Bridgestone Blizzak LM005

The Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 is a Premium Touring Winter tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 EVO.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 77%
Wear 70%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 73%
Snow Grip 82%
Ice Grip 71%

Tire review data from 44 tire reviews averaging 79% over 201,781 miles driven.

The Blizzak LM005 is ranked 38th of 50 Winter Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Winter Tire Market Overview - 1st of 49 tires

View Full Test >>

2021 Tire Reviews Winter Tire Test - 4th of 10 tires

  • Positive - By far the best performance in wet braking and wet handling, good dry handling, excellent curved aquaplaning resistance, lowest rolling resistance on test.
  • Negative - Long dry braking, poor grip in the snow with very low snow traction.
  • Overall - The Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 is again the wet specialist, dominating the wet testing. This performance comes at the expense of dry and snow performance, making this an unbalanced tire more suited to a winter climate that sees a lot of rain.
View Full Test >>

2021 ADAC 17 Inch Winter Tire Test - 5th of 18 tires

  • Positive - Good driving behavior on dry roads, best on wet roads.
  • Negative - Weaknesses in the drivability on snow, devaluation due to high wear.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
165/65 R14 79T   C A 70 6.68kgs
185/65 R14 86T   C A 70 6.68kgs
175/70 R14 84T   C A 70 6.36kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL   C A 70 7.56kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   C A 70 7.81kgs
185/55 R15 82T   C A 70 7.26kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 8.75kgs
195/60 R15 88H   C A 71 8.54kgs
195/60 R15 88T   C A 71 8.54kgs
165/65 R15 81T   C A 70 7.29kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 7.67kgs
205/65 R15 94T   C A 71 9.91kgs
205/70 R15 96T   C A 71 11.56kgs
195/50 R16 88H XL   C A 71 9.36kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 8.94kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   C A 71 8.94kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.40kgs
205/55 R16 91H         9.61kgs
205/55 R16 91T   C A 71 8.27kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 71 8.03kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL   C A 71 10.85kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C A 71 10.85kgs
195/60 R16 89H   C A 71 8.42kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C A 71 9.71kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   C A 71 8.41kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   C A 71 9.60kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL   C A 71 9.87kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C A 71 9.28kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   C A 71 9.28kgs
245/45 R17 99V XL   C A 72 12.15kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 71 8.49kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL AO C A 71 9.26kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 71 8.72kgs
215/55 R17 98H XL   C A 71 11.59kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL   B A 71 13.40kgs
205/60 R17 93H   C A 71 8.84kgs
215/60 R17 100H XL   B A 71 9.22kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL   B A 71 13.03kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C A 71 13.03kgs
225/60 R17 103V XL   C A 71 13.45kgs
255/60 R17 110H XL   C A 73 16.36kgs
225/65 R17 102H   C A 71 14.65kgs
225/65 R17 106H XL   C A 71 14.65kgs
235/65 R17 108H XL   B A 72 15.42kgs
245/65 R17 111H XL   B A 72 15.50kgs
255/65 R17 114H XL   B A 73 16.54kgs
225/40 R18 92V XL         9.74kgs
245/40 R18 97W XL   C A 72 9.89kgs
245/40 R18 97V XL   C A 72 12.35kgs
215/45 R18 93V XL   C A 71 10.82kgs
235/45 R18 98V XL   C A 72 10.82kgs
245/45 R18 100V XL   C A 72 11.18kgs
215/50 R18 92V   C A 71 9.83kgs
225/50 R18 99H XL   B A 72 11.53kgs
245/50 R18 104V XL         13.18kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 71 11.10kgs
255/55 R18 109V XL   B A 73 16.25kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL   C A 72 14.67kgs
225/40 R19 93W XL   C A 72 11.41kgs
275/40 R19 105W XL   C A 73 14.72kgs
275/45 R19 108V XL   C A 73 17.35kgs
235/50 R19 103V XL   C A 72 13.07kgs
255/50 R19 107V XL   B A 73 17.86kgs
205/55 R19 97H XL         10.14kgs
225/55 R19 99V         14.07kgs
255/55 R19 111H XL AO C A 73 15.19kgs
265/55 R19 109V   B A 73 17.56kgs
315/35 R20 110V XL   C A 73 15.32kgs
255/45 R20 105V XL   C A 73 12.34kgs
265/45 R20 108V XL   C A 73 13.27kgs
255/50 R20 109V XL   B A 73 13.54kgs
275/50 R20 113V XL   B A 73 15.49kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   C A 71 9.91kgs
255/55 R20 110V XL   B A 73 14.22kgs
295/35 R21 107V XL   C A 73 15.31kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 Reviews

Given 88% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 177bhp quattro (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
My initial inspection is as following. The tires perform great. Just drove 1000km on them. A combination of 50/50 motorway and regional roads. So far the tires kept up to their promise. In the dry they perform as expected. Very stable and calm even the feel on the steering wheel is nice considering it is a winter tire. I had the chance to drive them through a rainstorm on the motorway and regional roads and they performed better than I thought they would. Again very stable and calm behaviour. But I have not driven them to the limit as it is not safe to do that on the public roads. So far I like them. I have not driven them on the snow also as there isnt any yet in my country. Will update as soon as I drive them on the snow. My only complaint would be that the tires are a bit noisy. Not as noisy as my Michelin PS4 summer tires. As far as the tread consumption it is too early to tell how they wear. Overall I think that they are tires worth buying. Will keep you updated on the progress.
85 - tire reviewed on November 14, 2019   
Given 88% while driving a Opel Astra G (195/60 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
i have lm005 for 3000 miles now and it s great, i m waiting the snow to see how it performs
35 - tire reviewed on November 28, 2019   
Volvo (235/50 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I replaced Conti CrossContact LX Sport, which I used as all season tires, with Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (as winter only). The LM005 stand up to my expectations in most areas. Nice and predictable, with good subjective breaking power in the dry, even for a heavy car. They really excell in the wet, being surefooted and nimble, really good. The handling and road feedback (both dry and wet) is fine, bit better in the wet, but it is up to my car which is rather a comfy cruiser, not a handling champ. After apporx. 2k miles driven it is to early to tell how they wear out but I didn't notice anything worryig so far. Comfort and noise levels (subjective) are OK, certainly better than Conti CrossContact. Can't tell for the snow and ice as I didn't experienced any this winter yet. It is worth mentioning that I dont't notice any fuel consumption increase compared to the Conti CrossContact. Compared to Conti WinterContact TS860 (225/45 R17 V) fitted to my other car, the LM005 is on par in the dry, better in the wet, same level of comfort. Would recommend to a friend.
19 - tire reviewed on December 8, 2019   
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 >

