Bridgestone Weather Control A005

Bridgestone has designed the Weather Control A005 to meet the needs of consumers who are looking for year-round convenience and safety - For drivers who want to stay in control, with the same tires, all year round regardless of sun, rain or occasional snow.

Bridgestone Weather Control A005 is legally compliant 365 days a year thanks to its qualified performance on snow, certified by the 3 Peak Mountain Snow Flake (3PMSF) marking.

The A005 is available in 68 sizes for 15” to 20” rims, it will immediately cover demand for 94% of passenger cars and on-road SUVs, with additional sizes being made available in 2019.

This tire replaced the Bridgestone A001 and this tire has been replaced by the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO.

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 73%
Wear 56%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 57%
Snow Grip 62%
Ice Grip 58%

Tire review data from 74 tire reviews averaging 69% over 482,953 miles driven.

The Weather Control A005 is ranked 40th of 57 All Season Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 Sport Auto All Season Tire Test - 4th of 8 tires

  • Positive - Quite balanced performance on snow for an all-season, decent grip in the wet, cornering, precise and quite similar to a summer tire in the dry.
  • Negative - Comparatively narrow threshold range on snow, low aquaplaning resistance, faintly audible, humming road noise at low speeds.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test - 4th of 11 tires

  • Positive - Good in the dry, best on test in the wet, very low rolling resistance, highest levels of comfort, low noise.
  • Negative - Low grip in the snow for an all season tire, average aquaplaning resistance.
  • Overall - The WeatherControl A005 excels in the dry and wet, and has the highest levels of comfort. It is the all season tire to pick if you live in a climate which sees very little snow.

View Full Test >>

2020 Sport Auto All Season Tire Test - 1st of 9 tires

  • Positive - Very short braking distances and safe handling int he wet, easy controllable handling in the dry.
  • Negative - Limited snow performance for an all season tire.
  • Overall - Limited on snow but safest tire for cold and wet roads.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   C A 71 6.78kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   C A 70 7.29kgs
195/55 R15 89V XL   C A 71 7.19kgs
185/60 R15 88V XL   C A 70 7.38kgs
195/60 R15 92V XL   C A 71 7.63kgs
175/65 R15 88H XL   C A 70 7.03kgs
185/65 R15 92H XL   E A 72 10.61kgs
185/65 R15 92V XL   C A 70 7.21kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 7.75kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   E A 71 11.43kgs
195/65 R15 95V XL   C A 71 7.75kgs
205/65 R15 99V XL   C A 71 8.46kgs
195/45 R16 84H XL   C A 71 6.80kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   C A 71 7.55kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 71 8.35kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.07kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 71 8.70kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   E A 71 10.80kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL   C A 71 9.10kgs
225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 71 9.52kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 71 8.51kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   E A 72 9.83kgs
235/60 R16 104V XL   C A 71 10.78kgs
215/65 R16 102V XL   C A 71 9.77kgs
215/70 R16 100H   C A 71 10.27kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 71 9.42kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 71 9.12kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 72 11.96kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C A 71 9.12kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.53kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71 10.47kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 71 10.05kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 71 10.31kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 71 9.38kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 71 9.59kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 72 13.55kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 71 10.50kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 72 9.94kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 71 10.62kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C A 71 10.86kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL   C A 72 9.92kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL         11.50kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL   C A 72 9.85kgs
225/60 R17 103V XL   C A 71 10.66kgs
225/65 R17 106V XL   C A 71 11.19kgs
235/65 R17 108V XL   B A 71 11.76kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 72 12.50kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71 9.10kgs
235/40 R18 95W XL   C A 71 11.42kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.03kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   C A 71 10.34kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 10.38kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.84kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 13.48kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL   C A 71 12.65kgs
245/50 R18 100V   C A 71 12.02kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 71 12.28kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 11.30kgs
255/55 R18 109V XL   B A 72 13.23kgs
225/60 R18 100H   C A 71 11.10kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL   B A 71 11.92kgs
235/65 R18 106V   C A 71 15.34kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 11.11kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   C A 71 12.93kgs
215/50 R19 93T C+       10.20kgs
255/50 R19 107W XL   C A 72 13.03kgs
235/55 R19 105W XL   C A 72 14.19kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   C A 71 10.42kgs

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Weather Control A005

2018-07-13 - http://www.tire-reviews.com/Tire/Bridgestone/Weather-Control-A005.htm/price/195-45-16 This size seems very expensive. What are they made of - silk and gold?

I would hope so at that price! It might just be that the A005 is a new tire and they haven't actually got prices for 195/45 R16 yet.


2018-09-21 - I'm buying a new car, it has 205/45r17 tires. I'll drive for 10k kilometers every year, so I guess the best choices it's a 4 season tires. I live in Italy and there is always high temps, we go under ten degrees for two months a year more or less. It's a strange tire configuration..there aren't michelin crossclimate or goodyear 4 season for that size. I found just Nokian weatherproof, this Bridgestone and Vredestein Quatrac 5. Umm. Can you give me an advice? Maybe I can take this 4 wheels for summer and i'll take another 4 for winter, maybe with an higher shoulder of the tire, but I don't know if the shopping will be worth it. Thank you in advance!

