Continental Premium Contact 6

The new PremiumContact 6 replaces both the PremiumContact 5 and the SportContact 5, unifying the comfort and efficiency of the PremiumContact range, with the high performance, steering precision and grip of the SportContact.

This tire replaced the Continental Premium Contact 5 and this tire has been replaced by the Continental PremiumContact 7.

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 85%
Wear 75%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 74%

Tire review data from 111 tire reviews averaging 81% over 926,816 miles driven.

The Premium Contact 6 is ranked 36th of 146 Summer Premium Touring tires.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2023 The Best Electric Vehicle Tires VS UHP Tires - 2nd of 10 tires

  • Positive - Very short dry braking, Safe balance, good handling in the wet and in the dry. Very low drive-by and interior noise.
  • Negative - Compared to the Conti SC 7, the steering behavior is more sluggish, the tendency to understeer is more pronounced and the level of grip is somewhat lower.
  • Overall - The Kia EV6 OE version of PC6 was tested in this test. It is very quiet on the EV6 - technically no longer up to date as the PC7 is on the market.
View Full Test >>

2023 ADAC Summer Tire Test - 2nd of 50 tires

  • Positive - Very balanced, high driving safety (top mark), good on dry and wet roads (top marks), high mileage.
  • Negative - Weaknesses in efficiency.
  • Overall - Driving safety: The Continental PremiumContact 6 is impressive across the board and secured the top mark in the test for driving safety. It offers the driver good feedback on the steering wheel on dry roads, shows itself to be safe at the limit and claims the shortest braking distance in the test. This means that its performance on dry roads is clearly rated as good. But the Continental also shines with its performance on wet roads and also secured the top mark in the test here. It delivers the shortest braking distances in the test and is absolutely safe and easy to control over the wet handling course. Only when it comes to aquaplaning does it not get beyond a satisfactory rating.

    Environmental balance: In terms of the environmental balance, the PremiumContact 6 just missed out on a good rating. In the wear test, it delivers a good predicted mileage and its abrasion is also low, in terms of efficiency it just misses a good rating due to the tire weight. When it comes to noise, it also performs satisfactorily.
View Full Test >>

2022/23 Tire Reviews 17 Inch Summer Tire Test - 4th of 9 tires

  • Positive - Dynamic sporty handling with the fastest dry handling pace, short dry braking, very short wet braking distances.
  • Negative - Lower grip during wet handling, high noise, average rolling resistance, low comfort.
  • Overall - Once again the Continental PremiumContact 6 proves to be a sporty dynamic tire with excellent handling and high levels of grip in the dry. It also has good wet braking in this size, but couldn't maintain that grip for the wet handling lap. It does have high levels of noise and reduced comfort, so isn't the tire to pick if you're after a smooth quiet ride, but is certainly the tire to pick if direct steering and good handling is important to you.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tire Tests

