Yokohama Advan Sport V105

The Yokohama Advan Sport V105 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire review data from 41 tire reviews averaging 83% over 259,250 miles driven, and 19 tests with an average result of 8th.

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 84%
Wear 76%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 83%

First On MarketNovember 2010
Wheel Size16 - 23"
Width195 - 325mm
Profile25 - 65
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)69 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Advan Sport V105 is ranked 18th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tires.

This tire has been replaced by the Yokohama Advan Sport V107.

Tests Included

19

Best Result

2nd

Worst Result

26th

Average Result

8th

Latest Tire Test Results

2022/23 Tire Reviews 17 Inch Summer Tire Test
7th of 9 tires
  • Dynamic sporty handling with good feel and direct steering response, excellent grip in dry handling.
  • Longer braking distances in the dry and wet, lower levels of grip in wet handling, high pass by noise, low levels of comfort, very high rolling resistance.
  • The Yokohama Advan Sport V105 might be an aging tire, but it still shows off its sporty credentials with excellent handling in the dry and wet, and excellent grip around the dry handling lap. Unfortunately the tire can't match the dry handling performance in dry braking, or either of the wet grip tests, and has very high rolling resistance and noise levels. Hopefully the new Advan Sport V107 retains the dry handling performance while improving the wet grip and rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>
2020 Auto Bild UHP 19 inch Tire Test
7th of 10 tires
  • Sporty handling and balance behaviour in the dry, safe wet handling, short dry braking.
  • Long wet braking, high rolling resistance, average driving comfort, high price.
  • Good.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
205/55R16 91 WCB71
205/55R16 91 VCB71
17 inch
235/65R17 108 WCB72
225/50R17 94 WBB71
225/45R17 91 WDB71
18 inch
235/60R18 107 WDA72
225/40R18 92 WDB72
225/40R18 92 WDB72
225/40R18 92 WDB72
245/40R18 97 YCB72
235/60R18 103 VBB71
20 inch
255/45R20 105 YDA72
255/45R20 105 WDA73
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Yokohama Advan Sport V105 >>

Questions and Answers for the Yokohama Advan Sport V105

2016-12-03 - Is there a low profile 20inch in the advanced sport tire!!

Yes, we have all sizes of the Advan Sport listed on the site here.


2020-10-29 - Is it recommended on a cayenne Turbo S 2016 ? And do you think that porsche modified the rubber compound since all have a UTGQ of 240 except this one 280 ? 295/35r21 don’t have much choices

Porsche often make big changes to their tires, so it might be a compound adjustment. If it is an OE tire, it will be good for the vehicle, however the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV is available in your size and is an excellent modern SUV tire. A full listing of 295/35r21 can be seen here.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/50 R16 $251.96 - $251.96 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 $220.98 - $220.98 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/40 R18 $498.97 - $498.97 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 56 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Yokohama Advan Sport V105 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 miles
I am impressed by the performance of the V105 (V105S) I had PS3 Michelin front and Hankook Ventus V12 Evo (K110). I tested alternately front and rear:
- K110 best in comfort but motor behind. Progressive slide to the rear.
- Drive PS3 better up front but wins and jumps abruptly at the rear. I also tested the Dunlop RT. Very fuzzy rear brake
- very average motor acceleration ... The Yokohama Advan Sport V105 are much higher. They do not like small bumps on the road
- the comfort is "dry" and this is due to their side very rigid. Superb handling on dry. Excellent traction. at 130km / h on motorways, silence is equivalent to other brands. in the wet, they are very very good.

Top Michelin, Dunlop and Hankook. Not tested on snow. They 9mm gum new tires. I did 2000 km. They are 8mm ... This is the equivalent of a Michelin Super Sport for much cheaper! Great!
Helpful 113 - tire reviewed on July 15, 2016
Mercedes Benz (175/40 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Worst tires I have ever had for noise. not a comfortable ride Grip appears ok.
I dont know how they will wear as yet--we will just have to see.how they get along.
Mercedes new car fitted,
Helpful 72 - tire reviewed on April 14, 2019
Given 87% while driving a Mazda MX 5 1.5 2015 (195/50 R16) on mostly country roads for 24,000 spirited miles
Supplied as OE by Mazda on the Mk4 MX-5 1.5. Very enjoyable tire for a mainly fair weather car. Good dry balance. I love this tire, which make the MX-5 feel quite darty and reponsive and have just replaced the original 4 at nearly 24,000 miles, slightly early because one was written off by a puncture. They still had c. 3mm left on them.

Subjectively would say they are noisy, and despite being on a fairly compliant car they are a bit jiggly on a poor surface at low speeds, probably due to the stiff sidewall.
Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on May 18, 2023
Have you driven on the Yokohama Advan Sport V105 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama Advan Sport V105? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Yokohama Advan Sport V105 >

Latest Yokohama Advan Sport V105 Reviews

Given 43% while driving a BMW 330e (255/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
These tires replaced a set of Uniroyal Rainsport 5's, that replaced a set of Pirelli P7 Cinturato's. I wasn't a fan of the Pirelli's as they wore out after 20K miles. The Rainsport's lasted 30K miles and these will do well to make it to 16K miles. Don't get me wrong, the grip in the dry is great, but in the wet, it's awful. If I was reviewing these tires in the dry only, they would be scoring 7/8 in the feedback and handling. The contrast between wet and dry is night and day. I would not buy these tires again.
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on February 5, 2024
Given 87% while driving a Mazda MX 5 1.5 2015 (195/50 R16) on mostly country roads for 23,000 spirited miles
These tires were supplied as OE for the Mazda MX-5 ND 1.5. They still have 3mm tread at 23,000m, wear has been equalised by occasional rotation. They seem to be optimal for the MX-5 with great dry balance and plenty of dry grip. What the absolute performance is in the wet I couldn't say, it's a summer car and I always drive to poor conditions, but I have never had any surprises on wet roads.

