Michelin CrossClimate

The Michelin CrossClimate is a Premium Touring All Season tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire has been replaced by the Michelin CrossClimate Plus.

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 80%
Wear 84%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 83%
Snow Grip 73%
Ice Grip 60%

Tire review data from 142 tire reviews averaging 80% over 1,880,286 miles driven.

The CrossClimate is ranked 16th of 57 All Season Premium Touring tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2018 ADAC All Season Tire Test - 9th of 11 tires

  • Positive - Lowest wear on test, good in the dry and on icy roads.
  • Negative - Weak on snow.
View Full Test >>

2018 New and Worn Summer Tire Test - 9th of 17 tires

View Full Test >>

2017 All Season Tire Test - 2nd of 12 tires

  • Positive - The Michelin CrossClimate has an excellent all round performance, with a particular strength in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - Average snow handling.
View Full Test >>

2018 Tire Tests

  • 9th: 2018 ADAC All Season Tire Test (175/65 R14)
  • 9th: 2018 New and Worn Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2017 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2017 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test (225/50 R17)
  • 1st: 2017 All Season VS Winter Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2017 All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2016 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2016 ADAC All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 1st: 2016 AutoBild All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2016 GF All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2016 AMS SUV All Season Tire Test (215/60 R17)
  • 3rd: 2016 ACE All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2016 Auto Express All Season Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 4th: 2016 AZ Winter Tire Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 2015 Tire Tests

  • 2nd: 2015 AutoBild All Season Tire Test (195/65 R 15)
  • 3rd: 2015 French All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    185/60 R14 86H XL   C B 68 6.85kgs
    175/65 R14 86H XL   C B 68 6.85kgs
    185/65 R14 86H   C B 68 7.11kgs
    165/70 R14 85T XL   C B 68 6.48kgs
    175/70 R14 88T XL   C B 68 7.10kgs
    195/55 R15 89V XL   C A 68 7.37kgs
    185/60 R15 88V XL   C A 68 7.37kgs
    195/60 R15 92V XL   C A 68 7.76kgs
    195/65 R15 95V XL   C A 68 8.00kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 8.10kgs
    195/55 R16 91H XL   B A 68 8.10kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68 8.80kgs
    215/55 R16 97V XL   B A 69 9.17kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   C A 68 8.80kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 68 8.80kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 69 9.60kgs
    215/65 R16 102V XL   B A 69 9.93kgs
    215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 69 9.29kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 69 9.30kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68 9.05kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 69 9.33kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 69 9.91kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 69 9.37kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 69 9.91kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 69 10.02kgs
    215/60 R17 100V XL   B A 69 9.84kgs
    225/60 R17 103V XL   C A 68 10.82kgs
    215/65 R17 103V XL   B A 69 10.80kgs
    225/55 R18 102V XL AO B B 69 11.00kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate

    2016-03-25 - Hi! I'd like to have some suggestions from you about these tires. I drive a Citroen C5 Tourer and now I have to choose new tires; I've seen the new Dunlop Sportmaxx rt2 as a summer tire and it seems to be the best choice for my car, but in winter I don't wanna have winter tires anymore. Could the michelin Crossclimate be a good alternative, a good compromise for my car for an all year round safety drive? Thank you for your answer!

    This is exactly the type of motoring the Michelin CrossClimate is designed for. If you plan to use your car in the north of Scotland, or to drive to the alps a dedicated summer / winter solution is still the ideal, however if you just want to use your in the mid/south of the UK, year round without worrying about what tires are on the car, the CrossClimate is the tire to fit.


    2016-07-18 - Please can you give me an indication of the flexibility of the sidewalls on the CrossClimate, in my experience this has been a let down on tires with a compound soft enough to work in cold conditions. Many thanks

    Like most modern tires, the CrossClimates have thin sidewalls to reduce heat build up and weight in the tire, which affects fuel economy and comfort. As you can read in our full test here the CrossClimate has the advantage of feeling like a summer tire, where the other all season and winter tire in the test were noticeably more vague.


