Toyota RAV4 Tires

On this page you will find the best real world tire reviews from owners of the Toyota RAV4.

Do you Drive a Toyota RAV4? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire! After all, who knows what the best tire for a RAV4 better than the owners?

Tire Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (26) 92% 95% 93% 95% 93% 91%
Nokian WR SUV 4 (5) 92% 96% 95% 93% 85% 88%
Kormoran Suv Summer (10) 95% 88% 89% 91% 88% 94%
Yokohama Geolandar G91AV (10) 94% 71% 94% 90% 90% 94%
Event ML698 (9) 91% 90% 90% 89% 94% 80%
BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA (18) 89% 86% 83% 79% 89% 85%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus (16) 82% 88% 83% 86% 91% 89%
Linglong Green Max All Season (4) 88% 75% 85% 88% 93% 88%
Bridgestone Turanza 6 (21) 93% 95% 90% 87% 75% 84%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 SUV (8) 87% 93% 76% 60% 90% 84%
Avon Ranger (15) 87% 86% 85% 77% 93% 76%
Nankang ROLLNEX SP9 (2) 90% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%
Nokian WR G4 SUV (6) 93% 90% 75% 88% 67% 84%
Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW (14) 82% 82% 75% 69% 87% 79%
Michelin CrossClimate 2 (86) 87% 83% 74% 71% 84% 85%
Cooper Discoverer Road Trail AT (1) 80% 90% 60% 70% 0% 80%
Michelin Latitude Cross (52) 85% 84% 77% 74% 89% 80%
Linglong Green Max HP010 (14) 80% 76% 80% 82% 82% 78%
Kumho Road Venture APT KL51 (14) 89% 81% 82% 78% 83% 89%
Vredestein Quatrac 5 (37) 82% 79% 80% 82% 82% 85%
Toyo Tranpath (6) 85% 77% 72% 78% 74% 90%
BFGoodrich Trail Terrain TA (3) 90% 60% 83% 83% 97% 60%
Michelin CrossClimate SUV (20) 86% 86% 76% 74% 75% 80%
Nokian One (14) 88% 78% 78% 75% 83% 78%
General Grabber AT3 (20) 85% 78% 80% 74% 89% 83%
Sailun Terramax CVR (4) 75% 68% 75% 80% 87% 83%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Hifly All Turi 221 Allseason (5) 83% 70% 80% 63% 78% 80%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO (35) 88% 91% 80% 82% 63% 80%
Continental ContiCrossContact Winter (4) 83% 80% 75% 78% 65% 73%
Rovelo Sport A1 (20) 79% 69% 71% 75% 75% 75%
Continental ContiCrossContact LX 2 (23) 84% 79% 78% 78% 86% 75%
Goodyear EfficientGrip SUV (27) 83% 78% 75% 74% 68% 75%
Davanti DX640 (93) 79% 71% 75% 73% 66% 79%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (74) 79% 86% 76% 73% 63% 75%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (37) 82% 74% 74% 78% 78% 80%
Avon ZX7 (41) 83% 81% 75% 73% 57% 77%
Linglong Green Max (36) 78% 70% 65% 69% 66% 72%
Toyo Proxes Sport (20) 75% 65% 71% 67% 69% 72%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (64) 80% 65% 75% 74% 72% 69%
Kumho Solus KL21 (13) 73% 67% 64% 61% 73% 65%
Continental ContiCrossContact LX (22) 83% 69% 69% 66% 58% 71%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (55) 77% 69% 68% 68% 59% 71%
Dunlop Grandtrek ST30 (20) 83% 69% 71% 66% 68% 70%
Zeetex ZT1000 (6) 72% 55% 70% 70% 75% 73%
Hankook Dynapro HP2 (7) 81% 61% 69% 67% 65% 67%
Maxtrek Sierra S6 (10) 71% 54% 68% 67% 73% 68%
Dunlop Grandtrek AT2 (3) 73% 57% 63% 67% 73% 63%
Michelin Latitude tour HP (30) 79% 66% 66% 67% 71% 79%
Nokian Line SUV (9) 80% 74% 71% 74% 46% 68%
Achilles Desert Hawk HT (7) 76% 69% 66% 66% 70% 60%
Wanli S1606 (1) 70% 70% 70% 50% 50% 60%
Hifly Win Turi (7) 71% 59% 67% 59% 77% 76%
Runway Enduro 816 (8) 68% 54% 55% 56% 55% 58%
Bridgestone Ecopia EP422 plus (9) 58% 57% 52% 49% 57% 64%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Dunlop Grandtrek Touring AS (3) 70% 70% 65% 43% 15% 55%
Marshal POWER RACER II 719 (9) 51% 20% 39% 42% 79% 41%
Austone SP 901 (3) 37% 27% 40% 33% 45% 27%

