Bridgestone Potenza RE050

The Bridgestone Potenza RE050 is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 69%
Wear 66%
Comfort 61%
Buy again 59%

Tire review data from 56 tire reviews averaging 69% over 939,170 miles driven.

The Potenza RE050 is ranked 53rd of 69 Summer Max Performance tires.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tire tests for the Bridgestone Potenza RE050
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Bridgestone Potenza RE050
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Bridgestone Potenza RE050. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Potenza RE050 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 $379.00 - $379.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 9 tire sizes - View all.

Top 3 Bridgestone Potenza RE050 Reviews

Given 44% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta GLX (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Had from factory on Jetta 2.0 TSI (200 bhp)..
Very noisy tires, losing very quicly grip.. At 55.000 km they are loking good...
Very sure, I'll not but this tires ever..
81 - tire reviewed on April 19, 2015   
Given 91% while driving a MINI Cooper SD (205/40 R17 W) on for 120,000 spirited miles
I ran several sets of these on my R56 mini cooper S and now run them on my F56 cooper SD. Love them as summer tires on both cars. When I got the new SD it was running Dunlop sport maxx RT tires and was rather prone to understeer on wet country roads (alarming and disappointing compared to the older car). I worried that it was caused by the heavier diesel engine, but replacing the tires with Bridgestone RE050's fixed the issue completely.
As I said, great as summer tires for the mini. They do loose a bit of traction on cold wet roads around 5 Deg C. For winter months I use Bridgestone Blizzak LM32 tires which have a less ultimate grip in the warm, but are better in cold conditions, are very progressive and maintain decent turn in that some other winter tires don't.
7 - tire reviewed on December 30, 2017   
Given 87% while driving a Lexus IS250SE (245/45 R17) on mostly town for 11,328 average miles
Currently used for 18232km, left around 5.5mm, can go for estimate 20000km more
Performance and road handling good!
Only drawback is noise level slightly higher
7 - tire reviewed on October 22, 2018   
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Potenza RE050? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Bridgestone Potenza RE050 >

Latest Bridgestone Potenza RE050 Reviews

Given 56% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 25,000 average miles
I had these on a Golf Mk7 GTI performance Pack.I was running 230bhp to the front wheels so traction would always be an issue but these tires were not great at all. They lasted me 25,000 miles over 4 years and my driving style varies, however they are not good in corners, not good off the lights and not good in the wet. Wouldn't recommend these. Buying some Michelin Pilot Super Sports instead as they have been highly regarded on my car.
0 - tire reviewed on June 22, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a Mazda 6 MPS 2.3L V6 Turbo AWD (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 81,000 spirited miles
Best tires I ever have had. Their territory starts when you drive over 170 km/h on curvy road. I have now driven with them 81000 km and now their life is over but I will buy new ones next week.
1 - tire reviewed on April 4, 2019   
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Given 97% while driving a Volvo V40 D4 Cross Country (225/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
I had to replace two Bridgestone Turenza tires in the spring of last year. I bought two Bridgestone Potenza tires to match the two remaining Potenza tires someone had purchased prior to my ownership. The car appears to handle just the same as before. However the ride is slightly softer and the grip is excellent.. I have noticed that on very cold days it is easier to spin the Potenza tires on the front than I remember. The Bridgestone tires have lasted well and are very popular as original equipment. I would recommend Bridgestone tires to anyone based on my experience to date.
1 - tire reviewed on January 25, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Honda S2000 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
These tires came with my car when I bought it two and a half years ago where the previous owner had only used this exact tire. The fronts were replaced with ContiContactSport5's last year but the rears have only just worn down to legal limit. Driving has been on road only with mostly average and partially spirited driving lasting almost 20,000 miles on the tire.
I can't really fault the tire but have decided to replace these with Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2's as they rate highly with my car.
3 - tire reviewed on July 20, 2015   
Given 73% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto 1.9 sporting (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,952 average miles
These tires lasted 82000km. The greatest thing about it is the feedback and dry grip. The feedback. The feedback is amazing. I've tried a few other tires, and nothing compares to these.
0 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2015   
Given 80% while driving a BMW E46 M3 (255/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
The rate price and quality is correct.
2 - tire reviewed on December 1, 2014   
Given 49% while driving a Volkswagen (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
Had these on a VW Jetta 147 in Australia (known as GLI in USA, similar to Golf GTI) with factory sports suspension with fairly aggressive negative camber. Can't really complain about the grip as it was to a standard I expect without being exceptional however after 25,000km the tires were badly scalloped (uneven wear) and the noise was unbearable especially on the rears. Whilst tread was only slightly worn they are junk and needed to be replaced. I will get my next set with a higher wear rating than these (at 140) rotated more but generally disappointed as I have never experienced wear and noise like this before.
0 - tire reviewed on April 16, 2014   
Given 41% while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.9 cdti 150hp (235/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 14,655 average miles
Only achieved 14500 miles on these tire, they are quite noisy and a hard ride not helped of course by the 18in wheels on the car.
0 - tire reviewed on October 11, 2013   
Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen golf 2.0 gt tdi (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 40,000 average miles
Tires were fitted with the car. They have served well and almost 60,000k. They've never really been pushed hard.
0 - tire reviewed on July 23, 2013   
Given 36% while driving a BMW 330i M SPORT SALOON (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
very bad, bad tires. Won't bye again Brigestone..
0 - tire reviewed on May 9, 2013   
Given 64% while driving a Audi A6 (245/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 10,000 easy going miles
My first experience of Brridgestone tires. I replaced the OE Continental tires for these. Good grip wet and dry but fallling off fast now that they're 1mm above the wear indicator. Noise is no real difference. Very dissappointed with the wear for an expensive premium tire. £750 for 4 and after 10,000 the fronts need replaced. Mainly motorway with a 60mile daily commute with a top speed of 70 (if I'm lucky).
0 - tire reviewed on February 26, 2013   
Given 67% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 400 easy going miles
cant keep car in a sraight line through standing water,3-4mm tread left,car feels dangerous,bought 400 miles ago from a ford dealer,had 300 point check,cars pass at 70-90mph while a struggle to do 60,front end skips all over the place,do i sell or try new tires????? grip in dry is fine,damp roads ok,standing water forget it...its a handfull,had jag's m3 turbo stuff,cant control this type r with these bridgestones in minor standing water,got avon zz3's on my audi a4 8000 miles still plenty tread,great grip wet or dry,had zz3's on a celica great tires,conti sports close to wear limits on s,type i had grip btr in wet than these rubbish bridgestones.
0 - tire reviewed on January 9, 2013