Mazda RX8 Tires

On this page you will find the best real world tire reviews from owners of the Mazda RX8.

Do you Drive a Mazda RX8? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire! After all, who knows what the best tire for a RX8 better than the owners?

Tire Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
CST Medallion MD A1 (1) 100% 100% 90% 90% 80% 100%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (112) 94% 84% 90% 88% 84% 85%
Bridgestone Potenza RE11 (9) 98% 83% 90% 89% 77% 74%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (144) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 (108) 95% 91% 87% 88% 72% 85%
Mayrun MR500 (12) 88% 86% 73% 83% 86% 85%
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (37) 89% 93% 88% 88% 88% 92%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (177) 89% 86% 82% 82% 80% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (51) 95% 82% 91% 92% 67% 74%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Debica Presto UHP2 (37) 88% 81% 81% 83% 77% 89%
Toyo R1R (30) 95% 81% 91% 90% 60% 70%
Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 (24) 86% 86% 80% 80% 88% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (312) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Falken Azenis FK510 (144) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (108) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77%
Yokohama Advan Sport V105S (13) 88% 85% 84% 76% 72% 72%
Sava Intensa UHP 2 (47) 87% 80% 79% 79% 79% 82%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (50) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (80) 87% 81% 78% 79% 74% 77%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (18) 96% 59% 90% 92% 61% 75%
Kormoran Kormoran UHP (29) 86% 72% 81% 77% 81% 81%
Federal 595RSPRO (10) 89% 68% 76% 88% 73% 62%
BFGoodrich gForce R1 (1) 100% 30% 100% 100% 80% 30%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Vredestein Ultrac (20) 84% 79% 72% 75% 65% 78%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (244) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Nankang NS2R (59) 89% 66% 82% 84% 72% 55%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Yokohama Advan A048 (9) 96% 53% 96% 81% 51% 56%
Falken FK452 (211) 82% 72% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Accelera 651 Sport XTRA (3) 90% 70% 80% 60% 55% 60%
Momo Outrun M3 (20) 81% 68% 71% 75% 70% 81%
Extreme Performance VR2 (7) 90% 55% 86% 87% 61% 36%
Nexen N8000 (80) 79% 74% 69% 66% 69% 79%
Toyo T1R (288) 83% 69% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Jinyu YU61 (46) 80% 65% 68% 63% 73% 75%
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (42) 82% 72% 76% 75% 55% 72%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (212) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Pirelli P Zero (157) 84% 69% 75% 72% 58% 64%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (164) 79% 69% 69% 67% 64% 64%
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (36) 74% 67% 68% 69% 60% 68%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57%
Nankang NS2 (211) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Federal 595EVO (39) 74% 46% 69% 64% 72% 54%
Rapid p609 (33) 68% 54% 56% 60% 62% 58%
Cooper Zeon 2XS (16) 70% 51% 57% 48% 58% 65%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (64) 66% 46% 55% 54% 71% 55%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Accelera PHI (158) 68% 44% 53% 52% 66% 58%
Triangle TR918 (11) 65% 30% 57% 46% 76% 62%
Rotalla F105 (29) 64% 31% 45% 41% 58% 58%
Lassa Impetus Sport (6) 57% 44% 48% 32% 63% 46%
Minerva minerva F105 (16) 59% 41% 47% 38% 53% 48%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Deestone Vincente R302 (8) 55% 30% 30% 29% 60% 20%

Mazda RX8 Tire Review Highlights

Writing about the Accelera 651 Sport XTRA given 78% (235-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Update to my review above after having owned these tires for over a year. First off, I'm still impressed by the grip that these achieve for the price. Just a little bit of warmth in them and they are extremely sticky. With that in mind, after participating in an autosolo and putting a moderate heat cycle through them they are ever so slightly less grippy than when new. This is mainly noticeable on the rear wheels which seems just a little bit more willing to lose traction but nothing major. This is to be expected of any tire really, as they will harden and lose grip as they age.

Also, after a year of use, the front tires are cracking slightly within the tread which did show up on my MOT. This isn't necessarily the end of the tire as they still function perfectly, but it may cause future MOT fails is the perishing worsens. That's not exceptional lifetime for a tire but then these are budget semi-slicks so you shouldn't expect long lifetimes from them - especially if you're using them as intended.

Overall, grip is still what these tires were always about and they still have plenty of it.

