Nokian WeatherProof

The Nokian WeatherProof is a Premium Touring All Season tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Nokian All Weather Plus and this tire has been replaced by the Nokian SeasonProof.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 82%
Wear 74%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 80%
Snow Grip 95%
Ice Grip 95%

Tire review data from 26 tire reviews averaging 85% over 220,414 miles driven.

The WeatherProof is ranked 8th of 41 All Season Premium Touring tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2020 ADAC SUV All Season Tire Test - 3rd of 9 tires

  • Positive - Satisfactory on snow.
  • Negative - Weak on dry roads, relatively loud.
View Full Test >>

2020 All Season Tire Market Overview - 32 Tire Braking Test - 22nd of 33 tires

View Full Test >>

Summer, All Season, All Weather, Winter, Nordic Winter and Studded Tires Tested - 3rd of 6 tires

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/65 R14 86T   C B 68  
175/70 R14 84T   C B 68  
185/55 R15 82H   C B 68  
175/65 R15 84T   C B 68  
195/70 R15 104R   C E 73  
205/60 R16 92H   C B 69  
215/65 R16 109T   C E 73  
205/75 R16 113R   C C 73  
225/45 R17 94V   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98V   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98V   C B 69  
225/55 R17 97V   C A 69  
225/40 R18 92V   C A 69  
225/45 R18 95V   C A 69  
235/45 R18 98V   C B 70  
245/45 R18 100V   C B 72  
245/40 R19 98V   C B 72  

Questions and Answers for the Nokian WeatherProof

2016-05-05 - Is there a good 195/50 R16 84V ALL WEATHER TYRE for a Toyota Yaris ? I think I've checked all the reviews and can't find one listed. Thanks

The Kleber Quadraxer is the best reviewed all season tire we have listed in 195/50 R16


2016-08-09 - Wanting to replace with all season on VXL Meriva without the premium price tag 185-65 R15. Would this tire be recommended?

Yes, the Nokian WeatherProof is an excellent all season tire and should be better priced than The Michelin and Goodyear options, however we currently have it listed just £2 cheaper than the Michelin CrossClimate in 185/65 R15


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Nokian WeatherProof Reviews

Given 78% while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (215/50 R16) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
So far run 5000k miles and found them to be as good as Wintracs for winter conditions with excellent cold dry grip, cold wet grip and frosty conditions, and hard packed snow. More recently with warmer dry roads I've found their limit rather more easily than I'd expected, considering these are touted as 'all season' tires. They are quiet compared to the summer tires I changed from but that's no surprise considering those are Bridgestone Potenzas with a 40% profile. Straight line stability at high speed is not as good as I would expect from a good 'all season' tire - not as good as the Vredestein Quatrac, for example.
150 - tire reviewed on April 3, 2016   
Given 83% while driving a Renault Megane (205/60 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
I live in Ankara (Turkey). Both summer (35-40 celsius) and winter(subzero degrees and icy roads) driving conditions are extreme here. When i was buying my car, i directly replaced OEM Bridgestone B250s with these in order to avoid an additional set of winter tires. Tires are just perfect in winter, like a descent set of premium winter tires. In summer, even in the direct sun (40 degrees), they do not create any itchy sound while hard braking or accelerating but they just offer average performance and lower limits comparison to premium summer tires.

Overall, Nokians are winter-biased (not-suprisingly) four season tires that can also survive in summers. They are just opposite of summer-biased Michelin CrossClimates. I think my next choice will be Goodyear Vector Gen 2s which, I believe, offer more balanced performance between summer and winter.
51 - tire reviewed on July 14, 2016   
Given 93% while driving a Audi A4 Avant (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 1,000 easy going miles
Stunning in the wet and on snow. Dry grip isn't what it was on the summer tires and there's a lot of traction control used.
25 - tire reviewed on December 3, 2016   
Have you driven on the Nokian WeatherProof tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian WeatherProof? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Nokian WeatherProof >

Latest Nokian WeatherProof Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Renault Scenic (215/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 42,000 easy going miles

