 12.45kgs
295/25 R22 97Y XL   E A 74 13.17kgs
255/30 R22 95Y XL   E A 70 11.66kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2

2020-04-11 - Hi has the Michelin pilot sport PS2 got wheel protection MSF ? Many thanks ANDY

Rim protection can vary based on size and should be noted on the listing by the tire seller.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Pilot Sport PS2 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 $210.65 - $235.99 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 $300.75 - $300.75 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 15 tire sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Audi A6 TDI Quotro 3.0 S Line (255/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Great Tires
87 - tire reviewed on June 28, 2015   
Given 87% while driving a Porsche 987 Boxster S (235/40 R18 N) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
On a boxster s - best tires you can buy - absolutely awesome for track days & fast road use
29 - tire reviewed on September 18, 2017   
Given 70% while driving a Ford fiesta st (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Got these tires to replace the potenzas on my fiesta ST. The drop in cabin road noise was instantly noticeable and the handling in the wet also improved remarkably. Overall the driving experience has been awesome with these on and I've never felt anything less than stuck to the road.

However, this has come at a price which is needing to replace both front tires after only 10,000 kms, most of which was highway driving! Love these tires but not sure if I'll buy again at $500 every 8 months
14 - tire reviewed on April 23, 2016   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 spirited miles
When i bought an Alfa for city usage i had chosen the Conti Sport Contact 5, but unfortunately not the XL version, so despite the 30mm lowered Bilstein struts in curves there was always some typical swing, so after a year i have given the Contis to my ex (to an Astra K 1.4t) and i decided to chose something better and will no make compromises. I have found this and i love them. Simply unbelievable how the tires completely transformed the car. No swing, no jelly feeling, but very punctual steering, i can put the car into curves without breaking, it does not slip, there is no rubbing, the car just turns strictly and accurate. Works absolutely together w/ the chassis. Braking is easy to adjust, quick manoeuvres and forced slides in corners are fun to control. It grips everywhere, if You make it adrift, you can feel how far You can go. I knew this feeling from my Bridgestone Potenza S001 on my BMW, but Michelins grab the asphalt quicker. After 2 years it shows no signs of aging, no remarks of cracking or else. As a typical summer UHP tire, it lives above 17-20 Celsius (under 15 it gets stiffer), but from 17-20 it behaves harmonic and brilliant. Very confident in the rain, bit noisier then my winter Good Year UG8 (which is a silent winter tire) , but who cares? I love how the car behaves, by now it has proven that it was worth the money. I will definitely buy a new set if possible, thread is still around 5-6mm. Highly recommended if You love to drive quick and want to get the potential out of your car. Comfortable means: comparing to stiff chassis and to a superb performance, it has comfort and it brings in every situation what it definitely should. Spirited means; my inner city consumption is 10-14l/100km.
0 - tire reviewed on April 30, 2021   
Given 93% while driving a Porsche Boxster 2.5 (255/40 R17 W) on mostly town for 25,000 spirited miles
These were fantastic tires, could not fault them , had them on a old astra 2.2 a while ago, same again very very good, shame they have gone up so much in price, now over £150 each yet in 2016 i got a pair for £200.
7 - tire reviewed on June 7, 2020   
Want the best all season tire? Click here!
Given 86% while driving a BMW 130i M (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 14,350 spirited miles
I had a set on BMW 130i, 205/50 R17 front, 225/45 R17 rear. Those were N3 Porsche specification. I was very happy with them, perfectly balanced tires for a weekend car and spirited drives. During a trackday it will degrade quite rapidly with high temperatures, but this is a road tire - and there it is working perfectly. Later I changed them for Pilot Sport 4 - PS2s have harder sidewall in comparison, so you can keep lower tire pressures, with PS4s you need to add a little bit - otherwise you loose a lot of steering feel. Very very good tire.
8 - tire reviewed on April 15, 2020   
Given 70% while driving a Nissan 370Z (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
These tires replaced the RE050A on my car. Initially it was very similar to the RE050A until driven these on the tracks. Definitely better dry grip, better feedback and better initial turn in than the bridgestone. Would say not as sticky as the PSS replacing these PS2, but I like the linear feedback during turns from these tires. The PS2 on my car didn't perform well in wet, felt wet grip was lacking. They were also noisier than the RE050A and had a harsher ride. These tires lasted around 24ks on my car, no complain.
4 - tire reviewed on October 2, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (265/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
New pair of Pilot Sport 2 265/35/18 replaced rear Pilot Sport 4 same size. PS2's have lost of grip on dry and wet plus very good response. On sporty mode feels very good as well, however not so much as great Pilot Super Sport which replaced PS2. Unfortunately manufacturer does offer PSS in size of 265/35/18.
Have driven 2000 miles on PS2 so far, they are very good tires very good feel. On wear point of view it's too early to say not a lot of mileage. Hopefully they will last as long as PS4 before 27000 miles.
0 - tire reviewed on May 31, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 530i M sport (275/30 R19 W) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
Best tires money can buy!! Exellent
5 - tire reviewed on April 10, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Porsche 996 911 Carrera 2 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I have had two sets of these with differing rear size though.
- Initial set 225/40 18 + 265/35 18
- second set 225/40 18 + 285/30 18