  • 2nd: 2023 ADAC Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2023 The Best Electric Vehicle Tires VS UHP Tires (255/45 R20)
  • 2022 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tire Test (215/60 R16)
  • 1st: 2022 ViBilagare Eco vs Normal Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2022 Auto Express SUV Tire Test (235/55 R18)
  • 4th: 2022 AMS Performance Summer Tire Test (245/45 R19)
  • 4th: 2022/23 Tire Reviews 17 Inch Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2022 AutoBild Sports Cars UHP Summer Tire Test (225/45 R18)
  • 2021 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2021 ADAC Summer Tire Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 1st: 2021 Motor Summer Tire Test (225/55 R17)
  • 2nd: 2021 ADAC Summer Tire Test - 225/50 R17 (225/50 R17)
  • 2nd: 2021 Auto Zeitung Summer UHP Tire Test (225/40 R18)
  • 2nd: 2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2021 Camper Van / SUV Tire Test (235/55 R17)
  • 3rd: 2021 ViBilagare Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 4th: 2021 53 Summer Tire Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2021 All Road SUV Summer Tire Test (215/60 R17)
  • 5th: 2021 Tire Reviews UHP Summer Tire Test (225/40 R18)
  • 6th: 2021 Auto Express Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 6th: 2021 ACE / GTU Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 8th: 2021 EVO Summer Tire Test (225/40 R18)
  • 2020 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2020 ADAC 18 Inch Summer Tire Test (225/40 R18)
  • 1st: 2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tire Test (225/50 R17)
  • 1st: 2020 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test (245/45 R18)
  • 1st: 2020 Retread Summer Tire Test (195/65 R16)
  • 1st: 2020 New 17 Inch Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 1st: 2020 Tire Reviews Ultimate Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2020 AMS 18 Inch Summer Tire Test (225/45 R18)
  • 4th: 2020 Tire Market Overview Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 4th: 2020 Teknikens 17 Inch Summer Tire Test (225/50 R17)
  • 7th: 2020 Auto Express Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2019 Auto Zeitung Summer Tire Test (235/45 R18)
  • 1st: 2019 Gute Fahrt Summer 18 Inch Tire Test (225/40 R18)
  • 1st: 2019 NAF Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 1st: Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 VS Asymmetric 3 VS Continental PremiumContact 6 - In depth test (225/40 R18)
  • 2nd: 2019 SUV 4x4 Summer Tire Test (225/55 R17)
  • 2nd: 2019 Swedish Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2019 Summer and All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2019 Auto Bild Sports Car Tire Test (245/45 R18)
  • 3rd: 2019 ACE Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2019 EVO Summer Tire Test (225/40 R18)
  • 4th: 2019 17 inch Track Day Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2019 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2019 Auto Express SUV Tire Test (235/50 R18)
  • 8th: 2019 Summer 53 Tire Braking Shootout (225/45 R17)
  • 8th: 2019 Auto Express All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 10th: 2019 Auto Express Winter Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2018 Auto Express Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 1st: 2018 Auto Express All Season Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2nd: 2018 AZ Summer AND All Season Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2nd: 2018 AMS Summer UHP Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2nd: 2018 Auto Review 225/45 R17 Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 4th: 2018 Test World Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tire Test (235/45 R18)
  • 2017 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tire Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • 1st: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test (225/50 R17)
  • 1st: 2017 Summer SUV Tire Test (235/50 R18)
  • 3rd: 2017 AMS Summer UHP Tire Test (245/45 R18)
  • 3rd: 2017 EVO Summer Tire Test (225/40 R18)
  • 5th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer SUV Tire Test (235/50 R18)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 8.36kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   C A 71 8.28kgs
