Michelin Alpin 6

The Michelin Alpin 6 is a Premium Touring Winter tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Michelin Alpin 5.

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 83%
Wear 85%
Comfort 90%
Buy again 88%
Snow Grip 84%
Ice Grip 79%

Tire review data from 27 tire reviews averaging 86% over 130,110 miles driven.

The Alpin 6 is ranked 16th of 63 Winter Premium Touring tires.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Latest Tire Test Results

2023 ADAC 16 Inch Tire Test - 2nd of 16 tires

  • Overall - The MICHELIN ALPIN 6 performs well on dry roads, offering precise steering and sufficient safety margins, even at the limit. Its braking from 100 km/h is slightly above average. On wet surfaces, the tire excels in braking distance measurements but receives only satisfactory ratings in lateral aquaplaning. Handling is nearly rated as good; for better precision, the tire needs to better integrate longitudinal and lateral forces. On winter roads, the ALPIN 6 scores well, with slightly below-average braking and above-average traction measurements. Its handling and ice braking are rated as good. Environmentally, the ALPIN 6 stands out for its above-average wear resistance and low fuel consumption, attributed to its low weight and low rolling resistance. Noise levels are average.
View Full Test >>

2023 ADAC 17 inch Winter Tire Test - 2nd of 15 tires

  • Positive - Precise and safe properties at the limit on dry roads, overall still safe properties on wet roads, very high predicted mileage, low weight, low fuel consumption.
  • Negative - Slight weaknesses in aquaplaning transverse behavior, slight weaknesses in wet handling.
  • Overall - The MICHELIN ALPIN 6 tire performs well on dry roads, offering good steering feedback and safety reserves. It has an average braking distance but still secures a good rating. In wet conditions, it excels in braking but falls short in transverse aquaplaning and handling, requiring better force distribution for a higher rating. On winter roads, it performs slightly below average in braking but above average in traction, with good handling and ice braking. Environmentally, it stands out for its above-average predicted mileage, low wear, and impressive efficiency due to low tire weight and fuel consumption. Overall, it has a strong environmental performance.
View Full Test >>

2022/23 Tire Reviews Winter Tire Test - 7th of 9 tires

  • Positive - Shortest dry braking, good aquaplaning resistance, safe snow handling balance.
  • Negative - Poor snow braking, reduced grip in the wet grip tests, high rolling resistance.
  • Overall - The Michelin Alpin 6 finished seventh overall. As usual, it was a very good tire in the dry with the shortest dry braking, however its wet and snow performance didn't live up to the usual Michelin brand expectations and it had one of the highest rolling resistances on test. A test to forget for the French manufacturer, especially after the Michelin CrossClimate 2 won the Tire Reviews all season test in the same size and same conditions.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/60 R15 88H   C B 69 7.62kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C B 69 7.96kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C B 69 7.62kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   C B 69 8.16kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C B 69 8.24kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C B 69 8.03kgs
205/45 R16 87H XL   E B 69 7.69kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 69 8.02kgs
215/45 R16 90H XL   E B 69 8.02kgs
185/50 R16 81H   E B 69 7.69kgs
205/50 R16 87H   E B 69 8.30kgs
225/50 R16 96H XL   C B 69 9.08kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   E B 69 8.30kgs
195/55 R16 91T XL   E B 69 8.30kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C B 69 8.30kgs
205/55 R16 91T   C B 69 8.12kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 69 8.27kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   C B 69 8.28kgs
215/55 R16 93H   C B 69 9.08kgs
225/55 R16 99H XL   C B 69 9.42kgs
195/60 R16 89H   C B 69 8.68kgs
195/60 R16 89T   C B 69 8.68kgs
205/60 R16 92T   C B 69 8.68kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C B 69 8.57kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   C B 69 8.68kgs
215/60 R16 99T XL   C B 69 9.42kgs
225/60 R16 102V XL   C B 69 9.58kgs
225/60 R16 102H XL   C B 69 9.58kgs
215/65 R16 98H   C B 69 9.58kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   E B 69 8.12kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E B 69 8.12kgs
205/45 R17 88H XL   E B 69 8.12kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL   C B 69 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   C B 69 8.91kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 69 8.91kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C B 69 9.40kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 69 9.40kgs
215/50 R17 95H XL   C B 69 9.40kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   C B 69 9.88kgs
225/50 R17 94H   E B 69 9.88kgs
205/55 R17 95H XL   C B 69 9.29kgs
215/55 R17 98V XL   C B 69 9.29kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C B 69 9.29kgs
215/55 R17 94H   C B 69 9.29kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL   C B 69 10.18kgs
225/55 R17 97H   C B 69 10.18kgs
215/60 R17 100H XL   C B 69 10.18kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C B 69 10.18kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Alpin 6