Toyota RAV4 Tire Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 given 34% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 easy going miles
These tires are terrible. Down to 3mm in just 10 000 km on a Hybrid Toyota Rav4. They got very hard and very loud in two winters. Dangerous on snow and ice. Would not recommend.
tire reviewed on 2024-02-20 13:57:00
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer Road Trail AT given 81% (235-70-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
I picked up some Cooper Discoverer Road+Trail ATs for my 2017 RAV4 AWD, in 235/70r16. I haven't seen many reviews of these yet, so I wanted to give some of my thoughts. I've only had them for about a week so I can't give any advice on how they'll hold up, but I have loved them so far. In central PA, we've also had a nice variety of weather in the period since I've gotten them, so they've been tested in several conditions already. ​

Wet Traction - 9.5/10​
Really confidence-inspiring wet grip. This is always a question mark with AT tires, but absolutely no trouble at all with these. Braking is especially impressive, even in standing water.​

Dry Traction - 8/10​
Nothing to complain about here - stopping distance and dry traction are both more than adequate for an all-terrain tire.​

Snow Traction - 9/10​
Really impressive snow traction. I tested in deep snow and a variety of slushy conditions. The RAV4 had no trouble at all going through 4-6 inches of snow (on grass), even even starting up a hill in those conditions provided no trouble at all. Braking is also impressive in the snow, inspiring confidence on my snow-covered driveway.​

Comfort/Noise 8/10​
They definitely are a little bit stiffer going over bumps than the standard all-season tires that were on the vehicle before, but nothing I would consider to be viscerally unpleasant. Noise is relatively silent, with the addition of maybe a very slight hum at highway speeds.​

Overall, I have absolutely no regrets with my purchase, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these for a person who is interested in a fairly rugged tire that can handle all conditions adequately.
tire reviewed on 2024-01-25 21:13:30
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate 2 given 93% (225-55-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
Fitted these tires to my RAV4 Hybrid. They were far superior to any previous tires.
tire reviewed on 2023-10-28 11:24:51
Writing about the BFGoodrich Trail Terrain TA given 66% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 76000 average miles
1st) there is the looks. These tires looks amazing! You cannot get around that (Silver 2021 RAV4 Hybrid with white letters showing)
2nd) I was impressed with the road noise, or lack thereof. For an AT, these are very quiet.
3rd)tread life looks good. I am currently at 78000km on them and still have 4.5mm left all round. I did not baby them, but mostly do high way driving on tar.
4th) Who ever said in a review that I red when I got them ( there was very little to no reviews as they were brand new) that "they do not increase fuel consumption " was full of ......
Why do I say that? Because there is no reference point as to what the person used before. Did they run KO2's? Then of course there will be no increase in consumption. So my reference is the OEM Bridgestone Alanza HP. Compared the that, I lost 1-1.5km/l with the BF's. Its understandable. Its heavy and it is an AT. I am running 225/65R17 and my current average is 16-16.5km/l
My next set will be high way summer tires again, then I can easily be in the 17's.
5th) The wet grip is BAD. Like really bad! At robots in the rain, touch the throttle to hard and its spinning for days ( I have an 2x4 hybrid)
I once overtook a truck in the wet, and at 60km/l, my car started spinning its wheels. I know the stretch of road very well, so I can confirm that my Bridgestones never did that.

Will I buy again? Probably not. We have no snow, hot climate. Fuel consumption and wet grip is the downfall. We have super bad roads here, but I can cope with an HP tire.
For the looks yes,they rock, but sadly not again for me.

