Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire review data from 89 tire reviews averaging 77% over 749,654 miles driven, and 37 tests with an average result of 6th.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 78%
Wear 75%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 69%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size17 - 21"
Width205 - 285mm
Profile30 - 60
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)70 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The SportMaxx RT 2 is ranked 37th of 75 Summer Max Performance tires.

This tire replaced the Dunlop SportMaxx RT.

Tests Included

37

Best Result

2nd

Worst Result

17th

Average Result

6th

Latest Tire Test Results

2024 Sport Auto Summer Tire Test
5th of 6 tires
  • Helps save fuel due to low rolling resistance, good water displacement during longitudinal driving through puddles.
  • Braking in wet conditions not at top level, sluggish in wet handling, partially unharmonious in dry conditions.
  • Low rolling resistance, but minor grip deficits – both wet and dry.
View Full Test >>
2024 ADAC Summer Tire Test
5th of 16 tires
  • The Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 receives a just satisfactory rating in driving safety. On dry roads, it provides good steering feedback, precise control, and secure handling at the limit, along with a short braking distance, earning a solid good rating for dry performance. However, on wet roads, the Sport Maxx RT2 narrowly misses achieving more than a satisfactory rating. While it performs well in aquaplaning tests with good marks, it only achieves satisfactory results in braking distance measurements and wet handling. The tire offers a medium level of grip and combines longitudinal and lateral forces satisfactorily. In terms of environmental impact, the Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 just falls short of a good rating. Its projected mileage and wear are rated as nearly good, as are its weight and fuel consumption. However, due to slightly higher rolling noise and just satisfactory sustainability, it narrowly misses a good evaluation.
View Full Test >>
2023 ACE / Gute Fahrt UHP Summer Tire Test
5th of 7 tires
  • Very good wet handling, but slightly extended wet braking distances.

    Good.
View Full Test >>

2024 Tire Tests

2023 Tire Tests

2022 Tire Tests

2021 Tire Tests

2020 Tire Tests

2019 Tire Tests

2018 Tire Tests

2017 Tire Tests

2016 Tire Tests

Reports

  • Dunlop SportMaxx RT2 - Press Release
  • SizeFuelWetNoise
    17 inch
    225/45R17 94 W XLCA72
    215/55R17 98 W XLCA70
    18 inch
    245/45R18 100 Y XLCA71
    245/45R18 100 Y XLCA71
    245/45R18 100 Y XLCA71
    245/45R18 100 Y XLCA71
    20 inch
    245/35R20 95 Y XLDA71
    View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 >>

    Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

    2016-11-30 - Dunlop sportmaxx rt2 or coopers zeon cs sport. both A rating for wet. Which one would be better? i have an Insignia.

    The Dunlop SportMaxx RT2 has shown to be better than the Cooper in the 2016 Sport Auto UHP Tire Test.


    2016-11-01 - I'm considering buying a set of these tires but the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance tires look good too. So my main question is, If both sets of these tires were the same price (Dunlop Vs Goodyear), which set would you go for? I currently drive a FWD Hyundai Coupe 1.6 ( A car which I find very heavy ) on Irish roads and need to upgrade my tires immediately. At present, the tires on my car are Landsail items, and are utter rubbish. Between horrible handling, a hard ride and high noise levels, I have to contend with the fact that 4 separate tire dealers in my area couldn't balance my wheels correctly, so I have to swap them asap for a quality set-up.

    That depends on your requirements from the tire. The Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 is intended as a performance tire, whereas the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a touring tire. As such, the Dunlop will have a more sporty feel, and the Goodyear will offer more comfort. Both are excellent tires and will offer significant improvements over your current landsail tires.


    2017-08-14 - The Dunlop Sport Max RT 91W factory fitted front tires on my Octavia estate(64 plate) are coming up to their limit after 25500 miles.( the back ones have lots of tread left) I am not a performance driver, preferring comfort and good mpg( 58 mpg over this mileage). What do I go for to replace them?

    Depending on size, the Continental Premium Contact 6 looks to be an excellent blend of comfort and performance.


    2017-12-19 - Hi, I have a 2016 Subaru WRX STI with the recommended 245/40 R18 Dunlop SportMaxx RT2 tires. Unfortunately, I find the ride excessively hard (I know this is a characteristic of the car). Is there a tire of the same size that would help the ride comfort and smooth things out, without too greatly compromising the vehicle? Softer sidewalls? I see above you recommend Continental Premium Contact 6 as an excellent blend of comfort & performance, and I believe the Goodyear F1 AsymmetricaI 3 is also very good. I only drive at normal road speeds, and own the vehicle for it's AWD ability to operate in all conditions (dry, rain, mud, frost, sunny etc.) - I am not interested in maximum attack style track days!. Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated.

