Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO

With a best-in-class EU label A-grade in wet grip, the new Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO ensures outstanding control in the wet, and all without compromising on wear life.

This tire replaced the Bridgestone Weather Control A005.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 95%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 86%
Wear 69%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 84%
Snow Grip 65%
Ice Grip 58%

Tire review data from 22 tire reviews averaging 80% over 90,625 miles driven.

The Weather Control A005 EVO is ranked 20th of 45 All Season Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test - 6th of 11 tires

  • Positive - Shortest wet braking in cooler temperatures, quick wet handling lap, good snow braking, good dry braking.
  • Negative - Longer braking distances in the wet at warmer temperatures, increased rolling resistance, poor aquaplaning resistance in both tests, poor snow traction.
  • Overall - The Bridgestone WeatherControl A005 Evo continues Bridgestone dominance in the the shallow water tests, and it had good braking in nearly all conditions, but the tire had a high rolling resistance and performed poorly in aquaplaning testing, which is important for an all season tire.
View Full Test >>

2021 All Season Tire Market Overview - 8th of 34 tires

View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tire Test - 5th of 12 tires

  • Positive - High traction and short braking distances in the snow, precise steering behavior and dynamic driving qualities in the wet, good safety reserves for longitudinal aquaplaning.
  • Negative - Long dry braking.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO

2021-01-02 - Please can you clarify the legal position on fitting these tires for winter use, relative to sizing. Example: normal tire is 225/50/R17 on alloys, but looking at a set of steel rims (for winter use only), that the dealer says will need to be R16, so the winter tire size they recommended would be 215/60/R16. This should give the same rolling radius for the speedometer, but are there any legal or insurance implications? Thanks for any guidance you can offer.

Assuming the manufacturer recommended this size in the handbook there will be no legal issues. It might be prudent to notify your insurance as UK insurers can be very uptight about wheel size changes for winter tires.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO Reviews

Renault Talisman 160 edc estate (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
Complete set of tires fitted today.245/40 19 Very little difference in the EVO tire pattern to the original, but maybe the improvements are what you cannot see? I will review in 10,000 kms. I have to make a few journeys through the Alps in the next six months, so I am sure their snow performance will be tested. What I know from my experience with the original A005’s is that wet grip is superb, aquaplaning greatly reduced risk, low wear, quiet and low rolling resistance.
Helpful 133 - tire reviewed on October 21, 2020
Given 72% while driving a Ford Focus ST 2.3 Ecoboost Estate (Mk4) (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
Big wheel sizes prefer full winter tires to All-Season but if you live like I do in a mild climate such as the Southeast of England, they often are the best choice. Divided between the new Continental All-Season or the Bridgestone WeatherControl Evo, I went to the latter as they were available and nicely priced for the size I needed. Pros: - Steering feel and road feedback are excellent for a all-season tire that has loads of tread blocks. - Impressive shallow water grip at low temperatures (looses a bit as they get up but not terrible). - Comfortable and relative low noise - Overall feeling is quite good and could be at times be perceived as a mid range summer tire rather than an All-Season Cons: - Wear far too quickly. I don't believe they would last 20k miles or get to see the second year of ownership if used all year round. - Again, wear. As temperatures start to go up they generate far too much heat and with a soft sidewall you can see the changes on dry grip happening and the wear marks on it - expect to see bits of rubber literally coming out! - Ice and snow grip isn't on par with the best of new all season tires. Be mindful that for locations that see little snow this might not be an issue, but when it falls and quickly gets compressed, they might let you down. Conclusion: - They are not the best out there but quite satisfactory on this large size; - For fast cars on mild climates they retain quite good stirring feeling and feedback; - They are excellent in the rain with low temperatures, and while aquaplaning resistance isn't the best, it has never been an issue; - They wear far too quickly for an all season tire, having only encountered similar wear on full winters driven in warm summer locations. - Fairly priced.
Helpful 55 - tire reviewed on May 17, 2022
Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen mk7 Golf GTD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
A very good tire from Bridgestone. Smashes the current Michelin cross climate in all but dry braking. One of the best straight aquaplaning tires by far. At speed on the motorway in deep standing water there fantastic. A very predictable tire with a very rounded package. You can almost feel the road. Very good. Maybe on the verge of unbeatable. Lets see how they perform when worn. Turn in not as good as Michelin Pilot sport 4 but better than Michelin Cross climate gen 2. Very expensive, but a must for people who just want to go at speed and get done. As a car mechanic and we fit loads of tires these are good.
Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on December 21, 2020
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO >

Latest Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 500 miles
Comfortable.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on June 2, 2022
Given 67% while driving a Peugeot Partner Teepee (2010) (215/60 R16) on mostly country roads for 9,000 average miles
I had the predecessor to this tire, the Bridgestone Weather Control pre A005 version and found it to be the best tire I'd ever used in wet weather conditions. The A005 version, although it looks different in tread design, has the same excellent performance in wet weather. Unfortunately the same cannot be said about the wear/longevity as the full set wore down to the markers in only 9000 miles. This is obviously a very soft compound which improves the cold and wet weather performance but when driven year round, as in my case, the tire life is much shorter than i expected. Whilst I am using a heavy vehicle (Peugeot Expert Tepee) I have the correct XL load rated tire and do not heavily load the vehicle and I have not driven at high speeds on motorways. I think I'll get a rock hard van specific tire next time. TLDR: Good grip, dissapointing wear.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on April 1, 2022
Want your tires to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 50% while driving a Opel Astra j 1.6 (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 43,000 easy going miles
Dry Grip good, excellent Wet Grip, Road Feedback Handling nothing extraordinary, bad Wear, normal Comfort, bad Snow Grip Ice Grip, I would not buy them again
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on March 31, 2022
Given 89% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover V8 Vogue (255/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
The 005 EVO is the best all-season tire for winter that I have ever had, far superior to the Pirelli Scorpion and Conti all season that are being used on the RRs. It handles great in deep snow, steep inclines with compacted snow (compared directly to Nokian SUV3s), wet subzero highways and wet cornering as well. I hope they will be at least nearly as dependable in the summer as well.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on February 16, 2022
Given 49% while driving a Vauxhall Astra SRi (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 1,000 miles
Purchased a set of 4 in September 2021 because I thought I was buying the best. I was wrong. In January 2022, one of the tires failed after only 1000 miles. A 150mm section of the tire tread had separated from the side wall. This could have proved catastrophic at high speed.
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on January 22, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Jeep Rengade (215/60 R17) on mostly motorways for 4,000 average miles
My Jeep Renegade came with Bridgestone Blizzak wintertires from the factory, which is a bit odd especially since it is produced in sunny Italy. Very noisy and quite useless on anything but snow. So I changed them with these All Seasons before they were worn, mainly based on the Tirerieview.com test. Main reason was the the excellent wet performance of the non-Evo Weathercontrol A005, in exchange for snow performance. This should be better with this one, but since I live in The Netherlands that is not really an issue for me. The tires are very quiet, have very good dry grip. On cold and wet roads the do perform better then any other winter or all season tire (Michelin, Bridgestone, en Dunlop included) I have ever had experience with. Steering feel is non-existent, but that is probably mainly due to the little Jeep itself and the tall walls. Tire wear isn't noticeable yet, but then they are just 2 months and 4k miles old. Lovely tires and I should have replaced the OEM Blizzaks much earlier.
Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on November 8, 2021
Given 88% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Hi. I chose this tire on the strength of the TireReviews’ review of its predecessor, and because not all tires in this class are available in the size I need. Fitted to a 1.4l TDCI Fiesta, so not a sports car by any means, but a perfectly capable car, fun to drive on twisty roads and holds its own on the motorway. First 1000 miles driven across M, A and B roads, twisty country lanes and suburban London, in dry and wet weather. Mix of driving styles but mainly average. Not yet driven in winter conditions. So, initially, a very comfortable tire to drive on, not too noisy, comfort levels good, car handles well and responds well to changes of direction, feels sure-footed and safe. Dry grip is very good. Again, not driving a high-performance vehicle in a spirited way, but car grips well in dry conditions and feels safe and predictable. Tires absolutely shine in the wet. Whether rain, running water on the road or standing water, these may be the best wet weather tires I’ve ever driven on. Grip levels extremely high, and remain high even driving through large pools of standing or running water. In the wet, the tires feel incredibly safe indeed. So, first 1000 miles down and so far, so good. A great choice for average motoring on an average car in average UK circumstances. I will endeavour to update after winter. Cheers all, and safe motoring.
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on November 3, 2021
Given 92% while driving a BMW X3 (225/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Replaced separate sets of winter and summer tires with these. Compared to the original Pirelli BMW * rated OE summer tires, these are quieter, the ride is softer and more comfortable, and economy is about 2mpg (5%) better. There is no obvious difference in grip in the dry, and they feel very secure in the wet. I’ve yet to compare them to the winter tires, but I live in the south of England with frequent trips up north to see family, and their job is to get me home and keep me safe if it snows, so they should be fine. CrossClimate 2’s came out just after I bought these but so far, I’m very impressed.
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on September 25, 2021
Given 93% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Super impressed with these tires on my Yeti 4x4 makes the car more peaceful and relaxing (moved from Pirelli Centro tires) and even though theses are all season tires they better all round for me. Wet grip is astonishing and i'm so glad I went with theses tires. I haven't commented on wear and snow and Ice and I haven't used them long enough to have tried these out.
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on August 5, 2021
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen EOS (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I was impressed with how good Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO performed on all conditions.
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on July 12, 2021
Given 81% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
I've now driven these in cold-wet conditions (best suited to); in heavy snow and ice on Scottish mountains where they "got me home"; and dry hot summer days back in London where you can feel the reduction in grip vs summer tire (but nothing too bad); plus torrential rain to gauge aqua-planing. Really not a bad tire. As in my earlier reviews, they've handled all conditions as advertised, and I would buy again. Key things -- on snow/ice, if you drive carefully, they'll get you home in any conditions. In cold-wet they transform grip, and also great in torrential rain as advertised. In hot-dry conditions, you need to drive & think ahead to avoid any compromises as they are softer than summer-tires and will slide more as they heat-up. Wear was not bad, even on the back of my MX-5. On a heavier car, driven primarily in South of UK, I can imagine 12k miles of life, as this is a stickier softer tire, but that's what you are buying !!! Thoroughly recommend this. A great option if you only see a few days of snow each year.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on June 25, 2021
Given 96% while driving a Skoda (225/50 R17 R) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Decided to go for these after a bad skid in ice last winter. 4 Bridgestones replaced 2 Goodyear Efficient Grip and 2 budgets. Waited until I was able to test them in winter conditions before I reviewed. The tires have a distinctive feel. Much less pointed than the Goodyear but that's to be expected and not a bad thing. Noticeable improvement to the ride quality, particularly over bumps. Outstanding ice and snow performance for an all season tire. Climbed a very steep country lane with compacted ice in -6°C weather without a blink. Excellent in the wet. Car feels planted and confident. I have noticed a dip in fuel consumption of about 5 mpg but that's my only negative really.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on March 12, 2021