Greetings all the way from South Africa
tire reviewed on 2023-09-27 20:58:03
Writing about the Dunlop Grandtrek Touring AS given 32% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 33000 easy going miles
My tires are 6 years old and have had an easy life. tread left 5mm-6.5mm. Car taken to Toyota dealer to service and mot. all 4 tires were condemed for wall cracking and rubber lifting at a cost of £144+ each. I don't feel at all happy with the way these tires have deteriated long before the tread has reached renewing dimentions, and as such I would guess that purhaps they were part of a faulty batch. I also note from other reviews that this is not an isolated case. But with no end result from Dunlop UK. Other tires I have are older than these with no sign of the cracking as on the Dunlops. Why should I pay for a premium tires when they do not last or perform like budget ones!! YOUR THOUGHTS WOULD BE USEFUL.
Ron Barrett
tire reviewed on 2023-09-09 11:17:10
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza 6 given 100% (225-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 average miles
Just drove 3000km in a vacation on these. No complaints whatsoever. Car is silent, no grip problems on dry, wet, sand.
Caught a heavy rain on a motorway, had no feelings of mishandling due to the tires.
Caught a surprise patch of water on the same motorway, the tires didn't aquaplane.
tire reviewed on 2023-07-04 09:21:05
Writing about the Continental ContiCrossContact LX given 87% (235-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60000 average miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2023-05-23 22:20:04
Writing about the Nokian WR G4 SUV given 79% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35 average miles
I live in the Cascade Mountains on a steep road, loads of snow in the winter. Really an excellent tire but disagree with some of the other comments on road noise and standing water/puddle performance. This could well be differences in vehicles or models though. They are really excellent in all types of snow except near slush that is sticky, "Alabama Red Clay" type cold slush, but most tires I'm aware of cannot be designed to shed it from the treads when it's like that. It essentially turns into a bald-like tire at some point in that stuff. Standing water and puddles in heavy rain - there is an aquaplaning tendancy at or near freeway speeds that can get your attention. There is more road noise I believe than my previous tires, but not a whole lot, and I do have a bit stiffer suspention being the Sport model Rav4 with the 6 cylinder and that sometimes has more to do with the road noise than the tires do. Traction in all kinds of other snow (other than slush) and even ice is really supurb and I'm real confidant driving them. The tire wear is excellent too, and I drive 100 miles a day round trip from snow country to the flat lands to work. They handled fantastic when on the interstate going over the pass, with compact snow on the road when a car drifted in front of me and I had to swerve around him aggressively. The tires to my surprise stayed pretty much tracked to the road with some release, but regripped almost instantly. I would recommend them for sure. I'm tempted to try the new 2023 Michelin CrossClimate2 Tire however after reading a few reports on them. They're supposed to be better at not aquaplaning but debate if should be leaving a known performer.
tire reviewed on 2023-04-12 02:35:25
Writing about the Kumho Solus KL21 given 36% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 average miles
Purchased these as a cheaper alternative to brands like Continental, Goodyear etc. Seemed ok to begin with and the tires have worn pretty well, BUT and this is a BIG BUT, upon inspection the tires are not completely deformed and no longer presenting a flat profile - I have literally never seen anything like it, upon seeing this I immediately replaced the two Kumho tires and I deemed these to be unsafe. No response from the seller, will see what happens but would definitely not buy this make again. The people I have spoken to who work with tires say this is a very common problem with this brand, so buyer beware.
tire reviewed on 2023-04-04 01:20:15
Writing about the Avon Ranger given 73% (235-60-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 easy going miles
Very good tire in snow conditions, noisey, and bumpy, not great in wet.
tire reviewed on 2023-03-11 15:54:39
Writing about the Avon ZX7 given 39% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 8000 easy going miles
Picked up a set of 2 Avon tires to replace ageing Yokohama tires after 18,000 miles of easy going town driving with 3mm left. General performance of Avon tires has been fine (for budget tires) . However, the tread wear by mileage has been the worst of any tire I've ever purchased. Less than 3mm tread after just 8,000 miles. Even on the front of an SUV, that's about half what I normally get out of tires. I'll need to run them down to barely legal just to try and get some economic value out of them, but I don't think I'll get more than 9,500 in total before I have to change them. Definitely won't be buying Avon again or recommending these to anyone, as the compound is clearly too soft for general use. I think anyone reviewing these tires as "good" are in for an unpleasant shock further down the line. I'll be switching back to a better brand as soon as these tires are done.
tire reviewed on 2023-01-22 14:02:52
Writing about the Avon ZX7 given 67% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
These tires were fitted to a RAV4 and were already on the car when I bought it. I have had all season Avon tires on a Skoda Octavia Diesel and found them to be brilliant. So I had high hopes for these - and they’re totally the wrong tire for the vehicle. They’re designed for motorways and all tarmac. Rubbish on grass and gravel - forget about mud. If it snows, leave the car at home - they’re absolutely rubbish - to the point of being dangerous. Day to day driving they’re as good as any other, and they’re hard wearing, and not overly loud - but that’s the best I can say about them. I will not buy them again.
tire reviewed on 2023-01-18 14:42:49
Drive this car? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire