Michelin CrossClimate+

In February 2017, Michelin launched the MICHELIN CrossClimate+ which will continue to combine the best of both summer and winter tire worlds with long-lasting performance.

Tire review data from 111 tire reviews averaging 83% over 1,395,123 miles driven, and 27 tests with an average result of 4th.

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 74%
Wear 88%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 86%
Snow Grip 82%
Ice Grip 74%

First On MarketJanuary 2017
Wheel Size13 - 19"
Width145 - 265mm
Profile35 - 70
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)68 - 71
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The CrossClimate+ is ranked 8th of 57 All Season Premium Touring tires.

This tire replaced the Michelin CrossClimate and this tire has been replaced by the Michelin CrossClimate 2.

Tests Included

27

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

11th

Average Result

4th

Latest Tire Test Results

Michelin CrossClimate 2 VS Michelin CrossClimate+
2nd of 2 tires
  • The Michelin CrossClimate+ has been testing well since 2017, rarely finishing out of the top five, even in 2020. The replacement Michelin CrossClimate 2 was launched in September 2021, and improves on the CrossClimate plus in the dry, wet, snow and rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>
2021 AZ All Season Tire Test
4th of 9 tires
  • Consistently good results for the highly recommendable Michelin CrossClimate+, when it's wet or dry. Reliable on snowy roads.
View Full Test >>
2020 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test
5th of 11 tires
  • Best on test in the dry with good handling and short dry braking.
  • Average wet braking, most expensive tire on test, higher levels of noise.
  • The CrossClimate+ excels in the dry and is fine in the snow, but couldn't match the latest generation of all season tires in the wet. The CrossClimate 2 will be coming to market in 2021.

View Full Test >>

2021 Tire Tests

2020 Tire Tests

2019 Tire Tests

2018 Tire Tests

2017 Tire Tests

Reports

  • What's changed with the new Michelin CrossClimate+
  • SizeFuelWetNoise
    14 inch
    185/60R14 86 H XLCC68
    175/65R14 86 H XLCC68
    165/70R14 85 T XLDC68
    15 inch
    185/65R15 92 T XLCB68
    185/65R15 92 V XLCB68
    195/65R15 91 HCB69
    195/65R15 95 V XLCB69
    195/55R15 89 V XLCB69
    16 inch
    205/60R16 96 W XLDB69
    215/60R16 99 V XLBB69
    205/55R16 91 HCB69
    205/55R16 94 V XLCB69
    205/60R16 96 V XLCB69
    205/60R16 96 H XLCB69
    17 inch
    205/50R17 93 W XLCB69
    215/55R17 98 W XLCB69
    225/45R17 94 W XLCB69
    225/50R17 98 V XLCB69
    225/50R17 98 W XLDB69
    215/45R17 91 W XLCB69
    225/60R17 103 V XLBB69
    215/55R17 94 VCB69
    18 inch
    225/40R18 92 Y XLDB71
    245/45R18 96 YCB71
    255/35R18 94 Y XLCB71
    225/40R18 92 Y XLCB69
    245/40R18 97 Y XLCB69
    245/45R18 100 Y XLCB69
    View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Michelin CrossClimate Plus >>

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate Plus

    2017-01-17 - I am considering buying a set of Crossclimates for my Jaguar - the size is 225/60 16 102W. Discovering the tire is about to be replaced by the Crossclimate+ is making me hesitate! Michelin introduced the original Crossclimate in a fairly narrow set of sizes - my 225/60 16 was not one of them. Is Michelin likely to do the same thing with the new Crossclimate+ - with the slightly less popular tire sizes like mine being introduced later - in which case I should just go ahead and order the original Crossclimate, rather than wait for the Crossclimate+? Does anyone know how Michelin has improved the tire? - Is the new tire a better compromise (better warm dry braking and handling) or is it less fundamental tweaking?

    Our full report of what has changed in the new CrossClimate+ can be found here. The sizes will roll out in stages as before, so if you need new tires we'd suggest getting not waiting for the CrossClimate+!


