Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3

The Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD2 and this tire has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 73%
Wear 60%
Comfort 65%
Buy again 64%

Tire review data from 157 tire reviews averaging 71% over 2,311,801 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 GSD3 is ranked 45th of 70 Summer Max Performance tires.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tire tests for the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/45 R16 83W   F C 66 8.56kgs
235/50 R18 97V   F B 65 11.23kgs

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tire sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 spirited miles
This tire gives me a lot of confidence in the wet. The way it cuts through water is much better than my last set of tires. Cornering and braking is excellent too.
Helpful 37 - tire reviewed on July 8, 2014
Given 99% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (195/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Totally superb tire for a Swift Sport MK1. Had been using Falkens for over 2 years and fancied a change. Totally transformed the car. Steering feels 'tighter' the punishing ride of the Mk1 Swift Sport (ZC31) on Falkens (912 eco runs) has been replaced by a ride which is very firm and fantastic (so much better than the extra load 85W Falkens). Turn in is better plus you feel the grip so much more.
The Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3s are fantastic for the Mk1 Swift Sport. Only regret is I didn't get them 2 years ago.
Forget all the alternative tire size for Swift Sports (i.e trying to avoid buying 195/45/R17s), and 'extra load' 85W or so tires.
Get these. They are phenomenal.
Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on March 10, 2018
Given 99% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 JTD (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 6,215 spirited miles
These tires are fantastic. Their grip is spectacular. I don't know why some people put a bad comments on these tires, probably they had them already on their car and they wore out... I have put them brand new. Wet grip is fabulous, like I'm driving on dry surface. They are a littlebit noisy, and this is only reason why I gave them a grade 9 of 10. I'm sorry that this model of tire is discontinued of production in Europe. My set is made in Germany, and this model is still producing in USA, and Asia...
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on October 21, 2013
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 Reviews

Given 63% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Absolutely insane lateral grip when warmed, comparing these to Toyo Proxes T1R is night and day, feels like car will overturn before it understeers. Extremely reactive to small steering inputs, very little sidewall flex in fast corners. Wet grip is a bit less impressive but you can't have everything in one tire I suppose. Noise and comfort suffer due to rock hard sidewall but again to be expected with market segment. Would not recommend for a commuter/daily, more a weekend sort of tire.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on April 26, 2022
Given 70% while driving a Mercedes Benz C200 Kompressor Sedan Auto (W203) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Absolutely great tires, the grip was phenomenal, they gripped the road exceeding well in the wet or dry, I could take roundabouts at speed, no slidding, over taking on dual carrigeways no problems, motorways no problem, in fact my rear wheel fish tailing was eliminated in wet weather, Sprinting no problem off the mark.The problem I had with the tires was that they were made of exceedingly soft rubber, after driving on the out side lanes I would have to check the tires for debris, nails, screws, bit of metal would be inbeded in the tires, I would be digging objects out, the Vee shaped tread forced the water out so grip was great, the tires/ rubber lasted about seven months so not very long. I wouldn't buy these tires again because they wear very quickly and there is a slight road noise. but if you want to drive like your at a F1 meeting these are the tires for you,you'll stick to the road like glue. Normal tires last me between 18 to 24 months, approx 1000 miles a month.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on February 9, 2022
All Season VS Winter Tires: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 66% while driving a Ford Figo (225/45 R17) on for 20,000 miles
Excellent for cornering. Wet grip is also best. But wearing is to fast. Not for Indian Roads.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on August 27, 2021
Given 90% while driving a Toyota Yaris (195/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I had a newly bought set of these for the summer, being almost low-profile. Other than the fact that they do look amazing due to their sporty look, they have been very good and reliable tires. And they really lasted a long distance without too much wear, in spite of the good grip and feel that they offered. Of course, not very good in cold, wet times (early springs or late autumns) but for what their built, on summer, they do what they're expected to do, and do it well. Progressive and reliable. Would definitely buy again also given the affordable price.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on January 16, 2019
Fiat (195/45 R15) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
This tire is great.
Fiat used to fit it too my panda 100HP.
And I love it.
Car is lowered ,and fitted whit powerflex.
The goodyear are like a bonus.
Also stance is great.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on August 25, 2018
Given 60% while driving a Fiat Panda (195/45 R15) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
A poor tire in my opinion. It grips fine in the dry (like every other tire on sale), but has no real directional stability... Off centre the car darts this way and that. Once into a corner with a little lock on, all's well, the breakaway is progressive, and all feels fine. Traction isn't great (195 tires on for 100hp 1.4 should be more than enough!) but wheelspin coming out of corners is common.

