Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

The Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 provides improved grip for better handling on snow. The large amount of sipes at the center of the tire’s tread provide for better snow biting, improving handling on snow by 5% in comparison to the previous Vector 4Seasons Gen-2.

Goodyear’s Dry Handling technology provides strong crown and shoulder blocks that reduce the deformation of the tire during heavy maneuvers improving dry braking by 5%.

The Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 also maintains its predecessor’s impressive level of aquaplaning resistance thanks to Goodyear’s Aqua Control technology, which uses deep and wide grooves to improve water dispersion.

The new Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 was introduced as of April 2020, with 65 new SKUs to be progressively introduced in 2020 and further SKUs to follow in 2021 and 2022.

This tire replaced the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 83%
Wear 88%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 88%
Snow Grip 86%
Ice Grip 79%

Tire review data from 30 tire reviews averaging 84% over 205,625 miles driven.

The Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 is ranked 6th of 52 All Season Premium Touring tires.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Latest Tire Test Results

2022/23 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test - 3rd of 10 tires

  • Positive - Excellent grip in the wet with short braking distances and good handling, very high aquaplaning resistance, excellent braking and handling in the snow, fastest dry handling time.
  • Negative - Lower snow traction, long dry braking distances.
  • Overall - The Goodyear Vector 4Season Gen 3 had a poor result in the Tire Reviews all season test last year, but that was certainly an outlier rather than the rule, and now the tire is back exactly where it should be. The only drawback, which we've seen many times before, was average dry braking, but it was consistently amongst the best in the wet, including aquaplaning results, and the snow.

View Full Test >>

2022 Sport Auto All Season Tire Test - 5th of 8 tires

  • Positive - Decent grip and agile handling on snow, safer and wider limit area on wet. Very manageable on dry roads, but not very dynamic.
  • Negative - Low reserves for spinning wheels on snow. Not very stable when changing loads in the wet. Longer braking distances on dry asphalt, high rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test - 1st of 17 tires

  • Positive - Test winner with convincing driving characteristics in all weather conditions, dynamic wet and dry handling, precise steering behavior, low wear.
  • Negative - Elevated rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Exemplary.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

2020-07-02 - I bought a brand new set of this tires for my Audi A3, size 225/45 R17, to replace my 7 year old winter tires. Now I can hear a very obvious bumping noise coming from tires, at about 40 to 50km/h. I can kind of feel it on the steering wheel too. Never heard that before with any winter nor all-season tires, let alone summer tires. Two separate garages checked the car, including Audi, and said they could no find anything wrong, and that the noise may be normal for those tires. Can this be the case? Has anyone had the same experience with these tires? I am really quite unhappy with them.

This is certainly not the fault of the tires, unless they've been stored incorrectly and have gone "out of round" or been damaged internally. I'd keep complaining to the garage! One option would be to have the fronts and rears swapped to see if the noise moves, and if so you know there's a wheel / tire issue.


2020-10-31 - Been looking at these to fit on a Gen 10 Honda Civic 1.5 turbo which is a reasonably quick car and has good handling, I am just a little concerned regarding dry braking, do these tire make an appreciable difference compared to the OE tires which are Michelin Primacy 3?

Check out our all season tire test which has a reference summer tire in to show you the difference between this and a summer tire.


2021-05-25 - I have to fit my Hyundai Tucson with new tires. I have to choose between Goodyear 4season Gen 3 and Michelin crossclimate plus. My main focus is on treadlife and dry and wet performance. What should I choose?

The two tires seem to be relatively similar in wear, the Michelin better in the dry and the Goodyear has the edge in the wet. If you've not seen it, check out our all season tire test from 2020 as that should give you all the details.


2022-10-20 - Is the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 also available in a RunFlat version?

Yes in certain sizes there are runflat versions of the Vector 4Seasons Gen-3


2022-11-23 - Hello! I been choosing new tires for Ford Kuga MK1 SUv with 4x4 120kW. I checked all tests which i found on yuour website and i want to buy Goodyear Vector 4Seasons G3, but i found there are two types of tires - Vector 4Seasons G3 with index H99 which is still good for me and Vector 4Seasons G3 SUV with index 103Y, my question is do i need to buy SUV variant or should be good the first variant? Because on SUV variant there are not that much tests like the first variant. Thanks

The overall performance of the non-suv and suv versions should be very similar. If the Kuga is ok with a 99 load rating then pick whatever is cheaper.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,750 spirited miles
Almost time to switch back to my summer tires. So, here’s my impression of my “mild climate winter” tires. I used to drive on Continental WinterContact TS860 winter tires, but last winters, I noticed that I almost never drive on snow. And in spring and fall, when temperatures jump up and down, I was sometimes driving on my winter tires at temperatures around 20°C. So now, I followed your advice and chose All Season tires for the winter season. I drove them for about 6.000 km now in temperatures between -2 and +16 °C, in the dry and in lots of rain.
Just after switching to the Vector 4S, I had the same feeling as when I changed to winter tires: I felt a bit unsecure while driving: compared to my summer tires (Continental PremiumContact 6) the road contact of the V4S is noticeably less direct. Better than a winter tire, but worse than a summer tire. Once you realise the grip is actually present, the confidence comes back quickly. In fact, in terms of safety, I see it as a good thing: because it is so much fun to go quickly with the PC6, I sometimes feel tempted to go just that bit faster. The V4S isn’t that inviting, so I drive slower. Safe in winter, fun in summer, I can live with that.
And in terms of grip, the V4S does an excellent job: In the dry, it is more than sufficient. The steering feedback is obviously less than with the PC6, but still more than enough to know what’s going on. In the wet, I was impressed by the grip on near freezing wet surfaces and by the aquaplaning resistance. And when the tires start sliding, it all goes very gradually and controllable. Such a safe and stable tire! In all aspects better and more pleasant than the TS860, which to be honest didn’t do bad at all for a winter tire in the dry and in the wet.
Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to test the tires on real snow. On muddy roads, light snow, frost and in salted snow/ice slush however, the V4S provides sufficient grip to steer, accelerate and brake without problems. In such conditions, other cars on summer tires are the biggest risks one can encouter anyway, so I drive extra carefully then.
Comfort (noise and suspension) is just fine. Slightly better than the TS860 and way better than the PC6.
I noticed an increase in fuel consumption of about 0,2 l/100 km when driving in similar conditions as with the summer tires.
In terms of wear, the tires lost about 0.4 mm. tread depth (almost no difference between front and rear), which is in line with the AutoBild wear test (70.000 km). If I replace the tires at the minimum winter tire depth (4 mm.), I will be able to drive about 50.000 km on them. Very reasonable (My PC6 front tires will last about 30.000 km).
In short: thank you Goodyear for getting me safely through the winter season. And now let’s get the Conti’s back on!
Helpful 140 - tire reviewed on March 24, 2023
Given 86% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 25 spirited miles
Bought a set of Gen 2s 2 years ago. Done about 25k miles on them. Had them rotated 3 times. Have driven in blistering heat, freezing temperatures and torrential rain. They have always felt well planted and feedback from the tryes has been good. I have used them on motorways, welsh A and B roads, grass and mud but never got the chance to try them in the snow and ice which is the main reason I got them. Maybe this year as I am going to fit some Gen3s in a few weeks. What I will say is this is the first set of tires where I have NEVER picked up a puncture. Whether I have just been lucky or the different tread design from normal road tires with radial groves has been a factor, I don't know. Thoroughly recommend these.
Helpful 102 - tire reviewed on August 14, 2020
Given 86% while driving a Kia Motors Stonic (185/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Been using the 3rd gen since 2 months ago. I would say that they are better than the 2nd gen in every aspect. Better on snow/ice than the Michelin CrossclimatePlus that's for sure. But a bitt worse than the CrossclimatePlus on dry and wear wise. Still since the CrossclimatePlus is pretty unstable on snow/ice , this is the real all season tire to go with.
Helpful 62 - tire reviewed on September 3, 2020
Have you driven on the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 >

Latest Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 Reviews

Given 70% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 1.5TSI 150HP (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
OK, I drove on these tires from Nov 22 to May 23 - approx 5K. Have switched back to my Goodyear Efficient Grip Perf 2. Summer tire simply superior in warmer conditions.
Had a chance to drive the 4seasons in dry, wet, snow and ice.
They are amazing in the wet, cutting through water really well, like a pair of scissors!
In the dry they handled better than I thought they would. All the corners I take at speed in my summer tires were handled well by the 4seasons, certainly for everyday driving. Just felt like I was driving on foam when pushed hard.
Drove on side streets when covered in ice. Reversing and turning on a slope not good at all, tires spun frantically. Didn't feel confident in the ice at all, although a voice in my head kept telling me they must be better than summer tires!
Had a good few days of snow where I live this winter (Perthshire). Couldn't wait to try them out! Felt much better than summer tires, no surprise there, and they did grip when turning a sharp corner, although sometimes it took a brief second for the grip to kick in. Was disappointed that when stopping at junction my ABS kicked in and juddered, failing to stop in time. Just as well no traffic coming the other way.

Overall, for general driving in winter I'm happy with them and in November will get them back on my car. Not sure I'd want to keep them on during a hot summer, too spongy.

I also experienced my first puncture with the 4seasons; 3 days after I bought them my front passenger tire was completely flat. Maybe not as robust as I'd hoped.

I've owned a set of CrossClimate+ before and was happy to keep them on all year, not so the 4seasons.

I would buy again, but I'll definately consider Michelin CC2 next time.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on May 17, 2023
Given 63% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
I had the Vredestein Quatrac Pro before and it was a perfect tire. Hoped that the Gen-3 would be at least as good as them but so far i´m really annoyed. Grip is perfect, but they produce an annoying noise level, are rumbling at almost any speed. My dealer had checked them twice, even balanced them again. Would i buy them again? No, which is a shame as they are really nice to drive. If i don´t get used to the noise (hope it goes away some day) i will change back to Vredestein in the autumn.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2023
What to know the BEST tires for 2023? Click to find out!
Given 80% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (225/45 R16) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Bought a full set of these tires for my Freelander 2 based on test results. They suit the car well - the outstanding grip is in the wet, which is arguably the quality you need for maximum safety , with great wet braking. They are also quiet. Only downside for me is wear rate - I estimate 23k-24k but being ex-motorsport, I drive quite quickly and tend to throw the heavy Freelander 2 about on twisty roads . Good news is they seem to have come down a little in price...
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on April 4, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Audi A4 (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
My experience with Vector 4 season gen3 so far (approx. 10,000km of spirited driving, dimensions 225 50 17):
Bought a brand new Audi A4 35tfsi in November 2022, and immediately swapped summer Pirellis for these Goodyear. I am not a tire testing expert, this is only my subjective take on the experience with these tires. I live in Montenegro, and weather is pretty mild, with rainy winters and hot summers. However, I do travel a lot within the region, and often it happens that my journey starts at +20c in coastal Montenegro, and ends in temperatures below zero in Croatian mountains, or in Serbia. This happens quite often, during autumn or even spring. That being said, winter tires are big compromise, as they are not utilized properly; all-season tires make much more sense, both in option when they are used as winter tire (in combination with the set of summer tires), or throughout the entire season (as a single set).
Back to Goodyear review: winter was exceptionally rainy this year, so I have been driving mostly on wet and muddy roads. These tires are superb for wet conditions. Aquaplaning and grip levels are very good, feels very safe and planted. I also did couple of trips north, so I encountered snow and ice cold tarmac - I think the tire performs decent in these conditions, with acceptable traction and levels of grip. It gets the job done, and I don't have to think about the weather, whenever I travel.
The performance in dry weather is very good, road handling, grip levels and comfort are all great. I didn’t understand why all reputable tire tests mention longer braking distances in dry weather, my subjective feeling is that stopping power is quite good, with lots of feel and confidence. I still didn’t get a chance to use them in blistering heat, so I will try to update my review in July or August.
No comments on tire wear so far, as I have only done 10k.
Overall, I really like these tires, and they behave very similar to Continental All Season Contact, that I used as winter tires on my previous car.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on March 14, 2023
Given 91% while driving a Peugeot 308 GT 180 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,200 spirited miles
1st time I have gone for all season tires, having previously used Michelin PS4 and Goodyear Eagle F1 Asy 5 and 3. Comfort is excellent, you can feel it instantaneously and it makes for a very enjoyable drive. I've read many reviews and watched lots of reviews too, before finally deciding against Michelin PS5 and Goodyear Eagle F1 Asy 6 and giving all season tires a try. I have to say so far so good, and yes dry grip when pushing the car is better with summer tires, but having said that with normal driving and even with occasional "foot down" around the corner Vector 4Seaons G3 are surprisingly good and more than enough for me! Looking forward to cold temperatures, when I will be able to feel the massive difference! As I said so far so good! Good job Goodyear!
Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on November 12, 2022
Given 82% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Very two faced tires. They have really good lateral grip and amazing feel both wet and dry, but the longitudinal grip is not very good, especially braking. When the tires were new I honestly believed that my car had some abs problem, because it engaged so early. It was literally much worse than the Radar Dimax tires it replaced. The car felt loose and uncertain. This was probably due to having the wrong size rims for the tires 6,5 inch wide. So I have refitted to a 7,5 inch wide rims which solved the loose feeling but the longitudinal grip is still not as good as I expected. On dry roads my 2.0 liter Mazda can spin a tire in 1st gear even from a rolling start. Interestingly the wet grip is almost the same as the dry. Also fuel consumption is not the best. In snow it is OK, but it really struggles with slush and has almost no longitudinal traction on wet ice, which is strange as lateral grip is miles better. I have been using it for 15 000 km and it has very good tread depth. If it goes like this it will past 60 000 km before it wears down, although I ude it mostly on country roads and highways.
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on October 9, 2022
