Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 and this tire has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 89%
Wear 82%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 86%

Tire review data from 203 tire reviews averaging 87% over 1,135,840 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is ranked 9th of 70 Summer Max Performance tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Tire Reviews UHP Summer Tire Test - 1st of 14 tires

  • Positive - Excellent rounded tire with almost no weakness, sporty handling in the dry and wet, very short wet braking, very high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Average external noise.
  • Overall - The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a tire with almost no weaknesses, it has excellent grip in the dry and wet, sporty handling, excellent aquaplaning resistance and low rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild 19 inch Summer Tire Test - 7th of 15 tires

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning resistance, short wet and dry braking distances, good grip and balanced handling behavior in the wet.
  • Negative - Slight understeer balance in the dry.
  • Overall - Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2021 Camper Van / SUV Tire Test - 6th of 8 tires

  • Positive - Very high aquaplaning resistance, good grip in the dry.
  • Negative - Long wet braking distances.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 72 7.88kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 8.50kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/40 R17 91Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 8.76kgs
215/45 R17 87Y XL   E A 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70 9.50kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   A B 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 9.50kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 95Y XL   E A 70 9.68kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   E A 70 8.80kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL         10.47kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 70 10.47kgs
225/50 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 11.57kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.95kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 71 12.26kgs
245/55 R17 106H XL MO-V A B 71 17.00kgs
225/35 R18 87W XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.43kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 72 10.23kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.49kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 73 11.09kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO C A 71 9.44kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 70 9.67kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 9.77kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL   E A 70 11.96kgs
225/45 R18 91Y XL   B A 70 9.36kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL FIAT JEEP B B 71 9.49kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 12.40kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.52kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL         10.69kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.02kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.25kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.77kgs
255/45 R18 99Y XL   E A 72 11.25kgs
215/50 R18 92W XL         10.00kgs
235/50 R18 101H XL   B A 69 12.47kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL         11.75kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 11.13kgs
225/60 R18 104Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 73 9.90kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.49kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 71 9.96kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 10.30kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.51kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   B A 69 9.58kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL         11.79kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 72 10.33kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 12.23kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 72 11.31kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B C 70 12.25kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C A 71 9.81kgs
235/45 R19 99H XL   B B 70 10.88kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 13.94kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 72 10.51kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 72 10.92kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 11.71kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 16.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 72 12.91kgs
235/45 R20 100W XL   C A 71 10.58kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 12.15kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 8.00kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   C A 73 11.56kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL   C A 72 10.83kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 72 16.41kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 73 15.00kgs
265/40 R22 106Y XL   C A 72 15.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

2019-03-16 - How is sidewall stiffness, steering response and precision characteristics of this comparing to Falken Azenis FK510, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (not S), Conti PremiumContact 6 ? Thank you.

I am testing the Asymmetric 5 against the PC6 (and Asym 3) next week, keep an eye on youtube for the video :)


2019-04-06 - Merc E350 amg coupe 2015. The front and rear have different size tires. The asymmetric 5 make a size to fit the rear, but not the front. Any problems with asymmetric 5 on the rear and asymmetric 3 on the front?

While it's not ideal, there's no problem to run that combination of Asym 3 and Asym 5.


2019-04-21 - do you think the correct tire pressure for 225/45 r17 91Y PS? (vehicle: dsg golf 1.2 2015 110hp)

The tire pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tire pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2019-05-29 - Does anyone know if / when Goodyear will release a 205/40r17 in the Asymmetric 5. Currently using the Asymmetric 3 but this tire size has now been discontinued. Also looking for it in a 225/45r19 again just recently discontinued in the Asymmetric 3 range.

Both 205/40 17 and 225/45 19 are now available in Asymmetric 5, so you should be able to find them in the marketplace :)


2019-06-21 - When will 255/30/19 and 265/30/19 sizes be released within the UK please?

The Eagle Asymmetric 5 in size 255/30R19 is now on sale it was released earlier this month. It looks like Goodyear won’t be producing the tire in size 265/30R19 as they haven’t produced an Eagle Asymmetric tire in that size since the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2.