As a side note, if you're interested in amateur motorsport such as autosolos please be aware most clubs don't permit the use of semi-slick tires. This unfortunately includes the accelera 651s along with yoko ado8, nankang ns2r/ar1 etc. It's a very annoying rule as it means that the only real way to enjoy the grip these tires provide is to spend hundreds on a track day.
tire reviewed on 2024-03-28 04:41:01
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 67% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 spirited miles
These tires were very good brand new. But in time lost way more performance in dry than any of my previous tires. It's still about 5mm left and I'm losing confidence in these to the point that I was way more confident in driving my winter tires in dry in spring when it was about 10-15 degrees Celsius and tires are the same age. Good thing they are losing grip quite progressively so there is no snap, but losing it way to early. Nope, never again.
tire reviewed on 2022-09-18 05:52:58
Writing about the Rapid p609 given 64% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Great budget tire, no issue as my speed is only 140-160km/h. Price is equivalent to quality, cannot compare with other expensive brand tire because the price of it is what you get as an average one
tire reviewed on 2022-07-21 05:23:44
Writing about the CST Medallion MD A1 given 93% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 4000 easy going miles
It was just perfect !
tire reviewed on 2022-04-17 23:52:41
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 given 100% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Amazing tire
tire reviewed on 2022-02-13 03:14:48
Writing about the Debica Presto UHP2 given 83% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I’ve had those tires for 3 years now on my Mazda rx8, they are excellent for every day drive and spirited driving as well. Very good on dry and really impressive handling, in wet. I’ve also tried a track event, but they got extremely heated from the 3 round of the track. So if you don’t go to track days, then those are the best bang for your buck.
tire reviewed on 2021-04-08 15:39:47
Writing about the Federal 595RSPRO given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2020-10-02 12:04:47
Writing about the Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 given 96% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
I have run these for several seasons now on my RX-8 (they make perfect "UK Winter" tires!), a car rather sensitive to tire choice if you want to maintain the excellent handling. I think they're fantastic - grip in cold wet/damp conditions feels almost as good as UHP tires do in the summer - which is phenomenal for a tire that can also actually deal with snow & ice! Wear seems excellent - I haven't even noticed any thus far, though I do only run them during the winter months. The price/performance ratio is insane - normally tires in my size/fitment are rather expensive, but these were a good chunk cheaper than any other decent all-season/winter tire I could find - a bargain really. I'm very happy with them, and would definitely buy them again, if I ever need to (going to be a while at this rate!). I'm a fairly spirited driver, and these inspire so much confidence in cold/damp conditions, that I find myself chucking the car about and having almost as much fun as I do in the dry with summer tires, except in conditions that would otherwise make summer tires squirm. Very impressive! Wet grip is amazing - I just push on as if it was dry and barely notice any difference. I can just drive, whatever the conditions, and not worry about losing grip unexpectedly if I decide to have a bit of fun. Exactly what you want for most of the year in the UK climate. They also perform very well in warm wet conditions - I've used them a few times as "get me home" wheels from track days in the summer in torrential rain with no problems. In the cold dry, there is still plenty of grip too, but obviously not as much as a good summer tire at that point, but still very impressive for an all-season tire, and more than adequate for some spirited dry winter driving. Obviously the warmer it gets, the more apparent the difference to a proper summer tire gets, but they are still perfectly usable all year round if necessary. The sidewalls are a little bit squidgier, as expected, but the handling is still pretty good for this type of tire, all things considered. I have the "XL" variants, which I think helps - a nice compromise between still maintaining some stiffness for handling, but also significantly more comfortable and forgiving than my usual UHP summers, nice for more relaxed winter driving. This is exactly what I wanted - something a little more comfortable for winter but still reasonably sporty feeling when you want it. Of course, sods law - as soon as I bought these I haven't experienced any snow whatsoever (even had a few long trips up to Scotland, but not even a flurry!). Like buying a sledge. So unfortunately, I haven't been able to put them to the test in that regard. However, given how well they perform in all other conditions, I have full confidence that they will handle snow no problem. The closest I've gotten is some very cold frosty mornings, which these tires deal so well with, that it almost makes you forget you're even driving in adverse conditions. Bravo. P.S. Tire reviews really need to separate out the dry and wet grip ratings into cold and warm for winter/all-season tires!
tire reviewed on 2020-08-04 09:57:44
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 given 92% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 500 spirited miles
Bought these Michelin Pilot Sport Cup2 tires after reading and watching several very positive reviews. Used these on my road legal track day toy (Mazda RX8). On dry roads, these offer excellent control and feedback, very similar to other UHP tires I have had. Not driven with these in the wet (and not planning to!), but I would expect them to struggle in the rain, given the tread pattern and depth. On track, these are truly excellent. I ran a same-day direct comparison with Goodyear Eagle F1 Supersports and the Cup2s provided a small but noticeable improvement in grip and felt very sure-footed and confidence inspiring. Highly recommended, especially for on-track.
tire reviewed on 2020-07-24 03:35:46
Writing about the Sava Intensa UHP 2 given 77% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13700 spirited miles
Use them for about 22.000km (one year and seven months) in mixed roads (city driving and highway journeys) The first impression was excellent. The dry and wet grip was absolutely great. The road feedback was very good. I couldn't believe that a low budget tire like this is performing so nice. My driving style is "aggressive" pushing the car in to the limits especially in curved roads and after 10K the wear was significant on the rear tires but the performance in both dry and wet roads was really good. They started loosing grip at around 19K and at the last 2k km the rear tires "died" No grip at all in dry conditions and I was lucky because the weather conditions was good. Overall their performance was excellent but for limited time. Recommended as a cheap solution that is not going to last to much.
tire reviewed on 2020-07-22 04:07:28
Writing about the Nankang NS2R given 77% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
Use these on track mostly as they are too.stiff and noisy for the road. They hate cold and wet conditions. On a dry track, they are very good. Grip and feedback are impressive for a cheapish tire. They do not overheat or wear on the edges like road tires Overall wear rates are good. In the wet, they are very poor. To be fair, I used them in very cold conditions. Unable to get heat into them, they were hopeless. Overall, a good tire, but I would push you towards the Goodyear Eagle Super Sports. 99% as good in the dry, excellent in the wet and good on the road
tire reviewed on 2020-06-18 15:41:21
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 91% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on track for 6000 spirited miles
My RX8 is used on the road (all year) and track days during the winter months. On the road, the Super Sports are as firm as I would want to go. The dry weather grip is excellent and they perform very well in the wet even on cold days. I suspect the rolling resistance is quite high as the MPG is lower than previous tires. On track, they are mega. The dry grip is pretty darned close to a semi slick; those stiff tire walls I think. The wet weather grip is amazing. Semi slicks do not work on cold, wet tracks but these Super Sports are amazing. On a cold, wet track in the winter, they produce grip from the out lap and I am often among the fastest cars out there. For the track day driver they are a superb tire for wet and dry that work well on the road. Oh, they were relatively cheap too.
tire reviewed on 2020-06-18 15:28:24
Drive this car? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire