Nankang NS2

The Nankang NS2 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Nankang NS1 and this tire has been replaced by the Nankang Noble Sport NS20.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 58%
Road Feedback 65%
Handling 62%
Wear 73%
Comfort 62%
Buy again 60%

Tire review data from 210 tire reviews averaging 65% over 1,806,999 miles driven.

The NS2 is ranked 103rd of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2020 Tire Market Overview Braking Test - 46th of 49 tires

View Full Test >>

2012 Auto Bild 20 inch Tire Test - 7th of 8 tires

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Dangerously long braking distance in the wet, wet understeer, reduced steering precision, loud and uncomfortable.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tire Tests

  • 46th: 2020 Tire Market Overview Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2012 Tire Tests

  • 7th: 2012 Auto Bild 20 inch Tire Test (245/30 R20)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    0/0 R0 0          
    175/50 R13 72V   C E 70  
    155/55 R14 69V   F C 71  
    205/60 R14 92H XL   E C 71  
    155/65 R14 75V   F C 71  
    185/45 R15 75V   F C 71  
    195/45 R15 78V   F C 71  
    165/50 R15 72V   F C 71  
    195/50 R15 82V   F C 71  
    205/50 R15 86V   F C 71  
    185/55 R15 82V   E C 71  
    195/55 R15 85V   E C 71  
    205/55 R15 88V   F C 71  
    165/40 R16 73V XL   F C 71  
    205/40 R16 83V XL   F C 71  
    215/40 R16 86W XL   F C 71  
    165/45 R16 74V XL   E C 71  
    195/45 R16 84V XL   F C 71  
    205/45 R16 87V XL   F C 71  
    195/50 R16 84V   F C 71  
    205/50 R16 87V   F C 71  
    225/50 R16 92V   E C 71  
    205/55 R16 91V   E C 71  
    215/55 R16 93V   E C 71  
    215/55 R16 97W XL   E C 71  
    225/55 R16 95W   E C 71  
    225/55 R16 95V   E C 71  
    165/35 R17 75V XL   F C 71  
    185/35 R17 82V XL   F C 71  
    165/40 R17 75V XL   F C 71  
    205/40 R17 84V XL   F C 71  
    215/40 R17 87V XL   E C 71  
    235/40 R17 90V   F C 71  
    245/40 R17 91V   E C 71  
    245/40 R17 91W   E C 71  
    255/40 R17 94V   E C 71  
    275/40 R17 98W   E C 73  
    205/45 R17 88V XL   F C 71  
    215/45 R17 91W XL   E C 71  
    215/45 R17 91V XL   E C 71  
    225/45 R17 94V XL   E C 71  
    235/45 R17 94V   E C 71  
    205/50 R17 93W XL   E C 71  
    205/50 R17 93V XL   E C 71  
    225/55 R17 101W XL   E C 71  
    285/30 R18 93Y   E C 71  
    215/35 R18 84W XL   F C 71  
    225/35 R18 87W XL   F C 71  
    255/35 R18 94W XL   E C 71  
    265/35 R18 93W   E C 71  
    275/35 R18 95Y   E C 71  
    215/40 R18 89W XL   E C 71  
    225/40 R18 92W XL   E C 71  
    235/40 R18 95W XL   E C 71  
    245/40 R18 97W XL   E C 71  
    225/45 R18 95W XL   E C 71  
    225/45 R18 91W   F C 71  
    245/45 R18 100Y XL   E C 71  
    245/30 R19 89Y XL   E C 71  
    265/30 R19 93Y XL   E C 71  
    275/30 R19 96Y XL   E C 71  
    285/30 R19 94Y XL   E C 71  
    215/35 R19 85Y XL   E C 71  
    225/35 R19 88Y XL   E C 71  
    235/35 R19 91Y XL   E C 71  
    245/35 R19 93Y XL   E C 71  
    255/35 R19 96Y XL   E C 71  
    275/35 R19 96Y   E C 71  
    225/40 R19 93Y XL   E C 71  
    245/40 R19 98W XL   E C 71  
    275/40 R19 101Y   E C 71  
    245/45 R19 98Y   E C 71  
    215/30 R20 82W XL   C F 71  
    235/30 R20 88W XL   F C 71  
    245/30 R20 95Y XL   E C 71  
    255/30 R20 92Y XL   E C 71  
    275/30 R20 97Y XL   E C 71  
    285/30 R20 99Y XL   E C 71  
    225/35 R20 90Y XL   E C 71  
    235/35 R20 92W XL   E C 71  
    245/35 R20 95Y XL   E C 71  
    255/35 R20 97Y XL   E C 71  
    275/35 R20 102Y XL   E C 71 13.00kgs
    245/40 R20 95Y   E C 71  
    255/30 R22 95W XL   E C 71  
    265/30 R22 100W XL   E C 71  

