Continental ContiSportContact 5 P

The Continental ContiSportContact 5 P is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire has been replaced by the Continental Sport Contact 6.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 77%
Wear 55%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 57%

Tire review data from 97 tire reviews averaging 72% over 859,026 miles driven.

The ContiSportContact 5 P is ranked 42nd of 70 Summer Max Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2017 Motor Mag UHP Tire Test - 1st of 9 tires

View Full Test >>

2015 Australian Motor 235/35 R19 Tire Test - 1st of 8 tires

View Full Test >>

2015 Sport Auto 235/35 R19 UHP Tire Test - 2nd of 7 tires

  • Positive - High resistance to aquaplaning, good handling and short braking distances on wet roads, very good handling on dry surfaces, good comfort
  • Negative - A relatively high noise level
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         12.16kgs
0/0 R0 0         14.20kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL MO F B 73 11.78kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL MO E A 73 10.64kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL MO F B 72 10.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL MO E A 72 9.98kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO E A 72 11.35kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL MO E A 72 10.41kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL RO2 F A 73 10.14kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL RO2 E A 73 10.36kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL MO F B 72 9.77kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL MO E A 73 10.09kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL MO E A 75 13.45kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL MO F B 75 12.81kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL MOE E B 75 13.84kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL RO1 E A 75 11.63kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL RO1 E A 75 12.74kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL RO2 F B 72 9.40kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL RO2 E A 72 9.57kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO E A 72 9.98kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL RO1 F A 72 9.51kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO E A 72 9.68kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO F A 72 9.41kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL RO1 E A 72 9.85kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL RO2 E A 72 9.98kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL RO2 F A 72 9.74kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL AO C A 72 9.86kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL HON E A 72 10.81kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL HON F A 72 10.42kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO F B 73 11.53kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL AO E A 73 11.88kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO E A 73 11.73kgs
255/35 R19 92Y * F A 72 11.03kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL AO F B 73 10.98kgs
255/35 R19 92Y * E A 72 10.49kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO E A 73 12.06kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL AO E A 73 11.45kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MOE E B 73 13.24kgs
255/35 R19 92Y *       11.90kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL MO F A 73 11.94kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL * F B 73 12.69kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL *       11.90kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL * E A 73 11.95kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL MO F B 72 10.56kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL MO E B 72 9.63kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL AO E A 73 11.84kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL AO F B 72 11.72kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL MO E B 72 10.28kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL MO F B 72 12.01kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 73 10.59kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL MO E A 75 14.00kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL MO F B 75 13.08kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL MO F A 75 13.94kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL   E A 75 15.09kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 72 10.42kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL GM F A 73 13.04kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J C A 73 11.82kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL MO E A 73 13.17kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL MO C A 73 13.50kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 73 13.68kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL MO E A 75 14.84kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL MO F B 75 14.77kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL N0 C A 75 14.74kgs
235/40 R20 96Y XL MO E A 72 11.64kgs
235/40 R20 96Y XL MO F A 72 11.56kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL MO E A 72 12.55kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL POL       12.43kgs
245/40 R20 99V XL POL       12.43kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL MO F B 72 12.12kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL N0 C A 73 12.54kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL MO E A 72 12.61kgs
305/40 R20 112Y XL N0 C A 73 16.49kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL N0 C A 73 15.16kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL RO1 E A 73 11.86kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL RO1 E A 73 12.77kgs
275/30 R21 98Y XL RO1 E B 73 11.86kgs
275/30 R21 98Y XL RO1 E B 73 12.31kgs
285/30 R21 100Y XL RO1 E B 75 12.97kgs
285/30 R21 100Y XL RO1 E B 75 13.77kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL N1 C A 74 15.20kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL ND0       15.07kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL N0 C A 74 15.65kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL T0 E A 72 12.59kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL T0 E A 72 12.14kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL AO E B 73 12.84kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL T0 E A 73 13.70kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL AO F B 73 12.33kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL T0 E A 73 14.16kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL RO1 E A 72 13.25kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL N1 C A 73 13.68kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL RO1 F B 73 12.81kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL ND0       15.49kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL N0 C A 73 14.12kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL MO E A 75 15.05kgs
295/35 R21 103Y N0 C A 74 13.96kgs
255/40 R21 102Y XL MO E A 73 12.95kgs
265/40 R21 101Y N0 C A 72 13.50kgs
325/40 R21 113Y XL MO E A 74 19.31kgs
285/45 R21 109Y XL MO E A 74 16.41kgs
325/35 R22 110Y XL MO E A 74 18.62kgs
285/40 R22 106Y XL MO E A 74 17.12kgs

Questions and Answers for the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P

2016-07-06 - I had four of these tires fitted to my Audi A3 sline Quattro on 7th September last year. My car is in for service and I need to replace the two front tires after only ten months and twelve miles. Is this normal?

12 miles is not normal, however if you mean 12,000 miles that is not unusual on a powerful front heavy car such as the A3. The Continental Sport Contact 6 offers much improved wear over the 5P


2018-06-01 - I have a 2017 Mercedes C43 AMG 4Matic Estate with Continental ContiSportContact 5 P tires on as the standard fit, but I find the sidewalls collapse & it gets really unpleasant understeer at parking speeds when using anything over 3/4 of a turn of lock on the steering. I don't know if this is down to the tires or 4WD steering geometry, but it is really unpleasant & gives me serious doubts about front end grip if I ever really need it. Would you say this is down to the tires maybe having thin sidewalls, & if so could you recommend a better option for my car? I'm not a particularly fast or aggressive driver & probably prefer comfort over performance...

If this issue is just at parking speeds, it would suggest it's down to the cars geometry rather than the tire. The Continental Sport Contact 5P do have soft to medium sidewalls, but they also have plenty of grip and high comfort levels and perform well with your Mercedes.


2020-07-27 - Weight of this tire in 195/45R17?

Sorry, we don't have this data to hand.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
235/35 R19 $181.99 - $243.99 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 $220.96 - $323.99 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 29 tire sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental ContiSportContact 5 P Reviews

Given 67% while driving a SEAT Leon ST FR DSG TDI 150HP (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
What can I say. I am on this website for a reason, and it is not a positive one.
As mentioned many times before, nice tire, ok grip, a lot of spinning when starting. Maybe it is a car itself, Leon ST FR 150 DSG, but still spins too easy in my opinion.
Wear of the tire is, shocking. I am fast driver but, honestly I have driven car for over 20 years and never came accross something like that . I have 4k kilometers and I am already concerned about the state of them. Slowing down now so hopefully will get to 8k ! My X5 was really bad, but it was doing 12-15k kilometers !!! I looked at the price of new ones and at approximately 115-130 EUR, I will definitely look into the different brands. Maybe they are all like that these days ??!
Helpful 133 - tire reviewed on September 27, 2016
Given 51% while driving a Ford Kuga (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 23,000 spirited miles
Expensive tires, relatively noisy, not best on wet surface i imagine as it doesnt feel confident go round corners at relatively fast speed, aquaplaning is safe though. Not bad overall but would rather try something else next.
Front tires worn out almost completely at 23 000 which could be alright for some, but...
Helpful 37 - tire reviewed on December 12, 2018
Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz C Class coupe 250 CDI sport (255/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
These lasted 20K on the rear of my car. These are MO approved tires. I have bought the same again to replace the current set. They grip strongly in the dry and give a lot of confidence. They may not last as long as other tires, but I wouldnt by anything else
Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on August 23, 2017
Have you driven on the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Continental ContiSportContact 5 P >

Latest Continental ContiSportContact 5 P Reviews

Given 58% while driving a BMW 335i (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
Dry and wet grip are quite similar with the main drawback of the tire being the durability. Road noise is very good i.e. quiet.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on July 19, 2022
Given 60% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (225/45 R17) on track for 1,500 spirited miles
Takes too long to activate the rubber in wet and cold conditions. Tire is probably suited for a car less than 1750 kg and all wheel drive. Really needs work on how to manage wet conditions better, as well as higher torque cars, as it should not spin as easily as it does.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on June 1, 2022
Want your tires to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 79% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLA45 AMG (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
These were the OEM tire for my car and I have always been happy with them. I'm currently on my second set in my 7th year of owning the car. It is a summer tire and the warmer the weather the better the grip of course. My only complaint is they are only good for 25000 miles. Be careful when you get to the end of life of the tire. I had a blowout which was not a problem as these are run flat (Or MOE) tires. I believe it was my own fault for trying to get one last season out of my original set. I will be careful to replace my new set earlier.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on April 16, 2022
Given 67% while driving a Porsche Panamera sport turismo turbo s e hybrid (315/30 R21) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
swapped my ps4 out with these, although the tires have more feedback and are a bit grippier on dry surfaces. they lost a lot compared to the michelins in the wet. The only reason i ended up with the Conti's is that the wait for michelins is roughly 2 months in Norway as of April, and I needed tires now. plus my size is quite wide so not a lot to choose between for a 2,3 tonne estate. When this set wears out I will be trying out the sport contact 7's if they come in my size.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on April 12, 2022
Given 50% while driving a Audi Q5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
horrible thread wear. Car is Audi Q5 2021, tires are 235/55/19 but down to legal limit after normal driving after 11.000 miles. NEVER AGAIN.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on April 3, 2022
Given 54% while driving a Audi TT MK2 TFSI (245/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Not very good in wet, car torque steers a lot with them and cant put any power down. No real feel through them but were a large profile.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on January 24, 2022
Given 77% while driving a Mercedes Benz W212 e400 (255/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Purchased another complete set as I was concerned that putting on another type of tire may effect car.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on August 21, 2021
Given 60% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Coupe Facelift W207 (255/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
Hi , 8000 on the rear tires and the are worn out Front tires have 5mm of tread on them. Cannot say I am surprised re rear tires but this car has never been hard and I don't accelerate hard.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on July 27, 2021
Given 82% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
These are the standard tire for the car even though when i bought the car second-hand it had a diffrent brand and size. I decided to return to the manufacture spec. I have only the brief driving with the "original" tires when i bought the car to compare them with but bought these again when the first set wore out. perfect in the dry, acceptable in the wet, confidence building grip although far from great with regards traction (ie pulling off). I can't say I noticed the noise or the fuel economy as the car and driving style would have been more of a driving factor into these elements than the car!
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on July 14, 2021
Given 66% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Coupe Facelift W207 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
Hi , third report re the Continental 5p tires. I played about with tire pressure but within the Mercedes Benz pressure for my C207/400. The best pressure I found is 33 psi with a slight reduction in road noise and an even better ride. The tires have now travelled approx 8000 miles and still look very good thread wise. Only real issue I have I cannot replace the MO approved tire with the 5p because they have been discontinued. I don't think that the Michelin 4S tire suits the C207 so a little stuffed in future tire choice !
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on May 24, 2021
Given 60% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (195/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
For a UHP they don´t grip as you wish. In a Spirited driving you will notice that it got low limits and wear really quick.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on March 26, 2021
Given 86% while driving a Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I wore these tires for six years, espesially on dry and wet road, in Greece. I am driving an Opel Astra H GTC 1.6 Turbo 180HP. My driving style is mainly calm with some breakouts of aggresive and pushing driving, so I think I have a well-known aspect about the tires.
Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on December 4, 2020