    205/45 R16 83W   C A 71 7.70kgs
    205/50 R16 87W   C A 71 8.35kgs
    225/50 R16 92Y   C A 71 9.28kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.67kgs
    205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.79kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL         8.20kgs
    235/60 R16 100W   C A 71 10.87kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   C A 71 9.79kgs
    205/40 R17 84Y XL   C A 72 7.67kgs
    215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 72 8.41kgs
    245/40 R17 91Y   E A 71 10.10kgs
    255/40 R17 94Y   C A 72 10.24kgs
    205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 72 8.07kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 72 8.10kgs
    215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 72 9.06kgs
    215/45 R17 87V   C A 71 9.06kgs
    215/45 R17 87Y   C A 71 9.06kgs
    225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 72 9.59kgs
    225/45 R17 91V   C A 71 9.03kgs
    225/45 R17 91W   C A 71 8.85kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.42kgs
    235/45 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.76kgs
    235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 72 9.59kgs
    235/45 R17 94W   C A 71 10.04kgs
    245/45 R17 95Y   C A 71 10.05kgs
    245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 72 10.05kgs
    205/50 R17 89V   C A 71 8.51kgs
    205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 72 8.82kgs
    215/50 R17 91Y   C A 71 8.90kgs
    215/50 R17 95Y XL   B A 72 8.97kgs
    225/50 R17 94W AR B A 71 9.97kgs
    225/50 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.46kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 72 9.50kgs
    225/50 R17 94V   C A 71 9.37kgs
    215/55 R17 94V   B A 71 9.72kgs
    225/55 R17 97W * C B 71 12.14kgs
    225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 9.90kgs
    225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 13.75kgs
    235/55 R17 103W XL   C A 72 10.30kgs
    235/55 R17 103W XL   C A 72 14.00kgs
    235/55 R17 103W XL MO-V B A 72 11.41kgs
    275/55 R17 109V   C A 72 14.52kgs
    235/60 R17 102V VOL C A 71 12.15kgs
    255/60 R17 106V   C A 72 14.09kgs
    215/65 R17 99V   C A 71 10.46kgs
    255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 10.10kgs
    205/40 R18 86W XL   B A 72 7.95kgs
    205/40 R18 86W XL   C A 72 9.22kgs
    205/40 R18 86Y XL   C A 72 8.11kgs
    215/40 R18 89Y XL   C A 72 8.79kgs
    225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 71 9.38kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 9.15kgs
    235/40 R18 91Y   C A 71 9.75kgs
    235/40 R18 91Y         13.38kgs
    235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.76kgs
    245/40 R18 93Y   C A 71 10.32kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL MO C A 72 11.45kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 72 10.17kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL MO C A 72 11.45kgs
    275/40 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 11.61kgs
    215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 72 9.10kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.77kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL MO C A 72 10.01kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL MO       10.00kgs
    235/45 R18 98W XL   B A 72 10.58kgs
    235/45 R18 94Y AO C A 71 11.32kgs
    235/45 R18 98W XL VOL C A 72 11.82kgs
    235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 72 10.07kgs
    245/45 R18 96Y   C A 71 10.56kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL MO B A 72 10.90kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.42kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL MOE C B 72 14.69kgs
    255/45 R18 99Y   C A 72 10.91kgs
    255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 73 10.80kgs
    225/50 R18 99W XL * A B 72 9.75kgs
    225/50 R18 99W XL * A B 72 9.75kgs
    225/50 R18 95W * C B 71 12.36kgs
    235/50 R18 97V   B A 71 9.79kgs
    235/50 R18 101Y XL   B A 72 10.39kgs
    245/50 R18 100Y   C A 71 11.23kgs
    215/55 R18 95H   B A 71 10.17kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 72 9.98kgs
