Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 91%
Wear 87%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 88%

Tire review data from 142 tire reviews averaging 89% over 669,447 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is ranked 1st of 63 Summer Max Performance tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tire Test - 3rd of 8 tires

  • Positive - A very wall balanced tire with excellent handling in the dry, forgiving and still sporty in the dry, low rolling resistance, high driving stability and good comfort.
  • Negative - Not a very dynamic steering response, higher noise levels.
  • Overall - The Asymmetric 5 is sporty and comfortable for every day safety in any weather.
View Full Test >>

2021 Motor Summer Tire Test - 2nd of 10 tires

  • Positive - Good handling and short braking distances on dry and wet roads, good aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Zeitung Summer UHP Tire Test - 1st of 10 tires

  • Overall - Top marks in the wet and dry, plus low rolling resistance means the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 wins this test.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 72 7.88kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 8.50kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/40 R17 91Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 8.76kgs
215/45 R17 87Y XL   E A 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70 9.50kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   A B 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 9.50kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 95Y XL   E A 70 9.68kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   E A 70 8.80kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL         10.47kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 70 10.47kgs
225/50 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 11.57kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.95kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 71 12.26kgs
245/55 R17 106H XL MO-V A B 71 17.00kgs
225/35 R18 87W XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.43kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 72 10.23kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.49kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 73 11.09kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO C A 71 9.44kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 70 9.67kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 9.77kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL   E A 70 11.96kgs
225/45 R18 91Y XL   B A 70 9.36kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL FIAT JEEP B B 71 9.49kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 12.40kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.52kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL         10.69kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.02kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.25kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.77kgs
255/45 R18 99Y XL   E A 72 11.25kgs
215/50 R18 92W XL         10.00kgs
235/50 R18 101H XL   B A 69 12.47kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL         11.75kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 11.13kgs
225/60 R18 104Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 73 9.90kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.49kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 71 9.96kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 10.30kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.51kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   B A 69 9.58kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL         11.79kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 72 10.33kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 12.23kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 72 11.31kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B C 70 12.25kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C A 71 9.81kgs
235/45 R19 99H XL   B B 70 10.88kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 13.94kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 72 10.51kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 72 10.92kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 11.71kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 16.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 72 12.91kgs
235/45 R20 100W XL   C A 71 10.58kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 12.15kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 8.00kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   C A 73 11.56kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL   C A 72 10.83kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 72 16.41kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 73 15.00kgs
265/40 R22 106Y XL   C A 72 15.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

2019-03-16 - How is sidewall stiffness, steering response and precision characteristics of this comparing to Falken Azenis FK510, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (not S), Conti PremiumContact 6 ? Thank you.

I am testing the Asymmetric 5 against the PC6 (and Asym 3) next week, keep an eye on youtube for the video :)


2019-04-05 - Merc E350 amg coupe 2015. The front and rear have different size tires. The asymmetric 5 make a size to fit the rear, but not the front. Any problems with asymmetric 5 on the rear and asymmetric 3 on the front?

While it's not ideal, there's no problem to run that combination of Asym 3 and Asym 5.


2019-04-21 - do you think the correct tire pressure for 225/45 r17 91Y PS? (vehicle: dsg golf 1.2 2015 110hp)

The tire pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tire pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2019-05-29 - Does anyone know if / when Goodyear will release a 205/40r17 in the Asymmetric 5. Currently using the Asymmetric 3 but this tire size has now been discontinued. Also looking for it in a 225/45r19 again just recently discontinued in the Asymmetric 3 range.

Both 205/40 17 and 225/45 19 are now available in Asymmetric 5, so you should be able to find them in the marketplace :)


2019-06-21 - When will 255/30/19 and 265/30/19 sizes be released within the UK please?

The Eagle Asymmetric 5 in size 255/30R19 is now on sale it was released earlier this month. It looks like Goodyear won’t be producing the tire in size 265/30R19 as they haven’t produced an Eagle Asymmetric tire in that size since the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2.


2019-09-10 - Can't decide between these ASM5 and Michelin PS4. My my top requirements is Comfort, Wet and Dry Stopping performance, Aquaplaning and Wear rate. the PS4 is now quite a bit more expensive, so that is also a factor. To be fitted to an Audi A6 Avant 255/35/19

There there is a big difference in price, I would go for the Goodyear as the two tires are very close in all other aspects.


2019-11-10 - Deciding between the standard ASM5 or the ASM5 XL 225/45R17. prices are the same but the XL boasts better fuel economy according to the labelling, however will the ride quality suffer due to the reinforced tire? are there any reasons not to go with the XL variant? or are the differences relatively unnoticeable?

The differences between the non-XL and XL versions of tires are usually very small, and in some cases, they're actually the same tire. As these have different label scores, there are differences in the tire for the Asymmetric 5, but I wouldn't let that put you off the XL version as they're likely to be small.


2019-11-29 - Will these be ok on an Audi A5 quattro or is it best to stick to RO tires? If RO is best what would you recommend?

I'd have no problems putting an aftermarket version of the Asymmetric 5 on an Audi.


2020-03-05 - I have a VW caddy maxi with 19inch wheels with Goodyear Eagle 1 asymmetric 5 (225 /35 ) what should the tire pressure be ??

The tire pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tire pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2020-03-26 - Does anyone know if the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 also in runflat (ROF) version available is? Size 225/55 R17.

I believe as of writing (April 2020) only the Asymmetric 3 is available in runflat in 225/55 R17.


2020-04-02 - I am looking for the GY F1 Asym5 for my 2008 Lexus gs450h. Lexus recommends 245 40 r18 93 y. But is it better to go with the 97 xl as the car has 345 horsepower? Or is the difference too small?

Fitting the higher load rated Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 is perfectly legal, and while the differences might be small between the 93 and 97 load rating tires, there's no disadvantages if you're looking for improved handling.


2020-06-13 - what sort of tire would your recommend for a vw sharan with 184 bhp front wheel drive. Would you recommend strictly touring tire or uhp if you like some spirited driving? I have p7 at the moment. So far having read reviews on p7, ps4, pc6, gy ef1 a5 am leaning towards goodyears. Or shall I wait for new p7 c2 as there are no reviews on them? Comfort, fuel efficiency and good wet dry handling is the priority... hope you can help!!

A tire like the Asymmetric 5 would be an excellent blend of comfort and sporty driving for your VW.


2020-08-11 - If price were not a factor which would you recommend for a combination of comfort on road trips and spirited driving on windy roads: Michelin pilot sport 4 or Goodyear eagle fi asymmetric 5? Seat Leon fr 225/40 R18

My choice would be the Asymmetric 5 as I prefer the handling over the PS4.


2020-09-22 - Do they make 275/35/19 asymmetric 5 for rear of BMW 5-Series.

They sure do, they can be found here.


2021-03-20 - I have a TVR T350, its a very light sports car but because if the front tire size being 225-35-18 the 35profile tire range is limited. After a lot of search I am torn between the Asymetric 5 or running a Michelin Super Sport on the front and a PS4S on the rear. Michelins are my preferred however because of the size I would need to mix in this way. Is this a good idea or would the Asymetric 5 although a range below the Michelin be a better bet?

Good question. Usually I'd prefer to match tires, but as the 350 is so light and the PSS / PS4S not the worse combination of tires, I might be tempted to try that. Whatever you decide, be sure to let me know how you find them!


2021-07-01 - The "Fuel" results of Asymmetric 5 Label Scores have all kinds of result from A to E. Why the testing results are so inconsistent for different sizes of the same model? I am going to buy "25/40 R18 92Y XL" which has "E", is it going to be very bad for fuel consumption?

Generally bigger / wider tires have a higher rolling resistance, which is why you often see different label scores when looking at a tire range with lots of sizes. The real world differences between a C and E aren't that huge and I personally wouldn't let it influence my purchase decision too much.


2021-07-06 - The price difference for both the PS4 and the GYA5 is £20 for two tires. Which should I go for? And would you recommend the XL version or the standard? These are for the front 2 tires on a BMW F30. Thanks!

From all my testing I prefer the front axle feel of the Asymmetric 5, but both tires are excellent products!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW 3 (225/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I have had fitted in my BMW and they are absolutely great. Precise steering, great on wet and excellent on dry roads.
572 - tire reviewed on January 1, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 330d SE (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I am really happy with these tires, the way they grip and give confidence in all conditions is amazing. They are also comfortable and quiet when you just want to cruise. I can break traction with them in the wet in lower gears on my car, but they do so in a very predictable and controllable manner. My only slight gripe is that they tend to pick up small sharp stones which seem to get stuck easily into the rubber, so it would appear that the compound is quite soft. I have had no issues with wear however, 6000 miles in and they look almost like new on the rear despite some heavy right-footedness.
63 - tire reviewed on February 10, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a MINI Roadster SD (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
These tires are super sticky as expected. Grip levels are top notch both in dry and wet.
Silent and super comfortable. I wish steering to be sharper and faster. But we can't have it all.
They are actually not Ultra High Performance or Max Performance tires. I would call these as Sport Touring tires. It's really pity that premium tire manufacturers don't have real Max Performance and Ultra Performance Tires (below 19") in their product portfolio anymore. Instead they label Touring Tires as Performance Tires which is not really good.

