Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 is a Premium Touring Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 89%
Wear 94%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 87%

Tire review data from 47 tire reviews averaging 89% over 283,018 miles driven.

The EfficientGrip Performance 2 is ranked 6th of 135 Summer Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 ADAC Summer Tire Test - 15 Inch - 1st of 16 tires

  • Positive - Excellent wear, very good, especially in the wet, good on dry roads.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 performs well on both dry and wet surfaces. However, it secures first place in the ranking with its very good wear properties. All in all, the Goodyear offers the roundest overall package in the field and is clearly highly recommended.
View Full Test >>

2022 AZ SUV Tire Test - 3rd of 10 tires

  • Overall - Third place for the Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance 2, it offered high levels of grip in the wet and dry and also has particularly low noise.
View Full Test >>

2022 Summer Tire Market Overview - 16th of 44 tires

View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2

2020-07-15 - Thanks for all your excellent and comprehensive reviews! I usually put Goodyear tires on my 2004 BMW 330Ci convertible as they almost always rate very highly in tests. It takes 205/50 R17 93Ws. I am attracted to the EfficientGrip Performance 2 as it scores very highly in all categories. The EU rating is A for wet grip and B for rolling resistance. It is described as a premium touring tire. It seems to be new though and there aren’t as many tests available for it. My normal choice would have been the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5. This is also A rated for wet grip but only E for rolling resistance. It is described as a max performance tire. Both of the above are available in the size I need and I am genuinely conflicted as to which of them would be the best choice for my BMW. It is a powerful car and heavy in convertible form. The two tires each rate highly among their category peers (touring/ max performance) but, because of the different categories, I can’t find a review/ test that rates them against each other. The EfficientGrip seems to be perfectly adequate for the weight & speed ratings required for my car. I note that the Eagle F1 is the only option in larger tire sizes that might be required for a high performance car and my feeling is that the Eagle F1 would be better suited for spirited driving but I am concerned about the E rating for rolling resistance. I would be grateful for your input in choosing between these and your advice as to the criteria for ultimately deciding between them. I would normally have picked the Eagle F1 but as these both score almost identically and the EfficientGrip scores better for rolling resistance and tire life I am swinging towards it instead but maybe the E rating of the Eagle F1 isn’t all bad and there are other factors I should consider. Let me know what you think. Thanks.

If you prefer a comfortable ride above all else, at the expense of sporty handling, then the EfficientGrip Performance 2 range is the choice. For me, I would put the Asymmetric 5 on the vehicle as I like to enjoy driving, and the real world difference between B and E in rolling resistance doesn't amount to a huge amount of extra petrol over the life of a tire!


2021-03-05 - Which one should I choose between these one and GY Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5? Im looking for size 225/45/17 for Audi A3.

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 is the better tire if you would prefer more comfort, and the Asymmetric 5 is the more sporty tire.


2020-09-05 - What is the weight for a 205/55/16 tire? Thanks

You can find the weight here


2020-10-25 - what is the country that made this model please? Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 size 205/55/16

It will depend on where you are in the world and what load and speed index you require. I suggest speaking to a local tire dealer to find out where his stock of the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 is manufactured.


2021-04-07 - I am considering Goodyear EP2 and the BFG Advantage in 205/55/16 size. Inclination goes to the goodyear, but you say that the BFG is even more comfortable. Is there really a difference in comfort between these two? I have a Seat Leon which has some horrid tires, and want to swap them to the most comfortable on the market, but still retain some decent performance.

In my test the Goodyear and BFGoodrich were different load ratings so it's not the best comparison of comfort. I would suggest fitting the EfficientGrip Performance 2 as the other benefits of the tire outweigh a very small increase in comfort for a tire with lesser abilities overall.


2022-01-11 - What is the commanded cold Tire pressure of the Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance 2 205/55R/16 91W?

The tire pressures are vehicle dependant so please check your handbook or door shut for the correct pressure.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Toyota Auris (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 1,000 easy going miles
Been looking for new set of summer tires after decided to change my wheels size too, I went from 17” wheels down to 16” and fitted new set of Goodyear efficient grip performance 2, latest model tires, they were made in week 7 of 2020 and I fitted them in week 8 of 2020, absolutely brand new and fresh rubber. So far so good, traveled around 1000 miles and tires are excellent, performance, comfort, even though they are smaller size there is no negative performance, corners great, braking in both dry and wet is good, car feels very positive to drive , noise level also good. This is the first review of these new model efficient grip performance as other reviews are for the older model, I been using the previous egp for years and now I think my tires for the next few years are exactly those especially if they last as they are advertised . Highly recommend to try them. They are made in Germany too. 👍
169 - tire reviewed on March 8, 2020   
Given 98% while driving a Audi a3 s line (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Hello I am from Cyprus and my car is Audi A3 sportback. I have before Chinese tires davandi and after intertrac tires. Very bad tires don’t buy this brands. After that I decided to buy a better tires. For the last 3 years I used them Continental contisport contact 5. It was good tires I don’t have anything bad to say about this tires. After the Continental I did my research and I decided to buy the Goodyear efficiendgrip performance 2. I have this tires 1 month now and it’s absolutely amazing tires. I don’t Know yet for the wet grip and for the wear. I pushed my car to the limits and my tires give me a very good feeling they give me confidence a safety filing. I have to say it’s very comfortable tires I don’t feel the pumps and the bad roads in Cyprus and it’s very silently too I don’t hear anything to the cabin. I will give a better review in 6 months. I am sorry for my bad English
87 - tire reviewed on August 5, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
I just bought these tires today and drove them for 50km. My previous tires were the predecessors: Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance. I drove them 53.000km on the same Golf MK5 and the thread went down to 4mm, I could still drive them for 20.000km more if I need to, but I wanted to refresh my Golf with better ride. This is just the initial impression, these tires are similar to the old ones, which were already great except for the noise, they were noisy and the comfort was just average. The new ones are less noisy and more comfortable. I will update this review over time with more info.
78 - tire reviewed on May 4, 2021   
Have you driven on the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 >