    For all its sporty credentials, the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is actually a comfortable UUHP tire. The Continental Premiumcontact 6 would be a good option, also the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance will be more comfortable than the Asymmetric 3 and RT 2.


    2018-04-17 - Do these tires have good alloy wheel protection ?

    In certain sizes the SportMaxx RT2 has a raised flange to protect the wheel, you would need to check with your tire dealer to see if your size does.


    2018-05-27 - Is there any significant difference between SportMaxx RT2 & Goodyear Asym. 3 in terms of feedback and comfort considering the fact Dunlop's parent company is Goodyear?

    Not a huge amount! In theory the RT2 is slightly more sport focused than the Asymmetric 3, but I've not had chance to do the test back to back so can't confirm this. Both are excellent tires.


    2018-07-25 - Are these going to be available in 16" or shall I go with the maxx RT? I'm currently using Barum Bravuris 3HM, is the maxx rt's overall performance better than the Barums? Is it worth to replace the Barums with maxx rt or rt 2 if it's going to be available in 16"?

    It is very unlikely Dunlop would develop this in a 16 inch as their focus is very much on 17 inch plus. The only chance of it being developed in 16 inch is if Dunlop had an OE fitment request, which is again very unlikely.


    2019-04-12 - Hi, I need to fit my old 2000 corvette cab with staggered size 245/45YR17 and 275/40YR18. The Dunlop RT2 and the Hankook S1, V12 are the one that I could find in both size, given that I am only looking at major brands. I am focusing on touring if any. The Dunlop attracts me due to lower noise and good braking in the wet, which in sweden is a interesting point. The Hankook is similar in test result, except for the noise and recommended. What is your take on this? Should I mix brand and model front and rear? Should I stay with same model? Dunlop or Hankook? Thank you very much.

    I would avoid mixing front and rear where possible. I'd probably go for the Dunlops over the Hankooks if it's an earlier version of the S1. In turn, the S1 Evo 3 would probably be the smarter purchase as it's a newer tire than the RT2.


    2020-05-22 - I have a mercedes clk 350 convertable with 225 40 18 on the front and 255 35 18 on the rear. I am looking for maximum comfort and low noise as I use it as a tourer rather than a sports car. I have Pirelli P zero which are starting to crack between the treads so its time for a replacement. I was thinking of Dunlops RT2 going off peoples reviews. What are your thoughts. would you recomend another tire over the dunlops.

    The Falken FK510 has higher levels of comfort than the RT2


    2022-10-10 - Are the Dunlop RT2 run flat? Size is 255/45 R18 103 XL

    I believe the RT2 is available in some runflat sizes, your tire retailer will be able to advise you if your size is available in a runflat option.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    225/45 R17 $222.99 - $222.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 6 tire sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews

    Given 93% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    I have changed my ContiSportContact 5Ps with these. Quite happy so far. The car feels like more responsive and quiter. I have preferred these over SportContact6s purely because of the price advantage but it doesnt feel like a wrong choice so far. The rim protectors, which dont exist on 5Ps, are also nice. I have just painted my rims before installing these and these protectors have already save me from scratching the rims couple of times.
    Helpful 289 - tire reviewed on April 30, 2016
    Given 88% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (265/35 R18) on for 200 miles
    Had a test run for 200 miles today. The difference is huge ( between 4,5mm P Zero's) . Esp light is refusing to come on
    Helpful 58 - tire reviewed on November 6, 2021
    Given 83% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,000 easy going miles
    Just replaced 2 fronts at 40k miles with 2mm remaining. A very good tire that has served the car well in all weather conditions including torrential rain and at all UK legal speeds. I have not experienced any loss of grip when pushed hard and only a slight degree of vagueness in spirited cornering. A quiet riding tire at speed but which does not soak up bumps at low speed. Was tempted replace with the same but instead opted for Continental Premium Contact 7 due to good reviews.
    Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on October 19, 2023
    Have you driven on the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 >

