Pirelli PZero Rosso

The Pirelli PZero Rosso is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 66%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 68%
Wear 59%
Comfort 62%
Buy again 54%

Tire review data from 109 tire reviews averaging 66% over 1,308,806 miles driven.

The PZero Rosso is ranked 67th of 75 Summer Max Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2013 Auto Review Performance Summer Tire Test - 6th of 9 tires

  • Positive - Handling on wet and dry roads, grip on wet roads, quiet
  • Negative - Braking performance on dry roads, high rolling resistance
  • Overall - High wet grip and good resistance to aquaplaning, these tires give the vehicle a sporty feel. Long dry braking, but good lateral grip and fairly quiet for a sports tire.
View Full Test >>

2013 Tire Tests

  • 6th: 2013 Auto Review Performance Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    245/45 R16 94Y (N5) E A 71 10.66kgs
    245/45 R16 94Y (N4) F A 71 10.40kgs
    225/50 R16 92Y (N4) F A 71 9.94kgs
    225/50 R16 92Y (N5) E A 71 10.19kgs
    205/55 R16 91Y (N5) E A 71 9.67kgs
    205/55 R16 91Y (N4) F A 72 9.27kgs
    275/35 R17 94Y (N5) E A 72 10.76kgs
    255/40 R17 94Y (N5) E A 72 10.59kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y (N5) E A 71 9.68kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y (N3) F A 71 9.82kgs
    205/50 R17 89Y (N3) E A 71 9.69kgs
    205/50 R17 89Y (N5) E A 71 9.51kgs
    285/30 R18 93Y (N4) E A 73 11.96kgs
    295/30 R18 98Y XL (N4) E A 73 12.83kgs
    315/30 R18 98Y (N4) E A 74 12.68kgs
    335/30 R18 102Y   E A 74 14.53kgs
    245/35 R18 88Y   E B 71 9.48kgs
    265/35 R18 93Y (N4) E A 72 10.94kgs
    275/35 R18 95Y (MO) E B 72 11.43kgs
    285/35 R18 101Y XL (MO) E B 73 13.19kgs
    225/40 R18 88Y (N4) E A 71 9.74kgs
    235/40 R18 91Y (N4) E A 71 10.94kgs
    255/40 R18 99Y XL (MO) E B 73 12.35kgs
    255/45 R18 99Y (MO) E B 72 11.84kgs
    275/45 R18 103Y (MO) E B 72 13.79kgs
    255/50 R18 102Y   E B 72 13.21kgs
    255/55 R18 109Y XL (N0) E B 73 15.17kgs
    235/60 R18 103V   E B 71 13.77kgs
    255/35 R19 96Y XL (AO) E B 73 11.27kgs
    285/35 R19 99Y (F) C B 73 13.30kgs
    255/40 R19 96W (*) E B 72 13.03kgs
    275/40 R19 105Y XL (B1) E B 73 13.23kgs
    275/40 R19 105Y XL (BC) C B 73 13.13kgs
    235/45 R19 95W (*) E B 71 12.47kgs
    275/45 R19 108Y XL (N1) C B 72 15.41kgs
    285/45 R19 107W (MO) C B 73 15.35kgs
    255/50 R19 103W (MO) E B 71 14.06kgs
    255/50 R19 103W   E B 71 13.62kgs
    275/35 R20 102Y XL (B) E B 73 13.82kgs
    315/35 R20 106Y   F B 74 20.00kgs
    275/40 R20 106Y XL (N1) C B 72 14.98kgs
    295/40 R20 110Y XL (AO) E B 73 16.31kgs
    265/45 R20 104Y (MO) E B 71 14.62kgs
    275/45 R20 110Y XL (AO) E B 72 16.24kgs

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Pirelli PZero Rosso. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    225/40 R18 $229.49 - $229.49 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 $271.99 - $271.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/35 R19 $202.97 - $202.97 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 32 tire sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Pirelli PZero Rosso Reviews

    Given 31% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (235/60 R18 V) on mostly town for 11 average miles
    Bought the car new these tires were on the car only done 11,150 miles in 2 years, treed is down to 2mm will have to buy new ones will not replace with Pirelli's again looking at Continental
    Helpful 79 - tire reviewed on July 20, 2015
    Given 59% while driving a Audi A4 Avant S Line (143) (255/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Tried these for the first time after reading decent reviews about them. Really nice feel to them in dry and wet grip, car seems to handle well considering it weighs 2 tonnes. The tires aren't noisy and long trips to Blackpool and Barnsley were fine. Nice and smooth. The only issue I have with them, and it's a big one, is the wear. After fitting the front tires in June 2019 I am having to replace them in August 2020, and that's with covid coming down on the country and me only travelling to work 3 days a week instead of 5. I won't be buying these again, for the same price I am going to try Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 which have much stronger reviews than these.
    Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on August 25, 2020
    Given 100% while driving a Audi S4 (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 4 spirited miles
    Run these on my 500+ bhp Audi S4 Quattro.
    I have ran the Rosso’s Before. Fantastic tire. Tire is rated as a AO spec.
    Car is driven hard! Took the car to Europe 175-180 mph and no issues.
    Tires have been on 3 years and have covered a very hard 4500 miles. Still on 5mm.

    Great tire.
    Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on August 4, 2018
    Have you driven on the Pirelli PZero Rosso tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli PZero Rosso? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Pirelli PZero Rosso >

    Latest Pirelli PZero Rosso Reviews

    Given 75% while driving a Jaguar XK8 (225/40 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 easy going miles
    Rossos were fitted to my XK8 when I bought it 2nd hand 6 or 7 years ago, with uneven wear and since I only drive the car in the summer I decided to change the tires only as each of them approach the legal limit, so have stuck with the Rossos. My overall impression is pretty good, with decent grip and feel, although anyone who has driven an XK8 will know that whilst they ride superb, steering “feel” isn’t a strong suit, regardless of the type of tire being used!

    My only slight complaint is the high-ish levels of road noise, which in such a quiet car as an XK8 can become a little annoying. If I ever get to a point of having to replace both tires on the same axle then I would probably go for a Goodyear, Dunlop or even an Avon alternative.
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on June 6, 2018
    Given 43% while driving a Audi TT S (225/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    My review is for Pirelli P Zero Rosso tires which came fitted to my 2012 Audi TTS Roadster.
    The tires in general are just ok EXCEPT in the wet.
    I've noticed that when negotiating a most smaller roundabouts in the wet there is a SERIOUS grip problem.
    In the situation described upon leaving a smaller roundabout (not Mini roundabouts) even under moderate acceleration in the wet the front wheels spin causing the TC light to flicker.
    Its quite easy to get the front wheels to spin in the wet in a straight line.
    I also drive a 1.4 Turbo petrol Zafira on budget tires and Its much better in this respect, in fact I've never experienced anything like this on any other front wheel drive car. Remember, my Audi is a Quattro with 4WD !
    i feel the dry handling is also a little underwhelming.
    The tread on these tires is almost as new as they were fitted by the Audi with the previous owner very recently.
    Its worth noting also that the problem I've described will arise after a lot of driving when the tires are warm although I've owned the car since last September so my experience has been in the Autumn and this Winter in colder conditions.
    Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on February 4, 2018
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 81% while driving a Skoda Yeti 4 x 4 (225/50 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 40 spirited miles
    Fitted as new to my Yeti 4x4 L&K 170BHP these tires have been superb. But they have done 40,000 miles and show about 3mm of tread left and whilst the car feels as though its on rails in the dry, and it performs well in most other circumstances I have opted to try Michelin CrossClimates as I believe these more contemporary tires would suit my needs better. I am trusting the many reviews to b a true reflection. Don't underestimate these brilliant Pirellis if your driving is spirited and predominately on the dry. .
    Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on December 10, 2017
    Given 59% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI MK7 (225/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 17,500 average miles
    17,500 miles on a mark 7 golf gti with mostly a road driving, I changed them today for a full set of Michelin super sport ps4s. I probably could have squeezed another 2000 miles out of them, which I think is impressive wear, but that’s about it for positives. Terrible in the wet, very hard (hence the good wear I guess), ok in the dry - far too noisy - not a tire that should cost as much as this.
    Can’t wait to try out the ps4s’; have always loved a super sport tire - had them on my m135i and now have them on my m2.
    Probably a bit fancy a tire for the humble golf, but i can already tell it will be night and day better than these Pirelli’s.
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on October 13, 2017
    Volvo (235/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
    On a Volvo XC60 2.0 FWD these have been excellent, the rears have done 50,000, the fronts were replaced with same tire at 25,000. All due to be replaced in next couple of months. The tires feel secure in dry and wet, as they approach the end of life (all around 4-5mm now) the wet braking and aquaplaning is a little worse, lateral grip still effective and reasonably quiet.
    Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on October 5, 2017
    Audi S5 (255/30 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
    I've had these on my Audi S5 for the past year and wouldn't swap, great power delivery with Quattro 4wd and decent wear considering the power.
    Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on June 29, 2017
    Given 53% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
    Noisy, loud, harsh and cupping. Well, my experience with this tires are not really good. I just don't understand why Alfa Romeo fitted this tires for there top spec Giulietta QV TCT model. The normal P Zero are "ok", but this tire just isn't. It is not good in any class, isn't therefore good priced and are loud as hell.