Steering and turn in are consistent and sharp, I really like the feel and have loved driving the car for the last 6 years. This might be the best tire for this car, certainly for fair weather use. The sidewalls are very stiff which presumably accounts for the agile feel of the steering. There are few 'sporty' tires available in this size and rather than go for a premium touring tire from Goodyear/Michelin/Continental, which might perform better on measurements overall, I have chosen to fit the same tires again.

Subjectively the tires are quite noisy, and ride at low speed can be jiggly - not important for me in this application. I'm glad they are still available. The V105 has reportedly been replaced by the V107 but that does not seem to be available in 196/50R6.
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on May 16, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 81% while driving a Toyota Perodua Myvi Toyota Passo (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
FYI - No Judgement please - got it at crazy price so must try. plus this tire not native to my country, its a OE unit from Japan MX-5. Recently got my hands on a set of 2016 sets of tires with atlease 40% of thread left and acceptable condition to rubber. No visible cracks, no plugged holes, and very even ware all around. Wasnt expecting much from the tire since its older, but boi was I surprised! For a 6 YO tire with lower thread, i find it better in every way compared to my new Michelin PS3 and Advan Fleva that I previously used. Whether in the dry, in the wet, aquaplaning was acceptable and overall it was an outstanding tires. If only this model comes into Malaysia market, i would definitely buy new.
Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on June 20, 2022
Given 86% while driving a Mercedes Benz C63 AMG (255/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 2,500 average miles
Replaced my stock Dunlop Sports MAXX that were cracking on the side walls after 20K miles as was noisy. This particular model Yokohama advan V105 has much better grip, less tire noise and softer. Wear seems reasonably better than Dunlop and the other tires I have tried before.
Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on March 23, 2022
Given 89% while driving a BMW 330i M SPORT SALOON (255/40 R18) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
I used Bridgestone Driveguards RFT, after 15k miles changed to these performance tires and overall very satisfied with it. It is a bit noisy when compared to MPSs, but very grippy and progressive tire. However these tires are designed to be used in summer season, once I have used it during winter and it was still grippy and solid on the snowy roads. I strongly recommend these tires if you can not afford MPSs.
Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on February 17, 2022
Given 94% while driving a BMW 328i Coupe (225/45 R18) on for 0 miles
I had PS4 for the last 2 years and always wanted to try a flagship tire from Japan .... came across Yokohama Advan Sport V105S. Price wise , is pretty attractive to start with . After initial run in , the tire actually offer very good dry and wet grip around tight corners . One thing I like about the tire is it still offer good ride comfort despite able to satisfied a spirited driver.
Helpful 30 - tire reviewed on September 20, 2021
Given 81% while driving a Audi S4 (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Fitted to my 2013 Audi S4 on front and rear. Dry handling is great, little understeer on the road although they need to get warm to stick well. Colder and wet weather isn't as good. Still handles fine, but less confidence inspiring. I took it to a track day at Donington Park, where they gripped incredibly well. Track temp was pretty high so wear was intense, and even after a few hours the surface of the tires were still sticky to the touch.
Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on June 28, 2021
Given 73% while driving a Chrysler (235/45 R19) on mostly town for 200 spirited miles
I have a 2015 Chrysler 200s. the car feels grate on dry roads but , on wet roads between 40 to 65 mh the rear starts to vibrate. I have to assume that the tires are starting to hydroplane a little. Am I wrong?
Helpful 36 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2021
Given 71% while driving a Subaru BRZ (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
1. Good grip for the type of tires in both the wet and dry. 2. Low noise high grip 3. Soft compound, easy to heat up for more grip. But also easy to get slightly melted in high technical course 4. Used on gymkhana and many spirited run on canyons and touge. 5. Lasted 8000km about 5000miles in my type of driving.
Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on January 8, 2021
Given 89% while driving a BMW 116d (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Very good tire!! Very preditable in all sorts of weather, Great in the rain, and awesome on dry roads. Low noise and good wear even when I pull a trailer alot. Rear tires 1.6mm left and front 3mm
Helpful 36 - tire reviewed on June 6, 2020
Given 60% while driving a Infiniti M (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Great handing and grip, but way too noisy! Ruins car’s character.
Helpful 43 - tire reviewed on March 28, 2020
Given 74% while driving a Jaguar S Type 2.7D (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Run on my Jaguar S type for the last couple of years. Fronts still on from Dec 2017 and 10,000 miles on them and still a little left 4.5mm as for the rears on my second set with the first set lasting only 6000 miles. Second set down to 4mm left after 4000 miles. Will be looking for something else.
Helpful 32 - tire reviewed on March 17, 2020