Michelin CrossClimate 2 SUV

The "Michelin CrossClimate 2 SUV" is the SUV variant of the extremely popular CrossClimate 2 all weather tire. The tire is a 3PMSF (3 Peak Mountain Snow Flake) certified tire.

This tire replaced the Michelin CrossClimate SUV.

Tire review data from 6 tire reviews averaging 86% over 9,950 miles driven.

The CrossClimate 2 SUV is ranked 4th of 25 All Season Premium Touring tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2023 SUV All Season Tire Test - 1st of 12 tires

  • Positive - All-rounder with balanced performance, convincing winter and dry performance, very good aquaplaning reserves
  • Negative - High price level
View Full Test >>

2023 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2023 SUV All Season Tire Test (235/65 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin CrossClimate 2 SUV

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate 2 SUV

    2023-01-22 - Hi, when might you be able to test the Michelin Cross Climate 2 SUV? I have seen the CC2 tests for non-SUV vehicles, do you have them for the SUV tire? Thanks,

    The Michelin CrossClimate 2 and CrossClimate 2 SUV are the same tire, just different size and load ratings (and sidewall print) so you can be assured any test of the CC2 will apply to the CC2 SUV :)


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin CrossClimate 2 SUV Reviews

    Given 79% while driving a Ford Escape (/45 R17) on mostly town for 350 spirited miles
    I purchased a set of Cross Climate 2 tires on my dealers recommendation. I drive a 2020 Ford Escape Hybrid. The first thing I noticed was my gas mileage dropped 10% around town. This vehicle gets 42.3 miles per gallon around town. The calculation is done by the vehicle and is in your face constantly.. Immediately after mounting the Cross Climate 2 my mileage dropped to 38.5 around town. I took a trip of 285 miles on a highspeed highway. My mileage which normally would be about 38.0 mpg dropped to 31.5. (Hybrids routinely get better mileage round town than they do on high speed trips due to higher percentage of electric power usage at lower speeds.) The bottom line is my fuel economy dropped 10% to 20%. I returned to my dealer. He scoffed at my mileage claims but agreed to swap the tires for a set of Primacy Tour A/S tires. i drove out of the dealership and zeroed out my trip odometer, almost immediately my fuel usage calculations began to improve. After 75 miles of local driving my MPG is back to 43.5 MPG. the Cross Climate 2 may be a great handling tire, but it will cost you dearly in fuel usage.
    Helpful 45 - tire reviewed on May 18, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Volvo XC40 Recharge P8 AWD (255/40 R20) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
    Initial impressions are that these are *very* soft tires. The sidewall is easily moved with a fingertip at 40PSI, as is the tread. I've a set of Pirelli Scorpion Winter tires which are more firm to the touch despite significantly more siping in the tread blocks at the same 15 celcius ambient temperature. Maybe the design of the siping in the CrossClimate's compensates for this soft compound. I can't help but think that it will lead to early wear on the tire tread, especially on a high-torque EV. Having said that, the ride is more comfortable than it was on the 20" Pirelli P Zero Elect's that came on the XC40 Recharge, which is a pleasent bonus on this car. Will add more when the wet and cold weather comes upon us. I'd buy this tire again, but not for an EV.
    Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on September 23, 2022
    Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen (235/50 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Fitted to VW Tiguan 2.0L SEL DSG 4motion. In summer use, handles predictably with decent levels of grip. Not quite as sharp handling as my previous tires which were a summer tire. However, the tire compensated by feeling a bit softer, improving ride comfort. Noise levels are reasonably good. Maybe a slight low pitched noise but, certainly not intrusive. Having bought these tires for safer winter performance without the faff of having to change tires, I'm pleased to report that they've just cooed commendably well with the 10cm snowfall we've just had. Good traction, evidenced by coping with slopes which left other cars stranded and spinning there wheels. Maybe the rating should include a score for smugness. In summary, not a cheap tire but the performance justifies the price. Good, comfort orientated summer performance, Excellent in snow conditions. Would buy again.
    Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on December 12, 2022
    Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate 2 SUV tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin CrossClimate 2 SUV? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Michelin CrossClimate 2 SUV >

    Latest Michelin CrossClimate 2 SUV Reviews

    Given 84% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    If you're a racer forget these, but if you want a great tire that grips well in all conditions and outlasts most others these are a great investment
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 28, 2023
    Given 83% while driving a Volvo XC60 (235/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
    Replaced OEM Continental EcoContact 6. Difference is night and day. The Michelins are quieter, more comfortable and surprisingly for an all season tire provide better feedback. Noise from road imperfections used to crash through the cabin on the old Continentals but the Michelins are almost completely silent. Fuel economy is unaffected in urban driving and only 0.5 to 1mpg worse on longer journeys which is more than acceptable for the added benefits of the Crossclimate. Too early to comment on their winter performance but if they are as good as the non-SUV Crossclimates on our other car then they will be more than adequate for frosty mornings in Devon country lanes. Would definitely buy again.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on August 18, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2023? Click to find out!
    Given 90% while driving a Volvo XC40 Recharge P8 AWD (255/40 R20) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    TL,DR; Exceptional in snow, great in mud, loud above 50MPH, too soft for high-torque acceleration. Perfect tire for low temperature climates, less so for temperate. These are Volvo-homologated tires, but not EV-specific.

    I initially reviewed these tires in September 2022, before the "heavy" (by our standards) snow season experienced over the 2022 UK winter. I said they were soft, likely prone to wear, and probably not great for an EV. I take all that back, with two caveats (different from my first initial review). The tires, as you'd no doubt expect, excel in the snow. I drove over to Chipping Campden high street in the heaviest snow of the season and drove up that hill like it was a dry summer day. Compacted or fresh snow, the car just carried on. Couldn't be happier. From the review videos we all know this is a snow tire.

    Mud is a similar story. I frequently walk my dog in woodland and open country, and parking is rarely paved. I've never been stuck in the mud, even with deep ruts and wet slurry for a surface. The wide gaps in the tire tread find something to catch and just pull on through. I'd be lying if I said I considered anything I do as "off roading" but I wouldn't be put off by a muddy trail or gravel track at this point. The car and the tire seem to be set for adverse conditions.

    The two caveats: road noise, and hard acceleration. Above 50MPH there is a constant roar from the tires. It's an EV; I get that there will be more apparent road noise. But there is a lot of it. Secondly, the front end feels very light under *hard* (maximum) acceleration. I don't remember what the factory-fitted Pirelli's felt like, but it's enough to make me ease off if it's not a dead-straight road. Again, bear in mind this is an EV; 0-60 in well under 5 seconds. It's a rare occurance to push that hard unless you're purposefully pushing the car to the limit. Normal driving the car is comfortable and well planted. Nobody drives TO THE MAX in every day conditions.

    I tires for a car I don't own and driving conditions I very rarely encounter. They were the wrong tires for me. If you live somewhere cold, they might be the right tires for you. My next set of tires will certainly be EV-specific.
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on April 24, 2023