Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect

The Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect is a Trackday and Competition Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 89%
Wear 60%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 83%

Tire review data from 8 tire reviews averaging 79% over 43,547 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect is ranked 10th of 28 Summer Trackday and Competition tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 Sport Auto UHP, UUHP and Semi Slick Tire Test - 3rd of 10 tires

  • Positive - Astonishingly high wet grip potential for a cup tire, but with a very narrow limit range. High precision and very confidence inspiring drivability in the sporty, dynamic speed range.
  • Negative - Longer braking distances in every day temperature ranges, pronounced sensitivity to load changes and severe oversteer in the wet, poor comfort.
  • Overall - Easily manageable track tires.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect

2021-02-26 - I have the BMW M140i xdrive and I love to take it to track occasionally. The car has understeer problem and I am looking for a right everyday/trackday combination tire. Unfortunately the negative camber adjustment is challenging due to all wheel drive so need to address this with the right tire selection and wheel size. I enjoy your channel and really appreciate your guidance on the tire and wheel size selection.

Unfortunately I can't give any official advise about changing tire size without testing, as there's too many variables at play - there might be people on BMW forums who know better. If you do fit a set of the excellent Michelin Cup 2 Connects, and decide there's too much understeer still, you can try adjusting the balance by raising the rear tire pressure, however this will only make small changes to the overall driving experience.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco R 265 PS DSG (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
I bought this tire for all the wrong reasons, l liked the look of it. Anyway, for all the reasons you might not use a ps cup 2 as a daily driver (in the wet that is) it doesn't seem anywhere near as drastic with the ps cup2 connect. They don't handle any differently in the wet to the bridgestone reo50s I've been using. Actually more comfort, though the bridgestone had hardened- up.I think michelin might have worked a bit of magic here. Mick S.
24 - tire reviewed on December 30, 2020   
Given 79% while driving a BMW 335i (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 7,000 average miles
Previously used original Michelin PSC2, Pirelli PZ4 and Michelin PSS. Compared to original PSC2, wet grip and aquaplaning resistance are massively improved, it took me a while to build trust in the wet, having had some moments on PSC2s before, but they are almost as good as PSS incredibly. Dry grip and handling limits are beyond sensible road driving, but the tires always feel special, you know you're on good shoes at all speeds, but as they wore, became more like you'd expect a track tire to feel; tramlining etc. Ride quality is firm but good, noise on poor surfaces is high, but on good surfaces almost silent. I like tires that convey the surface well and they do that better than any other road tire I've used. Like the old PSC2s and PSS, dry and wet grip go off noticeably under 7C ambient temp. I do a lot of miles and wear is not as good as the old PSC2, the rears went under the limit after 7k miles, I got over 10k from the old PSC2s and 17k from the previous PSSs, Pirelli PZ4s were at 2mm in under 10k on this car. With my head I'd choose PSS or maybe try PS4S for my road driving, but I'd wish I still had the ultimate; so my heart ordered another set!
8 - tire reviewed on March 2, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Mitsubishi Evolution X (245/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
I've been looking to replace the AD08R on my Evo X SST and as the new RS is an awful tire, I opted for the pilot sport cup 2 connect with the track connect kit. Wow those tires are good! Everyone has been telling me not to put Cup 2's on the Evo X and boy they were wrong! Right off the bat, I noticed a significant improvement in comfort and noise slightly better steering wheel feel and much better turn in. After making some alignment/setup adjustments I went to a nice mountain drive and wow...what a difference vs the ad08r! The turn in is so much better that until I got used to them I found myself making several corrections at turn in. The track connect app together with the sensors are actually pretty cool because you can see when tires are up to temp to start pushing and also you can monitor tire pressures. The grip is sooo much better. It gives me so much confidence to push and they so much more progressive vs the ad08r that you can feel where the limit is. I also tested them on the wet. You obviously need to be careful at standing water but other than that they gave me so much confidence. Let's see how they wear and for how long this grip will remain. At this point it's a question mark because I just put them on, hence my 8/10 on how much they lasted. So far I'm loving them. Highly recommended!
8 - tire reviewed on May 3, 2021   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect Reviews

Given 70% while driving a BMW M4 Competition (275/35 R19) on track for 580 spirited miles
The Cup2 Connect * are very reliable in the dry, consistent through the life of the tire, with the fastest time right after the first heat cycle. There is a bit of scrubbing vibration that I experienced when using new tires. Feels like pickup, but eventually after driving through it, and getting past that period, they settle down. Have experienced this with more than one set, so its a consistent phenomenon. Grip falls off progressively at the limit, with good road feedback and sidewall stiffness. I have not used these tires in the wet, I have PS4S for wet track.
1 - tire reviewed on March 17, 2022   
Given 55% while driving a BMW 135i (255/40 R17) on track for 2,000 spirited miles
Used the tires primarely on the track (time attack events and practices) and driving to the track. The dry grip was pretty ok, but it was hard to drive the car close to the limit, as tires gave very little feedback and it felt like the sidewall was very soft. Rather a lot of understeer and some unexpected oversteer as well. After just 2 short sessions on the track I have noticed that one of the tread segments (1 of 4) started to wear significantly, especially on front tires. I was very carefull with tire pressure, following Michelin recommendations all the time. Very soon big parts of this tread segment started to just fall out, while the rest of the tread was rather very good. After that, I made a reclamation to the tire seller and currently waiting for a results of the examination. To be honest - very dissapointed with tires performance and behaviour. For over 250 EUR per tire, I was expecting a lot more.
3 - tire reviewed on October 12, 2021   
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Given 90% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (265/35 R18) on track for 31,567 spirited miles
I have a civic FK8 that is my track car. The first tires were the too r888r's which seemed pretty good but when I switched to the advan AD08R I soon realised the shortfalls of the r888r. A warm Oulton Park seemed to suit the Advans well. However since then I have found it wanting. I did Donnington GP (1st trackway this year) and the grip just wasn't there. So after the standard late night obsessing I went for the Pilot sport cup 2's with the track connect system. The tires are amazing, so much grip and feel, tore up Cadwell. The track connect system was brilliant, once I had it dialled in it was on point all day. I also had have the Garmin Catalyst which is epic. Full disclaimer; I try and hide my spending from my wife but mostly fail.
6 - tire reviewed on August 21, 2021   
Given 93% while driving a BMW M140i (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
C2c First set of trackday focused tires after couple of sets of Max Performance Summer tires. What a difference! Same car / same driver and lap times are dropping 3-4% depending on track. Also I am impressed by the heat tolerance and wear during very warm trackday sessions. I am using the tires also for daily drives and the comfort level is ~ok - not great but tolerable. If there is any sand/ stones on the road the sticky tires makes it feel like you were driving on fresh tarmac.. Still this is the tire for me as the real enjoyment comes from the trackdays - and I am not into changing tires back-and-forth ( have the helmet in the trunk with rest of the gear all the time ;). I have had the tires only less than a month, so it will be Interesting to see how they will cope with rain and cold.. maybe it is good that the car is 4wd..
5 - tire reviewed on July 19, 2021