Vredestein Ultrac Cento

The Vredestein Ultrac Cento is a Ultra High Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Vredestein Ultrac.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 73%
Wear 86%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 79%

Tire review data from 22 tire reviews averaging 80% over 243,204 miles driven.

The Ultrac Cento is ranked 45th of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tire Shootout - 27th of 50 tires

View Full Test >>

2014 Auto Zeitung Summer Tire Test - 8th of 12 tires

  • Overall - Weaknesses in the driving safety (wet) test prevent a better result for the Vredestein Ultrac Cento
View Full Test >>

2012 Autobild 50 Tire Braking Test - 27th of 45 tires

View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Vredestein Ultrac Cento
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Vredestein Ultrac Cento. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Vredestein Ultrac Cento Reviews

Given 79% while driving a Volvo S80 2.4 petrol (225/50 R17 R) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
Impressed with these types, good fuel economy, lasted 20,000 miles on a big Volvo, good grip too. My last types on this car were Goodyears and the Vredesteins lasted a touch longer and gripped just as well.
17 - tire reviewed on April 1, 2014   
Given 81% while driving a Audi TT (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 44,000 average miles
Fitted to my 03 plate TT Roadster @ 34k mls. Just coming to the wear limit now @78k mls!! Brilliant all round.
1 - tire reviewed on August 19, 2015   
Given 73% while driving a BMW 320 d (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 11,184 average miles
I have bought a set of these tires in 2015 and i have used them on a 1500kg BMW 320d E46. The best thing for this tire is noise and comfort. They are very quiet ! But, compare to Vredestein UltracSessanta, the dry and wet grip is not that good. The wear is good, in 18.000 km, it;s very little. But i don't drive very sporty. If you want quiet tires, buy them. Else, if you drive sporty, buy another tires. UltracSessanta, Conti SC5 or anything else.
1 - tire reviewed on April 16, 2017   
Have you driven on the Vredestein Ultrac Cento tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Vredestein Ultrac Cento? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Vredestein Ultrac Cento >

Latest Vredestein Ultrac Cento Reviews

Given 76% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Got hese fitted 2 years ago, front and back and am still quite impressed with them.

First and foremost, comfort and silence, if this is what you're after, you should definately get these. 2nd, the wear is amazing, my previous Bridgestones were already long gone and these still have 5/6mm on them after guess slightly more than 20k km of which even 1 trackday.

On the trackday though their less strong points came forward as in my opinion it's lacking feedback as well as pure grip, it's not particularly bad but could for sure be better.

All together, it's quite a good alrounder with the emphasys on comfort.
0 - tire reviewed on May 11, 2017   
Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen Passat (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Have these on 1.9 tdi vw passat....love them....got 25000 kms out of them with fast aggressive driving,hard cornering..... 3mm still remaining....have contisport contact 5 before and lasted only 12000 kms for me....so way better....dry grip is outstanding....progresivenes is excellent too....braking and acceleration on staright line is perfect.....slightly less grip on wet compared to dry...as per the wet braking C category but its not too bad...i would say good,not excellent...sound is ok....nothing disturbing your comfort.....will definitely buy them again and recommend to everyone especially with heavy cars....
0 - tire reviewed on October 15, 2016   
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Given 90% while driving a Audi 2.0tdi 140 sline sportback (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
Nice premium quality tires on a good price. Perfect summer all-rounders. Comfort is overall good. They are very good at high speed, also on wet, and in comparison to Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta they wear much less.
0 - tire reviewed on April 18, 2016   
Given 68% while driving a BMW 525i (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
The tires are made of strong rubber, therefor they last long BUT also make terrible road noise. I know they supposed to be quiet but infact they make very uncomfortable noise, i replaced mine beacuse i couldnt bare the noise in my quiet BMW, i had 225/55/16.
0 - tire reviewed on July 8, 2015   
Given 80% while driving a Peugeot (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 9,400 average miles
Very good dry grip, when wet the fronts start wiggling a bit. Not as comfortable as michelin primacies but way more comfortable than the dunlops I had before. After 15.000km signs of excessive wear, very little wear in fact.
Good tires with great pricetag!

