Hankook Ventus Prime 4

The Hankook Ventus Prime 4 is a Premium Touring Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125.

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 89%
Wear 87%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 92%

Tire review data from 29 tire reviews averaging 90% over 109,313 miles driven.

The Ventus Prime 4 is ranked 4th of 146 Summer Premium Touring tires.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2023 Tire Reviews Best Summer Tires - 7th of 13 tires

  • Positive - Short wet braking distances, very good dry handling, short dry braking, ok rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Low aquaplaning resistance, high external noise.
  • Overall - The new Hankook Ventus Prime 4 is very strong in the dry, has good wet handling and braking and reasonable rolling resistance, however it struggled in the deeper water of the aquaplaning tests and had a high external noise.

View Full Test >>

2023 Tire Reviews Winter Tire Test - 13th of 13 tires

View Full Test >>

2023 Motor Summer Tire Test - 7th of 8 tires

  • Overall - This tire does not lag behind in quality from premium segment products. It is the cheapest tire in the set, and it provides a decent level of safety. It only noticeably lags behind in aquaplaning tests, but it is not dangerous in these conditions. It receives a low score for rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tire Tests

  • 5th: 2023 Best SUV Tires Tested (225/65 R17)
  • 7th: 2023 Motor Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 7th: 2023 Tire Reviews Best Summer Tires (205/55 R16)
  • 9th: 2023 ADAC Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 13th: 2023 Tire Reviews Winter Tire Test (225/45 R18)
  • 2022 Tire Tests

  • 2nd: 2022 Summer Tire Market Overview (215/55 R17)
  • 2nd: 2022 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test (215/55 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Hankook Ventus Prime 4

    Questions and Answers for the Hankook Ventus Prime 4

    2022-04-18 - Hi, does the Hankook Ventus Prime 4 in size 225/55 R17 have a Rim Fringe Protection? Thanks

    Unfortunately we don't haev details of the rim protection in each size yet, we recommended you speak to Hankook directly who should be able to advise.


    2022-07-04 - I chose these tires just a second ago in 205/60/r16. But I am wondering: Is there difference in performance between the 2 variants in this size (92v vs 96H)? I found the ventus prime 3 which seems to have a difference in performance between those 2 types.

    The EU label is the best option to see basic performance stats, it might be they're the same tire or very similar.


    2024-02-18 - The tire size specification for my vehicle is 215/60 r16 95s. Would there be any adversity if I put 215/60 R16 99V XL hankook ventus prime 4s on it?

    No, you can always go up in load rating. There might be a potential small loss in comfort compared to a 95 tire, and an improvement in handling, however these differences are very small.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Hankook Ventus Prime 4 Reviews

    Given 100% while driving a Ford Ecosport (205/60 R16) on for 10,000 spirited miles
    The new Hankook Ventus Prime 4 is perfect tires in Greek roads.
    Helpful 228 - tire reviewed on April 2, 2022
    Given 99% while driving a Honda Civic (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Hankook Ventus Prime 4 is one of the best summer tires. My car loves theses tires because it brings out its qualities. The Prime 4 is quiet and performs exemplary in dry and wet conditions. After 8000 km I can say I would buy it again.
    Helpful 93 - tire reviewed on March 31, 2022
    Given 99% while driving a Peugeot 206 1.6 16v NFX (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
    I recently 'jump' from incredible Conti sport Contact 2 to these phenomenal tires.In my dimension (205/45 R16W XL) these tires provides phenomenal grip.They don't need warming up and my car refuses to understeer no matter what i do.They are almost 20km/h above Sport contact 2 on the limit with better steering feeling,less fuel consumption in high speeds and of course less tirewear.I don't know what magical they did at Hankook development department centre but these tires are the best i ever driven(i am car mechanic so i've tested many cars with many tire brands).In Greek roads this tire suits very well with no much compromise in comfort for the feedback and cornering stability provides.Try it and you will be suprised in many ways ;)
    Helpful 82 - tire reviewed on April 24, 2022
    Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus Prime 4 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus Prime 4? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Hankook Ventus Prime 4 >

    Latest Hankook Ventus Prime 4 Reviews

    Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK 320 CDI (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 easy going miles
    A very good mid range tire , soo impressed fitted a set to the wifes car. car feels planted and quiet , my last set was the goodyear asy 6 which was dredfull.
    Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on January 15, 2024
    Given 80% while driving a (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
    Previously was using Goodyear Triplemax 2 at the front and Ventus Prime 3 at the rear. Changed all 4 to Ventus Prime 4 just a few days ago and here is the difference -

    Positive points
    1. Less understeer
    2. Felt the car glides smoother on the road.

    Negative points
    1. Slightly less steering feel.

    I will update more as I drive.
    Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on November 15, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 63% while driving a Citroën C5 (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,500 average miles
    When new: grip on dry and wet was very good. Always had a good feedback. Low noise and fuel consumption normal. But the tire came new with 6.5 mm. Ok, they were cheap. Now they have 2-3 mm and they really got bad now. Especially in the rain. I would not buy them again. To high wear.
    Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on November 15, 2023
    Given 98% while driving a Mazda 2 1.5 sport (195/55 R16) on mostly town for 500 average miles
    I replaced my OEM Toyo Proxes R55a in185/60/16 to 195/55/16 and I'm very happy cause they have excellent grip in all conditions, brakes, fuel consumption, cornering, and good comfort as well....it's a perfect choice...so amazing in good price!! I would buy it again!!!
    Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on October 8, 2023
    Given 89% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (215/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 12,500 spirited miles
    Hi,


    I had left a review a few months back and want to share my updated mid term review.

    1) the tires still hold/handle like they did when new
    2) they are still smoother then any competitor I have used
    3) though smoother then competition they are somewhat stiffer when compared to brand new state, I did replace them with a new set to check and I can confirm the new set is about %20 smoother but please dont be fooled from this comment they definately are smoother then any competition period.

    4) the only area I would give them 6-7 stars is wear, they arent your typical 60-70k km tires like bridgestone or pirelli with hard compound,they are a much smoother compound and obviously wear faster, I would say you would probably get 30000km's out of a pair without signs of wear and by 40000km they would definatley need replacement, not bad but not great either however again compaired to the price and what it has to offer this is actually a very good result.
    Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on September 18, 2023
    Given 93% while driving a Audi (205/55 R16) on for 0 miles
    Amazing dry grip
    Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on August 31, 2023
    Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz C200 Kompressor Sedan Auto (W203) (225/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 600 average miles
    i made only 600km and i found very good tire
    Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on July 17, 2023
    Given 89% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 2,000 average miles
    Good Tire, excellent grip but hard and low comfort.
    Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on July 11, 2023
    Given 90% while driving a Citroën C6 (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
    Had a mixed set of brands I'd not heard of before on the car when I bought it, not sure why some people will have nice cars and ruin it by putting noisy Ditchfinders on but anyway.

    I'd done extensive research before committing to buy tires as I normally do and I had narrowed it down to either these Hankooks or some Goodyear EF1 AS6s which are also an extremely good tire. The Hankooks ended up winning in the end based on price, as there was really very little to choose from between the two when it came to test results, characteristics and reviews. Four of the Hankooks were just over £500 for my size.

    There was significant improvement on noise immediately with the new tires which was expected but very reassuring too. I put these tires through their paces when I got them and it was dry, and conveniently followed a period of rain which allowed some testing in the wet too. Dry handling is exceptional, I think you would probably stand more chance of turning the car on to its roof doing a Scandinavian flick than losing grip or understeering with these, they really do stick.

    Wet handling is also very good, with a considerable improvement over my old tires which had a tendency to aquaplane at the first sign of any standing water. Cornering can be completed with confidence with no understeer, even in a front heavy FWD car like mine.

    As mentioned previously, cannot fault the noise level with these, and personally I think they are quieter than the Goodyears that I was also considering. Would definitely recommend.
    Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on May 6, 2023
    Given 86% while driving a Audi A4 Allroad (245/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
    I usually buy premium branded sports tires, but as I drive a 4WD diesel estate car, I felt it was time to try a good touring tire. I have now done a couple of thousand miles on them, mostly on motorways and a combination of solo driving and towing a caravan. I have been very impressed with wet grip and comfort. The car is noticeably more quiet than on its previous sports-oriented tires. Can't really speak to their ultimate dry grip as I don't normally attempt to set a sector time on my way to work, but I expect them to be very good. Too early to comment on wear at the moment.
    Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on April 7, 2023
    Given 89% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (215/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,000 spirited miles
    I'am using these tires on a 2022 Civic Sedan 1.5 Turbo 182 unit, having used the OEM Bridgestone,Michelin Primacy +4 (+ version) I would like to say the following:

    1) far and I mean it far more smoother then the bridgestone and in fact even smoother than the Michelin which aids to a better ride comfort.
    2) noticeably lower tire roar when compared to the bridgestone and unexpectedly even better at this when compared to the Michelin as well
    3) Dry braking,handling cant find any weaknesses does it all very well
    4) Wet handling is behind the Michelin's but not to a point to be worried about as is aquaplaning behaviour
    5) wear, too early for me to judge but will perhaps return to this site to comment on that again.
    6) some sites noted this tire to have slightly higher road resistance when compared to the Michelins but I purposely noted many details (how long it drove at a certain speed in the same area and how long it took for it to come to a full stop as well as average fuel consumption etc) and noticed not even a bit of a difference (please note Michelins score extremely high in this field so that's a good thing :) )

    overall definitely happy and will definitely buy this tire again.
    Helpful 33 - tire reviewed on March 24, 2023
    Given 93% while driving a BMW F30 320D (205/60 R16) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    Very good tires, low noise and very good grip especially when you are late and need to get somewhere faster
    Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on December 30, 2022