Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

The Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 provides improved grip for better handling on snow. The large amount of sipes at the center of the tire’s tread provide for better snow biting, improving handling on snow by 5% in comparison to the previous Vector 4Seasons Gen-2.

Goodyear’s Dry Handling technology provides strong crown and shoulder blocks that reduce the deformation of the tire during heavy maneuvers improving dry braking by 5%.

The Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 also maintains its predecessor’s impressive level of aquaplaning resistance thanks to Goodyear’s Aqua Control technology, which uses deep and wide grooves to improve water dispersion.

The new Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 was introduced as of April 2020, with 65 new SKUs to be progressively introduced in 2020 and further SKUs to follow in 2021 and 2022.

This tire replaced the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 82%
Wear 87%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 90%
Snow Grip 86%
Ice Grip 79%

Tire review data from 36 tire reviews averaging 84% over 264,625 miles driven.

The Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 is ranked 6th of 57 All Season Premium Touring tires.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Latest Tire Test Results

2023 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test - 2nd of 12 tires

  • Positive - Very well balanced tire, excellent in dry handling, the best in wet handling with very short wet braking distances, good snow performance, best comfort on test, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Average dry braking.
  • Overall - In second place overall just 0.2% ahead of the Hankook was the Goodyear Vector 4Season Gen-3. Like with the Hankook, the Goodyear was a solid product in the dry, the best around the wet handling lap, but it did edge out the hankook in both snow performance and rolling resistance. The Goodyear and the Golf worked together beautifully in all conditions, if it just had a little more dry braking, it would probably have won the test, it's another no compromise performance from Goodyear, something they're very strong at.

View Full Test >>

2023 All Season Tire 35 Set Shootout - 12th of 35 tires

View Full Test >>

2023 TUV Report All Season Test - 4th of 4 tires

  • Overall - The Vector 4Seasons Gen3 demonstrated a balanced performance across different conditions. It achieved 1st place in the snow circle test and performed relatively well in other tests, although it ranked 4th in dry braking and subjective snow handling
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

2020-07-02 - I bought a brand new set of this tires for my Audi A3, size 225/45 R17, to replace my 7 year old winter tires. Now I can hear a very obvious bumping noise coming from tires, at about 40 to 50km/h. I can kind of feel it on the steering wheel too. Never heard that before with any winter nor all-season tires, let alone summer tires. Two separate garages checked the car, including Audi, and said they could no find anything wrong, and that the noise may be normal for those tires. Can this be the case? Has anyone had the same experience with these tires? I am really quite unhappy with them.

This is certainly not the fault of the tires, unless they've been stored incorrectly and have gone "out of round" or been damaged internally. I'd keep complaining to the garage! One option would be to have the fronts and rears swapped to see if the noise moves, and if so you know there's a wheel / tire issue.


2020-10-31 - Been looking at these to fit on a Gen 10 Honda Civic 1.5 turbo which is a reasonably quick car and has good handling, I am just a little concerned regarding dry braking, do these tire make an appreciable difference compared to the OE tires which are Michelin Primacy 3?

Check out our all season tire test which has a reference summer tire in to show you the difference between this and a summer tire.


2021-05-25 - I have to fit my Hyundai Tucson with new tires. I have to choose between Goodyear 4season Gen 3 and Michelin crossclimate plus. My main focus is on treadlife and dry and wet performance. What should I choose?

The two tires seem to be relatively similar in wear, the Michelin better in the dry and the Goodyear has the edge in the wet. If you've not seen it, check out our all season tire test from 2020 as that should give you all the details.


2022-10-20 - Is the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 also available in a RunFlat version?

Yes in certain sizes there are runflat versions of the Vector 4Seasons Gen-3


2022-11-23 - Hello! I been choosing new tires for Ford Kuga MK1 SUv with 4x4 120kW. I checked all tests which i found on yuour website and i want to buy Goodyear Vector 4Seasons G3, but i found there are two types of tires - Vector 4Seasons G3 with index H99 which is still good for me and Vector 4Seasons G3 SUV with index 103Y, my question is do i need to buy SUV variant or should be good the first variant? Because on SUV variant there are not that much tests like the first variant. Thanks

The overall performance of the non-suv and suv versions should be very similar. If the Kuga is ok with a 99 load rating then pick whatever is cheaper.


2023-07-06 - Just imported these tires from UK to AUS to use as my winter tires. Now moving to the USA for 3 years. Put about 10000kms on them. Think they will store well for 3 years?

As long as you store properly, you should be ok for another year of use after your return. Make sure they're kept out of direct sunlight and if possible keep them inside where there isn't extreme temperatures.


