Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun

The new ZE310 tire is the successor of the ZIEX ZE914 ECORUN, winner of numerous awards from testing organisations. It offers outstanding traction and grip on both wet and dry roads coupled with low wear.

This tire replaced the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 81%
Wear 80%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 77%

Tire review data from 72 tire reviews averaging 81% over 325,014 miles driven.

The ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun is ranked 38th of 136 Summer Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 AZ SUV Tire Test - 8th of 10 tires

  • Overall - The ZE-310 has safe handling however it has high rolling resistance and average comfort.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test - 5th of 22 tires

  • Positive - High aquaplaning resistance, stable wet handling, short braking distances, dynamic dry handling, low noise.
  • Negative - Very high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2022 Summer Tire Market Overview - 5th of 44 tires

View Full Test >>

2022 Tire Tests

  • 5th: 2022 Summer Tire Market Overview (215/55 R17)
  • 5th: 2022 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test (215/55 R17)
  • 8th: 2022 AZ SUV Tire Test (215/55 R17)
  • 2021 Tire Tests

  • 6th: 2021 All Road SUV Summer Tire Test (215/60 R17)
  • 8th: 2021 53 Summer Tire Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 9th: 2021 Sport Auto Summer Tire Test (195/55 R16)
  • 15th: 2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tire Tests

  • 3rd: 2020 Tire Reviews Ultimate Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2020 New 17 Inch Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 9th: 2020 Auto Express Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tire Tests

  • 5th: 2019 ACE Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 7th: 2019 Swedish Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2019 AMS Summer SUV Tire Test (215/55 R17)
  • 10th: 2019 ADAC Summer Tire Test - 185/65 R15 (185/65 R15)
  • 2018 Tire Tests

  • 3rd: 2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tire Test (195/65 R15)
  • 6th: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tire Overview (195/65 R15)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun

    Questions and Answers for the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun

    2018-12-31 - I’m looking to replace a set of bridgestones which came with my Skoda Fabia Monte Carlo from new. It seems to be an awkward tire size at 215/40/17. I was hoping for all seasons, but there’s only a choice of 2. So I decided on summer tires. I’ve sort of narrowed it down to the Falken ZIEX ZE310 and the Hankook Ventus Prime 3. Which would you recommend ?

    Both are excellent tires, getting great reviews. The Hankook might have the edge in wear, but overall they're very similar tires.


    2019-08-05 - Is the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun suitable for a SUV 4x4 which is only used on road? My car is a 2014 ford Kuga 2.0 titanium powershift. 235 x 55 R17 tires

    As long as you meet the load index required by your SUV, there's no reason not to use the ZE310.


    2019-09-18 - I have a Golf 7 1.4TSi 122BHP with 205/55 X16 German OEM Dunlop Blue Response tires. These are internally noisy and have very soft sidewalls leading to sloppy handling. I am proposing to chage them to other 205/55 X16V tires. Falken ZE310, Hankook Prime 3 K125 and Bridgestone T005 have been suggested as possible replacements. The Falkens have a very low external noise performance but I not convinced that this is a reliable guide to the internal noise. I had a very bad expeiuence with German OEM Dunlop tires on a new BMW 316i in the past and I wonder if the Blue Response tires are of the same ilk? i.e. poor OEM tires. Internal noise & wet grip are the most important parameters for the replacements and I am willing to trade off ride comfort with slightly stiffer sidewalls. Any comments you have would be much appreciated. Many thanks for the most helpful web site.

    Unfortunately all modern tires have soft sidewalls as it reduces rolling resistance. You are correct in thinking there isn't necessarily a correlation between external and internal noise, but there is often a link. I have no personal experience with the ZE310 but I have seen tests note it's a good handling tire for its class, so maybe worth a try! One thing worth remembering is that stiffer sidewalls will transmit more vibration through to the chassis increasing internal noise.