Given 87% while driving a BMW 540I (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 400 spirited miles
I've just had these recently fitted to my 17" alloys on my Japanese import BMW E39 540i Sport as I always have a set of alloys with tires for summer; and a separate set for over winter etc. However, this time I decided not to go for dedicated winters, but rather all-seasons and bought these on the strength of Jons reviews on Youtube etc.
Have done around 400 miles on them so far on a road trip around Anglesey & North Wales and then literally the last few days doing chores from home, in the wet.
So they've had a good dry run and now some good wet runs They're superb! Very planted / grippy in the wet; and very grippy in the dry. Albeit temps haven't been below c12ºC recently; I'd say they'll fair even better when it gets colder! Quiet, smooth and comfortable as well; which is exactly what I want from my tires anyway and why I sold the 18" alloys and moved back to 17s for that added comfort/extra sidewall etc Looking forward to seeing how these do in the colder temps but also when we travel up to the Highlands in Dec & Feb
Helpful 11 - tire reviewed on September 22, 2022
Given 93% while driving a SEAT Ibiza TSi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Bought my seat ibiza 2019 1.5 TSI FR with 38200km, i changed the tires at about 38500, the car has now 48000 so about 10000Km made with these new tires. My car was previously fitted with Nexen Summer tire which were noisy and not confortable but had almost 40K KM so pretty used. When i got the new Vector, the Confort and noise changed dramatically, no more tire noise and much better confort (absorption of bumps in the road) The Ibiza FR has pretty firm suspension and 17" wheels so it's kinda hard but those GoodYear tires help mitigate this issue. I live in Auvergne in France, so it's mostly Mountain/Country Roads and Highway. On the dry on country roads at high speeds :p, the tires are glued to the road and it feels super safe. On the Wet it's hard to make these loose grip, it really holds well. Did not tried snow yet. As for the wear, the tires looks almost new at 10k KM. Bought these on suggestion of your Youtube Videos 1 year ago, and i'm really pleased with these Goodyear's
Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on September 12, 2022
Given 88% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,500 average miles
Superb tires! Specially for the price I paid in the summer of 2021. (71£ each) They exceed my old Nokian Weatherproof's by miles in every category. The V4S Gen3's really matches up with the weather in Denmark! Affraid of aquaplaning? I drove under a bridge on the motorway w/ 90 km/h into a 10cm deep puddle and felt no slip. Absolutely impressed by that, compared to previous cars and tire combos, summer/winter/all-season.
Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on March 20, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Nissan Primera (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,500 easy going miles
this tires loves the cold weather. its perfect on snow and sure provide confidence. its very good in rain conditions and ok to dry weather never feel any unstubillity in logical frame. Also is very queit. I live in greece and i warried about wear in summer month but high summer temperatures do not affect their wear. on negatives now is how the tire has a very bad feedback, its filtering the most and the feel is like no have idea where is the wheel. But the biggest disadvantage is the brake on warm weather, as feel and perfomance, every time feel how needed little more space to stop from what you think. its no traggik but sure worst from summer tires. my previeus toyo proxes cf2 is much better from that in any summer sittuation. but because i feel unsecure in winter change to all season. generly from my expirience, below 10 celcius its the ultimate tires who i have tries, grip snow&dry&wet, brake snow&dry&wet, feeling. over 10 celcius start compromises. that is the point who a summer tires is better. finaly this tires is perfect for people like me who driving style is calm-economy, wants all season tires who preefer some little comromise from change to summer.
Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on January 9, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen b5 1.8t (/65 R15) on for 15,000 miles
I have fot it on an old VW Passat. In Winter it behave like an Winter Tire. The only slightly disadvantage in Winter is during fast cornering. Than it start to loose grip but in what a predictibly way - I am SO impressed. Predictibility is the key Word for Winter. In summer it behaves like a normal tire. The Best abilities are when temperature is near 0 Celsius, wonderfull and well holding corners tire then. Talking about milage, after whole one year of use in Middle-East Europe front tires tread looks like it was hard biten, (25k km) but it still holds the grip. I will rotate front to rear. I think that my set will hold 3 years, maybe 2 and a half. For me it is fine. I think that I may buy and swap tires for summer month and put back Goodyear gen. 3 for spring, autumn and winter. Great tire for 3seasons. I think summer overhits and fastens the wear.
Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on November 16, 2021
Given 95% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Switched to Gen 3 from CC+ and already loving it. The A fuel rating and B wet performance is simply amazing. Besides, they are definitely more quiet than the CC+ even though the label states 72db. The response from the steering is second to none. Tried them in the dry and wet, and never had a spin, can't say that about CC+, though a big fan of those before. Ready to test them in winter, can't wait, to be honest. So far I am totally impressed. Well done, Goodyear.
Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on November 16, 2021