Nokian zLine

The Nokian zLine is a Max Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Nokian Z G2 and this tire has been replaced by the Nokian PowerProof.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 88%
Wear 77%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 84%

Tire review data from 79 tire reviews averaging 87% over 624,390 miles driven.

The zLine is ranked 10th of 62 Summer Max Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2018 Auto Express Summer Tire Test - 9th of 10 tires

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Very weak dry performance, average wet performance.
View Full Test >>

2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tire Test - 2nd of 11 tires

View Full Test >>

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test - 15th of 20 tires

  • Positive - Good handling on dry roads
  • Negative - Tendency to understeer and a relatively long braking distance on wet surfaces, poor wear, high rolling resistance
  • Overall - Recommended
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/40 R17 87W   C A 72  
245/40 R17 95Y   C A 72  
215/45 R17 91Y   C A 72  
225/45 R17 91W   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94Y   C A 72  
235/45 R17 97Y   C A 72  
245/45 R17 99Y   C A 72  
205/50 R17 93Y   C A 72  
215/50 R17 95W   C A 72  
225/50 R17 94W   E A 71  
225/50 R17 98Y   C A 72  
215/55 R17 98W   C A 72  
225/55 R17 101Y   C A 72  
235/55 R17 103Y   C A 72  
255/35 R18 94Y   C A 73  
265/35 R18 97Y   C A 73  
225/40 R18 92Y   C A 72  
235/40 R18 95Y   C A 72  
245/40 R18 97Y   C A 72  
255/40 R18 99Y   C A 73  
225/45 R18 95Y   C A 72  
235/45 R18 98W   C A 72  
245/45 R18 96Y   E A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y   C A 72  
255/45 R18 103Y   C A 73  
235/50 R18 101Y   C A 72  
225/35 R19 88Y   C A 72  
235/35 R19 91Y   C A 72  
245/35 R19 93Y   C A 72  
225/40 R19 93Y   C A 72  
245/40 R19 98Y   C A 72  
255/40 R19 100Y   C A 73  
235/45 R19 99W   C A 72  
255/35 R20 97Y   C A 73  
275/35 R20 102Y   C A 73  
245/40 R20 99Y   C A 72  

Questions and Answers for the Nokian zLine

2018-01-17 - Looking to replace 265/45 21 104 Dunlop SP Sport 01s on an Infiniti QX70 with something newer and better. Nokian Zline SUV and Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 seem about the same on eu label and reviewer scores. However, even though both are High Performance Summer tires would the Nokian have the edge in colder temperatures and on snow ? The A/S version is US only and not made in 265/45 21 in any case.

While Nokian Tires do specialise in winter tires, the zLine is a UHP summer so it's unlikely to have a significant performance advantage over the Dunlop in cold / snow.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Nokian zLine Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 407Hdi (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 31,000 average miles
I have had them for 51.000km (31K miles) as my front tires of my Peugeot 407 2.0. I was a bit worried initially because I lost 2mm too quickly to my taste but then the deterioration stabilized and I had a good driving experience in all conditions (particularly with rain). After 51K kms the tires are
1404 - tire reviewed on May 10, 2016   
Given 67% while driving a Audi A7 3.0 TFSI (225/40 R19 W) on mostly town for 1,500 easy going miles
Those tires are so weird . There are sign of disintegration on all 4 tires . There are pieces of them that literally fall apart . Beside of that they behave great , but i am really concerned
29 - tire reviewed on July 23, 2018   
Given 100% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Wagon (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 30 average miles
I just can't score these any higher. I have them on a 2006 Saab 95 Aero Combi and I got 30,000km from them which is the most I ever got on that car. I always used Goodyear Eagle F1s on it before but they were getting very expensive so tried the zLine. In the wet they are so much better than the Goodyear, the water they throw up is massive compared to the Goodyear F1 and they actually aren't bad in snow either. I found their ability to hold air much better too, I check my pressure twice a week and they may drop 1psi in a month where the Goodyear may drop that in a week. Don't get me wrong, the Goodyear Eagles are fantastic but they aren't as good as the Nokian zLine. The most mileage I got from a tire on my Saab was around 11,000km until I got the Nokian tires. In the dry they are very good, great feel and they wear better than anything else I've had, they wear perfectly to be honest. I live in Ireland and the roads here are probably the worst in Europe I reckon, the motorways are good but noisy but they drain water here better than any other European motorway. Some reading this might say I'm over stretching this review but seriously, the Nokian zLine is THE BEST tire I have ever used.
21 - tire reviewed on September 30, 2018   
Have you driven on the Nokian zLine tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian zLine? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Nokian zLine >

Latest Nokian zLine Reviews

Given 59% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector Sport TiD 150 Saloon (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I purchased them to replace Michelin Primacy... and it was mistake. Wet performance is extremely poor on these, and I will recommend anyone to stay away from these as on wet they are for brave people. They glide on little wet. They are ok on dry, but I expected much more from Nokian, especially from they elevated prices. Unfortunately Nokian is known to be well in tests and poor in real life. If I would new it before purchasing, I would buy something else. Good that they discounted this model, I do not know how current are performing, but never more Nokian for me.
0 - tire reviewed on May 7, 2020   
Given 79% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 (225/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Great int he wet, little soft in dry
2 - tire reviewed on January 22, 2020   
Want the best tire for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 86% while driving a BMW 523i tourer (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
#2# I fitted these tires to replace the previous very good Nokian G2. I noticed immediately also a good field in dry and wet conditions. I was impressed by these tires I had essentially chosen for the very low price. The only flaw I noticed is that they seem a bit too soft. High comfort level for low price.
1 - tire reviewed on April 17, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,500 average miles
I use the 225/40/18 on a remaped Ford Mondeo 2.0 tdci with 8.5j rims. Comparing them to my 'ex' tires (Falken Ziex 914 EcoRun 205/50/17 on 7.5j rims ) I can say the following after 3.000 km:
- 1 mm is gone already, I don't do street racing . I hope that the wear does not continue at this rate.
- the sidewall is not that good, when coming out of a corner I feel that the car is being thrown out (I did not have this feeling with the Falkens)
- they are a bit noisy
- the dry grip is pretty good, wet grip also good .

For the money (approx. 100 Euros) I would recommend them .


7 - tire reviewed on August 15, 2018   
Given 69% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
Nokian Zline does everything the way it should. Water, grip, fuel and handling is really good. But when it comes to comfort it´s not really good. Halfway through the tire and you can feel driving over a penny. To bad cause else it perform really well. High speed driving and braking at high speed, is not so good as Dunlop Sport Max rt2.
Recommend.
5 - tire reviewed on August 6, 2018   
Given 71% while driving a Audi Audi A6 (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Bought a set of Nokian Zline and initial thought was that they were very good tires. There is really nothing bad about the handling. But the upper sidewall started to crack after one summer. Had them changed for another set and they also started to crack after a summer. I've gone through 3 set of Nokian Z-Line tires in three summers and every set started to crack. I'm not really confident driving the car 180-200 km/h in Germany with micro cracks on the sidewall.
7 - tire reviewed on June 14, 2018   
Given 56% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
I used these Z-line tires in my 2007 Santa Fe. Handling and grip were fine, wear was terrible though, worse than any tire I have had before. After 18000km (just over 11000 miles) I had to replace them! Never a Nokian Z-line again for me!
13 - tire reviewed on February 19, 2018   
Given 87% while driving a Fiat Abarth Punto Evo (215/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Excellent price for the quality
Good feeling at the limit even when worn out
I'm going to buy a new set for my car
12 - tire reviewed on December 28, 2017   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 730d Sport (275/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Excellent tire for the money . strong grip in the dry or wet . much better than my old Michelin Pilot Primacy and wearing very well indeed on what is a heavy car . Bmw 730d . currently on 15k miles . only criticism would be they could improve when it comes aquaplaning . not super bad but other tires are better . wet grip is superb though . all round a truely surprising result , highly impressed
17 - tire reviewed on November 3, 2017   
Given 80% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (235/35 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 32,000 average miles
Nice price, ride okay but had a flat one and the two new front Michelin Pilot sport seems to have more comfort. (they were worn down anyhow). My Z-Line lasted approx 51.000 km all four (rotated yearly). Four summers. Mostly freeway 115-125 km/t
8 - tire reviewed on October 13, 2017   
Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TSI 210hp (235/35 R19) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
I've had a pair of these on the front of my 2010 Scirocco and it made the ride comfort appalling. The car crashed over bumps and potholes to the extent that I took my car to two garages to see if there was a suspension fault, as I was convinced that a pair of tires couldn't cause such a problem and there must be an underlying mechanical problem. Later after a bulge appeared in the tire side wall I replaced both of them with a pair of Pirelli P Zeros (I'd had some before the Nokian Z Lines) and immediately the ride comfort was restored.

The extent of the discomfort of these tires was such that the car became unenjoyable and often unpleasant to drive. The reasonable performance and price of these tires was therefore irrelevant when considering the detrimental effect it had on the car.

I would strongly recommend not buying these tires. If you drive a Scirocco I'd recommend the P Zeros though (normal ones, not the Rosso or Nero). The feel of the car with them is fantastic and worth the extra.
4 - tire reviewed on October 4, 2017   
Given 89% while driving a Lexus ES350 (215/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 18,000 spirited miles
Just ordered my second set of Z-Lines (I use the WR G3 in the winter). Very good handling, stopping on dry ground. The best tire I've ever used in the wet. A bit softer side walls than other UHP tires but not a big deal. Very safe tires. Always in control . No surprises. Very quiet and smooth ride. Only one down side. They wear fast. They were done at 18,000 miles. So what! Easily worth the price to pay!
4 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2017