The first set came with the car and did not have much life left. They were noisy, especially the rear tires. Handling was good. The new set feels more comfortable and handling is at least as good as with the first set.

I can compare these to Michelin PSS and Potenza S02A. Comparing the Michelins the PS2 feel more linear and abrasive and PSS more rubbery. Herecy or not but my favorites are the S02A because they give more linear feel provide grip with lesser slip angle. They have the sharpest turn in and easiest (most predictable) transition to slide.
4 - tire reviewed on March 21, 2019   
Given 94% while driving a Porsche Cayman (265/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Replaced Pirelli’s P zero Rossos , improvement in the dry. Very good tire. Would recommend.
4 - tire reviewed on September 24, 2018   
Chevrolet (235/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,000 spirited miles
Only dry driving in the Middle East. Excellent grip and feel . No information on wear rate yet.
1 - tire reviewed on July 15, 2017   
Given 81% while driving a Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 (265/35 R18 N) on mostly country roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Great tire. Had the N2's before these and PS2's are a huge improvement. On my 2001 Boxster I got 16000 miles on the rears, so I just ordered two. I love these.
I had the Perelli PZero's which I through away after a few thousand miles.
These handle extremely well. Haven't been in the rain much to make a comment.
Braking is awesome.
5 - tire reviewed on June 5, 2017   
Given 87% while driving a Porsche Boxter S (265/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I have had my Porsche Boxster 3.2S for 7 years and have always used these tires. The mileage is now just under 60,000.
In pretty much every respect this is a fantastic car and a lot of that is down to how it handles, especially around bends but also on motorways and faster roads. I can't be that subjective because I have not tried the car on any other tires but I think that a lot the driving enjoyment comes from having absolute faith in the tires and the Michelin Pilot Sport 2 has always provided that. In every weather and temperature condition (apart from snow where the car is useless!) they stick like glue even under extreme provocation.

There has been the odd tiny sideways slip/slide around a wet roundabout but that may well be to do with oil on the road or something. I have had some pretty scary moments in other cars with different tires, including a BMW M5 on Falken tires, which may give you an indication of how spirited my driving can be and how good the Michelin tires really are.

My only two complaints are cost and wear - If I get 10,000 - 12,000 miles out of the rear tires I am doing well and I wear them right down to the in-built depth gauge without any noticeable impact on performance. They are also the most expensive tire option for my car which until recently had a fairly low choice because I want the same tires all round and it has different size front and back tires. The choice has increased a lot over the years and so now the cheapest branded option I can get are Toyo Proxes T1 sport which are not far off half the price, e.g. feb 2017 Michelins all round cost £844 but Toyos cost £490. I may well try them next "just to see"!
6 - tire reviewed on February 15, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Subaru 04 WRX (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Stick like Velcro on my Impreza. No heart stopping moments when putting the power down and no squirms or slides in the corners. Very sticky compound and soft when you get some heat in them.
Too early to comment on wear but I've been told they are good.
1 - tire reviewed on June 7, 2015