Latest Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
I got the tires for a very reasonable price and since tests and reviews were very positive I put them on when my old Conti Premium Contact 2e and 5 needed to be changed. The grip is excellent. I had no need to slam on the brakes so far but the grip in curves is hilarious, be it dry or wet. So, I guess that an emergency stop would make no issues, too. What I really appreciate is that the tires do not tend to oversteer (compared to the previous Contis where the understeering on my car which tends to understeer anyway was quite pronounced). You can really be quite confident to keep the curve well even at somewhat higher speeds. Fuel consumption is on par with the old tires and since newer tires typically have a higher consumption I am quite happy about this. There is one thing, though, that I was not happy with at all. The tires feel quite "spongy" and imprecise. The tires just react a bit late and it feels like you are somehow swimming on the road. Not saying that they are not safe in driving but you feel like you have to put some effort into steering the car properly. This is something I do not remember having experienced with other tires. I heightened the pressure over the recommended values (+3 PSI) to compensate for this and that did indeed improve the handling considerably. Let's see what this does to the wear but I do not assume massive problems here since wear should be good anyway.
0 - tire reviewed on May 24, 2022   
Given 53% while driving a Skoda (225/50 R18) on mostly country roads for 3,500 average miles
Done approximately 3500 miles from new. They were very quiet initially but now are extremely noisy, in fact the noisiest tire I have ever had. The noise varies with the road surface, on some it is so bad I almost have to shout to be heard by my passenger! I have had wheel bearings etc checked so it is the tires causing the noise. Very disappointed with them but can't afford to replace them. The grip and handling are above average but not exceptional, cornering feels slightly less positive than my previous Falken Ziex which in my opinion were more comfortable and definitely quieter even when only 3mm tread left. I will not buy Goodyear tires again!
0 - tire reviewed on May 7, 2022   
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Given 74% while driving a Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 28 average miles
after a lot of satisfaction with the EfficientGrip Performance on my old(er) car I decided to get the EfficientGrip Performance 2. first season was great, good grip in wet and dry. quiet. second season was still great in terms of grip, but the tire became louder. at the beginning of the third season, I first noticed they are much much louder, especially on highways (which represent 80% of my drives). then the wet grip started to fade, so I decided that after cca. 45.000 km on them it is time for replacement.
4 - tire reviewed on April 26, 2022   
Given 97% while driving a Suzuki SX4 1.6 LITRE PETROL (205/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
3rd set of efficient grip tires just fitted won't use anything else excellent tire, wears well, quiet, great grip, comfortable, saves on fuel cost what more would you want from a tire?.
3 - tire reviewed on April 1, 2022   
Given 93% while driving a Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16 (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
It's hard to quantify my opinions into numbers, so let me put it like this: I've owned 20 cars on many different tires, and the Efficient Grip Performance 2s are, by some margin, the best touring tires I've ever driven on. I have pushed them reasonably hard in the dry, and they showed no signs of even beginning to understeer, or oversteer in corners with the throttle down, which is important in an older rear wheel drive car like mine. Same performance in the wet. It is worth mentioning that my Mercedes 190 is over 30 years old, and while it is a good car to begin with, these tires have transformed the driving and really brought it up to date. The handling is absolutely spot-on. The steering is responsive and it makes it a joy to throw the car through bends, and it really delivers the confidence if I need to manoeuvre around a dawdler. As for comfort, feedback from the road is good, but not super super informative, which is how it should be really. I want to know the bumps are there, but not feel every line of tarmac. If you want that, buy some Pilot Sports. The car rides over bumps very well, and doesn't crash or jolt at all, which is impressive, again given the age of the car. So many older luxury cars can be ruined by the wrong choice of tire, but these fit the bill perfectly. At motorway speeds, you can hear them, but it's no worse than other tires of this bracket (Primacy 4 etc). They also track excellently and stably at high speeds. For economy-wise, they offered a bit of an improvement in fuel economy over the previous, admittedly cheap tires. One thing the EGP2 boasts about quite confidently is that it will last 20% longer than the next best tire, and they almost certainly mean the Michelin Primacy 4, the other tire I was considering, and which is well-known for being able to last 20,000+ miles. I've done 5000 miles, and the EGP2s don't even look like they've been used at all. It's possible they well last into Primacy 4 territory and beyond, I'll have to see. It was still a hard decision between the two tires, but the one thing that clinched it for the Goodyears was the price. In my size on MyTires, they were about £15 a corner cheaper than the Primacy 4 (£65 a tire, if I remember right). To be honest, unless you were looking for a high performance or track tire, I don't know why you'd fit anything else to your car.
3 - tire reviewed on February 27, 2022   
Given 87% while driving a BMW 318D (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 32,900 miles
The Goodyear efficient grip performance 2 has been on my car for just under 2 years and 32900 miles, overall i've been very happy with the tires good overall performance and wear has been exceptional! I still had 3 mm when I replaced the front tires however they had warped and the ride had suffered significantly. I don't know what caused the tires to warp but to be fair they had done 32900 miles. Without a second thought I bought the same again, fantastic tires for the price. Great job Goodyear
5 - tire reviewed on January 26, 2022   
Given 43% while driving a Ford S Max (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 3,000 easy going miles
(6K miles/year, mainly urban) Grip was excellent as to be expected based on the recommendation from the garage. However, the fronts lasted six months! Yes, we barley got six months and the tread was gone completely. The rear tires had minimal wear. The rears were swapped to the front and lasted another six months. These tires are not suited for heavy load vehicles such as the S-Max. Also be aware, both sets of tires caused a very worrying vibration over 40mph which disappeared at 60mph and above. Replaced with Hankook S1 EVO2 94w tires. The fronts lasted one year. Best tires to date have been a set of General Altimax 98W XL. These are slightly noisier tires but lasted 1.5 yrs.
1 - tire reviewed on January 20, 2022   
Given 100% while driving a Vauxhall Astra SRi (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Very good tire in the dry and wet. Feels safe in corners, no slipping on bends. The handles just as good in the wet as the dry, little road noise. After 3000 miles no sign of wear yet.
4 - tire reviewed on January 4, 2022   
Given 95% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
So far so good. It is one of the best tires I have ever placed on my Mercedes. First of all comfort and noise: since the suspension of my Mercedes is tough with the previous tires I felt and hear all the bumps on the road. Now the situation improved 101% the steer is lighter the noise doesn't exist and the wheels pass the bumps smoother than ever. Greek roads are awful and since I use the car mostly in the city I can say it is the best tires as far as comfort noise and steer. Now on the highways: fuel economy is outstanding. The tires are so smooth and helps a lot at the acceleration of the car. The only concern is when trying to drive on a close or long turn. Since I drive fast I would like to be more steady the car but for normal conditions you will not feel anything. But if you drive fast then you will feel that the softness of the tires don't help to keep the car inline. Haven't tested yet on wet. I definitely would by them again.
6 - tire reviewed on November 8, 2021   
Skoda (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,350 average miles
Had to do 3 genuine emergency stops 2 in the dry 1 with surface water and the car stopped far faster than I expected. Very pleased with braking. Handling is good and predictable, sufficient feedback to know what is going on. They are quite and my fuel consumption got 2mpg better. The one area that is truly outstanding, in fact so good I had to check my receipt for mileage when fitted. The wear is at least 50% better than the Michelin premacy 4 I had on before or the Hankook's before them. Considering the grip is very good to also get outstanding long life is truly amazing. I will definitely buy again and have recommended these tires to family and friends
5 - tire reviewed on October 28, 2021   
Given 96% while driving a Renault Clio 1.4 sports tourer (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Renault Clio 1.6 GT line sports tourer petrol 2011 . Previous tires Michelin energy saver plus which delaminated. and heavy cracking Great tires for wear Now unavailable Replaced with Goodyear Efficient Grip 2. Wider tire with Rim protection which is very nice. Good looking tire three tread.groves on this size 8.5 mm new. Total Transformation on Ride Quality Comfort and Noise. Waited 6 months for these tires to come through on sizing. 195 50 16 88V Extra Load Tires made In France Noticeably stronger stopping on dry roads and excellent responce on steering and stopping on resent heavy rain and downpours. Very stable at Motorway speeds and again very quite Vehicle feels Far more secure and responsive. Fuel consumption has improved also . Well worth the patience wating for these tires. Treadwear 360 on sidewalls . To early to assess wear but I am sure these superb tires will fullfill all promises from all the reviews on the tire tests. Anyone considering these tires just go and buy them.
1 - tire reviewed on October 25, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Ford Ecosport (205/60 R16) on for 10,000 spirited miles
This tire is the best I have worn in my car. I recommend it to everyone.
7 - tire reviewed on October 14, 2021