Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

The Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 provides improved grip for better handling on snow. The large amount of sipes at the center of the tire’s tread provide for better snow biting, improving handling on snow by 5% in comparison to the previous Vector 4Seasons Gen-2.

Goodyear’s Dry Handling technology provides strong crown and shoulder blocks that reduce the deformation of the tire during heavy maneuvers improving dry braking by 5%.

The Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 also maintains its predecessor’s impressive level of aquaplaning resistance thanks to Goodyear’s Aqua Control technology, which uses deep and wide grooves to improve water dispersion.

The new Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 was introduced as of April 2020, with 65 new SKUs to be progressively introduced in 2020 and further SKUs to follow in 2021 and 2022.

This tire replaced the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 83%
Wear 89%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 92%
Snow Grip 90%
Ice Grip 83%

Tire review data from 21 tire reviews averaging 86% over 146,275 miles driven.

The Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 is ranked 4th of 44 All Season Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test - 5th of 11 tires

  • Positive - Good handling in all conditions, excellent snow traction, good aquaplaning resistance, low noise, high levels of comfort, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Long braking distances in the dry and wet.
  • Overall - The Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 was a tire with mixed fortunes. It performed well in nearly all tests, however an unusually long dry and wet braking result meant the tire could only finish in fifth place overall.
View Full Test >>

2021 AZ All Season Tire Test - 3rd of 9 tires

  • Overall - Strong in the wet and dry, safe in the snow, the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 is highly recommended, and particularly efficient with fuel.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test - 1st of 18 tires

  • Positive - Test winner with convincing performance in any weather, dynamic handling, short wet braking distances, very good aquaplaning resistance, very low wear, good value for money.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

2020-07-02 - I bought a brand new set of this tires for my Audi A3, size 225/45 R17, to replace my 7 year old winter tires. Now I can hear a very obvious bumping noise coming from tires, at about 40 to 50km/h. I can kind of feel it on the steering wheel too. Never heard that before with any winter nor all-season tires, let alone summer tires. Two separate garages checked the car, including Audi, and said they could no find anything wrong, and that the noise may be normal for those tires. Can this be the case? Has anyone had the same experience with these tires? I am really quite unhappy with them.

This is certainly not the fault of the tires, unless they've been stored incorrectly and have gone "out of round" or been damaged internally. I'd keep complaining to the garage! One option would be to have the fronts and rears swapped to see if the noise moves, and if so you know there's a wheel / tire issue.


2020-10-31 - Been looking at these to fit on a Gen 10 Honda Civic 1.5 turbo which is a reasonably quick car and has good handling, I am just a little concerned regarding dry braking, do these tire make an appreciable difference compared to the OE tires which are Michelin Primacy 3?

Check out our all season tire test which has a reference summer tire in to show you the difference between this and a summer tire.


2021-05-25 - I have to fit my Hyundai Tucson with new tires. I have to choose between Goodyear 4season Gen 3 and Michelin crossclimate plus. My main focus is on treadlife and dry and wet performance. What should I choose?

The two tires seem to be relatively similar in wear, the Michelin better in the dry and the Goodyear has the edge in the wet. If you've not seen it, check out our all season tire test from 2020 as that should give you all the details.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 25 spirited miles
Bought a set of Gen 2s 2 years ago. Done about 25k miles on them. Had them rotated 3 times. Have driven in blistering heat, freezing temperatures and torrential rain. They have always felt well planted and feedback from the tryes has been good. I have used them on motorways, welsh A and B roads, grass and mud but never got the chance to try them in the snow and ice which is the main reason I got them. Maybe this year as I am going to fit some Gen3s in a few weeks. What I will say is this is the first set of tires where I have NEVER picked up a puncture. Whether I have just been lucky or the different tread design from normal road tires with radial groves has been a factor, I don't know. Thoroughly recommend these.
Helpful 76 - tire reviewed on August 14, 2020
Given 86% while driving a Kia Motors Stonic (185/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Been using the 3rd gen since 2 months ago. I would say that they are better than the 2nd gen in every aspect. Better on snow/ice than the Michelin CrossclimatePlus that's for sure. But a bitt worse than the CrossclimatePlus on dry and wear wise. Still since the CrossclimatePlus is pretty unstable on snow/ice , this is the real all season tire to go with.
Helpful 52 - tire reviewed on September 3, 2020
Given 92% while driving a Skoda (235/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Great tires! I changed the tires 3 weeks ago and switched from summer Pirelli Cinturato P7, which came with my new Skoda. The car is with DCC, which I use in comfort mode. Immediately after I changed the tires I feel the difference. the car became much more comfortable and quiet. Especially on weared and cracked road surfaces. When going over bumps, the car is feeling smooth and soft. There is not any more typical noises from suspension and much less road noises can be heard. I drove in autumn conditions in range +3 to +25 DEG Celsius. The grip below +15 DEG is much better than with the summer tires, in all conditions - wet, dry, muddy. Between 15 and 20 DEG, the grip is similar like P7. Above 20 DEG, V4 Gen3 start feeling more soft than needed and start "floating" on the pattern's blocks when cornering. Braking grip is also excellent in all conditions till now. In addition to quietness, would like to add that on extremely wet surface there is not typical for most winter patterns high frequencies noises when accelerating, caused by water extraction from the pattern in the contact spots. In regards with the tests published on this website I would confirm that the tires are very close to best winter tires performance on dry and wet below 15 DEG (based on my previous experience with winter Goodyear, Continental, Semperit, Kleber, Toyo etc, which I drove on my previous cars). After I collect some experience on snow and ice, I will update this review. And after at least a full year I can evaluate the wear of the tires, til now the tires are quite new and I cannot make evaluation. I hope that in hot summer in Bulgaria tires will survive in 40++ DEG and will save elasticity for the next few years. As major drawback I will note the price. Currently the model is very new and I have to wait for 2 weeks after the order. The price is higher than on Michelin CC+ here in Bulgaria and even PILOT ALPIN 5, which are the most expensive tires for normal road cars. At the end would like to give my huge LIKE on www.tire-reviews.com, which are making our choice of tires much easier with the information and tests published here :-) ! Thank You Tirereviews!
Helpful 38 - tire reviewed on November 17, 2020
Have you driven on the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 >

