Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire review data from 406 tire reviews averaging 86% over 3,864,838 miles driven, and 23 tests with an average result of 3rd.

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 85%
Wear 80%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 84%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size16 - 20"
Width205 - 305mm
Profile25 - 55
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)68 - 74
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 is ranked 11th of 75 Summer Max Performance tires.

This tire replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric and this tire has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3.

Tests Included

23

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

6th

Average Result

3rd

Latest Tire Test Results

2019 Sport Auto 20 Inch UHP Tire Test
3rd of 8 tires
  • Good wet handling, good comfort.
  • Average braking.
  • Conditionally Recommended.
View Full Test >>
2018 Auto Bild 20 inch UHP Tire Test
2nd of 8 tires
  • Sporty handling with stable cornering and a good steering response, short wet and dry braking, good levels of comfort.
  • Average dry handling.
View Full Test >>
2015 Auto Bild Performance Tire Test
3rd of 7 tires
  • Very balanced tires, short braking distances on wet and dry roads, low rolling resistance
  • None mentioned
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
18 inch
225/40R18 92 W XLCA69
225/40R18 88 YDB70
255/35R18 90 YDA70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 >>

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

2016-04-29 - Hi, can you tell me on average how long or how many miles this Tire should last for please? Thank you

Mileage entirely depends on vehicle type, power, driving style and road conditions! We have reports of the Asymmetric 2 lasting anywhere between 5,000 and 50,000 miles, but on an average high torque diesel vehicle like an Audi A4, we'd expect the fronts to last somewhere around 20,000 miles and rears towards 35,000 miles.


2018-05-19 - I am looking for a replacement set of tires for a 2006 jaguar xjr. I have had Hankook Ventus V12's which were a great tire but soft sidewalls. Nexen N1000 have been a great compromise but they pick up punctures easily so I am getting rid of them. Problem is the cost of medium range tires has exploded over the past 6 years and there is little difference between a nexen Su1, dunlop maxx 050+ and goodyear AS3. One of the tire shops hates Goodyear product and says they are inferior quality despite the high test scores. I heard the AS2 is a better tire than the AS3 because it has a stronger sidewall. So what is the best choice of tire if i don't want to spend crazy money on Michelin.

I wonder why the tire retailer you've spoken to dislikes Goodyear products, given the hundreds of independent objective tests they've been featured in prove them wrong. Your best bet is to watch this tire recommendation video.


2019-12-30 - According to the National Tire Service these tires should only be fitted to Porsches. Is that correct? I have an Audi Q5. Thanks Chris

No, there is a porsche specific N version of the tire, but the standard one can fit any vehicle.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 $173.99 - $301.99 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 20 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 Reviews

Given 63% while driving a BMW 530i (225/55 R16) on mostly town for 700 average miles
Having completed a lot of research I settled on these tires. I was happy with the price and how they felt on the car. Feedback, handling and comfort are all good. Unfortunately the two front tires are faulty and have lost their shape causing wheel wobble over 60mph. They lasted less than 800 miles & less than eight months.
Helpful 70 - tire reviewed on September 10, 2021
Given 100% while driving a BMW 320 d (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
Got these for my BMW f30 m sport plus and they are much better than the Bridgestone potenza S001... They were not good on wet and were a bit loud.. got the Goodyear eagle F1 A2 rft tires and they are much better in terms of comfortability and grip both in dry and wet... Done 14k on rears but still plenty of life.
Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on November 5, 2023
Given 63% while driving a Renault Megane RS265 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 12,400 average miles
I've made around 25000 kms with a set of 4. The grip in the dry and in the wet were acceptable but in comparison with the price I've paid for them (around 200€/tire) they don't worth it. Comfort in the beginning was relatively good, but it clearly became worse and worse with the use of tires. The wear is too soft, so it clearly disappears in no time. The worse part... I was entering on an highway when I felt what I thought was like a metallic sound cracking coming from a rear tire and, after that, the car started shaking all over above 90km/h. I stopped, I didn't saw any anomaly. Went to my local tire dealer (where I bought the tires) and they took off the tire... and guess what... The tire was all cracked on the inside and pressure went below 1BAR. In short, it was a matter of luck to not have a blown up tire and a possible accident because of this tire. It clearly was a faulty tire because everything was ok (I check the pressure very often). I know there are new models, but avoid this at all cost. I know that Goodyear still have some stock of this model, so avoid it because it clearly has a problem!
Helpful 48 - tire reviewed on February 21, 2022
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 Reviews

Given 57% while driving a Lexus IS350 (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
These rear tires make my normally stable Lexus is350 twitchy. This is really noticeable on adverse cambers, even slight e.g. on a motorway. Alignment is correct and pressure doesn't make much difference. Particularly bad with passengers in rear.
Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on February 14, 2023
Given 74% while driving a Subaru Legacy (215/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 13,000 spirited miles
The tires were durable for a long time, but after 4 years, hairline cracks appeared. Although the braking distance is not very good, with a proper balance, there would be no vibration even at 200+ km speeds.
Helpful 33 - tire reviewed on July 21, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 61% while driving a Mercedes Benz E550, 4matic, airmatic (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
The noise and harshness distracts my driving experience. I took them off after 12,000 miles
Helpful 39 - tire reviewed on April 30, 2021
Given 81% while driving a Subaru Legacy 3.0R Spec.B 6MT Sedan (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
Great tire. Sporty enough for a UHP segment, great confindence on wet surface.
Helpful 32 - tire reviewed on March 26, 2021
Given 67% while driving a BMW 335d (225/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
AVOID THE RUN FLATS LIKE THE PLAGUE These are awesome, well priced tires and I would buy the non run flats with no hesitation at all. Good dry and wet grip and impressive braking performance. However, the run flats bulge at just the sight of a small pothole or bump in the road, they are truly terrible and I'm convinced they only sell so many of these because people are constantly replacing them. I've had 3 of these bulge after hitting potholes in just the past 3 months of owning my car, one of which was only 1000 miles old having been previously replaced. The BMW F3X owners club share the same frustrations. RFT's = Avoid Normal Reinforced Tires = Highly Reccomend
Helpful 47 - tire reviewed on January 31, 2021
Given 92% while driving a Volkswagen Tdi 4 motion (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Fitted these at the start of 2020, switching from Michelin's. What can I say? These are by far one of the best tires I've had on a small SUV! Top notch dry performance & superb wet performance. Progressive on the limit in the wet & give great feedback on greasy surfaces.
Helpful 33 - tire reviewed on November 1, 2020
Given 93% while driving a (225/40 R18) on for 12,000 miles
This are wonderful tires,it may cost alot but its worth it. I try driving fast on a wet road and i was actually scared to go any more faster because these tires dosent seems to let go in the wet very amazing. Try going round corner fast also there were no sign its limit was reached and so squealing sound etc that the tire is about to let go and i guess this is because of its stiff material goodyear used to construct its side wall. Amazing tires,this tires provide you the info wats is doing on the road all the time surfaces and wat and how you should drive accordingly to it.
Helpful 32 - tire reviewed on August 2, 2020
Given 87% while driving a BMW (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 6,000 spirited miles
Best tire I ever had on my BMW E93 325i. I bought them because my car has different tires in front and back (225/45/17 and difficult to find 255/40/17) and I had enough with the slippery Michelin Primacy. The Goodyears were a surprise: extremely quiet and comfortable, grip well in both wet and dry and the road feedback is more than OK. In addition the MPG is better than the Michelins. Definitely a winner.
Helpful 52 - tire reviewed on June 12, 2020
Given 70% while driving a Audi TT MK2 TFSI (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
These came fitted to my TT MK2 TFSI when I bought it, so i can't compare these to other tires but have covered 5k on them so hopefully the information is helpful to others with cars of similar power and drive. Dry and wet lateral grip is reassuring, braking is also good. Power transfer: At stock power and dry tarmac the car would grip in 2nd gear at full throttle. Since then I've had the car mapped 258hp 282lbft and and now they will struggle for traction in 3rd. Probably not the tires fault as the car has a open diff but will try a different brand to find out. 245/40/18
Helpful 60 - tire reviewed on June 9, 2020
Given 90% while driving a BMW 320 d (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
I have had these tires on my BMW 320d now for 6,000 miles / 6 Months. I am very impressed with the wear on these! My tire pressure is 36PSI all round and I have very even wear all over the four tires. The thread depth now after 6,000 miles is down to around 6mm. These are wearing nicely and they are a very nice tire to drive on! Definitely recommend these on your car! Would I buy again? 110% I would!
Helpful 35 - tire reviewed on February 24, 2020
Given 96% while driving a Mercedes Benz C230 Kompressor Sport (245/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
Best tire i had 10/10
Helpful 33 - tire reviewed on December 7, 2019
Given 56% while driving a Mazda Mazda 3 2,5 sports individual (240/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 28,000 average miles
After 45 000 the Tire on the inside was cracked all around. The outside of the Tire was perfect. Tread left was 7mm. This to me was unacceptable my dodge tire set is Parkour pk07 tires and they are exactly the same size as they were purchased 4 months earlier 59000 Tread left 6mm but no cracks no defects.
Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on October 15, 2019