2019-09-10 - Can't decide between these ASM5 and Michelin PS4. My my top requirements is Comfort, Wet and Dry Stopping performance, Aquaplaning and Wear rate. the PS4 is now quite a bit more expensive, so that is also a factor. To be fitted to an Audi A6 Avant 255/35/19

There there is a big difference in price, I would go for the Goodyear as the two tires are very close in all other aspects.


2019-11-10 - Deciding between the standard ASM5 or the ASM5 XL 225/45R17. prices are the same but the XL boasts better fuel economy according to the labelling, however will the ride quality suffer due to the reinforced tire? are there any reasons not to go with the XL variant? or are the differences relatively unnoticeable?

The differences between the non-XL and XL versions of tires are usually very small, and in some cases, they're actually the same tire. As these have different label scores, there are differences in the tire for the Asymmetric 5, but I wouldn't let that put you off the XL version as they're likely to be small.


2019-11-29 - Will these be ok on an Audi A5 quattro or is it best to stick to RO tires? If RO is best what would you recommend?

I'd have no problems putting an aftermarket version of the Asymmetric 5 on an Audi.


2020-03-05 - I have a VW caddy maxi with 19inch wheels with Goodyear Eagle 1 asymmetric 5 (225 /35 ) what should the tire pressure be ??

The tire pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tire pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2020-03-26 - Does anyone know if the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 also in runflat (ROF) version available is? Size 225/55 R17.

I believe as of writing (April 2020) only the Asymmetric 3 is available in runflat in 225/55 R17.


2020-04-02 - I am looking for the GY F1 Asym5 for my 2008 Lexus gs450h. Lexus recommends 245 40 r18 93 y. But is it better to go with the 97 xl as the car has 345 horsepower? Or is the difference too small?

Fitting the higher load rated Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 is perfectly legal, and while the differences might be small between the 93 and 97 load rating tires, there's no disadvantages if you're looking for improved handling.


2020-06-13 - what sort of tire would your recommend for a vw sharan with 184 bhp front wheel drive. Would you recommend strictly touring tire or uhp if you like some spirited driving? I have p7 at the moment. So far having read reviews on p7, ps4, pc6, gy ef1 a5 am leaning towards goodyears. Or shall I wait for new p7 c2 as there are no reviews on them? Comfort, fuel efficiency and good wet dry handling is the priority... hope you can help!!

A tire like the Asymmetric 5 would be an excellent blend of comfort and sporty driving for your VW.


2020-08-11 - If price were not a factor which would you recommend for a combination of comfort on road trips and spirited driving on windy roads: Michelin pilot sport 4 or Goodyear eagle fi asymmetric 5? Seat Leon fr 225/40 R18

My choice would be the Asymmetric 5 as I prefer the handling over the PS4.


2020-09-22 - Do they make 275/35/19 asymmetric 5 for rear of BMW 5-Series.

They sure do, they can be found here.


2021-03-20 - I have a TVR T350, its a very light sports car but because if the front tire size being 225-35-18 the 35profile tire range is limited. After a lot of search I am torn between the Asymetric 5 or running a Michelin Super Sport on the front and a PS4S on the rear. Michelins are my preferred however because of the size I would need to mix in this way. Is this a good idea or would the Asymetric 5 although a range below the Michelin be a better bet?

Good question. Usually I'd prefer to match tires, but as the 350 is so light and the PSS / PS4S not the worse combination of tires, I might be tempted to try that. Whatever you decide, be sure to let me know how you find them!


2021-07-01 - The "Fuel" results of Asymmetric 5 Label Scores have all kinds of result from A to E. Why the testing results are so inconsistent for different sizes of the same model? I am going to buy "25/40 R18 92Y XL" which has "E", is it going to be very bad for fuel consumption?

Generally bigger / wider tires have a higher rolling resistance, which is why you often see different label scores when looking at a tire range with lots of sizes. The real world differences between a C and E aren't that huge and I personally wouldn't let it influence my purchase decision too much.