    Questions and Answers for the Nankang NS2

    2016-05-31 - Hi there, i plan to replace my car tires, size 205/55 R16. i previously owned yokohama advan db. Now i plan to move any good budget tires. I am thinking to switch to nankang ns2?. but these are rotational. Would like to have your advise on rotational tires. Are these better from non rotational tires or there is no difference?

    Manufacturers primarily switched to non-directional (asymmetric) tires to make OE fitment easier for vehicle manufacturers. A directional tire usually has better aquaplaning performance, but as most directional tires are now older designs, you might be better off with a more modern asymmetric pattern.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Nankang NS2 Reviews

    Given 70% while driving a BMW 520d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    This is old tire model, but if this review helps someone...They were not that horrible on normal driving. Somewhat reduced grip on wet, but mostly very average tires. I think Nankang might have quality issues, because some will praise them, and others are trashing them. We have quite rough roads in Finland, and mostly very strict speed limits, so I have very limited experience from progressiveness or how it handle at the limits. However, I had never any issues with these.
    Helpful 217 - tire reviewed on April 21, 2016
    Given 83% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
    never heard of them before, 16,000 miles later I have had to change the front tires. brilliant value tires.
    Helpful 41 - tire reviewed on May 16, 2018
    Given 40% while driving a Porsche 996 911 Carrera 2 (285/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
    This is the rear tire with about 80% life left. The manufacturing date is 2010 but I rarely use the car so only 20% treadwear. At 100km/hour, the rear tire burst on a straightaway. No signs of road hazard etc. Good thing our was the rear or I could have met grave accident. Replaced all remaining 3 after that.
    Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on July 11, 2017
    Have you driven on the Nankang NS2 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Nankang NS2? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Nankang NS2 >