Would I buy these again? Maybe not for my weekend/sport car. But I would definitely buy these for our family estate car. Excellent quality tires.
46 - tire reviewed on April 21, 2019   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 69% while driving a Audi 3,0 tdi quattro sport (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
Decided to get a full set of these Eagle f1s fitted to my Audi, tracking also has been done on getting these fitted too. Was expecting a tire that would last a lot longer than the Avons I had on before. Have to say I am very disappointed in the wear, The grip however, dry and wet was very good as well as the road noise, but tire wear was the worst I have experienced so far. 13,000 miles and the rears are at the end of their life, even though it is a quattro I was expecting the fronts to maybe wear a little more from the cornering, but it seems rears have worn worse. Not sure if they are just not suited for the car, but will not be buying them again.
0 - tire reviewed on September 14, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giuiletta (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
substituted my old Asymmetric 2s with the 5s after a very good 40.000 km experience with the former ones on every kind of surface. The 5s are only confirming the good qualities of this tire series. Incredible amount of dry and wet grip, very low noise and great feedback when driven at the limit. I drive most of the time in the city and most of the distance on highways, but love to also push the car to the limit on country roads occasionally. If not for the incredible performance, these tires should be chosen for the safety they offer
0 - tire reviewed on August 31, 2021   
Want the best performance tire? Click here!
Given 96% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
great tire out performs the competition at a cheaper price have used all the goodyear assymetrics over the past 12 years and they keep improving on all models.
0 - tire reviewed on August 30, 2021   
Given 96% while driving a Ford falcon xr6 turbo ute (245/35 R19) on mostly town for 12,000 spirited miles
cant beat these tires best value for money my ute has been modified to 360kw very happy with these tires
0 - tire reviewed on August 30, 2021   
Given 84% while driving a Jaguar XF S (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Diesel-powered car with almost 300 HP and more than 600Nw measured 245/45 / R18. These tires have only one drawback. In agile driving (dry) they have little transversal grip in curves, which causes me a continuous intervention of the electronic control system of the car, especially on the rear axle. This occurs only in joyful driving, not in quiet driving, and makes it impossible to take advantage of the car's true power, as the strong support when cornering is mission impossible. In all other respects, dry braking , loudness, precision , works really well. In the wet it doesn't have this cornering support problem and subjectively it seems (I haven't actually measured it) that you can go faster in the corners than in the dry. In fact, if I go fast in the wet, the car's DSC barely blinks on occasion, while in the dry it does not stop intervening strongly. In other aspects in the wet, such as braking or hydroplaning, it also maintains a good performance. At the moment with about 10,000 km the wear is very little so I think they will last.
1 - tire reviewed on August 24, 2021   
Given 65% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 FSI Sport (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Finally time to change my Falken FK510 tires. Read so many good reviews on this tire. Was really disappointed. Immediately felt more uncomfortable than the worn off FK510. Much much more noise. Steering feel not as good. Rough roads can be felt n heard through the cabin. The falkens was smooth like butter in all road conditions n handles better. Disappointed overall.
5 - tire reviewed on July 30, 2021   
Given 87% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (205/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
Absolutely phenomenal tires, fantastic grip in the dry, and really good grip in the wet. I went through a set of fronts on my Swift Sport in around 10,000 miles, and most of that is on backroads so is semi spirited.
0 - tire reviewed on July 17, 2021   
Given 77% while driving a Subaru BRZ (/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
My new favorite tires! Excellent overall grip and feel, the car drives like it's on rails and is super quick to inputs. I feel way more confident and aware of the grip ! The only complaint I have is on road noise, which is ridiculously loud, even for a sport tire.
4 - tire reviewed on July 2, 2021   
Given 69% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B8 Estate 2.0TFSI 280hp (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
good tires BUT the quality control is BAD. My 2 out of 4 tires have a vertical disbalance , meaning the thread is wobbling up and down a tiny bit , which you can feel with speeds 150kmh+ . The wobble is minimal so the reseller will not replace them , but it makes me sad when car is shuddering with high speeds. I am very dissapointed and will never buy these again.
0 - tire reviewed on July 2, 2021   
BMW (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Had these on our last 3 cars and would put them on again. The dry grip is fantastic and so is the comfort. We've done 10,000 miles on them so far and they seem to be warring well. We came from Michelin Pilot Sport 4S and we'd stick with these due to the comfort being a lot nicer.
5 - tire reviewed on June 24, 2021   
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Great tire just wore out in around 1 year due to aggressive street driving and mountain runs on weekends sometimes. Unreal tire I prefer over ps4s and also Dunlop sp sport max rt2. Which the rest are great tires also
5 - tire reviewed on June 22, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a Mazda MX5 (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I've used these tires in two completely different cars, FF layout compact hatch and a FR sports car. I will mostly focus on what I think of the tires driven in a 2017 Mazda MX-5. Similar to what's said on the video reviews, the most impressive thing about this tire is the steering feedback. You feel connected to the ground and control becomes predictable. The tires can handle heat, at least in this platform. 3 consecutive hours of track time with only 10mins stops in Spanish Summer heat did not reduce the performance and the feeling of these tires. Wear is also pretty amazing both in track and daily driving. My only complain, to give it one, would be it's inspiring wet performance. I feel the car a bit more floaty compared to the firm stance you get in dry pavement. In conclusion, these tires are, not only an amazing option as one of the top all-around performing tires, but also a very intelligent choice as the price point of these come around at a very economical range compared to it's high-tier and similarly performing competitors.
8 - tire reviewed on June 9, 2021