In the wet I feel they are ok. Standing water, and general motorway confidence is fine, and with smooth inputs you can still travel quickly on b-roads. Sharp inputs - inputs I'd expect a car to understeer from but still actually turn(!) aren't great in the wet (or damp) though. I expect more from a tire.

All in all, if I have to replace my tires I'll probably get another couple of these (standard fit, and there's nothing else good in my size), but I'd be looking for something more modern these days.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on February 15, 2015
Given 37% while driving a Honda CIVIC 1.6 VTEC (210/50 R17) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Got is set of tires with my car .
Almost got into a accident turning in a bend , skid at around 35km/hr in a car park when it was wet . Immediately change to S drive which was good and had long wear .

This set of tire was quite bad in wet , unassured handling ...

Would never buy it again
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on August 28, 2013
Given 90% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (195/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Tires come on car from new and in my opinion are fantastic and grip superbly fairly speedy driving aswell
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on August 21, 2013
Given 38% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I needto update my original review but cannot find it.

I used these tires last summer, grio fantastic (once warmed up) etc. Shortly after putting them back on for this summer I notice a rythmic humming noise coming from somewhere, just like a differential on the way out.

After a bit of swopping them back for the Winter tires (in pairs of course) I have found that

1) The noise is coming from the GSD3 tires
2) If you check the tires after the car has been standing overnight, all 4 show a flat spot where the tire touches the ground
3) If the tires are stored on their side (as they are over Winter) for just a couple of days the flat spot disappears, but not the noise.
4) After a run of about 10 miles the flat spot almost disappears, but not the noise.
5) in all cases the tread depth is even all round the tire

The oldest tire is date 5108, the two newest are 3711 and 3911, and the wheels are stored on their side during the Winter

Two of the tires have had 2 summer's use, the other two just one summer - and a short one at that.

These particular tires are the most expensive I have ever bought (205/50/16 on an MX5 mk3) and I am not happy about having to fork out several hundred pounds to replace them.

I've always bought Goodyear as the tire of choice, and have recommended them to others. I can no longer do either
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on May 19, 2013
Given 61% while driving a BMW 325i M Sport (265/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Had these fitted to my BMW 325ci. Excellent dry grip and feel I was at first really impressed. However, after a couple of years and still with plenty of tread I had major problems with what I thought was wheel balancing, after re-balancing on several occasions at independent tire fitters, changing wheels thinking they were buckled to BMW balancing the wheels whilst fitted to the car, my dealer concluded That 3 out of the 4 GSD3 tires fitted to my car were buckled. I immediately changed all 4 tires to Falken FK452 with no problems, would not use Goodyear again.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on March 16, 2013
Given 86% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I've had several tire combinations on this car and the Eagle F1 GSD3 is the one that offered the best of all worlds. I've been using these for years now, and covered many miles.
I'd rate the feedback as excellent and the wet performance and cold weather performance as surprisingly good.
Downsides: wears quite fast depending on driving style. Quite expensive.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on February 27, 2013
Given 90% while driving a Renault 19 (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 7,000 average miles
Have them on my Renault 19 16v for near 10 years now. Tires haven't really wore down anything visible yet. Look well on the car and happy with grip in both dry and wet weather.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on January 11, 2013