Have you seen the latest all season tire buying guide? This should give you a good indication of what to buy!


2018-11-03 - I've never changed my cars tires for Winter before, but now have a performance car (leon cupra 300) with uhp summer tires and have been told I must get them off before the really cold weather to avoid them cracking up. I want the maximum performance possible but a tire that I can leave on through the winter whether it falls below -10°c or sneaks back up over 10°c. Not bothered about snow/ice performance as I live in south east and always drove through snow/ice before on pilot sports without any trouble lol. My only choice for all weather is these, otherwise it has to be a winter tire. Michelin alpine 4's also fit but cost loads more. Do you think these Bridgestones are my best option? Thanks

These seem to be a good all season option if dry and wet is your priority, however any siped tire designed to work in snow is going to reduce the dry handling of a sports car / hot hatch, so don't expect too much from them!


2018-12-18 - I'm curious about the low score for wear - could I ask where this comes from as they've not been around long and the reviews are all low miles. They seem a good alternative to the michelin cross climate+, but not if they wear much quicker.

Looking at the database entries for each review, the wear marks for the A005 seem to be guesses. I'd wait until there's more data or a magazine test which tests wear to make up your mind (or buy a set and let me know!)


2019-05-17 - My question is about the suitability of these all season tires instead of winter tires in the south east of the UK. I have two sets of wheels for my car and experience of both summer and winter tires. Given the UK weather in the south east I typically put winter tires on for only a a few months (Nov-March) and during that you often get days where the temp is above the circa 7 degrees where winters are best. So would an all season tire like this one be better for my normal winter conditions which do not involve snow but where you do have lots of rain and cold and frosty days? Also would all season tires extend the optimum period so that I could use for them for a longer period say start October to end April?

Yes, I believe a wet optimised all season tire like this or the Michelin CrossClimate can be used as a winter tire for the mild uk climate. They will still vastly out perform a summer tire if we see any snow.


2019-10-03 - Hello, just got a Mercedes Marco Polo campervan (RWD) and am interested as to whether an all season tire like this would give better traction on wet grass / mud? I need 245/45 r19's and this is the only premium option I can find to fit. Currently shod with Pirelli P Zeros. As it’s a campervan, I’m not bothered about dynamic handling, but it doesn’t need to be any Wobblier! Any thoughts?

All season tires can certainly offer slightly increased mud and grass traction thanks to more edges (sipes) and a chunkier tread pattern.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Bridgestone Weather Control A005 Reviews

Opel Astra Hatch 1,0T (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
Brand new All Weather tires for the upcoming season.
Aprox. 7,3mm tread depth.
They are replacing the OEM Michelin Energy Saver+, an so far the feel more quiet, and a bit softer and giving a more comfortable ride.
They are priced in the same range as the Goodyear, Continental, and Michelin, so we will have to wait and see how long they will last.

Helpful 190 - tire reviewed on October 12, 2018
Given 42% while driving a BMW 420d (255/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
I replaced my summer Bridgestone runflats with these these all season tires. Around 8°C and wet roads, I think the handling is very sluggish and grip poor in turns.
Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on December 15, 2023
Given 79% while driving a Renault (195/55 R16) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Overall it is great tire especially in wet roads. I am using day to day in 2 years. I think it will last maximum 3 years. Yearly i am using 10k kms. We do not have great roads. Tried on winter on ice once, and it was awful experience.
Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on October 6, 2023
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Weather Control A005? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Bridgestone Weather Control A005 >

Latest Bridgestone Weather Control A005 Reviews

Given 57% while driving a Subaru Forester (225/55 R18) on mostly motorways for 35,000 easy going miles
After 15.000 km, the road facing tread of the front tires began to peel off. Also there was uneven wear on all 4 tires; where the tread become wider. It is now giving a shaky ride and i will replace them. (50.000 km driven). They still have enough depth to go 30k km but uneven wear makes them unusable.
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on May 17, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Renault (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
High performance tires but which most of the time do not exceed 25,000 km. Like all all seasons tires they are a bit noisy but it's still respectable
Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on April 16, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 50% while driving a Subaru Forester (255/60 R17) on mostly motorways for 26,000 easy going miles
After 1 year of use the front tires began to tear, after another afew months those damaged threads began to fall off. İt is really sad and dangerous as my opinion.
Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on March 29, 2023
Given 74% while driving a Opel Corsa C (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 25,000 spirited miles
Absolute orgasmic grip pleasure driving on wet, I bought based on reviews here and they're confirmed. Totally miserable on snow. Never needed on ice, cannot tell. Rode them on highways 170km/h in every summer, but the feedback is like you're floating so I don't recommend exceeding 150km/h. Quite wear after 3 years but that's understandable, you cannot have it all. Since I don't drive in snowy winter conditions and the winters in southern Romania are nowadays mostly snowless due to climate change, I find this the best option when you cannot afford seasonal tires AND you don't have harsh winters. Definitely will buy again next autumn (but the EVO model this time), since I always replace tires at 4 years, won't wait for the 6 years as in the guidelines.
Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on February 14, 2023
Given 85% while driving a Renault (195/55 R20) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Very good tire I have tested it in all conditions from 0 to -10c including ice and snow and I can say that they have never put a foot wrong
Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on December 11, 2022
Given 71% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 14,500 average miles
When I first got these tires I was very happy. Nice ride, great in the wet & snow performance was fine in the 1 day we had snow (2-3 inches). However, rear offside developed a noise which turned out to be cupping after only 8K miles (2 years motoring due to Pandemic). Replaced with 2 Vredestein Quatrac Pros as advise was that directional all season tires were prone to deformations. As they are asymmetric they seem fine. On first MoT at 14500 miles the remaining 2 A005s had worn down a lot & especially FNS which had bad wearing to inside rim. The FOS was deforming as well. Car's tracking was out by no more than 1mm. In all on the face of it they seemed good tires but had wear issues I have never had in over 40 years with both summer & winter tires. These are my first all-season tires so rather disappointed. I hope the Vredestein fare better.
Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on October 4, 2022
Given 42% while driving a Skoda (185/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 12,000 easy going miles
Put a pair of these on the front of a Skoda Fabia (95ps 1.0TSI). Mostly steady 65-70mph motorway driving, and after 12,000 they're down to wear bars and sides of the tread are showing age cracking. Terrible tires in this small size. Just replaced with Kumho ES31 summers (similar to the factory fit ES01).
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on September 14, 2022
Given 63% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B7 2.0 TDI 140hp Estate (215/55 R16) on mostly town for 27,000 average miles
I'm pretty disappointed in the end mainly because the tires only lasted 27.000 km all in all, but the performance drop was huge after say 20.000 km. The tires have very little grip both in the dry and the wet, the wheels spin easily even in 2nd gear, even in the dry and we are talking about a 1.5 ton 140 bhp car. I don't use the car much in the winter, but last winter convinced me, that it's time for new tires, the car was all over the place, it didn't feel safe anymore. I found them pretty noisy as well, but the handling was very good. I will replace them with the new Michelin Cross climate 2, let's see how they'll perform.
Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on May 31, 2022
Given 63% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
Bought these tires in April 2020. Have done 9000 miles in UK driving on all roads. Noise developed on rear near side, similar to faulty wheel bearing sound. This was since a service in Sept 2021. The car is fine. Wheel alignment spot on. Rotated tires rear to front. Noise moved to front near side. No effect on steering. Car drives perfectly. Noticed all tires display ‘sawtoothing’. Also the noisy tire in noticeably worn on the inside. Not apparent on the other three. Further, the sipes have worn completely on both shoulders at about every 7 or 8 blocks. Other tires displayed the sipes worn across the width of the tire, again about every 7 or 8 blocks. Very strange and nothing I have seen before in nearly 50 years of motoring. I am totally confident in the car but not these tires. I suspect the quality & robustness of the tire. Not dangerous but disconcerting. Will not buy again.
Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on April 21, 2022
Given 43% while driving a Renault Mudus 1.5 DCI Oasis (185/70 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
Based on my experience, the tires performance wise were alright. On ice or snow - worse than the worst winter tires, and probably better than the best summer tires. Overall it wasn't too noisy. But they have worn down very badly in only 1.5 years during which they did only 15k miles. Imagine that: time zero - getting new tires installed. time +1.5 years - visually the thread is looking low. time + 1.8 years - MOT warning (still a pass). Those tires did not last long at all. Run from them. I do not recommend. Maybe for other cars it's a different story, but based on my experience - run. I will never buy this again, and I will attempt to look away from Bridgestone altogether. That said, other inspected brand (different tires, different car) has it's own different problems, so you have to choose which negative you can take.
Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on April 7, 2022
Given 36% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (225/60 R18) on for 4,000 average miles
Had these on a hired Ford Kuga, utterly useless in the snow/ice/slush and way too much understeer in the dry, not driven in wet so no comment on that aspect. However the incredibly poor winter performance shows that the "snowflake" mark on a tire is unfortunately still no indication whatsoever of any kind of acceptable performance in these conditions - Avoid, if you must fit all-season tires then go with Goodyear or Michelin.
Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on March 15, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Nissan Pulsar (195/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Disagree with the reviews criticising the grip in snow. Yes - you have to drive to suit the road conditions, but so far, these tires haven't let me down. Considering they are 'all-season', to find a hybrid tire that will handle all conditions is rare. I've used Michelin Cross-Climate previously and the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 tires are at least on a par. Drove through heavy snow (yes-to the conditions) and felt the grip was good. Same goes for wet and dry conditions. Haven't had the tires long enough to assess wear rate, but as a tire with a good all round performance so far - no complaints.
Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on February 24, 2022