Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 and this tire has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 90%
Wear 85%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 88%

Tire review data from 167 tire reviews averaging 88% over 873,271 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is ranked 1st of 64 Summer Max Performance tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Tire Reviews UHP Summer Tire Test - 1st of 14 tires

  • Positive - Excellent rounded tire with almost no weakness, sporty handling in the dry and wet, very short wet braking, very high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Average external noise.
  • Overall - The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a tire with almost no weaknesses, it has excellent grip in the dry and wet, sporty handling, excellent aquaplaning resistance and low rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Express Summer Tire Test - 5th of 10 tires

  • Overall - The Asym 5 had a balanced performance in the we and dry but had a very high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild 19 inch Summer Tire Test - 7th of 15 tires

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning resistance, short wet and dry braking distances, good grip and balanced handling behavior in the wet.
  • Negative - Slight understeer balance in the dry.
  • Overall - Recommended.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 72 7.88kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 8.50kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/40 R17 91Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 8.76kgs
215/45 R17 87Y XL   E A 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70 9.50kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   A B 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 9.50kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 95Y XL   E A 70 9.68kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   E A 70 8.80kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL         10.47kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 70 10.47kgs
225/50 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 11.57kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.95kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 71 12.26kgs
245/55 R17 106H XL MO-V A B 71 17.00kgs
225/35 R18 87W XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.43kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 72 10.23kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.49kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 73 11.09kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO C A 71 9.44kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 70 9.67kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 9.77kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL   E A 70 11.96kgs
225/45 R18 91Y XL   B A 70 9.36kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL FIAT JEEP B B 71 9.49kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 12.40kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.52kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL         10.69kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.02kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.25kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.77kgs
255/45 R18 99Y XL   E A 72 11.25kgs
215/50 R18 92W XL         10.00kgs
235/50 R18 101H XL   B A 69 12.47kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL         11.75kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 11.13kgs
225/60 R18 104Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 73 9.90kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.49kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 71 9.96kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 10.30kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.51kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   B A 69 9.58kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL         11.79kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 72 10.33kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 12.23kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 72 11.31kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B C 70 12.25kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C A 71 9.81kgs
235/45 R19 99H XL   B B 70 10.88kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 13.94kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 72 10.51kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 72 10.92kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 11.71kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 16.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 72 12.91kgs
235/45 R20 100W XL   C A 71 10.58kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 12.15kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 8.00kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   C A 73 11.56kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL   C A 72 10.83kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 72 16.41kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 73 15.00kgs
265/40 R22 106Y XL   C A 72 15.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

2019-03-16 - How is sidewall stiffness, steering response and precision characteristics of this comparing to Falken Azenis FK510, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (not S), Conti PremiumContact 6 ? Thank you.

I am testing the Asymmetric 5 against the PC6 (and Asym 3) next week, keep an eye on youtube for the video :)


2019-04-05 - Merc E350 amg coupe 2015. The front and rear have different size tires. The asymmetric 5 make a size to fit the rear, but not the front. Any problems with asymmetric 5 on the rear and asymmetric 3 on the front?

While it's not ideal, there's no problem to run that combination of Asym 3 and Asym 5.


2019-04-21 - do you think the correct tire pressure for 225/45 r17 91Y PS? (vehicle: dsg golf 1.2 2015 110hp)

The tire pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tire pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2019-05-29 - Does anyone know if / when Goodyear will release a 205/40r17 in the Asymmetric 5. Currently using the Asymmetric 3 but this tire size has now been discontinued. Also looking for it in a 225/45r19 again just recently discontinued in the Asymmetric 3 range.

Both 205/40 17 and 225/45 19 are now available in Asymmetric 5, so you should be able to find them in the marketplace :)


2019-06-21 - When will 255/30/19 and 265/30/19 sizes be released within the UK please?

The Eagle Asymmetric 5 in size 255/30R19 is now on sale it was released earlier this month. It looks like Goodyear won’t be producing the tire in size 265/30R19 as they haven’t produced an Eagle Asymmetric tire in that size since the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2.


2019-09-10 - Can't decide between these ASM5 and Michelin PS4. My my top requirements is Comfort, Wet and Dry Stopping performance, Aquaplaning and Wear rate. the PS4 is now quite a bit more expensive, so that is also a factor. To be fitted to an Audi A6 Avant 255/35/19

There there is a big difference in price, I would go for the Goodyear as the two tires are very close in all other aspects.


2019-11-10 - Deciding between the standard ASM5 or the ASM5 XL 225/45R17. prices are the same but the XL boasts better fuel economy according to the labelling, however will the ride quality suffer due to the reinforced tire? are there any reasons not to go with the XL variant? or are the differences relatively unnoticeable?

