Nexen N Blue HD+

The Nexen N Blue HD Plus is a High Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 79%
Wear 81%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 86%

Tire review data from 49 tire reviews averaging 83% over 257,300 miles driven.

The N Blue HD+ is ranked 20th of 190 Summer High Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tire Test - 20th of 20 tires

  • Positive - STable safe handling and short braking in the dry, low price.
  • Negative - Slow steering and understeer in the wet, average wear.
  • Overall - Acceptable.
View Full Test >>

2021 53 Summer Tire Braking Test - 15th of 53 tires

View Full Test >>

2019 AMS Summer SUV Tire Test - 10th of 11 tires

  • Positive - Acceptable handling.
  • Negative - Relatively wea dry and wet grip.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nexen N Blue HD Plus

Questions and Answers for the Nexen N Blue HD Plus

2016-12-26 - I have just purchased the Nexen N Blue HD 255/55/R17 for my VW Tiguan to replace the worn out Purelli. I was told to keep both the front and back infalted at 32. However when I exceed a certain speed, say 60mph, they tend to become rather noisy, giving that 'unsafe' feeling. Moreover they give the impression that they are a bit 'flat'. I inflated them up to 36, both front and back, and the noise, though still audible, decreased a lot. Any idea whether it is ok to have them inflated at 36, and whether they can give a better performance if inflated a bit more, say 38 front and 40 back?

While it's always advisable to start with the manufacturer's recommended pressures, there is scope to move tire pressures safely a few PSI in either direction depending on personal preference. That said, moving the tires, especially the rear up to 40 psi will reduce overall grip at the rear and likely give you uneven, centre wear, which could result in noise as the tires wear down, so any extreme adjustments you make need to be carefully considered and monitored.


2017-05-15 - I am thinking of buying these Nexen tires for my 1 yr old Suzuki Vitara (new model) would you recommend buying XL or 'reinforced' types as opposed to the normal tires. There is no indication in the car's handbook as to which to buy. I live in the north of England where it rains about half of the year. Also, is there a tire more suitable without spending a lot more as it is just used as a family runabout? Thought about Uniroyal as they seem to score higher for wet roads but wear out quite a lot faster and their dry performance is somewhat questionable. PS the car is the petrol model which has firmer suspension than the diesel (supported by Suzuki)

As long as you meet the minimum load rating recommended by the manufacturer whether you order XL or not is down to preference, and whether to plan to carry heavy loads. In theory, the XL version of the Nexen N Blue HD+ will have a slightly better steering response while the non-XL version will have slightly better comfort.


2018-11-30 - Hi I’ve just had these in 16” fitted to my combo van are these upto the job. As I asked the dealer for r16c’s as what was currently on the van.

As long as they meet the size and load rating specified by the vehicle they are legal to fit, usually C (cargo) tires have a higher load rating and stronger sidewalls so you might not have the right tires fitted, it's worth double checking.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Nexen N Blue HD Plus Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Audi 80 2.0E Sport (195/60 R14) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Absolutely brilliant. Very good price, amazing grip wet and dry. Fitted to an old Audi which is very front heavy and is prone to understeer, never had any understeer or lack of grip since fitting and the car gets driven hard.
300 - tire reviewed on June 15, 2016   
Given 67% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto 1.3Multijet 75bhp (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
After 15000miles (20000km) tires have changed in their attitude. First 10000miles were very good both wet & dry, but after that mark went through, even though the thread is still looking good - they started getting slips on wet surface. Please note - this isn't a drastic change, but a change for worse either way... They are good in dry&wet conditions - just that they were obviously better when new. Most tires I've had so far were very good till hitting the 2-3mm thread, and here we are talking about a 5-6mm front 6-7mm rear thread. I hope they will not change any more - will do a comment after ending the tires in two years time...

Comfort - quite bad. Its not that they are very noisy, but You feel everything on the road - and no, the tires are not overpumped. Also with nominal pressure for my car - the tires look as if they are "flat". Easy to hit the rim when driving through kerbs. The sides of the tires are very slim, probably through weight reduction You get better economy, but the tire doesn't give enough protection for the rim, and makes the tire go "flat" with nominal pressure.

Given the price the tire isnt all that bad, wear could be a bit better, but then again dry&wet handling would suffer. The best thing about these tires is that they are just made for highway driving - this is the first tire for my car that helped with keeping a straight line when driving - the thread somehow makes the car keep driving straight instrad of going left-right with every wind gust on the highway.
48 - tire reviewed on September 23, 2016   
Given 44% while driving a Volkswagen polo 2018 1.0 tsi 115 hp (215/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 7,000 average miles
This is my second review of the tires, at 11000 km, on a new 2018 Polo tsi 115 hp fitted from factory. Overall a poor choice by VW to fit these tires to the car. Dry braking at speed, better not to speed as braking is scary,comfort has been lost although running on the lowest permissible by VW pressure, handling not so good, easily loosing grip, road noise increased considerably. Typical budget tire and nothing more, I was expecting something much better by VW especially as first fitment to a brand new model!.Looking for Michelins ps4 or Conti PC 6 to replace them already.
34 - tire reviewed on November 7, 2018   
Have you driven on the Nexen N Blue HD Plus tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Nexen N Blue HD Plus? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Nexen N Blue HD Plus >

Latest Nexen N Blue HD Plus Reviews

Fiat (195/55 R15) on mostly town for 1,000 miles
I bought the tires on the recommendation of my vulcanizer. I must mention that I reviewed the reviews after that and they helped me a lot to choose a set of these tires for my car. My first impression is that the tires are quiet, comfortable and very affordable. I drive mostly city and intercity driving. The tires are new and I drove them mostly in the dry, once they were driven in the rain and I have to say I am happy with how they behave. When I do more kilometers I will be able to say something more about tires. So far I am very satisfied and would buy them again.
1 - tire reviewed on September 7, 2021   
Ford (215/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Tire's done 8000 miles, all 4 cracked on the tread allover. MOT failure apparently. Still got 5mm of tread left out of the 8mm when New. Going back to the dealer next week to be changed for Avon tires. Do Not buy .
5 - tire reviewed on August 10, 2021   
Want the best all season tire? Click here!
Given 97% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.4 Sportrider (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 miles
Awesome summer tires. Bought a new pair, mounted on rear axle. These are now made in Czech Republic but same are like those I had from S.Korea. These are not V-indexed, only H, and labeled B+C but 66dB, perfectly quiet tires!! Top comfort for harder trimmed car like my Ibiza. ...Ran with them about 1000 km, for now are excellent. I will buy it again and again,good price, good tire!
3 - tire reviewed on August 8, 2021   
Suzuki Splash SZ4 (185/60 R15) on mostly town for 17,000 average miles
After 3 years and 25.000km, the braking distance has deteriorated and the handling in slippery tarmac needs attention.They haven’t become dangerous, not at all. But It seems that they are a little less durable than the average norm. I read on this site that the Chech made version of this Tire isn’t as good. Since the ones available were Chech made, I finally opted for the Kleber Dynaxer 4.
4 - tire reviewed on May 3, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a Renault Scenic (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Great tire, buy again definitely!
2 - tire reviewed on March 17, 2021   
Given 83% while driving a Volvo 855 126 hp (195/65 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
I had two sets of Michelin energy before and Nexen since 2015 and still going on. For a smooth ride they are excellent, quiet and comfortable and i never get in trouble in the wet, braking is always save. Maybe best buy for the money, if you are not a sporty driver.
13 - tire reviewed on November 24, 2020   
Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I had these tires fitted on my Golf based on the recommendation of the tire fitter. They were fantastic! gripped well. Incredibly progressive, fairly quiet but not the most comfortable tire. I forgave the comfort as it isn't a proper eco tire with the super soft sidewalls. Due to mindless vandalism, I had to have one of my tires replaced one week after getting a full set (sigh)... on closer inspection, I noticed that the new tire was date coded early in this year and instead came from Czech Republic (the other 3 were from Korea)... After some research and a phone call to the tire fitter, I was told not to worry, as the rubber quality was the same... Oh how wrong was I! The newer tire wore faster than the other 3, and also suffered from tread 'chunking' and 4 nasty bubbles that occurred after a 120 mile trip back to S Wales. I thought nothing of it and once the tire wore close to the limit, My trusted tire fitter immediately suggested I change them as I was on borrowed time... After changing my tires he showed me how thin those bubbles actually were on the top of the tread... I have used Nexen's for a while and, as such disappointed in the new, low quality control of these tires.... I replaced with Nankang's and hope that they will prove a better replacement... Buy these new 'Czech' made tires at your risk...
7 - tire reviewed on October 26, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer 1.5 (205/60 R16) on for 0 average miles
I have these tires since 2018, and i used them app 15000km. I do not have any compliant for driving in wet or dry. Are not noizy, with a good confort. I do not see any differences between them and premium tires.
I highly recommend it.
10 - tire reviewed on November 14, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 SW 1.9 JTD (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Location of use: Croatia / Climate: warm summers with shower rains, rainy autumns with cold mornings and nights, warm springs with shower rains, rainy and snowy winters
After more than six months with this tires, all I can say about them are good words. Dry grip is just perfect, I had some really close breaking and Nexen hadn't let me down. Wet grip is also very good, I didn't experienced any aquaplaning at all. It endure even heavy rains very good. You can enter fast in turns on the road and handling is very reliable. The tires are soft with soft sides, so you can feel some squirm in fast and strong turns. If you don't like that feeling, I suggest XL version of this tire with stronger sides. But, at the end, they manage to control it easy. Because of its softness, I presume that they wear in some higher rate. So far, so good. They are very quiet.
All in all, definitely I would buy again this tire or some other from Nexen. Also I recommend this tires to everyone because they are excellent budget tires with some high performance premium characteristics.
Compare: better than Sava tires (Goodyear, Slovenia/Poland) in same price range, better than Tigar and Taurus (Michellin, Serbia/Hungary).
26 - tire reviewed on October 20, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 306 (185/65 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
Great wet braking!! Silent, and in 30000kms the tires are in +/- 50%. Very good quality with low price!
9 - tire reviewed on October 18, 2019   
Given 96% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.4 Sportrider (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 13,000 miles
Satisfied.Very good tires. I've bought first pair in 2016 and second in 2017. I saw test review in Auto Bild 2015 summer tire test. They took 4th place and were better than some majors...Bought it because Seat Ibiza is a harder trimmed car and with these soft tires I compensate bumpy cracked roads here in Serbia and Hungary. Very soft,good handling,quiet....we were 4 times in Greece during a hot summer and they made about 25.000 km. First tires that were fitted on Ibiza were Dunlop Sport 2000 and were very bad and so hard and they were losing they diameter after 10.000km....and only I can say that Nexens are awesome. Good in braking,good on highway and local way and good in curves,only problem is a bit higher wear because they are soft but for me quite ok...My recommendations. I'll buy them again. Mid range,not premium but are very close.
8 - tire reviewed on July 17, 2019   
Given 51% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.4 Sportrider (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 6,300 average miles
They are decent tires on both dry and wet, but if they’re pushed a little bit to hard the tires will lose grip.
One of the downsizes of these tires, is tire wear.. after 10.000 km I found some nasty ruptures ( 3-4 cm long) along the rolling surface and also the tires started wobbling .
18 - tire reviewed on June 29, 2019