    2017-08-30 - I am considering buying either 4 Michelin CC Plus or Goodyear Eagle Asymmetrical 3 for my Jag XF 2.2, tire size 245/45/R18. I live in semi rural Wales just outside Cardiff and although I probably wont be exceeding 10,000 miles a year, I will be driving around the welsh valleys on A and B roads with my new job more than I have previously when I used to catch a train more often than not. Its the million dollar question of whether to pay for winter tires or just a good quality summer tire and now we have the option of an all-season/ weather tire. I don't do any high performance driving etc. We are yet to have another harsh winter since 2012 but no doubt this year will be the year. I was after some advice on the suitability of these two tires for my car and driving situation as a good all rounders but being able to handle a cold snap should it arrive. Also whether I could realistically consider a slightly cheaper tire that would fit the bill? Thanks There is a £30 difference in price on blackcircles.com

    If you need to stay mobile when the bad weather comes, and don't want to pair the Goodyear summer tire with a full winter tire, the CrossClimate is your best option.


    2018-09-14 - Can someone please help me to decide between 91H and 94V XL. I am going to get 4 of Michelin cross climate plus tires in 205/55 R16 tires for Mercedes B160 Sport. The current factory fitted tires are 215/40 R18 89W XL contis.As I already had 16" wheels with winter tires so I decided to go with cross climates instead of changing wheels and tires twice a year. Now I am struggling to decide that should I get the specified speed and load rating of 91H with softer sidewalls or should I go with 94V XL with stronger sidewall. I don't mind paying little bit extra if there is any benefit. So can someone please help.

    Personally I would run the stiffer sidewall option where available as I prefer a sharper steering response over comfort.


    2018-11-26 - are these run flat tires

    I don't believe there are any runflat sizes of the CrossClimate yet.


    2019-03-18 - I would love a set of CrossClimate+ on my car for a hustle free UK driving but iv got an 19" alloy with 225/40. They seem to produce at least one tire in 19" but its a 255 and surely if they produce one they will produce others... My question is do they have other 19" sizes? Are they just unavailable atm?

    19" all season tires are currently low demand, so there's a chance it's not produced. Email Michelin to see if it's on their roadmap.


    2019-09-25 - I live in Yorkshire and drive an M140i. I am considering the CrossClimate+ as my only tire but not sure if this is too much of a compromise in the summer? The car currently has Pilot Super Sports. Price is not important but driving enjoyment and safety all year round is.

    If driving enjoyment is key to you, your best option is to use the CrossClimate+ as a winter tire, and switch back to your summer tires in the summer.


    2019-11-05 - Can you tell me what the thread depth is on the New Michelin CROSSCLIMATE SUV car tires?

    The tread depth for the CrossClimate+ can vary by size, so it's best to ask michelin directly. The CrossClimate+ usually starts between 6mm and 7.5mm.


    2019-11-19 - I am looking at getting some new tires for my car for winter would you say the Michelin crossclimate+ will be good for using all year or I can get another set of wheels for winter use for not that much money and put the cross climates on those to just use in the winter. I currently have Michelin summer tires that need replacing anyway. I am a tire fitter anyway so fitting isn’t a problem and can always swap wheels easily. What sort of difference would we feel in dry summer conditions with the cross climate.

    The CrossClimate is the most summer feeling of the all season tires, but you will notice a reduction in handling qualities compared to your summer tires. If you're a tire fitter, I suggest doing the test yourself and letting us know via a review!


    2020-05-13 - I am delighted with the review in Finland of TYREREVIEWS, and I am running low on rubber on the front axle on my C class , w204, 225/45/ 17" . I am moving from Oxford to Norwich this summer, and when the fall hits us, I am wondering if the Michellin CC+ are still a good allrounder for the temperature changes, as that area seems to be drier than where I have lived until now?