The differences between the non-XL and XL versions of tires are usually very small, and in some cases, they're actually the same tire. As these have different label scores, there are differences in the tire for the Asymmetric 5, but I wouldn't let that put you off the XL version as they're likely to be small.


2019-11-29 - Will these be ok on an Audi A5 quattro or is it best to stick to RO tires? If RO is best what would you recommend?

I'd have no problems putting an aftermarket version of the Asymmetric 5 on an Audi.


2020-03-05 - I have a VW caddy maxi with 19inch wheels with Goodyear Eagle 1 asymmetric 5 (225 /35 ) what should the tire pressure be ??

The tire pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tire pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2020-03-26 - Does anyone know if the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 also in runflat (ROF) version available is? Size 225/55 R17.

I believe as of writing (April 2020) only the Asymmetric 3 is available in runflat in 225/55 R17.


2020-04-02 - I am looking for the GY F1 Asym5 for my 2008 Lexus gs450h. Lexus recommends 245 40 r18 93 y. But is it better to go with the 97 xl as the car has 345 horsepower? Or is the difference too small?

Fitting the higher load rated Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 is perfectly legal, and while the differences might be small between the 93 and 97 load rating tires, there's no disadvantages if you're looking for improved handling.


2020-06-13 - what sort of tire would your recommend for a vw sharan with 184 bhp front wheel drive. Would you recommend strictly touring tire or uhp if you like some spirited driving? I have p7 at the moment. So far having read reviews on p7, ps4, pc6, gy ef1 a5 am leaning towards goodyears. Or shall I wait for new p7 c2 as there are no reviews on them? Comfort, fuel efficiency and good wet dry handling is the priority... hope you can help!!

A tire like the Asymmetric 5 would be an excellent blend of comfort and sporty driving for your VW.


2020-08-11 - If price were not a factor which would you recommend for a combination of comfort on road trips and spirited driving on windy roads: Michelin pilot sport 4 or Goodyear eagle fi asymmetric 5? Seat Leon fr 225/40 R18

My choice would be the Asymmetric 5 as I prefer the handling over the PS4.


2020-09-22 - Do they make 275/35/19 asymmetric 5 for rear of BMW 5-Series.

They sure do, they can be found here.


2021-03-20 - I have a TVR T350, its a very light sports car but because if the front tire size being 225-35-18 the 35profile tire range is limited. After a lot of search I am torn between the Asymetric 5 or running a Michelin Super Sport on the front and a PS4S on the rear. Michelins are my preferred however because of the size I would need to mix in this way. Is this a good idea or would the Asymetric 5 although a range below the Michelin be a better bet?

Good question. Usually I'd prefer to match tires, but as the 350 is so light and the PSS / PS4S not the worse combination of tires, I might be tempted to try that. Whatever you decide, be sure to let me know how you find them!


2021-07-01 - The "Fuel" results of Asymmetric 5 Label Scores have all kinds of result from A to E. Why the testing results are so inconsistent for different sizes of the same model? I am going to buy "25/40 R18 92Y XL" which has "E", is it going to be very bad for fuel consumption?

Generally bigger / wider tires have a higher rolling resistance, which is why you often see different label scores when looking at a tire range with lots of sizes. The real world differences between a C and E aren't that huge and I personally wouldn't let it influence my purchase decision too much.


2021-07-06 - The price difference for both the PS4 and the GYA5 is £20 for two tires. Which should I go for? And would you recommend the XL version or the standard? These are for the front 2 tires on a BMW F30. Thanks!

From all my testing I prefer the front axle feel of the Asymmetric 5, but both tires are excellent products!


2021-10-29 - Many Jaguar XF owners have slated the AS5 and favoring its predecessor, the AS3. Does anyone know why?

I've not heard of this, sorry. Jag owners are also the only people in the world to like the P6000 so it might be the OE Asym 3 is more suited than an aftermarket Asym 5.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 5 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW 3 (225/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I have had fitted in my BMW and they are absolutely great. Precise steering, great on wet and excellent on dry roads.
589 - tire reviewed on January 1, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 330d SE (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I am really happy with these tires, the way they grip and give confidence in all conditions is amazing. They are also comfortable and quiet when you just want to cruise. I can break traction with them in the wet in lower gears on my car, but they do so in a very predictable and controllable manner. My only slight gripe is that they tend to pick up small sharp stones which seem to get stuck easily into the rubber, so it would appear that the compound is quite soft. I have had no issues with wear however, 6000 miles in and they look almost like new on the rear despite some heavy right-footedness.
65 - tire reviewed on February 10, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a MINI Roadster SD (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
These tires are super sticky as expected. Grip levels are top notch both in dry and wet.
Silent and super comfortable. I wish steering to be sharper and faster. But we can't have it all.
They are actually not Ultra High Performance or Max Performance tires. I would call these as Sport Touring tires. It's really pity that premium tire manufacturers don't have real Max Performance and Ultra Performance Tires (below 19") in their product portfolio anymore. Instead they label Touring Tires as Performance Tires which is not really good.