    2016-08-15 - In 175/65R14 these Michelin Cross Climates are XL (maybe they are in all sizes) and I wondered how this would feel on a small supermini that only requires SL? It currently has Michelin Energy Savers on it. Would these tires mean using higher pressures and if so, by how much? Is the change from SL to XL an allowed change in terms of things like insurance etc? I have used Bridgestone A001s in the past and been impressed but didn't like how they hit the fuel economy. These seem to be an improvement on that front, hence my interest. Finally, can you change just two tires (on the same axel) or would it be like using winter tires and you'd need all four changing at once to keep the car in balence? Thanks for any input you can give :)

    Michelin are going through a process of simplifying their product range so they only have the highest load rating of the tires. This is fine for insurance, and looking at the tire tests, fine for comfort too. Ideally you would change all four tires, but during the summer and autumn months it is fine to change two, only during freezing, snow and ice driving would the difference become apparent. You would run the standard pressures with the XL CrossClimates.


    2016-09-30 - Does the cross climate meet the legal criteria for winter tires in european countries especially Germany

    Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is mountain and snowflake symbol marked so fully legal in countries which require a winter tire.


    2016-10-28 - Hi, I have just replaced 2 front worn radials on my Merc A180 with crossClimates, but the rear radial tires dont need replacing yet, will this affect performance and safety when driving.

    It's always best to fit the new tires to the rear of the car, especially when changing tire types as you are with the CrossClimate. While the balance in the dry should be fine, in cold wet and snow the car might have a tendency to oversteer which is far more difficult to control than understeer.


    2017-03-26 - Are crossclimate legal as wintertires in countries that req wintertires as law in certain months.

    Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is "mountain and snowflake" rated, which makes it a legal winter tire.


    2017-04-04 - When will the Michelin Cross Climate be available in 165/65/14 size

    Unfortunately Michelin don't currently have any plans for 165/65 R14 CrossClimate size.


    2017-11-05 - Does cross climate have a greater fuel consumption than summer tires? Because I see mixed user reviews about this but no actual test.

    If you look at the 2017 all season tire test the CrossClimate has a lower fuel use than the summer tire included in the test.


    2018-03-04 - Im considering purchasing some cross climates for my car. However, my car has 14" wheels and I understand that Michelin do not produce the crossclimate+ tire in 14" sizes. Is there a noticeable difference in durability and performance when worn between the standard crossclimate and the + models? And is there a reason why they do not produce the + model in 14"?

    There are minimal differences between the CrossClimate and CrossClimate+ versions of the tire. I would imagine the current lack of + version would indicate it's a low volume size and the moulds have yet to be updated.


    2018-03-30 - My current Continental Sport Contact 3 tires are down to 3mm on the front (rear 6mm). On any kind of light snow/slush the front tires just spin. Could I fit 2 Cross Climate tires or shouldn't you mix summer and all season tires?

    It is not advised to fit just two all season tires, when you do encounter snow or ice the grip imbalance is so high it can cause very dangerous situations.


    2018-06-28 - I'm in a quandary; which would be my best choice? Michelin CrossClimate or Nokian Weatherproof SUV 235/65R17 for a Toyota RAV4?

    It depends on your usage plans, however I believe the CrossClimate a better all season tire for the majority of the UK as the Weatherproof behaves more like a winter tire in the dry, which gives you extended dry braking.


    2019-03-01 - Why Crossclimate have so much difference from Crossclimate+ on ice performance?

    It shouldn't, both tires should be very similar.


    2020-05-05 - In which country or countries are your Michelin CrossClimate tires that are sold in Iceland currently manufactured?

    I'm afraid I can't answer that question, but it will be noted on the sidewall of the tire.


    2022-01-18 - Hi! I would like to ask about the performance of these tires in off-road conditions. Is it true that Allseason tires tend to deteriorate easier? I usually do 50% asphalt - 50% offroad with max. snow of 1 month per year. Do you think they should fit or a summer tire is preferable? My car is a Fiat Panda Cross.

