Dunlop SportMaxx RT

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire review data from 175 tire reviews averaging 78% over 1,650,520 miles driven, and 16 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 82%
Wear 60%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 68%

First On MarketJanuary 2014
Wheel Size16 - 22"
Width205 - 335mm
Profile25 - 55
Rolling ResistanceB - E
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)68 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The SportMaxx RT is ranked 34th of 75 Summer Max Performance tires.

This tire replaced the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT and this tire has been replaced by the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2.

Tests Included

16

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

13th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tire Test Results

2015 EVO Magazine Performance Tire Test
6th of 10 tires
  • The Dunlop performed consistently, but not outstandingly in any test, other than straight line aquaplaning.
View Full Test >>
2015 Sport Auto 235/35 R19 UHP Tire Test
4th of 7 tires
  • Good handling on wet roads, short braking distance on dry roads, very low rolling resistance, low noise level
  • Relatively long braking distances on wet surfaces, slow reaction to the steering in the dry
View Full Test >>
2015 AZ 225/40 R18 Summer Tire Test
4th of 14 tires
  • Short braking distances on wet surfaces, short braking distance on dry roads, low rolling resistance
  • Slow response to steering and a tendency to understeer in the dry
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
205/55R16 91 YCB70
205/55R16 91 WCB69
17 inch
225/50R17 98 Y XLBA70
225/50R17 98 Y XLBA70
225/45R17 91 YDA69
225/45R17 91 WBB71
225/45R17 91 WCB69
18 inch
245/40R18 97 W XLDB72
225/40R18 92 Y XLBA71
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA71
245/40R18 97 W XLDB72
245/40R18 97 W XLDB72
245/40R18 97 W XLEB72
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA70
245/40R18 97 W XLEB72
245/40R18 97 W XLDB72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT >>

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT

2016-07-30 - i have dunlop 225/45zr17 on my skoda suberb and i have 39000 kilometers on what millage would i expecp to get

That is excellent mileage for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT, especially if it is the front pair of tires.


2016-10-08 - What is the correct psi for these tires

The tire pressure for the Dunlop Sport Maxx RT is vehicle and load specific. The correct tire pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2020-01-02 - Are they run flat??

There are runflat versions of the SportMaxx RT


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 9 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I bought the car with the Dunlops fitted all round. They were old and only had about 3mm of tread on them, so I was soon to get new tires.
For the short while I did have them, they were outstanding in the dry, I've heard that the turn in on them can be slow to reslpond but to my usage I did not see this. In fact id say the turn in and maximum high speed turning grip was outstanding and felt almost like a semi slick. I couldn't get the wheels to spin at all in the dry and were a joy to drive. Was a shame that they had such a low tread when I bought the car because I'd love to have felt how they were in the wet with a decent amount of tread on them.
If they were not so expensive I would buy them again definitely so if you have the money and live in a mostly dry area then these are damn gold.
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on November 22, 2023
Given 77% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Bought thee to replace a pair of dreadful Arrowspeed Performance UHP's after less than 1000 miles on them.
The Arrowspeeds were borderline dangerous on the rear, Stability control was triggering a lot and the car would sway about if changing lanes or changing direction quickly....simply can't say a good thing about them.
Dunlops have transformed the car, quieter, much more stable and very grippy in every way a nice match to the car
Helpful 66 - tire reviewed on June 29, 2019
Given 90% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 6,250 spirited miles
These tires sidewall damage so easily, unprovoked. Iv had to replace a tire every 3rd month. My last one still maintained tire pressure but sidewall had a huge slash in the inside so I couldn’t see it. Maybe i got a defective set
Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on May 5, 2022
Have you driven on the Dunlop SportMaxx RT tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SportMaxx RT? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Dunlop SportMaxx RT >