    225/55 R18 102Y XL AO B A 71 12.10kgs
    225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 12.17kgs
    235/55 R18 100V VOL B A 71 11.98kgs
    235/55 R18 100V   B A 71 11.03kgs
    235/55 R18 100H   C A 71 10.98kgs
    235/55 R18 100W XL MO B A 71 11.45kgs
    235/55 R18 100V AO       12.32kgs
    235/55 R18 100W XL MO B A 71 11.45kgs
    255/55 R18 109Y XL   C A 73 13.11kgs
    225/60 R18 104V XL   B A 72 12.51kgs
    235/60 R18 103V   C A 71 14.32kgs
    235/60 R18 103V   C A 71 12.63kgs
    235/60 R18 107V XL   B A 72 12.31kgs
    255/60 R18 112V XL   C A 72 15.19kgs
    235/35 R19 91Y XL * B B 72 9.89kgs
    275/35 R19 100Y XL * B B 73 14.32kgs
    235/40 R19 96W XL VOL C A 72 11.20kgs
    235/40 R19 96W XL   B A 72 10.25kgs
    235/40 R19 96W XL VOL C A 72 11.52kgs
    235/40 R19 96W XL VOL C A 72 11.90kgs
    235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.00kgs
    245/40 R19 98Y XL * B B 72 13.09kgs
    245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 12.02kgs
    225/45 R19 92W * C B 71 11.17kgs
    235/45 R19 99V XL VOL C A 72 12.08kgs
    235/45 R19 99V XL VOL C A 72 11.77kgs
    245/45 R19 102Y XL AO B A 72 12.50kgs
    245/45 R19 102V XL   B A 72 14.45kgs
    275/45 R19 108Y XL NF0 B B 73 14.28kgs
    235/50 R19 103V XL   B A 72 10.39kgs
    235/50 R19 99W XL MOE C A 71 15.15kgs
    235/50 R19 103Y XL AO B A 72 11.92kgs
    235/50 R19 99W MO C A 71 11.86kgs
    235/50 R19 99V VOL B A 71 12.10kgs
    245/50 R19 101Y   C A 71 13.00kgs
    255/50 R19 107Y XL   B A 73 13.47kgs
    265/50 R19 110Y XL   C A 73 13.89kgs
    205/55 R19 97V XL   C A 72 9.70kgs
    225/55 R19 103V XL   A B 71 10.78kgs
    225/55 R19 99V   C A 71 10.87kgs
    225/55 R19 103Y XL NF0 B B 72 13.35kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL   B A 72 12.73kgs
    255/55 R19 111V XL   B A 73 14.05kgs
    255/55 R19 111H XL MO C B 72 15.14kgs
    255/55 R19 111H XL AO B A 73 14.98kgs
    265/55 R19 113Y XL AO B A 73 15.57kgs
    265/55 R19 113Y XL AO B A 73 15.58kgs
    275/55 R19 111W XL MO B B 72 16.24kgs
    235/65 R19 109W XL   C A 72 13.85kgs
    275/35 R20 102Y XL   C A 73 19.27kgs
    225/40 R20 94Y XL * B B 72 11.11kgs
    245/40 R20 99V XL POL B A 72 14.54kgs
    245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 72 13.15kgs
    275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 73 13.04kgs
    235/45 R20 100W XL   C A 72 10.72kgs
    245/45 R20 99V   C A 71 12.22kgs
    245/45 R20 103Y XL AO C A 72 13.48kgs
    255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 12.82kgs
    255/45 R20 105V XL   C A 73 14.86kgs
    275/45 R20 110Y XL   C A 73 14.50kgs
    285/45 R20 112H XL AO B A 73 17.55kgs
    295/45 R20 114W XL   C A 75 16.72kgs
    255/50 R20 109H XL AO B A 73 12.11kgs
    255/50 R20 109Y XL   C A 73 14.27kgs
    265/50 R20 111V XL   C A 73 16.18kgs
    275/50 R20 113Y XL AO C A 73 15.28kgs
    285/50 R20 116W XL   C A 75 16.88kgs
    255/55 R20 110V XL   C A 73 15.33kgs
    255/55 R20 110W XL   C A 73 20.94kgs
    255/55 R20 110Y XL   C A 73 14.89kgs
    255/55 R20 110V XL   C A 73 15.60kgs
    315/35 R21 111Y XL * B B 75 19.86kgs
    245/40 R21 100Y XL   C A 72 11.36kgs
    265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 73 13.64kgs
    275/40 R21 107Y XL   B A 73 13.45kgs
    275/40 R21 107Y XL * B B 73 16.49kgs
    285/40 R21 109H XL AO       14.44kgs
    265/45 R21 108H XL AO B A 73 15.77kgs
    285/45 R21 113Y XL * B B 73 19.91kgs
    315/45 R21 116Y MO C A 74 15.29kgs
    275/50 R21 113Y XL MO C A 73 15.35kgs
    315/30 R22 107Y XL * B B 73 16.24kgs
    315/30 R22 107Y XL * B B 73 15.60kgs
    275/35 R22 104W XL VOL A A 73 13.69kgs
    275/35 R22 104Y XL * B B 73 14.59kgs
    275/35 R22 104Y XL * B B 73 14.55kgs
    315/35 R22 111Y XL * B B 75 20.05kgs
    255/40 R22 103V XL J C A 73 14.48kgs
    255/40 R22 103V XL J C A 73 19.52kgs
    255/40 R22 103V XL J C A 73 15.15kgs
    275/40 R22 107Y XL * B B 73 17.55kgs
    325/40 R22 114Y XL MO B A 73 19.14kgs
    325/40 R22 114Y MO-S B A 73 19.52kgs
    285/45 R22 114Y XL MO C A 73 17.00kgs
    285/45 R22 114Y XL MO-S B A 73 17.95kgs
    285/45 R22 114Y XL MO B A 73 17.59kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 6