2023-07-08 - Are these tires any good on black ice?

Generally no tires outside of soft compound / nordic winter tires perform on ice, however of the all seasons I would expect these to be one of the better ones.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,750 spirited miles
Almost time to switch back to my summer tires. So, here’s my impression of my “mild climate winter” tires. I used to drive on Continental WinterContact TS860 winter tires, but last winters, I noticed that I almost never drive on snow. And in spring and fall, when temperatures jump up and down, I was sometimes driving on my winter tires at temperatures around 20°C. So now, I followed your advice and chose All Season tires for the winter season. I drove them for about 6.000 km now in temperatures between -2 and +16 °C, in the dry and in lots of rain.
Just after switching to the Vector 4S, I had the same feeling as when I changed to winter tires: I felt a bit unsecure while driving: compared to my summer tires (Continental PremiumContact 6) the road contact of the V4S is noticeably less direct. Better than a winter tire, but worse than a summer tire. Once you realise the grip is actually present, the confidence comes back quickly. In fact, in terms of safety, I see it as a good thing: because it is so much fun to go quickly with the PC6, I sometimes feel tempted to go just that bit faster. The V4S isn’t that inviting, so I drive slower. Safe in winter, fun in summer, I can live with that.
And in terms of grip, the V4S does an excellent job: In the dry, it is more than sufficient. The steering feedback is obviously less than with the PC6, but still more than enough to know what’s going on. In the wet, I was impressed by the grip on near freezing wet surfaces and by the aquaplaning resistance. And when the tires start sliding, it all goes very gradually and controllable. Such a safe and stable tire! In all aspects better and more pleasant than the TS860, which to be honest didn’t do bad at all for a winter tire in the dry and in the wet.
Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to test the tires on real snow. On muddy roads, light snow, frost and in salted snow/ice slush however, the V4S provides sufficient grip to steer, accelerate and brake without problems. In such conditions, other cars on summer tires are the biggest risks one can encouter anyway, so I drive extra carefully then.
Comfort (noise and suspension) is just fine. Slightly better than the TS860 and way better than the PC6.
I noticed an increase in fuel consumption of about 0,2 l/100 km when driving in similar conditions as with the summer tires.
In terms of wear, the tires lost about 0.4 mm. tread depth (almost no difference between front and rear), which is in line with the AutoBild wear test (70.000 km). If I replace the tires at the minimum winter tire depth (4 mm.), I will be able to drive about 50.000 km on them. Very reasonable (My PC6 front tires will last about 30.000 km).
In short: thank you Goodyear for getting me safely through the winter season. And now let’s get the Conti’s back on!
Helpful 596 - tire reviewed on March 24, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Lexus RC300H (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I have used Vector 4 Season Gen 1 and now Gen 2 on my partners FWD Toyota Yaris. Also Michelin Cross Climates on a FWD Volvo and RWD MX5 and Cross Climate + on a RWD Lexus over the last 7 years. In the South of the UK and when i lived in Cumbria.

In past 9 months I bought a Lexus RC300H which was fitted with Bridgestones and was hugely annoyed to find that there was no all season tire available for the rear tire size (which are different to the front tire size). In winter specification you could only get rear tires of one compound / year and front tires of another compound / year with the same manufacturer so I was in a huge dilemma because although I live in the South in Oxfordshire I very frequently experience severe cold, icy and sometimes snowy roads due to the countryside location and also the height above sea level that I have to travel through every day to and from work. In fact where I live is often recorded as the coldest place in England .

So following lots of calculations / checks I decided on going from 265 to 255 on the rears and that enabled me to have a choice of all season tire that would be the same compound etc on all 4 wheels.

From personal experience of driving tens of thousands of miles on both brands I always felt that the Goodyear tires were better on snow and frosty inclines during severe weather compared to the Michelins. Although the Goodyears were on FWD cars with narrower tires which helps they 'felt' far better and even more noticable in the cold wet weather. I think this is because Michelin are a summer tire with winter capability whereas Goodyear are a winter tire with summer capability.

On this car my plan is to swap back to my Bridgestones for Spring and Summer so I did not need an all season tire that would work well during summer months so therefore opted for the Goodyear to get the best option for winter and i am so pleased that i did!

The Lexus RC300H whilst it has its 12V battery and more importantly Lithium battery packs at the rear below the boot it is known for being very tail happy in any cold / cold damp conditions. Well it has been completely the opposite with the Goodyears, I have now driven 2,000 miles on them since October through torrential downpours, muddy areas and extreme cold (this week been between -8 to +4 for 5 days so far) with lots of ice. I have been driving out on country roads from 06:30 @-4c to -8c and after 20:00 when it has been -2c to -5c each day and also at these times going up and down a private road that has a 1:6 slope with a hair pin bend and no gritting on it and it has been absolutely perfect. Not a single trigger of the LSD or other safety features has occurred, even more impressive is that I have witnessed two FWD cars one a Fiesta the other a Golf that I know have summer tires on them that have not been able to get up the slope at all during these temps.

In the crazy torrential rain that we have had they cut through the water so easily, you get a bit of noise from the water spraying out but it doesn't matter because you can feel it is sure footed and secure with no drift or aquaplaning ever experienced. I thought they would be good in the wet as the ones on my partner Yaris are superb.

Regarding noise in general use they are as quiet as the summer Bridgestones and so far they do not use anymore fuel in standard temperature either as I track / keep a spreadsheet of all fuel usage

My Michelins came a little unstuck on the slope mentioned above on my previous RWD Lexus and I sometimes had to park at top and walk down as otherwise could not get out in the morning but no such issue with the Goodyear Vector 4 Season Gen3. I have not been able to try them in anything other than very very light snow but am very confident they will be far superior to a summer tire.

They seem to be wearing evenly but I would expect this of a car not 5 years old and only 22,000 miles on the clock, although it is a very heavy coupe at 1,900kg.

I am so impressed with them that I am reconsidering if I will change back to the Bridgestones come Spring time. The only issue is those tires have only done 2,000 miles on them so I would rather swap to wear them out but once finished I think I will keep the Goodyears on all year around.
Helpful 218 - tire reviewed on January 19, 2024
Given 88% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R14) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
These tires have been fantastic on my MK1 Toyota Yaris.
I was going to purchase Michelin Cross Climate, but the Goodyears were on a special offer at my tire depot, £50 each, which I think is amazing value for a high quality branded product.
I’ve been driving around the Derbyshire Dales now for a year or so on these tires.
They are exceptionally quiet & comfortable. They inspire confidence with their superb grip, which seems better in the Wet. I’ve driven in 30 degree heat and minus 10 degrees too. The tires grip and steer and remain compliant and safe in every condition I’ve driven through.
These are the first All Season tires I’ve ever used. I can confidently say, this tire is the most remarkable thing I’ve used in 40 years of driving. I will always use these tires from now onwards.
I must add, these are not a Sports Tire, but for general usage they are Great.
Helpful 42 - tire reviewed on October 23, 2023
Have you driven on the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 >

Latest Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Mercedes Benz (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
First I experienced, that it is very comfortable, and silent, compared to my previous Pirelli winter, and not far from my summer GY asy6 (which is the best , so even close to that is a great thing). The dry grip is pretty fine, did not force it much, but very confident in fast corners. The only recognisable thing, is that the brake distance could be bigger (again...compared to the best UUHP summer)

Then came the monsoon rain. The grip is pure magic. No aquaplan, superb grip, and I tried to drift...cornering with full throttle as a test, but it just grips like hell LOVE it!

Ok, you can say, that it's nothing. So:
There was a giant snowstorm, snow everywhere, fresh... the hardest condition. But the tire was solid and behaved exactly like a top winter tire. During the 4-hour trip I was one of the quickest cars on the roads. Which were fully covered in snow, and ice, constantly falling... so fresh snow on ice as well. I even wanted some fun, turned the ESP off, and made some idiotic moves. And the tire showed some magic. After about 50-60cm of tail. moving, it suddenly gripped/stopped...the lateral grip is magical.