Latest Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 Reviews

Given 88% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,500 average miles
Superb tires! Specially for the price I paid in the summer of 2021. (71£ each) They exceed my old Nokian Weatherproof's by miles in every category. The V4S Gen3's really matches up with the weather in Denmark! Affraid of aquaplaning? I drove under a bridge on the motorway w/ 90 km/h into a 10cm deep puddle and felt no slip. Absolutely impressed by that, compared to previous cars and tire combos, summer/winter/all-season.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on March 20, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Nissan Primera (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,500 easy going miles
this tires loves the cold weather. its perfect on snow and sure provide confidence. its very good in rain conditions and ok to dry weather never feel any unstubillity in logical frame. Also is very queit. I live in greece and i warried about wear in summer month but high summer temperatures do not affect their wear. on negatives now is how the tire has a very bad feedback, its filtering the most and the feel is like no have idea where is the wheel. But the biggest disadvantage is the brake on warm weather, as feel and perfomance, every time feel how needed little more space to stop from what you think. its no traggik but sure worst from summer tires. my previeus toyo proxes cf2 is much better from that in any summer sittuation. but because i feel unsecure in winter change to all season. generly from my expirience, below 10 celcius its the ultimate tires who i have tries, grip snow&dry&wet, brake snow&dry&wet, feeling. over 10 celcius start compromises. that is the point who a summer tires is better. finaly this tires is perfect for people like me who driving style is calm-economy, wants all season tires who preefer some little comromise from change to summer.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on January 9, 2022
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen b5 1.8t (/65 R15) on for 15,000 miles
I have fot it on an old VW Passat. In Winter it behave like an Winter Tire. The only slightly disadvantage in Winter is during fast cornering. Than it start to loose grip but in what a predictibly way - I am SO impressed. Predictibility is the key Word for Winter. In summer it behaves like a normal tire. The Best abilities are when temperature is near 0 Celsius, wonderfull and well holding corners tire then. Talking about milage, after whole one year of use in Middle-East Europe front tires tread looks like it was hard biten, (25k km) but it still holds the grip. I will rotate front to rear. I think that my set will hold 3 years, maybe 2 and a half. For me it is fine. I think that I may buy and swap tires for summer month and put back Goodyear gen. 3 for spring, autumn and winter. Great tire for 3seasons. I think summer overhits and fastens the wear.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on November 16, 2021
Given 95% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Switched to Gen 3 from CC+ and already loving it. The A fuel rating and B wet performance is simply amazing. Besides, they are definitely more quiet than the CC+ even though the label states 72db. The response from the steering is second to none. Tried them in the dry and wet, and never had a spin, can't say that about CC+, though a big fan of those before. Ready to test them in winter, can't wait, to be honest. So far I am totally impressed. Well done, Goodyear.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on November 16, 2021
Given 88% while driving a Renault Zoe (195/55 R16) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Incredible rounded tire with low rolling resistance. I can recommend this tire especially for EV drivers.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on November 15, 2021
Given 48% while driving a Jaguar XF Sportbrake 2.2 (200) (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
Initially I got massive feedback and vibrations through the steering wheel. This got better after 500 miles or so but still some vibrations remained at highway speeds. Never had that issue before with my previous Vredestein Quatrac pro's..... The tires seems to struggle with the weight of the car. Increased the tire pressures to max. as indicated in car's manual. (High speed, full load setting instead of the comfort pressures I normally run) Now they seem fine. Compared to the Vredesteins they are a bit quieter at highway speeds. (But that might be because they are new...) No experience in snow yet, tires seem to do well in dry and wet conditions. require a bit less steering input than previous tires.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on October 14, 2021
Given 99% while driving a Ford Ecosport (205/60 R16) on for 5,000 spirited miles
I have been completely satisfied with his performance in all seasons. It's amazing. I recommend it to everyone.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on October 13, 2021
Given 82% while driving a Ford Focus MK2 1.6TDCI 2008 2011 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Some info beforehand: bought them for ~290 EUR for all 4 corners. 205 55 R16 on a Focus 2 estate. I live in Romania and temperatures range and have ranged from -10 to 35+ C. I've done more than 12K kms on them. Tread is at 7 from 8 mm. Bought December 2020. Haven't rotated them yet. I've previously had: Bridgestone Turanza T001 / Michelin Primacy 3 for summer and Kumho iCept RS2 for winter By no means am I a racing driver or anything so with the city and occasional out of the city driving that I do, they've done well for me. Here's my take: The good: - Fuel economy. Getting a better average overall than my summer + winter ones combined; - The fact that one doesn't have to change them every single time so you can say you're always ready if the bad weather suddenly appears; which in these weird times has happened... it can be an issue; - Road noise and comfort is decent, can't say I've felt any difference compared to either previous summer or winter tires. - Personally, I found aquaplaning almost non-existent even at 80 kph. The not-so-good: - Grip sometimes in the dry is so and so. Car feels a bit wobbly, so I try not to take turns too vigorously. Smooth and steady/ - Dry braking, to be honest, is a bit tricky sometimes thus I try a more defensive driving approach. Obviously, I wouldn't count on them as much as a regular summer tire. Maybe, if one lives in a more hot environment, a Crossclimate is the better choice. - They do squeak when taking tight turns at low speed in the dry / warmer temps - They also squeak when on certain zebra crossing or when leaving the lights more enthusiastically. Again during the summer time when temps are 30 and beyond Would I buy again? Absolutely.
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on September 21, 2021
Given 54% while driving a Audi A8L Quattro (235/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
I bought these nearly a year ago with high expectations. Sadly they are completely unsuited to a large premium saloon. They are like driving on winter tires. Awful white noise from them. wallowy. Need constant steering correction on the motorway where you could let go of the steering for many seconds before them. They screech and fold over if you swerve. On wife’s little Megane they are ok. They seem to puncture easily too.
Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on August 12, 2021
Given 80% while driving a Renault Megane (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Really good tires for everyday use on an average car. The dry and snow performance seem slightly improved compared to the Vector gen-2, but the lateral grip is still average on snow and the price is also increased. I really like the "idiot-proof" feeling where the tires squeal but actually have plenty of margin before they really start sliding. It's also very progressive when the grip comes back, even on snow/ice. Those tires are great in the rain and do well in winter conditions. I wouldn't recommend them on twisty roads in hot weather since they don't seem to cope so well with the heat. They give a "floaty" feeling when too hot, otherwise they do a good job. You can consider those as winter-biased tires. They don't seem to wear too fast, they give reasonable fuel economy and they are quiet.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on July 10, 2021
Given 100% while driving a Mitsubishi L300 Delica Frankia camper (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
1st I will start by saying that the car (it is a camper van L300 Mitsubishi) previously had the vector 4 from 2004 and on break test for annual technical inspection they still performed, while driving still decent in the summer and the wet, no cracks, no air loss, slight grip loss, this were 17 years old! Now I got the gen 3 DOT 2021 as expected, of course due to them being new as well but, they do great in every way.
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on June 1, 2021
Audi Audi a8 4.2 d3 quattro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Bought a set of four 235 55 17 W. The handling and poise is not as good as the previous several summer tires. The worst thing is the noise. They make a horrible noise in an otherwise silent car. Like 4 blow torches. It is not super load but is as annoying typed of sound that has never been there before. Would not buy again.
Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on February 21, 2021