    2017-02-28 - Will the Premium Contact 6 be available in 205/55/16 size and when? Thank you!

    It's a very likely the Premium Contact 6 will be released in 205/55 R16 in 2017, however there has been no date announced by Continental yet.


    2017-10-23 - I have nearly new contisportcontact 5 on the rear of my focus mk3 Zetec S & worn ones on the front. Can I put the rear to the front & put the new conti premium contact 6 on the rear without upsetting the grip/ride etc. The car has always had Continental tires on since new, then contact 5 so I would like to keep using Continental.

    Moving your PC5s to the front and then fitting the new PC6 to the rear would be the ideal :)


    2018-03-13 - What does it mean when the wear has a higher or lower % means? Higher % means wear faster ? Or higher % means can last longer

    A higher percentage in wear means the tire lasts longer.


    2018-05-01 - Continental have designed the Premium Contact 6 for good ride comfort and sporty feel, how does it compare to Goodyear Asym.3, which also has good ride comfort and is a summer tire?

    I have not had the opportunity to test the two tires directly back to back, but looking at other tests the Premium Contact 6 often scores poorly in terms of comfort meaning it is likely the Asymmetric 3 which has the edge in comfort.


    2018-06-24 - Conti states the premium contact 6 is 15% better wear than CSC5. Review of CSC5 last no longer than 30000km. Can you verify that the premium contact 6 has less than 35000km? Wear rate is a bit concern for most conti tires from what I gather.

    Wear is very subjective and difficult to compare between different driving cars and driving style. It's best to look at the tests and reviews on this site to help you understand the real world mileage you could achieve.


    2018-07-26 - Time to replace front tires on Mazda CX6, 225x55x19. I'm pretty much settled on the Premium Contact 6. But I see there's a "standard" 99 load index, rated C rolling - A wet, and an XL version, 103 load index, A rolling - B wet. Two questions - are the C/A and A/B rating differences significant to daily handling (I've seen what happened yo your little foam friend in your budget/premium video, with only a 5% difference in residual speed) and will the increase in load index make the ride rougher over bumps and potholes? Thanks for your help, and a really useful website

    The answer is yes to both of your questions, but it will likely be a small amount in both categories. It's interesting these tires have such differing label grades, are you sure one of the tires isn't an OE marked tire which will have OE specific changes to it?


    2018-10-05 - I own a 2006 Mercedes E-Class 550 V8 sedan. I was actually pretty much settled for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 for next season. Yet I feel tempted to go for the Premium Contact 6 instead, since steering Response was praised in a couple of tests. I'm not seeking ultimate grip and fast lap times, but a sporty feel is welcome. Have you guys been able to test them back to back? Second part of the question: both tires are offered in 93 and 97 LI. The 93 is sufficient and I rarely drive the car fully packed. Would the 93 LI be the obvious choice? Thanks in advance.

    Sadly I've not yet driven the two back to back, looking at the various tests it seems the steering feedback switches depending on the size used, so make sure you're referencing a tire review in or near your size. If you're interesting in steering feel, the higher load rating might be the smarter choice.


    2019-03-10 - I am going to replace my factory tires Cont Premium Contact 5 (205/55 R16 91V) at my Golf Mk7 (122 PS).I want to choose between Cont Premium Contact 6 (205/55 R16 91V) and Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (205/55 R16 91W).Which ones would you recommend when grip and braking distance is the priority? Michelin Sport Pilot 4 for this size is available only at higher speed index (W) than the recommended by a manufacturer (V).Does the putting on stiffer tires with a higher speed index (W) can cause significant changes in handling, electronic traction control systems, comfort or grip (when the car is unloaded)? Can stiffer tires cause faster wear to the suspension or other parts of the car?

    Both tires are extremely close in performance, you won't be disappointed with either the PC6 or PS4. There's no concern fitting the W either, the differences would be negligible if at all.


    2019-07-05 - Hi I'm planing to replace the current Bridgestone tires (245/40/20) on my Cadillac XTS V-sport to PC6 but I only found this size in SSR (run-flat) spec which I don't like that much. my question: would SSR spec alter any of the characteristics / performance aspects of PC6? & 2nd: what are the alternative non-run-flat options you recommend ?

    The comfort and handling would be fairly different, so if you don't want runflats I'd avoid. This website should show you the rivals, but the usual suspects would be the Asymmetric 5 and Pilot Sport 4.