Latest Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews

Given 84% while driving a MINI Cooper (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
I had these tires on the Mini for some time and they have been very confident and competent. Given that they are a ten year old design and the tire is still so competent, I wonder if Dunlop has improved them quietly over the years as they are very widely available at BMW/Mini dealerships still. So after hitting the biggest pot hole in the world and broke the springs and many things, the dealer had to replace my front tires as well. They recommended the starred (bmw fitment) Dunlop Sport Maxx RT again and even though I could have got the supreme Michelin Pilot Sport 5 for a much cheaper price outside a dealership, I agreed with the dealer and chose the Dunlop again. That is how highly I rate these tires after years of driving with them and the Dunlops are phenominal at dealing with aquaplaning!
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on April 9, 2024
Given 50% while driving a Audi (245/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 2,000 miles
Put these on Audi ,not good in wet as car is spinning alot more with them on take off and snow really bad, can't wait till get them off again as they are that bad
Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on January 19, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 87% while driving a Audi A3 Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
Dispite that its an old model tire of dunlop it work so good with sporty characteristics hard compound but noisy. I replaced them after 45000 KM driven mostly in dry conditions and high temperatures but it seemed that they had another 5000 km more life easily. I was very satisfied in general and now replace them with AS6 with too much soft compound with no sporty characteristics and unsteable when you push them a little more . i wish i had chosen the same.
Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on August 1, 2022
Given 39% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLC220d (235/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Very loud! Unpleasant at 30Km/h and really annoying above 50Km/h. Don't buy these, certainly not in the dimension 235/55R19
Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on May 5, 2022
Given 80% while driving a MINI Cooper (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Competent tire in both wet and dry. Excellent in aquaplaning. Wear is ok.
Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on February 15, 2022
Given 56% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
I'm having two set of this tires. On a suv 235/55 r19, on a sedan 225/45 r17. The wear is surprisingly very good, both of tires around 30.000 kms (19000 miles) and more the half of the thread left (5-6mm!) The only concern is the noise.. In the firs year it was exceptional good. The next year it was good. This is the third season, in this season, it is unbearable. On highway speed (around 90 mph), if the asphalt is not brand new, we cant talk. The radio cannot be loud enough. So its terrible. I'm trying to survive this year, and next year i will buy another brand.
Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on June 26, 2021
Nissan (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
On wet surface ----useless... These are very good on dry conditions / Highway - for city useless...
Helpful 28 - tire reviewed on June 5, 2021
Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen e Golf (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 12,000 average miles
Fitted as std equipment to my eGolf, initially I was pleased with these tires. Dry grip is good, noise is very low. However one rear punctured quite easily, the other rear developed a slow puncture which could not be located. Despite a new valve, rim clean and refit the air loss persisted. The fronts began to develop cracks in every tread and at 12000 miles were worn . I replaced the set with Michelin E primacy. I’m unlikely to purchase Dunlop again.
Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on May 31, 2021
Given 87% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
I bought the Sport Maxx RT’s on my A6 to replace the P Zero’s that were OE fit. The Dunlop’s are far superior imho because they warm up much quicker than the P Zero’s and don’t understeer like the Pirelli’s. The are quieter, grippier in all weather especially the wet, but as far as longevity goes all I can say is so far I’ve put 13000 miles on them and they still look like new. I think the P Zeros were quite a hard tire as I got nearly 40000 miles out of them and they used to understeer a tad in cooler weather or in the wet compared to the Dunlop’s.
Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on May 29, 2021
Given 57% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 2,500 average miles
These tires came stock fitted on my new Skoda Octavia Estate. The tires have simply terrible grip on greasy wet roads from a standstill in colder temperatures, wheels spinning with average pressure on the throttle and forget about a quick start. Dry performance is better as expected, wet and dry braking times are decent enough. The road noise is however pretty bad. Can't wait to change them out for Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2's.
Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on February 13, 2021
Given 73% while driving a Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I had some cheap GT Radial Champiro FE1 and the grip was poor. Beside bad handling the car was bad at braking, after i change the to the Dunlops, the car change totally, much better grip in the dry and much better handling. And breaking got much better too. So for this size of tire. This is a tire i can really recommend.
Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on November 6, 2020
Given 74% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Side grip is very bad,on the wet road they are very,very good,brakes are solid
Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on May 29, 2020