    Latest Nankang NS2 Reviews

    Given 77% while driving a BMW 323i (215/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    Update: After some more daily driving (I'm the back seat driver), we've decided that these are excellent budget tires! 215/35R19 on a 8.5J Reverse Mount wheel, stretched the tire a bit, but this is awfull for every day driving! Not the tire's fault, but we wanted a little stretch. Dry: Great, just needs some heat and then they grip nicely. Wet: We thought that this would be awfull, but no. Just a little warm up and it grips like a rain tire! We were only able to slide on manholes, but back on asphalt, it just wouldn't let go! Feedback: Not so good, i think it's because of the stretched tires. Handling: Just ok. Again, stretched tires are to blame. Wear: Good, nothing extremely bad, maybe the inside over time because my friend is stubborn and didn't align the rear. Comfort: Does not apply on this setup. 215/35R19 stretched on a old, lowered E46 doesn't equal comfort. Do I recommend this tire? Not for most people, but this is exactly what WE wanted. Aggressive thread, not to expensive, a tire brand I've heard of, cheap, wonky sizes. For us, it's perfect!
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on June 30, 2022
    Given 70% while driving a BMW 323i (215/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
    Review of these Nankang Ns2's on my buddy's E46 215/35R19 85Y XL on a 8.5J rim, nice stretch, load rating plenty for a E46. First of, I recommended these tires for him because he wanted a cheap, aggressive threaded tire, with a rotation thread pattern. There isn't much to choose in 215/35R19. Hankook and Kumho too expensive, dont want unknown brands, so Nankang was about the only way to go. We specifically chose the NS2'S over the NS20'S because of better looks and similar reviews. Btw, if you find the Nankang NS2 Ultra Sports, those are the same as when you order regular NS2'S. Both have NS2 Ultra Sport written on the sidewall. Speaking of the sidewall, it's a very boring one, nothing special. Now, we only have these on the car for a few weeks now, and we really needed to break-in the tires, driving carefully for the first 50 to 100 miles. First things that stand out, the noise, of boy they are noisy! But they give a lot of feedback! They are really stiff as well, mind you the sidewall is nearly nonexistent and his cold pressure is like 2.7 Bar and warmed up 3.0 Bar. Comparing to his old tires, Hankook Ventus Evo 3's in 225/40R19 (93Y) XL (way to big for a lowered E46, he grabbed the tire size of a E46 M3), the Nankangs have a little less grip, and dont give you as much confidence to push harder. Haven't tested in (heavy) rain yet, but we are expecting significant reduced grip, but that's to be forgiven. I wouldn't recommend these for the average driver, but for a project car and for the driver that can handle the noise, grip and probably wear, I would recommend them!
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on May 6, 2022
    Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
    Given 67% while driving a Renault Megane II 1.9dci (205/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    Very good at how much they cost. The single problem is when you don t use your car they make a flat spot first kilometers.
    Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on November 6, 2021
    Given 59% while driving a Nissan Pulsar (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    I been using the nankang ns2 tire for a couple of years, the noise of the tire is terrible rating it from 1 to 10 I would say it’s 9 it’s too loud. The braking in summer time is good it also grip well in the corner. The braking in rainy and wet season is average I don’t push it too hard. The comfort is 1 out of 10 is only 1 the tire itself is harf with a 400 tread wear. If you have a budget get some nice tire, but if the noise is not your concern it is a good choice.
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on September 5, 2021
    Given 70% while driving a Citroën saxo 1.1 (175/50 R13) on track for 220 spirited miles
    Used them on a trackprepared Saxo 1.1i 60 hp. Confident grip in dry and wet conditions. I think it's a good tire. And not too expensive either. But it wears fast. I did 1 trackday on the wet, it was ok. But after a second trackday in the dry (I admit I was pushing to the limit), they wore off very fast which makes me hesitant to use them one more time or not. But the grip is convincing.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on May 12, 2021
    Given 21% while driving a Volkswagen EOS (235/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 12,000 easy going miles
    Tires lasted only 12000 miles of normal motorways driving!!! They wear extremely fast. I would highly recommend NOT to buy them. It just doesn't make sense economically. The grip on wet is non existent, dry grip is a bit better. There are much better options for the same price or cheaper.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on December 31, 2020
    Given 69% while driving a Volkswagen Polo Mk2f (heavily modified) (175/60 R13 H) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    Fitted these as wanted a cheaper tire that would last longer than more track inspired tires. Give good grip in the dry, better than anything in its price range, wet grip suffers slightly. No noticible road noise, but that's mainly as they are fitted to a noisy car. The feel is much better than other tires of similar size, and a vast improvement over the tour sports in the same size. have pushed the tires beyond their limit, but are very predictable and give confidence with progressive grip. There are better tires, but start at twice the price and last just as long, not as grippy as a toyo a539 but that's to be expected.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on December 4, 2020
    Given 37% while driving a BMW Z4 (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,500 easy going miles
    Extremely rapid wear considering I don’t drive in exuberance. Very uneven wear both across and around the circumference of the tire. Replaced like for like on the rear of the car knowing they were not a premium brand since I was deciding whether I would keep the car long term and did not expect a huge mileage from them but 4,500 miles is a massive disappointment.
    Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on May 2, 2020
    Given 30% while driving a Ford (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
    Poor grip in the dry. Dangerous in the wet. Noisy. Some years ago I wrote off my Falcon after skidding into a Toyota during a downpour.. My car slid for ~15m before impact. This was at 50km/h. Stick with Michelin - literally.
    Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on March 4, 2020
    Given 45% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
    Used on a road rally car fwd. dry driving ok. If pressures are high good turn in response .

    Wet weather , shocking on stopping , 888 much better. Understeers also . I put them on the rear in end as wanted to stop!

    Tire looks good on rim nice and wide but wet weather capabilities are so poor won’t buy again .
    Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on September 30, 2019
    Given 50% while driving a Volvo V60 D3 (235/40 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 easy going miles
    Normal tires in dry conditions, far from a top tire but decents. With water/rain grip is not good at all.
    Not recommended.
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on August 29, 2019
    Given 33% while driving a Honda Civic Si Sedan (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 20 spirited miles
    These Nankang Ns20 are ok for the price BUT for the same price,you can get better tires.they didn't last me very long! That is the reason why i didn't buy them again. I had bought a four tires for my wife's car and they were surprisingly very comfortable,quiet and looked nice(225/40/18 ) so i then bought 2 tires for my car (215/45/17 ) and i noticed the tires weren't as comfortable as it was before and it had no rim protection lip at all,which made them look kinda like a donut tire lol luckily they didnt last me a long time..but other then that,they are ok. I didn't buy them again though & i wouldn't recommend these tires to anyone.
    Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on January 19, 2019