    2019-09-12 - Hello, I own a C200 Mercedes 1.8 163bhp. On the front rims the tires are 205/55/16, but on the rear are 225/50/16. As you may know the size 225/50/16 is a kind of rare for most tire brands so I ended using a set of Hankook VP3. However i have another set of wheels 205/55/16 and i was thinking to use it on my rear axle using the Continental PC6. So my question is this: Which would be better for my rear axle? A set of 225/50/16 with the Hankooks or a set 205/55/16 with the Conti PC6? Thank you in advance

    Unfortunately we cannot comment on tire size changes as there's too many factors involved, but I will say the PC6 is an excellent tire.


    2020-03-19 - The PC6 replaces also the SC5 which is a "Max Performance Summer"-tire. Maybe you should enhance the PC6 to the same category or at leat in "High Performance Summer"

    You are correct, the PremiumContact 6 replaces both the PremiumContact 5 and the SportContact 5, but only the SportContact 5 in the smaller sizes where the SportContact 6 isn't yet available.


    2020-06-24 - Some tires have FR at the end, like R18 PremiumContact 6 SUV 100V FR. Can I use R18 PremiumContact 6 100V on 4x4 SUV? Thanks

    As long as your SUV specifies load rating 100 or below, these will be a great choice for your SUV.


    2020-07-20 - In terms of cabin noise how are the Continental Premium Contact 6 ? I ask because they have a db rating of 72 compared to 70 for Bridgestone Turanza T005 and 68 for Michelin Primacy 4, At the moment this noise factor is making me question whether to buy the Continentals.

    See the latest 16" tire test, this covers noise.


    2020-09-01 - Hi Jonathan! I am struggling between two tires for my Subaru Impreza Sti 05 (225/45/17): Michelin Pilot sport 4 and Conti Premium Contact 6. In you last video you’ve mentioned that the Conti has more sporty feeling, while time on track for both tires is the same. Some test even shows that the Michelin perform better in dry handling. Given that, I am going to use the car both on the road and on track, which one do you really recommend? Dry handling and noise level are the only things that I really care about. Thanks in advance!

    If dry handling is your priority I would 100% for the PremiumContact 6!


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    225/45 R17 $126.99 - $147.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 20 tire sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Continental Premium Contact 6 Reviews

    Given 96% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    Have been driving on these tires for about a month. About 3t/km. They replaced the OE sport contact 5 on my car. Overall dry and wet grip is very good as well as the improved comfort compared to previous tires. The problem that I have with these tires is the vibration that I feel while driving at moderate speed 80km/h. They have been balanced twice but the problem is still present. I am pretty disappointed. Eventually I will be forced to buy a new set of tires and certainly not Continental. Maybe Michelin Pilot Sport 4 could solve this issue. Does anyone have similar problems. Would be glad to hear. Ps too early to comment the wear.
    Helpful 345 - tire reviewed on March 26, 2017
    Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 1,4 TSI 160hp (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 700 spirited miles
    I am using these tires on my 2015 160 hp automatic scirocco. This is the only tire that stops my car without activating ABS. Before buying this, I was looking at Michelin Pilot Sport 4. Since Michelin is a very smooth tire and our roads are really bad in Turkey, I chosed PC6. I am really happy with them. The feedback your are getting from your car is amazing. Note: Some people wrote things about the noise. I don't think that there is a problem about noise. I am using them for 2k km, I don't have any problem.
    Helpful 106 - tire reviewed on March 14, 2021
    Given 55% while driving a BMW M5 (325/30 R22) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
    Avoid these tires like the plague if you ever drive in even a little bit of snow. Dry handling very good although a little noisy. Wet breaking good. Wet handling OK. Have not hydroplaned yet but they are new. However, in the snow even a little bit. They are absolutely worthless. I’m very used to driving in the snow. I’m Canadian. These tires are just dangerous. I live in North Carolina now I would never buy these tires again.
    Helpful 38 - tire reviewed on January 15, 2023
    Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 6 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental Premium Contact 6? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Continental Premium Contact 6 >