2021-07-06 - The price difference for both the PS4 and the GYA5 is £20 for two tires. Which should I go for? And would you recommend the XL version or the standard? These are for the front 2 tires on a BMW F30. Thanks!

From all my testing I prefer the front axle feel of the Asymmetric 5, but both tires are excellent products!


2021-10-29 - Many Jaguar XF owners have slated the AS5 and favoring its predecessor, the AS3. Does anyone know why?

I've not heard of this, sorry. Jag owners are also the only people in the world to like the P6000 so it might be the OE Asym 3 is more suited than an aftermarket Asym 5.


2022-02-20 - Hello! Can you help me please - choosing for BMW 525d Xdrive from GYA5 (or GYA6) and Michelin PS4. What on your opinion will be good for my car in 245/45/18? Looking for a kind of balance between sporty and a kind of comfort. Thanks a lot!

This 18" tire test will show you everything you need to know about the PS4 vs Asym 5.


2022-08-23 - In the size that fits my car (MAZDA6 WAGON MY2017 ) 225/45R19 there are two different references of the Asym5 with two different scores Fuel/Wet B/C and A/B. I found a website that states that this diference is beause there is a Tube and a TL version. In your opinion what would be the best option ?? Thanks in advance.

I'm not sure one is a tube version, that would be very odd with todays technology. It's more likely one was an updated tire for a better label result or one is an OE fitment which has a different blend of performances. I'd double check one isn't OE fitment and if not get the better label score.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 6 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW 3 (225/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I have had fitted in my BMW and they are absolutely great. Precise steering, great on wet and excellent on dry roads.
Helpful 620 - tire reviewed on January 1, 2019
Given 99% while driving a BMW 330d SE (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I am really happy with these tires, the way they grip and give confidence in all conditions is amazing. They are also comfortable and quiet when you just want to cruise. I can break traction with them in the wet in lower gears on my car, but they do so in a very predictable and controllable manner. My only slight gripe is that they tend to pick up small sharp stones which seem to get stuck easily into the rubber, so it would appear that the compound is quite soft. I have had no issues with wear however, 6000 miles in and they look almost like new on the rear despite some heavy right-footedness.
Helpful 82 - tire reviewed on February 10, 2021
Given 89% while driving a MINI Roadster SD (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
These tires are super sticky as expected. Grip levels are top notch both in dry and wet.
Silent and super comfortable. I wish steering to be sharper and faster. But we can't have it all.
They are actually not Ultra High Performance or Max Performance tires. I would call these as Sport Touring tires. It's really pity that premium tire manufacturers don't have real Max Performance and Ultra Performance Tires (below 19") in their product portfolio anymore. Instead they label Touring Tires as Performance Tires which is not really good.

