Dunlop SP Sport Maxx

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 67%
Wear 64%
Comfort 64%
Buy again 53%

Tire review data from 155 tire reviews averaging 67% over 2,345,597 miles driven.

The SP Sport Maxx is ranked 61st of 70 Summer Max Performance tires.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tire tests for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         12.90kgs
205/45 R16 83W   F B 66 8.75kgs
215/45 R16 86H XL   C E 67 8.40kgs
215/45 R16 86V XL   C E 67 8.40kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL   F A 68 8.83kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   C C 68 8.26kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   C C 68 8.27kgs
255/40 R17 98Y XL   E B 69 11.71kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL AO E C 69 11.20kgs
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E C 68 8.87kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E B 70 12.26kgs
215/35 R19 85Y XL   F B 68 9.38kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E B 70 13.10kgs
255/45 R19 100V MO F C 71 13.49kgs
255/45 R19 100V XL MO E C 71 13.49kgs
235/50 R19 99V XL MO F C 70 12.65kgs
235/55 R19 101V XL   E C 71 14.00kgs
275/55 R19 111V XL MO E C 70 17.77kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL J E B 71 13.71kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL J E A 72 13.71kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J F B 71 13.54kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J E B 71 13.14kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J F B 71 13.54kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J E B 72 11.86kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E B 70 13.20kgs
315/35 R20 110W XL *RSC E B 69 20.21kgs
255/40 R20 101W XL MO E C 70 14.28kgs
275/40 R20 106W XL *RSC E B 68 17.75kgs
295/40 R20 110Y XL RO1 E C 70 17.02kgs
275/50 R20 113W XL MO C C 71 17.58kgs
275/50 R20 109W MO E B 70 17.21kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL   E A 72 18.50kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL *RSC E A 72 19.79kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL   E A 70 16.05kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL *RSC E A 70 16.62kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL RO1 E C 70 15.50kgs
275/40 R21 107Y XL RO1 E C 68 15.32kgs
295/30 R22 103Y XL   E A 71 14.65kgs
305/30 R22 105Y XL   E A 71 16.04kgs
265/35 R22 102Y XL   E B 70 14.27kgs

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 9 tire sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop SP Sport Maxx Reviews

Given 48% while driving a Mercedes Benz A45 (235/35 R19 W) on mostly town for 8,000 average miles
chunks of rubber flew off the inside edge on the motorway. Car had no faults and was well serviced. The rest of the tire had 5-6mm across the tread. Took them all off and replaced with Pirelli as no taking the risks of dangerous tires. Seen a few other threads with this happening so not a one off. Poor show Dunlop!
Helpful 131 - tire reviewed on September 27, 2017
Given 82% while driving a Mercedes Benz S500 (275/40 R19) on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
Just replaced Pirellis on my S Class 550L. Asked the dealer what were best for comfort and noise and these were recommended. Very pleased with them so far. Can't believe how much improvement there is over the Pirellis especially in comfort. The S Class is very refined anyway, but much smoother now. Will have to wait to assess wear.
Helpful 37 - tire reviewed on January 7, 2018
Given 72% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (275/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
275 40 18 are a rip off size made so made it a mission to compare makes. These are equivalent grip to Contisport 5 which came with the car from new, but much quieter. Grip of the Dunlops and Contis In wet or cold weather on RWD is poor spinning out of junctions with normal driving - POOR.

Had Hankook Evo 117 on previously, average wearing but WAY better traction no wheel slip - will be buying the Hankooks again
Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on November 29, 2017
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Sport Maxx >

Latest Dunlop SP Sport Maxx Reviews

Given 67% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
These tires were very good brand new. But in time lost way more performance in dry than any of my previous tires. It's still about 5mm left and I'm losing confidence in these to the point that I was way more confident in driving my winter tires in dry in spring when it was about 10-15 degrees Celsius and tires are the same age. Good thing they are losing grip quite progressively so there is no snap, but losing it way to early. Nope, never again.
Helpful 0 - tire reviewed on September 18, 2022
Given 43% while driving a Skoda (215/45 R16) on mostly town for 37 easy going miles
These tires came with my 2015 Skoda Fabia, very unsporty car in SEL trim so cannot say much about the dry performance/feedback these tires provide as it's generally a sloppy A-B car. I will focus my review on the older set, which are original to the car and are now 6 years old - They were originally 3 years old when I bought the car and have been exceedingly noisy, and after nearly 5 years have started to crack on the surface of the tire, and longer cracks on the tire wall. More expectedly, the tires now loose grip on roundabouts in the wet as they are 6 years old with 4.5mm of tread remaining. They were fitted to the rear of the car for 28,000 miles and have been on the front for roughly 9,000 miles - so as for mileage wear these have been excellent, but age wear has been poor. The fresher set which are now 4 years old, are yet to crack and have always been much quieter. No idea how many miles these have been on the car for. I would not recommend these tires only due to the excessive noise and cracking on the original set, and reading the reviews cracking seems to be common after only a few years.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on December 26, 2021
Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
Given 52% while driving a Jaguar XF S (255/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Jaguar XF Sportbrake 3.0S, currently 68k with full dealer history. Replaced all four tires with properly marked and recommended for Jaguar, Dunlop SP's. They are ABSOLUTE RUBBISH ! DO NOT BUY !! They have done about 6K in 18 months and have severe cracks around every tread channel which were noticed about 4 months ago. The tire dealer who put in the complaint was told the cracks are only superficial and not in any way a hazard or deflect from the performance of the tire and the car should be driven as normal. This is very hard to believe given the apparent depth of the cracking! They certainly don't inspire confidence in using the 270bhp we bought the car for and are being changed for Pirelli's this week.
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on July 5, 2021
Given 56% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
These tires (205/45R16) have all cracked on the edge of the first inside tread groove after 12K miles, even though the car is in regular use. Very poor indeed.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on June 11, 2021
Given 67% while driving a BMW X5 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 37,000 easy going miles
Easy driving on overall nice roads and it's now time to replace all four tires after 59,500 km. I've read a lot of reviews about rough driving on Run Flats but I bought mine from a friend and could not tell the difference since. I'm still contemplating whether to go Run Flats or normal. But I will not be buying these Dunlops again because of a few times I've slipped on conditions It should not have slipped. I would say grip is the weakest point of these tires based on my experience.
Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on August 27, 2020
Given 87% while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR 1.2 (215/45 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 55,000 easy going miles
Original equipment on my Seat. Very low wearing: after 4 years and 55000 km of (quiet) driving on far from smooth roads, I can still rely on 30% of tread before reaching the marker, and rubber shows no cracks at all. Very good grip on dry, not as much on wet. More sporty than comfy. I'll change them for aging, not for wearing, and I'll stay with Dunlop.
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on July 28, 2020
BMW X6 M (315/35 R20 R) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Driving in dry conditions and little to no issues as soon as it’s wet they are dangerous! Exiting islands and car loses grip and actually slides on all 4 wheels! Tire wear is hopeless 30% worn in 3000 miles only, car just had first MOT so mileage exact
Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on December 9, 2019
Given 74% while driving a Lexus RX300 (235/55 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 3,000 easy going miles
Using them on lexus RX300 2004 4x4
Very quiet pattern, comfort is noticeable. But, feel a bit of vibrations as need to have them again balanced.
this summer did not almost rain, can not provide valuable feedback on water.
Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on November 6, 2019
Given 96% while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (225/40 R18 N) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
The overall grip inspires confidence plus the low noise level is noticeably better than my previous Yokohamas.Very pleased so far.
Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on October 26, 2019
Given 69% while driving a Lexus IS250 RWD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
Had these Tires as stock, as for tire specs - nothing special. Quite good handling, braking and waterproofness but bad ride comfort.
As stock Tires these are fine.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on August 28, 2019
Given 89% while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR 1.2 (215/45 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
Just changed the fronts on my Seat Ibiza FR got 24,000miles out of them so cannot complain on how well they last. The car sticks to the road. I can however spin the front wheels from a if I am a bit sharp when pulling off.
Decided to keep with them despite the cost £90 each. This is more down to the odd size.
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on June 10, 2019
Given 57% while driving a Audi A1 (215/45 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 8,200 spirited miles
Hard ride and high road noise. Reasonable dry grip (poorer in the wet) and handling, with fairly poor road feedback. Replaced with Continental Premium Contact 2 which seem much more compliant and grippy, slightly quieter, and offer a smoother ride.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2019