Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 and this tire has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 78%
Wear 70%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 78%

Tire review data from 140 tire reviews averaging 81% over 1,628,123 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric is ranked 25th of 70 Summer Max Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2012 Auto Bild 20 inch Tire Test - 2nd of 8 tires

  • Positive - Stable all rounder with reliable wet and dry handling. Good braking and good comfort.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning resistance.
View Full Test >>

2011 Autoreview Max Performance Summer Tire Test - 4th of 9 tires

  • Positive - Best wet grip and handling, high resistance to aquaplaning, comfortable tire
  • Negative - Not so great in the dry
  • Overall - Despite being a fairly old tire (the Asymmetric 2 is now launched) the F1 Asymmetric still places a strong 4th thanks to its excellent wet weather grip and handling coupled with a comfortable ride. Unfortunately the F1 Asymmetric was let down by its "floaty" dry handling, something which has been resolved in the new version
View Full Test >>

2011 Autobild Max Performance Summer Tire Test - 4th of 10 tires

  • Positive - Dynamic all-rounder with very good handling on wet surfaces. High levels of resistance to aquaplaning, good ride comfort
  • Negative - Relatively high rolling noise, rolling resistance slightly increased
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         13.04kgs
235/40 R17 90Y   F C 70 10.15kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL MOEXTENDED C C 70 13.38kgs
235/50 R17 96Y XL N0 E C 69 10.91kgs
235/50 R17 96Y XL N0 F C 68 10.87kgs
205/55 R17 91Y XL N0 F B 68 9.31kgs
205/55 R17 91Y XL N0 E B 68 9.31kgs
215/35 R18 84W XL   E A 71 8.53kgs
215/35 R18 84W XL   F B 69 8.91kgs
225/35 R18 87W XL AO F B 68 9.91kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E C 71 12.61kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL MO E C 69 12.23kgs
235/35 R19 87Y XL N0 F B 70 9.31kgs
235/35 R19 87Y XL N0 E B 71 9.31kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL MO E C 67 11.75kgs
265/35 R19 94Y XL N0 F B 70 11.00kgs
265/35 R19 94Y XL N0 E B 71 11.14kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL AO E C 70 12.76kgs
285/40 R19 103Y XL N0 E C 73 13.12kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AO E C 70 13.12kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AO E C 70 13.12kgs
255/45 R19 100Y XL N0 E C 70 11.71kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AO E C 68 13.12kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   F B 71 11.19kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL AO E B 71 13.79kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL AO E B 71 13.50kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric

2017-12-07 - Are these tires any good for winter Goodyear eagle f1 255/55/R19 Fitteded to a land rover discovery 4

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric is a performance summer tire, and as such will perform very poorly in snow and ice.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 10 tire sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Superb traction for all dry and wet roads in terrible asphalt in Greece. I have done over 28000 km the last 4 years driving an Audi a3 sportback 160 ps, and for the first 2.5 years the perfomance of these tires was as good as the day i bought them. The last 1.50 year the performance redused slightly and overaged and still NO issue with the steering. Now i will replace them with GoodYear Assymetric 3. Highly recommended!
Helpful 45 - tire reviewed on March 21, 2016
Given 24% while driving a BMW 330d (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10 average miles
had these on a BMW 330d and experienced horrendous tramlining / bad steering. Wore out quickly, glad when they did. Went back to OEM pirelli's which were superior in every way.
Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on November 29, 2014
Given 73% while driving a Honda Accord Euro (235/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Noisiest tires I hhhavvve ver had.
To the point that everyone that rides in the car comments. On it.
Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on October 22, 2017
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric Reviews