Mounted on a scenic xmod ( front wheel drive, bit more ground clearance and a snazzier traction control ) I wanted to access the mountains in the snow but not the expense of 4 wheel drive.
These tires have been remarkable, I've had them on for just over two years and 42 thousand miles. Current tread depth is 4/5mm. I rotated them in January.
Dry grip has been fine, wet grip excellent. Comfort and noise also excellent. I do get 2 or 3 mpg less than the summers they replaced though.
The most impressive aspect though must be their snow and ice performance, I love to get out into the mountains in winter and these tires have pulled me up steep snow filled roads in the Cairngorms with ease. Most gloatingly past a Range rover sport who was stuck spinning all four of his daft 22s.
No regrets at all and I will definitely buy again.
10 - tire reviewed on April 6, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (225/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
Replacing Hankook Ventus Prime 2 that lasted just over a year and 11000 miles
Fitted two of these Nokian Weatherproof SUV on the front in February 2017 - Garage was surprised at my choice telling me it was a winter tire for driving in snow. Well that wasn't going to stop me, I'd done my research and was happy with my choice.
Instantly transformed the ride of our car. Smooth and quiet, and pretty good feedback through the wheel too.
They've seen me through wet winters, the beast from the east with 6 or so inches of snow and two long summer drives across France.
I can't fault them in any way, but if I was pushed, I would say it was the signs of wall cracking at around 3.5/4mm.
They are now at 2.5/3mm and I can still push them hard on wet roads and feel confident they're going to put me where I want to be.
20 months and 22000 miles of solid secure driving - I'm happy with that.
Only downside is trying to find them in my size to replace all four. No online retailers seem to do them.
10 - tire reviewed on November 6, 2018   
Want the best performance tire? Click here!
Given 60% while driving a (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
Although thesr tires are excellent in terms of grip (dry/wet/snow), I definitely do not recommend them aa they wear REALLY fast. Had these (date of production 44/16) fitted on my Nisaan Qashqai J11 and lasted less than 2 years with some 40K km.
24 - tire reviewed on October 22, 2018   
Given 41% while driving a Volvo XC60 (235/65 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Had great faith in these tires although this proved to be unfounded. Fitted to an XC60 terrible wear/short life, wore done within one year I will no longer buy this brand.on the fronts at 12k miles. Rears lasted a little longer although also wore out within the second year at approx 22k. I would not recommend these tires if you after longevity.
18 - tire reviewed on July 30, 2018   
Given 88% while driving a BMW X1 2.0 Xdrive (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
I was in a situation where I needed to replace both my winter tire set and my summer tire set. I came across these Nokian Weatherproofs and realised I would only have to buy one set, a considerable saving. I am really pleased with the tires, not much difference from the previous Pirelli runflats in the dry, but better grip in the wet but more comfortable. The beast from the East gave me a chance to evaluate their performance in snowy conditions and I was again pleased with the grip and braking properties, as good as the dedicated winter tires that I had previously. When in for servicing, the mechanic at the local garage said 'Those are good tires, all vehicles like yours should have them as standard'. With the weather that we have in the UK, it seems like a no-brainer for everyone to use decent all weather tires like these Nokians. If they continue to impress, I will fit them again in the future.
9 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2018   
Given 83% while driving a Subaru Subaru forester 2.0 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
Just been through the so called ‘beast from the east’ in Devon with our Subaru Forester driving through 6” of fresh powder snow/slush/ice and through 2 to 3 foot snow drifts, country lanes, up hill down dale. Preformed brilliantly with tread thats a couple millimetres from the bar. Never felt them struggling even with hill starts.
As you would expect with a winter bias all season tire they do not perform as well as summer tires in the on dry roads, but are perfectly adequate as long as you expect the forthcoming understeer. Superb in wet weather and inspires confidence with no noticeable aquaplaning.
Getting rather noisy now as they are at end of life and need to be replaced within the next couple of months. No noticeable road noise whilst had decent depth.
Excellent tire, will be buying again, in combination with our Scooby they felt unstoppable in snow!
8 - tire reviewed on March 6, 2018   
Given 92% while driving a Peugeot Partner combi (185/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Brilliant ! I used to put winter tires on November to March. This is my first set of Nokian Weatherproof's and they performed Brilliantly uphill downhill 6" of fresh snow / Hard pack snow / ice No problem. The only problem 'The Beast from The East' caused was '4x4's getting in the way !.
The rolling resistance is low (B) so will have no problem keeping these excellent tires on all year.
Common sense would have these tires as standard on all Vehichles.......and make learning to drive part of getting a licence.......!.
When you purchase a set of these excellent tires just be aware that when its icy and you are going downhill and slowing for a junction/obstacle that car behind is likley to rear end you unless they have fitted NOKIAN WEATHERPROOF'S
5 - tire reviewed on March 6, 2018   
Given 82% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215/55 R16 H) on for 3,000 miles
Bought them out of economical reasons.
They feel good on the road, not as quiet as I was hoping for.
First snow and ice this year have showed no problem at all, I have yet too see the Electronic Stability Control light.
The summer has been good but the tires felt a little too soft with some corner handling small surprises. Very nice handling on the Austrian roads.
Simply put they are the best All Season Tire I ever experienced.
I wish they were a little more quiet and no sogginess on the side wall.
They also look very good.
1 - tire reviewed on December 25, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Subaru Forester (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
We are on our third Forester and have always been happy with the all season tires that came with the car unbtil this latest one. We drive over the North Yorkshire moors which can get snowy at times. The first time we hit snow with Geolander tires I was horrified with the poor grip. I then discovered they were a different design to the ones Subaru used to fit and were in fact a semi offf road tire for dirt tracks. They were rubbish in snow. Researched and came up with the Nokian weatherproof. The Forester now behaves itself in snow with good grip and exceptionally so in really wet conditions. I have not noticed grip being poor in summer. They are wearing reasonably well although the front tires wore more on one side but that is probably tracking. I will be buying replacement weatherproofs soon.
3 - tire reviewed on December 20, 2017   
Given 81% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 14 spirited miles
I posted a review in January 2016 and they were great tires with a good 6mm of tread left after 14k miles. I've had to replace them with a set of Michelin Crossclimate + as the Nokian's started to crack around the outside edges and tread. Shame really as they never let me down.
23 - tire reviewed on November 23, 2017   
Lexus (235/55 R18 V) on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
Put four of these on in January, replacing Kumho products which were unimpressive apart from being long lasting. There is not a wide choice of all seasons tires in this size, the much regarded Michelin Cross Climate are not available. I have to date been most impressed with the Nokians, they are very quiet and give good steering feedback, grip in dry and wet is excellent. I do stress that I am not a "press on" driver, if I was then I would not drive a big SUV, so I have not explored the handling limitations of the tire. I have not measured the tread wear but such appears to be minimal. I cannot comment on the performance on snow and frost as I have not driven in such conditions.
In my view the tire is well suited to my vehicle and I would certainly buy them again.
4 - tire reviewed on October 11, 2017   
Given 80% while driving a Fiat Panda (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 400 average miles
Good winter tire.loads of confidence.
Sidewall bit soggy.so it looks like the tire is out of air.
Looks great to*thread*.
And you can spare your summer tires longer..
A real thumb's up!
14 - tire reviewed on January 14, 2017