Subaru Outback Tires

On this page you will find the best real world tire reviews from owners of the Subaru Outback.

Do you Drive a Subaru Outback? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire! After all, who knows what the best tire for a Outback better than the owners?

Tire Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Kormoran Suv Summer (10) 95% 88% 89% 91% 88% 94%
Radar RW 5 (1) 80% 90% 90% 90% 0% 80%
BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA (18) 89% 86% 83% 79% 89% 85%
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (35) 85% 87% 80% 77% 85% 84%
Michelin X Ice Snow (10) 81% 83% 77% 73% 86% 86%
Michelin Pilot Alpin (4) 88% 88% 75% 85% 85% 78%
Michelin Primacy 4 Plus (22) 88% 87% 79% 71% 86% 89%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Nokian WR G4 SUV (6) 93% 90% 75% 88% 67% 84%
Vredestein Quatrac Pro (34) 89% 90% 86% 79% 80% 91%
GT Radial Champiro 228 (5) 84% 82% 84% 86% 70% 88%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV (18) 91% 89% 81% 82% 77% 74%
Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3 Plus (5) 83% 87% 77% 80% 77% 73%
Nankang SP7 (2) 75% 80% 75% 85% 70% 90%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (89) 85% 81% 81% 82% 78% 76%
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (67) 83% 79% 78% 76% 77% 83%
Michelin CrossClimate SUV (20) 86% 86% 76% 74% 75% 80%
Nokian One (14) 88% 78% 78% 75% 83% 78%
Marangoni Meteo HP (14) 79% 88% 74% 68% 72% 82%
Yokohama Geolander AT G015 (26) 83% 80% 76% 76% 78% 86%
Nokian WR G4 (8) 81% 85% 73% 78% 76% 74%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 SUV (5) 72% 68% 70% 70% 76% 78%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (42) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63%
GT Radial Champiro HPY (24) 88% 80% 73% 74% 58% 76%
Yokohama Geolandar G900 (14) 88% 82% 75% 69% 72% 70%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (74) 79% 86% 76% 73% 63% 75%
General Altimax RT43 (9) 81% 78% 71% 71% 79% 72%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM30 (9) 77% 72% 65% 56% 76% 69%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (124) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Maxxis PRO R1 (15) 81% 66% 69% 64% 64% 71%
Nokian eNTYRE (24) 78% 62% 68% 55% 78% 67%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (78) 78% 65% 67% 61% 69% 61%
Goform GH18 (2) 70% 55% 65% 60% 80% 80%
Kleber Krisalp HP2 (15) 76% 63% 65% 61% 85% 71%
BFGoodrich Traction TA (4) 75% 68% 60% 63% 80% 37%
Yokohama Geolandar G98A (15) 74% 67% 68% 68% 49% 61%
Bridgestone Turanza QUIETTRACK (6) 78% 73% 63% 73% 36% 75%
Accelera Alpha (130) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 56%

Subaru Outback Tire Review Highlights

Writing about the Yokohama Geolander AT G015 given 73% (225-60-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2500 easy going miles
I have these on a 2013 Subaru Outback 2.0 diesel. By and large I have been really pleased with them, they are really good in the wet.
Today they showed their weakness and that was in the snow.
We have had about 5 inch of wet snow, they are not to bad on the fresh stuff but
driving back in my own tracks they were all over the place, not very confidence giving.
Won't be getting another set.
tire reviewed on 2024-02-09 08:31:52
Writing about the Yokohama Geolander AT G015 given 100% (225-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
I am amazed at the performance of these all season tires especially in the snow and ice. Stopping distance isn’t quite as good as snow or studded tires but with these on in the winter I have better traction and steering than previous all winter tires I have run these a full winter and have had better handling and traction than winter tires. I will definitely get these tires again.
tire reviewed on 2023-10-27 18:15:35
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 Plus given 78% (225-60-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
My tires are Primacy+ SUV which I believe is equivalent to Primacy 4+ in Australia for this size of tire. It's early days, but initial impressions are very positive. Grip in all conditions seems to be excellent, as does braking performance. I have not specifically rated wear (too soon) or handling (not tried anything beyond routine suburban and highway driving). The Subaru Outback is fairly softly sprung and the tire certainly complements that, giving an excellent ride. At first I thought the steering seemed a bit light and slightly flighty but then I discovered that the fitting centre had managed to get a 6lb difference between the pressures across the axle (in fact every one of the tires was at a different pressure, none of which were per the placard!). Having set the pressures correctly all round the slight lightness compared with the OE Bridgestone Dueler Sports remained, but the flightiness was gone. The steering is very linear and progressive and the car tracks true even in cross-winds. Note these are touring, not sports, tires and their characteristics (especially with a 60-profile side wall) reflect that. If you want precision, get Pilot Sports or Pirelli PZ4s which is what I have on my other cars. Initially the tires were not as quiet as I had expected, but they seem to be improving as they wear in a little. In any event they are a definite improvement on the Duelers in that respect. I have an impression that the rolling resistance is better, leading to slightly improved fuel consumption, which will be tested when we do our first long trip on these tires in a few weeks' time. Overall, I'm very positive, as I would have expected given previous/current experience on different cars with Michelin's Primacy ST, Primacy 3, Primacy 4 and Pilot Sport 2 & 4.
tire reviewed on 2023-09-20 07:30:01
Writing about the Nokian WR G4 given 91% (225-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18 average miles
These tires are excellent for year round driving in Toronto, Canada. They are well suited to all poor road surfaces and potholes that we have to live with. They are quiet and durable. I have had them on my Subaru Outback 3.6r since MARCH 2019. No complaints and and I will buy them again.
tire reviewed on 2023-07-12 03:24:33
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza QUIETTRACK given 53% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 80000 average miles
Bought at Costco due to the rebate and 80,000 mile warranty. I did rotations every 5-7k and these only lasted 33,000 miles before they were all down to the wear bars with even wear. They were on a 2008 Subaru Outback. Would not recommend.
tire reviewed on 2023-04-26 15:56:06
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac Pro given 55% (225-60-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8500 easy going miles
UPDATE. On November 12, 2021 I posted my initial review of this tire (Quatrac Pro 225/60/18) mounted on Subaru Outback. Here is an update after only 14k kms of easy driving. The tires are not "holding up.)." Shortly after initial installation I noticed vibrations. I attempted to balance them twice and rotated them. No results. Finally, the third time last Fall, an expert with a Hunter Road Force machine had a try. Three out of 4 tires showed defect... exerting way excessive Nm force. (110, 120, and 140) FYI. 90 or below is normal, I was told. I wrote to Vredestein customer service here in Germany about it but they brushed me off twice. Talk to the dealer answer. So, I decided to keep them over the winter and now I will discard them off and look for something else. Good that I have kept OEM wheels. (Vredestein were installed on "fancy" Flow Form Enkei rims which were also checked for the possible contribution to the problem but came clean) Again, the car was driven regularly although sparingly and never off road to cause damage to the tires. So, in this case not a quality tire and not a quality customer service. However, must report that in late 202 (after being impressed with the tire) 1 I have also installed same Qatar Pro tires on my Subaru XV (225/55/18 this time) and after 20k kms absolutely no balancing/quality problems. Wear is good and perfect.ly normal. Go figure, as they say.
tire reviewed on 2023-04-06 13:53:31
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun given 90% (225-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 700 average miles
Got these recently, put them to the test on a road trip with different grades of tarmac in Kenya. Great handling, wet braking is a bit shaky but tires stick to the road overall especially factoring in the price. Let's see how they fare on.
tire reviewed on 2023-03-30 18:30:57
Writing about the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport given 61% (225-60-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
These tires were OE fitment on the 2018 Subaru Outback Premium 2.5 which we bought new. They're about to be replaced, being down to around 2.6 mm after c. 52,000 km. They've been fine, just one puncture (repairable), have been rotated regularly and have worn very evenly and are still in excellent condition (no sidewall deterioration, cracking or uneven tread wear issues) so construction quality seems good. I'm always very careful to keep pressures checked and adjusted for different load conditions and summer temperatures. They're fairly soft riding, so I rate ride comfort as good, but they are quite noisy on common Australian country road coarse chip tarmac (though quiet on smooth bitumen). I wouldn't rate feedback as high, but that is partly down to the car, and they're an SUV tire after all. They've never lost traction on the road even in the wet, but the Subaru is no powerhouse so that's hardly surprising. They are pretty good on gravel roads and tracks given they are really a road tire but predictably don't have much grip if it's at all muddy. Overall I'd say they were perfectly suited to the car. The big surprise is the cost of replacement, where they are coming up significantly more expensive than options such as Michelin Pilot Sport SUV or Primacy SUV+, the Pirelli Scorpion Verde or Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance, so I'm likely to chose one of those options instead.
tire reviewed on 2023-03-24 09:47:28
Writing about the Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 SUV given 90% (225-65-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 50 spirited miles
Northern Ontario, Canada 2015 Subaru Outback Good winter tires. No issues. Had 2 sets. Lasted 4 seasons each, about 10,000km in winter per year. Daily driver. Rough roads, snow, ice. No issues. Replaced with new set of Nokian R5 this year.
tire reviewed on 2022-11-29 18:13:04
Writing about the Michelin X Ice Snow given 87% (225-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Last year I replaced a set of Michelin x-ice xi2 with the x-ice snow. I have found the x-ice snows have more grip in the snow and ice and particularly more lateral grip than the xi2. While still a fairly quiet and comfortable winter tire, the x-ice snows are less so than the xi2. However, I am happy to make that trade in a winter tire. So far wear has been excellent.
tire reviewed on 2022-10-11 04:48:20
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3 Plus given 73% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2022-10-03 16:08:28
Writing about the General Altimax RT43 given 77% (225-60-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 average miles
I had these on a 2011 Outback. They were exception on dry and wet pavement. Impossible to lose control in heavy PNW rain covered freeways. They were decent on snow for a touring all season. I once had them in a freak snowstorm and got through 2-3 feet of snow. They were essentially useless on ice.
tire reviewed on 2022-10-03 14:17:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire