Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire review data from 234 tire reviews averaging 86% over 1,601,865 miles driven, and 23 tests with an average result of 3rd.

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 88%
Wear 80%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 85%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size17 - 22"
Width205 - 315mm
Profile25 - 60
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)68 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is ranked 10th of 75 Summer Max Performance tires.

This tire replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 and this tire has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Tests Included

23

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

7th

Average Result

3rd

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Tire Reviews UHP Summer Tire Test
1st of 14 tires
  • Excellent rounded tire with almost no weakness, sporty handling in the dry and wet, very short wet braking, very high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Average external noise.
  • The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a tire with almost no weaknesses, it has excellent grip in the dry and wet, sporty handling, excellent aquaplaning resistance and low rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>
2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tire Test
3rd of 8 tires
  • A very wall balanced tire with excellent handling in the dry, forgiving and still sporty in the dry, low rolling resistance, high driving stability and good comfort.
  • Not a very dynamic steering response, higher noise levels.
  • The Asymmetric 5 is sporty and comfortable for every day safety in any weather.
View Full Test >>
2021 Camper Van / SUV Tire Test
6th of 8 tires
  • Very high aquaplaning resistance, good grip in the dry.
  • Long wet braking distances.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
17 inch
225/45R17 94 Y XLCA70
225/50R17 94 YAB68
205/50R17 93 Y XLDA70
215/45R17 87 YDA70
215/45R17 91 Y XLDA70
225/60R17 99 YAB69
225/45R17 91 YDA71
225/50R17 94 YDA70
225/50R17 98 Y XLCA70
225/50R17 94 YAB68
225/45R17 94 Y XLAB70
225/50R17 98 Y XLCA70
225/60R17 99 YAB69
225/50R17 94 YBA68
225/45R17 94 V XLAB69
225/50R17 98 Y XLCA70
225/45R17 94 V XLAB69
225/50R17 94 YAB68
18 inch
245/40R18 93 YDA70
245/40R18 97 Y XLCA70
235/60R18 103 TAA69
255/35R18 94 Y XLDA72
235/60R18 103 TAA69
245/45R18 100 Y XLAB70
235/60R18 103 TAA69
235/60R18 103 WAB69
245/40R18 97 Y XLAB70
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA71
245/45R18 100 Y XLAB70
235/60R18 103 WAB69
245/45R18 100 Y XLCA71
225/40R18 92 Y XLDA71
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA71
245/40R18 97 Y XLAB70
235/60R18 103 TAA69
19 inch
235/35R19 91 Y XLCA71
20 inch
255/45R20 105 H XLAB70
255/45R20 105 W XLAA70
255/45R20 105 H XLAB70
245/35R20 95 Y XLAB69
245/35R20 95 Y XLAB69
255/45R20 105 H XLAB70
255/45R20 105 H XLAB70
245/35R20 95 Y XLBA70
245/35R20 95 Y XLBA70
245/35R20 95 Y XLBA70
245/35R20 95 Y XLCB71
255/45R20 105 H XLAB70
255/45R20 105 W XLAA70
255/45R20 105 H XLAA69
255/45R20 105 H XLAB70
245/35R20 95 Y XLCB71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 >>

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

2019-03-16 - How is sidewall stiffness, steering response and precision characteristics of this comparing to Falken Azenis FK510, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (not S), Conti PremiumContact 6 ? Thank you.

I am testing the Asymmetric 5 against the PC6 (and Asym 3) next week, keep an eye on youtube for the video :)


2019-04-05 - Merc E350 amg coupe 2015. The front and rear have different size tires. The asymmetric 5 make a size to fit the rear, but not the front. Any problems with asymmetric 5 on the rear and asymmetric 3 on the front?

While it's not ideal, there's no problem to run that combination of Asym 3 and Asym 5.


2019-04-20 - do you think the correct tire pressure for 225/45 r17 91Y PS? (vehicle: dsg golf 1.2 2015 110hp)

The tire pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tire pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2019-05-29 - Does anyone know if / when Goodyear will release a 205/40r17 in the Asymmetric 5. Currently using the Asymmetric 3 but this tire size has now been discontinued. Also looking for it in a 225/45r19 again just recently discontinued in the Asymmetric 3 range.

Both 205/40 17 and 225/45 19 are now available in Asymmetric 5, so you should be able to find them in the marketplace :)


2019-06-21 - When will 255/30/19 and 265/30/19 sizes be released within the UK please?

The Eagle Asymmetric 5 in size 255/30R19 is now on sale it was released earlier this month. It looks like Goodyear won’t be producing the tire in size 265/30R19 as they haven’t produced an Eagle Asymmetric tire in that size since the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2.


2019-09-10 - Can't decide between these ASM5 and Michelin PS4. My my top requirements is Comfort, Wet and Dry Stopping performance, Aquaplaning and Wear rate. the PS4 is now quite a bit more expensive, so that is also a factor. To be fitted to an Audi A6 Avant 255/35/19

There there is a big difference in price, I would go for the Goodyear as the two tires are very close in all other aspects.


2019-11-10 - Deciding between the standard ASM5 or the ASM5 XL 225/45R17. prices are the same but the XL boasts better fuel economy according to the labelling, however will the ride quality suffer due to the reinforced tire? are there any reasons not to go with the XL variant? or are the differences relatively unnoticeable?

The differences between the non-XL and XL versions of tires are usually very small, and in some cases, they're actually the same tire. As these have different label scores, there are differences in the tire for the Asymmetric 5, but I wouldn't let that put you off the XL version as they're likely to be small.


2019-11-29 - Will these be ok on an Audi A5 quattro or is it best to stick to RO tires? If RO is best what would you recommend?

I'd have no problems putting an aftermarket version of the Asymmetric 5 on an Audi.


2020-03-05 - I have a VW caddy maxi with 19inch wheels with Goodyear Eagle 1 asymmetric 5 (225 /35 ) what should the tire pressure be ??

The tire pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tire pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2020-03-26 - Does anyone know if the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 also in runflat (ROF) version available is? Size 225/55 R17.

I believe as of writing (April 2020) only the Asymmetric 3 is available in runflat in 225/55 R17.


2020-04-02 - I am looking for the GY F1 Asym5 for my 2008 Lexus gs450h. Lexus recommends 245 40 r18 93 y. But is it better to go with the 97 xl as the car has 345 horsepower? Or is the difference too small?

Fitting the higher load rated Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 is perfectly legal, and while the differences might be small between the 93 and 97 load rating tires, there's no disadvantages if you're looking for improved handling.


2020-06-13 - what sort of tire would your recommend for a vw sharan with 184 bhp front wheel drive. Would you recommend strictly touring tire or uhp if you like some spirited driving? I have p7 at the moment. So far having read reviews on p7, ps4, pc6, gy ef1 a5 am leaning towards goodyears. Or shall I wait for new p7 c2 as there are no reviews on them? Comfort, fuel efficiency and good wet dry handling is the priority... hope you can help!!

A tire like the Asymmetric 5 would be an excellent blend of comfort and sporty driving for your VW.


2020-08-10 - If price were not a factor which would you recommend for a combination of comfort on road trips and spirited driving on windy roads: Michelin pilot sport 4 or Goodyear eagle fi asymmetric 5? Seat Leon fr 225/40 R18

My choice would be the Asymmetric 5 as I prefer the handling over the PS4.


2020-09-22 - Do they make 275/35/19 asymmetric 5 for rear of BMW 5-Series.

They sure do, they can be found here.


2021-03-20 - I have a TVR T350, its a very light sports car but because if the front tire size being 225-35-18 the 35profile tire range is limited. After a lot of search I am torn between the Asymetric 5 or running a Michelin Super Sport on the front and a PS4S on the rear. Michelins are my preferred however because of the size I would need to mix in this way. Is this a good idea or would the Asymetric 5 although a range below the Michelin be a better bet?

Good question. Usually I'd prefer to match tires, but as the 350 is so light and the PSS / PS4S not the worse combination of tires, I might be tempted to try that. Whatever you decide, be sure to let me know how you find them!


2021-07-01 - The "Fuel" results of Asymmetric 5 Label Scores have all kinds of result from A to E. Why the testing results are so inconsistent for different sizes of the same model? I am going to buy "25/40 R18 92Y XL" which has "E", is it going to be very bad for fuel consumption?

Generally bigger / wider tires have a higher rolling resistance, which is why you often see different label scores when looking at a tire range with lots of sizes. The real world differences between a C and E aren't that huge and I personally wouldn't let it influence my purchase decision too much.


2021-07-06 - The price difference for both the PS4 and the GYA5 is £20 for two tires. Which should I go for? And would you recommend the XL version or the standard? These are for the front 2 tires on a BMW F30. Thanks!

From all my testing I prefer the front axle feel of the Asymmetric 5, but both tires are excellent products!


2021-10-29 - Many Jaguar XF owners have slated the AS5 and favoring its predecessor, the AS3. Does anyone know why?

I've not heard of this, sorry. Jag owners are also the only people in the world to like the P6000 so it might be the OE Asym 3 is more suited than an aftermarket Asym 5.


2022-02-20 - Hello! Can you help me please - choosing for BMW 525d Xdrive from GYA5 (or GYA6) and Michelin PS4. What on your opinion will be good for my car in 245/45/18? Looking for a kind of balance between sporty and a kind of comfort. Thanks a lot!

This 18" tire test will show you everything you need to know about the PS4 vs Asym 5.


2022-08-23 - In the size that fits my car (MAZDA6 WAGON MY2017 ) 225/45R19 there are two different references of the Asym5 with two different scores Fuel/Wet B/C and A/B. I found a website that states that this diference is beause there is a Tube and a TL version. In your opinion what would be the best option ?? Thanks in advance.

I'm not sure one is a tube version, that would be very odd with todays technology. It's more likely one was an updated tire for a better label result or one is an OE fitment which has a different blend of performances. I'd double check one isn't OE fitment and if not get the better label score.


2024-03-24 - Hi, I’ve got a merc e400d 4matic 2019, the back tires are 275/30/20. It is a heavy car, would these tires be ideal for the back or continental sport contact 7? I’m after comfort and longevity more than anything. My front 2 are Michelin pilot supersport as they were near the top of list on this website for 245/35/20’s.

These will be more comfortable than the Continentals.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 6 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW 3 (225/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I have had fitted in my BMW and they are absolutely great. Precise steering, great on wet and excellent on dry roads.
Helpful 762 - tire reviewed on January 1, 2019
Given 60% while driving a Ford Galaxy (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I've had these for 11 months and 10,000 on the front of my car and they're down to 2.5mm already.

Waste of money.

Don't buy these tires !!!
Helpful 52 - tire reviewed on October 23, 2023
Given 83% while driving a BMW 325i (225/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
When I fitted them for the first time, on one of my cars it felt like it's reborn. Amazing handling, grip and feedback. I was astonished. The only bad thing is that only after a year and a half and about 20k kms, I have torn the internal structure and they have become impossible to balance, started to give vibrations at random speeds and had to replace them. Surprise surprise. I have replaced them with exactly the same ones. It's only because I admit that my driving didn't help. I always attack the corners with the maximum possible speed. And don't have much regard for speedbumps. I could see that only the edges of the tires was looking worn and the rest looked still great. They looked like they were driven hard on a racetrack. So I'm sure it's my fault that they have disintegrated inside so quickly. Probably the hot weather here (Dubai) didn't help much too. I am not sure how they handle in the wet, but I don't really care, haha.
Overall astonishing tire. Will recommend 10/10.
Helpful 45 - tire reviewed on October 24, 2023
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Blue Eff. auto (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
A good all round tire offering good grip in all weathers (other than snow/ice!)
Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on January 29, 2024
Given 93% while driving a BMW 640 d gran coupe (245/35 R20) on mostly motorways for 21,000 average miles
These tires have lasted 21,000 miles and are 5-6mm all round on the front which is brilliant wear and they are runflat.

Dry and wet grip excellent and are as comfortable as runflats can be on 20 inch wheels.

These are gen 2 runflats and better than gen 1 dunlop sp sport maxx gt that were horrible and distorted when you hit a pothole. These have managed to hold up so far on potholes.

I think they will do 40,000 miles and i will do end of life review.
Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on January 17, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 94% while driving a BMW 640 d gran coupe (275/30 R20) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
These tires are 275/30/20 runflat and managed 20,000 miles and were on 4.5 - 5mm all round untill a cut on the treadblock made me replace them which is a shame. I think they would have lasted minimum 25k and possibly 30k which is amazing.

These gen 2 runflats were as comfortable as can be and replaced the horrid dunlop sp sport maxx gt which when hit a pothole just bulged.