Definetly recommend them and would buy them again. Also like to try out the ultrac sessanta´s though.
0 - tire reviewed on December 12, 2013   
Given 60% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 easy going miles
Am trying a pair for the first time. Only done 4000 so far, but 1000 of that was fast motorway driving 10 months ago. They replaced Michelin Primacy's. I was initially a little concerned with the central ribbing with these, and how they would be in the bad weather, so I put them on the front.
By the very fact that I don't have a lot to say about them, tells the story. So far, they have been great - nothing wrong. They were very slightly softer on the steering wheel than the Michelins,,,,, but there is always 'some' difference when fitting new tires.

I am now going to dump the quarter worn Marangonis on the rear (before someone gets killed) so will try another model Vredestein - with more chunky tread for better drive grip.
Will update when its done.
0 - tire reviewed on December 30, 2012   
Given 86% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (225/50 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
Did some research and compared these to the Bridgestone's I had on before. Bridgestone's were quite and grippy but £50 a tire more expensive.
So I wanted the Sessantas but there are none suited to my Alfa. I was advised to give these a go. I cover a lot of miles and did 1000 in the first week on the new Centro's (design by the stylist for my car coincidentally).
The tires took a while to bed in and as a result MPG suffered failing to get above 46MPG compared to the usual 50. Since then and in mixed conditions they have added an extra 4mpg (54mpg) compared to the Bridgestones.
The weather is getting worse and I read some other reviewers concerns about these tires in snow and ice so will update when the weather reaches that stage.
Overall great tires so far, would say slightly more road noise than Bridgestones but it's not too bad considering the cost saving
0 - tire reviewed on December 7, 2011   
Given 99% while driving a Skoda Superb II combi 2.0 tdi cr (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
Excellent!!!! (if slightly noisy)
0 - tire reviewed on October 22, 2011   
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen GT TDI 150 PD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Was after a set of Sessantas after they came so highly recommended, but they were unavailable from local stockist so took a punt on these instead and i can say i've never looked back! Worth every penny, handling and grip is outstanding in all conditions, road noise is extremely low and they have out standing durability, looking as fresh as they did the day the were fitted back in December 2010.
0 - tire reviewed on August 16, 2011   
Given 97% while driving a Renault Megane (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Good tires!
0 - tire reviewed on November 20, 2010   
Given 76% while driving a Volkswagen Tdi 4 motion (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
The Vredestein Cento does what it says; a very good all round tire.
I replaced the Continental Sportcontact 3 which where on the car with these tires.
The Conti Sport 3 is a very good tire for handling and braking in both the dry and wet. However, it has a few drawbacks:-
Expensive
Poor wear rate
Increased fuel consumption; around 2 MPG less.
Tram lining
Tires aged and went soft causing an acceleration lag

The Cento is virtually as go as the Conti Sport 3 for handling in the dry and wet.
Like the Conti, it is one of the few tires which can cope with the Golf's torque in the wet.

Cento plus points:-
An all rounder.
Good handling in dry and wet.
Refined and comfortable, for a directional reinforced high performance tire.
Strong tire so very little acceleration lag.
Sit well on narrower width rims.
Reduced fuel consumption.
Reinforced tire in 225/45 R17 is standard.
Very good value for money.

Cento lesser points:-
Feedback is acceptable, however, room for improvement.
Braking is good, just not excellent like the Conti Sport 3.
Limited availability.

Will I choose the Vredestein or Conti next time?
It would mainly come down to cost.
The Conti is the slightly better performer; just not worth the premium price, and then some more for the reinforced option.
0 - tire reviewed on April 16, 2010   
Given 67% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 SE Turbo (205/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I've replaced the front set of Vredestein Sportrac 3 with these new Ultrac Centos on my SAAB 9-3 Turbo. These new tires offer exceptional refinement and low road noise something which makes them ideal for long distance highway driving. Keeping up with the Vredestein tradition, the Ultrac Cento offers respectable grip in the wet which translates into a reassuring and sure-footed handling in adverse weather conditions.

The downside that comes at the cost of refinement is reduced feedback and average dry grip. Specifically, under hard acceleration in 1st and 2nd gear my car torque-steered excessively, something which was almost completely absent with the Sportrac 3. The same can be said for the roadholding which, although progressive, is nowhere near as good as before.

Overall, the Ultrac Cento seems an ideal choice for someone looking for a refined, quiet and sure-footed tire. Any spirited driving will not be rewarded accordingly with this tire.
0 - tire reviewed on March 19, 2010