Would I buy these again? Maybe not for my weekend/sport car. But I would definitely buy these for our family estate car. Excellent quality tires.
Helpful 60 - tire reviewed on April 21, 2019
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Had Continentals on before and they were awful, Merc 350 Coupe is utterly transformed with these Goodyears on.. Merc is lovely to drive now, where before it was all over the shop
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on November 10, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Audi A3 2.0T quattro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Amazing tires, quite simply the best I've ever had. Absolute grip in the dry... But its the wet which amazes me more because this tire treats the wet like its dry!!
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on November 4, 2022
All Season VS Winter Tires: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 81% while driving a Lexus IS250 RWD (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,534 spirited miles
For the competitive price and above 8 scores across all parameters. This tire is truly a winner which offers the best advantages. The only down side is the tire could get a little noisy after 20,000km in my personal experience.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on October 30, 2022
Given 40% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST180 (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Pros: + Good grip in the dry + Decent ride over bumps + Little road noise Cons: - Poor in rain & damp conditions. Does not need spirited driving to spin the tires. - Lacks steering precision due to softness of tire - Can be prone to sudden understeer, & this includes dry conditions - Quick tire wear - Drives badly once the tirewear reaches 4mm - Average steering feel Overall: These tires came with the car I bought 2nd hand. I wish they did not as I knew what to expect. I previously owned a Skoda Octavia VRS Mk2 which I got Goodyear Asymmetric 3s all round, & they were really bad. Understeer, delayed reaction & lack of steering precision. The Asymmetric 5s only improvement is better grip, but the same traits remain as the Asymmetric 3 because of how soft Goodyear tires typically are. The best Goodyear tires I have owned were the Asymmetric 2s on an old Skoda Fabia, that had great grip in the dry & even better in the rain. Goodyear should bring the Asymmetric 2s for those reasons. The tires on my current Fiesta need changing soon as the tread depth is down to the 3mm range & the handling feels sloppy, so I will change to another brand away from Goodyear.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 29, 2022
Given 97% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 miles
Everything is good with this performance tires except it has hard rubber and hard drive on colder weather, (mornings and evenings). On hot periods of spring and summer shows excellent behavior on road.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on September 18, 2022
Given 69% while driving a Volvo V40 D3 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
As you would expect, high wear and higher rolling resistance. But very good Grip in the dry and especially in the wet, in my opinion there is no big difference in handling no matter if dry or wet, but you notice a more understeery behaviour when temperratures get below 15 degerees.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on July 31, 2022
Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 208 PureTech 150hp (2021) (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 19,000 spirited miles
Previously experience was mostly with Uniroyal and some Michelin tires. Went with a larger size of aftermarket wheels on my new car and decided to give premium tires a shot. Went with the Goodyear's because of a reasonable price and obviously the history they have. I've now done nearly 32.000 km's and have rotated front to back once, after about 12k. Front tires are starting to near the end now, back still have plenty left. In short: These tires performed fantastic for me. Loads of grip, in dry as well as in wet conditions. I did not expect them to be this good in the wet, coming from Uniroyal. Maybe not the most comfortable tire, but nothing extreme, in my opinion. Had lots of fun pushing these tires and they've never let me down.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on July 14, 2022
Given 68% while driving a Nissan 370Z (225/50 R18) on for 0 miles
Excellent grip in the dry, I could feel the tire sticking to the road and had confidence when turning. However, the /50 profile sidewall was extremely soft and caused a lot of body roll and slow turn in, which spoiled all the fun from a sporty drive. Would not buy again, but maybe a lower profile would be better.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on July 9, 2022
Given 96% while driving a Mercedes Benz (235/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
the tire is very predictible at the limit and easy to push. sometimes under hard braking it locks up and ABS kicks in but nothing too dramatic. in the wet the tire feels very safe and in control.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on June 30, 2022
Given 40% while driving a BMW 330D Touring (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
The tires had good grip the first summer then they were stored well and the next summer the grip dropped a lot. Now they are worse than economy tires.
Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on June 20, 2022
Given 67% while driving a BMW 330CD (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Grip levels are fine. The biggest downside is tread life - I have put on about 15 000 kms on them, and they are close to done. Mind you the driving style is pretty normal, with 70% on highways.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on May 16, 2022
Given 77% while driving a Audi A4 Avant Quattro 252 bhp S Line Sport (8W/B9) (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
After many years of using Good Year winter tires on all our Audi’s, we happily swopped the original -not too great- ‘A0’ Hankook Ventus S1 evo 2 tires for these famous F1’s some weeks ago. The drive precision, stability and road holding is indeed much better. Only problem we hear is the excessive rolling noise they produce between 80-130km/h on smooth highway tarmac. It sounds like a hollow singing noise. Similar to the hollow echo you hear when skipping a highly pressurized basketball, only continuous/monotone (instead of briefly with each bounce). Really annoying since quite prominent. Our Audi dealer installed them carefully on the original RS summer rims (8W0073189A 8AU). No advise from Good Year what to do to get these great v5 quiet on these rims, like they should be as ‘C’ labeled for rolling-noise. May be we should have waited for our larger size of the recently introduced slightly better v6? Because of this - never experienced before - excessive hollow rolling noise, somewhat disappointed.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on May 12, 2022