Nokian zLine

The Nokian zLine is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire review data from 83 tire reviews averaging 86% over 698,815 miles driven, and 17 tests with an average result of 8th.

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 89%
Handling 87%
Wear 76%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 82%

The zLine is ranked 12th of 75 Summer Max Performance tires.

This tire replaced the Nokian Z G2 and this tire has been replaced by the Nokian PowerProof.

Tests Included

17

Best Result

2nd

Worst Result

20th

Average Result

8th

Latest Tire Test Results

2018 Auto Express Summer Tire Test
9th of 10 tires
  • Low rolling resistance.
  • Very weak dry performance, average wet performance.
View Full Test >>
2017 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test
15th of 20 tires
  • Good handling on dry roads
  • Tendency to understeer and a relatively long braking distance on wet surfaces, poor wear, high rolling resistance
  • Recommended
View Full Test >>

2018 Tire Tests

2017 Tire Tests

2016 Tire Tests

2015 Tire Tests

2014 Tire Tests

2013 Tire Tests

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nokian zLine

Questions and Answers for the Nokian zLine

2018-01-17 - Looking to replace 265/45 21 104 Dunlop SP Sport 01s on an Infiniti QX70 with something newer and better. Nokian Zline SUV and Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 seem about the same on eu label and reviewer scores. However, even though both are High Performance Summer tires would the Nokian have the edge in colder temperatures and on snow ? The A/S version is US only and not made in 265/45 21 in any case.

While Nokian Tires do specialise in winter tires, the zLine is a UHP summer so it's unlikely to have a significant performance advantage over the Dunlop in cold / snow.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 2 tire sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nokian zLine Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 407Hdi (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 31,000 average miles
I have had them for 51.000km (31K miles) as my front tires of my Peugeot 407 2.0. I was a bit worried initially because I lost 2mm too quickly to my taste but then the deterioration stabilized and I had a good driving experience in all conditions (particularly with rain). After 51K kms the tires are
Helpful 1665 - tire reviewed on May 10, 2016
Given 93% while driving a Honda Accord (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 3,425 average miles
I am in Canada and I got these tires about 3 months ago. The tire shop I went to (Kal-Tire) suggested these tires. I told them I did not want cheap tires. I wanted mid to high-end. I've always known that Nokian tires were very good as they have been in the industry for a long time. And are extremely trusted. Usually you see nokian tires on high end German cars. It has been 3 months now as I was saying and these tires are superb. They are very quiet. And the grip is pretty insane. And they seem to wear pretty slow at least for me. Cuz I've had them on for 3,400 + miles and the treads almost still looks brand new. These tires have built-in wear indicators that actually tell you the percentage left on the tire so there is no guessing. They're definitely really good high performance tires. People say that they don't do good when it's wet. But I haven't had any issues except when I hit deep water on the highway. And I hydroplane a little bit but again it doesn't matter what tires you have, if you hit deep water you're going to hydroplane no matter what with all brands. I got these tires in the beginning of Summer so I can only attest to how they perform during the summer. I guess we will see how they do in the winter. I'm going to try them in the winter for a little bit. But not for long because I have another set of snow tires and I don't want to ruin these ones. As for the price I guess it really depends on where you are in the world. Mine cost $270 CAD per tire. So they are definitely pretty expensive but not at the top. I researched for a long time before I got these tires and I am happy with them. I did not want cheap Chinese tires and opted for Nokian and I couldn't be happier. They are a mid to high end Tire and aren't much cheaper than some Continentals.
Helpful 51 - tire reviewed on August 4, 2022
Given 94% while driving a Opel insignia (245/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 60,000 spirited miles
You don't need to spend more money for other brand tires. You will be amazed by its performance on wet and dry surfaces. You will be angry with yourself for not trying these tires before. I definitely recommend it.
Helpful 48 - tire reviewed on June 28, 2022
Have you driven on the Nokian zLine tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian zLine? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Nokian zLine >