    Latest Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews

    Given 70% while driving a BMW 335d (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 7,500 average miles
    Price-performance is OK as the tire is mostly cheap. Grip is good, but steering behavior and load changes are spongy because the sidewall is too soft for a UHP tire, especially for heavier vehicles. As the tires become more worn, they become louder and begin to “sing,” which becomes annoying, especially at higher speeds on the highway.
    Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on October 2, 2023
    Given 68% while driving a Audi TT Mk1 1.8T 225BHP (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
    I recently bought a first gen TT that already had these tires installed (note they were 2 years old so my experience isn't as valid). The car has sport maxx RT on the front and sport maxx RT2 on the rear, it's not a bad tire for its money but it's not the kind of tire I would fit in such car. The back of the car starts shaking at a "slowly-developed 90° turn" at around 130km/h, the front of the car doesn't really mind, the setup is an oversteer setup so the front tires aren't bad as long as you're are hitting the gas. Note that it is a fwd and not the quattro version which shares the weight better. So in general they aren't a bad tire for their money, it must have been a lot better when it was first bought but I wouldn't fit these tires again (front-RT). They are solid tires, but I can feel it is holding back the true potential of the car. Would definitely not buy again but I can't say I'm disappointed either.
    Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on July 18, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 50% while driving a Lexus GS450h (245/45 R18) on mostly town for 12,000 spirited miles
    I have the tires for 2 summer seasons, the car cannot put the power on the road, the ESP lights up every time I accelerate to a power greater than 30%. In curves, when accelerating, the rear quickly loses grip. they are weak on braking, but the feedback is good. On a wet road they are very weak both on acceleration/braking/curves. On the front pair, long cracks appeared between the central profiles. I just replaced the winter ones (Pirelli Sotto Zero) because of the warm weather, but with Pirelli at 20 degrees Celsius outside I had no grip problems. All in all, I do not recommend, at least not on this car.
    Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on March 28, 2023
    Given 60% while driving a BMW E39 M5 (275/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
    Replaced my rear michelin pilot tires for these dunlop maxx rt2. They have alot softer sidewalls compared to the michelin. Car felt "wobbly" in the rear when cornering and doing quick overtakes at higher speeds. Otherwise a good tire but i would not buy again.
    Helpful 30 - tire reviewed on February 27, 2023
    Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 CDI Sport (265/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
    Solid tire. 12k miles done. Back 5.6, front 5.9 Mercedes 350 265/45/18 rear 245/50/18 front. Can't fault them. Will go for another set. Traction perfect, drives like a train. No skids, no aquaplaning so far. Wear ok/even. Average driving style. Got me out of trouble once... Hard breaking ABS on... Avoided dropped container.
    Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on February 21, 2023
    Given 94% while driving a Mazda 3 2.2D 150 (205/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
    I bought the car with a brand new set of Chinese-brand tires the previous owner had just fitted to sell. I hated them. The car slid pulling away from the lights when there was even just a shine of moisture on the road (accelerating with everyone else driving during a commute). Sounds worse than it was, as I only noticed that the car had more power, presumably as the traction control was no-longer limiting the engine power once I changed to these Dunlops. But that, at some 15-20k+ miles later, I was so glad when I finally got rid of them. (The car chewed through the inner edges, as the REAR wheel tracking was out* - I suspect was the reason for it having the new tires when I bought it).

    The Dunlops are SO much quieter than what I had on before - I actually took to wear ear-plugs for long journeys as there was so much road-noise from the Chinese tires. Also the Dunlops gripped the road so well that I actually thought the car was now 'twitchy' - as in if I moved the steering wheel at motorway speeds the car immediately changed direction. I had the tracking re-checked after my first journey, as it has been adjusted, and I just wasn't used to that (tracking was still spot-on).

    On the whole I really liked these tires, especially the Rim Protection feature - as few tires are currently have that. I live in a Victorian terrace, no drive, so have to parallel park every day. Once or twice a year, usually in the dark and rain, I am glad for the extra rubber to keep the kerb off the alloys. Also I am changing them as I just had a blow-out due to a nail causing the a rear tire to slowly deflate. I strongly think the extra load capacity (XL) and rubber of the rim protection (RP) saved me from scrapping the rim. My passenger and I didn't notice anything until I started to slow down to turn off the motorway, only then the tire started to make a strange noise. I think I must have driven for many miles with the shredded tire - it has several large holes in the sidewall, so zero air. I would certainly not recommend doing that again, a narrow escape, they are not 'Run Flats' (and nor would I buy these; and no, I was not wearing ear plugs at the time).

    I would say these tires are very good indeed. Well well worth the extra money - especially compared to 'budget' tires. I remember the Chinese 'Eco' somethings cost about £65each to get like-for-like in 2018. But I hated them, besides I recon my fuel economy went UP because of the extra grip; but for me the main selling point is the grip in the wet (never every felt like they were slipping - even now with the tread approaching the limit), and certainly the low noise. I got 35000 miles from my last set of Dunlops. Very happy with them, so despite looking into alternatives I have just bought exactly the same again.