    Latest Continental Premium Contact 6 Reviews

    Given 81% while driving a BMW 530D (235/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
    Amazing bite on dry roads. My 3 litre diesel provides a lot of torque but these tires manage it very well. Never had a problem with wet and dry braking, even under harsh braking the tires wouldn’t slip. The car really feels glued to the road. I certainly recommend these tires for vehicles with higher spec engines. Great handling feedback all around. After one year and 20k km the tires have slightly more wear than I would expect, this may be due to my driving style. However the excellent grip compensates the wear.
    Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on November 28, 2023
    Given 90% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (235/55 R19) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
    Around 8000 km driven with these summer tires since April 2023 (5 months).
    Grip is excellent and the car feels safe on the road. Wet grip is great and driving on highway (120-130 kmph) in strong rain did not show any issue. Even during aquaplaning in bigger puddles the car kept its direction and did not feel like losing control.
    The only thing I have observed is that fuel consumption increases with 0.5 to 1 liter per 100 km when driving on wet highways.
    They have around 6.5 - 7mm tread depth left on both axles and I can not still pronounce myself about the wear as I did not measure the new tires' tread depth.
    Did not have to use the brakes strongly in an emergency, but they seem efficient with normal breaking, both in dry and wet. Maybe wet breaking feedback is better and they seem to 'stick' to the road, but it's just a personal feeling.
    The label says that the noise level is 72dB, supposedly noisy tires, but my experience is that there is no noticeable noise from inside during driving on dry roads with smooth surfaces. On roads with rough surfaces there is noise, of course.
    The overall experience is a good one and I would recommend them, especially for their wet performance.
    Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on September 15, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 79% while driving a Toyota GR86 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
    Good level of feedback compared to PS4, allows confidence to push on at and around the limit and is a fun tire.
    Have also used on track in Anglesey in the pouring rain and it handled superbly, way more grip there than expected and plenty of warning when about to take liberties. Not sure it'll take too much beating in the dry in terms of wear but overall exceptionally good. Would recommend if you like good feedback in a tire. Quite noisey though!
    Helpful 11 - tire reviewed on August 20, 2023
    Given 91% while driving a Ford Focus MK2 1.6TDCI 2008 2011 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    Let me briefly summarize. Continental Premium Contact 7 wasn't out when I bought it and there was 6. If the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is expensive and overrated like me, I would definitely say get the Cpc6. I'm very happy that I didn't pay that much for Mps4 and got on with my life with Cpc6. I realized that it was a very appropriate decision by experiencing it under all conditions and weather conditions. My next tires will be 99.99% Cpc7.
    Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on July 22, 2023
    Given 79% while driving a Toyota Camry (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
    Too much wear
    Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on May 20, 2023
    Given 70% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
    In terms of road feedback, steering precision and grip on dry & wet roads, these are definitely the best touring tires I've ever driven on! When finally losing and than regaining grip, it all goes progressive and predictable.
    These elements contribute to a pleasant dynamic driving experience while feeling safe. Except for the aquaplaning behaviour, where the tires in my experience do not offer enough safety margin.
    The big upside: the PC6 can be so fun to drive... the 5 % of the time that traffic conditions and speed limits allow me to drive really sporty.
    The downside: the rest of the time, me and my passengers have to live with quite uncomfortable tires (noise and damping of road imperfections). Changing back from winter tires, it was really a huge positive difference in terms of sportiness and hugely negative in terms of comfort.
    Because of the aquaplaining resistance, I will replace the tires at around 3 mm. Then the front tires will have lasted about 27.000 km. That is correct, but not great for an expensive tire.
    Knowing what I know now, I would have offered some fun in favour of cost and comfort. I would have bought a tire like the Goodyear EGP2, that appears to offer a similar safety level for a better TCO and better environmental impact. But since the PC7 seems to have improved and to offer more or less the same driving pleasure, it still might be my next tire. We'll see.
    Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on May 16, 2023
    Given 90% while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Very good tire for average speed driving and extreme driving, not much comfort, but it has an excellent grip on wet and dry, good performance for braking, a little bit noisier than a Michelin.
    Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on March 21, 2023
    Given 86% while driving a Mercedes Benz MB GLK 220 CDI 4 matic (235/50 R19) on mostly motorways for 18,000 average miles
    Pretty nice tire, a quite balance choice between handling and comfort.
    Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on February 27, 2023
    Given 90% while driving a Honda Civic Diesel (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 22 average miles
    I live in Belgium and those tires were the standard tires fitted on my car when i bought it in 2019. Ever since, i rebought them because they were excellent in pratically every aspect of everyday driving. They have an excellent grip on dry roads even very badly damaged roads with lots of bumps and potholes, various road surface from tarmac to a mix of vaguely formed road which you can encounter in Belgium. Road temperature doesn't affect much the comportement of the tire and thus the car itself except when you drop below 0°C which you can feel a bit of adherence loss but it's very marginal. On wet roads the same behavior is felt, you got a lot of grip even on oily road. My only complain is on highway with heavy rain i've felt that the grooves have difficulties to evacuate the water which increases the risk of aquaplaning. I've never been worried about losing control of my car though. This situation only happens at 100 - 110 km/h on really badly soaked roads. Road feedback is excellent and handling is top noch. The wear is a bit of a weakpoint which depend on stand point. I did in average 30.000 to 35.000 km with every sets of tires. 30.000 for the front one since it's a traction and 35.000 for the rear. Comfort is good but they are a bit noisy 80db if i remember correctly. To conclude, I had never used continental tires, I only had Michelins in the past, but it is clear that these are also very good or even better than Michelins. Besides, I now only buy Continentals which are slightly cheaper than Michelins.
    Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on February 22, 2023
    Given 80% while driving a Audi (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
    I reviewed my first full set here, 1 May 2021. I am still very happy, I just replaced the front pair, for the 2nd time now, since fitting the initial 4 in 2021. I cross rotate the tires every 5000km, to even out the wear, and religiously, maintain tire pressures every time I fill tank. I found running the fronts @ 2.6 Bar and rears @2.5 Bar cold, is my preferred setting. Near end of life, they did get a bit squirrely in the wet, but was still stable. A bit of tramlining, and got a bit louder, but not much. Dry grip was still excellent, with some long sweeping highway interchanges still being able to be taken at ""spirited "" speeds. One person commented at the next robot (or traffic lights to the rest of the world), they liked my quattro Audi could pass them in the cloverleaf interchange but my car is a FWD :) I replaced them with the 6's again , since the 7's were not in stock at my preferred Shop we get our work fleet tires there and get a bit of discount . And I dint want to wait. These are not Sport contacts, but they very good, and last a bit longer if you drive sensible and look after them.
    Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on February 8, 2023
    Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz Viano (235/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
    Absolute great tire that is family oriented. The road noise and comfort level is nice for journeys, so much comfort in fact that I regret that I didn’t go lower in profile size. The tire lasted me very long time until one of them got puncture at end of their life around 4mm thread. Note that I’ve done several skidding and etc with these tires yet they lasted somehow around 60 000km. These tires have great handling, nothing to complain and it handles rain great. You can drive around 90mph highway on a bad rain day with confidence knowing that water puddle won’t do anything to the tires. The break distance on these tire is phenomenal, seriously like the ABS never kicks in on dry let alone barely on wet road.
    Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on December 30, 2022
    Given 87% while driving a Audi Q3 (235/50 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Previously used Falken 310 and Pirelli PZ4. Read from previous reviews the downsides are mainly increased noise and less comfort. However, in my experience after driving with these for almost half year, and I am a someone who prefers comfort and quietness rather than all out handling, I find the noise level very liveable, hardly disturbing. And the comfort is reasonably good. To be honest, I'm not quite bothered. The performance, Wow!. Amazingly good. Esp on dry. Immediately felt after changing. The car feels more upright, less prone to lean on doing the bends and very planted on the roads. Very confidence inspiring! And the road feedback is much improved surprisingly, given the Audi has very light steering. Wet performance is also very good. I don't drive crazy fast but the difference is obvious, less ABS activation esp in wet car parks. All in all, a really good tire and I'd happily recommend it. However, there's now the CPC 7, looks like I have to try that next!
    Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on December 29, 2022