    Like most summer and all season tires, the Michelin Crossclimate is not intended for heavy off-road use, and as such it is not constructed like an off-road tire. My main concern would be puncture risking from doing a serious amount of offroading with them!


    2023-12-01 - Hi Tire Reviews, I drive a Mini Cooper (R56) tire 205 45 R17 and since Michelin Crossclimate is no longer produced I am looking for advice on which tires to buy and whether it is the same or the best alternative. Please list more suggestions premium tire that can be bought on the EU market. Thanks and best regards

    I suggest you check out the test section one the website where there are countless all season tests including the CrossClimate 2 and all the key competitors.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin CrossClimate Reviews

    Given 37% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (205/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
    I am somewhat disappointed in these tires, having previously had Conti Wintercontact TS850 and Nokian Weatherproof under me, these have not showed the same level of wet grip and wear as the Weatherproof.
    Tread depth is low from new and this may improve on dry braking and handling at the expense of long life.
    Over rated in my view for the most part.
    Helpful 522 - tire reviewed on October 15, 2016
    Given 92% while driving a Kia Motors sorento (235/65 R17) on mostly town for 2 easy going miles
    My 2021 Kia Sorrento Hybrid tires only had 20,000 miles on them. They slipped going over a few wet leaves & worse on wet roads that made me feel very unsafe. I decided to charge 1,100$ worth of these tires. The difference is amazing!! I have not driven in any snow or ice but plenty of rain. Be aware these tires WILL take a toll on your gas mileage. I have close to 2,000 miles on them now in both city & hiway miles.. I have lost 5 mpg since having them both city & hiway driving. I can no longer return them for their 30 day return. Other then that, I'm pleased. Although they have excellent sticking power, I will not be replacing them with the same.
    Helpful 46 - tire reviewed on January 14, 2023
    Given 88% while driving a Mercedes Benz B180Cdi (235/45 R17) on mostly town for 25,000 easy going miles
    had these tires on a mercedes b class great tire but i was only doing short journeys they were not getting up to temp and started to perish between side wall and tread.I would fit them again if my usage changed,they were on for5 years and still had 4mm left when I changed them.Gone to a cheaper make all season tire now. But i would highly recommend the cross climate michelin. Good all round tire but exspensive
    Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on April 11, 2023
    Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin CrossClimate? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Michelin CrossClimate >