    *Final point is that 4-wheel tracking (£96) is sometimes worth the extra money vs the usual (much cheaper) 2-wheel one. At the MOT it was noticed both front Dunlops wearing in the same way as the Chinese tires (inside edges). I had 2-wheel tracking done when the Dunlops were fitted, but when the uneven wear continued (actually faster) I had the 4-wheel tracking done - expensive but cost less than one new Dunlop, so... Since I had the car properly set up, the wear became even across the whole tire. So I have just ordered 4-wheel tracking with the new set of four tires I have just bought, as a precaution - I figure it is OK once every 35k+ miles, especially as I know how quick they will wear, if it is out. Like I say, I am very happy with these tires. Others may have a slightly better dB rating (Michelin Primacy has 69 vs 71dB), but I know these are quiet enough, and have definitely served me (very) well.
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on December 30, 2022
    Given 48% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giuiletta (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    The dry grip for the car on normal roads is quite good, there is late to no understeer even in the plain wet until now. However, those tires are way too soft for a sporty driving style, on normal pressure they were like driving on a brick when turning in corners and it just hopped over the tires edges and back, giving a mostly unstable feeling despite the pure grip. Pumped the tire pressure up improved steering a bit, but then they produce less grip, also in the 150-200 (100-120 mph) kph area. The tire walls are too weak and the tire overall is rather bouncy and random. It is my first really new summer tire on this car, since i just bought the car last year and drove it on 8 year old Pirelli P7 which were just too old for any impression unifluenced by the aging rubber.
    Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on May 8, 2022
    Given 93% while driving a Audi A4 B8 Sedan (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 spirited miles
    Great feedback , really happy with how they perform in the wet . The thick sidewall gives good protection for the rims . Overall I'm really happy with them.
    Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on October 27, 2021
    Given 91% while driving a Mitsubishi Evolution X (245/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 21,000 spirited miles
    I drive my EVO X about 23000km / year / for 7 years - mainly on civilian roads. When buying, Michelin Super Sport was assumed, but they did not give me a sense of confidence on the arches and quickly clashed - after 1 season. Next came The Goodyear eagle f1 asymmetric 3 or 4 (I don't remember) and these drove a little better, but they clashed after about 1.5 seasons. Looking further for the right footwear I bought Dunlop SportMaxx RT. It was a shot in the 10. On the rest, I could enjoy the ride I like. While driving on a curve, I felt perfectly the moment of tire slip. Regardless of whether on dry or wet surfaces, the car listened and did what I expected. Tires durable 2.5 seasons. I currently have a Dunlop SportMaxx RT2. They seem a bit softer than their predecessors, which further boosted the feeling of stability when driving >200km / h and look insane! They are already finishing season 2 and will go half more. I fell in love with these tires. Recommend
    Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on October 18, 2021
    Given 63% while driving a Audi a3 8v sportback 2.0tdi quattro 150cv (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 32,000 spirited miles
    the tire when it is new in the first 5000 km has a good grip on dry, you can feel what you are doing if you heat it up a little has a nice lateral grip but this lasts little because it overheats immediately after. Good braking in dry conditions. on the wet from new has decent performance and resists well to water planing, braking is inexistent on scandalous and non-existent wet the second year after removing the winter tires. exceptional comfort excellent resistance to holes. For the duration after the first year it becomes hard and no longer wears out, then also checking the convergence every six months the outer shoulder due to the driving style is finished before the central part that could also do another 15000 km
    Helpful 33 - tire reviewed on October 14, 2021
    Given 93% while driving a Audi A4 (255/30 R20) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
    Tried the goodyear asymmetric 5 for a month. Swap tu the horrible but expensive ps4s for a week n finally to this excellent RT2. I was blown away. Sudden quieter tires. So much more smoother to drive than the PS4s n Asymmetric 5. More direct steering too. So glad i tried this. Better to drive than the asymmetric 5. Waaaaaaay better to drive than the crappy ps4s. Best decision ever.
    Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on August 13, 2021
    Given 69% while driving a Renault Clio 182 Cup Pack (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
    Would buy again because of the price, but handling isn't very good. I got these for my Clio 182 and the car response became too darty and lacked linearity in the way lateral forces were built-up, making you feel there's not enough lateral support. Precision wasn't really good, as in assessing the required steering angle for some corners. Grip in the dry is good, a little lower than expected in the wet but progressive enough and predictable at the limit. Wear in this light car is good. Comfort is good, impacts feel rounded and rolling noise is low (205/45R16). I got the same tire for the Megane rs175 (225/40R18) in the A0 spec from Audi, as I had driven an A3 on those tires in circuit and found it superb in terms of driving pleasure. Balance is playful and with low understeer, but lower understeer in this type of car would be better. Grip when new in wet or dry was good and predictable when approaching the limit. In the Megane this tire lasted many spirited miles (8k+) but now towards the end of their life they got cracks on the outer edge of the pattern and the grip in the dry is just not enough, especially traction/braking. Comfort is terrible since the beginning, with too high impact forces and too high noise (low frequency noise), especially rolling noise. Roundness is fair and the shake is well controlled, absorbing impacts with enough quality feel.
    Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2021