Dry and wet grip excellent and thrse are brilliant in runflat and at £275 each from Asda tires not cheap but do the job. The reason i keep runflats is i had a puncture and i drove to work and back 80 miles and then had to replace them as they shreded onnthe inside but kept me going. No tire sealant and no spare in the car means i keep the runflats and the tire sealant wouldnt have worked.
Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on January 17, 2024
Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI 105HP (205/40 R17) on mostly motorways for 31,000 average miles
Just finished my full set of Eagle F1 AS5's just now and they were wonderful. Really a very good tire, might even be the best tire I've driven on. Little oversteer, but loads and loads of grip, even in the wet. Well satisfied with how the handled. They were fitted onto a 2012 VW Polo 1.2 TSI with 130hp. Wear lasted for 50.000km with serious cornering. Wasn't gentle on them
Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on January 10, 2024
Given 89% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST180 (215/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I really enjoyed these tires. They have excellent grip in the dry and good in wet as well. Are a bit noisy but not too bad. Had them on for 20000+ kilometers including around 10 track days. The fronts were just changeg to Asymmetric 6s, the rears still have plenty of meat on them.
Helpful 43 - tire reviewed on October 29, 2023
Given 83% while driving a Mazda 6 GH 2.5 (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 16,500 spirited miles
I had them for 2 summer seassons.. About 27000km. Last 2000km big decreased wet grip - during light rain I got little rear slide in 80km/h - I don't belive them in wet anymore, and little bit decreased dry grip. Hankook H750 (allweather) works now much better. I was expecting at least 3 seassons and 35-40tkm using. Now tire corners are out, center have about 3mm. I don't know if next tire will be Asymmetric 6 or Bridgestone Potenza Sport... Really don't know
Helpful 41 - tire reviewed on September 30, 2023
Given 57% while driving a Lexus GS300h (235/45 R18) on mostly town for 12,500 easy going miles
I purchased a set of tires in 2021, all manufactured in the same year and made in Germany. Unfortunately, I can't speak highly of these tires. I reside in Riga, Latvia, where the road conditions are arguably among the worst in Europe. However, at this point, I've been using these tires for the second season, and they have deteriorated significantly. Recently, I had them balanced, and on the testing stand, it became evident just how "out of shape" they were. Consequently, when driving at speed and during braking, the entire vehicle experiences noticeable jerking. To be fair, I initially suspected issues with the brakes and replaced the brakes on the entire car, but the problem persisted. It was only then that I realized the root cause was the tires. I never expected such poor quality, and essentially, the tires became unusable halfway through their second season of use.
Helpful 42 - tire reviewed on September 1, 2023
Given 79% while driving a Peugeot 308 BlueHDI EAT6 (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 43,000 average miles
Never felt in trouble. A very safe and balanced tire. Impressive value.
Helpful 44 - tire reviewed on August 30, 2023
Given 42% while driving a Ford Focus ST250 (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Lasted a decent amount of time which is about all ive got positive to say about them.

Decent in the dry and extremely poor on anything else, skates excessively on standing water to the point they feel unsafe even others commented while in the car how they felt as both a passenger and driver.

Forget going anywhere when icy or snowing either would be better with bald tires.

The Michelin Tires I had on at 2mm had more grip, you get what you pay for with these, buy cheap buy twice.
Helpful 45 - tire reviewed on August 19, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Mercedes Benz C207E400 (255/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
My car is a Mercedes C207E400 that came with Conti 5p Great tire but the life expectancy was poor. The last two pairs fell apart with 5mm of tread left.

Now comes the Goodyear Asi 5 255/30/19 that in my car the comfort , noise , ride comfort was excellent .Driving the car is much better with precise steering and controlled braking Conti 5p

Now comes the major problem , I had a tire failure today ( my fault ) and Goodyear availability for my new tire is unknown.

The Asi 5 is no more and the Asi 6 is the new kid on the block , but the rear tire are not available in the size above.
Helpful 45 - tire reviewed on August 3, 2023
Given 97% while driving a Audi RS3 8V (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Best Tires I had on my RS3, tried many brands in my 5/6 year ownership. Pirelli Pzero hands down the worst ones, aquaplanning at 70kmh and weared out so damn fast.... These instead wow, just wow. Never slided out of control under the rain, nice feeling and grip in all weathers, almost zero tread wear. In dry conditions very nice and precise to drive cooping with the audi 4x4... Super happy with the experience overall. I would go with the next gen of this model no brainer for the new ones i will get in the future.
Helpful 54 - tire reviewed on May 16, 2023
Given 64% while driving a BMW 520d (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
My initial review is here somewhere but I can not find it to edit it.

End of life review: so, I bought these in May 2020 for la 5 series 520d with 177hp, rwd. I used them by rotation, for 3 summers and aprox 30-35k km on mixed roads. I planned to use them this summer as well, two of them had 4mm and the other two had 6mm, but, even if I properly stored them, had correct pressure in them and so, they show advance aging https:// imgur. com /a/BoXRfVW (remove spaces) which never happened to previous 4 sets of GY that I had on different cars for even 4-5 years/set, but also, never had GY UHP tires before.
I replaced them with Hankook Prime 4, as I wasn't feeling safe with them anymore and also they became very noisy but still with a good grip both on dry and wet.
Not sure if I will buy any other GY anytime soon.
Helpful 46 - tire reviewed on May 6, 2023