    Latest Michelin CrossClimate Reviews

    Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 Kompressor Elegance Se saloon (225/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
    These came on the car when I bought it and I had no previous experience of cross climate tires. I have to say I'm really impressed. Very quiet, very comfortable and excellent levels of grip for everyday driving. The wear rate has also been surprising. I guess it's worth paying more for a premium tire.
    Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on April 10, 2023
    Given 68% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 CDI (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
    UK roads 16 inch rims e Class Merc. Tires tread is about 4mm after 28k , 4 years. Some brisk driving, majority mixture of roads. Carnt say they were that good in the winter as an all season tire, hence will not pruchase again. The side walls have all cracked on 7k miles per year. I do use Autoglym trye dressing and been researcing, it can dry your tires out. Buying water based dressing in future. The dry grips ok along with wet, but an e class elegance isnt a low profile fast racing car on 16 rims. Its remapped etc & the rears smoke in 3rd still. Not sure why cough cough ! on striaght lines. Too much body role when pushing on. My next tires will be Conti 7s or the Bridgestones 005. Not many reviews on the Contis by owners yet. Had my fill of Michelins time for change. It appeals the extra MPG offered by B 005 , reviews saying wear too quick hmmmmmmm Contis not sure yet ..
    Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on March 4, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 74% while driving a Hyundai i20 (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 49,000 average miles
    Unfortunately the tires aged quickly (after a couple of years) and lost most of their initial grip and safe behaviour. They'd have lasted way more than any other all season tire I ever had but the drop in performance was too much to keep them till the end
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on September 14, 2022
    Given 67% while driving a Dodge Journey (225/45 R19) on mostly motorways for 10,000 easy going miles
    Dry grip great Wet grip great Wear rate appears good Comfort -riding good **Noise ** - tires were installed February 2022, noise level good. - it is now August 2022, driven to Florida, and north to Gogama On, rest of time city driving, the tires are very noisy now, sounds like we are driving a pick up with off-road tires-not really happy about the noise. Would I buy them again , No. I would go to the old style of tires.
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on August 10, 2022
    Given 91% while driving a Nissan Murano (225/55 R20) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
    awesome tire
    Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on April 20, 2022
    Given 89% while driving a Ford c max (215/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 26,000 easy going miles
    Tires provide confidence in all weather. On the few occasions we had snow, they were great! On wet, slushy ice they were not as impressive as on fresh snow, but so much better than summer tires.
    Helpful 40 - tire reviewed on February 13, 2022
    Given 97% while driving a Honda CRV (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
    I put a set onto my 2016 Honda CRV (four wheel diesel) a few years ago and when I traded up in 2021 to a 2018 model I swapped the wheels/tires at the dealership (the deal did not allow for such decent tires) , this week before the MOT I thought I should check the tires more closely the front were down to 2 mm and the rear on 4 mm and then checked the miles done with both CRV's it came to in excess of 30000 nad am sure at least another 5000 if I wanted to go to the wear indicators so am please and fitted two new Cross climate to the front wheels . I know that a 4 wheel drive / CRV/SUV will normally wear tires more quickly so remarkable in my opinion and I have done a fair mix of driving, after the new front tires yesterday I can appreciate the difference in road holding and in fairness I have had my moneys worth , in ice / snow the grip/performance as not faltered and whilst the CRV has 4WD that kicks in as required you would expect some slippage , and if the 4WD engaged I did not notice .... so delighted and I will replace the rear in another 10000 miles with the front tires and put new onto the front again of course cross climate
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on January 28, 2022
    Given 75% while driving a Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
    Tires cracked, replaced f o c by cc+
    Helpful 38 - tire reviewed on October 25, 2021
    Given 89% while driving a Jeep Cherokee Limited 2015 (225/45 R18) on for 35,000 average miles
    I put 50,000k on these tires on a 2017 Jeep Cherokee 4x4 3.2l engine these tires are excellent. Living in Quebec Canada , weather can get nasty , one day snow next day freezing rain then back to snow , tires have never let met down. Never would I go back to a full time winter tire. I just bought a new 2021 Jeep Cherokee high altitude sept-2021 and my new Michelin cross climate 2 are on order and will be installed Nov 15-2021.
    Helpful 47 - tire reviewed on September 27, 2021
    Given 76% while driving a Citroën C4 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 37,000 average miles
    Had the CC's for five years and approx. 60k km and they served me well. They got me through five winters with moderate snow and five hot summers, trips on really bad tarmac or no tarmac at all, high speeds and a lot of city driving. They still have 3-4 mm left which is really impressive. The only downside is that after about 20-25k km they lost a lot of grip and became really noisy which was really a shame considering how good these tires were at the beginning. Also, the ice grip isn't too good, but with precaution in mind you can get to your destination safely. But you can't have everything. Now I'm waiting for this year's reviews for all season tires (205/55 R16) to see where the CC2's stands against Vredestein Quatrac and Pirelli SF2, the newest tires and biggest competitors for this size (IMO).
    Helpful 46 - tire reviewed on September 8, 2021
    Given 27% while driving a Peugeot 407 4 door sedan 2.0 petrol (215/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 3,000 easy going miles
    Please for the love of God do NOT buy those tires. They are the most noisy thing ever, They can make a sweet french GT autobahn cruiser into a nightmare.
    Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on May 4, 2021
    Given 78% while driving a Nissan LEAF Tekna (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    I've had these on my car for a few years now, they have been fine in the dry, and decent in the wet. I have a leaf and I've found a lot of tires struggle with the weight and the torque, especially under wet braking. They don't effect the range too much and they are good enough in the snow. Don't expect winter tire levels of grip but they will get you home as long as you're gentle with the right foot
    Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on April 12, 2021