    Luckily, after 25.000km they are almost finished, so i'm moving back to Kumho PS91, which were fitted below my last Giulietta. Better price, but WAY better tire. More quiet, more grip, more progressiveness.
    Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on June 26, 2017
    Given 63% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (235/60 R18 V) on mostly town for 19,000 average miles
    Driving a Volvo XC60 AWD 2.4 diesel. Disappointed at the level of noise from the front wheels at 19,000 miles. There is several mm of wear left but the noise is unacceptable over 40mph. A low hum can be heard by all in the car. I would understand if it was near the end of its life but these could last for another 6 months at least. Will not buy again.
    Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on June 24, 2017
    Given 80% while driving a Alfa Romeo (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    Grip is really good on a dry road! Grip is decent when its wet but still hangs on in a tight cornor.
    Overall a strong tire!
    Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on April 30, 2016
    Given 89% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (255/35 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 40 average miles
    Despite some poor reviews I can recommend the Pirelli P-Zero Rosso. Have 225/40/19's on the front which have lasted nearly 40,000 miles and 255/35/19's on the back which have lasted 27,000 miles. Still have 3mm all round. Compared to Bridgestone RE050 run flats these are another level. And they just keep on going! Ride is smooth and I feel safe at high speeds particularly in the dry. They're not as good as Michelin PS2 or PS3's but they are cheaper and I would not hesitate to buy them again.
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on February 18, 2016
    Given 64% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    I fitted these tires around 3000 miles ago after switching from Mitchellins which were unavailable. To date I have had issues with the seal around the rim on 1 tire which leaked badly on a rim in near perfect condition. The tires have been balanced twice but after a week or so I get a slight vibration through the steering. The grip is OK but certainly not on par with the Mitchellin tires I had previously. I will not be fitting these again and will either return to Mitchellin or give Goodyear Eagles a try.
    Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on January 6, 2016
    Given 48% while driving a Alfa Romeo (225/55 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    These were OEM fitted on a new Giulietta QV. They are average to good tires in the dry although they do struggle to handle the QV's 240bhp when really pushing; scrabbling for grip and doing nothing to help the car's slight penchant for understeer. In the wet they border on dangerous. Fine in a straight line but as soon as you hit a corner at much more than about 20mph, you might think you were on sheet ice in a 1970's Vauxhall! With the weather on the turn, I'm seriously thinking about changing these tires as soon as poss, even though I've only done 5000 miles with them.
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on October 30, 2015