    The CC+ is an excellent all season tire at all temperatures. A summer tire is still the better option if you can avoid snow and very cold temperatures, or live in an area that doesn't get this weather, but if you're looking to fit an all season tire, the CrossClimate+ is the best option for the majority of the UK


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    195/65 R15 $143.96 - $149.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 $144.97 - $144.97 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/50 R17 $163.99 - $163.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 6 tire sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin CrossClimate Plus Reviews

    Given 87% while driving a Skoda Yeti 4 x 4 (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 200 easy going miles
    Bought set of 4 new Cross Climate XL from Halfords a week ago and only covered approximately 200 miles.

    So it is still very early days BUT I have noticed a lot less road noise and much more responsive steering.

    My car came with Continental tires as OEM & has covered just over 21K miles from new - was registered March 2014.
    Helpful 568 - tire reviewed on January 8, 2017
    Given 93% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    An excellent all-rounder. Fitted in March 2018 to replace a set of excellent Dunlop SP Sport Fastresponse (summer) tires that were at the (then) limit of age I set to 6 years, plus I 'downsized' from 205/55 R16 to 195/65 R15 due to alloy wheel corrosion causing tire leaks. In non-winter conditions, I noticed no difference in how the new Michelins performed vs the Dunlops, but it was the superior winter performance that I was looking for and got.

    I didn't need winter-biased all-season tires as I live in East Anglia, which rarely gets snow in winter, but when it did, the Michelins proved more than sufficient to the task. Dry and wet grip have always been assured, and wear is low at about 1.0 - 1.5 mm after 10,000 miles of mixed driving. Well worth the premium over summer tires for the extra reassurance in cold conditions, as well as the low wear rate without the penalty some tires have in terms of firm ride and noise. Even better when you consider that I had downsized the tires.

    I would strongly consider buying the updated version of these tires next time around, should the car last that long (it's now 17.5 years old), which could be another 5-6 years or 25,000+ miles if the wear rate holds. Note that for comparison, I have previously listed my previous two sets of tires (the Dunlops [excellent] and the OEM Bridgestone ER30s [poor]).
    Helpful 85 - tire reviewed on June 23, 2023
    Given 75% while driving a Subaru Outback 3.0L (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    These are the best all season tires i’ve ever fitted. Performance-wise they offer very good snow grip, are more than adequate in the wet and dry handling is on par with summer tires. The only drawback is the increased tire noise, especially during cruising. They are exceptional in the mud too!
    Helpful 70 - tire reviewed on April 13, 2023
    Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate Plus tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin CrossClimate Plus? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Michelin CrossClimate Plus >

    Latest Michelin CrossClimate Plus Reviews

    Given 84% while driving a SEAT Leon 5F 1.0 TSI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 34,500 average miles
    This is yet another and final update following my previous review which was exactly 1 year ago. The Crossclimate Plus tires have now done well over 55.000 km (34,5k miles) and are now around 4mm profile depth on average. Specifically: 2 x 4,0mm and 2 x 4,5mm. I rotated them front/back twice. Coming from their new profile depth of 7,1mm, they are just over their halfway mark, if you take the legal 1,6mm minimum into account.
    However, since wintertires should have at least 4mm, they are now nearly finished as "certified" winter tires. And in all fairness, I have been pushing them a bit harder over the last 5000 km than I did before, so probably wore them a bit more than average over their whole lifespan.
    Still, the funny thing is that if I were to just use them as summer tires from now on, they would probably still last about 20-30k km!
    I won't, but still that's pretty amazing.

    Overall these tires have never let me down and are just very impressive. Good grip in all conditions and I never had any real surprises with them. Driven them all over Europe: in summer heat at speed on Autobahns, on many daily city drives, occasionally on snowy mountain-roads, through many torrential rainstorms, on cold slushy/snowy/muddy paths etcetc.
    On balance, probably the best tires I've ever had, and I've had quite a few.
    Since most reviews claim that the Crossclimate 2 tires are more snow-biased then these (which I don't need) I will probably look for another brand alternative, but hats off to Michelin for the Crossclimate Plus!
    Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on January 30, 2024
    Given 91% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 21,000 spirited miles
    Pros:
    Excellent dry cornering and braking
    Very good on snow and ice
    Even with occasional faster driving the tires have lasted over 20,000 miles and still have between 3/4mm of tread left.

    Cons:
    Does not perform particularly well in the rain. Car gets pulled around a lot by standing water. However, it does feel in control when letting off the accelerator as it slows down.
    Helpful 33 - tire reviewed on December 13, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 81% while driving a SEAT Leon 5F 1.0 TSI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 32,000 easy going miles
    This is an update on my previous review. Two things: 1. I got the mileage wrong on previous review, I've calculated that these tires have done 50k kilometres now. I checked the tire wear indicators on multiple points on all tires last week. They are still nowhere near the limit. Actually quite astonishing, because unless tire wear goes exponential (which it doesn't) they surely have a LOT left on them. Even more than I initially predicted and hoped. So the update there: they have even better wear than I thought. I do keep my tire pressures in check regularly and try not to use the brakes wherever possible, but still. 2. Also we had some pretty snowy/slushy weather here recently. I still believe proper winter tires will be noticeably better in those circumstances, but still they got me out of some pretty tight spots. Traction was a lot better than I predicted and braking was pretty good too in snow. Only let down by cornering, there you have to really not get over-confident on these tires. Because of the better than expected braking and traction, the lesser cornering capability on snow could come as an unwelcome surprise.
    Helpful 61 - tire reviewed on January 31, 2023
    Given 70% while driving a SEAT Leon 5F 1.0 TSI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 25,000 easy going miles
    I bought these in Febuary 2021, because one week earlier I got stranded in the snow with my summer tires still on. On my previous car I had a set of winter tires, but not yet on this one. This will never happen to me again, haha. After some research I decided on these summer-biased allseason tires with "winter capabilities" because I want to get home when it snows, but it hardly ever snows. I began using these tires as all-year-round tires, but after one full year with all sorts of weather I decided that I wanted more from a tire in the summertime. On a vacation to southern Europe with 35+ Celcius temperatures it did feel like the tire was getting a little bit out of its comfort zone, so for these periods in the year a full summertire is probably still best. Also for more sporty and direct feedback and a better look, I decided on a slightly bigger wheelsize (17 inch). So now these allseason CrossClimate+ tires are my "wintertires" (From october/november to march/april). I put around 35.000 - 40.000 km on them and it seems like they still have a lot left on them. I don't drive very aggressively on these tires, because they just don't invite you to do that. There is nothing sporty about them and they tend to understeer quite quickly when pushed. Especially in the wet, which ofcourse is "safe but not fun". They definitely feel safe all year round and give pretty good feedback too. And wet braking seems pretty good too, but I don't have a lot to compare them with. My summer tires are 225's and that's just different all together. I don't think these tires are for people who like to have some sporty possibilities in their car. These tires are not for that. These tires will get you through all sorts of weather (mud included) in the best way possible. I really like having these tires on my car in the more rainy, colder en even snowier months of the year. And because they are truly allseason I can wait until whenever to change them for my summer tires. But I WILL change them for summer tires, once the temperature goes above 10 Celcius, because those will give me more fun! ;-)
    Helpful 66 - tire reviewed on January 4, 2023
    Given 80% while driving a Infiniti 1999 Infiniti G20 (195/65 R15) on mostly town for 2,000 average miles
    Great tire in all conditions aside from ice. Hard pack snow, slush, rain, dry all great performance. A little loud and I’ve noticed a drop in fuel mileage versus the 3-season tires they replaced.
    Helpful 67 - tire reviewed on December 22, 2022
    Given 60% while driving a BMW 318 (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 12,500 average miles
    Very good tire as long as is new. Once you put a few miles on it or after 2 years of use (12500 miles), is rubbish. Over time compared to other tires I had, it wears fast and the grip on ice or wet after 2 years is worse than a summer tire (the performance of the tire drops drastically compared to when it was new). And I don't have a sporty style of driving.
    Helpful 45 - tire reviewed on October 27, 2022
    Given 73% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 easy going miles