I'm actually mesmerized by this. Goodyear is a killer. Leader tires for affordable prices. :D
If you want something that is an awesome allrounder, then Vector!!!
I use it as a winter tire, since here it's more like a cold spring with rare snowing days; but if you dont care about the last 1% of dry grip, then no summer is needed next to it.
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on January 2, 2024
Given 90% while driving a Opel (245/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 30,000 average miles
These tires are fitted on a large Opel Insignia, the handling is amazing in all circumstances and driving in mountain roads with thick snow and ice is no issue. They are probably not as good on dry roads in the summer but they remain very good compared to others. They last at least 50,000 KM for the rear tires and 45,000 KM for the front tires, as I drive around 50,000KM a year I need to change them once a year. I predominantly drive on secondary mountain roads this is very demanding for tires the rest is done on highways I would honestly consider that you are driving predominantly on highways at standard speed (130 KPH) you can expect to achieve 60,000 km with the four tires (do not forget to permut them though). They are much better than the continental all seasons I have on my mercedes EQE. Companring both tires I would say that the handling on dry roads is better with the continental but once it gets wet/snowy or icy the Goodyear is a lot better. From what I can see with the mercedes although it is a lot heavier than the opel, the continental will probably need replacement after 30,000 KM. I wish I could fit the Good Years on the mercedes but it is not allowed on this car only mchelin and continental all seasons tires have been registered.
Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on December 21, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 76% while driving a Peugeot 3008 GT line 2.0 Blue HDI (225/50 R18) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Excellent tires, superb in the wet, cold weather bias out weights weaknesses in higher temperatures. I have used these tires previously on a Skoda yeti size 225 55 17, highly recommended.
Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on December 2, 2023
Given 73% while driving a SEAT Leon (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Quiet, Comfortable and with plenty of grip and good feel in all kinds of weather
Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on November 15, 2023
Given 70% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 1.5TSI 150HP (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
OK, I drove on these tires from Nov 22 to May 23 - approx 5K. Have switched back to my Goodyear Efficient Grip Perf 2. Summer tire simply superior in warmer conditions.
Had a chance to drive the 4seasons in dry, wet, snow and ice.
They are amazing in the wet, cutting through water really well, like a pair of scissors!
In the dry they handled better than I thought they would. All the corners I take at speed in my summer tires were handled well by the 4seasons, certainly for everyday driving. Just felt like I was driving on foam when pushed hard.
Drove on side streets when covered in ice. Reversing and turning on a slope not good at all, tires spun frantically. Didn't feel confident in the ice at all, although a voice in my head kept telling me they must be better than summer tires!
Had a good few days of snow where I live this winter (Perthshire). Couldn't wait to try them out! Felt much better than summer tires, no surprise there, and they did grip when turning a sharp corner, although sometimes it took a brief second for the grip to kick in. Was disappointed that when stopping at junction my ABS kicked in and juddered, failing to stop in time. Just as well no traffic coming the other way.

Overall, for general driving in winter I'm happy with them and in November will get them back on my car. Not sure I'd want to keep them on during a hot summer, too spongy.

I also experienced my first puncture with the 4seasons; 3 days after I bought them my front passenger tire was completely flat. Maybe not as robust as I'd hoped.

I've owned a set of CrossClimate+ before and was happy to keep them on all year, not so the 4seasons.