    2020-09-17 - I have a VW Passat 59 plate and need new tires. Should I go for the Falken Ziex ZE310 Ecorun or the Falken Azenis FK510? Both look like good mid range tires and recommended by your website.

    If your priority is comfort, the ZE310, if it's sporty driving, the FK510 is the correct tire.


    2020-11-07 - The group test of the 205/55 X 16 tires was really good. I have a Golf 7 1.4 with this size of tire and am contemplating a change to Falken. VW fitted 205/55 X16 91H tires to this car in late 2014. Could you please tell me why 94V Falken ZIEX ZE310 tires were used in the test? Did Falken recommend them or were they the only ones available in this size? The 94V version is available locally at a very good price. Thanks BJ

    This was the recommended size by Falken, but the 91H version has done well in other tests too.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun Reviews

    Given 78% while driving a Hyundai i30 CRDi (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
    New silica and new model tire. I have bought them a few days ago.
    Very silent. Most silent tires I had the last 20 years.
    Nice handling.

    Cheaper than most other brands.
    (30euro cheaper than dunlop and 50 euro cheaper than michelin)

    Euro label - C A A 67db for 195 65 15
    Helpful 326 - tire reviewed on March 9, 2018
    Given 70% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 2.0 TDI 140bhp (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
    Just had set fitted and hate them. Horribly noisy. Never had such noisy tires. Shall not buy again and wish that I could get them replaced.
    Lots of feedback for Falken is from petrol heads running them on track days. This is not what the average road user wants. I had run Kumho for years and they are a good value, safe, durable, quiet and comfortable tire. Do not buy Falken.
    Helpful 83 - tire reviewed on August 24, 2018
    Given 97% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
    Dry grip is excellent, wet grip also. Much better than my old set of Fulda Ecocontrol HP. What I observed from the beginning is the highest level of comfort that they provide. Lowest rolling noise I've ever heard. On bumpy roads, they provide a level of comfort very close to a winter tire. In the future, I am very curious about wear. I'll write another review sometimes in the future.
    Helpful 60 - tire reviewed on April 13, 2018
    Have you driven on the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun >

    Latest Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun Reviews

    Given 77% while driving a Honda Civic (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    These have good grip on both dry and wet tarmac. The car feels planted, almost pressed down on the road. Steering and handling are slightly vague but solid overall. Road feedback is good without being uncomfortable. They're extremely silent, made my Civic feel like a luxury car. However, the high rolling resistance is a dealbreaker and I'm getting rid of them. Fuel consumption is similar to studded tires and there's a choking feel when accelerating, the engine is clearly working harder than normal.
    Helpful 0 - tire reviewed on June 28, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Vauxhall zafira 1.6 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
    Used to have Avon Zv5 on the fronts, those were moved to the rear and these fitted to front end. Instantly noticed much less road noise at 50-70mph. Enough to turn the speakers down. Other than that on the comfort front I couldn't feel much else different but I do have higher profile tires than most would. On the grip front from what I can tell on a old zafira on a couple of b roads the grip was much better and turn in was sharper which i expected given reviews and the tires they were replacing. Haven't had a chance to try in the wet yet. Definitely would recommend over cheap eco tires especially since they're only a couple quid more. Was able to get them mail order for £40 each and don't feel like I'm missing anything vs more expensive tires. Get them for a daily or if you've got a car that you don't feel the need to put Primacy 4's or EfficientGrip 2 tires on, plus you won't have to spend almost double doing so.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on June 14, 2022
    Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
    Given 85% while driving a Citroën C5 Tourer (225/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    Bought them because they were the most cost effective choice on paper. Driven for almost 5000km/3000miles and now i can say the following. Comfort: Comparing with the Michelin Primacy 3 and Kleber Krisalp HP3 winter tires they seem a bit on the rough side. You can definitely feel every pothole and crack on the road. It feels like seating on a park bench with plastic wheels at times, but they seem quiet. More than the Michelin or the Kleber ones. Highway travel is peace and quiet, city and county rough but quiet. Handling and breaking: Wet and dry very good. Firm lane changes, cornering like on rails and breaking is very positive as described in every test that i could find. All in all better than the mentioned ones on dry roads, but on wet roads close to the Kleber ones when new. Fuel consumption: Awful. From an average of 7 L/100km on winter tires to 10 L/100km is a big jump that was not expected. I had the car inspected by my mechanic and did a wheel alignment, but the high fuel consumption is persistent.
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on June 10, 2022
    Given 77% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.9 Tdi (205/45 R16) on for 4,000 miles
    Really good value very good grip dry and wet and decent feedback
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on May 17, 2022
    Given 81% while driving a Subaru Legacy (225/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 16,000 average miles
    I have a Subaru Legacy 2004 2.0 estate and before the Falken I had Hankook Ventus prime 3 and they were a gem. They lasted 75k km and they still had decent handling a grip but very less thread. I changed to the Falken because I love them and I had also very good experience in another car. What the Hankook lucked the Falken had it. And that was stiff shoulders. The Falken is a much stiffer tire with better feeling in the corners but a lot less comfortable especially in the bumps. You expect from a new tire to be more comfortable than a 75.000km one. But hell no. It was way more bumpy. Anyway, Do I prefer them from the Hankook? The tire life will determine it. If I get 50k easily then It is worth it. But now with the new Hankook ventus prime 4... I am not sure. Lets see the reviews.
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2022
    Given 60% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (195/60 R16) on mostly town for 1,000 easy going miles
    İt supposed to be quite tire but it is very noisy , I have a 2021 Kia ceed changed tires for lower consumption 205 55 16 original dimension to 195 60 16 original tires were kinergy Eco 2 k435 Hankook , I will use them back on my car , so much road noise coming from those Falken tires...
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on April 30, 2022
    Given 37% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Fan of Falken in other sizes and cars but this size on CR-V absolute rubbish, from Tires on the Drive, lasted 10,000 miles (the original Goodyear have done 60k and still have 5mm tread! on the rear whilst on the front lasted 40k miles). Would not mind if they had any grip but spin at every junction poor for Falken
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on April 10, 2022
    Given 82% while driving a Opel Astra J 1.7 CDTI (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
    Replace pramcy 3, very quit, nice feedback, very good price made in turky.
    Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on March 10, 2022
    Given 85% while driving a Ford c max (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 500 average miles
    Comfortable, quiet good wet grip. Not had them long enough to access wear.
    Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on November 2, 2021
    Given 96% while driving a SEAT Ibiza TSi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    I reviewed these when I first got them now 500+ miles later I am even more pleased. I have to say straight away that they get scored down for rolling resistance - yet I have had my own best MPG results on some recent journeys so really not an issue. Its the important safety areas that impress me - Wet & Dry handling, nice steering and goes where you point it, good braking and traction in the wet - happy with tire wear this far. On this car I started with the Conti PC5 these were fine but a little more bumpy and just OK in the wet. VG in the dry. Then I tried the Dunlop Sp Sport Blue response which had a nicer ride and a bit better handling in the wet - about the same in the dry - traction was occasionally an issue in the wet. The Falkens exceed both of these tires all round and are noticably cheaper
    Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on October 14, 2021
    Given 69% while driving a Lexus IS300 SportCross (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
    I bought these after using Primacy 3 for three years (separate review). I found these to have great grip and braking, average feedback and handling, a hard ride, quite a lot of cabin noise and high rolling resistance. They have, conversely, worn very well and were cheap but in the end I left them on the rear axle and removed them from the front one as they were simply unpleasant after a year. Will try something else next.
    Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on September 20, 2021
    Given 100% while driving a Fiat Bravo (225/45 R17) on track for 10,000 spirited miles
    Fantastic
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on September 3, 2021