    Handling has been good especially in the dry. I did aquaplane once in heavy rain on the motorway and trusted them less in the wet after that. Seem very prone to punctures, I do about 20k miles a year and I’ve had 2 or 3 per year. The tread pattern seems to pick up and logged stones between the tread. I’ve already had 2 sets of these on my current car and tend to replace the rears first then all 4 next time. I’m about to replace them with CC2, although I was tempted to get the Goodyear 4 seasons gen 3 (for longer tread life) but trouble getting them in stock in some places.
    Helpful 42 - tire reviewed on August 15, 2022
    Given 100% while driving a SEAT Seat Mii (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 150,000 spirited miles
    Absolutely fantastic, gives you so much confidence in all weather conditions. I've had them on my car for 2 years now and still have lots of tread left after 15k miles. Highly recommend to anyone who wants a VERY solid all season tire will definitely buy them again.
    Helpful 69 - tire reviewed on May 18, 2022
    Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Touran 5T 2.0 TDI (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 easy going miles
    Just to update my previous review 18 months ago when I first bought these - So far they've done 25,000 miles and have been rotated twice; they are now on about 3mm of tread left. I drive with economy in mind so I don't speed and tend to not corner / brake hard if I can help it; meaning they have had a comparatively easy life on most longer motorway journeys or on local country road trips. The two rears have both been punctured on the same day (must have run over several nails or pieces of glass etc.) and so are about to be replaced by the new CrossClimate 2 version, but I intend to run the two fronts down to 2mm before replacing them with a matching set or the "2", as Michelin are the only manufacturer to design their tread grooves to open up as the tire wears, meaning as long as I slow right down in heavy rain (shouldn't be too often as we're entering the British summer), I should pass the 30,000 mile mark. These tires are excellent - I've been very happy with them throughout the seasons and they inspire confidence in any weather / situation. The car returns decent fuel economy on them and I've never once skidded even in a couple of tight situations in the wet and also in icy / slushy snow. Heartily recommend!
    Helpful 64 - tire reviewed on May 6, 2022
    Given 81% while driving a Toyota Starlet 1997 (185/60 R14) on a combination of roads for 1,133 average miles
    When fresh mounted the steering felt extremely light and a little seeking, but that disappeared within 2 weeks. Comford and noise is excellent, extremely quiet compared to my former Vredestein and Uniroyal summer tires, as if you're driving on a cotton road. Grip on dry and wet is as expected, very good. I really have to toss around the car to feel some understeer. Both wet and dry straight braking also very good. In the Netherlands we haven't had a lot of snow and ice yet this winter, but in light freezing temperatures at night both dry and wet grip was overwhelming much better then on any summer tire I've driven in my life. Hence the reason to choose all-season this time. I can't say much about wear and tear, but over 1100 miles done mainly on city roads and there's still no visual wear. My driving style is mainly easy but I know how to race too. Thanks to TireReviews I choose the CrossClimate because in the test these had the best dry summer performance of all tested all-season tires and in the Netherlands we don't have a lot of winter. The real summer still has to come and I can't wait to find out how they perform.
    Helpful 55 - tire reviewed on April 5, 2022
    Given 89% while driving a Renault Laguna 3 (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Bought these tires in May of 2020 and they were fitted on Renault Laguna III 2.0 DCI 127kw automatic with 4 control. I live in Serbia where we have very hot summers and ~mild winters (it's usually 10-15 days of real snow). And all I can say is that they were/are awesome!! Very comfortable and reasonable quiet. The feel during the summer months was almost the same as with the prior Hankook summer tires (just my subjective feeling). They've also replaced Hankook winter tires. Last winter was without the snow altogether. But this winter we had really sudden snow, just when I was in the mountains. Was afraid at first but man o man, they were great. The grip was exceptional, even on mounting roads that were just covered with fresh snow. Now I'm selling the car and I'm thinking of buying CC 2 for my next one, guessing they will feel even better.
    Helpful 48 - tire reviewed on March 12, 2022
    Given 89% while driving a Audi A4 Quattro 220 bhp TFSI (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 14,000 easy going miles
    Only used in the winter. 1 4000 mls. 0.5mm wear
    Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on March 8, 2022