2021-03-31 - I was wondering, what is the thread depth of a new Alpin 6 tire? I drive a 195/65 r15.

The starting tread depth of the Alpin 6 is 8.1mm


2022-09-29 - What is the meaning MI in the full product name

The full product name is "Michelin Alpin 6". If you are seeing an extra MI I would guess it's added by a retailer and is short for Michelin.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Alpin 6 Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Renault Megane Sports Tourer (195/65 R15) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
I've had until now kleber krisalp hp2, Avon Ice touring, Pirelli Cinturato. The Alpin 6 have a good grip on wet and dry, they are silent to. I'm waiting the snow to test it. 1st impresion, verry good.
Helpful 201 - tire reviewed on November 11, 2018
Given 64% while driving a Renault (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Good on dry, on wet, quite good on snow acceleration, but... oh man.. this tire is SO BAD IN BRAKING ON THE SHOW. I just can't comprehend how is this tire considered one of the best WINTER tire. Very poor in breaking on the snow and pretty bad in changing directions on the snow. I have Continental Wintercontact 860 on the second car. Difference is unbelievable. Continental is MUCH better on the snow(we had first day of show today so I took both for the ride on the same road). Continental is a little bit worse on the dry and it's quite a lot louder than Michelin.

Michelin Alpin 6 is not a winter tire! It's a all weather tire(it has almost the same tread as Michelin Crossclimate 2), nothing more. I will never buy them again. They are very dangerous on the snow. I'm not joking, I'm not trolling. I'm trying to save your life. Buy something else.
Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on December 6, 2023
Given 88% while driving a BMW 320d touring (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Very quiet und stable Tire. Für BMW perfect.
Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on January 31, 2023
Have you driven on the Michelin Alpin 6 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Alpin 6? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Michelin Alpin 6 >

Latest Michelin Alpin 6 Reviews

Given 88% while driving a Opel Astra K 1.4T 150 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Had this for 3 years on a front wheel drive astra 1.4 150hp, live in the mountains and it was a fantastic winter tire. The grip driving uphill in snow was excellent, even when you got 5 - 8cm of snow on the road it would not let me down. Snow braking was good. Wet handling was also excellent, felt very safe and stable in the wet and aquaplaning was also good. Dry handling was the weaker side with slightly less grip on bends, but wouldn't let this be too much of an issue on a winter tire. This is the king of wear, after about 15K miles the tire barely dropped any depth in the groove, which is great because the performance also did not drop. Noise levels are higher as on most winter tires and the comfort level is ok.
Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on March 5, 2023
Given 88% while driving a Ford Focus MK2 1.6TDCI 2008 2011 (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
I am very pleased about the Michelin tires Alpin 6. Although there was not a lot of snow this year, they performed very well on the snowy days. I bought them at https://www.autobanden-prijsvechter.nl/ and payed a very good price. So i`m very pleased with these tires.
Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on January 26, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 74% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
BFGoodrich G-force Winter 2 is a better tire than this, either way they wouldn't disappoint. They are really good just on cold/wet weather on the motorway. Snow is not the best side for this tires. Its just not worth the money to spend, better of with the BFGoodrich.
Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on November 14, 2022
Given 87% while driving a Mercedes Benz 2010 W204 C180 Kompressor (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
the michelin alpin are making less noise than yokohama advan 701 summer tire, very good grip and comfort
Helpful 28 - tire reviewed on October 24, 2022
Given 84% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.0 TSI 115 (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I have fitted the Alpin 6 to my SEAT Ibiza 1.0 Tsi Manual built in 2018. My ratings: Dry: It's pretty good, no problems, especially when it's colder- warmer temperatures are also okay, but I wouldn't use it above 15°C because of a potential higher wear Wet Grip: This is where the tire really got going - phenomenal wet grip- even on these 195mm setup, which normally isn't that good in rainy conditions. Comfort: The tire has great comfort - more than the Bridgestone Turanza Summer or the previously use Pirelli CInturato Winter tires. Wear: I can't say anything on that - I haven't driven enough, but I think they will last a few years (at least with my mileage) Snow and Ice Grip: The Ibiza is a FWD car - which definetly is bad in snow and on ice - but the tire is really good - i haven't had any problems so far - it feels like you are connected to the ground under the snow. I can't say anything about ice but I think it will perform quite good for a non Ice tire. Verdict: So, the tire is really great - it definetly feels better in Dry and Wet conditions in comparison to the Pirelli Cinturato Winter. In Snow however I think that the Pirelli was as good - but the Alpin is the better allrounder. So, if you're looking for an allround winter tire with great performance on any surface (except Ice) go for the Alpin 6.
Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on February 8, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (215/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Great tire, I have it 3 months and I am very satisfied. I used before contiTS850, Mischelin is better in all conditions.
Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on January 11, 2022
Given 87% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Have these on my O3 1.8 TSI. They are very comfortable tires with decent feedback (sure, a bit of a downgrade from a summer tire, but still good enough). They have excellent wet and dry cold traction, but they lack when it comes to snow, ice and mushy roads. In my country there are still sometimes some heavy snowfalls and these are definitely worse than my previous Conti TS860 w/ VW Bora. They are not bad, I don't get stuck in the snow and I don't go like a sleigh in corners, but the back end does go sideways quite easily if I push it and the wheels are spinning all day long if I push the pedal a lil' bit more than granny style. If these were mid range tires, there would be awesome tires for that price, but given I paid a premium for them, they aren't worth the premium in terms of snow/ice performance. I have to insist on this, that only for snow and ice they are average, but this doesn't mean they won't do the job, but they won't feel like "yeah, these are strong tires in snow". Anyways, I think the premium does have a merit when it comes to quality, wear and feedback that is constant during the many years of use.
Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on December 29, 2021
Given 80% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Good grip in all situations but feels a bit under inflated comparing to the previous Michelin Alpine 5.
Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on December 29, 2021
Given 68% while driving a Renault megane 4 hb (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Tire is soft, drive is quite sluggish. on highway little correction are needed. On other car i have Continental WinterContact and those are much better on dry roads
Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on November 5, 2021
Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 307 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Very good dry grip, awesome on wet surface and one of The best on the snow surface!
Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on April 24, 2021
Given 82% while driving a Toyota Corolla (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Tires are designed for mild winters. Excellent performance on dry asphalt, highway, high speeds, road serpentine. High comfort level, low noise level. During operation in snowy weather - average qualities.
Helpful 32 - tire reviewed on January 18, 2021
Given 97% while driving a SEAT Leon ST TDI FR 184 (225/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Ok, I'm impressed with this tire! In snow/ice the grip is insane, the best winter tire I have tried for ages, so much grip and so much control. In this car, I went from Yokohama's winter tires, and the noise I measured in the car on the highway (120 km/t) was 73 dB, on a dry road, approximately 20 degrees Celsius with the old Yokohama. But with this new Michelin Alpin 6 (A6) I measured the noise to be 67-68 dB on the same road, at the same speed and same temperature! Incredible upgrade, it felt like a got a whole new car. I will say that I normally drive a bit more aggressively than others, and I love high speed. So I push the car and tires in the corners, and I have never lost it because of a bad grip. I feel totally comfortable with this tire, and it has never let me down. The only downside with this tire is when I'm holding still, and then accelerate and doing a left or a right turn on a wet road, and I press a little too much on the gas pedal, then my tires will spin a bit. But I guess that most tires will do that under wet conditions, so no deal-breaker for me here! after 5000 miles, I can't see any wear, so that's nice! I drive my tires in Denmark if that give any pieces of information for others :) For me, this is a very nice tire, and I will give it my highest recommendation, and I will buy it again.
Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on January 8, 2021