Would I buy these again? Maybe not for my weekend/sport car. But I would definitely buy these for our family estate car. Excellent quality tires.
48 - tire reviewed on April 21, 2019   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Volvo (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
I rarely uses back the same tire models as i enjoys trying out different make and models, but this is the first time for me to replaced a worn out set with the same mode. No issue handling 440NM on a FF on the straight and corners. Comfortable cruising as a family car too. And most importantly, the pricing is very competitive, costing 30% lower than the PS4.
0 - tire reviewed on January 20, 2022   
Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Good tire for dry and wet weather. comfortable
0 - tire reviewed on January 16, 2022   
Want the best all season tire? Click here!
Given 59% while driving a Ford mondeo 2.2 (235/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 8,000 easy going miles
Dry grip good , wet grip good, had thease on my previous car 18s done 17000 miles loved them, 8000 miles on thease and rears are worn to 3.5 mil and fronts on about 6 and not been on long front wheel drive
0 - tire reviewed on January 12, 2022   
Given 49% while driving a Audi A3 Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 7,000 easy going miles
These are a very comfortable tire that are great in the dry and cabin noise is low. However they really struggle to put power down in the wet and my tires started perishing after just 18 months. They were replaced under warranty but i would not buy them again.
0 - tire reviewed on January 8, 2022   
Given 87% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLC200 (245/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 18 average miles
Same feedback as the assymetric 3. Very good dry and wet grip, but unfortunately the lasted only for 28.000km in 2 years. I think i wouldn’t buy them again because of their very fast wear.
0 - tire reviewed on January 6, 2022   
Given 86% while driving a Fiat Bravo (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 8,000 spirited miles
The tire drives very good both on dry and wet conditions. I have tried continental, hankook, Michelin but these are one click above. It's the second time i choose them. The only - is that if you push them too much they will lose their grip as they get too hot, but that is not the point for a tire like this.
0 - tire reviewed on December 31, 2021   
Given 93% while driving a BMW 120d M sport (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I run a staggered setup (225/40 front, 245/35 rear) and honestly these tires feel amazing. The car feels very stable and inspires confidence at all speeds and conditions. You can feel when the tires are at their limit and they are very predictable, it's hard to lose control if you tried. They're also way cheaper than comparable Michelins or Continentals in my area so really a no-brainer. Unfortunately I can't comment on wear yet but even if they wear quickly I wouldn't complain because the way they drive is worth it. I did notice a performance loss at lower temperatures (below 10 C) but these are not winter tires so that's expected.
0 - tire reviewed on December 29, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Good overall grip, take a bit of time to warm on dry. Feel extremely safe and confident in wet. Slight noise but don't really bother me or affect my ride experience in any way. Great tire overall
0 - tire reviewed on December 29, 2021   
Given 79% while driving a Mazda 6 Tourer 2.2D Sport (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Excellent tire driven on windy mountain roads in southern france
0 - tire reviewed on December 27, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Audi A8L Quattro (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I am on my second set of these tires on my Audi. Lots of high-speed highway and country road usage. Grip is amazing, feels slightly less grippy in the wet, but in my opinion this is due to cars' weight. Each set lasts for about 15k miles or 2 years. Road noise is minimal and the feedback even on a cruise ship like mine is pretty good. I bought a BMW Z4 recently and I am looking to get a set of these for the next summer (if there isn't a newer model of course). All in all: great tires for the price, feels secure and predictable. Definitely recommend a purchase
1 - tire reviewed on December 4, 2021   
Given 83% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 1.8 TS (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
After 15,000km driving over the last year, the goodyears have been stored for winter. I'm very satisfied with their performance. excellent road feedback, grip in all conditions and wear without great sacrifice to comfort levels. 5~6mm of thread left after 15,000km of when off the motorway, spirited driving. Car handles great, would recommend.
0 - tire reviewed on December 3, 2021   
Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Velar (255/50 R20) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Great all round tire! Excellent handling in wet/Damp conditions. I’ve done close to 1000 miles so far and very impressed. Been off roads in farms and down to the blast faces in quarry’s and grip has also been there. Only slight negative is I get a small amount of road noise on that horrible concrete stretch of the M25 (jnc9 to jnc8)
0 - tire reviewed on December 2, 2021