Latest Nokian zLine Reviews

Given 10% while driving a Citroën (205/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 8,000 easy going miles
This is Nokian's 4th year with 15000 km.
Dead...
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on December 20, 2023
Given 64% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 3,000 easy going miles
My z Line tires has side cracks all around diamerte. The tires are only 4 years. I dont feel safe driving witn my nokian tires. Try to send you mail, but no respond
Helpful 46 - tire reviewed on August 5, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 59% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector Sport TiD 150 Saloon (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I purchased them to replace Michelin Primacy... and it was mistake. Wet performance is extremely poor on these, and I will recommend anyone to stay away from these as on wet they are for brave people. They glide on little wet. They are ok on dry, but I expected much more from Nokian, especially from they elevated prices. Unfortunately Nokian is known to be well in tests and poor in real life. If I would new it before purchasing, I would buy something else. Good that they discounted this model, I do not know how current are performing, but never more Nokian for me.
Helpful 47 - tire reviewed on May 7, 2020
Given 79% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 (225/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Great int he wet, little soft in dry
Helpful 58 - tire reviewed on January 22, 2020
Given 86% while driving a BMW 523i tourer (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
#2# I fitted these tires to replace the previous very good Nokian G2. I noticed immediately also a good field in dry and wet conditions. I was impressed by these tires I had essentially chosen for the very low price. The only flaw I noticed is that they seem a bit too soft. High comfort level for low price.
Helpful 47 - tire reviewed on April 17, 2019
Given 100% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Wagon (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 30 average miles
I just can't score these any higher. I have them on a 2006 Saab 95 Aero Combi and I got 30,000km from them which is the most I ever got on that car. I always used Goodyear Eagle F1s on it before but they were getting very expensive so tried the zLine. In the wet they are so much better than the Goodyear, the water they throw up is massive compared to the Goodyear F1 and they actually aren't bad in snow either. I found their ability to hold air much better too, I check my pressure twice a week and they may drop 1psi in a month where the Goodyear may drop that in a week. Don't get me wrong, the Goodyear Eagles are fantastic but they aren't as good as the Nokian zLine. The most mileage I got from a tire on my Saab was around 11,000km until I got the Nokian tires. In the dry they are very good, great feel and they wear better than anything else I've had, they wear perfectly to be honest. I live in Ireland and the roads here are probably the worst in Europe I reckon, the motorways are good but noisy but they drain water here better than any other European motorway. Some reading this might say I'm over stretching this review but seriously, the Nokian zLine is THE BEST tire I have ever used.
Helpful 76 - tire reviewed on September 29, 2018
Given 77% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,500 average miles
I use the 225/40/18 on a remaped Ford Mondeo 2.0 tdci with 8.5j rims. Comparing them to my 'ex' tires (Falken Ziex 914 EcoRun 205/50/17 on 7.5j rims ) I can say the following after 3.000 km:
- 1 mm is gone already, I don't do street racing . I hope that the wear does not continue at this rate.
- the sidewall is not that good, when coming out of a corner I feel that the car is being thrown out (I did not have this feeling with the Falkens)
- they are a bit noisy
- the dry grip is pretty good, wet grip also good .

For the money (approx. 100 Euros) I would recommend them .


Helpful 48 - tire reviewed on August 15, 2018
Given 69% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
Nokian Zline does everything the way it should. Water, grip, fuel and handling is really good. But when it comes to comfort it´s not really good. Halfway through the tire and you can feel driving over a penny. To bad cause else it perform really well. High speed driving and braking at high speed, is not so good as Dunlop Sport Max rt2.
Recommend.
Helpful 55 - tire reviewed on August 6, 2018
Given 67% while driving a Audi A7 3.0 TFSI (225/40 R19 W) on mostly town for 1,500 easy going miles
Those tires are so weird . There are sign of disintegration on all 4 tires . There are pieces of them that literally fall apart . Beside of that they behave great , but i am really concerned
Helpful 91 - tire reviewed on July 23, 2018
Given 71% while driving a Audi Audi A6 (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Bought a set of Nokian Zline and initial thought was that they were very good tires. There is really nothing bad about the handling. But the upper sidewall started to crack after one summer. Had them changed for another set and they also started to crack after a summer. I've gone through 3 set of Nokian Z-Line tires in three summers and every set started to crack. I'm not really confident driving the car 180-200 km/h in Germany with micro cracks on the sidewall.
Helpful 60 - tire reviewed on June 14, 2018
Given 56% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
I used these Z-line tires in my 2007 Santa Fe. Handling and grip were fine, wear was terrible though, worse than any tire I have had before. After 18000km (just over 11000 miles) I had to replace them! Never a Nokian Z-line again for me!
Helpful 66 - tire reviewed on February 19, 2018
Given 87% while driving a Fiat Abarth Punto Evo (215/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Excellent price for the quality
Good feeling at the limit even when worn out
I'm going to buy a new set for my car
Helpful 54 - tire reviewed on December 28, 2017