Accelera Alpha

The Accelera Alpha is a High Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 65%
Wet Grip 44%
Road Feedback 53%
Handling 49%
Wear 69%
Comfort 57%
Buy again 49%

Tire review data from 128 tire reviews averaging 55% over 1,078,616 miles driven.

The Alpha is ranked 155th of 190 Summer High Performance tires.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tire tests for the Accelera Alpha

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R14 80V   F E 74 7.00kgs
195/45 R15 78V   F E 74 6.50kgs
195/50 R15 82V   F E 74 7.50kgs
195/55 R15 89V   C E 74 7.00kgs
185/60 R15 88V   F E 74 7.50kgs
195/60 R15 91V   C E 74 7.50kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C E 74 8.50kgs
225/60 R15 96V   C E 74 10.00kgs
185/65 R15 88H   F C 74 7.50kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C E 74 8.00kgs
215/65 R15 100H   C C 74 12.00kgs
205/45 R16 87W   F E 74 8.00kgs
215/45 R16 90W   C C 74 8.50kgs
195/50 R16 84V   F E 74 8.00kgs
205/50 R16 91W   C E 74 8.50kgs
225/50 R16 96W   C E 74 10.00kgs
195/55 R16 91V   C E 74 8.00kgs
205/55 R16 94W   C E 74 8.50kgs
215/55 R16 97W   C E 74 9.50kgs
225/55 R16 99W   C E 74 9.00kgs
205/60 R16 96V   C E 74 9.50kgs
215/60 R16 99V   C E 74 10.00kgs
225/60 R16 102W   C E 74 11.00kgs
215/65 R16 102V   C E 74 10.00kgs
205/40 R17 84W   F E 74 8.00kgs
215/40 R17 87W   F E 74 8.00kgs
245/40 R17 95W   C E 74 11.00kgs
205/45 R17 88W   F E 74 8.50kgs
215/45 R17 91W   C E 74 8.50kgs
235/45 R17 97W   C E 74 10.00kgs
215/55 R17 98W   C E 74 11.00kgs
225/55 R17 101W   C E 74 11.00kgs
205/35 R18 81Y   F E 74  
225/50 R18 99W   C E 74 10.00kgs

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Accelera Alpha. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Accelera Alpha Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Infiniti Q45 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 900 average miles
I just finished a 900 mile trip through the smokey mountians in the rain, I did not experience any drift, aqua planing or any loss of traction. Tires did fine in the dry as well. They are just as good a tire as the Bridgestone Potenzas they replaced.
Helpful 184 - tire reviewed on February 25, 2016
Given 36% while driving a Toyota Altezza RS200Z (255/30 R19) on mostly town for 100 average miles
CAUTION WITH OPTING THESE IN LOW PROFILE.
After significant testing and lengthy court issue against Mag and Turbo for fitting these - the verdict is that the low profile Accelera tire is considered not suitable to fit for low profile. The pattern and fit of these particular tires has caused the turn in of the tire at both low and high speed test to dismount themselves from the wheel. This has been tested multi times with the same result. I had major damage inflicted to my wheels as a result - Mag&Turbo/Accelera had no recourse until court ruled with independence test undertaken by AA compliance NZ.
In my opinion THESE TYRE SHOULD NOT BE SOLD.
Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on October 29, 2017
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 38 easy going miles
When I bought my VW Polo new four years ago it was fitted with Hankook tires, I don't know the type.I was very pleased at the minimum rate of ware. This week I noticed many small cracks had appeared at each side of the tread above the tire wall and on the entire circumference on both sides of the tire. All the four tires were the same. The depth of tread is 4.2mm which is very good for 38,000miles. Now the tires are scrap due to that defect after only 2.8mm of tread wear. Due to it being MOT time and in case the police should stop me for some reason I have had to buy four new tires. It means that Hankook are expensive tires when they have to be replaced after only 2.8mm of tread wear. I showed the tire fault to the VW dealer and they were not interested. N Mould
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on May 20, 2020
Have you driven on the Accelera Alpha tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Accelera Alpha? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Accelera Alpha >

Latest Accelera Alpha Reviews

Given 39% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Bought a Mazda MX5 NB svt with these tires on. Almost killed me twice.
Undertseers like crazy in the wet, literally have cars pilling up behind me in winter time when i'm turning.
I know the car is a little tail happy in the wet, especially since it has an LSD, but this is ridiculous.
However, more or less okay in the dry.
I would 100% not recommend these tires to anyone unless you only take your car out on sunny days or you're a thrill seeker who loves to drift around the place.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on July 16, 2019
Given 36% while driving a MINI Cooper S Works (205/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Outright dangerous in the wet. Massive understeer on wet roundabouts, and have to be extremely careful.

Dry grip, wear and price are fine.

Comfort is awful and so is road noise.

Very excited to be replacing them, going for Michelin PS4 after this experience.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on October 18, 2018
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Given 36% while driving a Mazda 6 Sport 2.3L (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Recently bought a Mazda 6 2.5 sport. the handling on the Mazda is supposed to be brilliant but have noticed the car has these Accelera tires on it.
the car is terrible in the dry especially in the corners. Hit a little hole etc then the car is thrown towards the hedge even at low speed. In the wet it is like ice skating. These have to be budget tires? Getting some P zero's put on soon. In my opinion. AVOID!
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on September 18, 2018
Given 27% while driving a MINI One D (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Had these on the rear of a mini when I bought it and vredstein sportrac 5 on fronts
At about 5mm they’ve totally given up in the wet
Makes for great oversteer but a bit on the dangerous side
Wouldn’t get these again
Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on April 22, 2018
Given 31% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 TS Veloce (205/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Once again, I bought a car which the previous owner tried to ruin by fitting very poor tires. These may not be the worst tires I've ever tried but in comparison to my other Alfa 156 which runs Pirelli P7 Cinturato tires, these are truly poor.

The biggest issue is that until the front tires wore down enough, the rear was unstable in both wet and dry conditions. Many of the suspension arms were new, the others good and even playing with the suspension geometry offered no improvement. The car runs straight and true but these tires are just so poor. It is hard to gauge grip as feedback is poor and breakaway and recovery is not very controllable, enjoyable or recommended. Traction and braking are notably poor aspects.

Ride comfort and noise is not great and slightly worse than the Continental Premium Contact 2 tires which were previously on the other 156. All tires went out of balance and have been rebalanced with quite a lot of balance weights which I usually take as a sign of poor construction.

Wear is irrelevant but I'd say quite poor. In any case, the tires' reduction in already poor performance means I just won't take the chance to wear these right down to the same level I would with premium brands or decent mid range tires like Hankook.

My advice is either pay more for Hankook or Pirelli touring tires or just simply save money and buy cheaper and better Rovelo tires which I can honestly say are superior to these.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on September 6, 2017
Given 81% while driving a Infiniti G37 (225/55 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
For a tire that I couldn't find absolutely, or almost no information at all, I've been trying to tell myself to get rid of it and get the tried and proven. But the more I test it's abilities in Rain, Light snow and Dry roads (I live in Seattle area), it handles smoothly. It could be that I'm driving on an G37X which is all wheel drive. Light snow, turning can make me slide forward instead of turning and rain is no problem at all.
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on March 14, 2017
Given 30% while driving a BMW 320 d (225/50 R16) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
I had these on the back of my BMW 3 Series and i am sure they were trying to kill me. The slightest hint of a wet road and the back end would let go. Ran them for about 3000 miles. The final straw was when my wife was driving at about 60mph on a damp dual carriageway in a straight line and span the car. Luckily it was late at night and didn't hit anything. These were gone a couple of days later and uniroyals put on. Car was back to its old self again. Worst tires i have ever had.
Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on February 10, 2017
Given 24% while driving a Audi A1 (215/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Horrendous tires. Only thing good about them them is the dry grip. Everything else is appalling.

They were fitted to a 62 plate Audi A1. Couldn't corner in the wet, encountered very heavy understeer. Wouldn't recommend these tires. These tires came fitted to the car when I brought it.

Fitted Toyo tires and already I've seen a massive improvement.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on December 24, 2016
Given 13% while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.6 SXi (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 2,000 easy going miles
Do not buy these tires if you value your life or car.
So many people on this site just unfortunately do not know enough about tires to post reviews.
These tires are dangerous I am in the process of removing a relatively new set from my new partners car.
Let's look at the facts these are cheap as chips tires wet grip E you only get what you pay for.
Big brand company's spend thousands of pounds developing New tires experimenting with different compounds, rubbers and construction unfortunately the same cannot be said for these.
My local tire dealer who I have known for years does not know how these tires get a European safety rating ! Yes that bad. The handling is terrible and with over 5mm of tread left my partner who is no racing driver does not understand what is wrong with her car skidding and feeling unsafe on wet roads I new straight away its terrible tires ! Going to change the lot asap.
These are budget price and ditch finding road holding don't be fooled by people rating these tires as good if you want good then do yourself a favour and spend some money on a quality brand or at least a good quality mid range tire. Remember your life and car are worth it as this is the only thing between you and the road. Enough said I think.
Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on October 19, 2016
Given 39% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 23 average miles
Just come back from having two of these tires replaced on the front of an A3.The tires had come supplied by a dealer with the car 2 years ago.

The best thing you can say is they don't wear quickly. Or much at all. 23,000 miles and still legal. I suspect the rubber compound is very hard.

Bad news? The left tire developed a large radial crack on the inside wall that I only spotted by chance. When both tires were removed they had very uneven wear. Tire pressures were spot on.

Wet grip was poor, road noise was horrendous and the handling awful.

Replaced with some Pirelli's (not my first choice but it was a distress buy) and my ears are already thanking me.

Chap at the garage said he often see's Acellera tires come in with the radial cracks on the inner and outer wall.

I'd avoid these tires.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on October 4, 2016
Given 43% while driving a Ford Mondeo (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Fitted to my Mondeo ST220, initially thought these tires were half decent for the price and to be fair in the dry they perform well - HOWEVER, in the wet these tires are VERY dangerous. Driving on a roundabout in the wet at 10-15mph will induce heavy under-steer, I've ended up crossing lanes and nearly forced someone to my left into the barriers as a result. Traction control light flickers away constantly in the wet even trying to accelerate on a straight road at 60mph in the wet and tires can't find traction. With 2 young kids travelling with me most of the time i am replacing these tires ASAP and would advise everyone not to buy them if thinking about doing so and if you have them on your car get them replaced! Shocking tire in the wet!!!
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on October 3, 2016
Given 50% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Anyone driving anything sporty or rear wheel drive should seriously avoid these tires. Driving a modest 160bhp MX5 2.0 Roadster, these came fitted by the dealership I bought the car from. To be honest I'm surprised I can still write this review (and am still walking the earth).

Now, I'm not a crazy driver and don't push hard, but it's a sporty car with great cornering... Or so it should be WITHOUT these tires. With the tires the slightest bit of damp on the roads and you have a death trap, even at slow speeds as there is just no grip.

I recognise that few on here with saloons etc. love these tires and I'm sure that's all good, but anyone with any grunt under the bonnet, avoid at all costs if you want to stay in one piece.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on September 7, 2016