Latest Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 Reviews

Given 64% while driving a SEAT Leon 2.0 TFSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Good for the first 2 seasons ~ 15 000 miles. Don't really feel good when the temperatures get over 15C⁰ and the chunks start tear especially on the highway.
0 - tire reviewed on May 11, 2022   
Given 83% while driving a BMW 330i M Sport Coupe (245/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
Brilliant Winter tire for mild climate (German winter), mindblowing performance in the wet. Aquaplaning only occurs far beyond legal speeds and confidence levels are huge. No experience in the snow so far. Dry grip and handling are also very pleasant for a winter tire. They do have a lot of initial lateral flex, which needs some getting used to compared to UUHP summer tires. Effectively this means there is a little bit of nonlinear feel around the straight line. But it’s easy to get used to and even on fast driven Autobahn (tested up to 240kmh in fast corners) it doesn’t demand significantly more attention than a summer tire. Genuinely love it, on top it is also 30% less expensive than a Michelin.
0 - tire reviewed on May 11, 2022   
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Dacia (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Looking forward to driving on these but found them generally pretty average across the board. Then at the end of the first season and around 7k found 2 of them right up to the wear markers, not even sure they'll make another season! Absolutely stunned at how poorly a so called premium tire could wear, my last set did 5 seasons with ease. So... won't be buying these guys again.
1 - tire reviewed on April 26, 2022   
SEAT Ibiza 1.0 TSI 115 (205/60 R16) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
Just bought LM005 since I need a winter tire with good performance in the wet. Mileage not important. Reading through some negative reviews here I would like to point out that there are TWO different tires sold as LM005. One has got A score in wet and C for rolling resistance, the other one B in wet and A for rolling resistance pleasing the car manufacturers hunting for another gram of CO2 to save. Should you wish to buy an LM005 for performance reasons make sure your tire dealer orders the right version.
1 - tire reviewed on April 21, 2022   
Given 71% while driving a Citroën C3 Aircross SUV (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
I got the Blizzak LM005 in October 2019 and comparing to the set I had on the car delivered, Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 same size, I was in love with the Bridgestiones. They felt so much more refined and responsive! But having all the emotions calmed down after almost 3 years, all I can say is the Blizzak LM005 is a good tire for warm-ish winter climate, where the majority of time you'll have more wet days with some wet snow, than deeper snow. Snow, especially if it has any depth, can be tricky for the Blizzaks - on a motorway I felt rather fine going straight to overtake, but turns didn't really feel stable. So is the snow traction and breaking at low, city speeds - maybe it's just me having an auto transmission - but I drove a slightly bigger car (2015 Mokka) on winter Seperits - the diffrence was just unbelievable - favorable for Semperits... What makes my Citroen even move on a few inches of snow is traction control, solely - without ASR its just spinning in place... So can be snow breaking. I have never expirienced so much ABS kicking in in any other car in winter before. Fortunatelly, winters in Poland are not that snowy anymore. If you care about noise levels - watch out - these are rather audible - esp. say 80kmh and more. Apart from snow - it's a good tire that's gonna make you feel safe on the road. You can definately feel when it's being at its limit and it will not surprise you then - but avoid snow and ice on them. I'm not sure if I were to buy them again - they were a novelty in 2019/20 winter season and the price within the size was rather attractive compared to other manufacturers - and Bridgestone is a well-known brand, so I chose them. Before I'd usually go with Michelins.
0 - tire reviewed on April 9, 2022   
Given 80% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (215/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Comfortable ride , good winter grip, wear ok , tread depth after 9000 km is about 6,5 mm
0 - tire reviewed on March 30, 2022   
Given 46% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 4,000 spirited miles
Buying that tire was a huge mistake. It replaced Dunlop Winter Sport 5, which after 2 seasons were moved to another RAV4 and behaved better than Bridgestone after a month. These tires are as bad as skidding at 40km/h when cornering on nearly any type of road surface. Dry breaking is a nightmare, no signs of class A wet breaking, wear is very evident after less than 5000 km (city driving) on the ODO and on the second year the rubber itself is as stiff as plastic. I had similar experience in the past with LM-80 and am now convinced I shall not go for Bridgestone again.
2 - tire reviewed on March 28, 2022   
Given 73% while driving a Opel Ampera e (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
For the second season I have these tires on my Opel Ampera-e, but they are LOUD! There is a constant whining or buzzing noise which is very similar to a worn wheel bearing, however with the Michelin Premacy 3 summer tires that came standard with my car I do not have this and are quiet. This is unacceptable for a premium tire that scored well in many tire tests, which is why I bought it in the first place. An EV is quieter than an ICE car and then a loud tire noise is extra noticeable, but again, I don't have this with the Michelin Premacy 3. Except for the noise, it is a great tire with excellent grip on both dry and wet surfaces. Since we haven't really had a winter here in the Netherlands with snow and ice, I can't say much about grip in the snow, but this tire is not comfortable at all and would certainly not buy again.
0 - tire reviewed on March 26, 2022   
Given 66% while driving a Toyota Corolla E140 (195/60 R15) on mostly motorways for 7 easy going miles
I live in Athens-Greece and i wear these winter tires only from December to March. I make several travels to Ski Centers and to mountainous snowy villages. This is the second year i use these tires, and i've made about 15.000 km. In comparison with my previous tires (Goodyear ultragrip 8), i think they are worse in snowy roads. But something strange happened just two days ago. While driving on wet, narrow road with several turns, the car slipped 3 times with slow speed, about 45-50 km/h. I was scared and worried about how safe is to continue using these tires.
1 - tire reviewed on March 8, 2022   
Given 74% while driving a Toyota 2006 Avalon (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 easy going miles
Good on dry and wet, fine on fresh snow, bad on ice
0 - tire reviewed on January 21, 2022   
Given 78% while driving a Lexus IS350 (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Impossible to drive on snow and ice
12 - tire reviewed on January 2, 2022   
Given 81% while driving a BMW 520d Tourer (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 600 easy going miles
Was in doubt if I should get these tires, always been driving with Nokian or Conti. Have Nokian on our SUV so wanted something that is good on wet roads as there’s mostly slush and wet after all the salting in the nordics. The tires are really good on wet and surprisingly good on snow, I was a bit in doubt after the first snow here, but after a trip in 5-10cm with fresh snow I didn’t feel the tires let me down as long as you keep speeds reasonable. Braking and accelerating on snow feels safe and comfortable, tires feel safe in corners and in general.
0 - tire reviewed on December 8, 2021