Given 19% while driving a Ford Xr6t (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
Had the previous F1’s they were great. These new ones are terrible. Bad traction from the start that just got worse. Less than 12mths old and they need replacing. A great tire has been destroyed in my opinion. Shame
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on October 6, 2021
Given 59% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 3.2 FSI 250BHP (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 20,000 spirited miles
Having replaced the Pilot Sport 3s on my Passat as they had zero feel, realized the car itself has zero feel, the F1s atleast have a bit more than the Pilot Sport 3. Grip has always been very good, and for a solid car with a 3.2 donk over the front wheels, and AWD, she handled well, surprising a few passengers over the last 2 years. However, a solo and spirited drive home over 160kms appears to have been too much for them, causing blisters on the outside of the tires and now effectively lacking in grip too, meaning I need two new front tires. I won't be replacing them like for like, I do have occassional fleets of car throwery around corners, and Februarys excitement was a prolonged effort admittedly, but I do expect tires to last longer than 20000kms, especially when 85% is the slow city dribble. Otherwise a good tire.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on March 18, 2020
Want your tires to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 86% while driving a Audi A3 (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
Very good summer tires for Bergen, Norway, where it rains A LOT. These tires grip very well if outside temperature is above 10 degrees celsius. Below that temperature, driver can not rely on them.
For my little 1200kg car, 245/45R18 are a bit oversized, and tire rubs when crossing bumps at normal to high speed, and even at very low speeds when car is loaded with 4 persons inside.
Rim and tire are 25kg heavy, but still having insane grip in corners. Grip when breaking is also insane.
I would buy them again, but 235/40 variant, newer generation.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on April 7, 2019
Given 81% while driving a BMW X3 2.0d Sport (245/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
Had Pirelli's from new. Wore quickly and were sloppy in handling. Goodyears are much better. I feel more in control and know what the cars doing. Also quieter on rough roads can't fault them just need to test as weather gets colder.
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on November 18, 2018
Given 80% while driving a (255/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 230 average miles
I recently bought an A6 BiTdi Avant shod with Maxxis VS01, at the time I was happy with the tire having only driven it at relatively low speeds. I was happy that the 19 wheels were no giving too bad a ride and the tires /car appeared to handle OK. It was not until I took the car abroad and got past the 80mph mark that I began to be unhappy. There was a marked vibration that I tried to get balanced out without total success. The Maxxis had around 6mm of tread and took a lot of weight to quieten down, but never completely. The Maxxis is a budget tire with good reviews but I really didn't feel it suited the Audi so I bit the bullet and had a set of the (now old) AO qualified Eagle F1 Asymmetric (not 2 or 3) and I can report it is like Chalk and Cheese. The car is altogether better composed with good road feel, ride comfort and no appreciable noise increase. Perhaps Audi really do tune their suspension to the tire ? Not many AO F1s about any more and the F1 Asymmetric 2 and 3 don't appear to be AO qualified so I'm not sure what I will do next time round. Hopefully it wont be too soon.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on March 15, 2018
Given 61% while driving a (225/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Had those purchased as my 1st set of tires (all four) since I bought the car. At 1st the tires felt sticky, car felt planted in the corners but after some 5000km (3000miles) they felt plasticky on the front axle with loads of understeer especially after a couple of trackdays. Treadwear was fine, not even half through and the sidewalls were intact. And that's just the problem it seems for me - the tires' qualities are not consistent as if the rubber quality feels progressively worse the deeper you dig into them. Luckily the rear ones seem ok and I still keep them on the rear axle now with my 4th set on the front (Pirelly P Zero Nero at the moment).
I'll avoid the Eagles due to lack of confidence in quality consistency
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on December 11, 2017
Given 100% while driving a Ford Galaxy (235/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Great tires these tires have lasted twice as long as Conti 5s I've used in the past
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on May 16, 2016
Given 88% while driving a Honda Accord Euro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Currently have these tires on a honda accord euro r I find these tires to have as much grip in the wet as the dry excellent tire all round would trust these tires entering a corner at most speeds.
Helpful 11 - tire reviewed on November 24, 2015
Given 99% while driving a Honda Accord Euro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Brilliant tires with excellent dry and wet grip, handling and road feedback. Highly recommended, will definitely buy again as they're the best tires I've experienced
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 6, 2014
Given 88% while driving a Audi A8 (255/45 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 8,000 easy going miles
After owning the (2012) Audi for about 8 months, I had been a little disappointed with the level of road noise on poor surfaces (particularly rough /worn asphalt at high speed on the motorway) being transmitted through to the cabin.

Needing to replace the original Pirelli P Zero front tires due to wear at 19k miles, I chose the Goodyears specifically due to the low noise rating, although I was unsure whether low external noise would translate to reduced internal noise. They turned out to be a revelation - far quieter.

Recent 200 mile motorway journey London-B'ham, set at usual cruise setting, returned identical fuel figures to the Pirelli's, but noise reduced significantly making the journey far more relaxing. On porous asphalt the car is now silent (just a whisper of wind), on the worst bits of worn asphalt just a gentle rumble instead of a roar.

Since owning the car the fronts have had 4mm or less tread, so I don't know if the noise reduction is just new vs worn tire, or really a function of the Goodyears, but I'm (almost) looking forward to replacing the rears when they wear further, although I suspect the impact will be reduced as I believe most of the noise transmission comes through the steering gear.

As noted above fuel consumption seems the same as the Pirelli's, and my driving style makes no demands on "performance" so cannot comment on these areas. Quattro drive always feels secure anyhow.

Too soon to tell how the tires will wear, but 19k on the Pirelli's was poor I feel.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on May 5, 2014
Given 14% while driving a Dodge Challenger (225/45 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 19,000 average miles
If you value your life, stay away.

These tires are not only bad in wet weather but even in dry. In addition, they wear down in about 20,000 miles of highway driving.

These are the worst tires I have ever owned.

If I could give a negative set of starts I would!
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on February 26, 2014
Given 73% while driving a BMW M3 (265/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Got these for £150 each which for a premium tire is very good. Much better than the Pirellis I had before. The only problem is that they are quite loud and make a thud on potholes. However for the price the wear is good the feedback is great, if only they were a bit quieter, but if that doesn't bother you then get these. Will update when they need replacing but all signs are good so far.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on February 14, 2014