I would buy again, but I'll definately consider Michelin CC2 next time.
Helpful 42 - tire reviewed on May 17, 2023
Given 63% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
I had the Vredestein Quatrac Pro before and it was a perfect tire. Hoped that the Gen-3 would be at least as good as them but so far i´m really annoyed. Grip is perfect, but they produce an annoying noise level, are rumbling at almost any speed. My dealer had checked them twice, even balanced them again. Would i buy them again? No, which is a shame as they are really nice to drive. If i don´t get used to the noise (hope it goes away some day) i will change back to Vredestein in the autumn.
Helpful 42 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (225/45 R16) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Bought a full set of these tires for my Freelander 2 based on test results. They suit the car well - the outstanding grip is in the wet, which is arguably the quality you need for maximum safety , with great wet braking. They are also quiet. Only downside for me is wear rate - I estimate 23k-24k but being ex-motorsport, I drive quite quickly and tend to throw the heavy Freelander 2 about on twisty roads . Good news is they seem to have come down a little in price...
Helpful 35 - tire reviewed on April 4, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Audi A4 (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
My experience with Vector 4 season gen3 so far (approx. 10,000km of spirited driving, dimensions 225 50 17):
Bought a brand new Audi A4 35tfsi in November 2022, and immediately swapped summer Pirellis for these Goodyear. I am not a tire testing expert, this is only my subjective take on the experience with these tires. I live in Montenegro, and weather is pretty mild, with rainy winters and hot summers. However, I do travel a lot within the region, and often it happens that my journey starts at +20c in coastal Montenegro, and ends in temperatures below zero in Croatian mountains, or in Serbia. This happens quite often, during autumn or even spring. That being said, winter tires are big compromise, as they are not utilized properly; all-season tires make much more sense, both in option when they are used as winter tire (in combination with the set of summer tires), or throughout the entire season (as a single set).
Back to Goodyear review: winter was exceptionally rainy this year, so I have been driving mostly on wet and muddy roads. These tires are superb for wet conditions. Aquaplaning and grip levels are very good, feels very safe and planted. I also did couple of trips north, so I encountered snow and ice cold tarmac - I think the tire performs decent in these conditions, with acceptable traction and levels of grip. It gets the job done, and I don't have to think about the weather, whenever I travel.
The performance in dry weather is very good, road handling, grip levels and comfort are all great. I didn’t understand why all reputable tire tests mention longer braking distances in dry weather, my subjective feeling is that stopping power is quite good, with lots of feel and confidence. I still didn’t get a chance to use them in blistering heat, so I will try to update my review in July or August.
No comments on tire wear so far, as I have only done 10k.
Overall, I really like these tires, and they behave very similar to Continental All Season Contact, that I used as winter tires on my previous car.
Helpful 45 - tire reviewed on March 14, 2023
Given 91% while driving a Peugeot 308 GT 180 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,200 spirited miles
1st time I have gone for all season tires, having previously used Michelin PS4 and Goodyear Eagle F1 Asy 5 and 3. Comfort is excellent, you can feel it instantaneously and it makes for a very enjoyable drive. I've read many reviews and watched lots of reviews too, before finally deciding against Michelin PS5 and Goodyear Eagle F1 Asy 6 and giving all season tires a try. I have to say so far so good, and yes dry grip when pushing the car is better with summer tires, but having said that with normal driving and even with occasional "foot down" around the corner Vector 4Seaons G3 are surprisingly good and more than enough for me! Looking forward to cold temperatures, when I will be able to feel the massive difference! As I said so far so good! Good job Goodyear!
Helpful 50 - tire reviewed on November 12, 2022
Given 82% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Very two faced tires. They have really good lateral grip and amazing feel both wet and dry, but the longitudinal grip is not very good, especially braking. When the tires were new I honestly believed that my car had some abs problem, because it engaged so early. It was literally much worse than the Radar Dimax tires it replaced. The car felt loose and uncertain. This was probably due to having the wrong size rims for the tires 6,5 inch wide. So I have refitted to a 7,5 inch wide rims which solved the loose feeling but the longitudinal grip is still not as good as I expected. On dry roads my 2.0 liter Mazda can spin a tire in 1st gear even from a rolling start. Interestingly the wet grip is almost the same as the dry. Also fuel consumption is not the best. In snow it is OK, but it really struggles with slush and has almost no longitudinal traction on wet ice, which is strange as lateral grip is miles better. I have been using it for 15 000 km and it has very good tread depth. If it goes like this it will past 60 000 km before it wears down, although I ude it mostly on country roads and highways.
Helpful 47 - tire reviewed on October 9, 2022
Given 87% while driving a BMW 540I (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 400 spirited miles
I've just had these recently fitted to my 17" alloys on my Japanese import BMW E39 540i Sport as I always have a set of alloys with tires for summer; and a separate set for over winter etc. However, this time I decided not to go for dedicated winters, but rather all-seasons and bought these on the strength of Jons reviews on Youtube etc.
Have done around 400 miles on them so far on a road trip around Anglesey & North Wales and then literally the last few days doing chores from home, in the wet.
So they've had a good dry run and now some good wet runs They're superb! Very planted / grippy in the wet; and very grippy in the dry. Albeit temps haven't been below c12ºC recently; I'd say they'll fair even better when it gets colder! Quiet, smooth and comfortable as well; which is exactly what I want from my tires anyway and why I sold the 18" alloys and moved back to 17s for that added comfort/extra sidewall etc Looking forward to seeing how these do in the colder temps but also when we travel up to the Highlands in Dec & Feb
Helpful 52 - tire reviewed on September 22, 2022
Given 93% while driving a SEAT Ibiza TSi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Bought my seat ibiza 2019 1.5 TSI FR with 38200km, i changed the tires at about 38500, the car has now 48000 so about 10000Km made with these new tires. My car was previously fitted with Nexen Summer tire which were noisy and not confortable but had almost 40K KM so pretty used. When i got the new Vector, the Confort and noise changed dramatically, no more tire noise and much better confort (absorption of bumps in the road) The Ibiza FR has pretty firm suspension and 17" wheels so it's kinda hard but those GoodYear tires help mitigate this issue. I live in Auvergne in France, so it's mostly Mountain/Country Roads and Highway. On the dry on country roads at high speeds :p, the tires are glued to the road and it feels super safe. On the Wet it's hard to make these loose grip, it really holds well. Did not tried snow yet. As for the wear, the tires looks almost new at 10k KM. Bought these on suggestion of your Youtube Videos 1 year ago, and i'm really pleased with these Goodyear's
Helpful 41 - tire reviewed on September 12, 2022