Vredestein Ultrac

The Vredestein Ultrac is a High Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire has been replaced by the Vredestein Ultrac Cento.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 75%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 78%
Wear 71%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 79%

Tire review data from 14 tire reviews averaging 77% over 169,500 miles driven.

The Ultrac is ranked 53rd of 190 Summer High Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Auto Express Summer Tire Test - 3rd of 10 tires

  • Overall - The updated Vredestein Ultrac is impressive, with a consistent performance in all tests.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tire Tests

  • 3rd: 2021 Auto Express Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Vredestein Ultrac

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Vredestein Ultrac. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Vredestein Ultrac Reviews

    Given 95% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
    Wanted the previously used sportracs 5, but appears that the new ultrac is replacing them and the ultrac satin, so here I am in about 500 kms with the new tires. First I can say that the comfort is outstanding, given the hard suspension on 1st gen ceed. 205 55 16 are even softer than my winter 195 65 15 alpin 6 used 2000 kms max. So really impressive achievement here for the new ultracs. They are good in the dry ofc, I feel somewhat better on wet. Need more kms to comment further these characteristics and wear. Really happy with my choice so far.
    Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on May 28, 2021
    Given 27% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 35,000 spirited miles
    despite being described as tires for performance cars, these are suited to granny's fiesta and nothing else. they have no form of sidewall and the stability is appauling, and the lack of feel unbelieveable.

    i had bridgestone potenzas before these which although fast wearing did give a good drive. These are the worst tires i have ever purchased by a long way, avoid them at all costs!
    Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on November 21, 2008
    Given 83% while driving a Skoda Yeti (225/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 35,000 easy going miles
    Perfectly acceptable tire BUT it is noisy, is prone to punctures (the tread pattern seems to collect nails etc) and not particularly comfortable. It is very hard wearing though.
    Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on August 22, 2012
    Have you driven on the Vredestein Ultrac tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Vredestein Ultrac? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Vredestein Ultrac >

    Latest Vredestein Ultrac Reviews

    Given 92% while driving a Ford c max (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
    put these on a cmax on all 4 ! I had vreds ultrac satiln on and was a nice ride but you had to put the extra psi in as they always looked flat and wear was about avrage so once they ran out i thought i would try the new and improved ultrac and to be truthfull they are a massive impovement the walls are reinforced dont look flat grip very good in wet and dry steering feels light no fancy pattern on the side which is a shame (love the tire gel) the only down side is you may get a holo sound when cold inside cabin just a slight one but flik the radio on and off you go!!!!! wear could not tell you as not been on long but i would thought 12000 +
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on June 10, 2022
    Given 37% while driving a Mercedes Benz E220Cdi (225/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 10,000 easy going miles
    I put a pair on the front of my Mercedes.
    I'm a pensioner, and drive rather conservatively.
    Firstly, I thought they rail-lined a lot.
    Slightly noisier than previous brands.
    The grip seems no better or worse than most.
    My gripe is how short they lasted.
    It failed the MoT today on both front tires being worn down in places.
    I assumed it would sale through, as I've only had 'em about 10000 miles in Cornish weather.
    Not for me I'm afraid.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on December 31, 2015
    Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
    Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen Touran sport TDi (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
    Excellent tire never let me down,dry or wet .Lasted in excess of 35,000 miles
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on December 17, 2010
    Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9TDi Sport Estate (Chipped) (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    A great all round tire with a fantastic, eye catching tread pattern. Been very impressed with their wet weather performance on motorways, instilling confidence even in the heaviest Swedish downpours.

    Would certainly buy these again, HOWEVER there is a catch! Vredestein (in their wisdom) have STOPPED MANUFACTURING THE ULTRAC MODEL! I found this out last week when I got a side wall puncture (unrepairable) and have been trying every avenue to get a new one.

    If anyone from Vredestein reads this, please go back into production with the ULTRAC, they are much better than your Sessanta model!!
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on July 20, 2010
    Given 90% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
    Surprisingly excellent tires bought to replace the Potenza R040's that car came with. They lasted ages and were very excellent for normal road driving from April to November, borderline useless on ice and almost reasonable on snow. I used these on a few track days too and they offered good drip on dry days and lots of opportunities to practice powersliding on wet days. The only gripe I have with these tires is that once they get hot they become a little bit like soap bars and that's not on track! If I had a sensible car I would buy them again, but for the time being it's time to move on to the UHP sector. :-)
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on April 4, 2010
    Given 94% while driving a Honda Euro R (205/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    Excellent tire. I noticed the difference straight away once they were fitted. I found them better than my old f1's. I was suprised how comfortable they were too. Wet grip is amazing. Couldnt be happier with them. Would highly recommend.
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on January 29, 2009
    Given 77% while driving a MG ZT T (190) (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    Excellent dry grip and pretty good wet grip considering it is a summer tire. Handling in the wet and dry is very consistent with lots of feedback through the steering.

    I was expecting poor wear from these but they were excellent- far better than the michelin and toyo tires previously fitted. I would definitely buy these again.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 22, 2008
    Given 87% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (205/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
    These tires just get better and better really seem to grip well, better then the falkens 452's !
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on October 18, 2008
    Given 75% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (205/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
    Thought i'd review these again now ive done about 500 miles on them. Need a bit more driving time still on these tires for 100% review.But so far so good im really starting to like these tires the steering feel is great, and dry grip is as good if not better then the falkens 452's. Need abit more time with these in the rain but had a light shower and they grip well.
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on September 30, 2008
    Skoda Octavia vRS (205/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
    Just had two of these fitted on the front after hearing good things about them. First impressions are good! alot smoother then the falkens 452's and soak up the bumps in the road well, road noise is much improved too. Grip seems to be good but to early to give any opinion need to bed them in first, will report back when i've done some more miles on them.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on September 19, 2008